ARQ card review: a regional prepaid Mastercard with a narrow footprint

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

ARQ is a prepaid Mastercard that draws on a digital-dollar balance held in the ARQ app, and the card itself is the easy part of the picture. The harder part is who can actually get one: the country selector lists Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil, and a physical card is shipped only to addresses in those four places. If you live somewhere else, the rest of this review is mostly background, and the section on alternatives later on is the part that will matter to you.

ARQ works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through ARQ’s public pages, the terms and the app store listings, and I also read the user reports on Trustpilot. The overall picture is a card that is cheap to hold and simple to spend, set against a narrow geographic footprint, a top-up flow that goes through a bank transfer rather than a direct crypto load, and a company whose licences are not spelled out on the card pages. The headline score I came away with is 5.4 out of 10. The score table below shows how that breaks down across the criteria I checked.

Conditions on the ARQ site and in the app are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

ARQ earns its strongest marks on everyday use. The card is a Mastercard, the virtual card is free, you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the physical card has no maintenance or annual fee, which is unusual for a card that promises any kind of crypto-to-fiat bridge. Where the card falls down is on reach: four countries, no stated licences, and a top-up flow that does not let you push crypto straight onto the card. Reliability and complaints sit in the middle: the app is well-rated on the App Store, but the user reports I read cluster around frozen accounts and slow support, and the historical Trustpilot page for the old DolarApp brand is poor.

If you are a resident of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia or Brazil who already keeps digital dollars in an ARQ account, the card is a sensible way to turn that balance into something you can spend or tap at a terminal. If you are outside those four countries, the card is not available to you, and you should look at the alternatives section. The detailed breakdown is in the table.

Criterion Score Reason
Who can get it 3 / 10 Available only in Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil; physical card shipped only to addresses in those four countries
Cost 8 / 10 Free virtual card; physical card has a $4.99 USD shipping fee and no maintenance or annual fee; ATM fee of 1% with a Premium free allowance; no separate FX fee disclosed
Top-up options 3 / 10 Card cannot be loaded directly; funds go to the ARQ account via bank details and back the card from there; specific coins and networks not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 No stated licences on the card pages; Trustpilot for ARQ Finance is 3.9 out of 5 across 6 reviews, while the older DolarApp page sits at 2.0 out of 5 from 128 reviews; user reports of frozen accounts and slow support recur
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Mastercard; Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; ATM access worldwide except for cards issued in Argentina
Total 5.4 / 10 A cheap card with strong everyday mechanics, held back by geography, a thin top-up story and a compliance profile that is not fully disclosed

Who will they give you the card

The country list is the first thing to check, because it decides whether the rest of this review is even relevant to you. ARQ’s country selector lists four options: Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil. The card pages state that a physical card can be sent “anywhere within Argentina, Colombia, Mexico or Brazil,” which in practice means a valid street address in one of those four countries. There is no mention of residents of any other country being eligible, and there is no mention of citizenship being a separate test from residence, so the rule, as the card states it, is by country of residence.

A few consequences follow from that. If you are travelling, a card tied to one of these four countries is unlikely to be useful to you. If you are a citizen of one of these countries but you live in Spain, the US or anywhere else, the country selector is the gate and you would not pass it. If you are a resident of one of the four and you want the physical card, the address on file has to be a deliverable address in that country. The virtual card, where it is offered, has no shipping constraint.

What the card pages do not say is also worth flagging. The specific identity documents ARQ asks for, the age threshold, and whether a proof of address is required are not stated on the public pages. The terms say that identity verification has to be completed in the app, and that the card cannot be created while that verification is pending or incomplete, but the underlying requirements are not spelled out. Verification tiers, the reasons ARQ might reject an application, and the documents that count as proof of address are also not stated. If you have had trouble with bank-style KYC elsewhere, expect the same kind of friction here, just with less public detail about what to send.

How to get it

The signup flow that the card pages describe is short. You download the ARQ app, log in, then from the Home screen tap the card banner and request either a free virtual card or the paid physical card. Identity verification has to be completed in the app first, and the card cannot be created until that step is finished. The verification itself is described as in-app, with no list of accepted documents published on the card pages, and the official Help Center text warns that an account review can temporarily block card creation while documents are checked.

Once the card is requested, delivery of the physical card is to a valid address in one of the four countries listed earlier, in a window the card pages put at 2 to 15 business days, with another article on the same site citing 7 to 10 business days. Shipping costs $4.99 USD, and the first physical card is free if you hold more than $100 USD in your Main Balance or if you are a Premium user. The cost of a replacement card is not stated on the public pages.

Two things to keep in mind before you start. First, the card is a “secured credit card backed by the balance in your ARQ account,” with the card balance held in USDc, the digital-dollar unit the app uses. That is closer to a prepaid model than to a true credit line, and the practical effect is that your spend limit is your USDc balance, not an approved credit limit. Second, the verification step is the only step that is likely to slow you down. If you are asked for additional documents and the support backlog is heavy, account reviews can take longer than the published card-creation flow suggests, and the user reports I cover later in the risks section include cases where this has dragged on.

What it really costs — fees, everyday payments

This is the section where ARQ does well. The virtual card has no issuance fee, the physical card has a $4.99 USD shipping fee and no maintenance or annual fee, and the first physical card is free if you hold more than $100 USD in your Main Balance or you are a Premium user. The ATM fee is 1% of the amount withdrawn, with a Premium allowance of up to 500 USDc per month free of ARQ’s own commission, and the card pages note that the ATM owner may add a separate fee. The card pages describe “no hidden fees” but stop short of publishing a separate FX fee or spread; the buy rate applies when you add money to the account, the sell rate applies when you pay by card, and both are shown in the app before you confirm.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a ARQ payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The values that matter at a glance are in the table.

Fee or limit Value
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card issuance $4.99 USD shipping; first card free if Main Balance over $100 USD or Premium user
Maintenance / annual fee None stated
FX fee Not disclosed as a separate line; buy and sell rates shown in app before confirming
ATM fee 1% of amount withdrawn; Premium up to 500 USDc per month free of ARQ commission; ATM owner may charge extra
Spend limit Equal to the USDc balance in the account
Virtual cards per month Up to 10 issued, max 3 active
Total virtual cards Max 30

Three everyday payments, walked through.

Paying for groceries in pesos in Mexico, with a USDc balance. You tap or insert the physical card at the terminal. The amount in pesos is converted to USDc at the sell rate the app shows before you confirm, and the corresponding USDc is debited from your balance. ARQ does not publish a separate FX margin, so the only number you can compare is the rate displayed at confirmation against the mid-market rate at that moment. If the sell rate looks far from the mid-market rate, that gap is your effective FX cost.

Withdrawing cash from an ATM in Brazil, with a USDc balance. You use the physical card at any ATM that accepts Mastercard, with one exception: cards issued in Argentina are not allowed at international ATMs, so an Argentina-issued card cannot withdraw abroad. ARQ’s own commission is 1% of the amount, and the ATM operator may add its own surcharge. If you are on the Premium tier, up to 500 USDc per month is free of ARQ’s commission; the operator’s fee still applies.

Buying a subscription in euros online. You enter the virtual card details at checkout. If 3-D Secure is triggered, you confirm in the app or with a one-time code. The euro amount is converted to USDc at the sell rate, the USDc leaves your balance, and the subscription renews at whatever rate applies on each renewal date. Each renewal is its own conversion, so a subscription billed in a foreign currency is also a series of small FX exposures rather than one fixed cost.

Two caveats to underline. First, the spend limit equals your USDc balance, not a separately approved limit, so if your balance is empty, the card declines. Second, the FX margin is not broken out as a number on the card pages, which means the only practical check is the rate shown at confirmation; if you are not in the habit of comparing, you will not see the cost until after you confirm.

Top up — how to fund the card

This is the section that pulls the score down. The card cannot be loaded directly, and the card pages do not name a specific coin or blockchain network for top-ups. Instead, money goes into the ARQ account through bank details in the app’s “Add” section, and the USDc or EURc balance in that account backs the card. In other words, the top-up path is a bank transfer to ARQ, not a wallet-to-wallet crypto transfer to the card, and the card pages do not list minimum amounts or deposit fees.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up ARQ starts with a transfer to the right network

That has practical consequences. If you hold crypto elsewhere and you want to spend it with this card, the path is sell the crypto to fiat in your ARQ account, then have the card spend the resulting USDc, which is two conversions rather than one. If you want to send stablecoins directly to ARQ, the public pages do not say which network to use, and sending on the wrong network is the kind of mistake that is hard to recover from. If you want to send money from another card to this card, the card pages say funds cannot be sent to other cards, so a peer-to-peer top-up from a friend is not a flow the card supports.

Two things to check before you commit. First, what currencies the account accepts. The card pages describe the card balance as USDc, with incoming payments converted to USDc or EURc, and payments in any currency converted at the sell rate; the cost of the conversion is whatever the app shows at the time. Second, whether the bank details shown in the app are local to your country. Cross-border wires and correspondent-bank fees can dwarf the card’s own fees, so the cheapest card can still be expensive to fund.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where ARQ earns its strongest score. The card is a Mastercard, the virtual card is free, and the physical card works at any point-of-sale terminal that takes Mastercard. Both cards can be added to Apple Pay through the Home > Add to Apple Wallet flow, and the card overview confirms that the virtual card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay. ATM access is worldwide, with the exception of cards issued in Argentina, which are not allowed at international ATMs.

A few practical points. First, the card pages do not list blocked merchant categories, so you should not assume that gambling, adult content or cryptocurrency purchases are blocked; if any of these are concerns, the only way to confirm is to test with a small amount or to ask support. Second, online payments may trigger 3-D Secure, which adds an identity check at checkout; this is normal and not a sign that anything is wrong with the card. Third, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, so a failed tap is not a permanent loss of the balance, but it is also not instantly available to retry.

Disputes are handled through Mastercard’s chargeback process, which the card pages say can take up to 120 days to investigate, and opening a chargeback does not guarantee a refund. You can track the status in the Help Center or the app, with notifications and email updates along the way. If you regularly shop with unfamiliar merchants, that 120-day window is worth bearing in mind; it is longer than a typical bank dispute.

The app itself is rated 4.5 out of 5 on the App Store from 992 ratings, on iPhone with iOS 17.0 or later, as of 2026-10-21. A Google Play rating is cited on the official page as 4.7 and 4.5, without a date. The Help Center is published in Spanish, English and Portuguese, and in-app chat is advertised as 24/7; complaints and claims can be sent to [email protected].

What can go wrong

Three risk areas stand out: the company behind the card, the reliability of the account, and the limits of what the public pages disclose.

On the company, ARQ is the rebrand of DolarApp, with copyright held by DolarApp Inc. In Colombia, virtual-asset services are run by DolarApp México S.A. de C.V. and credit-card services by DAPP Colombia S.A.S. (NIT 901644165-9). In Mexico, the help page says credit-card services are provided by Pier 5 S.A. de C.V. The card pages do not name the licences these entities hold, and the rebrand from DolarApp to ARQ has been reported by Brazilian press in 2025–2026. No licence event or fine was found in the public record, but the absence of a stated licence is itself a fact, and it is the kind of fact a regulator, a tax authority or a future dispute resolution may want to see.

On reliability, the user reports cluster around themes of accounts that are frozen or blocked with funds held, with the user reporting difficulty reaching support. Others include unauthorised or unrecognised charges on virtual cards, with the user reporting that the in-app support flow did not resolve the case. Lastly, slow support overall, both on the chat advertised as 24/7 and on email. The ARQ Finance Trustpilot page sits at 3.9 out of 5 from 6 reviews, which is a thin sample, and the historical DolarApp Trustpilot page sits at 2.0 out of 5 from 128 reviews. A small number of reviews is not the same as a clean record, and a large number of older negative reviews on the previous brand is not the same as a current problem, but the recurring themes are what they are.

On disclosure, the card pages do not describe the custody model for the USDc and EURc balances that back the card, do not name a safeguarding arrangement, and do not confirm that customer funds are segregated from operating funds. The security features that are named are 2FA for the app, instant freeze of the card in the app, 3-D Secure, PIN viewing, and the ability to block and unblock the card. None of that is unusual, and none of it is a substitute for a stated custody and safeguarding model. If a large balance would sit on the card, that gap is worth weighing.

Finally, on programme-level risk: Visa and Mastercard do not issue cards to consumers directly, and they can suspend an issuer. The card pages do not name the issuer bank or e-money institution, so the practical question of who holds the card programme is one you have to take on trust from the public pages, and the only place to verify is the small print on the physical card once it arrives.

What to take instead

If ARQ is not available in your country, or the top-up flow does not match how you actually hold crypto, the table below summarises three alternatives and the rest of this section walks through them in the same order.

Card Score Key trade-off
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa with explicit country exclusions and a published 2% FX fee; physical card listed as “Coming soon”
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Mastercard multicurrency card with no annual or foreign-transaction fee and a spend-to-earn rewards programme; eligibility not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa with a 5% cashback programme at select merchants; consumer availability in 31 US states, business availability in 41

International Visa Card. A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa account or card is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. The card itself is virtual for now, with a physical card listed as “Coming soon,” and the cost is a $5 USD one-time issuance fee on the Classic plan, with Pro at $9.00 per month and Max at $19.00 per month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign-currency transactions are charged at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. Deposits of any kind are free, and the account can be funded with USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, alongside USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits. No cashback is stated.

UNi Card. A multicurrency Mastercard that draws on a UNi.Global account balance, with “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee,” assets converted at live over-the-counter rates, and “no hidden exchange fees.” The card offers a “Spend-to-Earn rewards” programme of up to 3% with UNi Card. Country availability, the issuance fee and the funding flow are not stated on the public pages, so this is the option with the cleanest everyday-fee story and the least disclosure on the other questions that matter.

Whop Cards. A Visa that works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores, with a 5% cashback programme at select merchants, currently including Uber, with more planned. Consumer availability is 31 US states, business availability is 41 states, and a long list of unsupported consumer countries includes Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Cards are issued from a Whop balance, with the pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives, and the underlying data is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. The basis for the country rules, whether citizenship or residence, is not stated.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend ARQ to a resident of Mexico, Argentina, Colombia or Brazil who already keeps digital dollars in an ARQ account and wants a low-cost way to spend that balance at a terminal, online, or through Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card is cheap to hold, the virtual card is free, and the everyday mechanics are simple. The score for everyday use is the highest in the breakdown, and that is not an accident.

I would not recommend ARQ to anyone outside those four countries, to anyone whose primary need is to spend crypto directly from a self-custody wallet, or to anyone who needs a card programme with a clearly stated issuer and licence. The country list is a hard gate, the top-up flow is a bank transfer rather than a direct crypto load, and the compliance profile on the public pages is thin. If any of those three points is a deal-breaker for you, the alternatives section is where to look.

A final point that applies regardless of which card you pick. A prepaid-style card that draws on a stored balance cannot overdraw, which is its main safety feature, but it also means the balance is held by a custodian. In this case, the card pages do not describe the custody model for the USDc and EURc balances that back the card, and that gap is worth weighing against whatever convenience the card offers.

Frequently asked questions

What is the ARQ card?

The ARQ card is a prepaid Mastercard issued through the ARQ app, available as a free virtual card and as a physical card for a $4.99 USD shipping fee, with the card balance held in USDc, a digital-dollar unit in the ARQ account. The card pages describe it as a “secured credit card backed by the balance in your ARQ account,” which in practice means your spend limit is your USDc balance.

How does the ARQ card work?

You add money to your ARQ account through bank details in the app’s “Add” section, the balance sits as USDc or EURc, and the card draws on that balance when you tap, insert or pay online. The buy rate applies when you add money, the sell rate applies when you pay, and both are shown in the app before you confirm a transaction.

Is ARQ a bank?

The card pages do not say ARQ is a bank. ARQ is the rebrand of DolarApp, and the card pages describe services being run by DolarApp México S.A. de C.V., DAPP Colombia S.A.S. in Colombia, and Pier 5 S.A. de C.V. for credit-card services in Mexico, without naming the licences these entities hold.

Who owns ARQ?

ARQ is the current brand of the company previously called DolarApp, with copyright held by DolarApp Inc. The Brazilian press reported the rebrand from DolarApp to ARQ in 2025–2026, and the card pages confirm the change without giving a date for the rebrand.

Is the ARQ card available in my country?

The country selector on the card pages lists Mexico, Argentina, Colombia and Brazil, and the physical card can be sent only to a valid address in one of those four countries. If you live anywhere else, the card is not available to you as the card states it, and you would have to look at an alternative.

How do I get the ARQ card?

You download the ARQ app, complete identity verification in the app, and from the Home screen tap the card banner to request a free virtual card or the paid physical card. The card cannot be created while verification is pending or incomplete, and account reviews can temporarily block card creation while documents are checked.

Does the ARQ card require KYC?

Yes. The card pages state that identity verification has to be completed in the app before the card can be created, and that an account review can temporarily block card creation. The specific documents, the age threshold and any proof-of-address requirement are not stated on the public pages.

How do I top up the ARQ card?

You cannot load the card directly. Money goes into the ARQ account through bank details in the app’s “Add” section, and the USDc or EURc balance in that account backs the card. The card pages do not name a specific coin or blockchain network for top-ups, and they do not publish minimum amounts or deposit fees.

Can I add the ARQ card to Apple Wallet?

Yes, the card pages describe a Home > Add to Apple Wallet flow, and the card overview confirms that the virtual card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The physical card can be tokenised the same way for contactless payments at the terminal.

Is the ARQ card safe?

The card pages name 2FA for the app, instant freeze of the card in the app, 3-D Secure, PIN viewing, and the ability to block and unblock the card, but they do not describe the custody model for the USDc and EURc balances that back the card, and they do not name a safeguarding arrangement. User reports on Trustpilot and the app stores include cases of frozen accounts and slow support, which is worth bearing in mind if a large balance would sit on the card.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team