The CoinJar card, explained honestly for anyone wondering whether it still earns its place in 2026

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The CoinJar card sits in an awkward middle ground: it’s not the cheapest crypto card on the market, it’s not the most generous with rewards, and it’s not available everywhere. What it does offer is a simple, regulated way for an Australian resident to spend crypto from a verified CoinJar account in Australian dollars, with a free physical Mastercard, a free digital card, and support for Apple Pay and Google Pay. The trade-off is a 1% purchase fee, a 2.99%+ foreign-transaction fee, and a card programme whose own product page is remarkably thin on detail about who can actually get one.

CoinJar works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through the card as it stands today. I’ll look at eligibility, sign-up, fees in real shopping situations, how topping up works, what daily spending looks like, where the risks sit, and the alternatives if CoinJar doesn’t quite fit. Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.5 out of 10

The CoinJar card earns 5.5 out of 10 in this review. It’s a real, regulated product — issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited under an Australian Financial Services Licence, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative — and the everyday mechanics are solid: free card, free replacement, 1% cashback-equivalent in Rewards points, mobile wallet support. But the card page itself does not state who is eligible, which countries it covers, or what the limits are, and that silence is a problem if you’re trying to decide whether to apply.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CoinJar payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

It suits Australian residents who already have, or are willing to set up, a verified CoinJar account and want to pay in AUD from a crypto balance without the overhead of converting manually. It does not suit anyone outside Australia, anyone who needs a card with published eligibility and limits up front, or anyone who wants lower FX fees or richer cashback.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Card page does not state eligibility or countries; AU PDS says 18+, Australian resident, verified CoinJar account
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance and replacement free; 1% on purchases; 2.99%+ foreign transactions; $27.50 dispute fee; 1% ATM
Top-up options 5 / 10 Crypto chosen as “Spend” account with auto-conversion at CoinJar rates; list of supported coins not published on card page
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 EML issuer (AFSL 404131); CoinJar Australia authorised representative; exchange Trustpilot 3.3/5 from 2,549 reviews, only one card-specific complaint found
Everyday use 9 / 10 Free physical and digital Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access at 1%

The everyday-use score is high because the card does what a payment card should do: it pays, it works in wallets, and it has no monthly fee dragging the value down. The eligibility score is low because the lack of a public eligibility statement on the card page is, in 2026, a meaningful gap. The total of 5.5 reflects a card that’s competent in the wallet but opaque at the door.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CoinJar starts with a transfer to the right network

Who Will Actually Give You the Card

The card’s own product page does not state eligibility or list the countries it serves. If you land on it expecting a checklist of “who can apply,” you’ll come away empty-handed. The information is buried one level deeper, in the Australian Product Disclosure Statement (PDS) that governs the programme.

According to that PDS, the card is available to people who are 18 or older, are Australian residents, and hold a verified CoinJar account. The card is denominated in Australian dollars, the issuer is EML Payment Solutions Limited (which holds Australian Financial Services Licence 404131), and CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd acts as the authorised representative marketing the programme.

For anyone outside Australia, the answer from the official card page is: not stated. The card is built on an Australian e-money licence, and the PDS, the fee table, the dispute process and the complaints email all sit inside the Australian regulatory framework. There is no second-country version described on the card page itself. News reports from 2021 and 2022 mention a UK GBP card, but the current CoinJar card product is presented as an AUD card.

If you’re an Australian resident with a verified CoinJar account, you can apply. If you’re not, or if your CoinJar account isn’t fully verified, you cannot — and the card page will not tell you that until you start the sign-up flow.

How to Get the Card

Sign-up starts inside the CoinJar app rather than on a standalone card website. Because the card draws on the “Spendable Balance” of your CoinJar Everyday Account, the prerequisite is a CoinJar account that is verified to a level that lets you hold and convert crypto. The card page does not state which documents are required for that verification, or how long it takes, and rejection reasons are not stated either — so the practical advice is to finish your CoinJar verification before you start thinking about the card.

The card itself comes in two forms: a free physical prepaid Mastercard and a free digital card. Card issuance is “No fee,” and the replacement card fee is also free, per the PDS fee table. There’s no account-keeping fee listed either, so the card itself doesn’t drag a monthly charge. Delivery countries and delivery time for the physical card are not stated on the card page, which is another gap for anyone trying to plan around it.

Once you have a verified account and a card, it slots straight into the CoinJar app: hold or unblock the card, change the PIN, view transaction history, all from your phone. There’s no separate “card portal” to log into. That keeps things simple, and it’s also why the only support email that comes up in the card documents is the issuer’s address and the help centre at support.coinjar.com — there’s no card-specific support line.

What It Really Costs

The fee table is one of the clearer parts of the card programme. The numbers below come from the PDS and the card page, in Australian dollars, GST inclusive.

Fee and limit table

Fee or limit Amount
Card issuance Free
Replacement card Free
Account keeping None listed
In-store and online purchases 1% (returned as Rewards points)
Foreign transactions 2.99%+ (Mastercard rate plus 2.99% FX fee)
ATM withdrawal fee 1% of withdrawal (physical card only)
ATM operator fee Charged by the ATM
Disputed-transaction fee $27.50 per unsuccessful dispute
Maximum point-of-sale transaction $5,000
Daily point-of-sale limit $5,000 (including ATM withdrawals)
Daily ATM limit $1,000
Minimum ATM withdrawal $20
Maximum ATM withdrawal per transaction $1,000

A few things stand out. The 1% purchase fee isn’t a hidden charge — it’s rebated back to you as 1 CoinJar Rewards point per $1 spent, which you can use to offset future trades or redeem in the Rewards Store. The foreign transaction fee is the part to watch: 2.99% on top of whatever Mastercard’s rate is, so a $100 overseas purchase could cost you close to $103 before you even look at currency movement. The $27.50 dispute fee is charged only if your dispute is unsuccessful, which softens the sting, but it means a failed chargeback attempt is genuinely expensive.

The ATM fee is 1% of the withdrawal, plus whatever the ATM operator charges. The daily ATM limit is $1,000 and the daily point-of-sale limit is $5,000 including ATM withdrawals, so you cannot route a large spend through a chain of ATM cash advances to bypass the cap.

Three everyday payments, what they cost

The everyday math: the 1% purchase fee is a wash if you actually use the Rewards points, but the 2.99%+ foreign transaction fee is the one that matters for travel or overseas online shopping. ATM cash is the most expensive way to use the card.

How to Top It Up

The card doesn’t have a balance of its own in the way a prepaid travel card does. Instead, it draws on the “Spendable Balance” of your CoinJar Everyday Account. You choose a crypto to be your “Spend” account, and at the moment of payment CoinJar auto-converts at its own rates.

The list of supported coins for the Spend account is not stated on the card page. A 2021 launch press release mentioned 30 digital currencies with a flat 1% conversion fee, but the current product page does not republish that list. Top-up fees, minimums and network fees are also not stated on the card page. What is clear is that the card never holds crypto directly: it always spends the AUD value of whatever you’ve nominated as Spend, after CoinJar’s conversion.

In practice, then, “topping up” means moving crypto into your CoinJar Everyday Account and choosing which coin to designate as Spend. CoinJar then charges its normal trading fee when it sells that crypto for the AUD the card needs. If you’re topping up from an external wallet, you’ll also pay the network fee of the blockchain you’re sending on (for example, ETH gas for an ERC-20 transfer). The card’s fee structure starts after that — the conversion and any foreign-transaction fees are what CoinJar charges on top of the on-chain cost.

If your card is cancelled or revoked, the remaining value on the card is paid back to CoinJar, which then pays it into your CoinJar Everyday Account in Australian dollars once no pending authorisations remain and you instruct CoinJar to do so. You can cancel the card at any time; the issuer can cancel it with 14 days’ notice, or immediately in cases of suspected misuse or false information.

Paying With It Every Day

For an Australian resident with crypto in CoinJar, the daily-use picture is straightforward. The card works in shops and online, in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and at ATMs. There’s no monthly fee, no annual fee, and no inactivity fee in the published fee table.

The 1% Rewards earn is small but real: 1 CoinJar Rewards point per $1 spent, redeemable against future trades or in the Rewards Store. It’s not a market-leading cashback rate, but it does mean the headline 1% purchase fee is, for most cardholders, returned to them in points they can actually use.

Mobile wallet support is a genuine plus. You can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the digital card works for online checkout. The card page mentions a contactless limit under $100, which is consistent with standard Australian contactless rules, and tokens the card in Apple Pay and Google Pay so the actual PAN isn’t shared with merchants. You can hold or unblock the card, change the PIN, and view history from inside the CoinJar app.

Where the daily picture gets more complicated is outside Australia. The 2.99%+ foreign transaction fee makes the card expensive for travel spending, and blocked merchant category codes (MCCs) are not stated. Some merchants decline prepaid cards or foreign-BIN cards outright, and the card’s BIN identifies it as an Australian-issued prepaid Mastercard, so the usual prepaid-card caution applies for online checkout on stricter merchants.

App quality is hard to judge from official listings. Unofficial third-party data (App Pricing Lab, read 7 Mar 2026) shows an iOS rating of 4.1 out of 5 from around 123 reviews, and Google Play sits at 3.91 from roughly 2.6 thousand ratings per AppBrain, as of 2026-10-20. These figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card, but they are consistent with a competent app that has the usual share of support complaints.

Disputes follow Mastercard’s scheme rules. The cardholder notifies EML as soon as possible; the time limit is generally 90 days from the transaction, and any extra information must be provided within 10 days or the chargeback may be lost or reversed. If the dispute is unsuccessful, the $27.50 fee applies. Resolution is attempted within 5 days, otherwise within 30 days, after which the complaint can be escalated to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA). Merchant refunds go back to the Everyday Account in AUD, not in the original crypto.

What Can Go Wrong

The card itself is regulated, but the crypto side carries the usual counterparty risk of any custodial exchange.

The card programme is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as authorised representative. EML holds AFSL 404131. The card launched in Australia in August 2021, and a UK GBP card reportedly followed in February 2022, but the current card product is presented as an AUD card on CoinJar’s site. No 2026 programme change was found in the public record, and a CoinJar blog post from February 2026 still describes the card.

The card is custodial. Your funds sit in the CoinJar account, and the card is issued by EML on top. That means you are exposed to two counterparties: CoinJar for the crypto and the AUD balance, and EML for the card itself. Insurance or safeguarding arrangements for the funds on the card are not stated in the documents reviewed. If either company failed, recovery of funds would follow the usual insolvency process, not a deposit guarantee scheme.

Trustpilot data for the CoinJar exchange (not the card specifically) shows a TrustScore of 3.3 out of 5 from 2,549 reviews, with 17% one-star reviews as of 2026-10-20. The themes in negative reviews are: transfers and withdrawals held “under review” or under Travel Rule holds (reported in the June to October 2026 window, including a BTC transfer reportedly paused for over four days in August 2026), identity re-checks and account freezes (May to September 2026), and slow support (June to October 2026). CoinJar responds to 100% of negative reviews on Trustpilot, which is at least a sign of engagement, even if the underlying complaints are real. Only one card-specific complaint was found: a virtual Mastercard described as “constantly having technical issues,” dated 18 October 2026.

Other risks worth flagging:

Support is via [email protected] and the issuer at [email protected], plus the help centre at support.coinjar.com. There is no card-specific support line.

What to Take Instead

If the CoinJar card doesn’t quite fit, three alternatives sit nearby on the crypto-card market. The notes below come from each card’s own materials, not from CoinJar.

Young Card — 5.7 out of 10

Young Card pays cashback in YNG tokens, with the rate set by the user’s Club tier: Essential at 0.1%, Gold at 1.8%, Platinum at 3.6%. Bronze and Silver tier rates are not stated. Eligibility, card details, fees and funding specifics are not stated officially in the materials I could read. Compared with CoinJar, the upside is the potential for higher tier-based cashback; the downside is that the cashback is paid in a token whose value is itself volatile, and the public information is thin.

MSX — 6.4 out of 10

MSX scores higher in our comparison, but the official material is even thinner. Eligibility, card type, fees, funding and rewards are all not stated in the documents I could read. The score reflects third-party context rather than confirmed product detail. If you’re considering MSX, treat it as a “research further” option, not a confirmed alternative.

Bybit Card — 6.0 out of 10

The Bybit Card is the most fully-documented alternative. It supports multiple regions (Argentina, AIFC/Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific), and the application asks for Country of Residence; if your country isn’t supported, Bybit “will register your interest.” Note the explicit statement that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers, and that all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited. Bybit’s fiat-service restricted list (covering deposits, withdrawals, and One-Click Buy, not the card as such) includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China, and the United States.

Card mechanics: virtual and physical, with a virtual card required first. Networks include Mastercard prepaid in Argentina, Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, and Mexico, Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru, and Visa credit in Asia Pacific. Card fiat currency depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification.

Fees and rewards: virtual issuance is free in all regions until further notice; physical issuance is free in Brazil and Mexico, with paid issuance elsewhere (for example 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD/USDT in Argentina). Crypto conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina, not supported in Peru. FX fee is 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, and Mexico; 7% in Argentina; 1.5% in Brazil; 1% in Peru. From 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback. Tiers range from Base 2% (5 USD monthly cap) up to Infinite 10% (600 USD cap), with non-VIP monthly spend thresholds to unlock each tier.

By comparison, the CoinJar card is simpler and more limited: AUD only, Australian residents only, 1% purchase fee returned as Rewards points, and a higher 2.99%+ foreign transaction fee. Bybit offers a wider geography, lower conversion fees in many regions, and a richer (but more complex) tiered cashback structure, with the trade-off of more moving parts and a stricter regional policy.

Who I’d Recommend the CoinJar Card To

The short version: this is a card for an Australian resident who already uses CoinJar, keeps a crypto balance in AUD there, and wants a low-friction way to spend that balance in shops and online without doing a manual conversion every time.

It’s not the right card if you want a low-FX travel card, a generous cashback structure, or a card with clearly published eligibility and limits. It’s also not the right card if you don’t have, or don’t want, a verified CoinJar account — because the card is layered on top of the account, and the account is the part that takes the time and the documents.

In 2026, the CoinJar card is a competent, regulated, AUD-denominated prepaid Mastercard that works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, with a fee profile that is acceptable for everyday local spending and punitive for foreign spending. The biggest practical issues are the silence on the card page around eligibility, the unpublished list of supported Spend cryptos, and the 2.99%+ foreign transaction fee. If those don’t bother you, the card does the job. If they do, the Bybit Card is the most fully-documented alternative, with MSX and Young Card as options worth researching further.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CoinJar card?

The CoinJar card is a prepaid Mastercard issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited under an Australian Financial Services Licence, with CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative. It comes as a free physical card and a free digital card, denominated in Australian dollars, and is available to Australian residents with a verified CoinJar account.

How does the CoinJar card work?

You nominate a cryptocurrency as your “Spend” account inside CoinJar, and the card draws on the AUD value of that crypto in your CoinJar Everyday Account. At the moment of payment, CoinJar auto-converts the crypto at its own rates, and the card pays the merchant in AUD. The 1% purchase fee is returned to you as CoinJar Rewards points.

Is CoinJar a bank?

No. CoinJar is a digital currency exchange, and the card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, an Australian Financial Services Licence holder. The card is a prepaid product, not a bank account, and funds on the card are not covered by the Australian deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns CoinJar?

The card programme sits with EML Payment Solutions Limited as the issuer, and CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd as the authorised representative. EML holds AFSL 404131. CoinJar’s broader ownership is not described in the card documents.

Is the CoinJar card available in my country?

The card page does not state which countries it supports. The PDS restricts the card to Australian residents, and the card is denominated in Australian dollars. For anyone outside Australia, the official card page does not confirm availability, so you would need to contact CoinJar directly to ask.

How do I get the CoinJar card?

You need a verified CoinJar account first. Once your account is verified, you can request the card from inside the CoinJar app. Card issuance is free, and the replacement card is also free. Delivery countries and delivery time for the physical card are not stated on the card page.

Does the CoinJar card require KYC?

Yes, in effect. The card is only available to people with a verified CoinJar account, and CoinJar is a regulated digital currency exchange. The specific KYC documents are not stated on the card page; they sit with CoinJar’s account verification flow.

How do I add the CoinJar card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the digital card is set up inside the CoinJar app. You add it to your phone’s wallet from there. The card page does not state the exact steps, so the in-app flow is the source of truth.

Is the CoinJar card safe?

The card is issued by a regulated Australian e-money issuer and the dispute process routes to AFCA. The underlying crypto funds are custodial, held by CoinJar, and insurance or safeguarding arrangements for those funds are not stated in the documents reviewed. Like any custodial product, it carries counterparty risk.

How do I withdraw money from CoinJar?

The card itself doesn’t hold a balance; it draws on your CoinJar Everyday Account. To get cash, you can use the card at an ATM (1% CoinJar fee, plus any ATM operator fee, daily limit $1,000, minimum $20, maximum $1,000 per withdrawal), or withdraw funds from your CoinJar account through its standard withdrawal methods. The card can be cancelled at any time, and any remaining value is paid back into your CoinJar Everyday Account in AUD.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team