A Virtual USD Card From a Nigerian Crypto Company — Useful for Some, Risky for Others

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Bitnob offers a virtual Visa or Mastercard in US dollars, topped up from a Bitcoin, USDT or USDC balance held inside the Bitnob app. It launched in February 2023, and the company behind it — Bitnob Technologies Limited, based in Nigeria — has since expanded into eight other African countries. For someone in a market where getting an ordinary bank card is hard, that combination of “a real card number” and “spend my crypto” can sound like a lifeline. The product itself is narrow: one tier, virtual only, no ATM access, no published fee schedule. And the reviews left by users on Trustpilot are mostly negative, with disappearing funds and sudden cancellations standing out.

Bitnob works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review goes through what Bitnob actually offers, what it costs (or rather, what isn’t said about cost), how the top-up and everyday-payment flow works, and the complaints that other users have filed. The goal is to give you enough to decide whether this is the right card for your situation — or whether one of the alternatives further down fits better.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Bitnob’s card lands at 5.1 out of 10. That score reflects a product that does what it sets out to do for a specific user — a virtual USD card you can fund with crypto — but exposes that user to a number of unresolved risks: no published fees, a company that is openly not a bank, a virtual-only product with no ATM access, no 3-D Secure, and a Trustpilot rating of 2.9 from 48 reviews, with half of those at one star. If you are Africa-based and want to convert Bitcoin or a stablecoin into a Visa or Mastercard number for online spending, Bitnob is one of the few options aimed at you. If you have any other path to a card, you should look at it first.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 The card page does not name countries; the company is Nigerian and has expanded to eight other African markets, and a 2023 press piece said anyone with the app could create a card. Availability depends on region and partner institution.
Cost 6 / 10 No fee amounts are published on the official pages. Unofficial reports say card creation is free or about US$1, with one Trustpilot complaint of a US$6 fee for a replacement card. No conversion or FX percentage is stated.
Top-up options 6 / 10 Funding is from the in-app Bitcoin, USDT or USDC wallet balance. The networks are not disclosed, and unofficial reports put a per-card funding cap at US$10,000.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Bitnob Technologies Limited is not a bank and is not a licensed card issuer. Cards are issued by “regulated partners”. Trustpilot is 2.9 out of 5 from 48 reviews, with 50% one-star, and recurring themes of missing funds and cards cancelled without notice.
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual only. Apple Pay and Google Pay are added by typing the card details in manually, and 3-D Secure is not present. There is no ATM withdrawal.
Total 5.1 / 10

The product is essentially built for one audience: people in Africa, particularly dollar-scarce markets, who hold Bitcoin or a stablecoin and need a US-dollar card number for online payments. For that audience the product is real and the card works; the score is pulled down by the things Bitnob does not say (costs, countries, licences) and by the volume of user complaints.

Will They Give You the Card

Bitnob’s card page does not publish a list of supported countries. The marketing language is about “dollar-scarce markets”, and the company describes itself as Nigeria-based with expansion to “eight other countries in Africa”. A 2023 press article about the launch said “users located anywhere in the world who have access to the Bitnob app can create a virtual card”, but it also added the qualifier that availability “varies by region and partner institution”. In practice, this means two things. First, you can probably download the Bitnob app from most app stores. Second, whether you can actually finish the sign-up and have a working card depends on where you are and which partner the app connects you to behind the scenes.

For identity verification, Bitnob requires an ID image and personal details that match it. National ID cards from a list of countries have to be submitted front and back together; passports and driver’s licences are accepted without that two-sided requirement. The minimum age is 18. A proof of address is not stated as a requirement, but you should expect to be asked for one if the partner institution that issues your card needs it under its own rules — and that need only shows up after you’ve already deposited funds. There is at least one Trustpilot review from September 2025 describing a verification denial that came after a deposit had been made.

The wider practical point is that the public information about who qualifies is thin. The card page tells you a card exists and roughly what it does; it does not tell you, in a way you can check in advance, whether your specific country, your document type, or your specific residency status will pass. If a working card matters to you — for a subscription, a flight booking, a freelancer invoice — that gap is the first thing to test, and the test is the sign-up itself.

How to Get It

The card is virtual, and there is no physical version. The card page describes it as a “Visa and Mastercard USD card”; the developer API documentation is more specific and refers to “USD-denominated virtual Visa cards”. In plain terms, you get a 16-digit number, an expiry and a CVV, inside the app, and that number is what you use for online payments.

The creation flow is the standard KYC pattern: download the app, create an account, complete identity verification, and the card is provisioned. Because the card is virtual, there is no shipping step, and that also means there is no lost-in-the-mail fallback. The trade-off is that you cannot hand the card to someone in a shop, and there is no ATM option (the API documentation explicitly lists “no ATM withdrawals”).

One thing worth noting: the verification step is the step that decides whether you actually get a card. The earlier section on eligibility covers what’s required, but the operational reality is that a denied verification, a document that doesn’t parse, or a country the partner doesn’t serve will leave you with an account and no card. Reviews suggest this can happen after a deposit has already been made, so the safer path is to finish verification end-to-end before funding the wallet.

Fees and Limits: What It Really Costs

Bitnob does not publish a fee schedule for the card. The official position is that cardholder fees are “defined per platform integration”, which is a way of saying the numbers depend on the partner institution your card happens to be issued through. The card page refers to “seamless conversion at the best available rate” with no percentage quoted for that conversion and no FX margin stated.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitnob payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Unofficial sources, which I am flagging because they are not confirmed by Bitnob, give the following picture: card creation is free according to a February 2023 Paypers article and the cryptocards.so site, while a 2026 nairacompare.ng write-up says creation costs US$1. A June 2025 Trustpilot review reports a US$6 fee for a replacement card after the previous one was cancelled. None of these numbers are on Bitnob’s own pages.

Fee or limit What Bitnob says Unofficial / third-party
Card creation Not published Free (Paypers, 2023; cryptocards.so); US$1 (nairacompare.ng, 2026)
Replacement card Not published US$6 (Trustpilot user, June 2025)
Monthly fee Not published —
Conversion / FX “Best available rate”, no percentage —
ATM withdrawal Not available (per API docs) —
Funding cap Not published Up to US$10,000 (Paypers, 2023)
Daily / monthly spend cap Not published —

The product is single-tier: there is no premium or metal version with a different fee structure. Card currency is US dollars only; there is no option to be billed in naira, cedis, shillings, euros or pounds. Limits are described in a way that is genuinely flexible: each card can be capped by amount, by merchant category, by channel (online, in-person, mobile) and by time of day. That is useful if you want to lock a subscription card to one merchant and a low limit, but it does not tell you what those limits are by default.

To make the fee gap concrete, here is what three everyday payments look like with the information that is actually published:

The honest summary: Bitnob’s fee transparency is poor, and the only costs you can pin down before you sign up are the on-chain network fees for funding the wallet and whatever your card-creation or replacement charge turns out to be.

How to Top Up the Card

Top-up works in one direction: from your Bitnob wallet balance, in Bitcoin, USDT or USDC, into the USD balance of the virtual card. There is no overdraft, no top-up from a bank transfer or card, and no option to load fiat directly. The wallet is custodial — Bitnob holds the keys to the funds while they sit in your balance — so a top-up is also a decision to keep that crypto with Bitnob until you spend it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitnob starts with a transfer to the right network

The networks on which Bitnob accepts USDT, USDC and BTC deposits are not published. That matters more than it sounds, because sending a stablecoin on the wrong network is the classic way to lose a deposit: the transaction confirms on-chain, the funds arrive at an address Bitnob does not watch, and there is no “send again” button. If you only ever have one Bitnob user in front of you and the network is not named anywhere in their UI, you should ask support, in writing, before you move a meaningful amount.

The deposit flow itself is straightforward: open the app, choose the asset, copy the deposit address, send from your own wallet (or from an exchange). The blockchain fee you pay is set by the network, not by Bitnob; if you fund with USDT on Ethereum, you also need a small amount of ETH in the sending wallet to cover gas, because ERC-20 token transfers pay fees in ETH only. Once the deposit confirms, the funds show in your Bitnob wallet balance; from there you load the card, and the card spends USD.

There is no “withdraw” button described in the public materials. If you want your money out of Bitnob, the only documented path is to send from the Bitnob wallet to an external address. Card-to-cash is not a feature.

Paying With It Every Day

In day-to-day use the card behaves like a prepaid USD card. You load it from the wallet, you spend until the balance is zero, you reload. There is no credit, no instalment, no overdraft. The card is virtual, so it has no magstripe and no EMV chip; the only ways to spend it are by typing the number into an online checkout, by adding it to a mobile wallet, or both.

Apple Wallet and Google Pay are supported, but only by adding the card details manually. For Apple Pay, your Apple ID region has to be set to United States, which is a friction point for users outside the US who want a contactless in-store experience. Once added, the card number is tokenised — Apple Pay replaces it with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element — so a leaked card number cannot be used through Apple Pay.

The other thing to know is that there is no 3-D Secure on the card. 3-D Secure is the extra step you usually see on online checkouts — a one-time code from your bank, a biometric prompt in your banking app, or a frictionless approval. Bitnob’s card has neither, which means two things in practice. First, some merchants will decline the card outright, because 3-D Secure is mandatory in the EU under strong customer authentication and is increasingly common elsewhere. Second, when there is a dispute, the absence of a 3-D Secure confirmation can shift liability in the merchant’s favour.

Merchant category restrictions exist (“within allowed categories”), and the actual list of blocked or allowed MCCs is not published. If a category is restricted — gambling is a common one across prepaid cards — the transaction will decline with no useful error message. You can configure per-card limits and channels in the dashboard, which is a feature, but it cannot help you if your merchant is in a blocked category and you did not know in advance.

The Bitnob app on iOS in the US App Store has a 3.79 rating from 108 reviews, read on 21 October 2026; the Google Play rating was not read for this review. There is no published cashback or rewards programme on the card; an unofficial source (cryptocards.so) puts cashback at 0%.

What Can Go Wrong

The risk picture for Bitnob is shaped less by the product’s features and more by the company’s structure and the patterns in its user feedback.

Bitnob Technologies Limited is not a bank, and the company explicitly says so. The cards are issued by “regulated card partners” — licensed issuing banks and Visa programme managers — but Bitnob itself is “not a licensed card issuer”. The partner’s jurisdiction, the licence number, the regulator behind it: none of these are on the pages I read. That means a complaint about a card, a freeze, or a missing balance is going to land first with Bitnob’s support team, and only later, with effort, with the underlying issuer. The crypto side — custody of the USDT, USDC or BTC you deposited — sits with Bitnob itself.

On Trustpilot, Bitnob scores 2.9 out of 5 from 48 reviews, with 50% of those at one star (read 21 October 2026). The recurring themes in the user reports are:

In a custodial model, the company holds your crypto, and the company sits between you and the issuer. If the company is slow to respond, your options narrow. Cryptocurrency transfers on the underlying networks are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key or a frozen account has no in-protocol recovery. The platform-level failures that other custodial services have had — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin — are the reason this risk category is taken seriously, and Bitnob is a custodial service.

The other operational risk is a card-programme closure. Visa itself can suspend a card programme, as it did with FTX in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in 2018; when that happens, new spending and loading stop, balances are returned, and users have a window to withdraw. With Bitnob, because the partner is not named, you cannot check in advance whether a given programme is in good standing. If you are keeping a non-trivial balance on the card, that uncertainty is part of the deal.

There are also the smaller, day-to-day failure modes that apply to any prepaid virtual card: authorisation holds that take up to several days to release, declines at merchants that filter by card type or issuer country, and the absence of a chargeback path you can rely on if the prepaid-card dispute framework in your country does not extend to this product.

What to Take Instead

Bitnob is not the only virtual crypto card aimed at users who find ordinary banking hard to access. The three below are the closest comparisons, based on the same kind of facts I checked for Bitnob.

Card Score Geography Form factor Funding Notable trade-off
Bitnob 5.1 / 10 Africa-focused, eight+ countries; worldwide access claimed Virtual only BTC, USDT, USDC No published fees; Trustpilot 2.9/5
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “200+ countries”; Naira-focused app store Debit card on Verve, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical USDT, USDC, BTC Card currency Naira per App Store listing; fees not stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Nigeria and “global users” Virtual USD Mastercard BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer No fees or limits stated; smaller brand
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 “176+ countries” for acceptance, eligibility not stated Prepaid card, USD or EUR balance USDT, BTC, ETH Card network not stated on the App Store page

A few notes on each. Cardex scores slightly higher than Bitnob in the table, mostly because the product line is broader — physical and virtual, on four networks — and the geographic claim is more clearly stated. Its app store listing is Naira-focused, which is a hint about where its core users sit, and the “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” language is marketing for what is, in practice, a conversion at the time of payment. CardFlow is a smaller, Nigeria-rooted product, with free virtual-card creation and the option to fund from a Naira bank transfer as well as crypto; the trade-off is that the public information is thin, and the brand has less reach. HyperCard is the most general of the four: a prepaid USD or EUR card with broad acceptance, but the card network and the fee structure are not visible on the pages I read, and you cannot tell in advance which countries are actually eligible.

The honest comparison is that none of these cards is fully transparent about its fees or its country eligibility. The choice between them is mostly about geography, currency, and which platform’s wallet you are willing to be a customer of.

Who I Would Recommend It To

Bitnob is a reasonable pick for a narrow group of users: people in dollar-scarce African markets who already hold Bitcoin, USDT or USDC, who need a US-dollar card number for online payments, and who understand that they are taking on the counterparty risk of a custodial platform. For that user the product is one of the few options in its geography, the card works, and the on-ramp from crypto to a Visa or Mastercard number is short.

For anyone else, I would not pick Bitnob as a first choice. The fee schedule is not published. The company is not a bank. The card is virtual only, with no ATM, no 3-D Secure, and a Trustpilot score of 2.9/5 driven by complaints about missing funds and unannounced cancellations. The card-currency option is USD only. If you have access to a regulated crypto card from a licensed issuer in your own jurisdiction, that product is the safer default.

If you do use Bitnob, the practical advice is the same as for any custodial crypto platform: keep only what you are about to spend, finish verification fully before funding, and test a small deposit and a small spend before you rely on the card for anything that has a deadline attached. And before you send any stablecoin in, ask support which network to use, and get the answer in writing.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Bitnob card?

A virtual Visa or Mastercard denominated in US dollars, issued inside the Bitnob app and funded from an in-app Bitcoin, USDT or USDC balance. The card was launched in February 2023 and is virtual only; no physical version is offered.

How does the Bitnob card work?

You fund your Bitnob wallet with Bitcoin, USDT or USDC, then load the USD balance of the virtual card from that wallet. When you pay, the card spends the loaded USD balance, and there is no overdraft and no credit. The card is prepaid, not a debit card linked to a bank account.

Is Bitnob a bank?

No. Bitnob is explicit on this point: Bitnob Technologies Limited is not a bank and is not a licensed card issuer. The cards are issued through “regulated card partners” — licensed issuing banks or Visa programme managers — whose names and jurisdictions are not stated on the public pages.

Who owns Bitnob?

Bitnob Technologies Limited, a Nigeria-based company that has expanded into eight other African countries. Ownership beyond that is not stated in the public materials I read for this review.

Is the Bitnob card available in my country?

The card page does not publish a list of supported countries. The company describes itself as serving dollar-scarce markets and as Nigeria-based with expansion to eight other African countries; a 2023 press article claimed worldwide access for anyone with the app, while adding that availability varies by region and partner institution. The reliable way to find out is to download the app and start the sign-up.

How do I apply for the Bitnob card?

You download the Bitnob app, create an account, and complete KYC verification with an ID document and matching personal details. National ID cards from a list of countries have to be submitted front and back; passports and driver’s licences are accepted without that requirement. Minimum age is 18. Once verification is complete, the virtual card is provisioned in the app.

Does the Bitnob card require KYC?

Yes. The card is only issued to customers who have passed verification, which requires an ID image and personal details that match it. The company is not a bank, but the partner institution issuing the card is regulated, and KYC is part of that arrangement.

How do I add the Bitnob card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

You add the card details manually inside the wallet app — there is no automatic tokenisation through a banking app, because Bitnob is not a bank. For Apple Pay, the Apple ID region has to be set to United States for the card to enrol. Once added, the card number is tokenised in the device’s Secure Element.

How do I top up the Bitnob card?

You deposit Bitcoin, USDT or USDC into your Bitnob wallet, then transfer from the wallet balance to the card’s USD balance. The networks on which Bitnob accepts each asset are not published in the public materials, and sending on the wrong network can result in lost funds, so it is worth confirming with support before any non-trivial transfer.

Is the Bitnob card safe?

That depends on what you mean by safe. The card is prepaid, the app supports card freeze and per-card spend controls, and the wallet is custodial. Custodial platforms carry counterparty and hack risk by design, and Bitnob’s Trustpilot score of 2.9/5, with recurring complaints about missing funds and unannounced card cancellations, is a real signal to weigh. For larger balances, a self-custody wallet is the lower-counterparty option.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team