MP card: a practical crypto payment card with wide country access but thin reviews
MP is a crypto wallet with a payment card attached, and the card is the point: a virtual Visa you can add to your phone, or a physical one you can hold. If ordinary banking is awkward where you live, that combination is genuinely useful. It is also a fairly new product with a very thin public track record, and the two facts pull in opposite directions. Let me walk you through what I found, in the order you will run into it.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.1 out of 10
MP scores 7.1 / 10. That is a good score for a card whose whole purpose is to be usable, but not a score that should make you relax. The single strongest thing about MP is that it works as an actual payment instrument every day — virtual and physical from the same wallet, Apple Pay and Google Pay, an ATM on the physical card — which is more than many crypto cards manage. The weakest thing is that there is almost nothing to read about it. I could not find a single independent review of MPChat or the MP card, and the company behind it is described in its own pages as a fintech, not a bank.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Twenty-three countries are closed including Russia and Belarus, plus several disputed territories; the rest of the world is open, decided by where your document was issued and where you live |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Cloud Card 10 USDT, Boundless 100 USDT, $0 a month; 0.80% per transaction, $0 crypto conversion, 2% at the ATM (minimum $1) |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDC and USDT into the MP wallet (“non-custodial”), via Binance Pay or on-chain, then to the card; networks are not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | MP Network Inc; licences: US MSB, BSP and DASP in El Salvador, TCSP in Hong Kong; issuer not named; Flash Card retired 30 September 2026; no reviews found |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Cloud is virtual and Boundless is physical Visa; Apple Pay and Google Pay (Cloud adds Alipay, WeChat Pay); ATM on Boundless |
| Total | 7.1 / 10 |
So who is this for? It suits someone who already holds crypto, wants both a virtual and a physical card from a single wallet, and lives somewhere the country list permits. It suits someone who treats a card as a tool for subscriptions, groceries and travel rather than as an investment. It does not suit someone who needs a long public record of a company’s behaviour, because that record does not exist yet. It does not suit someone in one of the 23 closed countries, or holding a document from one. And it does not suit anyone whose priority is cheap spending, because the headline 0.80% per transaction is not the whole number — the section on costs shows why non-dollar spending pushes you towards 1.8%–2.2%.
Will they give you the card
Yes for most of the world, no for a specific and fairly long list — and the list is worth reading before you download anything.
The card is not issued in 23 countries, which it describes as “unavailable due to regulatory compliance”: Afghanistan, Belarus, Central African Republic, Cuba, DR Congo, Dominican Republic, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe. Russia and Belarus are both on that list, so if you live there or your passport is from there, this is not your card.
There is a second, longer list of places where KYC simply cannot be completed: parts of Ukraine (Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia, Kherson), Abkhazia, South Ossetia, Northern Cyprus, Somaliland, Transnistria, and Nagorno-Karabakh.
How the decision is made matters as much as the list. Eligibility is “based mainly on your document’s place of issue and your registered residential address”. So it is not simply where you live — it is where your papers say you live and where they were issued. The page is also explicit that documents cannot be switched to get around a regional restriction, which is the correct behaviour and not something you should be looking for a loophole to.
To be clear about what the card does not say: it does not publish a citizenship rule, and it does not say whether proof of address is required. Where I say something is not stated, that is what the public pages leave out, not a gap I am filling in.
How to get it
The signup is short. You need to be 18 or older. There are two levels, and the difference matters more than it first appears.
Registered is a phone-number sign-up. It comes with limits — transfers capped at 1,000 USD/day and a total of 10,000 USD — and no card.
KYC1 is what unlocks the card. It needs your basic personal information, a government-issued ID (passport or national ID) and a selfie with a liveness check. In exchange you get the card, unlimited transfers, and withdrawals up to 200,000 USD/day.
Two constraints trip people up. One identity can verify only one account — a second account on the same identity is a rejection reason. And documents must have an expiration date more than three months away, so an ID that expires next month fails.
The steps, as the app presents them: download the app, register, go to Assets > Activate Now, fund the wallet, choose your card type and buy.
Rejection reasons are published, which is more than most: under 18, unsupported country, blurry or cropped or printed or expired documents, a face mismatch or another person in the frame, a second account on the same identity, and a mismatch between your name, date of birth or document number and what you typed. Processing time is not stated.
There are two cards now:
- Cloud Card — virtual, billing currency USD, issued in Singapore, no ATM. Costs 10 USDT.
- Boundless Card — physical VISA, BIN 45659910, USD, has an ATM. Costs 100 USDT.
- Flash Card — retired. It was a virtual VISA, BIN 40433705, and its fee was 10 USDT a month.
The Cloud Card’s network is not stated, which is a real unknown: I cannot tell you whether it runs on Visa. On delivery, the Boundless card’s “Delivery time and region” is “Subject to the announcement on the Boundless Card application details page”, as is postage, if any. Replacement and reissue cost $5 the first time and $10 each later, at least 31 days apart.
What it really costs: Fees
The headline is that there is no monthly fee. The catch is in the percentages.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Cloud Card issuance | 10 USDT |
| Boundless Card opening / production fee | 100 USDT |
| Monthly fee | $0 |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | $0 |
| Transaction fee | 0.80% of each transaction |
| Small-value fee | $0.15 per transaction of $1 or less |
| FX / cross-border | Pass-through set by the card issuer; varies by country or region |
| Stated all-in cost | roughly 1% for USD spending, 1.8%–2.2% for non-USD spending |
| ATM fee (Boundless only) | 2%, minimum $1 |
| ATM per transaction / per day | $1,500 / $1,500 (max 5) |
| ATM per month | $15,000 |
| Dispute or chargeback fee | $35 per case |
| Refund fee | $0 |
| Reversal fee | $0.80 if reversal rate reaches 15% or more |
| Declined payment fee | $0.80 (first 5 per month waived) |
| Card replacement / reissue | $5 first, $10 each later |
Two lines in that table deserve your attention. The first is the FX line. MP does not set the currency-conversion markup itself — it passes through whatever the card issuer charges, and that varies by country and region. That means the cost of spending outside the United States is not a number you can learn from MP. The card’s own pages give you the practical range instead: roughly 1% all-in when you spend in USD, and 1.8%–2.2% when you don’t. So if you are a traveller or you pay in local currency every day, the difference between spending in dollars and spending in euros is real and it is roughly double.
The second is the small-value fee. A transaction of $1 or less costs $0.15. Combined with the 0.80% transaction fee, that is not a card for splitting payments into tiny pieces.
Now let me run three ordinary payments through it, because that is where fees become concrete.
Coffee, $4.50, paid in the United States. The 0.80% transaction fee is 3.6 cents. No conversion, no FX. Total cost: about $0.04. This is the cheapest case, and it is also the case where the card is easiest to recommend.
Groceries, $85, paid in euros in Berlin. On the low end of the stated non-USD range, 1.8% all-in is $1.53. On the high end, 2.2% is $1.87. Say around $1.50 to $1.90 on an $85 basket. The 0.80% transaction fee is inside that figure, not on top of it.
A $40 subscription billed in a non-dollar currency, charged twice in one month. Two times $0.80 is $1.60 before any FX, and the FX pass-through applies on each one. If it is declined rather than paid, the declined fee is $0.80, though the first five declines in a month are waived.
There is a limit table too, and I will set it out plainly rather than paraphrase it. It lists three limit sets, and the card names are not attached to them in the table itself — reading them against the card line-up, the middle set corresponds to Cloud and the outer two to Boundless and the retired Flash, but that mapping is my inference, not something the page states.
| Limit | Set 1 | Set 2 | Set 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single transaction | $100,000 | $20,000 | $100,000 |
| Daily spending | $250,000 | $1,000,000 | $250,000 |
| Monthly | $1,000,000 | $5,000,000 | $1,000,000 |
| Annual | $2,000,000 | $10,000,000 | $2,000,000 |
| Transactions per day | — | 100 | — |
Those are very high ceilings. Read them as a statement about the product’s architecture rather than about what you will be allowed to move; what actually gates you is the KYC1 withdrawal ceiling of 200,000 USD/day and, in practice, how quickly the issuer lets you load.
How to Top up the card
Topping up starts with a transfer to the right network, and that is where the friction is.

You deposit USDC or USDT into the MP Wallet, which the card describes as non-custodial. You can do it through Binance Pay or on-chain. Then you transfer from the wallet to the card, which spends a fiat balance.
Here is the practical problem: the specific networks are not listed on the pages I read. The card says USDC and USDT and says Binance Pay or on-chain, but not which chains. That matters more than it sounds. A blockchain transfer is irreversible — send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. So before your first transfer, find out in the app or from support exactly which networks are accepted, and check that you are sending the matching token. Assume nothing.
Some context on why this is a general problem rather than an MP quirk: USDC is natively issued on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026 per Circle, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Same token name, many chains, one-way doors. There is a related trap worth knowing: on Ethereum, a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send, because gas is paid only in ETH. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — send it wrong and support is your only route back.
Fees on the funding side: no issuance or top-up fee is listed on the fee page, and the minimum top-up is not stated. What is published is the withdrawal fee — 2.1 USDT per transaction, plus 0.1% on same-day withdrawals above 5,000 USDT. KYC1 withdrawals go up to 200,000 USD/day. What happens to a leftover balance if you close the account is not stated, and given that the Flash Card retirement moved balances into Total Assets, it is worth asking rather than assuming.
Paying with it every day
This is where MP is at its best, and it is why the card scores 9 out of 10 on everyday use.
- Cloud Card supports Alipay, WeChat Pay, Google Pay and Apple Pay.
- Boundless Card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay.
- ATM on the Boundless card, unavailable in mainland China and prohibited in Singapore.
- Billing currency is USD for Cloud, Boundless and the retired Flash.
Adding the virtual card to a phone wallet is the normal first move, and it is a safer way to carry it than the number itself: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. If your card number leaks, a tokenised phone copy is not what leaks.
Three things about daily use that the card does not tell you. The blocked merchant categories are not stated — so you do not know in advance whether gambling (MCC 7995, which many issuers block by policy) or anything else will be refused, and the list varies by issuer anyway. A rewards balance is mentioned but cannot be used for reissue fees, and no rate is published, so treat it as zero for planning. And the app ratings in the iOS and Android stores were not obtained, so I cannot tell you what users say about stability or support response times.
Support exists in-app (Me > Customer Support), on X, by email at [email protected], and in a Help Centre at help.mp.net, available in English, Simplified and Traditional Chinese. Hours are not stated.
What can go wrong
Here I want to be blunt rather than reassuring.
There is no public review record. I searched for user reviews and found none — no Trustpilot page, no Reddit thread, nothing from real users describing six months of daily use. That is not proof of anything bad. It is proof that if something goes wrong, you will be finding out alongside everyone else, in real time, with no precedent to point at.
The company is a fintech, not a bank. MP Network Inc is at 8 The Green, Suite B, Dover, DE 19901, USA, and describes itself as “a financial technology company, not a bank”. That sentence is doing real work, and you should read it as carefully as the company meant it. There is no deposit guarantee scheme behind your balance. A bank’s deposits are insured up to a limit; this is not that.
The licences are wide but shallow, and the issuer is unnamed. Per the help centre, MP holds a US MSB registration, BSP and DASP licences in El Salvador, and a TCSP licence in Hong Kong. The issuing authorities behind those are not named, and the statement is dated 13 August 2026. Cards are “issued in Singapore” — but the issuing bank is not named anywhere I found. That gap is worth naming plainly: you know a card is coming out, and you do not know which bank stands behind it.
A product line has already been retired. The Flash Card was permanently retired on 30 September 2026. Cards already issued were converted to Cloud Cards and balances moved to Total Assets. This is not a scandal — it reads like tidy product-line consolidation. But it is a live demonstration of what happens when a provider changes direction, and you should know how your balance and your card behave when that happens. Programme closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what’s left.
Stablecoins are not actually stable. This is background about the category rather than about MP, but the balance you top up is a stablecoin. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022. USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof either: Tether states it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Payment rails can refuse you for reasons unrelated to your balance. Address verification (AVS) compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright, because a BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Getting help costs $35 when it matters most. A dispute or chargeback fee of $35 per case is charged whether or not you win. Refunds are free. A reversal rate reaching 15% or more triggers an $0.80 reversal fee, which reads as a warning aimed at merchants, not users.
Nobody publishes the safeguards. Freezing the card in-app, 2FA and the details of the “regulated trust framework” backing card funds are not confirmed on the pages I read. Card funds are described as “securely backed within a regulated trust framework” and spending limits as manageable in the app. I am not going to tell you that is worthless — I am telling you it is unverified, and that the difference matters.
One more thing, and it is the quiet one. If you fund this card from crypto, you may owe tax on the payment. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate taxable event. I am not giving you tax advice; I am telling you that the card’s convenience does not move that obligation anywhere.
What to take instead
The card you hold is a prepaid-style instrument funded by crypto, and there are three other ways to hold that shape. Here is how they compare, and where each is stronger or weaker.
| MP | TokenPocket | MetaMask | KAST | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 7.1 / 10 | 5.8 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card | Cloud virtual + Boundless physical Visa, BIN 45659910 | Visa or Mastercard debit depending on country; Fiat24 cards virtual | Mastercard, virtual first, Metal pre-orderable; issuer Monovate | Virtual and physical, up to 10; Visa Platinum, Infinite metal, Infinite gold |
| Card cost | 10 USDT virtual / 100 USDT physical | NFT fee partly covered, user pays a small portion; no other fees | Virtual free; Metal $199/year | $0 to $10,000/year by tier |
| Spend fee | 0.80% per transaction | 1% fee on depositing crypto into the card | “Minimal fee for each transaction”; no MetaMask fees, no FX fee | 0% transaction fee, 0% USD spend |
| Non-USD FX | Issuer pass-through; ~1.8%–2.2% all-in | Not stated; extra fees can come from settlement | Mastercard rate | 0.5%–1.75% depending on country and programme |
| Cashback | Not stated | 1% deposit fee refunded later via rewards | mUSD: Virtual 1%, Metal 3% to first $10,000 then 1% | 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier, USD |
| Where it fits | Both virtual and physical from one wallet | Europe on Visa, wider list on Mastercard | 45 countries, waitlist elsewhere | Tiered, heavy on extras |
TokenPocket is the cheapest of the four on paper — one fee, 1% on the crypto deposit, refunded later through rewards — but the geography is the catch. Visa debit is aimed at a list of European countries and territories; Mastercard covers Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, the UK and others. If you are outside both, it is not for you.
MetaMask scores the same 7.1 and has the strongest rewards story of the four: cashback in mUSD, plus a $FLY bonus multiplier through the Blackbird dining app. It spends directly from the connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with no annual fee on the virtual card. Against that: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries with a waitlist elsewhere, proof of residency is required, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per the FAQ.
KAST has the most aggressive fee structure — 0% transaction fee, 0% for USD spend, 0% for stablecoin top-up, 0% for Apple and Google Pay — and the sharpest tiering: Standard is free, Premium is $1,000/year, Private is $10,000/year billed annually upfront. Cashback runs 1.5% to 3% depending on tier and caps out at different monthly spend levels. It is also the strictest on documents: you can create an account in an unsupported country, but KYC stays locked, and holding only an ID from a restricted region can make you ineligible even if you live in a supported country.
My honest read: MP is the only one of the four that gives you a virtual and a physical card from one wallet with an ATM on the physical one. MetaMask is the one with the best rewards and a named issuer. KAST is the one with the lowest stated fees if you spend in dollars and can afford the membership tier. TokenPocket is the one to look at if you are European.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend MP to someone who already holds USDT or USDC, lives in a permitted country with permitted papers, and wants one wallet that produces both a phone card and a plastic card. If your main spend is dollar-denominated, the cost is around 1% all-in, which is honest and unremarkable. If you add both cards and live outside the US, the per-transaction fee plus the issuer’s FX makes it 1.8%–2.2%, which is the number to plan around.
I would not recommend it as your only card. A product with no public reviews, an unnamed issuing bank, a stated non-bank status and one already-retired card line is fine as a second instrument and uncomfortable as a first one. Keep a card with a longer record behind your everyday spending, and keep the balance you do not need for spending out of the wallet — because a card is a spending tool, not a savings account, and its balance is not a bank deposit.
This card is not available in the 23 countries listed above, and the company states that documents cannot be swapped to change that eligibility.
Frequently asked questions
What is the MP card?
MP is a crypto wallet with a payment card attached, sold under the MPChat brand. You hold USDC or USDT in the wallet and spend from a fiat balance loaded onto the card. There are two current cards: Cloud, virtual, at 10 USDT, and Boundless, physical Visa, at 100 USDT. A third, Flash, was retired on 30 September 2026. The billing currency on both current cards is the US dollar.
How does the MP card work?
You deposit USDC or USDT into the MP wallet, described as non-custodial, either through Binance Pay or on-chain. You then move that balance to the card, and the card spends it. Because it works from a pre-loaded balance, it cannot overdraw — there is no credit line and no debt. The card network handles the payment itself: Visa routes the messages, an unnamed issuing bank holds the card programme, and MP sits in front as the app you use.
Is MP a bank?
No, and the company says so itself: MP Network Inc describes itself as “a financial technology company, not a bank”, and is registered at 8 The Green, Suite B, Dover, DE 19901, USA. What it does hold are licences listed in its help centre — a US MSB registration, BSP and DASP licences in El Salvador, and a TCSP licence in Hong Kong, per a statement dated 13 August 2026. The issuing bank behind the cards is not named.
Who owns MP?
The card brand is MPChat; the company behind it is MP Network Inc, a financial technology company registered in Delaware, USA. Its app is MPChat on iOS and Android. Its help centre is at help.mp.net and it lists a support email at [email protected], plus support in-app and on X. Store ratings for the app were not obtained.
Is the MP card available in my country?
In most countries, yes. It is not issued in 23 countries — Afghanistan, Belarus, Central African Republic, Cuba, DR Congo, Dominican Republic, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen and Zimbabwe — and KYC cannot be completed in parts of Ukraine, Abkhazia, South Ossetia, Northern Cyprus, Somaliland, Transnistria or Nagorno-Karabakh.
Which networks can I use to top up MP?
The card’s pages say USDC or USDT, via Binance Pay or on-chain, but they do not list the supported networks. That is a real gap, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. Find out which chains are accepted before your first transfer, and make sure the token matches the network — sending USDC over TRC20, for instance, is not a native option since Circle stopped supporting that route in February 2024.
Is the MP card free?
The Cloud Card costs 10 USDT and the Boundless Card 100 USDT as an opening or production fee. After that the monthly fee is $0 — the retired Flash Card used to charge 10 USDT a month. Spending is not free: there is a 0.80% transaction fee, roughly 1% all-in for dollar spending and 1.8%–2.2% for non-dollar spending, plus $0.15 on transactions of $1 or less.
Can I use MP at an ATM?
Only with the physical Boundless Card; the virtual Cloud Card has no ATM access. The fee is 2% with a $1 minimum. The limits are $1,500 per transaction, $1,500 per day with a maximum of 5 transactions, and $15,000 per month. ATMs are unavailable in mainland China, and card use is prohibited in Singapore entirely — a distinction worth noticing, since one of the accepted countries is also a place the ATM cannot work.
Is the MP card safe?
Nobody outside the company has written about it that I could find, so you are trusting the operator’s own description. The wallet is described as non-custodial and card funds as “securely backed within a regulated trust framework”, with spending limits manageable in the app. Freeze and block in-app and two-factor authentication were not confirmed on the pages I read. Since the balance is not a bank deposit, deposit guarantee schemes do not cover it.
Is the MP card worth it?
Worth it if you spend mainly in dollars, want both a virtual and a physical card from one wallet, and value being able to add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay. Not worth it if you live outside the US and pay in local currency — the issuer’s FX pass-through takes you to 1.8%–2.2% all-in — or if you need a long public record of how a provider behaves before trusting it with your balance. There is currently no independent review of MPChat or the MP card.
Wallet cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
