A Telegram-first crypto card that is not finished yet
Balance Pay is the kind of product that is easier to judge once you separate two questions: can you get it, and is it finished? The answer to the first is encouraging — a Telegram bot, a KYC flow the company says takes a few minutes, and USDT top-ups on three named networks. The answer to the second is the problem. There is a virtual Visa card today, and there is no physical card, no published tariff sheet, no country list, and no named issuing bank. Apple Pay and Google Pay are “coming soon”. Bank fees are simply not stated.
I scored it 5.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict of “scam” or “avoid at all costs” — it is a verdict of “a plausible idea, at an early stage, with the disclosure that usually protects you not yet published.” My marks below come from what I could actually confirm from the company’s own material, and where something is not said, I have said so rather than guessing.
The audience this card clearly serves is Telegram users who top up a virtual Visa with USDT and then spend from it in shops and online. If that is you, the ergonomics are good and the concept is clean. If you need a card that works everywhere a debit card works, with fees you can read in advance and a physical piece of plastic in your hand, this is not it yet.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | No country list or restrictions published; interface in English and Russian |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | No monthly fee and free registration; a one-off issuance charge may apply for the virtual card per the Russian FAQ, amount not named; conversion and FX fees not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT on Tron (TRC-20), Polygon and Base; other networks “soon” |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | A fintech company, not a bank; legal entity, country of registration and issuer not named; tariffs and legal documents “later”; no reviews found |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual Visa only for now; Apple Pay and Google Pay “soon”; metal and plastic cards planned; ATM not disclosed |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 |
Read that third row and the fourth row together and you have the whole card in miniature. The top-up side is unusually well specified — three named networks, one named asset — which is more than many comparable products tell you. The spending side is where the fog is: what a conversion costs, what an FX payment costs, what the ATM charges, what the daily caps are. None of that is on the table.

I want to be fair about the reliability mark, because a 4 out of 10 can sound like a warning about misconduct, and it is not. I found no official incidents and no user reports at all. That cuts both ways. There is nothing damning, and there is also no track record — no Trustpilot page, no reviews of balance.money or BalancePay surfaced in a search. For a new card that is normal. For a new card, it also means you have no outside signal at all, so you are relying entirely on the company’s own descriptions.
My honest bottom line: promising and early. If you can live with an all-digital card, a Telegram-only workflow and the possibility that a fee appears later, it is worth an experiment. If you are putting rent or salary through it, wait.
Will they give you the card?
The short answer is that nobody has published the answer, and that is itself the answer you should weigh.

Balance Pay does not publish a country list or any restrictions. Whether they will onboard you depends on things they have not put in writing: their internal risk policy, whoever the licensing issuer turns out to be, and the sanctions screening every regulated business performs. That screening, to be clear, is routine and legal — it happens to everyone — but the point is that you cannot check your own eligibility in advance from their site, because they have not told you the rules.
There is one small thing in your favour: the interface is available in English and Russian. So the friction of language, which is a real obstacle for a lot of people, is not the problem here. The problem is the unknown.
Let me be clear about what “not stated” means throughout this review. It does not mean a fee exists and they are hiding it, or that you will be refused. It means the company’s public pages simply do not say. I have tried to separate what is disclosed from what is genuinely absent, because those two look identical from the outside and deserve very different levels of caution.
One more thing worth knowing, though it belongs to the industry rather than to this card: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults, 18 and over. Some issuers set higher limits for some products. Balance Pay does not say what its KYC level is, so do not assume it is the lightest possible tier — that is another “not stated”.
How to get it
The route is unusually short, and it lives entirely inside Telegram.
You open the bot at @balance_bot. You pass KYC inside the bot, which the company says takes “a few minutes”. Then you top up. Then the virtual card is issued to you — instantly, inside the bot. That is the whole sequence, and it is worth noting how few moving parts there are: no app to install, no web form to fill, no PDF to upload to a portal.
There are some blanks in that flow, though. The company does not name the documents it will ask for, and it does not name the KYC provider — the third party actually doing the checking. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated. Whether there are multiple verification tiers, with higher limits at higher tiers, is not stated either. In practice, expect to be asked for the things regulated businesses universally ask for: an identity document, a selfie, and a selfie with the document. But treat that as the normal pattern for this industry, not as a promise about what Balance Pay specifically will request.
On the card itself: what exists today is a virtual Visa. Metal and plastic physical cards are planned, and with them Visa Signature perks, which the company ties to the launch of physical cards — so treat those perks as future tense. The currency the card holds is not stated. Delivery of a physical card, when it arrives, is not stated either.
So the answer to “how do I get it” is genuinely “in Telegram, in a few minutes” — for the virtual version. Everything about the physical version is a plan, not a product.
What it really costs
This is where I have to be blunt: the card tells you some costs clearly, tells you nothing about the ones that will actually appear on your statement, and defers the rest.
| Fee or limit | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Registration is free; per the Russian FAQ a one-off charge may apply for issuing the virtual card, amount not named |
| Monthly fee | “No monthly fee” |
| Conversion | Not stated |
| FX / foreign currency | Not stated |
| ATM | Not stated |
| Daily limits | Daily caps are mentioned, but no values are given |
| Monthly limits | Not stated |
| Tiers | No tiers published |
| Card currency | Not stated; “multi-currency spend” is listed as a feature with no detail |
| Full tariffs | “Full tariffs and legal documents will appear later” |
Read that table twice. The company has committed to two things publicly — no monthly fee, and free registration — and then deferred the rest of the schedule. “Multi-currency spend” is listed as a feature with no accompanying explanation of what currency the card holds or what happens when you spend in a currency other than that one.
Let me put this in industry terms, because the absence of numbers is itself a number in your planning. Cards in this category commonly charge some combination of: a percentage on crypto top-up, a small fixed fee per transaction, a percentage on currency conversion, and an FX spread on non-dollar payments. Compare the alternatives at the end of this review — they publish 4% top-up, $0.25 per transaction, 1.5% conversion, and FX fees “up to 3%” — and you will notice how much easier it is to plan around a published number. Balance Pay publishes none of those. You are being asked to budget without knowing the shape of the bill.
Two everyday payments, to make the gaps concrete.
A coffee in your own currency, paid from a USDT balance. In the best case you pay: the network fee for moving USDT on whichever of Tron, Polygon or Base you used, the company’s top-up fee (none listed), and any conversion fee from USDT into the card’s balance (not stated). What I cannot tell you is the size of that last one, because it is the number that would actually decide whether this is cheap or expensive for you.
A holiday abroad, paying in a foreign currency. Here the unknowns stack. The card’s own currency is not stated, so I cannot tell you what the card converts from. The FX fee is not stated. Whether “multi-currency spend” means no extra fee or merely that more than one currency is accepted is not explained. And the daily cap, if you hit it mid-trip, would stop you spending — but no values are given. This is the scenario I would worry about most, and it is the one the card is least forthcoming about.
The fair conclusion is not “this card is expensive”. It is “you cannot tell yet, and the company has said the numbers are coming.”
How to top it up
Topping up is the strongest part of the product, and it is the reason I gave this section real marks.
You fund the card with USDT on Tron (TRC-20), Polygon, or Base. More networks are described as “coming soon”, and that phrase has a specific, unforgiving meaning in this industry — see below.
Beyond crypto, there are fiat routes: on-ramp partners handle buying crypto with real money — Mercuryo for cards issued in the EU, and local providers for Latin America and the Asia-Pacific region. No top-up fees are listed. The minimum top-up is not stated, and neither is who pays the network fee — you or the service. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card company, so that cost exists regardless and lands on your wallet.
One caution about networks, and it is the one thing I would not skip. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send USDT on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost entirely or need manual recovery through support with no guarantee of getting it back. The provider listing three networks is helpful — it narrows your choices to safe ones — but it also means picking the wrong one has no undo button. Confirm the network on both sides before you send.
A related asymmetry worth knowing, in case you try to move USDC: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. And on Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX. None of this is a Balance Pay problem, but all of it is a mistake you can make while topping up.
To get money back out, the options are to send USDT to an external wallet, or to use partner routes to bank accounts. Fees on withdrawal are not stated, and neither is what happens to a balance remaining when you close the account.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the card is virtual-only, and that is the dominant fact about using it.
Mobile wallets. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both “coming soon”. There is no native app — the Telegram bot at @balance_bot is the interface, with a web dashboard in preview. No app-store ratings exist, because there is no app. This is worth pausing on: every convenient way to pay with a card on a phone goes through a wallet, and the wallet integration is the part that is not shipped. Until it is, you are typing card details into checkout forms.
Merchant categories. The card mentions rules about merchant category codes — the four-digit classification that tells a merchant what they sell, from casinos and lotteries to ordinary retail. But no list is published. Some issuers block specific categories as a matter of policy rather than law, and the blocked list differs from issuer to issuer. You cannot know in advance where this card will be refused.
Rewards. There are bonus points, or stablecoin cashback, for each friend you refer who activates. The amounts are not stated. I would treat this as a reason to mention it to friends, not as a line in your budget.
Disputes and refunds. Not stated. If something goes wrong with a payment — goods not received, a duplicate charge, a fraud attempt — what process you go through, and who decides, is not on the card’s public material. This is a genuine gap, and it is one of the more important ones.
What can go wrong
Grouped by how much it should worry you.
The card is early, and the paperwork is not here yet. The company describes itself as a fintech company, not a bank. The legal entity, the country of registration, and the issuing bank are not named. Full tariffs and legal documents will “appear later”. Practically, this means you cannot currently check whether a regulated institution stands behind the balance, or in which jurisdiction you’d have to complain if something went wrong.
Safeguards exist; custody is unstated. The card offers freeze and unfreeze, security toggles, and real-time payment alerts. Those are the right features and they are standard. What is not stated is the custody model — who actually holds the funds, and whether they are safeguarded or segregated. In the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds, either segregated in dedicated accounts or insured, and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Whether any of that applies here depends entirely on who the unlicensed-on-paper entity turns out to be.
Programmes do close. This is not Balance Pay-specific; it is what happens in this category. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically run in a predictable order: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw whatever remains. One 2026 closure, reported by a secondary source and not confirmed, ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026. The lesson is not to panic. It is to keep your balance small enough that a shutdown would not hurt.
Declines and holds. Merchants can look at the BIN and see which institution and country issued your card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address — this is why a card issued in one country looks “foreign” in a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for that reason. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on your own domestic purchases. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven.
Sanctions screening runs against you, not for you. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address. There is no way to opt out of that, and no reason to want to.
Stablecoins are not as stable as the name. A stablecoin aims to hold a steady value against a fiat currency, but despite the name they are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If your balance is denominated in a stablecoin, that is a risk sitting under your everyday spending.
Tax is worth thinking about before you spend. Digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. For personal holdings that is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less, and the gain is measured in local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment funded from crypto may be its own separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice; I am telling you to find out what applies where you live, because the mechanics of paying with a crypto card can create many small reportable events.
Support exists, thinly. There is a “contact support” shortcut in the bot and an email at [email protected]. No news or announcements process is described, and no Trustpilot page was found.
What to take instead
None of these is a recommendation over Balance Pay; they are the alternatives with published numbers, so you can compare like with like. Here is the picture across the four cards.
| Card | Score | Card type | Card creation | Monthly | Conversion / FX | Top-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Balance Pay | 5.7 / 10 | Virtual Visa now; physical planned | Free registration; a one-off virtual-card charge may apply per the Russian FAQ, amount not named | “No monthly fee” | Not stated | USDT on TRON (TRC-20), Polygon, Base |
| Azul Card | 5.3 / 10 | Virtual only, Mastercard | $20 one-time, refunded after $2,000 in spending | $5 | Per transaction $0.25; crypto top-up 4%; FX not stated | Crypto sent to the card in Telegram; coins and networks not named |
| Telecard | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard only | $5 one-time; VIP $49 setup then $19/month | $0 on the basic plan; $19/month on VIP | Conversion 1.5% on non-USD; gas 0.5 USDT per successful transaction; FX and cross-border “up to 3%” each | USDT on TRON (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20); USDC on Ethereum (ERC-20); no Polygon |
| OnCards | 4.6 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard / Visa in Telegram | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated (“no hidden charges”, no amounts) | USDT BEP20 only; no bank transfers |
A few differences you should notice.
Telecard is the only one of the four with a full published fee schedule and the highest score of the group. It also has frictions of its own: no physical card at all, a $99 minimum deposit to activate — which the site insists is not a fee, and which stays in your wallet — and no Polygon support, which is one of the three networks Balance Pay does support. Its referral scheme pays in “Fiorini” at 1 USDT = 100 Fiorini, with the cashback rate unspecified.
Azul Card is the clearest on who is excluded: unavailable in Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine, and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, and — importantly — those restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality, so the card simply cannot be used in those places by anyone. Its card balance is in USD, converted to USD. Its referral programme pays up to 40% of the company’s fees from every transaction made by your referrals.
OnCards tells you the least of the three. It states fees are simple with no hidden charges but gives no amounts, does not fix the network, funds only by USDT on BEP20, accepts no bank transfers, and says nothing about countries. If you want a card and the absence of information is your main reason for hesitation, it is not an improvement on Balance Pay.
On eligibility generally: Azul excludes named countries outright. Telecard’s site says the card is usable in over 150 countries wherever Mastercard is accepted, with identity checks “available in most major regions” and no list of supported or excluded countries; its terms bar only users “blocked or sanctioned by the United States Government, including OFAC”. Balance Pay publishes no list at all. So if your question is simply “can I use this where I am”, Telecard and Azul let you find out; Balance Pay does not.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Balance Pay to someone who already lives in Telegram, already holds USDT, already understands what a virtual card number is and what it cannot do, and wants a second spending rail for crypto holdings without touching a bank account. For that person, the three supported networks, the free registration and the absent monthly fee are a genuinely tidy package, and the bot-based flow is faster than anything that requires an app and an onboarding queue.
I would not recommend it — yet — to anyone whose card has to work without exceptions. If you travel, if you need an ATM, if you pay with your phone, if you need to know what a transaction will cost before you authorise it, or if you want to know that a real regulated institution is behind the balance, the honest answer is that this card cannot tell you any of those things today. Its own material says the tariffs and legal documents are coming later, and I would wait for them rather than guess.
If you are cautious by nature, the cost of trying is low and the downside is bounded: no monthly fee, and you can cap what you load. But keep loaded balances small, treat any reward points as a bonus rather than income, and if you do put real money through it, remember that in this category a card programme closing is a normal event, not an exceptional one.
Frequently asked questions
What is Balance Pay card?
Balance Pay is a crypto-funded payment card issued inside Telegram. You pass identity checks in a bot, load the card with USDT, and spend from it as you would from a stored-balance card. Today it is a virtual Visa only; metal and plastic physical cards are described as planned for later.
Is Balance Pay a bank?
No. Balance Pay describes itself as a fintech company, not a bank, and does not name its legal entity, its country of registration or its issuing bank. It says full tariffs and legal documents will appear later. That is not in itself a warning sign, but it means you cannot currently verify who stands behind the balance.
Who owns Balance Pay?
The public material names no parent company and no ownership details. What it does say is that it is a fintech company rather than a bank. Searches for reviews of balance.money and BalancePay returned nothing, so there is no public track record to judge it by either way.
Does Balance Pay card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification happens inside the Telegram bot and the company says it takes a few minutes. The documents required, the provider doing the checking, and whether proof of address and age are required are not stated. Regulated businesses always verify identity under anti-money-laundering law, so expect standard document checks.
How do I top up the Balance Pay card?
You send USDT to it on one of three supported networks: Tron (TRC-20), Polygon, or Base. You can also buy crypto with fiat through on-ramp partners — Mercuryo for EU cards and local providers in Latin America and the Asia-Pacific region. No top-up fees are listed, but the minimum and who pays the network fee are not stated.
Is Balance Pay card free?
Registration is free and there is no monthly fee. According to the Russian FAQ a one-off charge may apply for issuing the virtual card, but the amount is not named. Conversion fees, FX fees and ATM charges are all unstated, and the company says full tariffs will be published later, so you cannot yet budget from a complete schedule.
Can I add Balance Pay card to Apple Wallet?
Not yet. Both Apple Pay and Google Pay are listed as “coming soon”. Until that ships you would type card details into checkout forms, which is slower and stores the number on more websites. There is also no native app — the Telegram bot is the interface, with a web dashboard in preview.
Where can I use the Balance Pay card?
Balance Pay publishes no country list and no restrictions, so you cannot check eligibility or coverage in advance from their material. In practice a virtual card of this kind works wherever Visa is accepted online, but some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, and you may get extra scrutiny at physical terminals. Card currency is also not stated.
Is Balance Pay card safe?
There is no way for me to answer that flatly. On the good side there are standard safeguards: freeze and unfreeze, security toggles and real-time payment alerts. On the unknown side, the custody model and how funds are safeguarded are not stated, no independent reviews exist, and the legal entity and issuer are unnamed. Use small balances.
How do I withdraw money from Balance Pay?
You can send USDT to an external wallet, or use partner routes to reach bank accounts. Withdrawal fees are not stated, and neither is what happens to any balance left when you close the account. Plan to withdraw what you do not need rather than assuming a clean exit.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
