A prepaid Mastercard that lives or dies on its 5% top-up fee

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

I went through GFPAY’s public pages, terms and the surrounding paperwork to see who this card is for and what it really costs in everyday use. GFPAY is a prepaid Mastercard that holds a USD or EUR balance, marketed as a way to spend cryptocurrency at the point of sale. The number that jumps out is the top-up fee: 5%. That single number shapes almost every other judgement in this review, and it is the reason the card ends up at 5.0 out of 10.

GFPAY works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

GFPAY scores 5.0 out of 10. The card has a clean, simple structure: one programme, virtual and physical Mastercard, USD or EUR balance, mobile-wallet support for the virtual card, no rewards to worry about. For a user in a country that is not on the long prohibition list, it can work as a basic spending tool. The problem is cost. A 5% top-up fee on top of a $50 issuance fee, a $10 monthly fee, a $0.30 per-transaction purchase fee and a 2.0% FX fee makes this one of the more expensive ways to convert crypto into everyday spending money. The everyday-use score is decent, the cost score is the lowest in the table, and the overall picture is dragged down by that combination.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a GFPAY payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

How the score breaks down

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Global except a list of 27 prohibited countries; basis (citizenship vs residence) not stated
Cost 1 / 10 $50 issuance, $10/month, 5% top-up, 2.0% FX, $0.30 per purchase, $4 + 1% ATM
Top-up options 6 / 10 Coins and networks not listed in the current overview; “stablecoin-focused, multichain” from earlier checks; no cash-out to crypto
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 GFPAY SOLUTIONS FZCO in Dubai; issuer and licences not named; support domain unreachable; account can be closed without notice; no independent reviews found
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical Mastercard, ATM access, mobile-wallet support for virtual card; physical card not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay
Total 5.0 / 10 The card works in the right places, but the cost stack overwhelms the convenience

The audience this card suits is narrow: a user who needs a Mastercard with both virtual and plastic options, lives outside the 27 prohibited countries, does not mind the monthly fee, and treats the 5% top-up fee as the price of convenience. If any of those do not match your situation, the alternatives later in this review will look more attractive.

Will they give you the card

GFPAY’s terms say the card is available globally except for a list of prohibited countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe, and the Central African Republic. That is 27 countries in total.

What the public pages do not say is whether the eligibility test is based on citizenship, country of residence, or both. The card’s overview only confirms you are not in one of the listed jurisdictions; it does not name which one disqualifies you. If you hold a passport from a prohibited country but live elsewhere, or the reverse, you will only find out at application. Treat the rule as opaque until the issuer tells you otherwise.

The other gate is identity. You need a government-issued ID that is valid for at least six months from the date you apply, and a proof of address no older than 75 days (the overview) or 90 days (the physical card FAQ). Accepted documents are passport, ID card, driver’s licence, residence permit, or a bank or card statement. The terms also say minors need a guardian’s permission, which generally means you must be 18 or older to apply on your own. GFPAY does not publish KYC tiers or a processing time, so you should expect to wait without a published window.

Two practical notes from the eligibility list. First, several of the prohibited countries are common residential and travel bases — Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Iran and Syria among them — so a meaningful share of users will be turned away. Second, the breadth of accepted ID documents is a sign that the card is set up to onboard users who may not have a traditional banking relationship, which lines up with the broader crypto-card category.

How to get it

The card is a Mastercard prepaid product, available as both a virtual card and a physical card, denominated in USD or EUR. The overview allows up to 3 cards per user; the physical-card FAQ allows up to 4 physical cards. Tokenization for the physical card is described as “coming soon”, which is why the plastic does not currently work in Apple Pay or Google Pay. 3D Secure is enabled on the cards.

Once your KYC is approved, the steps the public pages describe look like this. You create an account, complete identity verification, and choose a virtual or physical card. For the physical card, the overview says it ships the next business day after payment and within 3 days after the invoice is paid; the delivery cost is invoiced separately and the amount is not published. The list of “approved countries” for delivery is also not published, which means you may not find out that the card cannot be posted to your address until you have paid.

If your card is lost or stolen, the policy is to deactivate it and issue a replacement carrying the remaining balance; the replacement fee is not stated. The terms also say GFPAY may terminate accounts without notice — that is covered in more detail under the risks section.

A small note that often confuses new users: a $100 initial deposit is described as covering the $50 card fee and an activation cost, leaving a $40 balance. Different pages of GFPAY’s documentation describe the activation as free in one place and as $10 in another. Treat the $50 acquisition fee and the $100 initial deposit as the safest mental model, and check your invoice before paying.

What it really costs

This is the part of the review that has to be read carefully, because the headline numbers on the marketing site do not tell the whole story. The table below pulls every figure from the card’s public pages and FAQ.

Fee or limit Amount
Card acquisition $50
Activation (overview / FAQ) Free / $10 (figures differ)
Monthly maintenance $10 (card cancelled if balance insufficient)
Top-up / reload 5%
POS / online purchase $0.30 per transaction
Foreign-exchange (FX) 2.0%
ATM withdrawal $4.00 + 1%
ATM balance inquiry $1.00
Load limits Min $15, max $100,000
POS / online limits Max $100,000 per transaction, $100,000 per day, 25 per day
Maximum balance (physical FAQ) $150,000
Maximum monthly spend (physical FAQ) $175,000
ATM withdrawal Max $1,000 per transaction and per day, 25 per day (overview); $2,000 per day, $20,000 per month, 60% of balance (physical FAQ — sources differ)
ATM count per day 25

The crypto conversion rate is not stated. There is no published spread or “best-rate” mechanism; the only fee number attached to the conversion is the 2.0% FX fee on foreign-currency transactions and the 5% top-up fee. Where a card has both a spread and a fee, the spread is where the real cost usually lives, and the absence of a published rate here is something to keep in mind.

Let me walk through three everyday payments so you can see the fees stack up.

A $5 coffee paid with the card at a domestic merchant costs you the $0.30 per-transaction fee. That represents a significant cost relative to the price for a single coffee, and it is the worst case in the cost stack: small purchases are punished hardest. If the same coffee is paid abroad in EUR, the $0.30 fee is joined by the 2.0% FX fee, so a €5 coffee comes to about $5.30 + 2.0% on top.

A $100 domestic online purchase costs $0.30 in fixed fees, or 0.30% of the purchase. Compared to a 5% top-up fee paid at the moment you load the card, the per-transaction fee is much smaller. The 5% top-up fee is by far the larger of the two for any reasonable use pattern, which is why the cost score is so low.

A $200 ATM withdrawal abroad would run $4.00 + 1% on the ATM side, plus the 2.0% FX fee on the currency conversion, plus any difference between GFPAY’s published rate and the mid-market rate. That is roughly $9 in fixed-and-percentage fees before the FX spread is even counted. If you also factor in the 5% top-up fee you paid to load the card in the first place, the total cost of turning crypto into foreign cash at an ATM is uncomfortable.

Three patterns emerge from the table. The first is that fixed fees make small transactions expensive. The second is that the 5% top-up fee is the dominant cost and is paid every time you move crypto onto the card, not just once. The third is that the figures themselves are not fully consistent between the overview and the physical-card FAQ; the ATM limits alone differ between the two pages, and you should check the figure that applies to your card before relying on it.

How to top up the card

The current overview does not list which coins or networks GFPAY supports. Earlier checks of the public pages described the card as “stablecoin-focused, multichain”, which is a useful steer but not a published list. If your workflow uses a non-stablecoin such as BTC or ETH, you should confirm the supported asset and network before sending anything: a transfer on a network the provider does not support, or to an address of another network, is typically irreversible, and even when recovery is possible there is no guarantee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up GFPAY starts with a transfer to the right network

The numbers on topping up are clear. There is a 5% load fee, a $15 minimum, a $100,000 maximum per load, and an initial deposit of $100 when you first load an online-purchase card. A separate gift-card FAQ mentions a $10 creation fee, a 5% load fee, and Bitcoin as an example asset. GFPAY does not state who pays the on-chain network fee (the “gas” or “bandwidth” cost of the blockchain transfer itself), so for now assume the user pays it.

Two practical questions to ask support before you load. The first is which networks are currently accepted for your chosen coin; the second is whether the on-chain fee is deducted from the amount you send or added on top. Sending 100 USDT on a network with a 3 USDT fee can easily leave you below the $15 minimum, and the card will not load.

There is one important thing the card does not do: funds cannot be converted back to crypto, and they cannot be moved between cards. The closure balance is not stated. If you load $500 and only spend $200, the remaining $300 sits in fiat on the card and you cannot on-ramp it back to your own wallet through GFPAY. You can only spend it, withdraw it at an ATM, or hope the company pays out the closure balance on terms you can find in the contract.

Paying with it every day

The card behaves like a standard prepaid Mastercard. The virtual card can be added to mobile wallets such as Apple Pay and Google Pay, so online and in-store tap-to-pay works from a phone. The physical card is not tokenized, which means it is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay — a meaningful gap, because most contactless spending in 2026 runs through a phone rather than a piece of plastic.

The card has 3D Secure enabled for online purchases, so for unfamiliar merchants or higher-risk transactions the issuer can challenge the cardholder with a one-time code or biometric check. That is the standard protection against card-not-present fraud, and it works in the customer’s favour most of the time.

GFPAY publishes a list of “quasi cash” categories that may decline: crypto, travellers’ cheques, gift cards. If you were hoping to use the card to top up another crypto card, buy a third-party gift card, or load a travel-money product, you may find the transaction refused. Gambling is a separate question: many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer; GFPAY does not publish its gambling policy, so the only way to know is to test a small deposit.

There is no mobile app. The web dashboard is at dashboard.gfpay.net, and that is where you manage the card, see your balance, and submit tickets. The gift-card FAQ on the same site mentions a separate gift-card product with its own creation fee, so do not assume the dashboard is the only place where funds live.

There is no rewards or cashback programme. The card does not publish a points, staking-yield, or sign-up-bonus structure, so the only financial upside is whatever price appreciation the underlying crypto earns between loading and spending. Treat the card as a spending utility, not a way to grow your balance.

Disputes and chargebacks are the weak spot. GFPAY’s general disputes policy gives you 30 days of negotiation, after which any unresolved matter goes to binding ICAC arbitration seated in Dubai. The terms do not mention chargebacks at all, which is unusual for a Mastercard programme. Prepaid cards also have a more limited set of consumer rights than credit or debit cards in some jurisdictions, so the practical effect is that recovering money in a dispute is harder than with a regular bank card. The prepaid gift-card product is sold without refunds at all.

What can go wrong

The reliability story for GFPAY is mixed. The company behind the card is GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, registered at Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. A FZCO is a free-zone company in Dubai, common for international fintechs because it is fast to set up. The legal architecture is set up to be familiar: the terms are under UAE law, and any arbitration is seated in Dubai at the ICAC arbitration centre.

What is not published is the issuer. The card is a Mastercard, so somewhere there is a licensed issuer — a bank or an electronic money institution — but GFPAY’s own pages do not name it. The licences the company holds, and the licences of any partner, are also not published. For a prepaid product, the licence of the issuer is a load-bearing fact: it is the body that safeguards your funds, complies with the KYC obligations, and answers to a regulator. Not knowing who that is, or which regulator oversees them, is a real gap.

The support setup is also unusual. The support URL given in the documentation is gfpay.biz/support, but the gfpay.biz domain did not resolve on 2026-10-21. A working support channel is the first thing a cardholder needs in an emergency, and a domain that is unreachable is a hard signal that the support experience is not reliable. A Telegram channel is mentioned but its hours and languages are not stated.

The terms include a clause that GFPAY may terminate accounts without notice. That is unusual even for a category that tends to have broad termination rights, because most card programmes give at least a stated notice period. If your account is closed, the path to recovering the balance on the card is not documented. Treat any balance you load as spendable in the near term, and do not park savings on the card.

The broader category has a record of programme failures. The FTX US debit card was wound down after Visa terminated its global agreements on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest — a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card programmes — was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every card it had issued. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves; they licence issuers and can suspend programmes. That is a structural risk for any card in this category, and it is one of the reasons a published, identifiable issuer matters.

The independent review picture is thin. I could not find a Trustpilot page for GFPay, nor any substantive discussion on Reddit. That is not the same as a bad reputation — it is the absence of a reputation. A card with no user feedback and an unreachable support domain is harder to evaluate than a card with a long, mixed, but public track record. Treat the silence as data, not as endorsement.

On the security side, 3D Secure is enabled and the standard KYC checks apply, but GFPAY does not describe a custody model. The overview is dated © 2025, and the terms page is marked “last updated October 05, 2023”. A 2023 terms page, three years on, is a sign that the public documentation has not been kept current.

What to take instead

GFPAY is not the only option for turning crypto into a payment card. Three alternatives, in rough order of how seriously to consider them, are below. The scores are from the same research process, and the detail comes from public pages read recently.

Cardex (5.6 / 10) markets itself as one crypto card available in 200+ countries, without a published country list or exclusions. It runs a debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay rails, with virtual and physical options, and the App Store listing is Naira-focused. The differentiator is the conversion: Cardex says it scans global exchange rates and picks the best one at the moment of payment. There is no published fee percentage. Funding is through USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. If the headline feature works, this is a cheaper way to spend crypto than paying 5% on every load.

CardFlow (4.9 / 10) is aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and Nigerians and global users, again with no country list. It issues a virtual USD Mastercard, and creating the card is free; a monthly fee is not stated, and other fees are not stated either. Funding accepts Bitcoin, USDT, ETH, or a Naira bank transfer, with networks not stated. Useful as a quick virtual USD card, but the lack of published fees is a real gap.

HyperCard (4.7 / 10) is a prepaid card with USD or EUR balances; the App Store page says it works in 176+ countries for acceptance but does not publish an eligibility list. The network is not stated on the App Store page, and no fees are listed. Funding is by depositing USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, which is then converted to USD or EUR on the card; the networks are not stated. Treat the published information as the bare minimum, and verify before loading meaningful sums.

A common pattern across all three is that fee structures and supported networks are often left to the dashboard or the support team, rather than published. That is a category-wide problem, not a GFPAY-specific one, and it is one reason the cost score for crypto cards tends to be lower than for traditional debit cards.

Card Score Card type Funding Notable feature
GFPAY 5.0 / 10 Prepaid Mastercard (virtual + physical), USD/EUR Crypto (not specified); “stablecoin-focused, multichain” 3D Secure; virtual in mobile wallets
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay USDT, USDC, BTC “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best rate at payment
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer Card created in about 3 minutes; free to create
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid card, USD or EUR balance USDT, BTC, ETH App Store says acceptance in 176+ countries

Who I would recommend it to

GFPAY fits a narrow reader. You live outside the 27 prohibited countries, you have a passport, ID card, driver’s licence, residence permit or bank statement that meets the freshness rules, and you need a Mastercard that works in mobile wallets (virtual) and at an ATM (physical). You do not move money on and off the card often, so the 5% top-up fee is a one-off cost rather than a recurring one. You are comfortable with the fact that the issuer is not named in the public pages, the support domain is currently unreachable, and the account can be closed without notice. If that profile is yours, the card will do what it says on the tin.

GFPAY does not fit several other readers. If you make small purchases often, the $0.30 per-transaction fee will eat your balance. If you move large sums in and out, the 5% top-up fee will dominate your cost. If you want to use the card in a country on the prohibition list, the answer is no. If you want to convert unused balance back into crypto, the answer is also no. If a working support channel and a named issuer matter to you, this card is not ready. And if you want rewards, cashback, or any sort of yield on the balance, the card does not have them.

A safe way to use the card, if you decide it is the right fit, is to keep the balance small, load only what you intend to spend in the next few weeks, and treat the card as a way to convert crypto to spendable USD or EUR at a known cost. Do not park savings on it. Do not assume the company can be reached in an emergency. And read the current page of the terms yourself before loading, because the publication dates of the public pages stretch back to 2023.

Frequently asked questions

What is GFPAY card?

GFPAY card is a prepaid Mastercard issued by an unnamed partner of GFPAY SOLUTIONS FZCO in Dubai, available in virtual and physical form, denominated in USD or EUR, and funded with cryptocurrency. The card is marketed at users who want to spend crypto at the point of sale, online and at ATMs, without converting it through a bank.

How does GFPAY card work?

You complete KYC, order a virtual or physical card, load it with crypto, and the card holds a USD or EUR balance. When you pay, the balance is spent like a regular prepaid card; 3D Secure applies for online purchases, and the virtual card works in Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Is GFPAY a bank?

No. GFPAY is a free-zone company registered in Dubai, and it does not describe itself as a bank on its public pages. The actual card-issuing institution is not named, which is one of the gaps a careful reader should note before loading meaningful sums.

Who owns GFPAY?

GFPAY’s public pages name only the company, GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, registered at Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. Beneficial ownership, management and any parent company are not disclosed in the materials I could read.

Is GFPAY card available in my country?

The card is available globally except for 27 prohibited countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe, and the Central African Republic. The basis (citizenship vs residence) is not stated.

How do I apply for GFPAY card?

You create an account, complete identity verification with a passport, ID card, driver’s licence, residence permit or bank statement, and order a virtual or physical card. The acquisition fee is $50 and the first load is $100. Processing time and country-specific delivery availability are not published.

Does GFPAY card require KYC?

Yes. You need a government-issued ID that is valid for at least six months and a proof of address no older than 75 to 90 days, depending on the page you read. GFPAY does not publish the KYC tiers or the expected processing time, so the wait is not predictable in advance.

How do I top up GFPAY card?

You send crypto to a wallet address provided by GFPAY, and the card balance is credited after the top-up fee and any on-chain network fees are deducted. The current overview does not list supported coins or networks, and a 5% load fee applies; the minimum load is $15. Earlier checks described the card as “stablecoin-focused, multichain”.

How do I withdraw money from GFPAY?

You can withdraw cash at an ATM with the physical card, with a $4 + 1% fee and a published limit of $1,000 per transaction in the overview (or $2,000 per day in the physical-card FAQ — the two pages differ). You cannot convert the balance back to crypto through GFPAY, and you cannot move funds between cards.

Is GFPAY card safe?

The card enables 3D Secure for online payments and applies standard KYC, but GFPAY does not publish the issuer, the licences, or the custody model, and the support domain (gfpay.biz) was unreachable on 2026-10-21. The terms also allow the company to close accounts without notice. Treat the card as a spendable utility, not as a place to hold savings.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team