A regulated Italian crypto exchange with a payment card attached, or a card? Read what is disclosed, what is only rumoured, and where the gaps are.
The Young card is best understood as a by-product of an Italian cryptocurrency exchange rather than a card company in its own right. Young Platform S.p.A. runs the exchange and, according to a 2026 review from Finanza Digitale, the payment card is a Visa debit card linked to the exchange trading account. That single sentence decides most of the questions people bring to this card: if you were hoping for a bank card issued by a bank you have heard of, with a bank’s app and a bank’s support desk, this is something else. If you already hold an account on the exchange, keep a crypto balance there and want a way to spend it in an ordinary shop, then the picture is more coherent.
My score for the card is 5.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether Young is a bad company — the regulatory footing looks solid where it can be checked — but a verdict on how much of a card’s story is actually documented. Young’s own public pages say very little about who can get the card, what it costs to hold, which currencies it settles in, or how it is funded. A card review that pretended otherwise would be selling you a product page.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | The list of countries is not disclosed and there is no confirmation of country restrictions. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial sources say issuance and the monthly fee are free; conversion and ATM fees are not disclosed. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Coins and networks for funding the card are not disclosed; the card is tied to an exchange account. |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Young Platform S.p.A. is supervised by Consob and Banca d’Italia, with payment partner TPPay S.p.A. (IMEL); the card issuer is not named; Trustpilot 4.4 out of 5 for the exchange. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Unofficial sources describe a debit Visa tied to an exchange account; wallets, virtual and plastic cards, and ATM details are not disclosed. |
| Total | 5.7 / 10 | A regulated platform with a thin, mostly undisclosed card layer on top. |
Who this suits, in one line: someone in the Italian market who already uses the exchange, holds YNG, and wants exchange-linked cashback on ordinary spending. Who it does not suit: anyone shopping for their first card, anyone outside the markets Young actually serves, and anyone whose main worry is knowing exactly what a payment will cost before they make it.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: the card’s public pages do not tell you. There is no disclosed list of eligible countries, no stated residency test, no stated age requirement tied to the card, and no statement about how applications are decided. That is the honest finding, and I want to be plain about it rather than dress it up.
This matters more here than it would for a card launched by a bank with a well-worn application form. KYC/AML rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, establishing the purpose of the relationship, and determining whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents anywhere in this category — it is not a punishment, it is the law the platform is obliged to follow.
Two further points that bear on your question without answering it directly. First, nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address. A card that does not state its country list may still apply country-of-citizenship screens internally. Second, prepaid and debit cards in this category are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits — but Young’s pages do not state which applies to them.
So: eligibility is undocumented. The regulatory structure tells you that a screening process exists; it does not tell you who passes. If you are outside the Italian market, treat the answer as unknown rather than as a probable yes.
How to get it
Also undocumented, and this is the section where I found the least. The public pages do not state what identity documents are required, what verification levels exist, how long approval takes, or how the card is delivered. There is no official description of the card type, of activation, or of delivery timelines.
What exists is third-party. Finanza Digitale, reviewing the service in 2026, describes the product as a Visa debit card linked to the exchange trading account. That is useful orientation and it is not the same thing as a specification from Young. I have no basis to tell you whether a plastic card is issued, whether a virtual card exists, or whether one is a prerequisite for the other.
What you can reasonably infer is the sequence. Young Platform operates an app on iOS and Android (store ratings were not read), the exchange account is the centre of the relationship, and a third party places the card’s launch at 30 November 2025 alongside a new payment account — again unofficial, from Finanza Digitale, 2026. If you already have an exchange account, you are further along than if you do not. If you do not, the honest position is that the onboarding steps are not published and you should expect to find them inside the platform rather than on a web page.
The identity question deserves one more word, because it comes up constantly: yes, this is a regulated exchange, so expect verification. What kind, and how deep, is not stated.
Fees and the real cost of a payment
This is where a card review earns its keep, and here Young discloses the least of all the things that decide your bill. The official position on issuance cost, monthly fee, conversion fee, ATM fees, and daily and monthly limits is not stated. Third-party sources list the monthly fee and issuance cost as free. I would treat that as plausible and unconfirmed.

| Item | What the public pages say |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated officially; listed as free by a third-party review (Finanza Digitale, 2026). |
| Monthly fee | Not stated officially; listed as free by a third-party review (Finanza Digitale, 2026). |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion fee | Not stated. |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not stated. |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated. |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | Not stated. |
| Settlement currency | Not stated. |
| Merchant category blocks (e.g. gambling) | Not stated. |
Three payments, taken as illustrations of the shape of the problem rather than as priced examples, since the card publishes no rates:
A coffee in Rome, paid in euros from a crypto balance. The conversion happens at the moment of payment, and the card does not say what it charges for it. A merchant category code of 7995 covers gambling and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, but nothing on Young’s public pages lists its block list either. If your daily spending is ordinary retail and food, that gap probably never bites.
A subscription bought online in a currency other than your own. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. So a foreign card can fail at the checkout for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance — and if the authorisation declines, it may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM. Both the fee and whether cash withdrawal is offered at all are not stated. If you were planning to treat this as your only way to get cash, that is the question to ask the platform before you rely on it.
The honest summary: you can find out what the card does not charge, and almost nothing about what it does. For a card you might spend from monthly, unknown conversion cost is not a detail — it is the whole number.
The one pricing structure that is public: YNG Clubs
Where the card’s economics do get documented is the token side. Young Platform runs Clubs by YNG, and each tier discounts fees:
| Club | YNG held | What the tier gives |
|---|---|---|
| Essential | ~130 | 5% fee discount, +1% staking APY |
| Bronze | ~1,100 | 30% discount, 1 free card deposit a month |
| Silver | ~3,600 | Half-price fees, +15% staking boost, monthly Market Report |
| Gold | ~7,200 | 75% discount, 2 free card deposits a month |
| Platinum | ~18,000 | 90% discount, 3 free card deposits a month, dedicated Account Manager |
Note what this table does and does not tell you. The percentages are discounts on fees, which implies a fee schedule exists — but that schedule is not on the public pages. A 90% discount of an unknown amount is still an unknown amount. What the table does tell you clearly is that the card is designed to be used alongside a YNG position, not instead of one.
Top up and how the balance arrives
For the card itself, the funding route is not stated: not which coins you can load, not which networks to send them on, not whether a direct wallet transfer or an on-chain deposit is the intended route. Whether and how to withdraw money back out is also not stated.

The unofficial description says the card is tied to the exchange account, which implies you fund it from inside the platform rather than by handing it a blockchain address. If that is right, most of the sharp edges in this section disappear — you are moving a balance between two screens belonging to the same licensed company. If it is wrong and the card takes on-chain transfers directly, the opposite happens and you inherit the sharpest risks in the category.
Those risks are worth knowing before you test it. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — stablecoins are not censorship-proof.
One consumer report I read concerns instant bank transfer to the exchange with unclear or undisclosed fees. Whatever the card turns out to do, the cost of moving money onto the platform is a separate question from the cost of spending it, and they are separate numbers.
Paying with it every day
What the card is, officially, is not stated. Unofficial sources describe a debit Visa tied to the exchange trading account. On that description, spending follows the debit model: the purchase pulls from a linked account at the moment of sale. A prepaid model would instead draw on a stored balance loaded in advance. Which one applies changes how you think about a declined payment and about whether the card can go negative — and the public pages do not say which you are getting.
Rewards are the one daily-use feature with published numbers. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens, and the rate depends on your Club tier:
| Club tier | Cashback rate |
|---|---|
| Essential | 0.1% |
| Bronze | Not stated |
| Silver | Not stated |
| Gold | 1.8% |
| Platinum | 3.6% |
Cashback in a token rather than fiat is the detail to hold onto. Whatever the rate, the amount arrives in something whose value moves, and you are exposed to that movement between the purchase and the moment you use or convert it.
Mobile wallets are undocumented. You will see “add to Apple Pay” in the search box for this card; the pages do not answer it. If it matters to you, ask. The general mechanics are well understood, for what they are worth: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use, for instance — so it is the issuer, not the phone, that decides how the digital card behaves.
Dispute handling is not stated. Whether you can raise a chargeback, on what grounds, and how long it takes — a refund ordered by your issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — is not described. Assume nothing until you ask.
App. The Young Platform app is available on iOS and Android. Store ratings were not read.
What can go wrong
No official incidents involving the card were found, and that is worth stating plainly as well as the rest. The complaints below concern the exchange, not the card, and no review I read discusses card payments at all. So the absence of card complaints is not evidence that the card works well; it is mostly evidence that people have not written much about it.
Regulatory footing — the strongest part of the story. Young Platform S.p.A. is authorised by Consob and Banca d’Italia as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR. The EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and stablecoins applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, applied from 30 December 2024. Account and payment services are linked to TPPay S.p.A., an Electronic Money Institution registered with the Bank of Italy, and Young Platform is a registered Payment Service Agent of TPPay.
Two consequences follow, and they cut in opposite directions. An EMI can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend; it may serve customers across the EU/EEA from a licence granted in one member state, which is real reach. It must also safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. If the question behind your interest is “is Young a bank”, the answer is no, and the safeguarding arrangements are the closest thing to a comparable guarantee you get.
MiCA also has a transitional period: providers already operating under national law may continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and that is where you can verify a provider directly.
The unnamed issuer. The card issuer is not named on the public pages. This is a normal piece of structural opacity — Visa and Mastercard license issuers rather than issuing crypto cards themselves, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end — but it does mean the institution that actually stands behind your payment is not identified on anything you have read.
Programme risk is a category risk, not a Young one. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. In 2018 WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically run in a defined order: notice, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. This is what “the card company can go away” actually looks like in practice.
Complaint themes (exchange, not card). On Trustpilot, the Young Platform exchange scores 4.4 out of 5 from 980 reviews, read 2026-10-21. Themes users report: unclear or undisclosed fees on instant bank transfer; unhelpful support; a site bug that cost about €100, which the company acknowledged and offered compensation for; and stablecoins no longer being available. That last one is the one I would sit with — a product line disappearing is a live reminder that availability is not permanent.
Security practices are not stated. No published detail on two-factor authentication, card freeze, spending limits, or 3-D Secure handling. Customer support is through the Young Platform support centre.
Where you stand with a regulator. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods or services are not. Cards, separately, are payment services regulated under their own law — which is why a crypto card like this depends on two licences, and why “MiCA-authorised” does not by itself tell you everything about the card.
Taxes. I am not going to advise you here, only point at the mechanic: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. If each card payment is funded from crypto, each may be a separate disposal. Take your own advice on this.
What to take instead
Three alternatives, compared on what is actually published rather than on marketing.
| MSX | Bybit Card | Coinbase Card | Young | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.4 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 | 5.7 / 10 |
| Who can get it | Not stated on an official page I could read | Region list published; EEA customers explicitly excluded | US states except Hawaii | Not stated |
| Card type | Not stated officially | Virtual and physical, by region, phased rollout | Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical | Unofficial: Visa debit linked to the exchange account |
| Cost | Not stated | Virtual issuance free “until further notice”; physical varies by region; “no annual fees” | “Zero spending fees and no annual fees” | Unofficial: issuance and monthly free |
| Conversion and FX fees | Not stated | 0.9% conversion in most regions; FX 2% on top of network rate in several | Spread applies at conversion | Not stated |
| Funding | Not stated | Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, fiat first, then crypto | Bank link or paycheck deposit | Not stated for the card |
| Rewards | Not stated | Tiers from 2% to 10% with monthly caps, crypto-funded only | Optional crypto rewards, variable rate | YNG cashback, 0.1% to 3.6% by Club tier |
MSX — scored 6.4. Almost everything is not stated, including eligibility, card type, cost, fees and funding. If you are weighing it, the case for it is the same as Young’s: nothing to compare against.
Bybit Card — scored 6.0, and the most fully documented of the three. Eligibility is explicit, including a warning that the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. Regions listed include Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific; if your country of residence is unsupported, the app records your interest. Networks vary by region — Mastercard prepaid in Argentina, Mastercard credit in several, Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru, Visa credit in Asia Pacific — and the card currency depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification, running USD in much of the world but ARS, MXN, BRL or PEN/USD elsewhere. Costs: virtual issuance free in all regions “until further notice”, physical issuance 29.99 USD in Australia and 29.99 USDT in Georgia and Kazakhstan, 5 USD/USDT in Argentina and Asia Pacific, none in Brazil and Mexico, and no issuance or replacement fee for VIPs holding certain physical cards. Fees: 0.9% crypto conversion in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina; FX of 2% on top of the network rate in several markets, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru, with the excess refunded where a padding percentage applies. Funding has no balance of its own — it draws on the Funding Account, fiat first, then sells crypto if needed. Rewards changed on 5 October 2026: only crypto-funded transactions earn, from 2% at Base to 10% at Infinite, with monthly caps and spend thresholds.
Coinbase Card — scored 6.4, and the narrowest of the three. Available in all US states except Hawaii, following US identity rules under the USA PATRIOT Act. It is a Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto with all crypto converted to US dollars. Fees are disclosed in the cardholder and user agreements: “zero spending fees and no annual fees”, though a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto. Rewards are optional, US-only, at a variable rate shown in the app. If you are in the US this is the legible option. If you are not, it does not apply to you at all.
The pattern worth noticing. Two of the three alternatives publish their fees; Young does not. That is the whole comparison. If your decision hinges on knowing the cost of a payment before you make it, you are choosing between a card that publishes numbers and one that does not.
Who I would recommend it to
Yes, if you already hold an account on the Young exchange, you are in a market it serves, you keep a YNG position, and you want cashback in that token on ordinary spending. The regulatory footing is real — Consob and Banca d’Italia authorisation under MiCAR, payment and account services through an e-money institution registered with the Bank of Italy — and the Club tiers mean your discount grows with your token holding. You are buying an extension of an exchange relationship you already have.
Not yet, if you need a card you can explain to a shopkeeper, a landlord or a border. The issuer is unnamed, the country list is unstated, ATM access is unstated, and the currency it settles in is unstated.
Definitely not, if you are outside the Italian market, or if a card is your route to financial inclusion because ordinary bank cards are hard to get where you live. Nothing here suggests Young is designed to solve that, and its public pages do not claim to serve people in that situation. Cards in this category generally require that you already have an exchange account, which is a precondition most people in that position do not meet.
Before you commit, ask four questions. What does a payment cost when it converts crypto? What country are you in, and is that country supported? Who is the card issuer? And what happens to the balance if the programme ends — which is not a rhetorical question about a theoretical failure, but a real one that happened to FTX’s US card and to WaveCrest’s European programmes.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Young card?
It is a Visa debit card linked to an exchange trading account, according to a 2026 Finanza Digitale review — unofficial, not confirmed by Young’s own pages. The card comes from Young Platform S.p.A., an Italian crypto exchange authorised by Consob and Banca d’Italia. So it is a spending tool attached to a crypto account, not a standalone bank card.
How does the Young card work?
On the unofficial description, spending draws from your exchange-linked account, and crypto is converted as part of the payment. Young’s public pages do not state whether it behaves as a debit card or as a pre-loaded balance card. That distinction matters for declined payments and for whether the balance can go negative. Ask before you rely on it.
Is Young a bank?
No. Young Platform S.p.A. is authorised as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR, and account and payment services run through TPPay S.p.A., an electronic money institution registered with the Bank of Italy. An EMI can safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts, but those are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who can apply for the Young card?
The card’s public pages do not say. No country list, residency test, or age requirement is stated for the card. Eligibility checks almost certainly happen inside the regulated exchange account, which covers identity documents, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person screening under EU rules — but the card’s own criteria remain undocumented.
Does getting the card require KYC?
Almost certainly, since it comes from a regulated exchange, but the card’s pages do not state what documents are required or what verification levels exist. EU customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, sanctions screening, the purpose of the relationship and PEP status. Accounts can be frozen pending documents where that cannot be completed.
What does the Young card cost to hold?
Unofficially free — a third-party review lists both issuance and the monthly fee as free. Young’s own pages state neither. Conversion fees, foreign exchange fees, ATM fees and daily or monthly limits are also not stated, which is the larger gap: knowing the monthly fee is zero tells you little about what a payment actually costs.
How do I top up the Young card?
The card’s funding route is not stated: not which coins, not which networks, not whether transfers go to the exchange balance or to a card address. Third-party descriptions tie the card to the exchange account, which would mean funding it in-app. If instead you send on-chain, be aware that transfers are irreversible and a wrong network can mean lost funds.
Can I use the Young card abroad, and is it safe?
Foreign use is not documented, and the risks of it are well documented. The BIN reveals the issuer’s country, so some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline prepaid and foreign cards; address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines; a declined authorisation can leave a hold for up to seven days. You would be relying on a single, unnamed issuer.
Is Young card worth it for cashback?
It depends on your Club tier and whether you already hold YNG. Cashback is paid in YNG, with published rates of 0.1% at Essential, 1.8% at Gold and 3.6% at Platinum; Bronze and Silver rates are not stated. Since cashback arrives in a token rather than fiat, its real value depends on the price when you spend or convert it, and the tier discounts apply to a fee schedule that is not published.
Where can I get help if something goes wrong?
Through the Young Platform support centre, which is what the card’s pages point to. User reviews of the exchange rate support as unhelpful, and one reported a site bug costing about €100 that the company acknowledged with an offer of compensation. Card-specific dispute and chargeback procedures are not stated, so it is worth asking how a disputed payment is handled before you need it.
Exchange cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
