Cheap cards, a licensed issuer and a support record that gives you pause

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Jeton card is one of the more interesting shapes in the crypto card market: a multi-currency account with both a virtual and a physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, a card you can freeze from your phone, and — the detail that makes it stand out — a foreign-currency payment fee of zero. It is issued not by an anonymous offshore startup but by Financial House Limited, under an FCA operator, and the brand itself sits under FCA authorisation too. That is a stronger paper trail than many competitors can show.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Jeton works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

What stops it scoring higher is not the product. It is the evidence around the product: a Trustpilot score of 3.1 out of 5 from 725 reviews, a user-reported app update in October 2026 that cost people their login history, complaints about frozen accounts and slow support, and a set of pages that leave several ordinary questions — card currency, conversion fee, KYC documents, shipping times — simply unanswered. Jeton scores 6.4 out of 10.

So who is this for? In my reading, it suits someone who wants a regulated app account with a physical and a virtual card, who is comfortable sending crypto from their own wallet and watching a balance fall, and who will not be devastated if support takes a week. It does not suit someone who needs a card that works identically in every country, who wants a published conversion rate, or who is planning to hold a large balance on the platform and sleep well.

The conditions described below are current as of October 2026.

Who can get the Jeton card

Jeton does not publish a country list, and says its bank is authorised to serve clients worldwide — so on paper almost anyone can apply, but on paper is not quite the same as in practice.

Here is what the card’s own pages say. Jeton Bank is described as authorised to provide services to clients worldwide. The terms page offers a single region option — “All Countries” — and notes that the region you choose affects which terms apply to you. There is no list of accepted or refused countries anywhere on the card page. Starting data from my checks confirms a physical card for EU applicants.

Read those three facts together and you get an unusual position. Compare it with a competitor like Whop Cards, which names 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses and lists a specific block of unsupported countries including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Jeton publishes none of that. That is not necessarily more permissive in practice — it means you cannot check before you start. You find out at signup.

There are two more things worth holding in mind. First, the company structure is layered, and that layering matters when something goes wrong. The brand is LA Orange Limited, trading as Jeton, FCA-authorised under registration 902088. The card account and the card itself are issued by Financial House Limited under FRN 902039. And Jeton Bank Limited is licensed in the Commonwealth of Dominica under 2022/C0175. So the deposit side and the card side sit with different legal entities. That is normal in this industry, but it means “the bank” and “the card issuer” are not the same company, and complaints about one may not be handled by the other.

Second, and more bluntly: KYC levels are not stated. The card’s pages do not say what documents you will need, whether proof of address is required, or what age applies. In practice that is normal for this category — the general rule across prepaid and debit cards is 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits — but Jeton does not put it in writing where you can read it beforehand.

What I would do in your position: apply, and keep a scan of your passport and a document with your address on it ready, because at some point someone will ask, and knowing what you will need matters when a support queue is moving slowly.

How to get a Jeton card

Sign-up involves no paperwork — which is true of the form, not necessarily of the identity checks behind it.

The stated process is roughly this. Registration involves no paperwork described. Signing in uses device verification and a six-digit PIN. After that you choose a card and use it. Documents, proof of address and the age requirement are not stated anywhere on the pages, and KYC levels are not stated either.

What you end up choosing between is a physical card, a virtual card, or both:

Card type What the card says
Virtual 0.99 USD/EUR, available essentially immediately
Physical 39.99 USD/EUR, confirmed for EU applicants
Replacement, physical 15
Replacement, virtual 1
Extra cards Up to 25 additional cards
Networks Supports VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay
Account Multi-currency

Three observations from that table. The virtual card at 0.99 is remarkably cheap and is the sensible starting point for testing the service. The physical card at 39.99 is not a one-off gamble — replacements run 15, so a lost card three times is a real cost. And the “up to 25 additional cards” figure sits on a page dated January 2026 with inconsistent currency symbols, which is a small hint about how tightly maintained the public information is.

The claim of “no paperwork” deserves a gentle counterweight. Trustpilot reviews from 2026 include recurring mentions of KYC delays, and complaints handling in this sector usually means identity checks that arrive later rather than at signup. Sign-up being three minutes and being fully usable being three minutes are two different claims.

Shipping countries and delivery time are not stated. If you are outside the EU, you are ordering a physical card into an unknown country with an unknown lead time.

Fees: what a Jeton card really costs you

The headline fees are genuinely good — zero on currency conversion of card payments, zero monthly, zero annual — and then the top-up fee lands at 2.5% to 5% and the ATM fee at 0.5% to 2.5%, which is where your money actually leaks.

Here is the full picture the card publishes:

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Jeton payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Virtual card issuance 0.99 USD/EUR
Physical card issuance 39.99 USD/EUR
Account and monthly maintenance Waived
Annual fee Waived
Additional cards Up to 25
Foreign-currency card payment 0
Crypto conversion fee Not listed
ATM, UK 0.5% of transaction value
ATM, outside UK 0.5% + 2%
ATM balance enquiry 0
ATM free allowance Not stated
Closing a card 0
Top-up fee 2.5%, 3%, 3.5% or 5% by method and country
ATM withdrawal limit 700 per transaction; 2,000 daily; 10,000 weekly; 10,000 monthly
POS limit 100,000 per transaction; 1,000,000 daily, weekly and monthly (subject to card approval)
Max load per month 60,000 (appears in one table version)

Now let me take three everyday payments and walk you through which of these actually applies, because the zero-fee headline is narrower than it sounds.

A coffee in a European city, paid by tapping your phone. The foreign-currency card payment fee is 0, so if you are spending from a balance already in that currency, the card takes nothing extra. But your balance is crypto-denominated and the account is multi-currency — and the crypto conversion fee is not listed. So the conversion step, the step that actually turns BTC into euros, has no published price. That is the gap. You know the card’s side is free; you do not know what the conversion costs, and it is the conversion that happens on every single spend.

A hotel abroad, in a currency you do not hold. Again, 0 on the card’s FX fee, which is the part most competitors charge 2% for. But the same unpriced conversion applies, and the hotel’s own pre-authorisation will sit on your balance. Declined authorisations can leave a hold that stays for days, typically up to seven. If the hotel releases the hold after you have checked out and used the balance, that is a temporary shortfall you did not plan for.

Withdrawing cash at an ATM outside Britain. This is where the arithmetic turns. Inside the UK it is 0.5% of the transaction. Outside the UK it is 0.5% plus 2%. On top of that sits the bank’s own ATM charge, which is not Jeton’s number and not in the table. A 200 withdrawal outside Britain costs you at Jeton’s end 0.5% plus 2% — and whatever the ATM operator adds on top, plus your bank’s own charge if you are drawing from a linked account. Balance enquiries are free, which is a small mercy.

Two figures deserve your scepticism. The max load of 60,000 per month “appears in one table version” of the pricing page, which suggests the published limits are not stable across the site’s own documents. And the POS ceiling of 100,000 per transaction is marked as subject to card approval — so it is a maximum the issuer can lower for your card, not a right you hold.

Top up: how the balance gets there

You send supported crypto to a Jeton wallet address and the card spends from the resulting balance — but the card names six coins and no networks, which is the single most dangerous gap on this page.

The funding picture as the card states it: BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, DOGE and XRP go into the Jeton Wallet, and card spending draws from that wallet balance. Networks are not stated. Stablecoins and their networks are not named.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Jeton starts with a transfer to the right network

Let me be blunt about why the missing network matters, because this is where people lose money. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be gone and recovered only by manual support work with no guarantee attached. There is no undo button at the protocol level, and no customer service department can reverse a confirmed transfer — they can only chase it.

The stablecoin route that most people assume exists is not documented here. If you were planning to top up with USDC or USDT, note that neither coin, nor any network, appears in Jeton’s stated options. That is not a reason to avoid the card; it is a reason to confirm in the app, before you send anything, what your deposit address actually accepts.

On cost, the general funding table lists top-up fees of 2.5%, 3%, 3.5% or 5% depending on method and country. These are not card-specific, and the minimum top-up is not stated. Also remember that the network itself charges you for the deposit — gas on Ethereum, bandwidth and energy on Tron. Those fees belong to the blockchain, not to Jeton, so they come on top of the percentage.

There is no card-specific withdrawal fee listed, and closing a card costs 0. That last point is quietly important: leaving is not itself expensive.

Paying with the card every day

Everyday use is where Jeton scores best — a perfect 10 out of 10 — because both card forms, both mobile wallets, ATMs and in-app freezing all work, and that is a genuinely complete feature set.

The daily-use facts are short and good. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, with setup described for iPhone, Android, Apple Watch, Wear OS, iPad and Mac, and web. You can freeze and unfreeze both physical and virtual cards from the app, set spending limits, and the app is on the App Store and Google Play.

Two things are not stated. Blocked merchant categories are not published — and this one has real teeth, because a four-digit merchant category code classifies each business, gambling sits under the code covering casinos, betting and lotteries, and many issuers block that category by policy rather than by law, with the list differing by issuer. If gambling or another sensitive category matters to you, Jeton will not tell you its policy on its public pages. And cashback is not mentioned at all, so assume there is none rather than assuming there is some.

On the app: it exists on both stores. The only rating figure I could obtain is unofficial — 3.5 out of 5 from Justuseapp, a third-party estimate from 2026, not a confirmed figure from Jeton or from the stores themselves. Treat it as a hint, not a measurement.

There is one piece of everyday context worth holding in mind. When you tap to pay, you are not presenting your card number. Apple Pay substitutes a device-specific account number held in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and every payment carries a one-time dynamic code. The issuer can also restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe or website use. That is good for security and it is also a reason a card can be declined in a shop while working in an app, since the tokenised version can be constrained separately.

Disputes and chargebacks are not stated on the terms page, though a complaints handling policy does exist. And prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction, so if a dispute matters to you, ask what your rights are rather than assuming them.

What can go wrong

The card’s own pages show no official incidents, and the user-reported record from 2026 is where the real risk lives: frozen accounts, lost cards, slow support and KYC delays.

Let me separate these clearly, because mixing them would be unfair to the card.

Officially: no incidents found. The compliance certifications listed are UKAS, Cyber Essentials Plus and ISO 27001, which is a genuine set. But safeguarding is not stated — and that matters, because in this sector an electronic money institution is generally required to safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and those funds are not bank deposits.

Unofficially, from user reports on Trustpilot in 2026, here is what people actually describe:

The Trustpilot figure, read 21 October 2026, is 3.1 out of 5 from 725 reviews, 260 of which were posted in the last 12 months. A large volume of recent reviews means the score describes the current service, not a historical problem.

Read that list and you can see the shape of the risk. It is not that the card is fraudulent. It is that the operational layer — the app, the support queue, the verification process — is where friction concentrates, and friction in this sector turns into locked accounts. That is exactly what EU rules anticipate: if customer due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. Accounts get frozen pending documents as a compliance obligation, not as a punishment. If your money is on the platform when that happens, you are waiting on a support team that users describe as slow.

There is also a structural point about this category that outlasts any single company. Card programmes close. A secondary source reported one 2026 closure where new loads ended on 8 July 2026 and spending stopped on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, and not a Jeton event, but it shows the pattern: notice, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw. And the networks can act above the brand: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer.

Holding crypto with a provider carries counterparty and hack risk on its own. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return funds.

What to take instead

Three alternatives score in the same band, and each is better on a specific axis — one on cost, one on clarity, one on reach — which means the right comparison is against what you personally cannot compromise.

Jeton International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 6.4 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Card Physical and virtual Virtual; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency Mastercard Visa; type not stated
Issuance 0.99 virtual, 39.99 physical 5 one-time Not stated Not stated
Monthly Free Classic free, Pro 9.00, Max 19.00 No annual fee Not stated
Currency fees 0 on card FX; conversion not listed Visa rate plus 2% FX No foreign transaction fee; live OTC rates; no hidden exchange fees Not stated
Top up BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, DOGE, XRP USDC or USDT 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated Whop balance; pending balance usable on payment
Rewards Not mentioned No cashback stated Up to 3% spend-to-earn 5% cashback at select merchants
Who Worldwide per the bank; no country list 17 named countries excluded; purchases blocked in 7 Not stated 31 US states; 17 countries unsupported

International Visa Card scores highest of the four at 6.7. Its weaknesses are real: it excludes residents and legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and it blocks purchases in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship. It is a virtual U.S.-issued Platinum Visa paying in USD, physical “coming soon”. But it is the most transparent of the four: a 2% FX fee stated plainly, deposits free at 1:1, and a published plan ladder from free to 9.00 and 19.00 a month. If you are in an unexcluded country and you want to know what you are paying, it tells you more than Jeton does.

UNi Card scores 6.1. It is the most attractive on paper: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live over-the-counter rates, “no hidden exchange fees”, and spend-to-earn rewards of up to 3%. It is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from the UNi.Global balance. The catch is symmetrical — its public pages also do not state who can get it, how you fund it, or whether it is physical or virtual. I would not call it better; I would call it less documented, in both directions.

Whop Cards score 5.2, the lowest here, mainly because the pages say “no extra fees” without listing a single amount, and do not state conversion fees at all. Its strengths are reach — 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses — and rewards: 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber. It spends from a Whop balance, with a pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives. It does not state whether the rule is based on citizenship or residence either.

The honest summary: if you are in a US state, Whop’s cashback and explicit geography may beat Jeton. If you need a card that says what it charges, International Visa Card beats Jeton. If you want zero FX fees and live rates, UNi is worth a look despite the gaps. And if you want a physical card with a 0% FX fee and a freeze button, Jeton is genuinely unusual in offering exactly that.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Jeton to someone who wants a regulated app account with both physical and virtual cards, holds crypto they are willing to send, and can absorb a slow support desk — and I would not recommend it to someone for whom a frozen account would be a crisis.

The case for it is real. Zero foreign-currency fee on card payments is a genuine saving, especially if you spend abroad. There is no monthly or annual fee. Both card forms exist. Apple Pay and Google Pay work. You can freeze the card from your phone, which is the single most useful safety feature on any card. The issuing structure is more transparent than most in this category — Financial House Limited under FRN 902039, the brand under FCA authorisation 902088, plus UKAS, Cyber Essentials Plus and ISO 27001 listed.

The case against is equally real. The Trustpilot score of 3.1 from 725 reviews, 260 of them recent, describes an operational layer under strain. The conversion fee is not listed, which means the largest recurring cost in the product is the one number you cannot see. KYC levels, card currency, blocked categories and shipping are all unstated. Top-up runs 2.5% to 5% on top of network gas. And the three currencies named in withdrawal complaints — PLN removed June 2026, USD unsupported August 2026 — tell you the product’s shape changes.

So, concretely: if you already hold BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, DOGE or XRP, spend regularly abroad, want both a virtual card to start and a physical card later, and can keep a working balance rather than a large one on the platform — Jeton is a reasonable choice, and the physical-plus-virtual combination at these prices is hard to match.

I would look elsewhere if you plan to hold a significant balance there, if your income arrives in a currency the card has recently been dropping, if you need stablecoin top-ups with documented networks, or if you travel to places where a prepaid or foreign-issued card might be declined at the till. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the issuer country. That is a category risk, not a Jeton risk, but it lands on you at the counter.

One last thing, since nobody mentions it and it is not my place to advise on it: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so each payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal measured at fair market value on the transaction date. That is a matter for your own adviser, not for me.

Frequently asked questions

What is Jeton?

Jeton is a multi-currency account app that issues a virtual and a physical payment card spending from a crypto balance. The card supports VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay, and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. The card account and the card itself are issued by Financial House Limited under FRN 902039, while the brand is LA Orange Limited under FCA authorisation 902088.

Is Jeton a bank?

Not in the way you would expect. The brand is FCA-authorised as an electronic money institution under registration 902088, and Jeton Bank Limited is separately licensed in the Commonwealth of Dominica under 2022/C0175. Neither of those is the same as a UK bank deposit, so funds held may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. Safeguarding arrangements are not stated on the public pages.

Does Jeton require KYC?

Almost certainly yes, since it is a regulated business operating under anti-money-laundering law, but the card’s pages do not say. Documents, proof of address, age and KYC levels are all not stated. Reviews in 2026 mention KYC delays repeatedly. Expect to be asked for identification, and keep a document showing your address to hand.

How do I top up the Jeton card?

You send supported crypto to a Jeton Wallet address and the card spends from the resulting balance. The stated coins are BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, DOGE and XRP. Networks are not stated, and stablecoins are not named. Top-up fees run 2.5%, 3%, 3.5% or 5% by method and country, plus the network’s own fee. Confirm the address and network in the app before sending.

What does Jeton charge in fees?

The virtual card is 0.99 USD/EUR and the physical card 39.99 USD/EUR, with account, monthly and annual fees all waived. Foreign-currency card payments cost 0, and closing a card costs 0. ATM withdrawals are 0.5% inside the UK and 0.5% plus 2% outside it, with balance enquiries free. The crypto conversion fee is not listed, which is the gap worth noting.

Is Jeton card free?

The account is free. There is no monthly or annual maintenance fee and no annual fee. You pay for the card itself — 0.99 virtual, 39.99 physical — and replacements cost 15 physical or 1 virtual. The running costs are the top-up fee of 2.5% to 5% and the ATM fee, not a subscription.

Is the Jeton card safe to use?

Use it as you would any prepaid card, because that is largely what it is. You can freeze and unfreeze the physical and virtual cards in the app and set spending limits. Listed certifications are UKAS, Cyber Essentials Plus and ISO 27001. But funds are held by a provider, so counterparty risk applies, and blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. Do not hold a large balance there.

Which countries can use Jeton?

The card publishes no country list and says Jeton Bank is authorised to serve clients worldwide, with a single “All Countries” option in the terms. Starting data confirms a physical card for EU applicants. You cannot check eligibility before applying, so if where you live matters to you, confirm it during signup rather than after funding.

Can I add Jeton to Apple Pay?

Yes. Apple Pay is supported, with setup described for iPhone, Apple Watch, iPad and Mac. When you pay, Apple Pay substitutes a device-specific account number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time code. Google Pay is supported too, including on Wear OS. Note that an issuer can restrict a tokenised number, which can cause declines in some contexts.

How do I withdraw money from Jeton?

There is no card-specific withdrawal fee listed, and closing a card costs 0, so exiting is not itself expensive. Be aware, though, that reviews in 2026 report withdrawal holds, a frozen account, PLN being removed in June 2026 and USD becoming unsupported in August 2026. Card payments and ATM withdrawals work; moving money back out is where the complaints concentrate.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team