A euro crypto card with a real Visa, real limits, and one fee worth reading twice
The Bitrefill card turns crypto into a euro balance you spend like an ordinary Visa, and it suits one person quite precisely: someone living in the EU, Norway or Iceland, aged 18 or over, holding Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana or similar, and paying ordinary euro bills — rent-adjacent things, groceries, a train ticket — rather than living permanently on-chain. It gets 2% cashback with no cap, no foreign exchange fee, and Google Pay support on day one. It also asks you to hand over identity documents before the card is even ordered, holds your money custodially, and caps spending at EUR 10,000 a month unless you climb to the Plus tier. It is not a privacy tool, and it is not available to everyone on earth.
My score for it is 6.8 out of 10.
Conditions and figures below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10, aimed at euro spenders in the EU
Bitrefill is the most competent card here for a euro-based European who already holds crypto, and the least suitable for anyone outside that circle. It is issued by a licensed Estonian institution, runs on Visa, and pays 2% back on both the money you put in and the money you spend — a combination that is genuinely rare. Against that, the top-up fee is fixed at 1.99%, the tier structure caps monthly spend until you are upgraded, and the money sits with partners rather than with you.
Here is how the score breaks down:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Issued to residents of 29 EU countries plus Norway and Iceland, 18+; US and Russian citizens excluded regardless of residence |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Card free through the app; top-up carries a fixed 1.99% fee and 0% FX; unofficial figures put inactivity at EUR 10 a month after 12 months and ATM withdrawal at 2.49% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA; USDT ended 17 March 2025, minimum top-up EUR 15 |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Card issued by Wallester AS (Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon), operated by Airfill Prepaid AB; Trustpilot 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, with complaints concentrated on the gift-card store |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay available, Apple Pay “soon”, ATM withdrawals on Visa ATMs |
Who it suits. EU residents who spend crypto and Lightning in euros. If your income arrives in crypto, your bills are in euros, and you would rather not open a second exchange account every time you need cash, this card removes a real step from your month.
Who it does not suit. Anyone without a qualifying residence, anyone who wants to hold their own keys, anyone outside the eurozone who eats a conversion every time they spend, and anyone whose spending regularly exceeds EUR 10,000 a month without wanting to chase an upgrade.
Who they will issue the card to
Eligibility is the first gate, and it is where the Bitrefill card is narrowest. The terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply” — in other words, the card’s own pages do not publish the full country list, and the partner institutions set some of it.
What is published is the practical shape of it. Eligible residents of these countries get the card, at 18+, with identity verification:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway, Iceland.
Then the exclusions, which matter as much as the list:
- Citizens of the United States and of Russia are excluded, regardless of where you live. A US citizen resident in Berlin still cannot get this card.
- Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible — the citizenship combination, not the passport you happen to hold, decides.
- No Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number may be used at signup, so a number from those countries will not get you past the first screen.
If you are wondering whether your own situation qualifies, the honest answer is: check the list first, and if you are on it, expect the partner’s checks to be the binding constraint rather than the list itself.
How to get it
The route runs through the app, in tiers, and the tier system is the part people miss.
Tier one, Starter. The default. Identity is checked by the card partner before the card can be ordered: photo ID plus a selfie liveness check, and possibly proof of address. On Starter, crypto deposits are capped at EUR 15,000 lifetime. Spending is EUR 10,000 per month and EUR 10,000 per day, contactless EUR 200 per transaction.
Tier two, Plus. Reached by invitation after you reach the Starter deposit limit. It adds proof of address and proof of source of funds — the latter set by Lightspark — and removes the deposit limit entirely. Spending rises to EUR 15,000 per month, EUR 10,000 per day, contactless EUR 200. You have 30 days to complete the upgrade; if you do not, the card page says “your card will be suspended”.
The card itself. Virtual and physical Visa. The physical card is sent to the address you provide and ordering is free. The virtual card is usable on receipt; the physical card must be activated. If it expires you order a new one from the Cards page, and a second card can be requested from the same page.
What the public pages do not say: how long delivery takes, what a replacement card costs, how long the identity check takes, or why a check might be refused. Those are the four questions you may have to ask [email protected] directly.
Fees: what it really costs
Getting the card through the app is free. After that, the cost lives in the conversion, not in a monthly bill — with one exception that only appears after a year of doing nothing.

| Fee or limit | Value | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Card through the app | Free | No issuance or monthly fee amount is stated on the card page |
| Inactivity fee | Applies after 12 months without spending or cash-out | Amount not stated on the card page; unofficial sources say EUR 10 per month |
| Crypto deposit (top-up) | 1.99% fixed Bitrefill fee | Plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate |
| Deposit spread | Not stated | A spread applies on the crypto-to-euro conversion; the percentage is not published |
| SEPA pay-in | 1.99% | |
| Foreign exchange | 0% | Visa’s exchange rate applies to foreign-currency payments |
| ATM withdrawal | Fee and free allowance not stated on the card page | Unofficial: 2.49% on both tiers, plus the ATM operator’s own charge |
| Minimum top-up | EUR 15 | Smaller deposits are not added |
| Spend limit | EUR 10,000 per day; EUR 10,000 per month (Starter), EUR 15,000 (Plus) | Contactless EUR 200 per transaction |
| Contactless | EUR 200 per transaction | Both tiers |
Now three everyday payments, so you can see which of those lines actually bites.
Coffee, paid by tapping. Nothing extra is charged. The amount left your euro balance, and if it came from crypto, the exchange cost was already taken when you topped up. The Visa rate applies only if the coffee is priced in a currency other than the euro — and in that case the card’s own FX fee is zero.
A 60 EUR monthly app subscription bought online. Same story. No foreign exchange fee to unpick, no monthly card fee to recover. This is the payment the card is genuinely good at.
40 EUR in cash from a bank in another country. This is where the 1.99% top-up fee stops being the only number that matters. On the card page the ATM fee and any free allowance are not stated at all. Unofficial figures — not confirmed by the card — put it at 2.49% on both tiers plus whatever the ATM operator charges, with limits of EUR 350 a day and EUR 3,000 a month. Those same sources note the pricing page rendered those cells incorrectly and that one third-party report has the ATM line dropped from pricing as of mid-2026. Treat the whole row as something to ask about rather than something to rely on.
The one number you cannot price yourself is the deposit spread, and it is applied every time you convert crypto into euro balance. That is the fee to ask about.
How to top up
Topping up is where this card is most flexible and where one change caught people out.

The card page carries a “Buy with” list that includes Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, USDT, Solana, Base, Polygon, Li.Finance, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and Mastercard. That list is not a funding list: it covers everything the Bitrefill store sells. What actually funds the card is narrower, and the terms add SEPA transfers on top.
What genuinely works to load the card:
- Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon
- SEPA bank transfer
What does not, any more: USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025. If you were planning to fund the card with USDT, that plan is dead — and note the network matters too, since USDC lives on many chains and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron back in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
Two more things worth knowing:
- The minimum deposit is EUR 15 at the time of writing. Anything smaller is simply not added to the card.
- Store credit cannot be moved onto the card. If you have Bitrefill balance from buying gift cards, that money stays where it is.
Every deposit costs the 1.99% fixed fee plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate. And since July 2026 the EU’s Transfer of Funds Regulation applies here: deposits from a wallet you do not own, or from a VASP not licensed in the EU, are declined above EUR 1,000. SCA rules changed deposits at the same time.
Getting money back off the card is the mirror image: withdraw to a bank account for free, or cash out at an ATM. No limits are listed on the card page. One caveat that catches people — when inactivity fees take the balance to EUR 0, the card is deactivated.
Paying with it every day
The card is a Visa, so anywhere that takes Visa takes this. The physical card and the virtual one behave the same way at the till; the virtual one is usable immediately, the physical one needs activating.
Mobile wallets. Google Pay works. Apple Pay does not — the card page says “not supported yet” and that it “will be available soon”. If Apple Pay in your phone is the way you pay, that gap matters today.
Cashback. 2% in total, described as having no cap: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The cashback currency is not stated on the card page; the terms say the rate is published on the website. The card itself is in euros.
The app. Available on the App Store and Google Play. Store ratings are not read by the card; unofficial figures put the iOS listing at 4.7/5.0 on 372 ratings and Google Play at 4.5/5.0 on 2,468 ratings.
Blocked merchants. Not stated anywhere on the card’s pages. That matters more than it sounds: many issuers block the gambling merchant category (MCC 7995) as policy rather than law, and the list is issuer-specific. If you gamble or bet, ask.
When a payment goes wrong. The help centre’s own advice is to contact the merchant first, because most refunds are resolved that way. Two consequences to note: cashback may be debited back if a transaction is refunded or charged back, and Bitrefill is not liable if a merchant refuses the card. Timelines are not stated.
For card mechanics generally: the number on the card starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identifier that merchants can look up, and a card issued in one country can read as foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason. That is also why the reports of the card being “sometimes denied” surface in reviews at all.
What can go wrong
Your money is held by other people. This is custodial. Lightspark and Wallester hold the funds, not you. That means you are exposed to their counterparty and operational risk, and if a key or seed phrase on their side is ever compromised, crypto transfers are irreversible and the network has no way to freeze or return them. Custodial platforms have a real history of this: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network bridge each lost funds in the hundreds of millions. On top of that, EU e-money rules require funds to be safeguarded, but safeguarded money is not the same as a bank deposit and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Safeguarding and insurance arrangements are not stated on the card’s pages.
Identity comes first, not later. Identity verification is managed by the card partner and is required before you can order. Activation outside the EU requires proof of address, and Plus requires proof of source of funds on top. This is normal for a regulated card and it does rule out anyone who wanted to stay anonymous — no review of a licensed EU card should ever suggest otherwise.
A €1,000 ceiling on some deposits, and a nationality ceiling on everything else. The EU Transfer of Funds Regulation from July 2026 means deposits above EUR 1,000 from a wallet you do not own, or from a VASP not licensed in the EU, are declined. That is a rule you cannot opt out of and should not try to route around. Separately, a temporary suspension of applications from Hungarian residents is mentioned in the help centre — worth checking if that is you, since the help centre page may have moved on since.
The 30-day upgrade clock. Reach the Starter deposit cap and you have 30 days to move to Plus. Do nothing and the card is suspended.
Fake sites. One October 2026 review theme on Trustpilot was a lookalike fake site. This is a card whose brand runs alongside a large gift-card store, so a mistyped URL or an advert is a genuine hazard. Type the address yourself.
Refund disputes on the gift-card side. Wrong-network or wrong-token deposits, refunds paused, gift codes that do not work in the buyer’s region, Apple disabling gift cards and Bitrefill declining the refund on the grounds that Apple must resolve it. Nearly all of the negative Trustpilot material sits here rather than on the card. The Trustpilot picture is 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews as I read it on 2026-10-20, with 89% five-star and 5% one-star. Bitrefill states that it replies to all one-to-three-star reviews.
A programme can simply end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme — that is what happened to the FTX US debit card in November 2022, and WaveCrest’s European Visa programmes were shut down in 2018. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw. This is a category risk, not a Bitrefill-specific signal.
Declines and holds. A declined payment can leave a hold on your balance for several days, typically up to seven.
What to take instead
The honest comparison here is not flattering. The alternatives score lower, and the reasons are structural.
| Bitrefill | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who it targets | Residents of 29 EU states plus Norway and Iceland, 18+ | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, no country list published | Nigeria (“Nigerians and global users”) | No country list; app says accepted in 176+ countries |
| Card | Virtual and physical Visa, EUR | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid “HyperCard”, network not stated; USD or EUR balance |
| Cost | Free through the app | Not stated | Virtual card free per site FAQ | Not stated |
| Conversion fee | 1.99% fixed top-up plus variable rate; FX 0% | “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” claimed, no percentage stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Funding | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon, SEPA | USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH; networks not stated |
| Cashback | 2% total, no cap | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Three things stand out.
Bitrefill publishes more than the others do. It names its issuer, its operator, its fee, its limits and its tiers. Cardex advertises “200+ countries” without a country list, CardFlow’s app listing is naira-focused, and HyperCard’s app listing describes acceptance in 176+ countries — which is a statement about where the card is *accepted*, not who can *get* it. That distinction is the single most useful thing in this table.
They are aimed elsewhere. CardFlow and Cardex are built around Nigeria. Their fee structures are not stated on pages I could read, and Cardex’s headline claim is an algorithmic conversion rate with no published percentage. Bitrefill is the only one of the four whose currency is the euro and whose regulator-facing details are visible.
None of them solves custody. Cardex, CardFlow and HyperCard all convert crypto into a fiat balance you spend — prepaid-card models, not self-custody cards. If holding your own keys is the requirement, this whole category is the wrong category.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to the EU resident who earns partly in crypto, spends in euros, and is tired of moving money through an exchange to pay a bill. The no-FX-fee structure, the 2% cashback with no cap, the Lightning support and the fact that a named licensed issuer stands behind the card are the reasons. If you live in a eurozone country, hold Bitcoin or USDC, and your monthly spend is comfortably under EUR 10,000, this is a good tool.
I would not recommend it if any of these are true:
- You are a US or Russian citizen, wherever you live. It is not available to you at all.
- You want your own keys, or you read “custodial” as disqualifying. This card holds your money with partners, and that is a real risk category, not a formality.
- Apple Pay is how you pay. It is not supported yet.
- You spend over EUR 10,000 a month and do not want to deal with the Plus upgrade’s proof-of-source-of-funds stage.
- You are outside the eurozone and travel often. The FX fee is zero, which is good, but the Visa rate, the ATM fee that is not stated on the card’s page, and the 1.99% on every top-up add up.
- You plan to load with USDT. That ended 17 March 2025.
One last check before you commit: ask them the four things their pages do not answer — the ATM fee and free allowance, the deposit spread percentage, delivery time, and the inactivity fee amount. Those are the terms that decide whether this card works for you, and they are the ones you will have to ask for.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitrefill card?
It is a Visa payment card, virtual and physical, that spends a euro balance you fund from crypto. Bitrefill converts what you deposit into euros and loads that balance onto the card; you then pay with it like an ordinary Visa in shops, online and at ATMs. The card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB in Sweden.
Is Bitrefill a bank?
No. The site is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB, and the card itself is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian institution licensed by Finantsinspektsioon. Crypto and virtual IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, licensed by the Estonian Financial Intelligence Unit. These are payment and e-money institutions, not deposit-taking banks.
Which countries can get the card?
Residents of 29 EU countries plus Norway and Iceland, aged 18 or over, with identity verification. Citizens of the United States and Russia are excluded regardless of residence, though Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible. The full list is not published as a standalone document; the terms say further eligibility requirements are set by the partners.
Does the Bitrefill card require KYC?
Yes, and it happens before you order the card. Identity verification is run by the card partner: at Starter, photo ID plus a selfie liveness check and possibly proof of address; at Plus, proof of address and proof of source of funds. Activation outside the EU needs proof of address. Documents are handled for anti-money-laundering compliance — this is a regulated product, not an anonymous one.
How much does it cost to top up?
Every deposit carries a fixed Bitrefill fee of 1.99%, plus a variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate. A spread also applies on the crypto-to-euro conversion, and its percentage is not stated on the card’s pages. SEPA pay-ins cost 1.99%. The minimum top-up is EUR 15, and smaller amounts are not added to the card.
Does the card charge foreign exchange fees?
No. There is no foreign exchange fee of its own — the Visa exchange rate applies to payments priced in another currency, and that is the whole cost. This is one of the strongest points on the card, especially compared with providers who do not publish their conversion numbers at all.
Can I use Bitrefill card with Apple Pay?
Not yet. Google Pay works today; Apple Pay is listed as “not supported yet” and “will be available soon”. If your phone payments run through Apple Wallet, that gap is real right now and is one of the few reasons to wait before applying.
Is the Bitrefill card safe?
It is a custodial product: partners hold the funds, so you carry counterparty and operational risk, and crypto transfers cannot be reversed if something goes wrong. Safeguarding arrangements are not stated on the card’s pages, and safeguarded funds are not the same as insured bank deposits. Card-level security is reasonable — one-tap freeze, balance hiding and 3-D Secure on online payments.
How do I withdraw money from the card?
You can withdraw to a bank account for free, or take cash out at ATMs that accept Visa. No withdrawal limits are listed on the card page, and the ATM fee is not stated there either — unofficial figures say 2.49% plus the operator’s charge. Note that the card is deactivated if inactivity fees take your balance down to EUR 0.
Is Bitrefill card worth it?
For an EU resident spending euros from a crypto balance, yes: free card, 2% cashback with no cap, zero FX fee and a named licensed issuer. It is not worth it if you need Apple Pay, want your own keys, expect to top up with USDT (ended 17 March 2025), or plan to spend over EUR 10,000 a month without moving to the Plus tier.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
