A crypto-platform card that behaves like an ordinary debit card, with free spending abroad and a membership gate
If you have hit the wall that a lot of people hit — an ordinary bank card is hard to get, is limited to certain countries, or comes with rules you did not sign up for — then a card that sits inside a crypto platform looks worth a look. The Etoro Money card is that kind of card: a Visa debit card tied to a fiat account inside eToro, usable in the shops where you would use any debit card. I went through its own pages with the questions you would ask before opening one.
Here is the short version. The card itself is free, there is no monthly subscription, card payments cost nothing, and the card pages advertise no foreign exchange fees abroad. That is a genuinely good cost profile, and it is why the card scores well on cost. What holds it back is who can actually have one: EU or UK residents only, and only at certain membership tiers on eToro. The crypto side is also a wrapper rather than a shortcut — the card spends a fiat account, and crypto has to be converted first. I score it 6.8 out of 10.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10
This is a card for EU and UK residents who are already investing on eToro and have reached one of its higher Club tiers. If you are opening an eToro account today with the card in mind, that is a different conversation — the tier requirement is the first thing to check, not the fees.
For that reader, the value proposition is straightforward: a free Visa debit card that draws on a fiat account you already hold, with free ATM allowances, mobile wallet support, and cashback paid in listed shares rather than cash. It is not a crypto-native card in the sense of letting you spend a stablecoin balance directly; crypto has to be converted through eToro’s own crypto wallet before it becomes spendable money.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside the EU and UK, anyone below the required Club tier, anyone who wants to hold crypto on the card itself, and anyone who needs a metal card or a specific high everyday spending limit — none of those are addressed on the pages I read.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Only EU and UK residents, and only at a required eToro Club tier |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Issue, maintenance, card payments and delivery free; “Zero FX fees abroad”; ATM at 1% after the allowance; crypto conversion fee not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The card spends a fiat account; crypto converts first; EUR top-up by SEPA |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Issued by etoro Money Malta Ltd and etoro Money UK Ltd with funds safeguarded; the complaints visible are about the broker, not the card |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Visa debit with Apple Pay and Google Pay, free ATM allowances; virtual vs plastic not clarified |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | A solid everyday card inside an investment platform, held back by narrow eligibility and a narrow funding route |
Will they give you the card?
Yes, but the answer has conditions attached, and the conditions do most of the work. The stated requirement is that you be a resident of the EU or UK. That is residence-based, not citizenship-based — which is the detail that matters if you moved countries. A country-by-country availability list lives on a separate page that I did not read, so I cannot tell you which individual EU or UK countries are enabled; the published rule is stated at the EU/UK level, and if your country is the kind that needs its own line on that list, it is worth finding and reading that page yourself.
On top of residence, there is a membership gate. The card requires an account in EUR (EU) or GBP (UK) and a Club tier:
- UK: “etoro Club member” is the wording on the page.
- EU: Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum are the listed tiers. One FAQ says Diamond only, which conflicts with the other page — a small internal inconsistency that tells you the rules are not perfectly documented.
- The fee page maps Green to the Silver–Platinum range and Black to Platinum+ and Diamond.
Beyond that, the pages say less than you might hope. The documents required for identity verification are not stated. Verification levels, how long checks take, and the reasons an application might be rejected are also not stated. Nothing on the pages I read promises a fast turnaround or tells you what to have ready, so treat that as an unknown rather than as “it’s easy”.
One practical warning: if your application stalls and you want to reach support, the routes differ by region. In the UK it is in-app — avatar, Customer Service, Cash Account, Live Chat. In the EU it is Manage Card in the Wallet tab, plus the Help Center and Customer Service pages. There is no phone line for the UK card itself — the 24/7 line is for stolen cards.
How to get it
The route is: be an EU or UK resident, hold or reach the required Club tier, have a EUR or GBP account, then order the card. The card is a Visa debit card, offered in Green and Black tiers, and it is linked to your GBP or EUR local account — so the currency of your card is fixed by the account it hangs off. There is no third currency option stated for the card itself.
Two things the pages genuinely do not tell you, and that I would want to know before ordering:
- Whether it is virtual, plastic, or both. Not stated. You should not assume you will get a piece of plastic in the post, nor assume you will only get a number.
- Whether a metal card exists. Not stated, and the tier description does not mention one. If the feel of the card matters to you, that is an unanswered question.
On delivery, the good news is clear: the first card delivery is free on both tiers, whether regular or urgent, and replacement delivery is free. Replacement cards themselves are free up to three per year. There is a wrinkle by currency: the three-per-year free replacement applies to the GBP card, and for the EUR card the Green tier is not applicable while Black is free up to three. Delivery time is not given — the page links to a help article rather than stating a figure.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the strongest part of the card, and the reason it scores 9 out of 10 on cost. Card payments are free. The card is free to issue and free to maintain, there is no monthly subscription, delivery is free, and the pages advertise “Zero FX fees abroad” — the fee table phrases it as “No FX fees*”, with the asterisk pointing to separate card FX terms. If spending money abroad is your priority, that headline is the reason to keep reading.

| Fee or limit | What the pages state |
|---|---|
| Card issue | Free, both tiers |
| Monthly fee / subscription | None — “Free with no monthly subscription” |
| Card payments | Free |
| Delivery | Free, including first card (regular or urgent) and replacements |
| Replacement card | Free up to 3 per year (GBP card; EUR Black tier); EUR Green not applicable |
| Foreign exchange | “Zero FX fees abroad” / “No FX fees*”, details in separate FX terms |
| ATM withdrawal | GBP account: first GBP 2,000/month free (Green) or GBP 10,000 (Black); EUR account: first EUR 2,500 (Green) or EUR 12,000 (Black). After that, 1% |
| Crypto conversion | Not stated on the card pages — crypto must be converted to GBP or EUR via the eToro crypto wallet first |
| Chargeback | Listed as “Free”; process and timing not described |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | Not stated; the page points to a separate “Account Activity Limits” article |
Let me run three ordinary payments through that table, because that is where fee tables stop being abstract.
A coffee in your home city. A card payment, free, regardless of tier. No FX involved, no conversion. This is the easy case, and it is genuinely free.
A hotel abroad, paid in the local currency. Here the “Zero FX fees abroad” line does the work — on the card’s own description there is no FX fee on the conversion Visa performs. What still applies is the rate Visa sets, which is not the same thing as the rate your bank would have given you; the asterisk on “No FX fees*” points to the separate FX terms for the detail. There is also the cost of getting the money onto the card in the first place, which is a separate question and is covered under top-up below.
A subscription paid from crypto holdings. This is the one that costs you something and nobody will tell you how much. The card spends a fiat account. Crypto must be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet, and the conversion fee is not stated on the pages I read. If your crypto is your main reason for having this card, that undisclosed number is the single most important thing to ask about — do not assume it is zero because the card is free.
Two more fee details worth knowing: both tiers give free issue, maintenance, card payments and delivery, and stock rewards only apply from Platinum upward — so on a Silver or Gold tier the cashback story does not apply to you. And holding both a EUR and a GBP account at once is described as “not currently possible”, which decides the currency question for you.
How to Top up the card
There is no separate card balance to fill. The card draws on the eToro Money fiat account, and that is the whole model: whatever is in the fiat account is what the card can spend.

For a EUR account, the route is through the Wallet tab, Add Funds, under the eToro Money account. The EUR local account is funded by SEPA bank transfer, and SEPA in and out are free. Account opening, account closing and account maintenance are all free as well. What is not stated: any minimum top-up amount, and any card-specific top-up fee.
For crypto, the sequence is: convert to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet first (“Conversion requires etoro crypto wallet”), and the converted money then sits in the fiat account for the card to spend. That is a meaningful constraint. You are not spending a token; you are spending the result of a sale. Other funding methods are not described.
Getting money back off is the mirror image. You send money to a linked bank account via SEPA, free. The fees and timings for the card balance specifically are not stated, and neither is what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account — closing itself is free, but the treatment of what is left inside is not spelled out. That is worth asking before you ever put meaningful money in, not after.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is where the card is comfortable. It is a Visa debit card, it works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, and there is an ATM allowance on both tiers (the figures are in the fee table above). Apple Pay and Google Pay is where most people will actually use it, since the questions about virtual and plastic make the physical card the uncertain part.
The cashback is the unusual feature and the one most likely to make you look twice. The card pages describe up to 4% back in stocks, up to $100 value per month (GBP/EUR equivalent), with rewards available for Platinum, Platinum+ and Diamond tiers. The press release frames it as 4% back in a stock you pick from European-listed companies, with a monthly email confirming that the shares were added to your account, and it is opt-in via a form. Worth knowing: the two places the card describes this are not consistent about lower tiers — one section says Bronze, Silver and Gold get no rewards, another says they can opt in. So if you are on a lower tier, that inconsistency is unresolved rather than settled in your favour. The launch offer may change.
Alongside that, the Visa perks listed are Luxury Hotel Collection, up to 10% off Sixt, and Visa AirRefund.
The app is the eToro app, available on the App Store and Google Play, plus the web platform. Its store rating and number of ratings are not stated — the store listings were not read.
If something goes wrong with a payment, chargebacks are listed as free in the fee table. The process and time frames are not described; the only reference is a linked Complaints Policy PDF. In the UK, that sits under the Financial Ombudsman framework; in the EU it is a different regime entirely. What I would take from this: the chargeback is free if it works, but you should not plan around a specific turnaround you have not seen.
What can go wrong
Start with the money, because that is the sharpest edge. EUR funds are held in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank. The pages are clear about what that is not: the funds are not usable for investing or lending, and they are not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme. That is normal for e-money — safeguarding is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee — but it means you should not treat this balance as though a deposit scheme stands behind it.
Who stands behind the card matters too. Card services are provided by etoro Money Malta Ltd in the EU (which covers the EUR and DKK accounts) and by etoro Money UK Ltd for the GBP account; the UK entity is FCA-authorised for e-money. The card’s BIN sponsor is not named on the pages I read, so if you ever need to know which institution a merchant database sees, that is not answered here.
If the card is lost or stolen, the controls are sensible. In the UK you can freeze the card instantly in the eToro Money app, and there is a 24/7 stolen-card phone line. In the EU you get Manage Card with “Report lost or stolen” and Disable Card. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned on these pages — I would not read that as “not available”, only as “not stated here”, and I would set it up if the app offers it.
Then the practical risks that come with card use anywhere, and are worth a moment’s thought before you rely on the card daily:
- A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days — typically up to seven.
- Address verification (comparing the numeric parts of your billing address against issuer records) is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.
- Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the merchant can look up which institution and country issued the card.
- A merchant category code of 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing by issuer. Restricted categories for this card are not stated.
And the reputational layer. eToro’s main Trustpilot page, read on 2026-10-20, showed 4.0/5 from 32,233 reviews, with 20% one-star. The complaint themes are withdrawals held pending ID checks, restricted accounts, slow support, and trading and closing fees — none of them specific to this card. Card-specific threads were not found. A separate unofficial Trustpilot listing for the Australian entity showed 2.5/5 from 6 reviews, again mostly about broker account closures and forced liquidations. A UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-4221697, involves a complainant who did not receive a promised debit card because of account type — one case, not a pattern. Third-party status pages recorded credit-card deposit issues on 11 June 2026 and 7 July 2026, and an outbound-payments issue in August 2026. Read those as “check the service status before a big payment”, not as a verdict.
What to take instead
If the Etoro Money card is not right for you, it is usually for one of three reasons: you are outside the EU/UK, you are below the required Club tier, or you want to spend a crypto balance directly rather than a fiat account. Here is how the three cards I looked at compare on what is actually published, plus what each does differently.
| Etoro Money | Young Card | MSX | Bybit Card | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 5.7 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 |
| Who can get it | EU and UK residents at a required Club tier | Not stated | Not stated on an official page I could read | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific; EEA customers prohibited |
| Card type | Visa debit, Green and Black | Not stated officially | Not stated officially | Virtual and physical; Mastercard or Visa depending on region |
| Cost | Free issue, maintenance, delivery | Not stated officially | Not stated | Virtual issuance free “until further notice”; physical from none (Brazil, Mexico) to 29.99 USD (Australia); “Auto interest, no annual fees” |
| Fees | Card payments free; “Zero FX fees abroad”; ATM 1% after allowance | Not stated | Not stated | Crypto conversion 0.9% over One-Click Sell rate (some regions, 0.5% Argentina); FX fee 2% on top of network rate in several regions, 7% Argentina |
| Funding | Fiat account; crypto converted first; SEPA for EUR | Not stated for the card itself | Not stated | No card balance; draws on Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, fiat first |
| Rewards | Up to 4% back in stocks | Cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% | Not stated | Tiers from 2% to 10% cashback, crypto-funded transactions only since 5 October 2026 |
Bybit Card is the one to look at if you are outside the EU and UK. It is built for a long list of countries, and it is explicit about the boundaries: the cards page says the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that participation by EEA customers is strictly prohibited — which is the mirror image of the Etoro Money restriction. It also has the most transparent fee structure of the four, with published conversion and FX percentages by region, and the most detailed cashback table. But it comes with costs that Etoro Money does not have, and its own complexity: from 2026-10-05 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, fiat-funded spending does not, points sit pending for four calendar days, and cashback comes as USDT equal to points × 0.002. No card-specific statement on Russian or Belarusian citizens was found, and no citizenship-versus-residence rule is published; the card currency depends on the country of your identity verification.
Young Card and MSX are thinner on published detail — for both, who can get it, what the card is, and what it costs are not stated officially, and I am not going to invent answers. Young Card’s one concrete differentiator is cashback paid in YNG tokens with a rate that rises by tier.
If you want the background rather than the comparison: how cards like this work, what custodial versus self-custody actually means for your money, how KYC and safeguarding work, and why stablecoins are not automatically stable are all worth understanding before you put funds in.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to an EU or UK resident who is already using eToro for investing, is at the required Club tier, and wants a free everyday debit card that works abroad without an FX fee line on the statement. For that person, the cost profile is hard to argue with: free to issue, free to keep, free to pay with, free to deliver, and a real free ATM allowance.
I would not recommend it as a general-purpose card if you are outside the EU or UK, if you are below the required tier, if you want to spend crypto directly, or if a metal card or a stated high spending limit matters to you. I would also hold off if your main interest in it is cashback, because the crypto conversion fee is not published — that number decides whether the 4% is worth anything to you, and until you have it you cannot tell.
If you do go ahead, my own order of operations would be: confirm your tier qualifies, ask what the crypto conversion fee is, find the FX terms behind that asterisk, and read the activity-limits article before you rely on the card for rent. Then set up freeze and two-factor authentication on day one, and keep a secondary payment method for the days the service status pages are red.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Etoro Money card?
It is a Visa debit card linked to a fiat account inside eToro Money, issued in Green and Black tiers. The card spends the balance of that fiat account rather than a crypto balance, and your card’s currency follows the account it is attached to — GBP or EUR. Crypto holdings are converted to that fiat currency first, through the eToro crypto wallet, before they can be spent. Issue, maintenance and delivery are free, and there is no monthly subscription.
How does the Etoro Money card work in practice?
You top up the fiat account, then pay with the card as you would with any debit card, including in Apple Pay and Google Pay and at ATMs. Buying abroad, the card pages advertise zero FX fees, with details in separate FX terms. Withdrawals are free up to an allowance and 1% after it. Where crypto is concerned, the sequence is convert to GBP or EUR, hold it in the fiat account, and spend it — the card never holds the token itself.
Is Etoro Money a bank?
No — it is an e-money setup, not a bank. Card services come from etoro Money Malta Ltd in the EU and etoro Money UK Ltd for the UK, the latter FCA-authorised for e-money. EUR funds sit in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank, but those funds are not usable for investing or lending and are not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme. Safeguarding and a deposit guarantee are different things.
Who can get the Etoro Money card?
EU and UK residents only, and only at a required eToro Club tier. The page says “etoro Club member” for the UK and Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum for the EU, with one FAQ mentioning Diamond only — an internal conflict. You also need a EUR account in the EU or a GBP account in the UK, and holding both is described as not currently possible. A country-by-country availability page exists that I did not read.
Does getting the card require KYC?
Identity verification details are not stated on the card pages, so treat this as unknown rather than easy or hard. What is required is EU or UK residence, Club membership, and a EUR or GBP account. The general rule in this industry is that e-money providers must verify identity under anti-money-laundering law, and if due diligence cannot be completed the institution must decline the relationship — which is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents.
Is the Etoro Money card free?
Yes — free to issue, free to maintain, no monthly subscription, card payments free, first delivery free including urgent delivery, and replacements free up to three per year on the GBP card and the EUR Black tier. Not everything is free: cash withdrawals cost 1% after the monthly allowance, and the crypto conversion fee is not disclosed on the pages I read, which matters if you plan to fund spending with crypto.
Is it safe, and what if the card is stolen?
The card can be frozen instantly in the eToro Money app in the UK, with a 24/7 stolen-card phone line; in the EU, Manage Card offers “Report lost or stolen” and Disable Card. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned on these pages. Beyond that, safeguarding covers the money side but not the deposit guarantee, and a declined payment can leave a hold on funds for several days — typically up to seven.
Can I use it in Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Yes, both are supported. That matters more than usual here, because the card pages do not state whether you receive a physical, virtual, or metal card, so the mobile wallet may be your main way of using it. Restricted categories are not stated. One practical thing to know: address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at some online merchants.
How do I top up and withdraw from the Etoro Money card?
There is no separate card balance to fund — the card draws on the eToro Money fiat account. A EUR account is funded from the Wallet tab, Add Funds, under eToro Money, by SEPA bank transfer, and SEPA in and out are free. Crypto must be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet first. Minimum top-up and any card-specific top-up fee are not stated, and neither are fees or timings for withdrawing a card balance.
Is the Etoro Money card worth it for someone outside the EU or UK?
No — residence in the EU or UK is the stated requirement, so the question does not arise. If you are outside those regions, look at cards built for your country instead: Bybit Card, for instance, covers Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, publishes its conversion and FX percentages, and states that European Economic Area customers are prohibited from participating.
Exchange cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
