Onboard card review: a virtual USD card for cross-border spend, not for everyday life
Onboard is a crypto-to-fiat card you load with stablecoins and spend like a normal Visa — but only if you are comfortable living inside its limits. The honest headline is this: it is a virtual card, in USD, with no physical plastic, no ATM, and a fee structure that punishes anything other than same-currency spending. That earns it a solid but unremarkable 6.5 out of 10. It is built for the professional paying across borders on a stablecoin balance, and it is a poor fit for someone who wants a card to put on the fridge and use at the supermarket.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.5 out of 10 — right tool for cross-border professionals, wrong tool for daily life
I rate Onboard 6.5 / 10. The card does one thing well — turning a stablecoin balance into a spendable USD Visa for cross-border payments — and does almost nothing else. If you are a professional paying abroad, the free first card is genuinely appealing. If you want a physical card, a cash machine, or a broad merchant network, you will feel the gaps immediately.
Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Verification is closed in a long list of countries including the United States, while much of the rest of the world is open; in Turkey, Israel, India and others only the Classic Card is available. |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | First Flex card free, each next one $2; USD payments free, other currencies $0.30 + 1.5%; funding 1.25%. |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | USDT and USDC on a chosen network, Tron and Ethereum named, plus bank transfer in NGN, IDR, KES; there is also an article about BTC and SOL. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | A platform, not a bank: partners are Gopay Financial Services (FINTRAC) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN); the issuing bank is not named; Trustpilot shows 2.6 out of 5 from 4 reviews. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no ATM is disclosed and there is no physical card. |
Add those together and you land on the 6.5. The strengths — open access, cheap USD spending, several top-up routes — are real. The weaknesses — virtual only, no ATM, a platform-not-bank structure with a thin complaint record — cap the ceiling.
If none of this is for you, I have three other cards lined up in the section What to take instead at the end, with their own trade-offs spelled out.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: in most of the world, yes — but not in the United States, and in a set of countries you get only the Classic Card. This matters more than almost anything else here, so read your country in the two lists below before you get excited about the Flex Card.
The card is positioned “for professionals who spend across borders” and to “spend globally”. That framing tells you who it is built for, but it does not tell you who is actually eligible. The official pages publish two lists, and they mean different things.
First, the countries where verification — and therefore any Onboard feature, cards included — is not available:
Afghanistan, Algeria, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Comoros, Congo (DR), Congo (Republic), Cuba, Gambia, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Maldives, Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tokelau, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United States, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, Zimbabwe.
Second, the countries where you get the Classic Card only — that is, no Flex Card:
Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey, Vietnam.
Now the useful part for anyone who did not appear on either list: Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE are on neither. So in those places the Flex Card is in scope as far as the published lists go. Otherwise, anywhere not on the first list is open to verification, and anywhere not on the second gets the Flex Card.
One thing the pages I read simply do not state is a minimum age or a citizenship test on their own; they route you through identity verification instead, which I cover in the next section. If you are in the United States, the answer to “will they give me the card” is simply no, and no workaround is something I will describe.
How to get it
Getting an Onboard card is a short, in-app sequence: download the app, verify your identity, and create a virtual Flex Card. The card is a virtual Visa — the help centre calls them “virtual Visa cards” — denominated in USD, and the page frames it as “a virtual card that lets you spend your balance globally.” There is no physical card and no delivery to wait for.
Verification is described as taking minutes, “free and instant”. When exactly you are asked to verify is tied to what you do: the company prompts for KYC when you fund, withdraw, trade, or create a card. The KYC itself asks for a few things: a phone number confirmed by a code over SMS or WhatsApp, your address, an ID — passport, national ID card or driver’s licence — and a live selfie. It “usually finishes within seconds”, though some cases go to manual review and take longer. Which documents count depends on the country you pick at signup.
Here is what the pages do not spell out, and I would want to know before I started: the specific age requirement, whether a proof-of-address document is required at signup, the tiers the KYC system uses, and the specific reasons an application can be rejected. A help article titled “How do I verify my identity (KYC) on Onboard?” exists but was not available for me to read, so treat these as open questions rather than settled points. If a clean, fast verification matters to you, be aware of that silence going in.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline number is friendly: your first card is free. After that, each additional card carries a $2 creation fee, and there is no stated monthly or annual fee on the Flex card. But the real cost shows up at the moment you spend or top up, so here is the full picture.

| Fee or limit | Flex card | Classic card |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | First card free, then $2 each | Classic is a second product with its own fee schedule; fee not stated here |
| Monthly fee | None stated | Not stated |
| USD payments | Free | Free |
| Non-USD and cross-border USD payments | $0.30 + 1.5% | $0.50 + 2.5% |
| Decline charge | None | $0.32 international / $0.02 domestic |
| Funding | 1.25% | 1.5% |
| Spending limits | $5,000 daily / $20,000 monthly; higher on request via support | Per-card limits not stated |
| Crypto conversion rate | Not stated (“fees for certain actions like funding, currency conversion” without amounts) | Not stated |
| ATM | Not stated | Not stated |
Read the conversion line carefully. The Flex card charges nothing for a payment denominated in USD, and that includes a cross-border USD payment staying as USD — the cross-border surcharge attaches to non-USD payments. So a US-dollar subscription billed in dollars costs you nothing; a subscription billed in euros or naira costs you $0.30 plus 1.5%. Over the Classic card that same payment is $0.50 plus 2.5%, and a decline is not free either.
Three everyday payments to picture this against:
- A $20 USD coffee in New York. The merchant prices in dollars and the card is funded in dollars, so the payment is free. This is the best case and it is genuinely free.
- A €15 dinner in Paris. Non-USD, so 1.5% plus $0.30 applies. On $15 converted, that $0.30 alone is about 2% — a fixed fee that punishes small purchases. On the Classic card it is $0.50 plus 2.5%, a noticeably heavier hit.
- A ₦20,000 subscription billed in naira. Same non-USD surcharge on the Flex card: $0.30 + 1.5%. The naira figure matters only because the app is naira-focused for many users, so local-currency bills are common, not exotic.
The takeaway for you: if you spend mostly in USD, this card is close to free. If you spend in a foreign currency and especially if those purchases are small, the flat $0.30 is doing real damage to the effective rate.
Two limits and one gap to keep in view. Spending is capped at $5,000 per day and $20,000 per month, with higher limits available on request through support. How those caps split across different KYC levels is not stated, which matters if you expect your limit to grow as you verify more. And the ATM fee is simply not disclosed — there is no ATM article, which fits a virtual-only product, but it means “cash withdrawal cost” is an unknown rather than a zero.
Top up: how to move money in
You fund from local currency or stablecoins. The concrete routes are USDT and USDC on a chosen network — Tron and Ethereum are the two named — and a bank transfer in NGN, IDR or KES. A stablecoin top up takes 5 minutes. There is also an internal “Move” between your Cash balance, Trading Wallet and cards. The pages I read do not name every supported coin, but a separate article covers BTC and SOL, so the option set is broader than the headline two.

Every top up carries a funding fee of 1.25% on Flex and 1.5% on Classic, per transaction, with a minimum of $1 and a maximum of $5,000 per transaction. Stablecoins are not credited one-to-one: on Flex you get about 1.0125 USDT per $1, and on some networks a base network fee is added on top — $1.25 on Tron, $0.10 on Ethereum — which you pay.
The choices I would weigh, as a set:
| Top-up route | Fee | Speed | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| USDT / USDC on Ethereum | 1.25% (Flex) + $0.10 network base fee | About 5 minutes | Lowest network fee of the named networks |
| USDT / USDC on Tron | 1.25% (Flex) + $1.25 network base fee | About 5 minutes | Cheaper network to hold value on, pricier to send |
| Bank transfer (NGN, IDR, KES) | Part of the funding fee | Not stated | Local rails for local users |
| Internal Move (Cash balance, Trading Wallet, another card) | Not stated as a separate fee | Instant | Moves money you already hold inside Onboard |
Two things to be careful about. First, the network base fee is charged by the blockchain, not by Onboard, so it is not something the card can waive — choosing a cheaper network for the transfer is the lever you actually control. Second, because stablecoins do not credit 1:1 and a base fee may be added, the amount that lands on the card is slightly less than what you sent; on a small top up the flat $1.25 network fee is proportionally heavy.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the card works through Apple Pay and Google Pay for in-store payments, and those are the two mobile wallets the card is compatible with. Because it is virtual, adding it to your phone’s wallet is the normal way you would use it at a terminal. Spending draws on your card balance, so in the pre-loaded model the card cannot overdraw — you spend only what you have converted or topped up.
A few everyday details worth knowing:
- No cashback. None is mentioned; there is a “Refer & earn” referral programme instead, so any reward you hear about is referrals, not spend rebates.
- Blocked merchant categories. Some categories are blocked automatically — money transfer services, cryptocurrency platforms, securities brokers, dating services, massage parlors, telemarketing, government-licensed gambling, and financial services companies. Prohibited outright: unlicensed controlled substances, weapons, gambling, counterfeit goods, Ponzi schemes and pirated media. This list matters if any of your subscriptions or spending touch those sectors.
- Refunds and disputes. A merchant refund returns to the same card and “can take up to 30 days to process after the merchant initiates it”. Past 30 days you contact support with the transaction ID, merchant name and proof of payment. A refund arriving after the card is terminated goes to the Cash Balance. The formal chargeback procedure is not stated.
- App quality. The App Store and Google Play ratings were not read; a single web search for them returned only company news, so I cannot give you a reliable star figure.
The honest summary is that this is a card you will use through a phone wallet, not one you hand over in a shop, and not one you will use to get cash.
What can go wrong
The main structural risk is what Onboard actually is. The company states plainly that “Onboard is a technology platform, not a bank.” Services are delivered through licensed partners: Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay (Canada, FINTRAC MSB C100000565) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN MSB 31000293152346), a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited (BVI). The bank that actually issues the card — the BIN sponsor — is not named on the pages I read.
What that means for you:
- Your funds sit with a platform and its partners, not a bank. Custody and insurance are not stated. A platform structure can carry counterparty risk that a bank deposit does not, and e-money funds are not the same as insured bank deposits.
- Support is thin on paper. The help centre offers “Chat with us” and email. On Trustpilot, Onboard shows a TrustScore of 2.6 out of 5 from just 4 reviews, all one-star, on an unclaimed profile. The recurring themes are unpaid promo and referral rewards (February 2026), generic support replies (August 2025 to May 2026), slow or difficult verification and restricted services (August 2025, May 2026), and unclear fees (February 2026). Four reviews is a very small sample, so treat this as a signal rather than a verdict — but it is the only user-sentiment data I found.
- Security is app-based. Passkeys are recommended for logging in and authorising withdrawals, with a 6-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, and a phone one-time code for sensitive actions. You can freeze the card in the app — Cards, swipe to the card, more, Freeze — though pending transactions may still settle and freezing does not cancel subscriptions.
I also found no dated licence or programme events on the pages I read, and no official complaints surfaced. The absence of a named issuing bank and the very small complaint base are the two things I would want resolved before committing meaningful balance.
What to take instead
If Onboard’s virtual-only design or its country coverage does not fit you, these three alternatives each solve a slightly different problem. Here is how they compare on what I could verify.
| Onboard | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 6.5 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Visa, USD | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | Virtual USD Mastercard | Prepaid, balance in USD or EUR |
| Physical card | No | Yes | No (virtual) | Not stated |
| Creation cost | First free, then $2 | Not stated | Free (site FAQ) | Not stated |
| Non-USD / cross-border fee | $0.30 + 1.5% | Conversion at payment, fee % not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Funding fee | 1.25% (Flex) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Top-up methods | USDT/USDC (Tron, Ethereum), NGN/IDR/KES bank transfer | USDT, USDC, BTC wallets | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira transfer | USDT, BTC, ETH in-app |
| Audience | Cross-border professionals | 200+ countries, naira-focused listing | Nigerians and global users | Broad acceptance claim |
| Cashback / rewards | None (referral programme only) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Cardex is the one to look at if you want a physical card: it is a debit card across VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, offered virtual and physical, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that claims to pick the best exchange rate at the moment you spend. Its catch is transparency — no fee percentage is stated, and the App Store listing is naira-focused.
CardFlow gives you a free virtual USD Mastercard in 3 minutes, aimed squarely at Nigeria. You can fund with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a naira bank transfer. If your top priority is a quick free virtual card for naira spending, it is a reasonable pick; its own score is lower mainly because fees are not stated.
HyperCard is a prepaid card you load with crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH, which converts to a USD or EUR balance. Its App Store claims acceptance in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the official pages give no country list. Fees and network are not stated on the pages I could read.
All three sit below Onboard on my score, which tells you something real: the reason to pick an alternative is a specific mismatch (you want plastic, or you want to be certain of the fee), not that one of them is broadly better.
Who I would recommend it to
I would point this card at a specific person: someone already holding stablecoins, earning or spending across borders, who wants to convert and pay in USD without opening another account, and who is content to manage the card entirely from a phone. For that person the free first Flex card, free USD spending and cheap 1.25% funding make a genuinely good deal.
I would steer away from it if you want any of the following: a physical card, cash withdrawals, a heavy non-USD spending profile where the $0.30 flat fee will grind you down, a card accepted at every merchant, or a clear answer about who holds your money and which bank stands behind the card. Nor if you are in the United States, where verification is closed, or in one of the Classic-only countries if you specifically want the Flex card.
And a final word for anyone who is drawn by “we move fast with crypto”: the fastest-looking crypto platforms are also the ones that have collapsed before. There is a documented history of custodial platforms failing — Mt. Gox (around US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (around US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) — and of card programmes being wound down, as when Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022. That is not a prediction about Onboard; it is a reminder that any card where you are trusting a platform with your balance deserves a balance sized so you can walk away from.
On that note: whichever card you use, a card payment funded from crypto can be a taxable disposal in the US, where the IRS treats digital assets as property, so each purchase may be a separate gain or loss measured in local currency at the date of the transaction. I am not giving tax or legal advice here — treat that as a prompt to check the rules where you live with a qualified professional, not as a conclusion.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Onboard card?
The Onboard card is a virtual Visa you fund with stablecoins and spend like an ordinary payment card. Onboard describes it as “a virtual card that lets you spend your balance globally”, and the help centre calls them virtual Visa cards. The card is denominated in USD, there is no physical version, and it works in-store through Apple Pay and Google Pay. Your crypto is converted into a spendable balance, and the card draws only on that balance, so it cannot overdraw.
How does the Onboard card work?
You top up, and the card spends what you loaded. You fund from local currency or stablecoins — USDT and USDC on a chosen network, or a bank transfer in NGN, IDR or KES. The balance converts to a USD card balance that you spend globally. Because it works like a pre-loaded balance rather than a linked bank account, the card only spends what is on it, and there is no overdraft. Spending in USD is free on the Flex card; other currencies carry a fee.
Is Onboard a bank?
No — Onboard says so itself: “Onboard is a technology platform, not a bank.” Services run through licensed partners, Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay (Canada, FINTRAC MSB C100000565) and Onboard Digital (FinCEN MSB 31000293152346), a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited (BVI). The bank that actually issues the card is not named on the pages I read, and custody and insurance for your funds are not stated. That is a real distinction from a bank deposit.
Who owns Onboard?
Onboard is operated as a technology platform through those two named partners — Gopay Financial Services Inc. d/b/a Onboard Pay, and Onboard Digital, which is a subsidiary of Nestcoin Holding Limited, a company registered in the British Virgin Islands. The pages I read do not go into a wider ownership or funding structure beyond naming those entities. If the ownership chain matters to you, that is a question to put to support directly rather than one I could fully answer from the public pages.
Is the Onboard card available in my country?
It depends where you are. Verification is closed in a long list including the United States, China, Russia, Ukraine, Serbia and others. In Cyprus, India, Israel, Montenegro, Nepal, North Macedonia, Palestine, Turkey and Vietnam you get the Classic Card only, not the Flex Card. Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan and the UAE appear on neither list. Because the availability rules can change, check the current lists on the official site before you commit.
Does the Onboard card require KYC?
Yes. Onboard prompts for identity verification when you fund, withdraw, trade or create a card. It asks for a phone number confirmed by SMS or WhatsApp code, your address, a photo of a passport, national ID or driver’s licence, and a live selfie. It says this “usually finishes within seconds”, though some cases go to manual review. The accepted documents depend on the country you choose at signup, and the specific age and proof-of-address rules are not stated on the pages I read.
How much does the Onboard card cost?
Your first Flex card is free, and each card after that costs $2 to create, with no stated monthly or annual fee. Spending is free when the payment is in USD. A non-USD or cross-border payment costs $0.30 plus 1.5% on the Flex card, and $0.50 plus 2.5% on the Classic card, which also charges $0.32 for an international decline and $0.02 for a domestic one. Funding costs 1.25% on Flex and 1.5% on Classic.
How do I top up the Onboard card?
You fund from local currency or stablecoins. The named stablecoin route is USDT or USDC on a chosen network, with Tron and Ethereum specifically mentioned, taking 5 minutes. You can also bank transfer in NGN, IDR or KES, or move money internally between your Cash balance, Trading Wallet and cards. Each top up is capped between $1 and $5,000 and carries a funding fee of 1.25% on Flex. Some networks add a base fee — $1.25 on Tron, $0.10 on Ethereum — which you pay on top.
Can I use the Onboard card in Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Yes — Apple Pay and Google Pay are the two mobile wallets Onboard is compatible with for in-store payments, and because the card is virtual, this is the normal way you would use it at a terminal. You add the virtual card to your phone’s wallet and then pay with your device. Note that freezing the card in the app stops new spending but, as the help centre notes, pending transactions may still settle and subscriptions are not cancelled.
Is the Onboard card safe and worth it?
Safety here is a matter of structure, not a promise. Onboard is a technology platform, not a bank, so your balance is held through named licensing partners rather than a bank deposit, and the issuing bank is not disclosed on the pages I read. Security tooling is reasonable — passkeys, a 6-digit passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, phone codes for sensitive actions and an in-app freeze. On Trustpilot the profile shows 2.6 out of 5 from only 4 reviews. Whether it is worth it depends on how much of your balance you are willing to hold there.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
