UUPAY card, written by someone who read the small print so you don't have to
UUPAY is one of those crypto-card names that comes up when you search for a way to spend stablecoins and Bitcoin in the ordinary world. The pitch is straightforward: a card, a phone app, and a balance that converts at the moment of payment. There is a virtual card you can hold in your hand in about a minute, and a metal Gold card you can order for worldwide delivery. Underneath that pitch, though, the card’s own pages leave a number of ordinary questions unanswered: who actually issues it, what the monthly fee is, what networks the deposit accepts, what the conversion spread is. Some of that is normal in a young product; some of it is the kind of silence you should think about before you load money onto the card.
I went through the card’s public pages, the help centre, the news posts and the App Store listing, and pulled the facts that matter for someone deciding whether to use it. Where the company does not publish a figure, I say so. Where a fact comes from a third-party site rather than the card itself, I flag it as unofficial. The conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
UUPAY scores 6.9 out of 10. That is a respectable number, but it does not come from a single strength. It comes from a card that is genuinely easy to live with day to day, weighed down by gaps in disclosure and a thin public record outside the company’s own channels. The score below shows where the marks are earned and where they are not.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7/10 | Many countries covered, but a long restricted list including the US, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Hong Kong and Singapore, and several Balkan states; India, Israel, Pakistan, Nigeria are limited to the virtual card |
| Cost | 7/10 | Virtual $10, Gold $80 with worldwide delivery, no foreign transaction fees on the physical card, zero deposit and top-up fees under a current promotion, but monthly fee and conversion spread not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 7/10 | USDT, USDC and BTC convert at the moment of payment, plus “other major stablecoins”, but the supported networks are not listed on the public pages |
| Reliability and complaints | 5/10 | Operating company is named and KYC is handled by a recognised provider, but the card issuer and licences are not, and there is essentially no public review activity to cross-check against |
| Everyday use | 9/10 | The virtual card is issued in about a minute, the Gold card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals up to $2,000 a day on Gold, and per-transaction limits are high |
For whom, then? UUPAY makes sense if you already hold stablecoins, want a card that can be in your phone wallet within minutes, and either live somewhere on the supported list or are happy to start with the virtual card only. It is a weaker fit if you need a fully transparent monthly fee, a named issuer, a published conversion spread, or if your country is on the restricted list.
Who can get the card
The eligibility question comes first because it disqualifies more readers than any other. UUPAY’s restricted list is long, and it covers both the virtual and the physical card.
The list explicitly excludes the United States, Ukraine, Russia, Belarus, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Syria, mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and North Macedonia, plus “others”. A separate tier of countries is restricted to the virtual card only, with no physical card and no delivery: India, Israel, Pakistan and Nigeria. The card’s terms phrase the underlying rule as “subject to applicable sanctions laws”, which is the standard wording for a list driven by sanctions and the issuer’s risk policy.
If you are a citizen of a restricted country living elsewhere, or a citizen of an allowed country now living in a restricted one, you should expect friction and not assume the app will let you through.
The verification itself runs through Sumsub, a widely used identity provider. You need a name, a date of birth and a valid government ID. The accepted ID depends on the region you are in, but the help centre lists passport, ID card and driver’s licence. The ID must be the original document and remain valid for at least three months past the date you upload it. You also have to be at least 18.
The flow has four steps: enter your personal information, upload photos of the ID, complete a real-time liveness check, and upload a personal declaration if the provider asks for one. You have 14 days to send that declaration. The card’s pages do not cover a separate proof of address; if Sumsub asks for one, it will tell you. One identity per account is the rule.
The stated reasons for rejection are useful to read once before you start: name or date-of-birth mismatch with the ID, an unsupported ID type, photos that are too blurry or cropped, a failed liveness check, an undelivered declaration past the 14-day window, a restricted region, and a duplicate verification already on file. The processing time for a decision is not stated.
How to get it
Once your account is verified, you choose which card to open. There are two.
The Glacier White virtual card is the fast one. UUPAY’s site says it is issued in about a minute. It runs on both Visa and Mastercard rails. There is no plastic; the number lives in the app and in your phone wallet, ready for online checkout and contactless pay.
The Luxury Gold physical card is the metal one. It also runs on both Visa and Mastercard rails (UUPAY announced the dual-rail setup in late July 2026). It is the only product that supports ATM withdrawals, cashback up to 3 per cent, and the higher per-transaction and monthly limits. The card’s own pages do not name the card currency, even though the limits are quoted in USD.
Gold card delivery is by DHL or FedEx, typically three to seven business days, with shipping included in the $80 issuance fee. Delivery is only available in supported regions, so the restricted list and the India/Israel/Pakistan/Nigeria virtual-only tier apply again. The replacement cost for a lost or damaged card is not stated.
The iOS App Store listing for UUPAY, as I read it, did not have a published star rating yet. The Android package name on Google Play is com.uupay.app; a public rating could not be read from the listing. Treat both as unofficial and as yet another reason not to weigh a few reviews too heavily.
Fees and what they actually cost
Issuance is the clearest number on the whole card. Virtual: $10, paid in USD or USDT. Gold: $80 USDT, with worldwide shipping included. Under a current promotion the card’s pages describe as “limited time” and later extended, deposits and top-ups are zero-fee. The physical card advertises “zero foreign transaction fees”. That is the marketing line, and it matches what most users will see when they spend abroad.

Everything else is either not stated or partial. The card’s public pages do not publish a monthly fee, a conversion spread, an ATM fee or a replacement fee. The conversion fee and the spread are the most important of these for everyday use, because the card converts USDT, USDC and BTC into fiat at the moment you pay, and the rate you actually get is set in the app. The company does not publish that rate or the margin it takes.
The limits, at least, are clear. Virtual: $10,000 per transaction and $100,000 per month. Gold: $50,000 per transaction and $500,000 per month, plus ATM withdrawals of $2,000 per day on the Gold card (no ATM on the virtual one). These limits are not tied to named KYC tiers in the public pages, so the same number applies to everyone who has been verified.
| Item | Virtual (Glacier White) | Gold (Luxury Gold) |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | $10 (USD or USDT) | $80 USDT, worldwide shipping included |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | Not stated |
| Foreign transaction fee | Not stated | “Zero foreign transaction fees” |
| Deposit and top-up fees | Zero under current promotion | Zero under current promotion |
| Conversion fee / spread | Not stated | Not stated |
| ATM | Not supported | $2,000 per day, fee not stated |
| Per-transaction limit | $10,000 | $50,000 |
| Monthly limit | $100,000 | $500,000 |
| Cashback | 1.0% | Up to 3.0% |
| Replacement cost | Not stated | Not stated |
To make those numbers feel less abstract, here are three everyday situations and what fees UUPAY’s own pages say will apply.
A coffee at a local café with the virtual card, paid in the local currency. No foreign transaction fee is mentioned for the virtual card, but no number is published either; the all-in cost is dominated by the conversion from USDT or USDC into the merchant’s currency, and the rate is set in the app. With Apple Pay or Google Pay, the tap itself is free at the point of sale.
A subscription paid online with the virtual card in US dollars. Crypto is converted at the moment of payment, so the cost is the spot value of the crypto at that instant, plus whatever spread the app takes (not published), plus any on-chain fee you paid when topping up. There is no stated monthly fee on top.
A cash withdrawal abroad with the Gold card at a Visa or Mastercard ATM. The card allows $2,000 per day, but UUPAY’s own pages do not publish the ATM operator’s surcharge or any fee UUPAY itself charges. The “zero foreign transaction fees” line on the physical card does not mean ATM withdrawals are free; the ATM owner’s fee is set by the ATM, and the card’s own fee, if any, is not stated.
The honest summary is that the headline numbers ($10, $80, zero foreign transaction fees, zero top-up fees during the promotion) are easy to find, and the running costs (monthly fee, conversion spread, ATM fee) are not. If a card with fully published fees matters to you, you have to weigh that gap.
How to top up the card
The funding model is the second thing to understand after eligibility. UUPAY converts at the moment of payment rather than asking you to pre-convert into a card balance. The home page lists USDT and “other major stablecoins”, and the help centre goes further: USDT, USDC and Bitcoin are auto-converted when you pay.

The networks are the missing piece. The card’s public pages do not list which blockchains it accepts deposits on, and the help centre points to a deposit guide rather than spelling it out. In practice, stablecoin cards typically accept the major networks (Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and so on), but you should not assume that. Send the wrong network and the deposit is either lost or stuck in a manual recovery process with no guarantee. The deposit guide is the first thing to read before your first transfer, and a small test transfer is worth the network fee.
Under the current promotion, deposits and top-ups carry zero card-side fees. Settling is “usually within minutes”. The minimum top-up is not stated, and the help centre does not say who pays the on-chain network fee. The on-chain fee is charged by the blockchain, not by UUPAY, and on a busy network it can be larger than the value of a small test transfer.
A separate path, announced 2026-07-28, is “Fiat Express 2.0”, a fiat top-up channel. This is a recent addition that may or may not be available in your region.
For getting money off the card, you can convert USDT to fiat in the app and withdraw to a bank card or e-wallet “in minutes”, again with the fee and minimum not stated on the pages read. You can also send crypto out to other wallets, with a help-centre guide covering the steps. If you close the account, the help centre says you do so by contacting support; the handling of any balance left on the platform at that point is not stated.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, the card behaves like a contactless Visa or Mastercard, with two important differences. First, the balance is whatever your crypto is worth at the moment of payment. Second, both products are tokenised for mobile wallets.
Apple Pay is the better-documented integration. You add the card to Apple Wallet on iPhone, Apple Watch or Mac; the card has to be in Active status. Google Pay is mentioned on the home page. Once tokenised, the card number that the merchant sees is not the plastic number; it is a device-specific number, and each transaction uses a one-time dynamic code. That makes the tap itself secure, but it does not protect the underlying balance, and the card issuer can still restrict where the tokenised number is accepted (for example, blocking it on certain merchant categories or for online use).
The card’s pages do not list blocked merchant categories, although the help centre has an article on merchants that sometimes fail. As a general rule, gambling and a handful of other MCCs are commonly blocked by prepaid and crypto cards, but you should not assume that for UUPAY without checking.
The cashback setup is one of the more concrete features. Virtual card: 1.0 per cent. Gold card: up to 3.0 per cent. The card’s pages do not publish the payout currency or the qualifying conditions, beyond a promo line offering “1 USDT cashback instantly” on a 1 USDT virtual card. There is also a points scheme, with 100 points equal to 1 USDT, and a referral programme that pays up to 50 per cent commission; the exact structure is not published.
The everyday experience on the Gold card is the strong point of the product. The limits are high, the dual-rail Visa and Mastercard support is convenient, and the cashback, if it pays out as described, is competitive. The weak point is the absence of a published dispute process: the terms point you at customer support and stop there.
What can go wrong
Three risks stand out, and they are not the same shape.
The first is the company structure. UUPAY is operated by UUpay Limited, registered in Hong Kong (49/F Enterprise Square Three, 39 Wang Chiu Road, Kowloon Bay). KYC is provided by Sumsub. The card’s public pages do not name the card issuer, do not list any licence, and describe fiat settlement only as happening “through licensed financial institutions”. For a regulated product this is unusual: most comparable cards state the issuer, the licence, and the regulator on the front page. The absence is not proof of anything wrong, but it is the kind of thing to be aware of before you hold a large balance.
The second is the disclosure gap. The monthly fee, the conversion spread, the ATM fee, the replacement fee, the networks, the minimum top-up, the cashback conditions and the dispute process are all “not stated” on the pages I read. Some of these will be in the help centre or in the in-app terms you accept on signup, but the headline product page leaves them out. You can still use the card, but you use it on trust.
The third is the public track record. A search of the usual review channels did not surface a UUPAY-specific page. No official incident has been published, the help centre has articles on what to do if a card is frozen, and one unconfirmed rating from a third-party site for a similarly named company (“Upay Technology Limited”, 2.6 from 19 reviews) could not be tied back to UUPAY and is not used. With no track record to lean on, you have less early warning than you would with a card that has been around for several years.
The security controls that UUPAY does publish are mainstream for the category: AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.3 in transit, real-time monitoring, device binding, withdrawal whitelists, an EMV chip on the Gold card, and a KYT (know-your-transaction) policy. The custodial status is not stated; the terms warn that holding balances on the platform carries financial risk, which is the standard wording for a custodial wallet.
Customer support is described as 24/7 in-app, with email at [email protected] and a help centre at help.uupay.com/en/.
Finally, a note on news flow. UUPAY has been shipping updates through 2026: dual-rail Visa and Mastercard on the Gold card from 2026-07-27, the Fiat Express 2.0 and partner programme upgrade from 2026-07-28, a system maintenance notice on 2026-07-26, an eSIM network expansion on 2026-07-25, and a bug bounty programme announced on 2026-06-22. The cadence is healthy; a young product that is shipping regularly is at least responding to its own roadmap.
What to take instead
If UUPAY is not a fit, three alternatives in the same general category are worth a look, all in the same single-digit score band and all with their own gaps. None of them is a clear winner on every dimension; the right one depends on what you actually need.
| Card | Score | Card | Funding | Cost | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UUPAY | 6.9/10 | Virtual ($10) and metal Gold ($80), Visa and Mastercard | USDT, USDC, BTC, “other major stablecoins” | Zero foreign transaction fees on physical, zero top-up fees under promotion; monthly fee and spread not stated | Long restricted list, four countries virtual-only |
| Cardex | 5.6/10 | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | USDT, USDC, BTC | No fee percentage published; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best rate at payment | “200+ countries” advertised, no country list published; App Store listing is Naira-focused |
| CardFlow | 4.9/10 | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer | “Creating a virtual card is completely free” per site FAQ; monthly fee not stated | Nigeria-focused, also pitched at “global users” |
| HyperCard | 4.7/10 | Prepaid card, balance in USD or EUR; network not stated on the App Store page | USDT, BTC, ETH, converted on the card | No fees listed on the App Store page | No country list on official pages; App Store says accepted in 176+ countries |
The honest comparison: UUPAY has the clearest product story, the highest limits and the most concrete cashback, but it also has the longest restricted list. Cardex has the widest network reach in its advertising and the most ambitious fee story, but it has the least-published cost detail. CardFlow is the simplest and cheapest to try, but it is a virtual-only USD Mastercard with most of its focus on Nigeria. HyperCard is the quietest of the four and the hardest to evaluate because so little is published about how it works.
Who I would recommend it to
The card is at its best for a specific kind of user. You hold USDT or USDC, you live in a country that is not on the restricted list and is not in the virtual-only tier, you want a card you can put into Apple Pay or Google Pay in minutes, and you do not need a fully transparent monthly fee or a named issuer to feel comfortable. For that user, the 6.9/10 score is fair, and the Gold card is a reasonable upgrade once you have a feel for the product.
The card is at its weakest for a user who needs to know the monthly fee and the conversion spread before they load money, who needs a public dispute process, who needs the card to work in the US, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Hong Kong, Singapore or one of the Balkan states on the restricted list, or who is going to keep a large balance on the platform for a long time. For that user, the missing disclosure is not a minor detail; it is the answer to the question they were going to ask first.
A practical way to approach it, if you are on the fence: open the virtual card for $10, top it up with the smallest amount the network fee allows, spend it through Apple Pay at a merchant you trust, withdraw the rest back to your own wallet, and judge the product on your own experience. The $10 is the price of the answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is the UUPAY card?
The UUPAY card is a prepaid crypto card that converts USDT, USDC and Bitcoin into fiat at the moment of payment, and works wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted. There is a Glacier White virtual card (issued in about a minute) and a Luxury Gold metal physical card.
Is UUPAY a bank?
No. UUPAY is operated by UUpay Limited in Hong Kong, and KYC is handled by Sumsub. The card’s own pages do not name the card issuer or list any licence, and describe fiat settlement only as happening “through licensed financial institutions”.
Who owns UUPAY?
The operating company is UUpay Limited, registered at 49/F Enterprise Square Three, 39 Wang Chiu Road, Kowloon Bay, Hong Kong. The card’s public pages do not name the card issuer or any shareholder structure beyond the operating company.
Is the UUPAY card available in my country?
It depends. The card is unavailable in the United States, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Syria, mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and North Macedonia, among others. In India, Israel, Pakistan and Nigeria only the virtual card is supported and no physical card can be delivered. The card’s pages do not distinguish between citizenship and residence.
Does the UUPAY card require KYC?
Yes. The flow runs through Sumsub and requires a name, a date of birth and a valid government ID (passport, ID card or driver’s licence depending on the region), plus a real-time liveness check. The ID must be original and valid for at least three months, and you have to be 18 or older.
How do I add the UUPAY card to Apple Wallet?
In the UUPAY app, make sure the card is in Active status, then add it to Apple Wallet on an iPhone, Apple Watch or Mac. The card number stored on the device is a tokenised Device Account Number, not the underlying card number.
How do I top up the UUPAY card?
You send USDT, USDC or BTC to the deposit address shown in the app, and the balance is converted at the moment you pay. Under a current promotion, deposits and top-ups are zero-fee, and settlement is usually within minutes. The supported networks and the minimum top-up are not published on the card’s public pages, so read the deposit guide in the help centre before your first transfer.
How do I withdraw money from UUPAY?
You can convert USDT to fiat in the app and withdraw to a bank card or an e-wallet “in minutes”, or send crypto out to another wallet using the help-centre guide. The withdrawal fee and minimum are not stated on the public pages.
Is the UUPAY card safe?
The published security controls are mainstream for the category (AES-256 at rest, TLS 1.3, real-time monitoring, device binding, withdrawal whitelists, EMV chip on Gold, KYT policy). The card’s pages do not state the custodial status, and the terms warn that holding balances on the platform carries financial risk.
How do I delete my UUPAY account?
You close the account by contacting in-app support, according to the help centre. The handling of any remaining balance at the point of closure is not stated in the pages read.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
