Cardex card, a small Naira-first crypto debit card, tested against the facts on its own site

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Cardex is a crypto debit card built by a company called Fintava Technology Limited, with a Naira-first app and an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that converts your crypto at the moment you tap or swipe. It is small, mostly Nigerian in focus, and the public information about it is thin: no published fee schedule, no listed issuing bank, and no licence information. This review goes through what is actually on the site and in the app listing, separates that from what third-party press has said, and ends with where the card leaves you as a customer.

Cardex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Cardex scores 5.6 out of 10. That is a below-average mark, and the reason is not that the card is broken; it is that the company has not published the basic information you would need to use it confidently. There is no stated fee for converting crypto, no stated cost to issue the card, no named issuing bank, no licence number, and no list of which countries are accepted. The card does the job it says it does, but it does it without telling you the price.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cardex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Marketed as “200+ countries”, but no country list or exclusions; the app listing is Naira-first.
Cost 5 / 10 Conversion happens at payment, but the percentage and the issuance fee are not disclosed.
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT, USDC and BTC wallets are supported, but the networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Developer is Fintava Technology Limited; issuing bank and licences are not named; no public complaints were found; unofficial reporting puts active users at over 1,500 by mid-2025.
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, ATM access, Naira spending; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned.

The card suits a narrow reader: a Nigerian freelancer or a small Web3 team paid in stablecoins who wants to convert USDT or USDC to Naira at a shop or an ATM without going through a foreign exchange desk first. It does not suit someone who needs a clearly priced, fully licensed, globally available card. If you are outside Nigeria, the only public information about whether you can use it at all is the marketing line “200+ countries”, and the company has not published a list.

Who they will give the card to

Cardex’s own site says “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, without listing which countries those are and without saying which are excluded. The site also has no list of blocked nationalities, restricted regions or sanctioned jurisdictions. That silence is itself a fact: a card that names its reach but does not name its limits is harder to compare to one that does.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cardex starts with a transfer to the right network

The App Store listing tells a different story. It is the Naira-focused version of the app, with the description in English and a card currency set to Naira. That fits the unofficial reporting from Vanguard (11 June 2025), which said the company “built the card specifically for Nigeria” and that the card “works at point-of-sale terminals and ATMs nationwide”, while clients abroad “pay in stablecoins”. Treat that reporting as unofficial; the company has not confirmed the Nigeria-only focus on its own pages.

The age rating on the App Store is 17+, which is unusual for a payment app (most are 4+ or 12+). Cardex does not state the minimum age, the documents required for sign-up, or what level of identity verification is involved. The site does not say. For comparison, regulated issuers in the EU and US normally publish a customer identification programme, document types and PEP screening rules. Cardex publishes none of that.

What you can take from this: the card is sold as a global product, but the only confirmed market is Nigeria, and the company has not told you which other markets it actually serves. If you are reading this from outside Nigeria, the practical question — “will I be approved?” — does not have a public answer.

How to get it

The site does not publish a step-by-step sign-up flow. What is publicly stated is that there is an iOS app called “Cardex” (free, version 1.1.6 as of 19 October 2026, first released 27 January 2025, iOS 15.1 and above), and an Android package under com.cardexapp. The app is the entry point.

What is not stated:

The card is described as a debit crypto card on the networks Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, with both virtual and physical versions. The App Store listing says the card currency is Naira, which means the default settlement currency in the app is NGN. Third-party reporting (Vanguard, 11 June 2025) describes it as the “Cardex Crypto Debit Card” working with Visa, Mastercard and Verve; this is unofficial and not confirmed by the company on its own site.

So the practical sign-up path, as far as the public information goes, is: install the app, register, see what the app asks for. That is a low bar to enter but a high bar to trust, because the rules of the game are not published in advance.

What it really costs

This is the section where the gap between what Cardex says and what a cardholder needs to know is widest. The site says the card converts crypto to local currency at the moment of payment, and that the rate comes from an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that “scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend”. That is a marketing description of a feature, not a fee schedule.

The site also says “Spend crypto like cash, anywhere, anytime, with zero limits” — which is about spending caps, not about fees. There is no published cost for issuing the card, no monthly fee, no conversion percentage, no ATM fee, no foreign-exchange margin. The number you are most likely to want to know — “what does it cost me to spend 100 USDC at the supermarket?” — does not have a public answer.

What is stated:

What is not stated: every line of the cost table below.

Fee or limit What the company says
Card issuance Not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion fee (crypto to fiat) Not stated; rate is described as “AI-Powered”
Foreign-exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal allowance Not stated
Daily spending limit “Zero limits” marketing claim; no figure
Monthly spending limit “Zero limits” marketing claim; no figure

For everyday payments, the costs you can run into are the ones not listed above. A typical scenario: you top up with USDT on a network, you buy groceries in Naira. There is (a) the network fee you paid to send the USDT — that is charged by the blockchain, not by Cardex — and (b) the conversion fee at payment, which is the one Cardex does not publish. There is also (c) the foreign-exchange margin when the merchant’s bank settles the Naira transaction in a different currency, but that only applies if you are spending outside Nigeria in a non-Naira currency, and the company has not explained that path.

The honest summary is that you can use the card, but you cannot, from public information, predict what it will cost to use it. That is a meaningful problem even for a card that works as advertised.

How to top it up

The card is funded from crypto wallets, not from a bank transfer. The site lists three assets: USDT, USDC and BTC. The networks are not named. That is the second-biggest gap in the public information, because sending USDT on the wrong network is one of the most common ways to lose money in crypto.

What is stated:

What is not stated:

Practically, this means: until you see the deposit address and the network inside the app, you do not know which chain to send from. If you send USDT over TRC20 to a wallet that only accepts ERC20, the funds can be lost permanently. That is a general risk with any crypto card, and the public information here does nothing to reduce it; the company has not told you which networks to use.

Paying with it every day

The card is positioned as something you can use “anywhere, anytime”. The mechanics, as far as the company states them, are straightforward: tap or swipe, the system converts your crypto to the merchant’s currency, the merchant gets paid in fiat. There is a virtual card for online use and a physical card for terminals and ATMs. The card currency in the app listing is Naira.

What is not stated:

The app itself, as of 19 October 2026, has version 1.1.6, an English-only listing and zero ratings on the App Store. That is a small app with no public user feedback. It does not mean the app is bad; it means there is no community to learn from.

In day-to-day terms, the card’s selling point is also its weakness: it converts at the moment of payment, so the rate you get depends on what the exchanges are doing at that second. The “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” claim is the company’s promise that you will get a fair number, and you have to take it on trust because no third-party has audited it.

What can go wrong

The honest list of risks for this card has to be split into two parts: what the public information does not tell you, and what it actively says.

What the public information does not tell you:

What the public information actively says, in cautious terms:

The general risks that apply to any crypto card, including this one, are:

What to take instead

Because the alternatives section is the one place a reader can see whether there is a better fit, here is a short list. I have kept the descriptions to the published facts.

CardFlow (4.9/10) is a Nigerian-focused virtual card (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”). You can create a virtual USD Mastercard, and creating a virtual card is free according to the site FAQ. You can fund it with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer; networks for the crypto top-up are not stated. Fees beyond the creation cost are not stated. CardFlow suits someone who needs a virtual card quickly, in Nigeria, and is comfortable with a feature-light product.

HyperCard (4.7/10) is a prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR. The App Store page says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility — and the official pages do not list a country list. You deposit USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and the card holds USD or EUR. Fees are not stated on the pages I could read. HyperCard suits someone outside Nigeria who wants a multi-currency prepaid card and is willing to trust an issuer that does not publish its fees.

Card.fi (6.6/10) is a more complete product. Cards ship to “200+ countries” with a sanctions clause in the terms; there are Virtual Classic ($49) and Virtual Premium ($249) one-time costs, with physical and metal cards also available. Cashback is real: 0.8% on Classic (capped at 10 USDT/month), 1% on Premium, 1.2% or 2% on Metal; plus 10% cashback at coffee shops on the base tier. Funding is from 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch), and fees are published: top-up 1.5% + $1.00 on Classic, 1% on Premium; FX 3.5% on Classic, 2.5% on Premium. Card.fi suits someone who wants the full picture before signing up and is willing to pay a known price for it.

The pattern across all four: Cardex is cheaper to enter (no published issuance cost) but more opaque; Card.fi is more expensive to enter but more transparent; CardFlow and HyperCard sit in between, with CardFlow leaning Nigerian and HyperCard leaning multi-currency. The choice is between opacity and price.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Cardex to a reader who is in Nigeria, gets paid in USDT or USDC for freelance or Web3 work, and wants to convert that stablecoin balance to Naira at a shop or an ATM without a foreign-exchange step. The card’s Naira-first app, multi-asset wallet and “anywhere, anytime” marketing are a fit for that user. The reader in this case should still ask the company, before relying on the card, for the conversion fee, the ATM fee, the supported networks, and the name of the issuing bank. If those answers are not forthcoming, the card should be treated as a small, experimental tool rather than a primary payment method.

I would not recommend Cardex to a reader who is outside Nigeria, who needs a clearly priced card, who wants a card with a known regulator and a known deposit guarantee, or who needs tokenised mobile wallet support. The published information on Cardex does not let a careful reader in those categories answer their basic questions.

Frequently asked questions

What is Cardex card?

Cardex is a crypto debit card on the Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, with virtual and physical versions, built by Fintava Technology Limited. The app is Naira-first and converts USDT, USDC or BTC to local currency at the moment of payment using what the company calls an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”.

How does Cardex card work?

You top up the card’s wallet with USDT, USDC or BTC, and when you pay at a shop, online or at an ATM, the system converts the crypto to the merchant’s currency in real time. The card currency in the default app listing is Naira, and the card is described as working at point-of-sale terminals, online and at ATMs.

Is Cardex a bank?

No. Cardex is a product of Fintava Technology Limited, which is described as the developer on the App Store and the rights holder on the site. The company does not name the issuing bank that actually holds the card programme under licence from the card networks, and no banking, e-money or payment-services licence is published on the site.

Who owns Cardex?

Cardex is built by Fintava Technology Limited. The site carries a “© 2024 Fintava Technologies” line, and the App Store listing names Fintava Technology Limited as the developer. No parent company, investor or banking partner is publicly identified on the company’s own pages.

Is Cardex card available in my country?

The site markets the card as available in “200+ countries”, but it does not list which countries those are and does not list any exclusions. The App Store listing is Naira-focused, and unofficial reporting from Vanguard (11 June 2025) says the card was built specifically for Nigeria. Treat the “200+ countries” claim as a marketing line until you have confirmed approval inside the app.

How do I get a Cardex card?

The company has not published a step-by-step sign-up process. The public entry points are the iOS app “Cardex” (version 1.1.6, released 19 October 2026, iOS 15.1 and above) and the Android package com.cardexapp. What the app asks for at sign-up — documents, identity checks, country of residence — is not stated on the site.

Does Cardex card require KYC?

The site does not say. There is no published customer identification programme, no list of accepted documents, and no description of KYC tiers. The App Store age rating is 17+, but that is an age classification, not a KYC requirement, and the company has not explained how it applies in practice.

How do I top up Cardex card?

The site says you can top up with USDT, USDC or BTC, but does not name the networks (Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Base and others are all possibilities). The networks become visible in the app when you generate a deposit address. Sending on the wrong network is a common cause of permanent loss, so wait for the app to show the supported chain before transferring.

How do I add Cardex card to Apple Wallet?

The site does not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay. The published information does not confirm that the card can be tokenised into a mobile wallet, so this is a question to ask the company before relying on contactless phone payments.

Is Cardex card worth it?

Worth depends on what you need. For a Nigerian freelancer paid in stablecoins, the card does the job of converting USDT or USDC to Naira at a shop or ATM, and the convenience may justify the unknown fees. For a reader outside Nigeria, or for someone who needs a clearly priced, fully licensed card with a known regulator, the public information is too thin to make a confident “worth it” call.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team