A crypto-funded Visa with a 100 USD annual fee and tiered loading costs

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The BananaCrystal card is a Visa-branded payment card that draws on a crypto balance, mainly USDT or USDC, settled on the Hedera network. The plastic, metal and virtual cards are marketed from over 200 countries, and the platform supports Apple Pay and Google Pay on the virtual card. On paper it reaches a wide audience; in practice the price tag, especially the 100 USD annual fee and the 3.125% loading cost on the entry-level plastic, is steep relative to most prepaid and crypto-funded rivals I have looked at.

BananaCrystal works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

BananaCrystal earns a 6.2 out of 10 in my scoring, which puts it in the middle of the pack for crypto-funded cards. The card’s reach is genuinely wide, the everyday mechanics are straightforward, and the company behind it is a registered money services business in Canada and the United States. The reasons I cannot score it higher are cost and opacity: the issuance fees, the 100 USD annual fee and the loading and conversion percentages are at the upper end of what I have seen, and the public pages leave large blanks around country restrictions, the issuing bank, the deposit networks and the reward programme. If you hold USDT and want a Visa you can use at an ATM worldwide, this is one of the products that does the job; if you are looking for the cheapest way to spend stablecoins, it is not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a BananaCrystal payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why I scored it this way
Who can get it 9 / 10 Stated availability in over 200 countries, though the country-exclusion list did not load for me
Cost 1 / 10 10 USD to 1,120 USD issuance, 100 USD a year, 3.125% loading on plastic, 0.75% on every payment
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT and USDC supported, settled on Hedera, but the deposit networks are not publicly listed
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Registered MSB in Canada and the US, founded 2020, no public complaints I could find, but the bank partner is not named
Everyday use 9 / 10 Plastic, metal and virtual Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access worldwide
Total 6.2 / 10 Wide reach and solid everyday mechanics held back by high fixed costs and gaps in the public record

For a USDT holder who needs a Visa with global ATM access, BananaCrystal is a workable option. For anyone shopping on price alone, the issuance, annual and per-transaction fees are hard to justify when cheaper alternatives exist.

Who will they give you the card

BananaCrystal states that the card is available in over 200 countries worldwide, which on the surface puts it among the most widely distributed crypto cards. In practice, the company’s FAQ references pages that list the countries where the virtual card is unavailable and the countries restricted for KYC, but in my check the text on those pages did not load. The starting data I could read mentioned that the virtual card is unavailable in Belarus and Russia, among others. If your country is not on that list, you should be able to apply, but I would not rely on a “200 countries” headline alone: confirm the country where you actually live is supported before you pay the issuance fee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up BananaCrystal starts with a transfer to the right network

The card’s pages do not state whether eligibility is based on citizenship, on country of residence, or on both, and the FAQ is silent on this. Sanctions and issuer risk are usually applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the address on file, so if you are a citizen of a restricted country but live elsewhere, the safest move is to ask support before paying anything. The page also does not state a minimum age, proof-of-address requirement or specific exclusions for residents of FATF grey-list countries, all of which more transparent issuers usually publish.

The company behind the card, Banana Crystal Inc, was founded in 2020 and is registered as a money services business with FINTRAC in Canada and with FinCEN in the United States. The card programme is processed through Visa and UnionPay partnerships, with what the FAQ describes as an “offshore banking partner” whose name is not disclosed on the public pages. That partner, rather than BananaCrystal itself, is likely the entity that actually issues the card under the network licence.

How to get it

The signup path is the standard regulated-crypto path: you create a BananaCrystal account and complete KYC, which the FAQ says typically takes less than 10 minutes. The accepted identity documents are a National Identity Card, an International Passport or a Driver’s Licence. The pages do not state what proof of address is required, what counts as a valid document, or what minimum age applies, so be ready to provide more if asked. Approval is usually given within 10 minutes; if you have not received an email after 48 hours, the FAQ suggests following up manually. Rejection reasons are not publicly listed, which is normal for a card programme but worth knowing before you pay a non-refundable issuance fee.

Once your account is approved you pick a card. BananaCrystal sells five products: a Virtual card for 10 USD, a Plastic for 400 USD, a Metal Black for 620 USD, a Metal Silver for 770 USD and a Metal Gold for 1,120 USD. All are Visa branded and denominated in USD. The plastic and metal cards come with what the company describes as an offshore bank account, which is one of the differentiators against purely prepaid crypto cards. The Metal Black tier is marked “MOST POPULAR” on the pricing page.

A virtual card is issued instantly. A physical card ships in 7 to 30 days depending on local couriers, and the FAQ mentions a replacement fee without giving a number; the public pages do not list the countries the physical card is shipped to. If you need the card by a specific date, factor in the longer end of that window. Card currency is USD, so every payment in another currency will be converted by Visa at the wholesale rate plus whatever non-USD fee the FAQ mentions but does not quantify.

What it really costs

BananaCrystal is one of the more expensive crypto-funded Visa cards I have reviewed, and the costs come in three layers: a one-off issuance fee, a flat 100 USD annual fee, and a percentage on every load and every spend. The numbers below come from the card’s pricing page and the FAQ, with a 16 July 2024 update noted on the annual fee.

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit Amount
Virtual card issuance 10 USD, one-time
Plastic card issuance 400 USD, one-time
Metal Black issuance 620 USD, one-time
Metal Silver issuance 770 USD, one-time
Metal Gold issuance 1,120 USD, one-time
Annual fee 100 USD (all tiers, per FAQ, updated 16 July 2024)
Loading / conversion: Plastic 3.125%
Loading / conversion: Metal Black 2.875%
Loading / conversion: Metal Silver 2.625%
Loading / conversion: Metal Gold 2.125%
Loading / conversion: Virtual not listed
POS and online spend 0.75% on every tier
Non-USD FX fee figure not stated
ATM withdrawal 0.75% on every tier
ATM balance check may be charged by the ATM operator
ATM withdrawal under 10 USD may be declined
Monthly cap: Plastic 20,000 USD
Monthly cap: Metal Black 30,000 USD
Monthly cap: Metal Silver 50,000 USD
Monthly cap: Metal Gold unlimited
Daily ATM cap not published (set by a “VIP Bypass” request)

A few everyday numbers to make this concrete. If you take the 400 USD Plastic, the 100 USD annual fee, and you load 1,000 USD of USDT in a month, you pay 31.25 USD to load it, 7.50 USD on every 1,000 USD you spend at point of sale, and 7.50 USD to take 1,000 USD out of an ATM. In a year, the 100 USD annual fee plus a 3.125% loading and 0.75% spending pace can quietly add up to a meaningful percentage of your turnover. The Metal Black at 620 USD issuance and 2.875% loading is cheaper to fund but starts from a much higher entry price.

Two costs are not publicly quantified. The non-USD FX fee exists, and the FAQ has a title for it, but the percentage is not in the text I could read. ATM balance checks may be charged by the ATM’s bank, not by BananaCrystal, and that is outside the issuer’s control. There is also a free-allowance structure for ATM withdrawals, but it is not stated, and withdrawals under 10 USD can be declined outright, so very small cash needs are not what this card is built for.

If you compare this to a typical prepaid card, the per-transaction load and spend fees are within the range I have seen, but the 100 USD annual fee is unusual. A flat 100 USD a year is a real cost if you are a light spender; it only pays off against rivals if you spend heavily or value the offshore bank account that comes with the physical card.

How to top it up

BananaCrystal advertises that you can top up the card directly from any USDT wallet, with USDT and USDC listed as supported and the platform described as settled on Hedera. The Fund page also mentions USDC and a bank funding route. What the public pages do not list are the blockchain networks on which you can deposit. Hedera is a network of its own, and USDC is a token that exists on many chains; if you send USDC on a network the platform does not support, or to an address that does not match the network you chose, the transfer is irreversible in the same way any blockchain transfer is, and recovery is at the platform’s discretion with no guarantee.

The loading fee follows the same schedule as the conversion fee: 3.125% on Plastic, 2.875% on Metal Black, 2.625% on Metal Silver and 2.125% on Metal Gold. The Virtual card’s loading fee is not listed in the figures I could read, which is a gap to clear up before you fund it. The page does not state who pays the on-chain network fee for the deposit, what the minimum top-up is, or what the bank top-up fees are if you use that route.

A few practical points. Topping up with stablecoins means you are exposed to stablecoin depeg risk in the window between sending the funds and the platform crediting the card balance, even if the window is short. The page does not say whether the card balance is held in USD, in USDC, in USDT, or in a mix, so a depeg in either stablecoin would in principle affect your available balance. Card-to-crypto or card-to-bank withdrawal details and any closure-balance rules are not in the public FAQ, which is another reason to think of any balance you load as a working balance rather than a long-term store.

Paying with it every day

The Virtual card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is the most useful day-to-day feature on the platform: you can add it to your phone and pay at any contactless terminal without the plastic. The plastic and metal cards work as standard Visa cards at the point of sale and online. ATM cash withdrawals are available worldwide, subject to the 0.75% fee and the daily and monthly caps in the table above.

There is no published list of blocked merchant categories. Most crypto cards block gambling, adult content and a handful of other MCCs by policy, but BananaCrystal does not state this on the public pages, so the only way to know is to try. Reward and cashback on spending are not stated either, beyond a referral programme that exists but is not quantified. If you are choosing a card for daily spending, the absence of a published rewards structure is a real gap.

The platform itself is a web application. The site says a mobile app is “coming soon”, but in the meantime you manage the card in a browser. Support is offered through live chat for signed-in users, by email at [email protected], with a personal consultation option also available, and the company describes its support as 24/7.

For disputes, the FAQ updated on 6 August 2024 tells you to email [email protected] with your name and card number to report an unauthorised transaction, and notes that you can request a temporary freeze. There are no stated time frames for resolution, no chargeback SLA, and no description of the dispute path, so a serious disagreement with a merchant would lean on the issuer’s standard Visa chargeback process rather than anything BananaCrystal-specific.

What can go wrong

The two structural risks to weigh are counterparty risk on the platform and the cost of getting the card wrong.

BananaCrystal’s model is custodial in practice: the public materials describe a platform wallet and an “offshore bank account” attached to the physical card, not a self-custody setup where you keep the keys until the moment of payment. That means your stablecoin balance sits with the company until you spend it, and you are exposed to the same kind of platform risk that has hit other crypto businesses. The 2022 collapses of major crypto companies are a reminder that a registered MSB status in Canada and the US does not, by itself, make a platform safe. The page’s claim of “military-grade encryption” is marketing language, not a guarantee, and the FAQ lists 2FA and a card lock after three failed PIN attempts as the standard account safeguards.

The card programme also sits on top of an unnamed offshore banking partner. Visa and Mastercard can suspend a programme — that is what happened with FTX’s debit card in November 2022, and with WaveCrest-issued Visa cards in Europe in 2018. If the offshore partner were to lose its Visa licence, the card could be wound down on a notice that may or may not give you time to spend your balance. The public pages do not name the partner, which makes this risk harder to evaluate than for a card programme whose issuer is in plain view.

On the operations side, the costs themselves are a risk. The 100 USD annual fee, the 3.125% loading fee on the entry-level card, and the 0.75% on every purchase add up quickly, and a user who has not done the math can end the year with a balance that has been eroded by fees alone. The non-USD FX fee is not publicly quantified, which is a problem if you travel or buy from foreign sites often. And the deposit-network ambiguity is a risk of its own: send USDC on a chain the platform does not support, and the funds can be lost.

What I did not find is also worth flagging. There is no Trustpilot page for BananaCrystal at the time of my check, no public complaints I could locate, and no recent news in either direction. The absence of complaints is not the same as a track record, and I would treat it as a thin public record rather than a clean one.

What to take instead

If the costs or the gaps in the public record are putting you off, three alternatives are worth a look.

The first is the International Visa Card from a programme I have scored at 6.7 out of 10. It is a US-issued Platinum Visa that is virtual today, with a physical card described as coming soon. The headline cost is 5 USD to issue the virtual card and 0 USD maintenance on the Classic plan, with Pro at 9 USD a month and Max at 19 USD a month. Card use in USD is free on every plan, foreign-currency transactions take the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, and deposits of any kind are free. You fund it with USDC or USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. The country list is publicly stated: residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are not eligible, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The standard is residence or registration, not citizenship, which is more transparent than BananaCrystal on that point. There is no cashback stated.

The second is the UNi Card, which I have scored at 6.1 out of 10. It runs on the Mastercard network and spends from a UNi.Global account balance, with multicurrency support. The pitch is the absence of friction: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates, and no hidden exchange fees. There is a Spend-to-Earn reward of up to 3% on UNi Card spending. The issuance fee, the funding path, and the country list are not public, but the no-annual-fee positioning is the single biggest difference from BananaCrystal.

The third is Whop Cards, which I have scored at 5.2 out of 10. The card is a Visa that spends from a Whop balance, with the working balance usable as soon as a payment arrives and settled funds available for withdrawal. The headline is “no extra fees”, but the page does not list conversion or FX percentages. The published reward is 5% cashback at selected merchants, starting with Uber. On eligibility, consumers are accepted in 31 US states, businesses in 41, and the unsupported consumer country list is long, including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The basis (citizenship or residence) is not stated, and the coins and networks the balance is backed by are not stated either. Compared to BananaCrystal, it is cheaper on the face of it and offers a real cashback, but the coverage outside the United States is narrow.

Card Score Issuance Annual Spend fee FX fee Cashback Where it runs
BananaCrystal Plastic 6.2 / 10 400 USD 100 USD 0.75% not stated not stated Global, 200+ countries
BananaCrystal Metal Black 6.2 / 10 620 USD 100 USD 0.75% not stated not stated Global, 200+ countries
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 not stated Free (Classic) Free in USD 2% non-USD not stated Excludes a published list of 17 countries
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 not stated No fee No fee (FX) No fee up to 3% Mastercard, multicurrency
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 not stated not stated not stated not stated 5% at selected merchants 31 US states for consumers

If you want the widest reach and an offshore bank account attached to the card, BananaCrystal is the option. If you want the cheapest, the International Visa Card on its free plan is the option. If you want multicurrency on Mastercard, the UNi Card is the option. If you live in the United States and the 5% cashback merchants line up with your spending, Whop Cards is the option.

Who I would recommend it to

BananaCrystal makes sense for a narrow but real audience: someone who holds USDT or USDC, lives in a country where the card is actually available, wants a Visa that works in stores and at ATMs worldwide, and is willing to pay for the privilege. The physical and metal cards come with an offshore bank account, which is a different proposition from a prepaid card, and that is the main reason to consider this product over a cheaper prepaid alternative. The Metal Gold tier, with its unlimited monthly cap and lowest loading fee, is the most logical pick for someone moving meaningful volume.

It does not make sense for someone whose primary concern is cost. A 100 USD annual fee, 3.125% on every load of the entry-level card, and 0.75% on every purchase is a heavy combination for a casual user. It also does not make sense for someone who wants a self-custody card, since the platform is custodial and the deposit networks are not published, and for someone in a country whose eligibility is not clearly stated on the public pages. For each of those readers, the alternatives above are a better fit.

If you do decide to apply, the practical steps are: confirm with support that your country of residence is supported before paying the issuance fee, decide which tier matches your monthly volume, send your first top-up in a small test amount on the network you intend to use long-term, and treat any balance you load as money you intend to spend, not as long-term storage. The cost of being wrong on any of those points is a percentage of your balance or, in the worst case, the balance itself.

Frequently asked questions

What is the BananaCrystal card?

The BananaCrystal card is a Visa-branded payment card that draws on a crypto balance, primarily USDT or USDC, with the platform settled on the Hedera network. It comes in virtual, plastic, metal black, metal silver and metal gold versions, all denominated in USD, and is sold from over 200 countries.

How does the BananaCrystal card work?

You open a BananaCrystal account, complete KYC, pick a card, fund it with USDT or USDC, and spend the loaded balance at any merchant or ATM that accepts Visa. The virtual card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the physical cards come with an offshore bank account as well.

Is BananaCrystal a bank?

BananaCrystal is a money services business registered in Canada with FINTRAC and in the United States with FinCEN, not a bank. The physical card is tied to what the company calls an offshore banking partner, whose name is not disclosed on the public pages.

Who owns BananaCrystal?

BananaCrystal is operated by Banana Crystal Inc, a company founded in 2020. The ownership structure beyond the company name is not stated in the public materials.

Is the BananaCrystal card available in my country?

The card is marketed in over 200 countries, but the FAQ’s pages listing unavailable countries and KYC-restricted countries did not load at the time of my check. The starting data mentions Belarus and Russia as unsupported for the virtual card; before you pay any issuance fee, confirm with support that your specific country is supported.

How do I apply for the BananaCrystal card?

You create an account on the BananaCrystal website, complete KYC with a National Identity Card, International Passport or Driver’s Licence, and choose a card tier. Approval usually takes under 10 minutes; if you do not receive an email within 48 hours, follow up manually.

Does the BananaCrystal card require KYC?

Yes. The application process requires identity verification, which the FAQ says typically takes less than 10 minutes, and the accepted documents are a National ID, International Passport or Driver’s Licence. Proof-of-address and minimum-age requirements are not stated.

How do I top up the BananaCrystal card?

You top it up with USDT or USDC from any external wallet, settled on Hedera, and the Fund page also mentions a USDC and a bank funding option. The blockchain networks accepted for deposit are not publicly listed, so confirm the network with support before sending a large amount.

How much does the BananaCrystal card cost?

Issuance ranges from 10 USD for the virtual card to 1,120 USD for the Metal Gold, the annual fee is 100 USD on every tier, the loading fee is 3.125% to 2.125% by tier, and every POS, online and ATM transaction costs 0.75%. The non-USD FX fee is not publicly quantified.

Is the BananaCrystal card safe?

BananaCrystal is a registered MSB in Canada and the US, the platform supports 2FA and locks the card after three failed PIN attempts, and no public complaints were found at the time of my check. The card is custodial rather than self-custody, the offshore banking partner is not named, and the public record is thin, so a cautious user should treat the loaded balance as a working balance rather than a long-term store.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team