A prepaid card for crypto money, built inside the EU — with two tiers, tight limits and a few unanswered questions
Confidopay is not really a bank and it does not pretend to be one. It is a Lithuanian company, Confidopay UAB, that puts a payment card in front of a crypto balance: you send crypto in, it turns into spendable euro, and you pay with the card as if it were ordinary money. The card itself is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, and the crypto side — custody, exchange, the virtual IBAN — is handled by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, which holds an Estonian virtual-asset service provider licence. That is the shape of the thing: a crypto front end bolted onto a licensed issuer inside the European regulatory perimeter.
That regulatory framing matters more than it first sounds, and I will come back to it. But the headline finding of this review is narrower and, I think, more useful: Confidopay scores 7.6 out of 10, and almost all of the points it loses are lost to silence rather than to weakness. Its fees are among the lowest I have seen in this category. Its limits are tight but clearly stated. Its practical usefulness — Apple Pay, Google Pay, a virtual card in minutes, cash out of an ATM — is genuinely good. What it does not do is publish a monthly fee, an FX fee, an ATM withdrawal fee, a minimum top-up amount, or anything at all about chargebacks. I checked the company’s public pages on 20 October 2026 and those numbers simply are not there.
So this review is going to spend a lot of its time in a space you should be comfortable with: what is documented, what is absent, and what you should ask support before you commit money. That is not a trick. A prepaid card whose provider publishes half its price list is a different proposition from one that publishes all of it, and the difference shows up the first time you need the missing half.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.6 out of 10, best for EEA residents spending a crypto balance
Confidopay scores 7.6 / 10. That is a good card for a narrow and quite specific person: someone living in the EEA who already holds bitcoin, ETH or stablecoins, who wants an ordinary-looking payment card without opening a bank account, and who does not need to move large sums. It is not for everyone, and the two reasons it is not are both about eligibility rather than quality.

The single biggest thing in its favour is that it is cheap to open and honest about the headline charge. A physical card costs €0. A virtual card costs €0. There is no monthly fee listed at all. The only conversion fee the company states is 0.1% plus €1 on crypto exchange. For a card whose entire purpose is converting crypto into everyday spending, that is a strong position, and it is why the cost score is 8.
The single biggest thing against it is access. Confidopay serves natural persons with citizenship or residency in an EEA state or Switzerland, but payment cards only for EEA residents — Switzerland gets you in the door, not to a card. Onboarding in Hungary is suspended. Russian citizens are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship. Card payments are blocked in listed jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine in part, the UAE and Türkiye. If you are reading this from outside the EEA, the answer to “can I get this” is almost always no, and no amount of persistence changes that.
Then there is the shape of the numbers. A card payment limit of €10,000 a month and €10,000 a day at the first verification tier is fine for groceries and fuel and travel. It is not fine for buying a used car, and it is not fine if you are the kind of person for whom a crypto card is a bridge from an exchange to ordinary life across a blocked jurisdiction. And the ATM allowance of €3,000 a month with €350 a day is generous enough to be useful and low enough to be uninteresting to fraudsters.
Here is the score, criterion by criterion, with my reasoning attached.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Citizenship or residency in the EEA or Switzerland, but cards only for EEA residents; onboarding in Hungary is suspended |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Physical and virtual card issuance are both €0; crypto exchange is 0.1% + €1; no monthly fee or FX fee is stated |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC (ERC20), USDC on Polygon and BNB on BNB Smart Chain; USDT is not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Issuer is Wallester AS in Estonia, crypto services run through Lightspark Payments Europe AS under VASP licence FVT000546; I found no incidents and no complaint pages |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual card straight after verification plus a physical one, Apple Pay and Google Pay for both, and €3,000 a month of ATM withdrawals |
Two of those five deserve a word of defence. The 9 for reliability is not a claim that nothing can go wrong — it reflects that the card is issued by an established Estonian institution, the crypto side sits under a named licensed provider, and a search turned up no official incidents and no Trustpilot or Reddit complaint page for Confidopay itself. I want to be careful here, because absence of complaints can mean absence of users. Treat that 9 as “no red flags found”, not as a warranty.
The 10 for everyday use is the score that surprised me most, and it is where the product is genuinely well made. A virtual card available immediately after verification, a physical one to follow, both pushable into Apple Pay and Google Pay, and cash available at €3,000 a month — that is the whole checklist of what people actually want from a spending card, and Confidopay ticks it.
Who this suits: an EEA resident holding BTC, ETH or USDC who wants a card for ordinary spending, values not paying a monthly fee, and will read the missing numbers as something to ask rather than something to assume. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the EEA, anyone who needs to move five figures in a month, anyone who lives or travels in a blocked jurisdiction, and anyone whose main worry is a stablecoin that is not USDC. USDT is not on the supported list, which surprises a lot of people and has cost me a conversation I was expecting to have.
Will they give you the card: residency beats citizenship, and citizenship alone is not enough
The eligibility rule has two halves and people routinely read only the easier one. You need citizenship or residency in an EEA state or Switzerland to be a customer at all. But payment cards are issued only to EEA residents — Switzerland gets you an account, not a card. So a Swiss citizen living in Zurich passes the first test and fails the second, while a Brazilian living in Lisbon passes both. If your instinct is to check your passport first, check your address instead.
Then there are the exclusions, and they are drawn on citizenship rather than on where you live. Citizens of Russia are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship. That “unless” is doing real work: it means a Russian citizen who has acquired, say, an Irish citizenship is eligible on the strength of it. Card payments are blocked in listed jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine in part, the UAE and Türkiye. Blocking a payment is not the same as blocking an account, and the distinction matters enormously if you travel. You may hold a card that works perfectly well in Berlin and then find it declines in Istanbul or Dubai — and the decline will look like a technical problem at the till, not a policy decision by your issuer.
Onboarding in Hungary is suspended. The company does not say when this started or when it ends, and it does not say whether existing Hungarian customers are affected or only new applicants. If you are in Hungary, this is the first thing to ask about, and it is a reason to have a look at the alternatives further down.
Everything above comes from Confidopay’s own published eligibility rules. I did not find, and the company does not state, an age requirement beyond the general rule for this kind of card in Europe: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. I also could not find any evidence of a relationship between nationality and higher limits — the two KYC tiers I describe later are triggered by money flowing through, not by who you are.
How to get it: one document, one selfie, and a tier you did not ask for
Signing up starts at tier 1, and the tier 1 document list is short. EEA and Swiss citizens submit an ID card or a passport; everyone else submits a passport. Everyone submits a selfie. Third-country nationals living in the EEA or Switzerland also need a residence permit, and the company may ask for proof of address.
You get a choice of card: virtual and physical. Here is the first gap worth knowing about. The site names Visa and Mastercard as the networks in play, but the card currency is not stated. Since the fees are all quoted in euros and there is a Virtual IBAN in the mix, I would plan on euro spending and check before you assume you can hold another currency balance. What is documented clearly is the virtual card’s timing: it is available immediately after verification, which means the thing you actually wanted on day one is the thing you get on day one. The physical card is where the documentation runs out — delivery countries, delivery time, delivery cost and replacement terms are all not stated. If a physical card is essential to you rather than a convenience, that is a question for support before you start, not after.
Then there is tier 2, and this is the part I would most like a Confidopay help page to explain more fully. Tier 2 is triggered at €15,000 of virtual-asset inflow or €25,000 in total. When it triggers, the company asks for proof of address — a utility bill or bank statement dated within three months, and mobile bills are explicitly not accepted — plus a source of funds. You have 30 days to complete it, and the company states that you keep full access in the meantime. That is a reasonable arrangement and better than the freezing that many providers do.
What is not stated: how long the review takes, and on what grounds an application is refused. Both matter. A tier 2 review that takes a week and a review that takes a month are very different experiences, and a refusal with no stated grounds is the thing that makes people nervous about putting large balances in.
What it really costs: €0 to open, 0.1% + €1 to convert, and four fees you have to ask about
The price list Confidopay does publish is short and good. The price list it does not publish is the part that needs your attention.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Physical card creation | €0 |
| Virtual card creation | €0 |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not listed |
| Crypto exchange / card-spend conversion | 0.1% + €1 |
| FX fee | Not listed |
| ATM fee | Not listed |
| Card payments, tier 1 | €10,000/month and €10,000/day; overall outbound €10,000/month |
| Card payments, tier 2 | €15,000/month and €10,000/day; no overall outbound limit |
| ATM withdrawals | €3,000/month and €350/day, both tiers |
| Paid tiers | None — there are two KYC tiers only |
Let me put three ordinary payments through that list, because abstract fee tables hide more than they reveal.
A €40 supermarket shop. This is the easy one. No cash, no exchange — you are spending euro that is already sitting in your balance. The only charge on Confidopay’s side is none at all. But wait: euro groceries bought in, say, Poland, charged to a card billing in euros, involves a currency conversion somewhere in the chain, and that is where the unlisted FX fee would land. If you travel inside the eurozone with a euro card, this is the payment where an unlisted fee would hurt you least, because there is no conversion to charge for.
A €60 hotel in a non-euro country — say a weekend in Prague. Now the conversion question is live. The card states a crypto exchange fee of 0.1% plus €1 for the crypto-to-fiat step. It does not state an FX fee. Visa’s own rate will apply to the currency conversion, and whether Confidopay adds anything on top is exactly what the page does not say. On €60, a 2% FX fee would be €1.20, which is trivial; on €1,500 of travel over a month it would be €30. The size of the number is not the issue. The issue is that you are making a financial decision with an unknown term in it, and you should not have to.
Withdrawing €100 from an ATM in Tallinn. The withdrawal itself fits inside the €350 daily and €3,000 monthly allowance. The ATM fee is not listed. There is also the bank’s own withdrawal charge, which is set by the ATM owner and is not Confidopay’s to publish — but the Confidopay-side fee is missing from the list too. If cash is a routine part of how you use the card, get this number in writing before you rely on it.
The pattern is consistent and worth naming plainly: the company publishes the fees it charges for crypto operations and does not publish the fees for card operations. That may be because the card side is simply tariffed elsewhere, or because the rates genuinely are competitive and undocumented. Either way, the practical instruction is the same — before you rely on this card for foreign spending or cash, ask support what the FX fee and the ATM fee are, and get the answer in an email. Support answers email within 24 to 48 business hours and has live chat Monday to Friday, 09:00–17:00 CET at [email protected]. That is a reasonable turnaround for a question like this.
I want to add one general point about this category of card, because it applies to Confidopay and to every competitor below. On-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card company. When you send USDDC on Polygon to fund a card, the network takes its own cut and Confidopay does not. This is small, but it is also invisible, and it is the reason two quotes for the same transfer can differ.
How to top it up: six assets, four of them chains you already know, and USDT conspicuously missing
Funding works in one of two ways. You deposit crypto, or you send a bank transfer in. Both routes are priced identically: 0.1% plus €1. The minimum is not stated, which is an irritating omission — a provider that will not tell you the floor will not tell you when you have gone below it.
The crypto side accepts BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on ERC20, USDC on Polygon, and BNB on BNB Smart Chain. That is six ways in, which sounds generous until you notice that four of them are the same asset or the same family. And USDT — the other huge dollar stablecoin, the one most people actually hold — is not on the list.
That omission has teeth. USDT exists on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and other networks, and there is a reason this card will not take it: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, and stablecoin networks are full of near-misses where the token name is right and the network is not. A provider that lists USDC on ERC20 and USDC on Polygon separately is being precise about exactly this risk. The prudent reading is that Confidopay narrowed its list on purpose rather than by accident — which is a point in its favour — and the consequence for you is that if your balance is mostly USDT, this is not your card.
Once the money is in, you can convert it to fiat or spend it directly. Getting money back out costs the same 0.1% plus €1 for a bank transfer out, and 0.1% plus €1 plus the third party’s network fee for a crypto withdrawal. One line in this area deserves reading twice: balance return on account closure is not described. And the company may close accounts with 30 days’ notice, immediately in the case of fraud. So the sequence is: an account can be closed, you have 30 days to respond, and the documentation does not describe what happens to whatever balance remains. Anyone treating this card as a long-term parking place for a meaningful sum should ask about that specifically.
On cost discipline around stablecoins generally: dollar-pegged tokens are not guaranteed to hold their peg. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. That is a strong claim from a well-known issuer, and it is still not the same as a bank deposit. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.
Paying with it every day: the part where Confidopay is genuinely good
Everyday use is where this card earns its highest mark, and the reason is unglamorous: it does the ordinary things correctly.
Apple Pay and Google Pay work with both card types — virtual and physical. For most people this is the feature that decides whether a crypto card is a daily driver or a curiosity, because the whole point of tokenised payment is that you never handle the card number again. Your phone replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. Your issuer can also restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic-stripe use or on a particular merchant category, for instance.
Online payments use 3-D Secure. The issuer assesses the risk and either approves without friction or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. There is a real consequence here that cuts both ways: under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, as critics have it, to you. It is not a free security upgrade.
Cash works. €3,000 a month, €350 a day, both tiers, physical card only. That is a real allowance, and combined with the lack of a listed monthly fee it makes this card viable in places where a subscription-based competitor would cost you more over a year than your entire crypto conversion fee.
What is not documented, and you should factor in: blocked merchant categories are not stated. This matters more than it sounds. Merchants are classified by a four-digit merchant category code assigned under ISO 18245, and MCC 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries. Many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Since Confidopay does not publish one, you are flying blind on hotels, car hire, fuel, airlines and travel generally. Check before you travel, not at the counter.
Address verification can silently break foreign-issued cards. The Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of a billing address — street number, ZIP — against issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK. It is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. This is the general reason a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another: a merchant can look up the issuing institution and country from the first six or eight digits of the card number and apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. If you are an EEA resident with an Estonian-issued card paying in the UK or the US, this is a realistic source of friction that has nothing to do with Confidopay.
One more everyday item: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Budget for that.
Rewards, the app, and complaints round out daily use, and each is thin. Cashback is not mentioned — no mention is not the same as none, but I found no programme. The site states there are apps on Google Play and the App Store, but the badge links did not resolve when I checked and I did not read the ratings, so I am not going to tell you whether the app is good. Chargebacks are not addressed, which is a genuine gap rather than an oversight on my part. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; US rights under Regulation E and Regulation Z vary by card type, and prepaid-card coverage should not be assumed. On a prepaid crypto card funded by crypto, you are in exactly the category where chargeback coverage is least predictable.
The one piece of good news on support: complaints are acknowledged within 2 business days and resolved in 7–10 business days. That is a published commitment, which is more than most providers in this category offer.
What can go wrong: the missing numbers, blocked categories, and closing the account
Let me organise the risks by how much they should actually worry you, because “risks” as a category is too blunt to be useful.
The biggest practical risk is a fee you were never told about. FX and ATM fees are unlisted. For a card whose entire purpose is daily spending abroad, that is the risk that will actually materialise. Ask, in writing, before you rely on it.
The second is a declined payment with no way to predict it. Blocked categories are not stated, chargebacks are not addressed, and foreign-issued cards are the classic profile for AVS and BIN-related declines. Combined with the 7-day hold on a declined authorisation, a bad day is possible.
The third is account closure with an undocumented balance. The company may close accounts with 30 days’ notice, and immediately for fraud. What happens to a remaining balance is not described. That is a real gap, and it is the kind of gap that only matters on the worst possible day — which is the definition of a gap.
The fourth is crypto-side risk, which is not the company’s fault but is still yours. Transfers are typically irreversible: a stolen private key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of failures — Mt. Gox, roughly US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely; with a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you then bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. Confidopay is on the custodial side. The company’s stated safeguards are encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications. The custody model and how funds are safeguarded are not stated, and for an EU electronic money institution that omission is more noticeable than it would be elsewhere, because such institutions are required to safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — and those funds are not bank deposits, and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
The fifth is the card programme itself. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The shape of such a closure is usually the same: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. I saw one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source where new loads ended on 8 July 2026 and spending stopped on 8 August 2026 — that is a single unconfirmed source and I would not lean on the dates, but the pattern is well documented. This is not a prediction about Confidopay. Wallester AS is an Estonian institution with its own registration number, and the crypto side sits with Lightspark Payments Europe AS under VASP licence FVT000546. It is a reminder that your money sits inside a commercial arrangement that can end.
The sixth is regulatory, and it is the one that cuts both ways. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023. Its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024; the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, applied from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check a provider there. A CASP authorised in one member state can serve the whole EU. And note the split that catches people out: a card is a payment service regulated separately under e-money and payment-services law, so a crypto card often depends on two licences — one for the crypto side and one for the card.
What I did not find is worth stating too: no official incidents, and no Trustpilot or Reddit page for Confidopay in one search, so I could not identify complaint themes. Read that as a small sample, not a clean record.
One last thing that is not a risk but a trap. If you are outside the EEA, everything above is academic, because sanctions screening in EU practice is applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your country of address. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, including ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is precisely why accounts close or freeze pending documents.
What to take instead: three alternatives with different shapes
None of these is strictly better than Confidopay. They are better at specific things, and if Confidopay’s missing numbers are the thing that bothers you, one of them may publish more.
International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10
This is the one to consider if you are outside the EEA but in a country it serves. It offers a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual only, paying in USD; the physical card is listed as coming soon. Eligibility is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note that the rule follows residence or registration, not citizenship — a different test from Confidopay’s.
| Aspect | International Visa Card |
|---|---|
| Issuance | $5 one-time, virtual |
| Monthly fee | None; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month |
| Card use in USD | Free on all plans |
| Foreign currency | Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee |
| Deposits | Free, any kind; USDC or USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow |
| Cashback | Not stated |
The FX fee is the number to note: 2% stated and visible. That is worse than Confidopay’s probable-but-unstated number, and for a traveller it may be worse in practice. The trade is that you get a published price list and a wider country list. Cashback is not stated.
UNi Card — 6.1 / 10
The one that publishes the friendliest price list. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live over-the-counter rates and “no hidden exchange fees”. Spend-to-Earn rewards of up to 3% with the card. Who can get it is not stated on the material I reviewed, physical versus virtual is not stated, how you fund it is not stated, and there is no issuance fee listed either. If the no-FX-fee promise holds for your currencies, that is a stronger everyday proposition than Confidopay’s unlisted one — but I would want to see the eligibility rules before recommending it to anyone, and I would want to know how the account gets funded.
Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10
A Visa card that works anywhere Visa is accepted, spending from a Whop balance, with a pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives while standard withdrawals use settled funds. It starts from stablecoin collateral in a linked wallet. It offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned; the payout currency and conditions are not stated. The page says “no extra fees” but lists no issuance or monthly amounts, and states no conversion or FX fee amounts either.
Its real problem is geography. Consumer coverage is 31 US states by name and 41 states for businesses, with unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated. For a reader in the EEA this is largely irrelevant, which is why it scores lowest of the four here.
Who I would recommend it to
Recommended if you live in the EEA outside Hungary, you already hold BTC, ETH or USDC, you want to spend that balance as ordinary money without a monthly fee, you will set up Apple Pay and forget about the card, and you will ask support for the FX fee and the ATM fee in an email before you travel. Add your USDC to Apple Pay on day one and treat the physical card as the backup.
Recommended with caution if you cash out regularly — the €3,000 monthly ATM allowance is fine, but the fee is unpublished, so confirm it first. And if you might reach tier 2, gather a utility bill or bank statement from the last three months now, while you are not under pressure; mobile bills will not be accepted.
Not recommended if you are outside the EEA or Switzerland, or you live in Hungary, or your balance is mostly USDT, or you need to move more than €10,000 a month through the card, or you travel to the blocked jurisdictions and expect the card to work there, or the absence of a published chargeback policy and an unlisted FX fee would keep you awake. In that last case, UNi Card’s no-foreign-transaction-fee claim is worth checking even with its own gaps.
For everyone else: the honest summary is that Confidopay is a well-structured, correctly licensed, inexpensive card inside the EU regulatory perimeter, with a genuinely excellent everyday-use profile and an unusually quiet fee page. Ask the two missing questions in writing. If the answers are good, this is an easy card to recommend.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Confidopay card?
Confidopay is a payment card tied to a crypto balance, run by Confidopay UAB, a Lithuanian company. You deposit crypto, it converts to euro, and you spend that balance like ordinary money. The card itself is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, while custody and exchange sit with Lightspark Payments Europe AS. It behaves more like a prepaid card than a bank account, which is why the term “bank” does not apply to it.
Who owns Confidopay?
Confidopay UAB is registered in Lithuania, number 306414477, at Mėsinių g. 5, Vilnius. The card programme belongs to Wallester AS in Tallinn, Estonia, registration 11812881, and the virtual-asset services and Virtual IBAN belong to Lightspark Payments Europe AS, which holds Estonian VASP licence FVT000546. So there are three named regulated entities behind one product — worth knowing when you decide who to email.
Is Confidopay a bank?
No. It is a crypto platform with an electronic money and payment card operation attached, not a deposit-taking bank. That distinction has consequences you should hold onto: safeguarded customer funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. I found no official incidents and no Trustpilot or Reddit page for Confidopay in one search, but a small sample is not a record.
Can I get the Confidopay card in my country?
Only if you have citizenship or residency in an EEA state or Switzerland — and cards themselves are EEA residents only, so Swiss residents do not qualify. Onboarding in Hungary is suspended with no date given. Russian citizens are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship, and card payments are blocked in listed jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine in part, the UAE and Türkiye.
Does getting the card require KYC?
Yes, one tier of it. Tier 1 takes an ID card or passport for EEA and Swiss citizens, a passport for everyone else, plus a selfie. Third-country nationals living in the EEA or Switzerland also need a residence permit, and proof of address may be requested. Tier 2 triggers at €15,000 of virtual-asset inflow or €25,000 total and asks for a utility bill or bank statement from the last three months, mobile bills excluded, plus source of funds — with 30 days to comply while keeping full access.
How much does the Confidopay card cost?
Issuing either card is €0, and the stated conversion fee is 0.1% plus €1. There is no published monthly fee, no published FX fee and no published ATM fee. Withdrawals are limited to €3,000 a month and €350 a day. Card spending is capped at €10,000 a month and €10,000 a day at tier 1, rising to €15,000 a month at tier 2 while the daily cap stays at €10,000.
How do I top up the Confidopay card?
By depositing BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on ERC20, USDC on Polygon or BNB on BNB Smart Chain, or by bank transfer in. Both routes cost 0.1% plus €1, and the minimum is not stated. USDT is not on the supported list at all, which is the single most common reason people find this card does not fit their balances. Network fees on the deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Confidopay.
Is the Confidopay card safe?
The stated safeguards are encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications, and both Apple Pay and Google Pay work with either card type. What is not stated is the custody model and how funds are safeguarded. Since this is a custodial arrangement, note that crypto transfers are typically irreversible and that major custodial platforms have failed before — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin among them.
Can I use the Confidopay virtual card straight away?
Yes, it is available immediately after verification, which is the card’s strongest everyday feature. You can push it straight into Apple Pay or Google Pay. The physical card is a separate matter: delivery countries, delivery time, delivery cost and replacement terms are all not stated, so if a plastic card in your wallet matters to you, ask support first.
Does Confidopay pay cashback or offer rewards?
Cashback is not mentioned. Nor is chargeback handling addressed, which matters more than cashback would: a chargeback is an issuer-ordered refund with reason codes such as fraud or goods not received, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. What is published is a support commitment — complaints acknowledged within 2 business days and resolved within 7 to 10 business days.
App and neobank cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
