A prepaid Mastercard that lives inside the Coinspot app — fast to start, narrow to use
Coinspot runs one of Australia’s long-standing crypto exchanges, and the Coinspot card is the way it lets verified customers spend from their on-exchange balances at a shop or in a wallet. It is a prepaid, reloadable Mastercard that converts crypto to Australian dollars the moment you tap to pay, and it lives almost entirely in the Apple Pay and Google Pay wallets on your phone. There is no metal version, no tier ladder, no cashback programme, and the official pages make it clear that the card currency is AUD, that a fully verified Coinspot account with two-factor authentication is required, and that there are no startup or annual fees. What they do not say is just as important as what they do: the card’s country list, physical-card availability, ATM support, daily spending limit and foreign-exchange fee are not spelled out on the page.
I spent time with the Coinspot card page, the Coinspot fees page, the iOS app listing, the EML Payment Solutions disclosures, and third-party coverage from Finder, the Savings.com.au website and infochoice. I also read recent Trustpilot reviews for the exchange and a complaint-service aggregator that draws on ProductReview and Reddit. The result is a card that is simple to understand but narrow in who can use it, and a score that reflects that: 6.2 out of 10. I will walk you through what I found, section by section, and then compare it with the closest alternatives so you can decide whether it is the right one for your situation.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Coinspot card earns 6.2 out of 10. It is a clean, single-tier prepaid Mastercard from a regulated Australian e-money issuer, with no startup or annual fees, real-time crypto-to-AUD conversion, and tokenisation into Apple Pay and Google Pay. The reason it sits in the middle of the pack is geography: the card page speaks in AUD and Australian licensing terms, the issuer (EML Payment Solutions Limited) is Australian, and the card currency is AUD. If you live in Australia and hold most of your crypto on Coinspot already, the card is a frictionless way to spend it. If you live anywhere else, you are working with a card that was not designed for you, with a foreign-exchange policy the page does not state and a spending limit no official document confirms.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | AUD and Australian licensing only; full Coinspot verification and 2FA required |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No startup or annual fees and no lock-in periods; conversion fee unofficial at 1% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Any coin listed on Coinspot, over 470, drawn from up to five linked wallets |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | EML-issued, AFSL 404131, exchange Trustpilot 4.3 from 2,823 reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Prepaid Mastercard via Apple Pay and Google Pay; no physical card on the page |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | A simple, AUD-only prepaid card with narrow reach |
The card suits Australian residents who already keep their crypto on Coinspot and want to spend it at a regular shop without manually selling first. It does not suit anyone looking for a multi-currency card, a metal tier, cashback or ATM access, and it does not suit people outside Australia who would face an unstated foreign-exchange fee on every non-AUD purchase. In the rest of this review I will go through the eligibility, signup, costs, funding, daily use, risks and alternatives in the order the plan asks for, so you can see exactly which conditions apply to you and where the gaps are.
Who will they give you the card
Coinspot does not publish a country list for the card. The card page refers to AUD and Australian licensing throughout, the card currency is AUD, and the issuer is EML Payment Solutions Limited, an Australian e-money institution (AFSL 404131). Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, which trades as Coinspot, is the entity that promotes and distributes the card. Third-party coverage from Finder in September 2024 describes the card as available to Australian customers with a verified Coinspot account, and that is consistent with everything on the official page, but it is not stated as a written rule.
What the page does require is a fully verified individual Coinspot account with two-factor authentication enabled. Coinspot’s standard verification asks for identity documents and a proof of address, though the card page itself does not name the documents, the minimum age or the tier you need to reach before you can order the card. The page simply says you need full verification and 2FA. If you have already completed those steps, the card should appear inside the app; if you have not, the process is the regular Coinspot onboarding rather than a card-specific one. The official page leaves processing time, rejection reasons and tier rules unstated.
For a reader outside Australia, this is the part of the review where the answer is most likely no. The page was written for an Australian audience: AUD balances, an Australian e-money issuer, an Australian distributor. Coinspot has not published a residency or citizenship rule in a way that gives a clear “yes” or “no” for, say, a person living in the European Union, the United Kingdom or the United States. If you do not already hold a verified Coinspot account, opening one from abroad may not be possible at all, and even if you can, you would be spending in AUD with no published FX fee, which means you would be carrying the conversion cost yourself. In the rest of this review I will point out where the AUD-only design shows up again, because it is the single biggest constraint on this card.
How to get it
The signup path is the same as opening a Coinspot account, because the card is built into the exchange rather than sold as a standalone product. You start by signing up at Coinspot, completing individual verification, and turning on 2FA. Once your account is fully verified, the card option appears in the app and you activate it. The card page does not describe a separate application form, a separate approval, or a delivery step.
What Coinspot does not say about signup is more revealing than what it does. The page does not name the documents, the age requirement, the tier needed, the processing time or the reasons a card application might be refused. The signup guide mentions full verification plus 2FA and stops there. Finder’s September 2024 piece is firmer on the physical question: it says “Physical cards are not available”, and the card page itself only describes Apple Pay and Google Pay. So in practice, “getting” the Coinspot card means installing the app, verifying yourself, enabling 2FA, and adding the digital card to your phone wallet. There is no envelope in the post, no delivery window, and no plastic to wait for.
A small but useful detail for someone planning their first day with the card: the page describes Apple Pay and Google Pay use but does not list a virtual-only constraint, so I read the third-party confirmation that there is no physical card as the operative fact. If you need a card you can hand to a waiter or insert into a payment terminal, this is not the product for that. If you are happy paying by phone, the path from signup to first tap is short.
What it really costs — Fees
The cost picture is the part of the review where Coinspot looks most generous. The card page says there are “no startup or annual fees” and no lock-in periods, and the Coinspot fees page lists card (AUD) deposits to the exchange as free. That covers the issuance and the ongoing holding of the card. What it does not cover is the conversion that happens every time you tap to pay: crypto is converted to AUD at the point of transaction at “Coinspot’s best exchange rates”, and there is no margin or FX fee figure on the page. The unofficial number from Finder, the Savings.com.au website and Accountants Daily at launch is a 1% conversion fee, applied to buys, sells and swaps. That is the figure you should plan around if you are weighing the card against an alternative.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | None |
| Monthly / annual fee | None |
| Crypto conversion | 1% (unofficial, Finder Sep 2024) |
| Foreign-exchange fee | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated (digital-only, no ATM access described) |
| Daily spending limit | 4,999 AUD (unofficial, Finder Sep 2024) |
| Lock-in period | None |
To make the cost structure concrete, three everyday situations are worth running through. First, a 100 AUD lunch paid in Sydney: 1% on the conversion is 1 AUD, no FX fee, no monthly fee, no card fee. Second, a 100 USD flight booked online from Melbourne: the card converts USD to AUD for the merchant’s settlement, but the foreign-exchange fee is not stated, so the unknown is the FX margin on top of the 1% conversion. Third, a 50 EUR hotel booking in Berlin from an Australian Coinspot account: same structure as the flight, with two layers of uncertainty (conversion plus FX). The card does what it says for domestic AUD spending; it gets murkier the moment you cross a border, and that murkiness is the practical cost of an AUD-only card used internationally.
A related point that belongs in the costs section is the absence of rewards. The page says nothing about cashback, points, miles or any other incentive, and Finder’s September 2024 coverage explicitly says there are no rewards. If you are coming from a debit card that pays 1% back, the 1% conversion fee is a wash before you add the lack of any return on top.
How to top it up — Top up
The card is funded by spending crypto from Coinspot, not by topping up an AUD balance first. The card page describes a list of up to five linked Coinspot wallets, drawn in the order you choose, and over 470 cryptocurrencies that can sit in those wallets. There is no direct AUD top-up from the card page, and no minimum, no top-up fee, and no choice of network spelled out. Coinspot’s own fees page describes card (AUD) deposits to the exchange as free, which covers the side of the flow where you move AUD into Coinspot to sell, but the card itself is a “spend from these wallets in this order” model.

The order matters because the first wallet with a balance pays, and the rest are skipped. If you set a stablecoin wallet first and a volatile coin second, you will spend the stablecoin until it runs dry before the second wallet is touched. If you want to drain a specific holding, you put it first in the list. The card page does not explain whether the wallets are denominated in the underlying coin or in AUD, but the behaviour is that the listed crypto is sold at the moment of the transaction at Coinspot’s exchange rate, so the order is really the order in which holdings are liquidated.
The networks the wallet deposits use are not stated. Coinspot supports multiple chains for major coins, and the card page does not say which one the card’s funding flow expects, which means the safe path is to deposit inside the Coinspot app rather than send a transfer from an external wallet to an address that might not be the one Coinspot is using. This is the kind of detail that does not look like a cost until you make a wrong-chain transfer and have to chase support, and the card page is silent on whether Coinspot can recover a deposit sent on the wrong network.
A practical note on refunds: the card page is explicit that a refund returns the AUD value to your Coinspot account, not the coins you spent. If you paid with ETH and the merchant refunds you, the AUD equivalent at the time of the refund comes back, and you do not recover the ETH. That is a small but real difference from a card that returns the original tender.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is in Apple Pay or Google Pay, the everyday experience is what you would expect from a prepaid Mastercard. You tap to pay, the merchant sees an AUD transaction, and the funds are pulled from your linked Coinspot wallets in the order you chose. Blocked merchant categories are not listed on the page, so I cannot tell you whether gambling or crypto purchases are declined by policy, and the page does not name an app-level freeze or spending-control feature either, though infochoice reports that the app can freeze the card, set spending limits and switch the card on and off.
The Coinspot app itself is well rated on iOS, with 4.8 out of 5 from around 46,000 ratings as of 2026-10-20 on version 3.11.14. The Google Play rating was not readable at the same date. The app is where balances and transactions live, and the live chat with a local support team is available 24/7, with email at the CoinSpot support address, a Help Centre at coinspot.zendesk.com, a contact form on the CoinSpot website and a complaints policy. The card page references a PDS and a TMD but does not link them, so the formal product documents are not surfaced in a way a reader can open with one click.
A few everyday situations are worth flagging. Online checkouts that use Address Verification Service can decline a card whose billing address does not match what the issuer has on file, and a card issued to an Australian address but used from abroad is the kind of mismatch AVS is built to catch. Online checkouts that use 3-D Secure may also ask for an extra confirmation step, which is a friction you would not see on a tap-to-pay. Holds on authorisations can stay on the prepaid balance for several days, so a small amount of AUD is effectively locked during that window. None of these are unusual for a prepaid Mastercard, but they are the things a first-time user is most likely to be surprised by.
What can go wrong
The risks of a Coinspot card sit in three places: the card, the exchange, and the boundary between them.
On the card side, the official page is light on detail. The page does not state what happens if your Coinspot account is closed, what insurance covers the balance, whether the card can be frozen from the app, or how disputes are handled. The PDS and TMD are referenced but not linked, so a reader who wants the full terms has to ask support or look for them on the EML side. EML Payment Solutions Limited is a regulated Australian e-money institution, which gives the card programme a real issuer behind it, and Casey Block Services Pty Ltd is the entity that markets and distributes it. As an e-money product, the card balance is held by the issuer under safeguarding rules, but the official page does not spell out what that means in practice for a Coinspot user.
On the exchange side, the trust signal is reasonable but not exceptional. The exchange has a Trustpilot score of 4.3 out of 5 from 2,823 reviews as of 2026-10-20, with 7% of reviews at one star and 278 reviews in the last 12 months. Coinspot replies to 89% of negative reviews. The themes that come up in recent reviews are accounts and transfers restricted without a clear explanation, withdrawal and 2FA difficulties, and slow, repetitive support replies. None of the reviews I read on the Trustpilot page for the exchange mention the card itself, and I did not find a Coinspot card thread on Reddit. The complaint-service aggregator that draws on ProductReview and Trustpilot repeats the “security review” pattern: a user initiates a withdrawal, the account is frozen, and the funds are held until Coinspot is satisfied. That is a custodial-exchange risk, not a card risk, and it is the trade you make for the convenience of a card that draws straight from your exchange balance.
On the boundary, the most practical risk is that an exchange freeze stops your card. Because the card spends from Coinspot wallets, anything that stops you from selling on the exchange stops you from paying with the card. A second boundary risk is the AUD-only design: if you travel, the foreign-exchange fee is not stated, so you do not know what the bank is charging you on top of the 1% conversion. A third is the irreversibility of crypto transfers, which is not a Coinspot risk as such but a property of the asset class: a wrong-network deposit to your Coinspot funding wallet can be lost with no recovery path.
A point worth raising because it comes up in nearly every crypto card review: a crypto card is not a bank account, and the safeguarded balance is not the same as a deposit guaranteed by a government scheme. The official page does not claim it is.
What to take instead
Coinspot is one of a small number of crypto cards aimed at the Australian market, and the comparison that matters is with the cards that are open to a wider audience, because that is what most readers will be weighing. The three alternatives below are the ones I would put in front of someone who has read this far and is asking “what else is there”.
Young Card is a 5.7 out of 10. Its official pages do not state a country list, card type, fee or funding path, and the only piece of public information that travels well is its cashback structure: rewards are paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by the user’s Club tier, with Essential at 0.1%, Gold at 1.8% and Platinum at 3.6%, and Bronze and Silver not stated. The headline proposition is token-native rewards; the missing piece is the everyday-use story.
MSX is a 6.4 out of 10. Like Young Card, its official page does not state a country list, card type, fee or funding path in a way I could verify, and the public material I could read did not give me a clear picture of what spending with the card actually looks like in practice. It is the highest-scoring of the three alternatives, but the score reflects what I could see, not what I could verify.
Bybit Card is a 6.0 out of 10, and the one with the most public detail. It is available in a long list of regions: Argentina, the AIFC in Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and an Asia Pacific grouping. The application asks for a country of residence, and if the country is not supported Bybit says it will register your interest. The card page also says “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Bybit’s fiat-service restricted list covers deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy rather than the card as such, and includes Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States, with Russian users limited to RUB transactions. There is no card-specific citizenship-versus-residence rule, and the card currency depends on the country of the user’s Advanced Identity Verification.
The card itself comes as a virtual Mastercard or Visa and, in most regions, a physical one. Issuance is free for the virtual card across all regions “until further notice”, and physical-card issuance is 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD or USDT in Argentina, 29.99 USDT in Georgia, 29.99 USDT in the AIFC and 5 USDT in the Asia Pacific grouping, with no fee in Brazil or Mexico; VIPs in Australia, the AIFC, Georgia and the Asia Pacific region pay no issuance or replacement fee. There are no annual fees. Crypto conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina, with Peru not supported. FX is 2% in most regions, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru, and an FX padding of 0% in most regions, 5% in Argentina and 1% in Brazil, with the excess refunded. The rewards programme is the most developed of the four cards: from 2026-10-05, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, with tiers from Base at 2% with a 5 USD cap up to Infinite at 10% with a 600 USD cap, and a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. The card is funded by drawing on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, with crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus the conversion fee if fiat runs out; supported coins are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, with a default priority of USDT, USDC, GRAM, BTC, ETH and XRP that can be reordered in the Card Dashboard.
In one line: Coinspot is the simplest of the four if you are Australian, Young Card is the most token-native, MSX is the highest-scored but the least verifiable, and Bybit Card is the most fully featured for someone who is happy to verify with Bybit and wants a real rewards structure and a real FX schedule.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Coinspot card to an Australian resident who already has a fully verified Coinspot account, keeps most of their crypto on the exchange, and wants to spend from that balance at home or online using Apple Pay or Google Pay. For that reader, the card is a one-tap setup, has no startup or annual fee, and removes the manual step of selling crypto and transferring AUD to a debit card. The 1% unofficial conversion fee is the only meaningful cost to plan for on domestic AUD spending.
I would not recommend it to anyone outside Australia, anyone who needs a physical card, anyone who needs ATM access, anyone who wants cashback, and anyone who needs a card with a clear foreign-exchange policy. For those readers, the Bybit Card is the most fully specified alternative I have, and it earns its 6.0 with a real rewards ladder, a published FX schedule and a virtual-plus-physical card design across most of its regions. For an Australian reader who wants the simplest path and is happy to live inside the Coinspot app, the Coinspot card is the right tool for the job.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Coinspot card?
The Coinspot card is a prepaid, reloadable Mastercard that lets verified Coinspot customers spend from their on-exchange crypto balances at any merchant that accepts Mastercard, by converting the chosen cryptocurrency to AUD at the moment of the transaction.
How does the Coinspot card work?
You add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay from inside the Coinspot app, and when you tap to pay the card pulls from up to five linked Coinspot wallets in the order you choose, selling the chosen cryptocurrency at Coinspot’s exchange rate and paying the merchant in AUD.
Is Coinspot a bank?
No. Coinspot is an Australian cryptocurrency exchange operated by Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, and the card is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, an Australian e-money institution (AFSL 404131), not by a bank. Card funds are safeguarded as e-money, not protected by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who owns Coinspot?
Coinspot trades as Casey Block Services Pty Ltd, an Australian company that operates the exchange and distributes the card. The card itself is issued by EML Payment Solutions Limited, a separate regulated entity.
Is the Coinspot card available outside Australia?
The official page does not publish a country list, but it refers to AUD and Australian licensing throughout and the card currency is AUD. Third-party coverage describes the card as available to Australian customers with a verified Coinspot account.
How do I get the Coinspot card?
You sign up at Coinspot, complete full individual verification, enable 2FA, open the card section in the app, and activate the card to add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay. There is no separate card application, no physical card to wait for, and no delivery window.
Does the Coinspot card require KYC?
Yes. The card requires a fully verified Coinspot account with 2FA enabled, which is Coinspot’s standard KYC process for individual accounts, though the card page itself does not name the documents, the age requirement or the tier needed.
How do I add the Coinspot card to Apple Wallet?
Open the Coinspot app on a supported iPhone, go to the card section, and follow the prompt to add the card to Apple Wallet. The card is then available in Apple Pay for tap-to-pay, in-app and online payments.
How do I top up the Coinspot card?
You do not top it up with AUD. The card is funded by selecting up to five Coinspot wallets in the order you want them drawn; the chosen cryptocurrency is sold at the moment of each payment at Coinspot’s exchange rate, with a 1% unofficial conversion fee.
Is the Coinspot card safe?
The card is issued by a regulated Australian e-money institution and adds the standard prepaid-card safeguards of tokenised mobile wallets, but it is a custodial product, so the practical risk is exchange-side: account freezes, withdrawal restrictions and support delays reported on the exchange’s Trustpilot page, with 7% of reviews at one star.
Exchange cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
