A virtual-only crypto card with quiet costs and a thin public record
If you are reading this, you are probably in the same spot many people are: you need a card that spends money you hold in crypto, and ordinary bank cards are not being handed to you — because of your country, your residence status, the documents you can produce, or simply because no local branch will open an account. WantToPay is one of a small crowd of products built for exactly that gap. It is a virtual card, issued inside Telegram, that you load with crypto or rubles and then spend like an ordinary payment card.
Here is my honest position before the detail: it works, and it is cheap to open, but it is thin where thinness hurts. There is no physical card, no cash machine, no app in the normal app stores, no published list of the countries it will accept, and a user-review record dominated by one specific complaint — cards that stop working and money that becomes hard to reach. I scored it 4.5 out of 10. I explain every mark below.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026. A date taken from a fact keeps its own year.
Verdict: who this card is for, and who it is not for
Let me put the score up front, because you should be able to disagree with it using the reasons rather than the number.
| Criterion | Mark | Why I gave it that mark |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Countries and residency are not listed on the site; it runs a promotion for new users aged 18+, and the number of countries it serves is not disclosed. |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Issuance is 990 RUB (Easy), 1,590 RUB (Smart) or 3,490 RUB (Pro); servicing is $6 a month on Easy, Smart and Pro; crypto top-up runs at 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Rubles by phone number or bank card, plus crypto (BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON); the networks are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Operated by WTP Technology Limited (Hong Kong), issuer not named; Trustpilot hides its score over a rules breach, with 274 reviews; the recurring complaint is cards that stop working and funds you cannot reach. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual card only; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay only on the Smart and Pro tiers; no physical card and no cash machine. |
| Total | 4.5 / 10 | A usable tool for a specific job, held back by thin disclosure and a worrying complaint pattern. |
Who is this for? In short: people paying foreign or online services from a crypto balance, who live inside the Telegram ecosystem and are comfortable with a card that exists only as a number in a chat app. If your whole daily life is a few subscriptions, a game store, or a merchant that takes dollars, this does that job cleanly.
Who is it not for? If you need cash in hand, a card in a physical wallet, or a payment method that a shop will treat as unambiguously local, look elsewhere. If you need to be able to answer “who issued this card and who is liable for my money” from published documents, this will not answer you. And if a card that suddenly stops working would leave you stranded, the complaint record here is the reason I hesitate to recommend it without reservations.
Will they give you the card?
This is the first honest question, and the answer is: probably yes, if you are over 18, but the site will not tell you in advance which countries count. The home page does not list eligible countries or a residency requirement — I checked, and the terms index gave no country list either. So I cannot tell you that it is open in your country, and neither can the official pages.
What *is* stated is a promotion aimed at new users aged 18+, which at least tells you the age floor. Everything else about eligibility — where you must live, what nationality you must hold, whether some countries are turned away — is left out of the public material.
There is one unofficial point worth knowing because it changes who is likely to be approved. Per tproger.ru (a sponsored article, September 2026), Smart cards are issued in the United States, and some Prepaid and Easy cards carry Singapore BINs. A BIN is simply the first six or eight digits of a card number that identify the issuing institution; merchants can read it and see where the card came from. That is unofficial information from a third party, not confirmed by the card, but if it holds, the card you receive may not match the country you applied from. Keep that in mind before you assume a decline is about you.
So: no country list means no reliable yes or no. Ask support before you commit money, and treat the answer as provisional.
How to get it
You apply inside Telegram. WantToPay has no App Store or Google Play app; the product is a Telegram Mini App and a website, so “downloading the app” is not a step. Verification runs through Sumsub, described as “verification with one document,” and the card says it does not keep copies of your documents.
The verification itself is a single level. You confirm an email and a phone number, photograph an identity document — a passport, a foreign passport or a driving licence — and take a selfie, sometimes with a blink or a head turn. Both sides are needed for an ID card or a licence. Processing is described as usually taking a few minutes.
Two things you should know before you start. First, the official KYC steps list no proof-of-address document — only the ID and the selfie — so you should not expect to be asked for a utility bill. Second, there are no published rejection codes, but the card’s own guidance is that failures come down to photo quality most often, and to contact support after several failed attempts. That is a small mercy: bad photos are fixable.
The card that comes out is digital only. It is issued in the Telegram Mini App; there is no physical card and nothing is delivered to you. The primary currency is USD and online payments run through 3D Secure. The card network itself is not named on the official pages. (Unofficial again, per tproger.ru: Smart cards issued in the USA, some Prepaid and Easy cards with Singapore BINs.)
One promotion to note: new users who verify within 7 days of registering get a 30% discount on the Easy tier.
What it really costs: the Fees
Here is the blunt part. Issuance and the monthly fee are small numbers; the top-up fee and the per-transaction fee are where the money actually goes. And the card does not always show you the full picture.

| Fee or limit | Prepaid | Easy | Smart | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Issue price | Card face value | 990 RUB / $10 | 1,590 RUB | 3,490 RUB / $35 |
| Monthly service | $0 | $6 | $6 | $6 |
| Purchase limit | Up to $20,000 per day | Up to $50,000 per day | (see note) | Up to $50,000 per month |
| Single transaction | Up to $10,000 | Up to $20,000 | Up to $25,000 | “—” (not specified) |
| Successful transaction fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.50–$1.00, plus 0.2% for contactless | $0.5 + 1% of the payment amount |
| Failed transaction fee | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.25–$0.50 | $0.40–$1.00 | $1 |
| Crypto top-up fee | Fixed denomination only | 9% | 7% | — (not stated) |
| Validity | 24 months | 24 months | 36–60 months | — (not stated) |
| Metal card | No | No | No | No |
A few notes on that table. The Pro purchase limit is stated as $50,000 per month, which is the one limit given in monthly rather than daily terms. Smart’s purchase limit per day is not given in a way I could pin down beyond the per-transaction figure, so read it as “not clearly stated.” The card’s own comparison table does not show a separate currency-conversion commission for paying in other currencies, and paying in a currency other than the base is not separately explained — so if you spend outside USD, ask what applies before you rely on it. The monthly service fee of $6 for Easy, Smart and Pro, and $0 for Prepaid, is the figure I would budget against.
There is an unofficial point that likely explains the $6 and is worth budgeting for: per tproger.ru (September 2026), a “Plus” subscription is required for the Easy and Smart tiers, at 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days (1,860 / 3,310 / 4,100 RUB for 3 / 6 / 12 months), and one subscription covers all your cards. That is a third-party source, not the card, but it is probably the same $6 monthly fee in another form — and either way, Easy and Smart are not free to keep.
Now let me walk three ordinary payments through the table, so you can see which fees actually bite.
A small purchase on the Easy card, say a $12 subscription. You paid 990 RUB ($10) to issue the card. You load it with crypto at a 9% top-up fee. Then the purchase itself costs a $0.25–$0.50 successful-transaction fee. On top of that, Easy carries the $6 monthly servicing. So a modest recurring payment carries, on the Easy tier, a 9% load fee, a per-transaction fee, and an annual $72 in servicing before you have spent meaningfully.
The same purchase on the Prepaid card. Here there is no monthly fee and no crypto top-up fee at all, because Prepaid is loaded only with its fixed denomination ($10–$200). But you still pay the $0.25–$0.50 successful-transaction fee, and the money sits on a fixed balance for up to $20,000 per day in purchases and $10,000 per transaction. If you know exactly what you want to spend and do not need to reload, Prepaid is the cheapest way to use this product.
A larger contactless payment on the Smart card. Smart costs $0.50–$1.00 per successful transaction, and for contactless an extra 0.2% on top. A failed transaction on Smart costs $0.40–$1.00 — so if your card is declined at the till, that attempt is not free either. Add the 7% crypto top-up and the $6 monthly servicing, and Smart’s cleaner interfaces do not come cheap.
The honest summary of the cost picture: the entry price is low, but a crypto top-up on Easy is a 9% haircut on everything you load, a failed attempt is a flat charge, and three of the four tiers bill you $6 a month whether you use the card or not. I gave Cost 2 out of 10 for that reason.
How to Top up the card
Topping up is straightforward in shape, and sharp in the details. For the Easy and Smart tiers you can load in two ways: rubles, either by instant transfer to a phone number or from a bank card; or crypto — BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON. (The home page itself lists BTC, USDT, USDC and TON.) The networks are not named, which is the single most important omission here, and I will come back to it in a moment. Bank-card payments *into* the card are not accepted.

There is a flat minimum of $10 on every tier. The crypto top-up fee is 9% on Easy, 7% on Smart; Prepaid is loaded only with its fixed denomination. A ruble top-up is converted at “the app rate” — the fee for that is not stated. Credit is usually immediate and in any case within 180 minutes.
Three warnings I would not skip:
- New payment details every time. For crypto top-ups you must use freshly generated payment details for each deposit (the flow goes through Cryptomus), and a crypto transfer sent to details that have already been used “cannot be returned.” In plain terms: send to the current address only, and treat the amount as gone the moment you press send.
- Network fees. Who pays the on-chain network fee for your deposit is not stated. On most chains that fee is set by the blockchain, not by the card company, but the card being silent about who covers it is not something to gloss over.
- Bank cards cannot receive payments. They cannot be used to get money back to a card.
On getting money off the card: the card is not built for withdrawing funds from services, and it describes no withdrawal to a bank or to crypto. What it does describe is an “internal balance” — money lands there if the card provider has a technical failure, or at support’s request — and you can move it back to a Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro card at any time, free, with a $2 minimum and up to $500 a day. You cannot add money to that internal balance from a card yourself. And the rule I would flag hardest: when a card expires, it is deleted along with any balance still on it. Do not treat a WantToPay balance as storage.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a virtual card you use online or in wallets, and the picture is mixed but usable.
The good part is the mobile wallets, but only on the upper tiers. Smart supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. (Per tproger.ru, unofficial, Apple Pay is Smart only.) The good part is also that there is no physical card to lose, and issuance is fast — users praise the speed of getting the virtual card and the support. If you are paying a handful of foreign services from a Telegram-native setup, that is a workable daily loop: top up, tap, done.
The thin parts are equally real. There is no physical card at all. There is no cash machine; cash is not mentioned anywhere, and funds cannot be withdrawn from the card (tproger.ru, September 2026, which is consistent with the card’s own no-withdrawal position). There is no cashback — rewards are not offered. There is no normal app, only the Telegram Mini App and the website, and it carries no app-store rating because there is no listing.
Blocked merchants are not stated on the official pages, and this is where unofficial reporting matters more than anywhere else in the review, so treat it as guidance, not rules. Per tproger.ru (September 2026, sponsored): refusal code #D005 applies to prohibited merchant categories — crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets, government bodies; gambling and donations are prohibited; the tariff terms bar sellers from listed countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey “among others”; and Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, the Epic Games Store and the PlayStation Store are not payable on any tariff. If any of those matter to you, verify each one directly with support — sponsored articles are not a contract, and lists like this change.
The practical upshot for daily use: virtual only, wallets on Smart and Pro, no cash, no cashback, and a merchant-category screen that is officially unpublished. That earns Everyday Use 5 out of 10.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would read twice, because it is where the score is decided.
The company and the issuer are not what you might expect. The operator is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong (incorporation number 76394774). The issuer is not named. Per tproger.ru (September 2026), the issuer/BIN sponsor is not named either, and the BIN regions are the USA and Singapore — both unofficial. That means the entity standing behind your card balance is not one you can read about from official disclosures.
The user-review record is the biggest single risk. On Trustpilot (read 20 October 2026) the TrustScore is not displayed — marked unavailable due to a breach of guidelines, with fake reviews removed — against 274 reviews, 152 of them in the last 12 months; 85% five-star and 13% one-star. Note the card’s own homepage claims a 4.6. The themes users report are consistent and unflattering: declined payments, top-ups that take from ten minutes to nearly an hour (September 2026), a refusal to refund a 693 RUB issue fee (September 2026), and refunds taking “several months” before they came back (May 2026). Many positive reviews are short, some from single-review accounts. The company replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews.
What people like. The same reviews praise fast virtual-card issuance and the support. That is not nothing, and I would rather tell you both halves than only the bad half.
What the card itself does not tell you. Official incidents are not stated on the pages. On security: 3D Secure is used for online payments, and the card says it does not store document copies (verification is by Sumsub). But the custody model, an in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are all *not stated*. So I cannot tell you what happens to your balance if the operator has a problem, because the card does not say.
The structural risk, from the industry, not from this card. A prepaid-style card draws on a stored balance, and your money sits with the provider until you spend it. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Card programmes themselves have been shut down: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern — notice, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw balances. When a WantToPay card expires, yours is deleted with the balance on it. None of this is a prediction about WantToPay; it is the shape of the risk you accept by parking money on a stored-balance card run by a Hong Kong company with an unnamed issuer.
A note on network choice. Crypto transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. The card does not name the networks it supports for BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC or TON, so “send on the right network” is a step you have to get from support, not from the product page. Sending ERC-20 USDT with no ETH in the wallet to pay gas will simply fail; Tron fees are paid by burning TRX; and “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option since Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024.
Declines and holds. A card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN reveals the type and country. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. On top of which, under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift toward the cardholder’s bank — or, per critics, toward you.
None of these are unique to WantToPay. But they are the reasons a 4.5 out of 10, when the product itself works fine.
What to take instead
If the virtual-only, thin-disclosure, complaint-prone shape is not for you, three similar products exist in the same category. They are not obviously better on every axis, but each shifts one of WantToPay’s weak points.
Cardex — scored 5.6 out of 10. It advertises “one crypto card, 200+ countries,” though no country list or exclusions are published; its app-store listing is Naira-focused, with the card in Naira. It is a debit crypto card on the networks VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay, and it offers both virtual and physical cards. It converts crypto to fiat at the moment of payment, claiming an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchange rates and picks the best one, with no fee percentage stated. Funding is by USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not named; rewards not stated. The upside is real cards and four networks; the catch is Naira as the card currency and an unpublished fee.
CardFlow — scored 4.9 out of 10. Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users,” with no country list or exclusions stated. It is a virtual USD Mastercard, and creating a virtual card is free. Fees not stated; funding by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, networks not named; rewards not stated. If your world is naira-based, this is the one to look at first.
HyperCard — scored 4.7 out of 10. A prepaid card whose balance is in USD or EUR; no fees are listed on the pages I could read, but the network is not stated on the app-store page. The app-store page says it works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the official pages list no country eligibility at all. Funding is crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH deposited in the app and converted to USD or EUR, networks not named; rewards not stated.
| Option | Score | Card form | Currency | What it fixes / what it does not |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WantToPay | 4.5 / 10 | Virtual only | USD | Cheapest entry; no physical card, no cash, no published country list. |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Virtual + physical | Naira | Real card and four networks; fee and country detail unpublished. |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual (Mastercard) | USD | Free to create, Nigeria-focused; fees and eligibility unpublished. |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid | USD / EUR | Multi-currency balance; no fees or network disclosed. |
None of these publishes a clean, complete cost-and-eligibility picture, which is itself the finding: this corner of the market rewards reading carefully before you load money.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend WantToPay to you if all of these are true of your situation: you live inside Telegram and are comfortable managing a card that exists only as a number; you pay a small number of foreign or online services from a crypto balance; you can absorb a 7–9% top-up fee and a $6 monthly charge on Easy or Smart (or you use Prepaid with a fixed load and no monthly fee); and you are at peace reloading fresh crypto payment details each time and losing a small top-up fee on every load. For that person, this is a competent tool that does its job.
I would steer you elsewhere if any of these are true: you need cash, a physical card, or a card a local shop will read as local; you cannot get a bank card for reasons that make an unnamed Hong Kong issuer and a hidden TrustScore a bad trade; you plan to hold balance on the card as savings, because expiry deletes what is left; or you are the kind of user for whom a card that stops working with unreachable funds is not an acceptable risk — in which case read the complaints above twice before deciding.
My one-line verdict: a working, cheap-to-open virtual card wrapped in the thinnest public disclosure I have seen in this category, held to a middling mark by that thinness and by a complaint pattern centred on lost access to money. That is 4.5 out of 10, and it is a fair score for a card I would recommend only after you have read the risks section.
Frequently asked questions
What is the WantToPay card?
The WantToPay card is a virtual payment card you load with crypto or rubles and spend like any online card. It exists only as a digital card number inside a Telegram Mini App — there is no physical card. Its base currency is the US dollar and online payments run through 3D Secure. The company behind it is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong, although the issuing bank is not named. I scored it 4.5 out of 10.
How does the WantToPay card work?
You load it, then it spends. Easy and Smart tiers take rubles by phone-number transfer or bank card, or crypto (BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON), with a flat $10 minimum. Loaded money sits as a stored balance and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Payments work online and, on Smart and Pro, through Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. The networks for the listed cryptocurrencies are not named, which is a real gap.
Is WantToPay a bank?
No — it is not presented as a bank, and it is best understood as a stored-balance payment programme run by a Hong Kong company, WTP Technology Limited (incorporation number 76394774). The actual card issuer is not named on the official pages. What is stated is 3D Secure for online payments and that document copies are not stored, since verification is handled by Sumsub.
Will they give me the card in my country?
I cannot answer that reliably, and neither can the official pages — the home page does not list eligible countries or a residency requirement. All that is stated is an 18+ age floor via a new-user promotion. Unofficial reporting (tproger.ru, September 2026) says Smart cards are issued in the USA and some Prepaid/Easy cards carry Singapore BINs. Ask support before you commit any money.
How much does the WantToPay card cost to open and keep?
Issuance is 990 RUB for Easy, 1,590 RUB for Smart, 3,490 RUB for Pro, while Prepaid is loaded at its fixed face value of $10–$200. Monthly servicing is $6 on Easy, Smart and Pro and $0 on Prepaid. Per-transaction fees run from $0.25–$0.50 on Prepaid/Easy to $0.5 plus 1% on Pro, and a failed transaction also costs a fee. A crypto top-up costs 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart.
How do I top up the WantToPay card?
For Easy and Smart, top up in rubles — instant transfer to your phone number or from a bank card — or in crypto. The minimum is $10 on every tier. For crypto you must use freshly generated payment details for each deposit (via Cryptomus); a transfer sent to already-used details “cannot be returned.” Credit is usually immediate, within 180 minutes at most. Note that bank cards cannot be used to receive money back onto the card.
Can I withdraw money from the WantToPay card?
Not as a feature, no. The card describes no withdrawal to a bank or to crypto and says it is not meant for withdrawing funds from services; cash is not mentioned and funds cannot be withdrawn (tproger.ru, September 2026). There is an “internal balance” you can move back to your cards free of charge (minimum $2, up to $500 a day), but you cannot add money to it yourself. Critically, when a card expires it is deleted along with any balance left on it.
Does the WantToPay card require KYC?
Yes, through Sumsub, described as “verification with one document.” You confirm email and phone, photograph a passport, foreign passport or driving licence (both sides for an ID or licence), and take a selfie, sometimes with a blink or head turn. No proof of address is listed. Processing usually takes a few minutes, and failures are most often down to photo quality. Verify within 7 days of registering for a 30% discount on the Easy tier.
Is the WantToPay card safe?
There are real safeguards — 3D Secure online, no stored document copies, a $0 monthly fee on Prepaid. But the card does not state its custody model, an in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls, or insurance. The issuer is unnamed, and Trustpilot hides its score over a rules breach against 274 reviews (152 recent). Users report cards ceasing to work and funds becoming inaccessible, with the company replying to roughly 3% of negative reviews.
Where can I use the WantToPay card, and what is blocked?
Use it online, in the mobile wallets on Smart and Pro, and there is no cash machine. Blocked merchants are not stated officially. Unofficial reporting (tproger.ru, September 2026) cites refusal code #D005 for crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets and government bodies; gambling and donations are prohibited; sellers from listed countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey are barred; and Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, Epic Games Store and PlayStation Store are not payable on any tariff. Verify anything you depend on with support.
How do I add the WantToPay card to Apple Wallet?
On the Smart tier, WantToPay supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay — per tproger.ru (September 2026), Apple Pay is Smart only, and this is unofficial. So if wallet payments are why you want this card, choose Smart, not Easy, and confirm the wallet support with support before you pay. When you add a card number to a mobile wallet, the number is replaced by a device-specific token in the Secure Element and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
