The Gnosis Pay card is going away — what it means for the money still on it
If you were reading up on the Gnosis Pay card, you have probably just found out that there is no longer much point in reading up on it. The consumer card programme is closing. The card stops authorising payments and the web app goes dark on 20 December 2026, with only withdrawals left running afterwards. Gnosis Pay is steering people towards cards issued by partner apps instead. That turns this from a normal “is this card any good” review into something narrower and, I hope, more useful: what actually happened, what you should do with money sitting on the card if you are one of the people still holding it, what can still go wrong in the meantime, and which of the live alternatives does what the Gnosis Pay card used to do.
I have gone through the card’s own terms and help pages, the closure notice, and the publicly available complaint record, and worked through what each of them means for someone deciding what to do next. I have never held this card and I am not going to pretend otherwise — what follows is a reading of the published material, not personal experience.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for the Gnosis Pay card is 4.5 out of 10, and I want to be honest about where that number comes from. It is not a measure of a bad product. The fees were good, the everyday mechanics were good, and for people who could not get an ordinary bank card it did a genuinely useful job. The score is dominated by one fact that no amount of fee-cutting can offset: the programme is closing, the card is no longer being issued, and the clock on the money you hold is running.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Issuance is closed: the card and web app stop working on 20 December 2026, and the consumer card is replaced by partner cards |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Card issue and delivery are free, and there are no Gnosis Pay transaction fees or FX mark-ups; the ATM charge is 2% after the free allowance |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Self-custody Safe, EURe/GBPe/USDCe, USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | The issuer Monavate is named, but the programme is closing: support ends 18 June 2027, disputes end 12 June 2028 |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals |
| Total | 4.5 / 10 | A good card that has run out of runway |
Who this suits, in the end. Almost nobody, in the sense of “sign up for this now”. There is nothing to sign up for: new cards are not being issued, and the official material does not describe a route into the existing consumer programme. If you already hold the card, the review below is about how to exit it cleanly. If you were considering it because a normal bank card is difficult to get where you are, skip to the alternatives section — that is where the live options are.
Who this does not suit. Anyone planning around a card that will still be working in 2027. Anyone with recurring payments set up on it. Anyone who needs dispute or refund support into the next decade — and note that support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends on 12 June 2028, which is a date worth putting in a calendar rather than mentally filing away.
What happened to the programme
The sequence is short and it explains almost everything else on this page.
Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639). It was never the issuer. The card was issued by Monavate Limited under a licence from Visa Europe Limited; Monavate is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution (FRN 901097). Gnosis Pay’s own role was technical services provider and programme manager. That distinction matters now: when the programme closes, the obligations around your money sit with the issuer, not with the brand you applied through. For UK and non-EEA holders the issuer entity is Monavate Ltd; for EEA holders it is UAB Monavate, a Bank of Lithuania entity.
On 7 September 2026 the site began pitching B2B card issuing, with Startup and Enterprise tiers — a two-year agreement and a three-year agreement with a dedicated BIN, at custom pricing. Those are for businesses, not cardholders. On 21 September 2026 the formal closure notice was published. On 24 September 2026, in news coverage that is not official Gnosis Pay communication, MiniPay was reported as handling migration and issuing replacement cards on Gnosis Pay’s enterprise rails, with GNO cashback eligibility ending on 30 September and a final distribution on 7 October. The card and web app stop at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026.
Before closure, who could actually get the card was defined by residence, not citizenship: legal residents of selected European and Latin American countries — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus and more EEA members — with a waitlist for new countries. That is the rule as the card stated it. The site now lists corridors in USD, EUR, GBP, BRL and ARS plus partner apps. Verification ran through Sumsub in a single unified KYC flow; the card’s public pages did not state which documents were required, what proof of address was needed, or an age threshold, so I am not going to fill that in from guesswork. Unofficial third-party descriptions of the flow say age 18+, a government ID or passport, and proof of address issued within the last three months, with approval not guaranteed — treat those as unconfirmed.
On the product itself, this was a Visa card in both virtual and physical form, issued instantly in the virtual case, with settlement at T+1.
The economics were among the better ones in this category. The help centre states no transaction fees and no added FX fee from Gnosis Pay, and fiat and stablecoin convert at 1:1. Card currencies were EURe, GBPe and USDCe, spent at 1:1 — a EUR 10 purchase spends 10 EURe. Gnosis Pay adds nothing on conversion; Visa’s exchange rate applies automatically, and the card’s own advice is to choose the local currency at terminals rather than letting the terminal convert. The physical card and its shipping are free, and a replacement for a lost or stolen card costs 4.99 in EURe, GBPe or USDCe including shipping. There is one stale figure floating around: a help centre page lists a card purchase fee of EUR 30.23 and is marked as possibly outdated. The current page says the card is free. If you are reasoning about cost, trust the current page.
Apple Pay and Google Pay were supported. Some restrictions applied: rental-car agencies and automated fuel dispensers, and use in certain countries. Whether gambling was blocked is not stated in the official pages, though third-party sources describe betting, casinos and lotteries as a blocked category excluded from cashback.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are also the reason a lot of people will feel the shutdown more sharply than the plastic ever did. Once the card stops authorising, the token in your phone wallet goes with it, and a recurring payment set up on that token fails rather than migrates.
A general point about closures, because you may be reading this trying to work out how much of this is unusual. Card programmes do close, and the industry has a track record. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The pattern is usually the same: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. What Gnosis Pay is doing follows that pattern closely enough that it is worth recognising as a known shape rather than a surprise.
If you already have the card
This is the part I would read twice if the card is in your wallet right now.
The money is yours, and that is genuinely good news. Gnosis Pay ran on a self-custodial model. Your balance sits in a Safe — a smart-contract account on Gnosis Chain — under your own signer key. Gnosis Pay and Monavate cannot take those assets or block transfers, and you can also reach the Safe through third-party Safe interfaces using the existing signer key. So the shutdown of the card does not, by itself, freeze your funds. That is a materially different situation from a custodial card where the provider holds the keys and an insolvency or a freeze would take everything.
What does end is your convenient access to it through Gnosis Pay’s interface.
- Withdrawals stay open on the web app after 20 December 2026. The official page gives no deadline, and Gnosis Pay recommends withdrawing before that date anyway. Third-party reporting says the web app stays in limited capacity for withdrawals only, with no withdrawal deadline for funds in Safe accounts; the official help page itself only says the app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and that migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”.
- Blockchain network fees may apply to a withdrawal. Card transactions themselves cost no gas; gas only comes into play when you move assets on-chain, for example from your Safe to another wallet.
- The practical route is app.gnosispay.com/withdraw. Before you rely on it, confirm independent access to your Safe. Third-party Safe interfaces with your existing signer key are the fallback if the web app misbehaves, and they are the reason I would not treat the web app as the only door.
Take these four steps now, not in December.
- Export your transaction history from the web app while it is fully working.
- Write down the last four digits and the expiry date of your card, alongside the transaction export. You will want both if you raise a dispute in 2027 or 2028.
- Keep your receipts for anything you might need to claim back.
- Withdraw the balance, or move it to a card you control, before 20 December 2026.
If you move to a partner app, understand what you are agreeing to. It is a new card programme, with a new Safe, new terms and possibly a fresh identity or compliance check. The card’s own material is clear that moving to a partner card may require new identity or compliance checks and a new Safe. That is not a like-for-like transfer of your balance — it is an application to a different product. Treat anything a partner app offers you as a fresh decision, with fresh terms, not as the continuation of the card you already had.
Your legal rights do not expire on 20 December 2026. The card’s published position is that rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions, and card-scheme chargeback rights, are unaffected by the closure. What does have dates attached is the practical support around them:
| What | Until |
|---|---|
| Card authorises payments; web app open | 23:59 UTC, 20 December 2026 |
| General cardholder support | 23:59 UTC, 18 June 2027 |
| Refund, dispute and chargeback support | 23:59 UTC, 12 June 2028 |
Statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that final date, and scheme time limits still apply on top — which is another argument for filing promptly rather than sitting on a problem. Raise disputes via [email protected] or the help centre. Refunds that arrive after deactivation cannot be used on the card. Recurring payments fail after the cutoff and cannot be moved to another card; authorised-but-unsettled transactions still complete. Questions about a partner app go to the partner, not to Gnosis Pay.
Where do you complain? [email protected], which is forwarded to Monavate, or [email protected]. Complaints to Monavate can be made in English or Lithuanian; hours are not stated. If that does not resolve things, escalation goes to the Financial Ombudsman Service in the UK or to the Bank of Lithuania in the EEA. Support generally runs through the help centre at help.gnosispay.com and [email protected].
Two practical consequences of those dates that are easy to miss. First, if you are travelling or have a payment due in the window between now and December, move it. Second, a balance that arrives *after* the cutoff is not spendable on this card, so anything you expect back — a return, a refund, a transfer in — needs somewhere else to land.
What can go wrong
The closure itself is the largest risk, and it is already happening. But there are four more things worth weighing.
Support going quiet before the money is out. The public complaint record is the weakest part of this card, and it deserves to be read carefully. On Trustpilot the score stood at 2.3 out of 5, described as “Poor”, from 38 reviews — 21 of them in the last twelve months — with 58% one-star and 21% five-star. Other regional pages showed 2.5. I read this on 20 October 2026. The three recurring themes in user reports were: support that did not answer, with chat, tickets and emails going unanswered for one to several weeks between March and July 2026; missing or blocked funds, with balances dropping after a failed payment or top-up, withdrawal attempts failing and transactions pending for two weeks or more between May and July 2026; and KYC rejections without reasons, including “country not supported” for countries the card had listed, such as Italy and Mexico, reported across 2025 and into 2026. There were also account deactivation and login problems in June and July 2026.
I want to be careful here about what that record does and does not show. It is user-reported and I did not verify individual cases. But the pattern matters operationally, because the same support channel is the one you need for a withdrawal, a dispute or a stuck refund — and the window for using it is shrinking on a published schedule. That is the single strongest practical argument for not waiting until December.
Lost or stuck money during the move. In the worst version of this, you need support in the same period when support is least reliable. The Safe structure limits the damage, but it does not remove the need to be able to reach your assets. Confirm your independent access before you need it.
A dispute that outlives the support window. Your scheme rights are intact, but scheme time limits still apply, and Monavate will not be running a disputes desk indefinitely. The 12 June 2028 date is the practical end of the road for help with a dispute. After that, you are relying on statutory rights against Monavate in a dispute with a company you may never have dealt with directly. Anyone with an unresolved transaction from before the cutoff should treat it as time-critical.
The partner migration. This is not a risk in the usual sense so much as a change of subject. You are not moving your account; you are applying to something else. New KYC, new Safe, new terms, new limits, and a new issuer relationship. If you are moving because the old card is going away, do not assume the new one is better simply because it is the path of least resistance.
There is one more thing on the record that I can only report as unverified. News coverage in 2026 (The Block, and LCX/Cointelegraph) described an exploit against the Gnosis Pay delay module in June 2026, with co-founder Koppelmann saying Gnosis would cover user losses; early withdrawal advice was reported as conflicting at the time, and I did not check the status of any compensation. I am telling you it exists because if your balance does not match your expectations, it is worth checking whether there is a published resolution — not because I can tell you what happened.
Two protections you have that are easy to overlook. Your Safe is self-custodial: assets stay with you. And your dispute rights are unaffected by the closure. What is not stated in the public pages: whether the card offered insurance of funds, how freezing and unfreezing worked, or what the 2FA and spending-control arrangement was. I am not going to guess.
Where the card could and could not be used. Apple Pay and Google Pay were ready. Rental-car agencies and automated fuel dispensers were restricted, and use was prohibited in certain countries. Unofficial sources put Russia on both lists — card use prohibited, and not an eligible application country — as of August 2026, per cryptocardhub. That is a third-party source, not something the card’s own pages confirm, and I would not build any plan on it.
ATM and limits, for completeness. Cash withdrawals were free up to five times a month or 200 in EURe/GBPe/USDCe, then 2% with a minimum of 1 EUR/GBP; the per-transaction cap was EUR 250 and EUR 500 per day. Regular transactions were capped at EUR 5,000, up to EUR 8,000 per day. Those are the numbers a holder would have been living with, and they are only relevant now in the sense that a rush to the ATM before December will hit the same caps as ever.
What to take instead
I am going to walk you through the three live alternatives the way I would if a friend asked me, because the right choice depends entirely on why you were looking at Gnosis Pay in the first place. If it was because a bank card was hard to get, that is a KYC-and-coverage question. If it was because you wanted to spend self-held crypto without giving up control, that is a custody question. If it was cashback, that is a rewards question. The answers do not point at the same card.
The one thing all three share is what I would call the closing lesson: check the exit terms before you enter. Gnosis Pay was a reasonable card on price and usability that ended anyway. Any replacement deserves the same scrutiny on how you get your money out.
| Option | Card and issuer | Cost and fees | Funding and rewards | Who it fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TokenPocket | Visa debit for a list of European countries and territories (Germany, France, Spain, Switzerland and others); Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, UK and others; runs on Arbitrum | NFT creation fee partly covered by TokenPocket, user pays “a small portion”, amount not stated; no other TP Card fees; 1% fee on crypto deposits, refunded later via rewards or reduced transaction fees; extra fees possible from inter-institution settlement | Crypto deposits from the TokenPocket wallet, coins and networks not listed in the FAQ; balances in EUR24 and USD24; Fiat24 cards are virtual, no physical card mentioned; no cashback stated | Someone who already lives in a TokenPocket wallet and wants a simple Visa or Mastercard spend |
| MetaMask | Mastercard; issuer Monavate, card provider Crypto Life; virtual card issued instantly, Metal pre-orderable after approval; one card per user | Virtual card free, no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year; “minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated on the pages read; no MetaMask fees, no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate used | Spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana; named tokens include mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT; cashback in mUSD — Virtual 1%, Metal headline 3% but footnote-limited to the first $10,000 spent then 1%; $FLY bonus 5X/7X via the Blackbird dining app | Someone already deep in the MetaMask ecosystem who wants self-custody spending and the strongest rewards of the three |
| KAST | Visa: Platinum (Standard), Infinite metal (Premium), Infinite gold plated (Private), plus Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin designs; up to 10 cards; balance in USD | Standard 0 USD; Premium 1,000 USD/year; Private 10,000 USD/year, billed annually upfront; extra virtual card 2 USD; Standard physical card 0 USD fee plus 40 USD delivery; inactivity fee 1 USD/month after 12 months; stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, Apple/Google Pay 0%; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75% by residence and transaction country; non-USD transactions under 25 USD cost 0.10 USD; declined transaction 0.50 USD | Stablecoins USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and TRON; no bank account needed; cashback in USD when a transaction is authorised — Standard 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD/month, Premium 2% on first 10,000 USD/month, Private 3% on first 40,000 USD/month; KAST Points add +1% (Premium) or +2% (Private) of eligible spend | Someone who wants a tiered card with real cashback, can afford the membership, and reads the fine print |
A few things fall out of that table that are worth saying plainly.
TokenPocket’s 1% deposit fee is a real cost with a real promise attached. The card says it “will later be refunded to users through rewards, reduced transaction fees, etc.” I would not book that as income until I saw it. The card is virtual only, on Arbitrum, and the FAQ does not tell you which coins or networks you can deposit — which, for a crypto card, is a strange thing to leave unsaid.
MetaMask has the most attractive structure and the most attractive caveat. It spends straight from your own wallet, needs no bank account, has no FX fee, and the free virtual card carries 1% cashback in mUSD. The Metal card’s “3%” is a headline: the footnote caps it at 3% on the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that. Its own caveat is also worth quoting: “Ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending” — you can hold a card and use it, but if your country is not on the list you cannot sign up, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ. Proof of residency is required. The citizenship rule is not stated. One specific limitation: Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit.
KAST is the only one of the three with a genuinely tiered rewards structure, and also the only one whose headline numbers are wrapped in conditions. Read the cashback caps — 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD/month at Standard, 2% on the first 10,000 at Premium, 3% on the first 40,000 at Private. Read the FX band too: 0.5% to 1.75% depending on where you live and where you are spending, and the small-print charges for sub-25 USD non-USD transactions and for declined payments. On eligibility, KAST is unusually explicit and unusually strict: the country list is not published, only a Restricted Locations list is referenced, and holding an ID from a restricted region can make you ineligible even if you live in a supported country. Dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass. Only your own ID is accepted and a VPN does not bypass it. You can create an account in an unsupported country, but KYC stays locked.
On the eligibility question that brings people to cards like this in the first place. Residence is the rule that decides more than citizenship usually does, and it is worth knowing why. Merchants can look up a card’s issuer identification number — the 6- or 8-digit BIN at the start of a card number — to see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny when that issuer country differs from the billing address on file. This is exactly why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for the same reason. It is also why address verification is uneven: AVS compares the numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at checkout for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance.
And a word on the KYC itself, since it decides so much. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end an existing relationship — which is the honest explanation for the accounts that close without a reason being given. If a card refuses you and tells you only “country not supported”, that is a category of answer, not an answer.
Who I would recommend it to
Nobody, for a new application. That is the short version and I do not think it needs softening. The card is closed to new issuance, the consumer product is being replaced by partner cards, and there is no version of “sign up for Gnosis Pay” left in 2026.
I would recommend it in exactly two situations, and both are about exiting rather than entering.
If you already hold the card: withdraw or move the balance before 20 December 2026, export your transaction history, record the last four digits and expiry, keep your receipts, and confirm you can reach your Safe independently of the web app. If a transaction is wrong or missing, raise it now rather than in 2027 — the support window closes first, and the complaints record suggests waiting for a reply already costs you weeks.
If you were considering it because your country is difficult: do not treat any of the three alternatives as a foregone conclusion either. Take TokenPocket if you are already in that wallet and want simplicity on a Visa or Mastercard. Take MetaMask if self-custody spending and a free virtual card with 1% cashback matter most to you, and read the Metal card’s footnote. Take KAST if you want real, tiered cashback and can fund a membership, and read the caps and the FX band before you do. Whatever you pick, the question Gnosis Pay failed to ask you in advance is the one to ask now: what happens on the day this programme ends, and how do I get my money out that day?
Frequently asked questions
What is Gnosis Pay card?
Gnosis Pay was a Visa payment card that let you spend a self-custody crypto wallet as if it were everyday money. You loaded EURe, GBPe or USDCe into a Safe account and the card spent that balance one-to-one. The card was issued by Monavate, not by Gnosis Pay itself. It is now closing: the card and web app stop working on 20 December 2026.
Is Gnosis Pay a bank?
No. Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company, and its role was technical services provider and programme manager. The card was issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence — Monavate Ltd for UK and non-EEA holders, UAB Monavate for EEA holders. Monavate is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution, which may hold funds but does not lend.
Who owns Gnosis Pay?
Gnosis Pay is a UK company registered as Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, No. 14919639, and sits within the Gnosis ecosystem, whose co-founder Stefan Koppelmann commented publicly on a June 2026 incident. The card programme itself sat with the issuer, Monavate, which is why after closure your complaints route to Monavate rather than to the Gnosis brand.
How does Gnosis Pay card work?
You hold assets in a Safe smart-contract account on Gnosis Chain under your own signer key, and the card spends that balance at one-to-one. Fiat and stablecoin convert at 1:1 with no Gnosis Pay transaction fee and no FX mark-up; Visa’s rate applies. Card transactions cost no gas. On-chain transfers, such as moving funds to another wallet, do cost gas. After 20 December 2026 the card stops, but withdrawals stay open.
When does the Gnosis Pay card stop working?
The card stops authorising payments and the web app closes at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026, with withdrawals still available afterwards. General cardholder support ends 23:59 UTC on 18 June 2027, and support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends 23:59 UTC on 12 June 2028. Recurring payments will fail after the cutoff and cannot be moved to another card, so move them yourself beforehand.
How do I withdraw money from Gnosis Pay?
Use the web app at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw, which stays open after 20 December 2026 with no deadline stated, though Gnosis Pay recommends withdrawing before that date. Blockchain network fees may apply. Because your assets sit in a self-custodial Safe under your own signer key, you can also reach them through third-party Safe interfaces — worth confirming that access works before you need it.
Is Gnosis Pay card safe to use?
The custody design was the strongest part of it: funds sit in a self-custodial Safe, so Gnosis Pay and Monavate cannot take them or block transfers. The weak part was support and reliability — Trustpilot showed 2.3 out of 5 from 38 reviews, with recurring reports of unanswered tickets, blocked or missing balances, and unexplained KYC rejections. For authorised or wrongly executed transactions, scheme rights are unaffected by the closure.
Was the Gnosis Pay card free?
The current help centre says yes: the card order and physical-card shipping are free, and there are no Gnosis Pay transaction fees or FX mark-ups. You may see an older page listing a EUR 30.23 card purchase fee; the card marks that page as possibly outdated. Losing or stealing your card costs 4.99 in EURe, GBPe or USDCe including replacement shipping.
Can I still use Gnosis Pay in my country?
Not after 20 December 2026 — the card stops authorising payments everywhere. Before closure, eligibility was based on being a legal resident of selected European and Latin American countries including Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia and Cyprus, plus more EEA members, with a waitlist for others. Use was prohibited in certain countries, and unofficial third-party sources listed Russia as both restricted and ineligible.
What should I do instead of Gnosis Pay?
Look at the live options. TokenPocket offers Visa in Europe and Mastercard in several Asia-Pacific markets, on Arbitrum, with a 1% crypto deposit fee. MetaMask offers a free Mastercard virtual card spending from your own wallet with 1% cashback in mUSD. KAST offers Visa tiers from free Standard up to a 10,000 USD/year Private tier with cashback from 1.5% to 3%. Check the exit terms before you commit to any of them.
Wallet cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
