A virtual crypto card aimed at Nigeria, with most of the numbers missing
HostFi is a crypto card you spend from a balance loaded in an app, offered as a virtual Visa or Mastercard. It is built around a Nigerian market: the App Store listing I read is the Nigeria storefront, the release notes talk about Naira virtual cards, and the terms are governed by Nigerian law. That is the clearest thing about the product. Almost everything else you would want to weigh — the issuance fee, the conversion markup, the spending limits, the coins, the networks, the bank that issues the card — is not on the pages the company publishes, as far as I could find. The rewards block on the site is still marked “Coming soon”. The card is therefore easier to describe than to cost out, and I have tried below to keep those two things apart.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.3 out of 10
I scored HostFi 4.3 / 10. The card is aimed at users in Nigeria who want to top up a virtual card from the app with naira or with digital assets, and for that narrow job the shape of the product is fine: virtual cards, a choice of Visa or Mastercard, a currency you pick yourself, and a points-and-referrals programme in the app. My hesitation is not that anything looks wrong. It is that the published pages leave out almost every number a reader needs before committing money, and that the cards themselves are still labelled “Coming soon” on the site. On trust, HostFi is a small name with a Delaware address, Nigerian terms, no stated licence, no named issuing bank, and no complaints I could find — which is neutral, not reassuring.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | The site says only that some products are available in selected countries; the App Store listing is Nigeria and the terms are Nigerian |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance and transaction fees are not disclosed on the official pages |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The app store says cards are funded with fiat or digital assets; no coins or networks are named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | HostFi Services Ltd, no stated licence or issuing bank, no complaints found; Nigeria App Store 4.3/5 from 89 ratings |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual only, Visa or Mastercard to choose; wallets and ATM not disclosed; rewards block marked “Coming soon” |
| Total | 4.3 / 10 | A workable idea for a specific audience, wrapped in too little published detail |
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: I cannot tell you from the public pages, and that is itself the answer. The company’s site carries a single sentence — “Some products are available only in selected countries” — and gives no country list. Its terms are governed by Nigerian law, and the App Store storefront I found is Nigeria’s, whose release notes mention Naira virtual cards. That is consistent with a Nigeria-first product, but it is not the same as a published eligibility rule. The identity of the contracting party, HostFi Services Ltd, trading as Host Finance, sits at an address in Wilmington, Delaware, which is a normal place for a company to be incorporated and tells you nothing about who you would be dealing with in practice.
The identity checks themselves are not stated. The pages do not tell you which documents are required, whether proof of address is collected, what the minimum age is, or whether there are different verification tiers. So if your question is “can I open one from where I am sitting, with the documents I have”, the honest answer is that you will have to find out inside the app. I would not bank on being told in advance.
The one positive reading: nothing I saw suggests a nationality ban or a restricted-cohort policy beyond the “selected countries” line. It is a thin page, not a closed door.
How to get it
The path is short, because there is almost nothing to it. You install the app on iOS or Android, create an account, and the app store listing says you can fund cards with fiat or digital assets and create several cards. The card is virtual only — you choose Visa or Mastercard, and you are invited to “Choose your preferred currency”, though the currencies are not listed. There is no physical card and no delivery step, because there is nothing to deliver.
What you should know before you start:
- The card is virtual. If you were expecting a piece of plastic for a wallet or a till, this is not that product.
- You choose the network brand (Visa or Mastercard) and the currency; the site does not say which currencies are actually available.
- Identity verification, documents, and age limits are not described on the public pages.
- Several cards can be created from one account, which is either a feature or a footgun depending on how you use it.
So “how do I apply” reduces to “install the app”. The friction is not in the paperwork, it is in the fact that nobody has told you what the paperwork is.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is my real difficulty with this card. Not one fee is published. Issuance cost: not stated. Monthly fee: not stated. Conversion: not stated. Foreign exchange: not stated. ATM withdrawal: not stated — and there may be no ATM function at all, since only virtual cards are described. Daily limit: not stated. Monthly limit: not stated. Tiers or subscription levels: not stated. When a company does not publish its prices, the only honest way to review it is to tell you that, not to invent a likely range and present it as fact. If you want to compare this to a card that publishes its schedule, the difference is more meaningful than any single number I could have written here.

| Item | What HostFi publishes |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion cost | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Daily spending limit | Not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated |
| Tiers or plans | Not stated |
Now, three everyday payments, and which fees would apply if they exist. I am working from the structure of how these cards work in general, because HostFi’s own pages do not say — so treat this as “what to ask about”, not “what HostFi charges”.
- A cup of coffee, about 3 dollars. If the card spends a fiat balance you have already loaded, the only possible charge is whatever conversion happened when your crypto became that balance. If the balance is loaded straight from a crypto account, the conversion cost is folded into this purchase. There is no fee to name, because none is published.
- An online subscription, say 12 dollars. Add 3-D Secure in the mix: online payments often come with an identity step, and HostFi’s own pages say nothing about whether it is supported or how it behaves. A virtual foreign-issued card is also more likely to be declined at unfamiliar merchants; a declined authorisation can leave a hold on the balance for days. Worth trying a small payment before trusting it with a recurring charge.
- Money out to your bank account. The App Store describes naira withdrawals to a bank account within the app as a feature of the crypto banking side. It does not say what a withdrawal costs, nor what happens to leftover balance on the card. One network fee you will not avoid is on-chain cost when you move crypto to top up — the blockchain charges that, not HostFi.
The pattern to hold on to: nearly every fee a crypto card can charge is either a conversion spread or a network fee, and the spread is exactly the number that decides whether the card is cheap or expensive. HostFi does not publish it. That is the single most useful thing to ask for before you load money.
How to top it up
Top-up is where the public description thinnest out most. The App Store listing says you can “fund cards with fiat or digital assets”. That is one sentence, and it does not name a single coin or a single network. For a card whose whole appeal is spending crypto, that is the sentence you most need detail behind. Which chains? Is USDT on Tron the same as USDT on Ethereum here? The pages do not say, and those are not interchangeable — sending the wrong asset, or the right asset on an unsupported network, is a well-known way to lose a deposit with no built-in reversal.
What is also not stated: minimum top-up, any top-up fee, how long a top-up takes to clear, whether there are per-card or daily caps. Separately, the app store mentions naira withdrawals to bank accounts — so the app is broader than the card, and the card is one feature inside a crypto banking app rather than a standalone product.
My advice, for what it is worth, is procedural rather than clever: on your first, small top-up, confirm in the app which network it expects, make sure you hold enough of that network’s own token to pay the on-chain fee, and keep the receipt. If a deposit does not appear, this is the moment to find out how responsive the help centre is — the fact that HostFi runs one is stated, but its hours and languages are not.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, HostFi is a virtual Visa or Mastercard that spends a balance you have loaded, and that is the whole of the everyday description the public pages support. What is not stated, and what you will feel the absence of:
- Wallets. Whether the card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay is not said. This matters more than it sounds, because phone wallets are how most people pay now, and the reason a virtual card exists at all is often to be pushed into one.
- ATM access. Not mentioned, and with virtual-only cards I would not assume it exists.
- Cashback. None is stated. There is, however, a points-based rewards programme in the app and a referral programme — “Invite friends to HostFi and earn rewards”. Worth knowing that the rewards block on the website is still marked “Coming soon”, so what the app shows may be ahead of what the site describes.
- Disputes and chargebacks. What happens when a merchant takes the money and does not deliver is not addressed on the pages. For prepaid-style cards, the protections people assume from ordinary bank cards do not automatically apply, and they should not be assumed here.
- App quality. iOS and Android both exist. The Nigeria App Store listing shows 4.3 out of 5 from 89 ratings, which I read on 2026-10-21. I did not have a comparable Google Play figure. A 4.3 from 89 ratings is decent, not exceptional, and it is one storefront in one country.
My overall sense of daily use: this is a card for online payments, not a card for a wet market or a bar. Virtual cards are declined more often than physical ones, especially at unfamiliar merchants, because the card type and issuing country are visible in the card number. Set expectations accordingly.
What can go wrong
I looked for trouble and found none, which I want to be precise about: on 2026-10-21 I searched for HostFi reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit and found nothing about HostFi, and I found no official incident reports. I found no Trustpilot page for the company at all. For a young financial product that cuts both ways — it can mean a clean record, and it can mean nobody has written about it yet, because it is small.
The more concrete risks are structural:
- You are trusting a provider with your money, or your keys. The site promises cold storage, multi-factor authentication and encryption, but says nothing about whether the model is custodial. If it is custodial, the provider holds the ability to move the funds and you have no private key; if it is self-custodial, a lost seed phrase is gone. The pages do not say which, and that single fact drives everything else.
- Nobody is named as the issuer. Visa and Mastercard do not hand cards directly to crypto brands; they license a bank or e-money institution, and that issuer holds the programme and can be suspended. HostFi does not name its issuing bank. In 2022 Visa terminated its agreements with FTX and that card was wound down; in 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing its card programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. That has happened to crypto card users before and it is the failure mode to hold in mind.
- Stablecoins can move. The tokens these balances ride on are meant to hold steady but do not always: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. The dollar-pegged ones, USDT and USDC, make up most of the market, but “stable” is a description, not a guarantee.
- Transfers are one-way. Blockchain payments do not reverse. A deposit on the wrong network is often simply lost, or needs manual recovery with no guarantee attached.
- No published complaint or dispute route. The site has a help centre and a contact email. That is a start. It is not a published chargeback or complaints procedure, and I would want to see one before trusting the card with anything you cannot afford to lose.
What to take instead
I compared HostFi with three cards whose public pages say noticeably more, mostly because they at least name their networks and their card types. None of these is a recommendation — they are simply better documented.
| HostFi | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 4.3 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Card type | Virtual Visa or Mastercard, currency of your choice | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid card, balance in USD or EUR |
| Cost | Not stated | Not stated | Virtual card free; monthly fee not stated | Not stated |
| Top-up | Fiat or digital assets; coins and networks not named | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH; converted to USD or EUR |
| Eligibility | “Selected countries”; Nigerian terms | “200+ countries”; Nigeria-focused app listing | Aimed at Nigeria and global users | Works in “176+ countries” for acceptance; no eligibility list |
Where the alternatives are clearer:
- Cardex states conversion happens in real time at the moment of payment, with a claimed best-rate conversion, and names the networks it rides on (VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay). That transparency about mechanism is worth something even when the fee percentage is still not published.
- CardFlow publishes the one price most people ask about — creating a virtual card is free — and its top-up options (Bitcoin, USDT, ETH, or a naira bank transfer) are listed outright.
- HyperCard at least names its top-up assets and the currencies the balance sits in, even though it does not name the card network.
I would not switch you from one to another on that basis alone. But if you are choosing a virtual card to start with, a provider that names its networks, its currency and its card type is starting from a more solid floor than one that names none of the three.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend HostFi to someone in Nigeria who already uses the app for its crypto banking side, wants a virtual card to spend from, and is comfortable treating the card balance as money they can afford to see go up or down. For that person the fit is reasonable: virtual, app-funded, naira-friendly, and the app’s own rating in its home storefront is decent.
I would not recommend it — yet — to anyone making a financial decision that depends on knowing the price. If the conversion rate, the issuance fee or the limits matter to you, they are not published, and I am not going to guess them for you. Nor would I recommend it as a first crypto card for someone who has never held one, or to anyone who needs a physical card, a wallet for their phone, or ATM cash.
The thing that would move my score is not a feature, it is disclosure: a published fee schedule, a named issuing bank, a stated licence, a clear answer on custodial or self-custody, and cards that are no longer labelled “Coming soon”. When those exist, this is a reviewable product. Right now it is a promising outline.
Frequently asked questions
What is the HostFi card?
HostFi is a crypto card you spend from a balance loaded in its mobile app. You choose between a virtual Visa and a virtual Mastercard, and pick your own card currency. There is no physical version described. The product is built around the Nigerian market, with naira card support in the app and terms governed by Nigerian law.
How does the HostFi card work?
It behaves like a prepaid card. You load the balance — the app says with fiat or digital assets — and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Under the hood, a card network routes the payment and an issuing bank holds the programme, while HostFi markets and manages it in front. HostFi’s own pages do not name the issuing bank.
Is HostFi a bank?
I could not confirm that it is one, and it does not claim to be. The contracting company is HostFi Services Ltd, trading as Host Finance, registered at an address in Wilmington, Delaware. No banking licence is stated on the public pages, and the bank actually issuing the cards is not named either.
Who owns HostFi?
The operator behind the app and site is HostFi Services Ltd, also shown as HostFi Services Limited as the App Store developer, trading as Host Finance. Ownership beyond that corporate entity — investors, parent groups, beneficial owners — is not stated anywhere I could find on the official pages.
Which countries can get a HostFi card?
The site says only that some products are available in selected countries and does not publish a list. The App Store listing I found is Nigeria’s, and the terms are governed by Nigerian law, which points to a Nigeria-first product. Your own eligibility would have to be confirmed inside the app.
Does HostFi require KYC?
Not stated on the public pages. The app does not describe which identity documents are collected, whether proof of address is needed, or the minimum age. As a regulated service it would normally need to verify customers, but what HostFi specifically requires is not something the published pages tell you.
What does it cost to use a HostFi card?
Nobody knows from the official pages. The issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion cost, foreign exchange fee, ATM fee, daily limit and monthly limit are all unstated. If the cost matters to your decision, this is the single biggest reason to hesitate, and the first thing to ask before loading money.
How do I top up the HostFi card?
The App Store says you can fund cards with fiat or digital assets. The coins and networks are not named on that page, which matters because sending an asset on an unsupported network is a well-known way to lose a deposit. There are separate mentions of naira withdrawals to a bank account in the app.
Is the HostFi card safe to use?
There is nothing alarming that I found — no incidents, and no complaints surfaced in my search — but that is thin reassurance for a small product. The site promises cold storage, multi-factor authentication and encryption, but does not say whether funds are custodial, does not name the issuing bank, and does not publish a dispute or chargeback route. I would load small first.
Can I add HostFi to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
The public pages do not say. Whether the virtual card can be pushed into a phone wallet is unstated, which is a real gap given that phone wallets are how most people pay day to day. The safest way to find out is to create a card and look in the app, rather than assuming it works.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
