The card that promises to turn crypto into everyday spending — and the price nobody publishes
The UPay card is a crypto payment card: you load it from a crypto wallet, and it behaves like an ordinary card at the shop, online and in a mobile wallet. On paper that is exactly what people who cannot get a normal bank card have been looking for. In practice I found a product with a good everyday-use surface — virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, ATM access — sitting on top of a fee and eligibility picture the public pages simply do not disclose. My score is 6.1 out of 10.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
If you want the short version before the detail: the card suits someone who already holds crypto, is comfortable topping up a wallet, and wants to spend it without going through an exchange every time. It does not suit anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a purchase before they make it, who wants published limits, or who has had a bank account frozen before and cannot risk another freeze on money they just sent.
Verdict: 6.1 out of 10
The card’s strongest feature is the one it advertises most: it converts crypto into ordinary spending. Virtual and physical options, personal and business, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, and ATMs are all named on the pages I read. For a wallet user already holding BTC, ETH or USDT who wants to pay for things without converting through a separate exchange, that is a genuine convenience.

What holds it back is disclosure, not ambition. The official card page and home page do not state the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the conversion spread, the ATM fee, the daily limit or the monthly limit. Help pages that would normally hold those numbers were stubs when I read them. In their place sit figures from third-party sites that disagree with each other — a virtual card quoted at $10 issuance in one place and $50 in another, a recharge fee quoted at both 2% and 3%, an ATM allowance quoted both as available and as unsupported. Reviews I read describe accounts frozen mid-transaction and identity checks that flagged users wrongly with no clear way to appeal. None of that means the card is a fraud. It means you are being asked to trust a product whose price list you cannot see.
I score it the way I score any card in this category: heavily on whether the numbers are published, lightly on how good the app is, because a card you cannot price is a card you cannot budget.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Claims support in 180+ countries, but some residents are not served and the excluded list is never published; unofficial sources say “over 150 countries” |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Nothing official is disclosed; unofficial figures conflict (virtual $10 or $50, physical $100, top-up 2%, Stellar top-up 3% and FX 1%) |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Wallet top-up with BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed among supported coins, but the networks are never named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD (Denver), MSB, MSO and VASP In-Principle Approval licences, issuer unnamed; Trustpilot 3.3 from one review, with reports of freezes and false PEP flags |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, ATMs mentioned but the ATM fee not disclosed |
| Total | 6.1 / 10 | Strong spending surface, weak published detail |
Who it suits: a wallet user, comfortable holding BTC, ETH or USDT, who wants to load and spend, and who treats a card as a convenience rather than as something they need an itemised statement from.
Who it does not suit: someone who needs a fixed monthly fee they can budget against, someone who needs published daily or monthly limits to prove they can pay a large bill, or someone whose identity documents come from a country their KYC partner will not accept.
Will they give you the card?
UPay says it supports more than 180 countries. It also says it does not serve residents of certain countries, and that the list can change with regulatory or issuer policies. That is the honest position: broad, but with a withheld list. I could not find a published list of restricted countries on any page I read. If your country is one of the excluded ones, no page will tell you before you try.
There is one firm eligibility rule, and it catches people out: the KYC partner accepts only identity documents issued by the same country as the user. So a UK resident holding a passport from another country, or someone using a digital residency document, is likely to fail. Unofficial reports mention a KYC failure on a Palau digital-residency ID. If your paperwork is not a physical document from your country of residence, find that out before you send anything.
Third-party sites disagree on the size of the map. One says “over 150 countries”, listing the US, Germany, France, Argentina and Canada as examples, with availability depending on your location, eligibility and the specific product. Another says “at least 168 countries”. Neither figure comes from UPay, and neither has a restricted-country list attached. Treat the country count as marketing, not as a guarantee.
How to get it
The path is short and standard: create an account and verify your identity, choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet, then spend. The verification itself runs through Sumsub and takes 5–10 minutes. Only one KYC level is described — that single Sumsub check. Whether proof of address is required is not stated, and neither is what happens if you are rejected, or how many documents you may try.
The card itself comes in virtual and physical forms, for personal and business use. The card network is not named on the official pages, and third-party sources disagree: one says Visa, another says Mastercard “wherever Mastercard is accepted”, another says both Visa and Mastercard, and one describes a Visa virtual card on Stellar. If the network matters to you — for acceptance, for online payments, for anything that keys off it — ask UPay directly, because I could not confirm it.
Delivery of a physical card is not stated: countries, time and cost are all absent from the pages I read. Physical cards from unofficial sources come with a $100 activation fee, but that is not confirmed.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card is hardest to judge, and it is the section you should read twice. The official pages do not state the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the conversion fee or the ATM fee. The card page says conversion may occur during payment depending on the network and settlement. The marketing says payments happen “without the need for currency conversion”, while the disclaimer says conversion between digital assets and fiat may occur during payment. Those two statements sit on the same product.

Unofficial figures exist, and they contradict each other. That contradiction is the finding, not a detail to smooth over:
| Fee or limit | What the official pages say | What unofficial sources say |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance — virtual | not stated | $10 (Finbold, Jul 2026); $50 for the Stellar virtual card, no monthly fee (cryptocards.so, undated) |
| Issuance — physical | not stated | $100 activation fee for Premier/Platinum/Precious, no annual fees (Finbold) |
| Monthly fee | not stated | “no monthly fee” named for the Stellar virtual card only |
| Top-up / recharge | not stated | 2% recharge on virtual cards; 1% on Precious; Stellar top-up 3% |
| Payment / conversion | conversion “may occur”; spread not stated | flat 1% transaction fee on Premier virtual with “no deposit or cross-border fees”; 1.5% transaction fee on UPay Wallet; “no FX fees” advertised; Stellar FX 1% |
| ATM | ATMs mentioned, fee and allowance not stated | usable for ATM withdrawals with no fee amount; not supported on the Stellar virtual card |
| Daily limit | not stated | $20,000 daily, monthly unlimited (Stellar virtual card); Finbold says no limits |
| Monthly limit | not stated | not stated |
Two or three everyday payments, to make the shape of it concrete:
- A $30 subscription in your local currency. Your payment converts to USD, EUR, AED or another currency. Whether you pay a percentage or a flat fee is not published. On a recurring charge that repeats monthly, an undisclosed percentage is an undisclosed monthly cost.
- A $200 purchase paid from a USDT balance. A top-up fee of 2% or 3%, if either unofficial figure is right, applies on the way in. Then a possible 1% transaction fee on the way out. Those are two separate percentages on two separate legs, and neither is confirmed.
- A $50 ATM withdrawal. The card works at ATMs, but no fee, no per-withdrawal cap and no monthly allowance is stated. On some unofficial accounts the Stellar virtual card does not support ATM withdrawals at all.
My advice: before you rely on this card for anything recurring, get the fee schedule in writing from UPay support. Not the marketing page — support. If the answer is that the fees are “competitive” or that there are “no hidden fees”, that is not a schedule.
How to top it up
Top-up runs through the wallet. You can add BTC, ETH or USDT, and USDC also appears in the list of supported coins. That is the official position and it is genuinely simple if you already hold those assets.
The gap is networks. UPay does not name which blockchains are supported for the deposit. This matters more than it sounds. A stablecoin transfer has to go over a network the provider actually accepts; send it over the wrong one and the funds are not merely delayed, they are gone, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC” as a coin name does not tell you which chain is live. Tether’s USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — many chains, only some of which a card will take.
Unofficial sources add DOGE to the Stellar card’s coin list and say wallet top-ups can also come from a bank account or an eligible Visa or Mastercard card. Networks are still not found.
Nothing is stated about the top-up fee, the minimum top-up, or whether you can top up with fiat directly. No page on withdrawing the balance or closing the account was found either. So the direction of money in is documented; the direction out is not.
The safe order of operations: send a small test amount first, on a network the provider has confirmed in writing, and only then send the rest. Keep what you send small until you have seen one deposit land.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is the card’s best argument. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are all listed on the home page, so you can put the card in your phone wallet and pay by face or fingerprint instead of handing over plastic. The card is available virtual and physical, personal and business. ATMs are supported. That covers the routine of a card that most people actually use.
The apps are linked from upay.com — App Store, Google Play and an APK download. The rating and the number of ratings were not found on those pages. One unofficial aggregator reports app crashes after an update and a support bot with no escalation route, which I mention because it bears on how you get an answer if a payment fails.
Two everyday frictions to expect. Apple Pay availability is reported by some users as missing on certain cards or in certain regions, so do not assume the mobile wallet is there on day one. And the card may not work everywhere a normal Visa or Mastercard would, for a structural reason: merchants look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards on that basis. Address verification, which compares the street number and postcode you type at checkout against the issuer’s records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is often unavailable for foreign-issued cards — another common cause of a decline at checkout.
The merchant-category problem is worth knowing too. Gambling transactions (category 7995) are blocked on many cards by issuer policy rather than by law, and the blocked list differs by issuer. UPay does not publish a list of blocked merchants. If gambling or similar high-risk categories matter to you, ask before you assume.
If a payment is declined, a hold can stay on the funds for several days. There is no published dispute or chargeback process on the pages I read, and the help centre was a stub, so I cannot tell you how a disputed payment gets resolved.
What can go wrong
Start with the reviews, because they are the sharpest signal here. On Trustpilot, upay.com shows 3.3 out of 5 from a single review — a two-star review about a KYC failure using a Palau digital-residency ID. One review is not a rating. Other pages carry different numbers: a Trustpilot page for a different domain, upay.best, shows 2.5 from 19 reviews, and a June 2026 article cites 2.6 from 19 for Upay Technology Limited. Different domains may be different entities — treat them as separate signals, not as one number to average.
The user-reported themes within 2026 are more useful than the star counts: false PEP flags in KYC, unsupported ID types, temporary account restrictions after deposits, Apple Pay not available on some cards or regions, declined transactions, delayed refunds and unclear fees. The pattern to notice is that most of these happen after money has moved — a deposit lands, then the account is frozen, then documents are requested.
A PEP flag deserves a word, because it is a category and not a verdict. Politically exposed person status is a screening label under anti-money-laundering rules, applied to people who hold or held a prominent public role. Being flagged is not an accusation of wrongdoing. But if you are flagged wrongly, you need a route to resolve it, and the reviews describe users who could not find one. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to withhold the transaction or end the relationship — which is why accounts close or freeze pending documents.
On the company side: UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., Denver, Colorado, USA. The address on the site is garbled. Licences named are MSO (Hong Kong), VASP Lithuania “In-Principle Approval”, MSB United States and MSB Canada. A June 2026 report notes the card expanding crypto spending options and repeats the MSB and VASP licence claims, while itself marking them unverified. The issuer bank and card network are not stated. A licence is not the same as a bank, and a programme manager is not the same as the institution that stands behind your balance.
What is not published on any page I read: whether your balance is custodial or in your own wallet, whether two-factor authentication is on by default, whether you can freeze the card instantly, and how funds are safeguarded. Under EU rules, electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Whether that applies to your balance here depends on who the issuer is, which is exactly the piece not disclosed.
One structural warning: there are unrelated entities with the UPay name. The company behind this card warns about name collisions itself. Before you send anything, confirm you are on upay.com and not a similarly named service.
Finally, closure. A card programme can end — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest’s Visa programmes were closed in Europe in 2018. A closure normally means loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. What that looks like for UPay is not stated, because no withdrawal page was found.
What to take instead
None of the three alternatives below is dramatically better on paper — their scores are lower — but each is clearer about something UPay is not, and that clarity may matter more than a feature list.
| UPay | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.1 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who it serves | Claims 180+ countries, some excluded, list withheld | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, no exclusions listed; app listing is Naira-focused | Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigerians and global users”) | App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) |
| Card | Virtual and physical, personal and business; network not named | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; Naira per listing | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid; network not stated; balance in USD or EUR |
| Cost | not stated | not stated | Virtual card “completely free” per site FAQ | not stated; app page lists no fees |
| Fees | not stated; unofficial figures conflict | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment, “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”, no percentage stated | not stated | not stated |
| Top-up | BTC, ETH, USDT; USDC listed; networks not stated | USDT, USDC and BTC; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated |
Two honest observations. Cardex at least names its networks on the card — VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay — which is more than UPay’s pages do. CardFlow at least says its virtual card is free to create. HyperCard’s “176 countries” is an acceptance claim, not an eligibility one, which is a distinction worth keeping in your head for every card in this table.
But none of them publishes a full fee schedule either. Crypto cards in this category generally do not, and that is the norm you are buying into.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend UPay to someone in this position specifically: you already hold BTC, ETH or USDT, you are comfortable sending a transfer to a wallet address, you want to spend crypto without routing through an exchange, and you can afford to treat the balance as money you might have trouble getting back for a while. If that is you, the everyday-use score is real — mobile wallets, virtual and physical cards, ATMs — and the convenience is genuine.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs certainty. If you are budgeting, if you are trying to pay a large one-off bill and need to know the limit in advance, if your identity document is not from your country of residence, or if you have been burned before by an account freeze — this card will not give you the information to avoid that.
My three checks before you commit, in order. First, ask support for the fee schedule and the daily and monthly limits, in writing. Second, ask which networks are accepted for top-up, and send a small test deposit before anything large. Third, find out who the issuer bank is and whether your balance is safeguarded, because on the pages I read that answer does not exist.
Treat this as a convenience card for crypto you have decided to spend, funded in small amounts, not as your everyday banking.
Frequently asked questions
What is the UPay card?
UPay is a crypto payment card: you load it from a crypto wallet and spend the balance like an ordinary card. It comes as a virtual or physical card, for personal or business use, and can be added to Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. It is not a bank account, and the crypto you load it with is converted to regular money at the point of spending.
Is UPay a bank, and who owns it?
No, UPay is not a bank. The company behind it is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., registered in Denver, Colorado, USA. It names MSB licences for the United States and Canada, an MSO licence for Hong Kong and a VASP “In-Principle Approval” for Lithuania. The bank that actually issues the card is not stated anywhere on the pages I read.
How does the UPay card work?
You top up a wallet with BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed as supported, and then spend. Most cards like this behave like a prepaid card: the crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card draws down that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Payments convert to USD, EUR, AED and other currencies as needed.
Does the UPay card require KYC, and will I pass?
Yes, identity verification is required, through Sumsub, taking 5–10 minutes. Only one verification level is described. The rule most likely to catch you out: the partner accepts only identity documents issued by the same country as the user. A digital-residency document will not pass.
What does a UPay card cost?
The official pages state nothing. Unofficial sources give conflicting figures: $10 issuance for a virtual card, $50 for a Stellar virtual card with no monthly fee, and a $100 activation fee for physical Premier, Platinum and Precious cards. Top-up is quoted at both 2% and 3%. Get the schedule in writing from support before you rely on it.
How do I top up the UPay card, and which networks work?
Top up through the app by sending BTC, ETH or USDT to the wallet, with USDC also listed. The networks are not named, which is the main risk: send on a chain the provider does not accept and the transfer is irreversible. Ask which chains to use and send a small test amount before sending anything large.
Is UPay card safe for my money?
Nothing is published about custody, two-factor authentication, instant freeze or how funds are safeguarded. What is published is a single KYC check. Reviews describe accounts frozen after deposits and false PEP flags with no clear appeal route. Whether your balance is protected as safeguarded funds rather than a bank deposit is not disclosed.
Can I use the UPay card in my country?
UPay claims support in more than 180 countries but says it does not serve residents of certain countries, without publishing the list. Third-party sites quote “over 150 countries” and “at least 168 countries”, neither from the company. If your country is excluded, no page will tell you before you try.
Why is my UPay payment being declined?
Several ordinary reasons, none specific to this card. A foreign-issued card can fail address verification, which is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards after looking up the issuer. Declined payments can also leave a hold on your funds for several days.
Is the UPay card worth it?
Worth it if you already hold crypto and want a simple way to spend it, and you can afford to load small amounts at a time. Not worth it if you need a published fee schedule, known spending limits, or a stated answer on where your money is held. On those three points, the public pages are silent, which is the whole of my reservation.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
