Bybit Card: solid for daily spending, fragile when your account wobbles

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you are weighing the Bybit card, you are probably doing it for one of two reasons. Either you want to spend crypto you already hold without going through an exchange every time, or you have had trouble getting a normal bank card and this looks like a way round that. Both are legitimate reasons. The first one is exactly what the card is good at. The second one is where you need to read the terms carefully, because the regions where the card is offered are not the regions where most readers live, and the eligibility test is where you actually live, not where you hold a passport.

Bybit works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through Bybit’s own help pages, the card terms, the fee and limit tables and the complaints people have actually posted, and I scored the card 6.0 out of 10. That is a middling score, and I want to be honest about why rather than round it up. The card is genuinely good at the everyday part of its job — spending in shops, at ATMs, tapping with a phone. It is weak on the parts that have nothing to do with spending: how much it charges you when money crosses a border or converts from crypto, and what happens to the card when your exchange account has a bad day.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Who it suits, and who it does not

Bybit scores 6.0 / 10 overall. Here is how that breaks down, criterion by criterion, with the reason I gave each mark.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Card regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific; for EEA customers it is prohibited outright
Cost 5 / 10 Virtual issuance is free; the physical card costs 29,99 USDT (Georgia, Kazakhstan) and 29.99 USD (Australia); crypto conversion 0.9%, FX 2% (Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia), ATM 2% after the first 100 USD a month
Top-up options 7 / 10 The card draws on the Funding Account: BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC, GRAM, and the order can be changed in the app; the deposit networks are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 The issuer by region is not named, the App Store seller is Bybit Fintech Limited, an account restriction stops the card, Trustpilot sits at 2.5 for the whole exchange, and cards were cancelled after a programme change in 2026
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay for Georgia, Kazakhstan and Australia, ATMs available; the physical card comes after the virtual one

The audience this card is really built for is exchange users in Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Latin America. If that is you, the card does what you want and the fees, while not zero, are predictable. If you are reading this from the European Economic Area, stop here: the card is not for you, and the card page is blunt about it, saying all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited.

For everyone else — readers in the UK, the EU outside the EEA’s exceptions, Canada, most of Africa, the Gulf, South and Southeast Asia outside the listed Asia Pacific scope — the honest answer is that this is not currently a card you can walk up and get. The application asks for your country of residence, and if your country is not supported, Bybit says it will register your interest. Registering your interest is not the same as being approved, and it is not the same as having a card next month.

Who can actually get the card

The card is a regional product with a fixed map. Here is the list of regions as Bybit’s official help centre gives it, and the card currency each one carries:

Georgia and Kazakhstan are also card regions in the official fee and limit table. Whether non-residents of those two countries can get one is not stated anywhere I could read, so do not read this list as an invitation to try if you are passing through.

Two things are worth separating here, because readers constantly mix them up. Residence and citizenship are different tests. The card page says the product is not meant for EEA customers and that all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited. Separately, Bybit’s fiat-service restricted list — which covers deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card as such — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, and it notes that Russian users can only make RUB transactions in fiat. I found no card-specific statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens, and no published citizenship-versus-residence rule. The card currency, meanwhile, depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification, which means where you verified, not where you live.

What I would flag hard: there are Russian-language promotional guides online advertising ways for Russian users to obtain the card through another country’s registration. I am not going to repeat those schemes, and I would not use one. They break the card’s residence rule — the application asks for your country of residence — and they run straight into the restriction risk described later in this review. Those guides are third-party and unofficial; Bybit has not confirmed them. A second unofficial note: Bybit has been reported to run thorough checks on Russian clients and to follow very strict sanctions rules. That too is a third-party report, not a card term.

Signing up: what the process actually asks of you

Getting the card is not complicated. What can make it long is verification. Identity Verification Level 1 is the minimum, and Bybit warns the card has more stringent requirements than the base account, so some people have to redo verification they already passed. You may also be asked for proof of address from an eligible country or region, issued within the last 3 months. Bybit reserves the right to decline any application at its own discretion.

The step order is: choose your country of residence, verify your identity and your residential address, then apply for the virtual card. A virtual card review usually takes minutes; in some cases it can take up to 7 working days. The AIFC virtual card is the one region where Bybit says no additional verification is required for virtual activation.

Beyond the base checks, each region asks for something extra, and this is where people get caught out:

Minimum age is not stated on the pages I read. In this wider category prepaid and debit cards generally go to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits, but for Bybit specifically treat the age question as something to confirm in the app rather than something this review can answer. The official rejection reasons are also not stated; all you are told is that a compliance rejection restricts your use of the card.

One unofficial claim I want to name so it does not mislead you: a Bybit wiki page — AI-generated by its own disclaimer, dated Aug 5, 2026 — claims the card is available in 30+ countries including the EEA, the UK, the UAE and Turkey, and that Georgia and Kazakhstan are not listed. That directly contradicts the official regions above. Trust the official list, not the wiki.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the honest cost picture. The virtual card is free to issue everywhere “until further notice”, there is no annual or cancellation fee with a value attached, and the cards page states “Auto interest, no annual fees”. The costs live in the physical card, in conversion, and in foreign currency.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bybit payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What it is Value
Virtual card issuance Cost to open the virtual card None in all regions until further notice
Physical card issuance First physical card Australia 29.99 USD; Argentina 5 USD/USDT; Georgia 29,99 USDT; Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29,99 USDT; Asia Pacific 5 USDT; Brazil and Mexico none
Physical card replacement Replacing a lost or damaged card Same figures as issuance; VIPs holding an Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia or Asia Pacific physical card pay no issuance or replacement fee
Annual or cancellation fee Ongoing charge to hold the card Auto interest, no annual fees; no cancellation fee with a value listed
Crypto conversion fee Charged when crypto is sold to pay for a purchase 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Mexico); 0.5% Argentina; Peru not supported
FX fee On top of the network rate when you spend in another currency 2% (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Mexico); Kazakhstan (AIFC) 2% International Fee on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD; Argentina 7%; Brazil 1.5%; Peru 1%
FX padding Extra margin added to the rate, refunded if you exceed it 0% (Australia group, Mexico); 5% Argentina; 1% Brazil, excess refunded
ATM fee Cash withdrawal 2% after the first 100 USD a month (Australia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific); Mexico 100 USD / 1,800 MXN; Argentina 2% after 95,000 ARS; Brazil 2% after 550 BRL
Other ATM costs Operator access fee or prompted currency conversion ATM operators may add an access fee or prompt you to convert; ATM withdrawals are restricted in Mainland China; with a virtual card, cash depends on operator NFC support

Three everyday payments show where those numbers land. First, a coffee bought with USDT in Georgia while your card currency is USD: no FX fee, but the crypto conversion fee of 0.9% applies on top of the One-Click Sell rate, because your balance is being sold to make the payment. Second, the same coffee in Mexico paid in pesos from a USD card: the 2% FX fee applies on top of the network rate, and 0.9% conversion on top again if the funding is crypto. Third, taking 200 USD out of an Australian ATM: the first 100 USD a month is free of the Bybit fee, and the 2% applies to the amount above it — and the ATM operator may add its own.

One more cost that lives in Argentina specifically: VAT of 21% on foreign digital services, a 30% tax on foreign transactions, and provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%. If you are in Argentina, read that as part of the price of a foreign card, not as a separate surprise.

How to top up

Here is the design decision that shapes everything about how you use this card, and it is worth internalising before you apply: the card has no balance of its own. It draws on your Bybit Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, spending fiat first. When there is not enough fiat, crypto is sold at the Bybit One-Click Sell exchange rate plus the Bybit Card crypto conversion fee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bybit starts with a transfer to the right network

The coins you can fund it with are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM. The default order of spending is USDT, then USDC, then GRAM, then BTC, then ETH, then XRP — and you can reorder that in the Card Dashboard, which matters if you would rather be paid out in a coin you already hold. You top the Funding Account up either with Buy Crypto or by depositing crypto from another wallet.

Two honest gaps. The deposit networks are not disclosed on the pages I read, which means before your first transfer you need to confirm in the app which network your chosen coin should go on — send on the wrong network and a blockchain transfer cannot simply be undone. And the deposit fee, who pays the network fee, and any fiat top-up fee are not stated. On-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Bybit, but the specifics here are not published.

Minimum conversion amounts are small: 1 USD in Australia, Mexico, Georgia, Kazakhstan and Asia Pacific; 5,000 ARS in Argentina; 10 BRL in Brazil. Withdrawal is not stated.

Paying with it day to day

This is the card’s strongest suit, and it deserves to be said plainly. Where it is available it behaves like an ordinary payment card: a virtual card for online and in-app use, a physical card for everything else, and you cannot skip the virtual step — the physical one comes after it, and it is not available in Peru. Rollout has been in phases.

Networks differ by region, and this matters more than it sounds, because it decides where the card is accepted and how it looks to a merchant:

Bybit claims acceptance at over 90 million Mastercard and Visa merchants, which is the normal reach of those two networks rather than a special advantage. Your card currency is set by region, and if you pay in a different currency the FX fee above applies.

Mobile wallets work well: Georgia, Kazakhstan, AIFC, Argentina, Brazil and Peru support Apple Pay and Google Pay; Australia supports those plus Samsung Pay; Asia Pacific and Mexico are Google Pay only. The card’s own pages note that using it illegally is prohibited and may lead to termination. No published list of blocked merchant categories exists — MCC 7995, the gambling code, is not published as blocked by Bybit — so unlike some issuers you cannot check a list to see what is off-limits.

Rewards are where the fine print has changed most recently. From 2026-10-05 at 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback; spending your fiat balance earns nothing. That is a material change, and if your habit was to hold a cash balance and spend it, the rewards stop. The tiers run Base through Infinite:

Points sit pending for 4 calendar days, cashback arrives as USDT at points × 0.002, and Auto Cashback has to be switched on. Pay Later instalments carry an extra 1% bonus. There is a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days, “100% cashback on must-have subscriptions” for VIPs and Alpha and above, and referral rewards of 20 USDT or 10 USDT. The six reward tiers map onto VIP levels: VIP 1-2 Beta, VIP 3 Alpha, VIP 4 / PRO 1 Apex, VIP 5 / PRO 2 Omega, Supreme VIP / PRO 3-5 Infinite.

Asia Pacific runs its own limit tiers 1-3: a non-VIP can move from Tier 1 to Tier 2, a VIP from Tier 2 to Tier 3, and the Asia Pacific physical card needs Tier 2 or above. Only Asia Pacific limits can be raised through tiers.

The app itself is strong by exchange standards — “Bybit: New Financial Platform” sits at 4.69 from 46,912 ratings in the iOS App Store, updated 2026-10-16. That rating is for the whole exchange app, not the card, so read it as a signal about the software rather than about the card specifically. The cards page claims 3 million card users. Dispute handling for card charges is not stated anywhere I could read.

What can go wrong

This is where the card lost points, and I would rather be blunt here than reassuring.

The first risk is that your card is tied to your exchange account, and your exchange account can be restricted. Officially, if a card application is rejected on compliance grounds you are restricted from using the Bybit Card service. If the Bybit account itself is suspended, the card is not suspended but your transactions fail — which in practice means a card in your wallet that declines at the till. Users reported in September and October 2026 that accounts were restricted after small USDT transfers flagged as “abnormal origin”, and that this stopped the card working. Small, ordinary transfers triggering a freeze is the scenario to plan around: keep a cash buffer somewhere else, because the card is only as available as the account behind it.

The second risk is programme change. Bybit changed its card programme in some countries in 2026 and withdrew newly issued physical cards; EU cancellations followed. There is an official page titled “Changes to Bybit Card Services in the EEA & CH”, though it showed no readable text when I looked. A pattern across this whole industry is that programmes close with a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask you to withdraw what is left — one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026, which I could not confirm from a second source. For context on why that happens: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every programme it had issued.

The third risk is counterparty. The funds sit in the Bybit Funding Account, not in a bank account you control. Freeze and unfreeze are in the app, fraud monitoring runs 24/7, 2FA is required, and Google 2FA is applied at application — those are the good safeguards. But whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated on the pages I read, and that is not a small omission. In this category EMIs are generally required to safeguard funds by segregating them or insuring them, but such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. And custodial platforms have a real history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). The App Store seller is “Bybit Fintech Limited”, cardholder terms exist for the regional programmes (Argentina, Mexico, Brazil “CBRL”, Australia, Asia Pacific, AIFC, “Pomelo”), and the issuing bank per region is not named in the pages I read.

The fourth risk is reputation and support. Trustpilot shows 2.5 for Bybit overall across 7,757 reviews as of 2026-10-09, of which 53 sampled reviews mention the card; the themes are card cancellations after programme changes in 2026 and account restrictions in September–October 2026. That is the exchange’s rating, not the card’s, but the card lives on the exchange. Support arrangements for card-specific problems are not stated, and so are dispute and chargeback terms.

The last practical one is merchant-side friction. A card number starts with a 6 or 8 digit issuer identification number that any merchant can look up, and if the issuer country differs from the billing address some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline the card — which is exactly what happens to a foreign BIN. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records and is mostly a US, Canada and UK thing, so it often just does not apply to a foreign-issued card, and a decline can follow. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7.

What to take instead

If you want the comparison out loud: none of these cards is dramatically better than Bybit on the axis Bybit is strong on, which is everyday spending, and the ones I can detail below are less transparent than Bybit on fees. Here is where they stand.

Alternative Score Who it is for What I could confirm
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Club-tier cashback shoppers Cashback is paid in YNG tokens at 0.1% (Essential), 1.8% (Gold), 3.6% (Platinum); card fees and regions not stated officially
MSX 6.4 / 10 — Regions, card type, costs, fees and funding not stated on an official page I could read
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 US residents only Visa prepaid debit card in all US states except Hawaii, zero spending fees and no annual fees, crypto converted to US dollars, optional crypto rewards for US card users

Where each one fits:

For readers whose problem is not being able to get a bank card at all, none of these four is a general answer, because all four are regional. The realistic comparison is a conventional prepaid or debit card from an institution that will have you as a customer, or an electronic money account — the EMIs that issue cards and wallets across the EU and EEA under one member state’s licence. Those are not crypto cards, but they are the products that do not depend on a crypto exchange’s compliance mood.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Bybit card to three kinds of reader. First, someone already using Bybit as their main exchange in Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia or Latin America, holding stablecoins, who spends most of their balance locally and occasionally abroad — they get a clean everyday card, 0.9% conversion, and no FX fee on domestic purchases. Second, someone who wants a virtual card in minutes for online spending and does not need the physical one; it is free to issue everywhere right now. Third, a VIP in one of the tiers that waives physical card issuance and replacement.

I would steer away from it, or at least make me pause, if any of these apply to you. You live in the EEA, where it is prohibited. You are in Russia or Belarus, where the guides advertising a workaround are unofficial and the card’s own residence rule is the thing being worked around. You need the card to survive a compliance freeze, because a restricted account stops the card and the fix is not in your hands. You plan to hold large balances on it, because the safeguarding position is not stated and the funds sit in an exchange account, not a bank. Or you mostly spend fiat, because since 2026-10-05 fiat-funded spending earns no rewards at all.

The card at its best is a convenient second skin over a crypto balance you already trust Bybit with. It is a worse choice as your only route to a bank account, and a bad one as a place to park money.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bybit card?

It is a payment card that spends your Bybit exchange balance. It comes as a virtual card and a physical card, and the physical one only after the virtual one. It runs on Mastercard or Visa depending on region, works in Apple Pay, Google Pay and — in Australia — Samsung Pay, and has no balance of its own: it draws on your Funding Account, selling crypto when the fiat there runs out.

Is Bybit a bank?

No. Bybit is a crypto exchange, and the card is a payment product built on top of it, not a bank account. The App Store seller is “Bybit Fintech Limited” and cardholder terms exist for the regional programmes, but the issuing bank per region is not named on the pages I read. Your money sits in the exchange’s Funding Account, which is a different risk from a bank deposit.

Which countries can get the card?

Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The application asks for your country of residence, and if your country is not supported Bybit says it will register your interest. The cards page states the product is not meant for EEA customers and that all EEA customer participation is strictly prohibited.

How do I apply for the Bybit card?

Choose your country of residence, complete identity verification at Level 1 minimum, verify your residential address, then apply for the virtual card. Review usually takes minutes but can run up to 7 working days. Bybit may also ask for proof of address issued in the last 3 months, and each region asks for extra fields — income and employment in AIFC, CUIL in Argentina, CPF in Brazil, CURP and RFC in Mexico.

Does the Bybit card require KYC?

Yes — identity verification is the minimum, and Bybit says the card has more stringent requirements than the base account, so some people redo verification they already passed. That is not an unusual request; it is the standard pattern, where regulated businesses must verify customers and keep monitoring transactions under anti-money-laundering law.

How do I top up the Bybit card?

The card itself is topped up automatically: it spends fiat in your Funding Account first, then sells crypto at the One-Click Sell rate plus the card’s 0.9% conversion fee when fiat runs short. You fund the account with Buy Crypto or by depositing BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC or GRAM from another wallet — but confirm the deposit network in the app first, since the networks are not disclosed publicly.

Is the Bybit card free?

The virtual card is free to issue in all regions until further notice, and there is no annual fee. The physical card costs 29.99 USD in Australia, 29,99 USDT in Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USD/USDT in Argentina, 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, and nothing in Brazil and Mexico. VIPs in several regions pay no issuance or replacement fee at all.

What does it cost to use the card day to day?

Crypto conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina. Spending in another currency adds an FX fee of 2% in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% in Kazakhstan even in USD, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru, on top of the network rate. ATMs charge 2% after the first 100 USD a month in most regions.

Is the Bybit card safe?

It has the ordinary safeguards: 2FA required, Google 2FA at application, freeze and unfreeze in the app, 24/7 fraud monitoring. But it is custodial — funds sit in the Bybit Funding Account — and whether those funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated on the pages I read. The main practical risk is an account restriction: users reported in late 2026 being restricted after small USDT transfers flagged as “abnormal origin”, which stops the card working.

Is the Bybit card worth it?

For daily spending on a crypto balance in a supported region, yes — that is where it earns 9 out of 10 for everyday use. For anything else, weigh it against the fee table first: the 2% FX fee and 0.9% conversion add up on repeated foreign purchases, and since 2026-10-05 fiat-funded spending earns no rewards. If you need the card to keep working through a compliance freeze, or you want to park money on it, this is not the card for you.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team