PEXX review: a stablecoin card with no spending limits and two fees you should know
The PEXX card is a Visa or Mastercard payment card that you load with US dollars or stablecoins and then spend like an ordinary bank card, in shops and online. It is built for people who hold dollars or stablecoins and want high spending limits without a traditional bank account in their name. My score for it is 6.8 out of 10 — decent everyday tooling, with real gaps in what the public pages actually disclose. Below I go through who will be issued a card, how you apply, what every payment really costs, how you fund it, what happens in daily life, what can go wrong, and who I would point at it instead.
Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10
The score is not a ranking of good crypto cards in general. It is this card’s, out of ten, and the reasoning is broken out below. Where the card’s own pages stay silent I say so rather than filling the gap — several important things, including the issuance fee, the ATM terms and the banking partner, are simply not published.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Eligibility turns on country of residence: much of Europe, Australia, Japan, Latin America, Africa, the UAE, Georgia, Kazakhstan and others |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | 0.6% platform fee on every card transaction, 1.2% markup on non-USD payments, and no disclosed issuance fee |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USD, USDT and USDC; the blockchain networks are not named; the USD account is funded via ACH, Fedwire and SWIFT |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, AUSTRAC DCE and FinCEN MSB; the partner bank is not named; Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 on 3 reviews, with complaints about fees above what was advertised |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Physical and virtual cards, Apple Wallet and Google Pay; ATM terms are not disclosed |
Add those up and you get 6.8 out of 10 — a card that works well for someone who already deals in dollars and stablecoins, and whose main weaknesses are silence and thin independent review rather than obvious failure.
Who it suits: dollar and stablecoin holders who need high spending limits and want a card that works in Apple Wallet or Google Pay, and who are comfortable with an Australian programme manager holding their balance. Who it does not suit: anyone who wants a fully published fee schedule, a named bank partner, or a card they can rely on as the only card in their wallet — and anyone in a country not on the availability list.
Will they give you the card?
The gate is your country of residence, not your citizenship as far as the published information goes. Availability is listed as roughly 35 European countries and territories — including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Switzerland — plus Australia, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, the Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand; Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama and Peru; Bahrain, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and the UAE; and Azerbaijan, Georgia, Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.
That list is long, and if your country is on it the barrier is not geography but paperwork. Card eligibility conditions and exclusions are not listed on the public pages, so I cannot tell you whether there are income thresholds, credit checks or excluded industries. What the pages do say: you need a valid ID and a phone number for the card, and the U.S. virtual bank account requires “level 1 KYC”. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated.
One thing to understand before you apply, because it catches people out: a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another. Merchants can look up the BIN — the six or eight digit issuer number at the front of your card — see which institution and country issued it, and apply extra scrutiny if it differs from your billing address. That is a property of how card networks work, not a PEXX quirk, and it is a reasonable question for anyone paying a foreign-issued card in a domestic shop.
How to get it
There are two products: PEXX Physical, which you load with USD and stablecoins, and PEXX Virtual, which is instant and online. The page titles name Visa and Mastercard; the card currency is implied to be USD rather than explicitly stated.
The practical sequence is short: submit valid ID and a phone number, wait, activate. The application usually sits in “In Review” for one to two business days — that is the card’s own estimate, and reasons for rejection are not listed. There is an extra identity check to activate the card, and the U.S. virtual bank account needs level 1 KYC.
Delivery is where the public information runs out. Physical card delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost are not stated. The virtual card appears within about one minute after a confirmed deposit. If a lost or damaged plastic card is a scenario you need to price in for yourself, you will not find the answer on the pages.
Fees: what every payment really costs
Two fees do most of the damage here, and they stack. The first is a 0.6% platform fee on every card transaction. The second is a 1.2% FX markup on purchases not in USD. The card’s own wording is that it offers “true mid-market pricing” — for the currency conversion itself, which is not the same as saying the payment is free.

What is not disclosed matters as much as what is. The issuance fee is not stated. The monthly fee is not stated. ATM fees are not stated. There are no tiers, no plan levels, and no cashback — the card is simply two products with a per-transaction charge attached.
| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Platform fee, every card transaction | 0.6% |
| FX markup, non-USD purchases | 1.2% |
| Conversion pricing | “true mid-market pricing” |
| ATM fee | not stated |
| Cashback | none stated |
| Deposit fee | none listed |
| Daily spending limit | $30,000 |
| Per-transaction limit | $30,000 |
| Monthly spending limit | $70,000 |
| Other limits | “There are currently no spending limits” |
Those last two lines of that table are not a contradiction, and it is worth understanding how to read them. The card’s general statement is that there are currently no spending limits; the specific figures are $30,000 per day, $30,000 per transaction and $70,000 per month. Treat the numbers as the ones that apply and the broad statement as marketing shorthand.
Now two or three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply:
- A $20 coffee in your own country, paid in local currency. The 0.6% platform fee is $0.12. Because the purchase is not in USD, the 1.2% FX markup adds $0.24. Total around $0.36 on a $20 spend.
- A $200 online subscription billed in USD. Only the 0.6% platform fee applies, $1.20, because there is no currency conversion on a USD charge.
- A $600 holiday booking in a currency you do not hold. Platform fee $3.60, FX markup $7.20 — about $10.80 on top of the fare.
The pattern is plain: the card is cheapest when you spend in USD and most expensive when you spend small amounts in another currency. If you mostly pay local shops in local currency, you are paying both the platform fee and the FX markup, so you should know that before you rely on it.
On-chain network fees for a deposit are a separate matter — gas or bandwidth is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so it does not appear in the table but does come out of your wallet.
How to top it up
Topping up starts with a transfer to the right network — which is where the detail gets thin. The accepted assets are USD, USDT and USDC, and the card’s pages do not name the blockchain networks. That is not a small omission: send USDC on a network the provider does not support, or send to an address belonging to a different network, and the transfer can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Transfers are irreversible by design. Before your first deposit, confirm the network in the app rather than assuming the obvious choice.
For the USD account, funding runs through the banking rails rather than a blockchain: ACH takes 1-3 US business days, Fedwire a few hours to 1 business day, and SWIFT 1-5 US business days. No deposit fee is listed. The card’s minimum top-up is not stated.
| Top-up route | Asset | Time the card gives | Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACH | USD | 1-3 US business days | none listed |
| Fedwire | USD | a few hours to 1 business day | none listed |
| SWIFT | USD | 1-5 US business days | none listed |
| Blockchain | USDT, USDC | network dependent | network fee charged by the blockchain |
| Network selection | USDT, USDC | not stated | — |
| Minimum top-up | — | not stated | — |
On the network question, a little background helps. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, and Tether describes it as a token built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it one-to-one. Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option you can assume.
One feature sits alongside the card: PEXX Earn pays daily interest tied to U.S. T-bill rates, with no minimum balance, and funds can be withdrawn at any time. It is not FDIC-insured, and the card does not say what happens to card-balance withdrawals or to closing an account. The FAQ has a three-article withdrawal collection that was not read.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card is strongest, and it is the section I would weight highest if you actually use a card every day. You get both a physical and a virtual card, and you can add the card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay from the Cards tab in the app, confirming with a one-time password by email or SMS. When you do, the card number is replaced on the device by a device-specific number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code — so tokenising it is a real step up in everyday security rather than a cosmetic one.
A detail that will matter to you: the card currency. The pages imply USD, and non-USD purchases carry the 1.2% markup. Whether the balance can hold several currencies at once is not stated, so if you expected a multi-currency account, that expectation is not confirmed.
The app is where you will live. The Australian App Store listing showed 5.0 out of 5 from 3 ratings, version 3.6.2, requiring iOS 16.0 or later, in English, when read on 2026-10-20. Three ratings is not a track record. A Google Play app exists; its rating was not read. Support is in-app or by email, with an FAQ at faq.pexx.com and accounts on Telegram, X, Instagram and Medium. The site is English only, Russian is not offered, and opening hours are not stated.
If a payment goes wrong, the dispute route is set out, and it has teeth you should know about before you need it. Disputes go through PEXX support and are submitted through the card network; only successful transactions can be disputed; you have 120 days; the process takes 60 to 90 days; chargeback rights may be limited for unauthorized claims on 3-D Secure; and a USD 25 administration fee may apply if the dispute fails.
Two more everyday friction points that are not PEXX-specific but will still be yours. A merchant category code is the four-digit number classifying a business by what it sells — MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer; PEXX’s blocked list is not stated. And some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the BIN lookup reveals both the card type and the issuer country.
What can go wrong
Start with the complaints, because that is where the information is thinnest and most pointed. No official complaints were found. User reports are not official and are not confirmed by the card: on Trustpilot, PEXX showed 3.5 out of 5 from 3 reviews when read on 2026-10-20. A January 2026 one-star review says fees were higher than advertised, citing “0.5$ per transaction” and deductions without history; a December 2025 five-star review praises fees and speed. On the PEXX website, users report fees higher than advertised including a $0.50 per-transaction charge and unexplained deductions (reviews including February 2026), and a failed crypto deposit with only a partial refund. One positive Dec 2025 review.
Three reviews and a 3.5 rating is not enough to conclude anything about a company’s conduct. It is enough to tell you what to ask about. The specific claim — a $0.50 per-transaction charge that the fee table does not list — is exactly the kind of thing you want answered before you keep a balance on the card.
Behind the card sits PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, an Australian company, registered as an AUSTRAC Digital Currency Exchange (DCE100851583-001) and remittance dealer (IND100851583-001), and as a FinCEN MSB (31000288010318). The issuer is described only as a “partner bank” or “licensed partners” and is not named.
This is the single most important structural point on the page, so let me be plain about what it means. A card payment involves several parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer is the bank or e-money institution licensed under that network’s licence and holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances.
What that history tells you is not that PEXX will close. It tells you that closure is an ordinary outcome in this category, and that a card balance is not a savings account.
On the money itself: USD deposits are held with licensed partners and are not FDIC-insured, and the card describes “bank-grade encryption” with real-time alerts. Card freeze and card insurance are not stated. In-app payment approval exists. The card says it follows AUSTRAC guidelines and runs an AML/CTF programme with enhanced due diligence; no dated enforcement events were found.
Regulation applies to you as a user too, and it can arrive as a frozen account. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering law, including ongoing monitoring. In the EU that due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end the existing one — which is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits.
Two stablecoin realities to keep in view. Stablecoins can depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis — and Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so they are not censorship-proof. If a card balance is denominated in stablecoins, its value is not the same as a dollar balance on a bad day.
Finally, there is the tax side, and I am not going to advise you on it — only flag that it exists and is separate from this card. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss; for personal or investment holdings the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held one year or less; and the gain is measured in local fiat currency using fair market value on the date of the transaction, so each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. A professional in your own jurisdiction should tell you how this applies to you.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up against this card. The scores are on the same ten-point scale, and none of them is a clean winner — each trades something away.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Known fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| PEXX | 6.8 / 10 | Visa and Mastercard, physical and virtual | 0.6% per transaction, 1.2% FX markup on non-USD; issuance and monthly fee not stated |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | Virtual issuance $5 one-time; no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month; USD use free on all plans; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind free |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency, Mastercard network, spends from the UNi.Global account balance | “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated; no foreign transaction fee; assets converted at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees”; rewards up to 3% |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores; type and card currency not stated | “No extra fees”, with no issuance or monthly amounts listed; no conversion or FX amounts stated; 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned |
Where each one fits:
- International Visa Card is the nearest substitute on price and the most different on rules. It is not available to residents or legal registrants of a long exclusion list — Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam — with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case with compliance approval, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. It also has no physical card yet, and its 2% FX fee is worse than PEXX’s 1.2%.
- UNi Card is the one to look at if foreign transaction fees are what you are trying to avoid: it states no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converts at live OTC rates, and pays up to 3% in spend-to-Earn rewards. Against that, eligibility and funding are not stated, so you are buying on the fee promise alone.
- Whop Cards are the narrowest: 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, and unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with the basis — citizenship or residence — not stated. It spends from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and the coins and networks are not stated. The 5% cashback at select merchants is the standout, if your spending is at those merchants.
Worth noting for comparison: the fee-free-on-USD and flat-2%-on-foreign-currency structure of the International Visa Card is more transparent than PEXX’s, and PEXX’s per-transaction percentage fee is something the others do not charge.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend PEXX to someone who already holds dollars or stablecoins, spends a decent amount, and has been turned away from or blocked by an ordinary bank — someone for whom $30,000 a day is useful rather than absurd, and who is comfortable with an Australian programme manager holding the balance rather than a named bank. If you spend in USD, the 0.6% is the whole cost and it is not unreasonable. If you mostly pay small amounts in local currency, paying both fees is a real drag, and I would say so before you start.
I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it to you if undisclosed fees are the thing that bothers you most. Three user reports mentioning a $0.50 per-transaction charge that the fee table does not list is a small sample, but it points at the one thing to settle first: ask support directly what a transaction costs in your currency, and get the answer in writing before you leave a balance on it. The Trustpilot 3.5 out of 5 rests on 3 reviews, which is too thin to condemn a company and too thin to rely on.
And check three things yourself, because I could not: the blockchain network for USDT and USDC before your first deposit, the issuance and monthly fees, and what happens to your balance if the programme changes. None of that is a warning — it is the gap in what the card publishes, and it is the same gap for every card in this category.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PEXX card?
PEXX is a payment card that you load with US dollars or stablecoins and then spend like an ordinary card, in shops and online. It comes as PEXX Physical and PEXX Virtual, with Visa and Mastercard named in the page titles. It is aimed at dollar and stablecoin holders who need high spending limits. The balance is held by an Australian company, PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, with a licensed partner bank.
How does the PEXX card work?
You top up a balance, and the card spends that balance. It behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card, so it cannot overdraw — there is no overdraft, but there is also nothing behind it beyond what you loaded. Payments go through the card network, the issuer holds the programme, and PEXX manages the front end. Every transaction carries a 0.6% platform fee on top of any currency conversion cost.
Is PEXX a bank?
No. PEXX describes itself as a technology company that holds Australian registrations as a Digital Currency Exchange and remittance dealer with AUSTRAC, and as a FinCEN money services business. The bank that issues the card is referred to only as a partner bank or licensed partners, and is not named. Your USD deposits are held with licensed partners and are not FDIC-insured.
Who owns PEXX?
The company behind the card is PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, registered in Australia, with AUSTRAC registrations DCE100851583-001 and IND100851583-001 and FinCEN MSB number 31000288010318. It appears on the Australian App Store listing. The banking partner that actually issues the card is not disclosed, and the card does not state who owns or controls that relationship.
Can I use the PEXX card in my country?
Availability is by country of residence, and it is wide: roughly 35 European countries and territories including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Switzerland, plus Australia, Japan, several Asian markets, much of Latin America, parts of Africa, the UAE, Georgia, Kazakhstan and others. Your card should also work where Visa and Mastercard are accepted, though some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards.
How much does the PEXX card cost to use?
Two fees do the work. There is a 0.6% platform fee on every card transaction, and a 1.2% FX markup on purchases not in USD. So a $20 coffee in a currency other than dollars costs you roughly $0.36 in fees, while a $200 USD subscription costs about $1.20. Issuance and monthly fees are not stated, and ATM fees are not stated either.
Does the PEXX card require KYC?
Yes, at least for some of it. A valid ID and a phone number are needed for the card, there is an extra identity check to activate it, and the U.S. virtual bank account requires level 1 KYC. Proof of address and age requirements are not stated. Applications usually sit in review for one to two business days, and rejection reasons are not listed.
How do I top up the PEXX card?
You can fund with USD, USDT or USDC. The USD account takes ACH in 1-3 US business days, Fedwire in a few hours to a business day, and SWIFT in 1-5 US business days, with no deposit fee listed. For crypto, the card’s pages do not name the supported networks, so confirm in the app before sending, because transfers on the wrong network can be lost.
Is the PEXX card safe?
It has the usual trimmings: bank-grade encryption, real-time alerts, in-app payment approval, and tokenised Apple Pay and Google Pay so the card number never sits on your phone in plain form. But USD deposits are not FDIC-insured, crypto transfers are irreversible, and the issuer bank is unnamed. Users have also reported fees above what was advertised, so treat the card as one tool rather than your only one.
Can I withdraw money from PEXX?
PEXX Earn funds can be withdrawn at any time, with no minimum balance on that product. The card’s own withdrawal terms are not stated, and its FAQ has a three-article withdrawal section that was not read. If you plan to move money out of the card balance regularly, ask support what the process and any fee are before you rely on it, since blockchain transfers cannot be reversed once sent.
App and neobank cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
