A virtual prepaid card that spends your crypto, limited to two countries

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Pay It Now is not really a bank, and it does not pretend to be one. What it gives you is a virtual, reloadable prepaid Mastercard that you fund by converting crypto from the PIN Wallet into USDC, and then spend like an ordinary card number — online, at a shop, or in Google Pay. There is no physical card, no ATM, and no annual fee. In exchange for that simplicity you give up almost everything a normal bank card gives you: no interest, no credit, no savings account, and — this is the part that will decide whether you should bother — a strictly limited country list.

Pay It Now works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 5.6 out of 10. That is not a condemnation; it is a card with one genuinely excellent feature (topping up from 50+ digital assets) wrapped around a deliberately narrow product. If you are a New Zealand or Australia resident who holds crypto and wants a card-shaped way to spend it, keep reading. If you are anywhere else, or you want a physical card, or you want a bank relationship, this is the wrong tool and I will tell you where to look instead.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 5.6 out of 10, and that is the whole conversation

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 New Zealand and Australia only; the U.S. and Europe are “in the works”
Cost 7 / 10 Issuing 5.00 USDC, “FREE for a limited time”; no annual fee; 1.5% on non-USD purchases; conversion by spread
Top-up options 9 / 10 50+ digital assets (the FAQ says 40+), including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX, BNB, all converted to USDC
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Regulated entities in both countries, issuer Immersve; but Trustpilot 4.0/5 from 13 reviews, with complaints about support and lost funds
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only; Google Pay works; adding new cards to Apple Pay paused since 11 May 2026; no ATM

The single best thing about this card is the funding rail. Fifty-plus assets, the majors included, converted into a dollar-pegged balance you can spend anywhere Mastercard is accepted. The worst thing is everything around it: a card that exists in exactly two countries, has no plastic, and cannot be added to your iPhone’s wallet right now.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Pay It Now payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

So who is it for? In my reading, one person: someone resident in New Zealand or Australia who already holds several coins, does not want to keep moving them to an exchange to pay for things, and is content to treat the card as a spending tool rather than as a financial account. Who is it not for? Anyone in the United States, the UK, the EU or elsewhere today; anyone who needs cash; anyone whose priority is consumer protection, chargebacks or a support line that answers.

Two more things to weigh before you spend ten minutes on it. First, this is a custodial arrangement — the crypto is held for you, and the card’s balances sit with a company that is not a bank. That is normal for this category, but it means your recovery options in a bad month are exactly as good as that company’s support desk. Second, the honest arithmetic on the fees: 1.5% on any purchase not in dollars is not a rounding error, and the conversion spread is shown in the app rather than on a published schedule, so you will not be able to predict your cost before you tap.

Will they give you the card?

They will give it to PIN users in New Zealand and Australia. That is the eligibility statement, and it is the single most important fact on this page for anyone outside those two countries. The card’s own wording on further expansion is that it is being worked on: into other regions, “including the U.S. and Europe”. Worked on is not available. If you live in Berlin, Manchester, Toronto or Austin, the correct answer to “can I use Pay It Now here” is no — not for signing up, and, separately, no for using a card that were issued elsewhere.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Pay It Now starts with a transfer to the right network

What is available is the product itself: a virtual, reloadable prepaid Mastercard with no physical card. You can create multiple virtual cards, which is useful if you want one card for subscriptions and another for everyday spending, or if a card number gets burned on a site you did not intend to visit. Your balance is in USDC and shown to you as a dollar amount. The issuer is Immersve, an Australian entity (AFSL 545925); the card is distributed by Takeoff Media Limited.

Behind it sit named companies rather than a vague “fintech team”. Pay It Now NZ LTD carries an NZ FSP number, 1002374. Pay It Now AUS PTY LTD carries an AFI… correction: an AFSL, 700050, with an AUSTRAC registration, DCE100820697-002. Takeoff Media Limited is an Authorised Representative, 1313795. Whether those registrations reassure you is a personal call — they tell you which regulator to complain to if things go wrong, which is more useful than nothing, but they are not a guarantee of how your money is treated. Safeguarding arrangements are not stated on the public pages, and I would want to hear that explained directly before I held a large balance.

One more eligibility point that is easy to skim past: the card is for adults. Prepaid and debit cards generally go to people 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. Age, documents and address proof are not stated on the card’s pages beyond the identity check described next.

How to get it

The flow is short, and the card says it takes “just a few minutes”, though the honest version is that the identity check is the slow part and the clock is not guaranteed.

The steps the card describes are: open the PIN app, go to the Cards section, apply, complete the provider’s KYC, and top up. That last step is the beginning of ordinary use rather than of the application, so treat it as part of the same sitting.

The part that catches people is that there are two identity checks, not one. You do KYC for the PIN Network, and then the card provider runs additional KYC even though your platform verification is already done. Which documents, whether proof of address is required, what age is enforced and how long each step takes are not stated on the public pages. That is a real gap. Plan for the possibility that a document request arrives and that you will be waiting on email rather than minutes.

Once you are through it, the card itself is virtual and arrives, in the card’s words, in “10 minutes” — meaning the number appears in your app, not that anything lands in post. Physical cards are not available at this time. If the wait bothers you, that is the trade: no plastic, but no waiting either, and no lost-in-the-post incident.

What it really costs

Fees

The cost picture is genuinely good in one direction and mildly expensive in another, and you need both halves to judge it.

Issuing the card costs 5.00 USDC, deducted from your app wallet balance, and the card calls this “FREE for a limited time” — so treat the 5.00 USDC as a temporary discount rather than a permanent price. There is no annual fee. Cancelling is free. That is the whole of the fixed charges, and it is a strong point for a card in this category.

What you pay per purchase depends on two things: whether you are spending in dollars, and the spread when crypto is converted. Conversion to USDC is charged through the spread alone, at a rate shown in the app — there is no separate conversion percentage published. Purchases in any currency other than USD carry a transaction fee of 1.5%. There is no separate FX fee on top of that. ATM withdrawals are not stated, and cannot be, because there is no physical card.

Fee or limit Value
Issuing the card 5.00 USDC from app wallet balance, “FREE for a limited time”
Annual fee None
Cancellation fee None
Crypto-to-USDC conversion Spread only, rate shown in the app
Non-USD purchase 1.5% transaction fee, no separate FX fee
ATM withdrawal Not stated; card is virtual only
Daily transaction limit USD 20,000
Yearly transaction limit USD 100,000
Daily value load limit USD 5,000
Yearly value load limit USD 100,000
Tiers Single tier
Balance currency USD, held as USDC

Now let me walk three ordinary payments through that table, because “1.5%” means very different things in different situations.

A coffee in Wellington or Melbourne, in New Zealand dollars or Australian dollars. Say a modest amount, and the 1.5% is a small absolute number — but it is applied to every single purchase, because the purchase is not in dollars. Add it to whatever the spread is doing to the rate at that moment and your effective cost on a small transaction is the fee plus a little rounding friction. If you make many small purchases in your local currency rather than a few large ones, the percentage compounds into something you will notice on a monthly statement.

A monthly software subscription priced in dollars. This is the friendliest case: no 1.5% fee, no FX question, just the spread already baked into the rate that funded the balance. What you are really paying is the spread between the time you loaded and the time the subscription renews, spread across however long that is. If you hold a dollar-pegged balance and prices do not move, the cost approaches zero.

A holiday abroad, spending in a currency that is not dollars and not your own. Here the 1.5% applies and nothing offsets it, and you may meet a payment that declines for reasons that have nothing to do with the fee. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — so a foreign-issued prepaid card can fail that check and be declined at the till. This is a general property of prepaid and foreign-issued cards, not a quirk of this one, but it is the thing most likely to embarrass you on a trip.

The limits, meanwhile, are generous enough that most people will never touch them: USD 20,000 of transactions and USD 5,000 of value loads per day, each with a USD 100,000 yearly ceiling. Limits per KYC level are not stated. If you are planning something unusually large, ask before you assume.

How to top it up

This is the section that earns the 9 out of 10, so it is worth being precise about how it works.

You top up from the PIN Wallet using more than 50 digital assets — the main page says 50+, the FAQ says 40+, and either way the list includes the names you would expect: BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX and BNB. Whatever you send is converted to USDC, and the card spends that dollar balance. Sending through a Web3 smart-contract deposit can take up to 10 minutes, so the balance is not instant.

The maximum top-up is USD 5,000 per day. There is no separate deposit fee — the conversion spread applies instead, which is the honest way to charge for this and one of the better structures in the category. A minimum top-up is not stated, and so is fiat top-up, so do not assume you can load dollars from a bank account in a straight line if you wanted a simpler path than crypto.

There is a network detail worth taking seriously, because it is where mistakes are irreversible. Blockchain transfers do not reverse. If you send on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — yet TRX and USDT are in the asset list, which means the routing for those assets matters more than the presence of their names. If the app shows you a network, follow it exactly. And note that on Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it at all; Tron prices its fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX.

Pulling money back out is a separate story. You can withdraw to the app wallet or to a bank account, and withdrawal to the PIN Wallet has a fixed fee of 0.2 USDC. The balance itself is held by Takeoff Media, which is the sentence to sit with when you decide how much to keep parked on the card.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, this is a virtual card number and the app around it. You add it to Google Pay and pay with your phone. Apple Pay is where the current awkwardness sits: from 11 May 2026, adding new cards has been unavailable “until further notice”, while existing cards are unaffected. The card’s own news records the same thing — on 11 May 2026, Apple Pay additions for new Web3 Mastercards were paused. So if your plan was “I’ll put it in my wallet and forget about it”, that works only if you added it before the pause, and the card’s pages do not say when it will resume.

The app is the PIN Network app on iOS and Android, under the identifier io.payitnow.pinnetwork. I tried to check its store ratings on 21 October 2026 and the store pages did not load, so I have no read on how the app is rated by the people using it — a gap I would want filled before recommending it as your daily driver.

What you do not get, in the daily-use sense, is as important as what you do. There is no ATM. There are no rewards or cashback terms stated. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which cuts both ways: no list of casinos or crypto-adjacent merchants is published, but you also cannot check whether one exists, and many issuers block the gambling category code, 7995, by policy rather than by law, with the list differing per issuer. Assume some things will decline and you will not be able to predict which.

If a payment does go wrong, the stated route is a “Report” button under the transaction in the app, which opens a support ticket. The chargeback process and the time frames are not stated. I would not build a plan around formal dispute resolution here.

One thing worth knowing about card payments generally, since it affects how you interpret a decline: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. A decline is not always a neutral event for your balance.

What can go wrong

The honest list here is not long, but it is not soft either.

Support responsiveness is the first theme in user complaints. Trustpilot shows 4.0 out of 5 from 13 reviews, read on 21 October 2026, with 77% of those reviews at five stars — so a good headline number on a small sample, and the company has not replied to negative reviews. The negative reports cluster around issues like unresponsive support in February, April and July 2026; unexplained loss of crypto funds in July 2026; and an unclear spread with an enquiry that went unanswered in April 2026. Those are specific complaints, not a statistical rate, and one high rating does not cancel them out. But when you are choosing where to park money, the pattern that matters is “I raised a problem and nobody answered”, because that is the pattern that repeats.

Apple Pay access is the second issue, and it is an official one rather than a rumour: additions have been paused since 11 May 2026.

Custody is the third, and it deserves a plain explanation rather than a warning label. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in unencrypted form, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return funds. This is not a corner case for the category: custodial platforms have failed before, at Mt. Gox with roughly US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, at Coincheck with about US$400 million in 2018, and at Ronin Network with US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk. The alternative — a self-custody-linked card — keeps funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but leaves you carrying the full weight of key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps addresses you copied. Neither side of that trade is free; you are choosing which risk you would rather own.

A fourth thing is the category’s own fragility: crypto card programmes can be switched off. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures usually follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, so I would not lean on the dates, but I would lean on the shape.

And a fifth, smaller: this is not a bank, so do not assume bank protections. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side — under EU rules, a crypto card often depends on two licences, because markets-in-crypto-assets regulation covers custody, exchange and transfer while payment law covers the card. In the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but those are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. US prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed either: debit reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid cards sit somewhere the reader has to check rather than assume.

Support, when it works, is ticketed only: support.payitnow.io, with a status page at support.payitnow.io/status. There is no phone line. Languages and hours are not stated. For a product whose users may hold balances across time zones, that is thin.

What to take instead

If the funding rail is what you want — crypto in, a card-shaped balance out — there are three comparable products I looked at, and honestly none of them solves the country problem.

Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who it is for “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions published; store listing is Naira-focused Aimed at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” — and “Nigerians and global users”; no list or exclusions stated No country list on official pages; app store says it works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; currency Naira per listing Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid HyperCard, network not stated on the store page; balance in USD or EUR
Cost Not stated Creating a virtual card is “completely free”; monthly fee not stated Not stated; store page lists no fees
Fees Real-time conversion at payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks one; no percentage published Not stated Not stated on the pages I could read
Funding USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated
Rewards Not stated Not stated Not stated

Read that table with the same scepticism I applied to Pay It Now’s gaps. Two things are worth pulling out. First, “200+ countries” on Cardex and “more than 176 countries” on HyperCard describe where the card is *accepted*, not who can open an account — a distinction that does an enormous amount of work in this category’s marketing. Cardex’s own store listing is Naira-focused, which suggests a Nigerian market, and CardFlow says outright that it is built for Nigeria. So if your problem is “I am not in New Zealand or Australia”, none of these three is a demonstrated escape route either.

Second, the fees are largely unstated everywhere. Pay It Now is unusual in publishing a real number — 1.5% — which makes it easier to compare and, on that number alone, more predictable than a competitor that says only that its conversion rate is smart.

Where that leaves you depends on what went wrong with the card you have. If you are in a country Pay It Now does not serve, your realistic options are a crypto card from a provider licensed in your own jurisdiction, or — if your issue is that KYC is the obstacle — speaking to a regulated exchange in your country about a card they issue directly. If you need Apple Pay specifically, check whether that provider has actually integrated it rather than assuming, because a pause like Pay It Now’s turns that assumption into a weekly bill. If you want the coin list and do not care about the country, this card is still the most flexible funding rail of the group. I am not in a position to tell you which of these is right for you, but I can tell you which questions to ask before you apply.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card, without much hesitation, to one specific person: a New Zealand or Australia resident who holds several coins, wants to spend them without routing through a central exchange, and treats the card as a convenience rather than as infrastructure. If that is you, the value is clear — 50+ assets in, a working Mastercard number out, no annual fee, generous limits, Google Pay, and a spread rather than a pile of stacked fees. Add 5.00 USDC for the card while it is free, keep your balance at a level you could lose without changing your week, and the case is sound.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true. You are outside New Zealand or Australia. You need a physical card, or cash from an ATM. You plan to rely on Apple Pay. You want a bank, deposit protection, a phone number to call, or a documented chargeback process. You are putting an amount on it that would hurt to lose, or you have had a bad experience with a custodial platform before and would rather hold your own keys. You are a US or EU resident hoping the “including the U.S. and Europe” line means you can sign up today.

The one-bit summary: this is a well-licensed, cheaply-run, virtual-only spending card with the best funding list I found in its tier, wrapped in a product that fits two countries and stopped adding to Apple Pay in May 2026. If that is the card you were looking for, it works. Check the network before you send anything, keep the balance small, and ask support the two questions the public pages do not answer — how customer funds are safeguarded, and what a chargeback actually involves.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Pay It Now card?

It is a virtual, reloadable prepaid Mastercard funded from crypto, not a bank account. You convert digital assets held in the PIN Wallet into USDC, and the card spends that dollar balance as an ordinary Mastercard number, online, in shops or through Google Pay. There is no physical card, no ATM and no annual fee. The card is issued by Immersve and distributed by Takeoff Media Limited.

Who owns Pay It Now?

The named companies are Pay It Now NZ LTD, registered in New Zealand as FSP 1002374, and Pay It Now AUS PTY LTD, holding AFSL 700050 with AUSTRAC registration DCE100820697-002. Takeoff Media Limited acts as an Authorised Representative, 1313795, and holds the card balance in USDC. The card itself is issued by Immersve, AFSL 545925, so several companies sit behind what looks like one app.

Is Pay It Now a bank?

No, and it is worth being blunt about that, because the distinction carries real consequences. It is a card programme and a custodial wallet, not a deposit-taking institution. Your balance is not a bank deposit, so bank deposit protection does not apply to it, and the public pages do not state how funds are safeguarded. That question is worth asking support directly before you hold a large balance.

Which countries can use it?

New Zealand and Australia, for PIN users. Expansion into other regions, “including the U.S. and Europe”, is described as being worked on — which means it is not available to you yet. Note the separate question from acceptance: even a card you hold may not be welcomed everywhere, since prepaid and foreign-issued card numbers can be declined, particularly where address verification does not apply.

How do I get the card?

Open the PIN Network app on iOS or Android, go to the Cards section, apply, then complete the card provider’s identity verification, and top up. The card says it takes just a few minutes and that the virtual card is available in 10 minutes, meaning the number appears in the app rather than arriving by post. Expect the identity checks to take longer than the card does.

Does it require KYC?

Yes, twice. You complete KYC for the PIN Network, and the card provider runs additional KYC on top of it even if your platform verification is already complete. Which documents are needed, whether proof of address is required, and what age is enforced are not stated on the public pages. Plan for a document request by email rather than assuming a seamless few minutes.

What does it cost to use?

Issuing costs 5.00 USDC, described as free for a limited time, and there is no annual fee and no cancellation fee. Conversions from crypto are charged through the spread at the rate shown in the app. Purchases in any currency other than USD carry a 1.5% transaction fee, with no separate FX fee on top. There is no ATM because there is no physical card.

How do I top it up, and can I use Apple Pay?

You top up from the PIN Wallet with more than 50 digital assets — the FAQ says 40+ — including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX and BNB, converted to USDC, up to USD 5,000 per day with no separate deposit fee. Deposits through a Web3 smart contract can take up to 10 minutes. On Apple Pay: adding new cards has been paused since 11 May 2026, while cards added earlier still work.

Is it safe to leave money on the card?

Treat it as custodial spending money, not savings. The balance is held by Takeoff Media, safeguarding is not stated, and blockchain transfers are irreversible — sending on an unsupported network or to a wrong-network address can lose the funds. The app offers an in-app card cancel, a PIN and transaction monitoring, but user reports on Trustpilot include unresponsive support and unexplained loss of funds, so keep the amount modest.

Is it worth it?

Worth it if you are a New Zealand or Australia resident, hold several coins, and want a card-shaped way to spend them with no annual fee. Not worth it if you are elsewhere, need a physical card or cash, rely on Apple Pay, or want bank-level protection and a documented chargeback process. The funding rail is the best in its tier; the country restriction and virtual-only design are the limits that decide it.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team