Spendl in plain terms: a rand card that lives or dies by South African borders
Spendl is a payment card that converts cryptocurrency into South African rand and lets you spend the balance anywhere a major card network is accepted. The pitch is simple: top up with Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT or one of nine other supported assets, and the card works like any other prepaid or debit card at the till, online, or at the ATM. In practice, the card is tightly tied to a single country, and most of what makes it interesting — the cost structure, the supported networks, the daily limits — only makes sense once you understand that South Africa is both the launchpad and the ceiling.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
I went through Spendl’s official pages, terms and pricing in October 2026, and I am writing this for someone who is not yet a customer. If you are weighing Spendl against a more globally available card, the comparison section further down has three alternatives with their own scores. The conditions described here are current as of 2026-10-20, drawn directly from the card’s published materials and from independent reporting.
Verdict
Spendl ends up with a 5.0 out of 10 in my reading, and the way the score breaks down tells you more than the headline number. Eligibility is the single biggest drag: 2 out of 10, because the card “ships across South Africa” only, and even within South Africa the published guidance on which plan fits which person is inconsistent across the company’s own pages. Cost is also low, at 3 out of 10, because between the R99.00 card price, a R25.00 monthly fee on the top two plans, a R45.00 + 1.56% international fee, and a stack of small ATM charges, a cardholder ends up paying many layers of fees that add up quickly. Where Spendl does well is in the middle: top-up options score 7 out of 10 thanks to twelve supported assets converting to rand; everyday use also scores 7 because both virtual and physical cards exist and the ATM channel is real. Reliability and complaints is the strongest mark at 8 out of 10: Spendl Technologies is a registered South African company, the partner that processes the programme is named, and I could not surface a meaningful trail of public complaints.

For whom, then? The natural reader is a South African resident funding a rand card with crypto, comfortable with the country’s regulatory backdrop, and planning to spend mostly in rand or close to home. If you travel or live abroad, the international fee, the lack of disclosed network support for mobile wallets, and the FSP-exempt CASP status together will give you pause. And if what you really want is a global, multi-currency card that you can take to twenty countries, the alternatives section is where you should look first.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | South Africa only, plans disagree on who qualifies for what |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Multiple stacked fees including R25/month, R45 + 1.56% abroad, and ATM charges |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | 12 assets convert to ZAR, fiat top-ups also available |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Registered company, named partner, no public complaint trail found |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual and physical card, ATM available, but mobile wallet support not stated |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 |
Will they give you the card
Spendl’s eligibility is, in plain language, a South African story. The shop page says the card “ships across South Africa”, and the application collects both your nationality and your country of residence, which is a clue that the company wants to know which set of rules to apply to you. Residents and foreign nationals are both invited, but the path depends on the kind of identity document you hold.
The onboarding splits into three plans: Smart, Savvy and Guru. Smart sits at the lower KYC level and the lower monthly spend cap; Savvy raises the cap and the verification level; Guru is the top tier and is what the company calls its “Popular Plan” on the marketing pages. That is where the picture gets muddy. Spendl’s own KYC guide says the Smart plan is for “No SA Nationals” — that is, foreign nationals — while the card-plans page describes Smart as suited to foreign nationals and non-RSA users, Savvy to both RSA and foreign nationals, and Guru to RSA users only. So the company’s pages disagree about who is supposed to end up on which plan. The Guru tier, when used by a foreign national, requires a passport, a valid work permit and proof of residence, which is a noticeably heavier set of documents than the lower plans.
The bottom line: you can apply if you are in South Africa with the right documents, but which plan you will be steered into depends on the form’s path and the company’s internal logic, not on a single published rule.
How to get it
The first step is downloading the Spendl app. Spendl runs as a progressive web app at app.spendl.money, which means you load it in your phone’s browser rather than installing it from an App Store or Google Play — there is no native listing, and so no app store ratings to lean on when judging polish. Signing up gives you a Wallet; you then complete KYC and, once approved, place an order for the card in the shop section of the app. One order, one card, and the price is R99.00 at checkout.
Identity verification follows the standard South African pattern. Spendl asks for a South African ID Smart Card (front and back) or a passport. Proof of residence is required and must be one of: a utility bill, a bank statement, a municipal rates account, or a signed lease, all of which must show your full name and a physical street address, must not be older than three months, must not be a PO Box, and must fit within a 10 MB upload limit. A date of birth is collected, so age is checked, though the published minimum is not stated.
Most verifications are completed within minutes, the documentation says, with some taking up to 24 hours, and you are notified by email. The common reasons for rejection are the obvious ones: a name mismatch between the documents, blurry or cropped photos, proof of residence that is too old or in someone else’s name, a PO Box address, or anything else the reviewer treats as inaccurate, which the documentation warns can in some cases lead to a permanent suspension. If you are moving from a Wallet-only account to a Wallet + Card account, there is an extra KYC step on top of the original one. As for delivery, Spendl says the card ships across South Africa but does not publish a delivery time or fee; replacements are R100.00 and typically take 5 to 10 business days.
The card itself comes in two forms, virtual and physical, and every plan lists both. The Spendl pages do not name the network on the public material, instead describing a card that “works anywhere a supported networked card is accepted” and pointing to the terms for “a major payment Network” disclosed on the Website. One third-party report from TechCentral, not opened in full, says the card is a Visa debit card; I have not confirmed that directly and treat it as unofficial.
What it really costs
The pricing model is one of those layered structures where the headline feels modest and the rest sneaks in. The card itself is R99.00 to order and R100.00 to replace, and a R25.00 monthly fee applies on the Savvy and Guru plans; Spendl’s plans page says the monthly price is the same across plans without naming an amount, which is its own kind of clarity problem. Crypto conversion carries “a small transparent fee” that the company says is shown before you confirm the conversion, but the percentage is not published anywhere I could find.
Spend abroad, and the international point-of-sale fee is R45.00 plus 1.56% of the transaction value; a declined international transaction costs R17.50. At the ATM, a local withdrawal is R12.50 plus R2.50 for every R100 (or part of R100) you take out; a local balance enquiry is R6.75; an international ATM withdrawal is R100.00 flat; an international balance enquiry is R12.00; and a declined international ATM transaction is R20.00. There is no published free allowance for ATM use.
Funding the wallet is a separate set of fees: receiving from a card issuer costs R1.20, receiving from an outside source costs R2.75, an instant deposit costs R12.00, and a SWIFT deposit costs R55.00. None of this is exotic, but it is enough that a casual user with a few small purchases and one ATM visit a month will pay a meaningful slice of their spending in fees alone.
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | R99.00 |
| Card replacement | R100.00 |
| Monthly fee (Savvy and Guru) | R25.00 |
| Crypto conversion | “Small transparent fee”, amount not published (shown before confirm) |
| International POS fee | R45.00 + 1.56% of transaction |
| International POS decline | R17.50 |
| Local ATM withdrawal | R12.50 + R2.50 per R100 or part thereof |
| Local balance enquiry | R6.75 |
| International ATM withdrawal | R100.00 |
| International balance enquiry | R12.00 |
| International ATM decline | R20.00 |
| Receive from card issuer | R1.20 |
| Receive from outside source | R2.75 |
| Instant deposit | R12.00 |
| SWIFT deposit | R55.00 |
To make this feel more concrete, three everyday situations:
- A local coffee at a South African café, paid by tapping the physical card. The merchant sees a rand transaction, the card network processes it in ZAR, and your Spendl Wallet balance drops by the price of the coffee plus any merchant-side acquirer surcharge (not on Spendl’s fee schedule). On Spendl’s side, there is no published local POS fee and no crypto conversion happening at the till, because the conversion already happened when you topped up.
- A R1,000 ATM withdrawal at a local bank. You pay R12.50 plus R2.50 for every R100 or part thereof. R1,000 is ten units of R100, so the variable part is R25.00; the total ATM fee is R37.50. If you also ask for a balance enquiry, add R6.75, and the same withdrawal is now R44.25 in fees.
- A USD 100 purchase while travelling, billed to your Spendl card. The international POS fee is R45.00 plus 1.56% of the rand equivalent, and the card network’s own exchange rate is in play as well. The 1.56% alone is roughly R28 at current rates, so the Spendl-specific portion is in the region of R73 before the network’s FX margin.
Top up
You can fund a Spendl card in two ways: by converting one of twelve supported cryptocurrencies into rand, or by depositing fiat. The crypto side is the more interesting one. Spendl converts Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tether, USDC, Solana, Avalanche, BNB, Chainlink, Tron, XRP, Dogecoin and Shiba Inu into ZAR, and the resulting rand lands in your Spendl Wallet. From there, you load the card; there is no direct wallet-to-card spend. The company does not publish which blockchain networks it accepts for each asset, which is one of the bigger practical gaps in the published information, because sending USDT on the wrong network is one of the most common ways crypto deposits go wrong.

There are minimums, and they are small. The minimum crypto top-up is R10 or the asset’s own minimum, whichever is higher: 0.000008 BTC, 0.0002 ETH, 0.6 USDC, 0.6 USDT, 0.003 SOL, 0.8 XRP, 0.03 AVAX, 0.0008 BNB, 3 DOGE, 0.04 LINK, 2 TRX. No minimum is published for Shiba Inu. The fee for the crypto deposit itself and the question of who pays the blockchain network fee are not stated on the public pages.
On the fiat side, Spendl accepts deposits by card, PayShap, RTC, EFT, cash at participating tills and Zapper QR. Receiving from a card issuer is R1.20, receiving from an outside source is R2.75, an instant deposit is R12.00, and a SWIFT deposit is R55.00. ZAR moves out of the wallet only by EFT to a bank account in your name that has been through compliance checks; there is no sending crypto from the Spendl Wallet to a third-party wallet, and no converting ZAR back into crypto.
When you close the account, the residual balance is generally returned within 30 days, less any fees, holdbacks and amounts owed, though sanctions or anti-money-laundering holds can delay the payout. That is the kind of detail that does not matter until the day you need it, and then it matters a lot.
Paying with it every day
The day-to-day question is: how does the card behave at the till, online, and at the ATM? Spendl gives you both a virtual card and a physical card, which means you can start using the virtual one the moment the application clears, and then have a physical one in your hand a few days later. The card is loaded in rand, so any merchant in South Africa that takes a major card network should treat it as a domestic ZAR transaction.
What is not stated is just as important as what is. Spendl’s published terms and docs do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, so the practical question of whether you can tap-to-pay with your phone is not answered by the public material. Blocked merchant categories are not stated either, so you do not know in advance whether, say, gambling or cryptocurrency exchanges will be declined. The app itself is a progressive web app, which means it lives in your browser rather than in a native store, and the company publishes no app ratings.
There is no cashback. Spendl’s “rewards” are described as XP and points tied to levels, streaks and a leaderboard, with no monetary value stated. The dispute process, on the other hand, is reasonably clearly laid out: you notify Spendl promptly with evidence, typically within 30 to 60 days of the transaction posting, and disputes are run through the Programme Partner under the card network’s rules. The documentation warns that abusing the chargeback process can lead to higher fees, a reserve, restrictions or termination. Three-D Secure, the extra identity check that many online merchants trigger, is not discussed on the Spendl public pages, though it is part of the underlying network’s standard flow.
In South Africa, the practical experience is likely to feel familiar: tap to pay, swipe, insert the chip, or hand over the card. The limitations show up when you try to do something the documentation does not promise, like add the card to a mobile wallet, or take it abroad for more than a short trip. If those are the use cases you care about, the answer is: I cannot tell you, because the card’s own pages do not say.
What can go wrong
A few things are worth being clear-eyed about, because the published pages do not always volunteer them.
First, the company. Spendl is operated by Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd t/a Spendl Technologies, registered in Cape Town with company number 2023/154151/07. It holds FSP No. 53757 from the Financial Sector Conduct Authority and is described as “an FSCA-exempt Crypto Asset Service Provider” — the “exempt” word matters, because exempt CASP status is not the same as being a fully licensed CASP, and the regulatory perimeter is narrower than the wording might suggest. Spendl’s processing partner is Payaccsys Services (Pty) Ltd, a registered Third-Party Payment Provider. The bank that actually issues the card is not named in the public materials; Spendl refers to it as a licensed third-party “Programme Partner” and points to the terms for the bank identity disclosed on the Website.
Second, your money. Spendl describes its rand balances as held in a pooled client account at the Programme Partner, “not deposits at a registered bank in SPENDL’s name”, with no statutory deposit insurance. In other words, if the Programme Partner failed, you would be an unsecured creditor, not a depositor with a guaranteed claim. Spendl also says it “is not a custodian of standalone crypto holdings” — when you deposit crypto, the conversion is fast and the rand lands in your wallet, and the original tokens do not sit on Spendl’s books in a way that the documentation describes as custodial.
Third, controls. The documentation does not mention 2FA, in-app card freeze, or tokenised mobile wallets as features; it does mention a fraud hotline (011 207 1600) and the ability to block the card on request. Two-factor authentication and an in-app freeze button are common on cards in this category, but their absence from the published material is a small red flag for anyone who plans to carry a meaningful balance.
Fourth, support. The published email is [email protected], and the standard support hours of 08:00 to 17:00 South African time, Monday to Friday, are stated for business support. Card support hours are not stated separately, so the practical answer to “can I get help on Sunday?” is: not from what the company has published.
Finally, reputation. I searched for public complaints and reviews in October 2026 and did not surface a Trustpilot page or substantive Reddit threads. That is good news on one reading — no public outcry — and inconclusive on another, because the card is a small, South Africa-specific product and may simply not have generated enough public discussion to show up in those searches. Either way, take the absence of complaints as a soft signal, not a guarantee.
What to take instead
Spendl is one of a small set of crypto-funded cards on the market, and three of the most commonly compared alternatives sit alongside it.
| Card | Score | Card type and currency | Cost | FX and conversion | Top-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spendl | 5.0 / 10 | Virtual and physical, ZAR | R99.00 card, R25.00/month on Savvy/Guru | R45.00 + 1.56% international, plus a crypto conversion fee not published | 12 crypto assets + fiat |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, USD; physical “Coming soon” | Virtual $5 one-time; plans from free to Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | USD card use free; “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” on other currencies | USDC/USDT to USD account free; USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow also accepted |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency Mastercard, currency not separately stated | “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated | “No foreign transaction fee”; conversion at “live OTC rates” | Funding not stated |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, type and card currency not stated | “No extra fees”; no amounts listed | Conversion and FX fees not stated | Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral |
The International Visa Card scores 6.7 and is a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, currently virtual, that spends in USD. Card use in USD is free, foreign-currency transactions are billed at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, and the card is unavailable in a long list of countries including Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. The UNi Card scores 6.1, is a multicurrency Mastercard, and the company advertises no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and live OTC conversion. The Whop Card scores 5.2, runs on Visa, and is available in 31 U.S. states for consumers (and 41 for businesses); it advertises 5% cashback at select merchants like Uber, with no published fee schedule.
None of these are direct substitutes for Spendl in the sense of “same use case, better price”. If you are a South African resident spending in ZAR, Spendl is, by construction, more useful than any of these. If you are anywhere else, the international fee, the FSP-exempt CASP status and the lack of disclosed mobile wallet support all push you toward the alternatives.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Spendl to a South African resident who already holds crypto, wants to convert that crypto into rand, and plans to spend the balance mostly at home. The flow — top up with one of twelve assets, convert to ZAR, load the card, spend at the till — is the cleanest version of this story I have seen for a ZAR card. The fees are real but, if you spend mostly in rand and rarely use international POS or ATMs abroad, they are not ruinous. The R25.00 monthly fee is the line item to watch; it makes a lot of sense to consolidate your spending onto the card, or it is a slow leak.
I would not recommend Spendl to anyone outside South Africa, to anyone whose primary use case is foreign travel, or to anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay. I would also not recommend it as a place to park a large balance. The pooled client account at the Programme Partner is not a deposit at a bank, and the documentation is clear that the company is not a custodian of your crypto. If a meaningful amount of money is going to sit in this card, the better practice is to load only what you will spend in the next few weeks, and to keep the bulk of your crypto elsewhere.
A last practical check, before you sign up: confirm with Spendl directly which blockchain networks it accepts for USDT and USDC, because the public pages do not list them. Sending USDT on the wrong network is the most common way a crypto top-up goes wrong, and it is also the kind of error that is often irreversible.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Spendl card?
The Spendl card is a prepaid-style payment card that converts cryptocurrency into South African rand and lets you spend the balance anywhere a major card network is accepted. It is issued and processed through a licensed third-party programme partner, with Spendl acting as the front-end brand and app.
How does the Spendl card work?
You top up your Spendl Wallet with one of twelve supported cryptocurrencies or with fiat, the crypto is converted to ZAR, and you load the card from that rand balance. The card then behaves like a standard prepaid or debit card at the till, online or at the ATM.
Is Spendl a bank?
No. Spendl is operated by Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd t/a Spendl Technologies, which is an FSCA-exempt Crypto Asset Service Provider. Your rand balance is held in a pooled client account at a third-party programme partner, not as a deposit in a bank in Spendl’s name, and is not covered by statutory deposit insurance.
Who owns Spendl?
Spendl is a trading name of Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd, a Cape Town company with registration number 2023/154151/07. Its processing partner is Payaccsys Services (Pty) Ltd, a registered Third-Party Payment Provider. The bank that ultimately issues the card is not named on the public pages.
Is the Spendl card available outside South Africa?
No, not as a customer-facing product. The shop page says the card “ships across South Africa”, and the onboarding path is built around South African identity documents. Foreign nationals resident in South Africa can apply, but the card is not designed for a non-resident use case.
Does the Spendl card require KYC?
Yes. Sign-up collects identity, proof of residence, nationality, country of residence and date of birth. Most verifications complete in minutes, some take up to 24 hours, and you are notified by email. The level of verification depends on the plan and on whether you are a resident or foreign national.
How do I top up the Spendl card?
In the app, you can top up the Spendl Wallet with one of twelve cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, SOL, AVAX, BNB, LINK, TRX, XRP, DOGE, SHIB) or with fiat via card, PayShap, RTC, EFT, cash at a participating till, or Zapper QR. The card is then loaded from the rand balance, not directly from the crypto.
Can I add the Spendl card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
The public pages do not say. Neither the terms nor the help docs mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, and the Spendl app is a progressive web app rather than a native app with a wallet integration. Treat mobile wallet support as not confirmed by the company until Spendl publishes a clear answer.
How do I withdraw money from Spendl?
For rand, you withdraw by EFT to a bank account in your own name that has been through Spendl’s compliance checks. There is no option to send crypto from the Spendl Wallet to a third-party wallet, and no option to convert ZAR back into crypto from the wallet. Account closure returns the residual balance, less fees and holdbacks, generally within 30 days.
Is the Spendl card safe?
It carries the usual risks of a custodial-style prepaid product: the rand balance sits in a pooled client account at a programme partner rather than a deposit-protected bank account, and the company says it is not a custodian of standalone crypto holdings. I did not find a public record of major incidents, but the card is small and South Africa-specific, so the absence of public complaints is a soft signal rather than a guarantee.
App and neobank cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
