Ape Wallet review: a Telegram-first Visa you pay for from a USDT balance

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Ape Wallet card is a virtual Visa you open and use inside Telegram, paid for from a balance held in USDT. That single sentence tells you most of what matters. It is not a bank account, it does not arrive in the post, and the money you load onto it sits with an unnamed provider rather than with a bank. For a user already living on USDT who pays for things online in Telegram-adjacent life — SBP transfers, subscriptions, phone top-ups — that convenience is real. For everyone else, the gaps in what the card publishes about its own costs and its own company are the story.

Ape Wallet works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My overall mark is 5.5 out of 10. That is not a rejection; it is a “read the fine print twice before you commit” score.

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.5 out of 10, and the two halves of that number pull in opposite directions

The score breaks down unevenly, and the unevenness is the honest summary of this card.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 No country list is published; the site says it works “wherever Visa is accepted” and names no restrictions. Russian focus is visible in SBP payments and Russian-passport KYC.
Cost 7 / 10 No amounts are stated officially. The fee and the total are shown before you confirm an operation, and Telegram-username transfers between users carry no fees. Unofficial sources list every fee as free but also call the fee structure opaque.
Top-up options 4 / 10 The wallet balance is in USDT and issuance and top-ups are paid from it. Unofficial reporting says USDT on zkSync Era only.
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Only the brand “Ape Wallet” — no legal entity, registration or issuer named. Custodial. Unofficial rating 3.7 out of 10 (“Poor”), with complaints about opaque fees and blocking risk.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only: a “service” card and a card for Apple Pay / Google Pay, issued in about a minute. No ATM.
Total 5.5 / 10 Good for one specific user; thin and quiet everywhere else.

Who this suits: someone who holds USDT anyway, spends it on the internet rather than in shops, and is comfortable running a custodial balance inside a Telegram bot. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card in hand, who wants published prices, who wants to check who is liable for their money, or who expects a card to work at a shop’s counter anywhere in the world.

My reservation is not about the product concept. It is that a card which shows you the fee before each operation, while never publishing what the fee is, is asking for trust in a place where the published record is thinnest.

Will they give you the card?

The short answer: the card does not appear to restrict you by country, and it does not say it checks your nationality. The honest answer is that this is also partly an absence of information rather than a promise.

The site’s own words are that the card works “wherever Visa is accepted”. There is no country list. There is nothing in the public pages about citizenship versus residence, and nothing about who is excluded. What is visible is a Russian orientation: payments to SBP, and identity checks that use a Russian passport.

That combination is what you are buying. Broad geographic latitude, narrow identity assumptions. If you hold a Russian passport and pay SBP, you are in the designed-for case. If you hold some other passport and expect to clear the higher identity tier, the pages simply do not say what happens.

One structural detail worth understanding before you go further. Almost any card number begins with six or eight digits that identify the institution that issued it — a BIN or IIN. Shops can look that up and see which country issued the card. If it does not match the address you typed at checkout, some merchants apply extra scrutiny. That is not a quirk of crypto cards, and it is part of why a virtual card can behave oddly at unfamiliar merchants.

So: no country list, no citizenship rules published, no restrictions named. Treat “wherever Visa is accepted” as a statement about the payment network, not about what the provider will accept from you.

How to get it

Registration happens in the Telegram bot. The bot address published by the card is t.me/apewallet_web_bot. There is no App Store or Google Play listing — this is a Telegram product, not an app you download and update.

The onboarding splits into identity tiers, and this is the part that surprises people who expect a card to need full verification:

Which card you get depends on which tier you have reached:

Some operations only work with identity verification done. Beyond that, the pages do not state how long processing takes, and they do not state the reasons a check might be rejected — so if a check fails, you are left guessing.

Delivery is a non-question in the strict sense: these are virtual cards, so nothing is posted. Issuance is fast — about a minute.

Take a moment on the asymmetry here. The card can issue in a minute, and identity verification happens in tiers that are optional at the start and required later. Which means the account can be fully usable before the person behind it is fully known. That is the standard trade in this category, and it is worth naming rather than accepting silently.

Fees: what it really costs

The most important thing to know about Ape Wallet costs is that the card’s own pages do not put a number on most of them.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ape Wallet payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What the card states
Issuance Price not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion fee Not stated; the fee and total are shown before you confirm an operation
FX / currency fee Not stated
ATM fee Not stated (the card is virtual)
Decline fee Not stated
Limits (daily, monthly) Not stated
Card currency Not stated
Transfers to another user by Telegram username No fee

That is the official picture: a table with mostly empty cells. What fills them is unofficial. A third-party comparison site (cryptocards.so, 2026) lists all fees — monthly, issuance, FX, top-up, decline — as free, and simultaneously describes the fee structure as opaque. The same site lists the ATM fee as free and ATM limits as unlimited, which is not something a card with no ATM function can actually offer. Treat those rows as noise as much as information.

The two official statements you can rely on are these: the fee and the total amount are displayed before you confirm any operation, and transfers to other users by Telegram username carry no fees.

That “shown before you confirm” is genuinely useful, and it is the difference between this card and one that just quietly takes a percentage. It also means the practical habit for anyone using this card is to read the confirmation screen every single time, because it is the only place the price appears. If a cost ever surprises you at that moment, that is the only moment you can stop it.

Two more things to keep in mind. There are two card kinds — the service card and the Apple Pay / Google Pay card — and no paid tiers are described. And the issuance price is described as varying with promo codes, with holders of an active Apple/Google Pay card getting a discount on a service card. That tells you the price is not fixed at the top of the funnel, and it tells you the marketing intends you to hold both cards.

Everyday payments and fee transparency

Take a normal week and see where the unknowns land.

Everything else — a purchase where the payment is declined and then retried, a month of holding the card open and barely using it — lands in territory the card does not publish. Budgeting against this card from the published information alone is not possible. That is the practical conclusion, and it is the reason the cost mark is 7 rather than higher: the transparency of the confirmation screen is good, but there is nothing to compare it against.

Top up: how the balance gets there

You do not top up a card balance in the ordinary banking sense. You hold a wallet balance in USDT, and the card draws on it. Issuance is paid from that balance, and so are top-ups.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ape Wallet starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is the whole official picture:

That last line matters more than it looks. If the unofficial network claim is right and the card only reads USDT on zkSync Era, then a USDT balance you hold on Tron or on Ethereum is not the same money to this card. You would need to move it across networks, pay a network fee, and wait.

This is where blockchain transfers become the thing that actually bites people. Transfers are irreversible. Send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and it can be lost or require manual recovery with no guarantee of success. The on-chain network fee for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — so it is a cost the card will not show you in its own fee table.

There is also a stablecoin reality to keep in view. Stablecoins aim to hold a steady value against a fiat currency, and despite the name they are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. A balance denominated in USDT is not a bank deposit, and this is one of the cases where the difference bites.

Getting money back off

Withdrawal is USDT to a bank card or to SBP, with rubles credited. The card states it is processed immediately, and that arrival depends on the bank. What you need depends on your verification tier:

Fees and limits on withdrawals are not stated. That gap matters for anyone treating this as a way to move money rather than to spend money.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is the narrow part of this card. What you have is two virtual Visa products and no physical card:

Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you cannot tell in advance whether gambling, adult content, or anything else is off the table. The category codes that merchants are assigned (a four-digit code classifying a business by goods or services, specified in ISO 18245) mean blocks can be applied per issuer rather than by any law — and the list varies by issuer. With none published here, this is another “find out at the till” item.

Two mechanics are worth understanding, because both produce confusing declines:

Address verification also plays a part: the billing address you type is compared against issuer records, and that check is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. For a card with no stated billing country, that is another decline you cannot plan around. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign BINs simply because the lookup reveals what the card is.

On the money-back side, there is no cashback stated. There is a two-level referral programme that pays a share of card purchases made by people you invite — no percentages are given. Whether the Apple Pay card number you add to your phone is fully usable, or restricted in ways an issuer can impose (blocked on magnetic stripe, phone, or website use), is not something these pages address.

One practical note: how to delete an Ape Wallet account, and how disputes work if a charge goes wrong, are both not stated. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer with reason codes such as fraud or duplicate billing, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. So if something goes wrong with a purchase, you are currently relying on Telegram support.

What can go wrong

This is where the card is thinnest, and I want to be direct about it.

There is no named company. Only the brand “Ape Wallet” appears. No legal entity, no registration, no issuing bank. This is the single most consequential finding in this review. When you load USDT, you are trusting a brand name. You cannot check its licence, its regulator, or its insolvency position, because none of that is published.

It appears to be custodial, and that is not officially confirmed. A third-party site describes it as custodial — meaning the provider holds the credentials and the funds sit with them, so you must trust the provider completely. The card’s own pages do not state its custody model. Neither freeze controls nor two-factor authentication are described.

This is worth pausing on. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and the Ronin Network bridge (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries both counterparty risk and hack risk. The alternative — a self-custody-linked card where funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment — shifts that risk to you instead: you then bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. Neither side of that trade is comfortable; the difference is who carries it.

Nobody is saying anything about complaints. No official incidents found. No Ape Wallet user reviews found. No Trustpilot page found. So when I say “no complaints”, I mean “no record anyone could find”, which is a different and much weaker statement. The only rating that exists is the unofficial 3.7 out of 10, marked “Poor”, with concerns about custodial structure, opaque fees, and suspension risk.

That last one deserves attention on its own. Programme suspensions are not hypothetical in this category. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. A closure typically runs a notice period, then stops spending and loading, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026; that is a single unconfirmed source, but it shows the shape of what you would be doing.

Support is thin. A Telegram support handle (@apewallet_support) is published. The email field on the page is a placeholder that was never filled in. The site is in Russian, so Russian is clearly supported. Hours are not stated. And if the card is an interface to a company with no legal entity on the page, a Telegram chat is a thin channel for a disputed transaction.

A regulatory note, not advice. Under the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation (MiCA, Regulation (EU) 2023/1114, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023), e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. MiCA’s transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers — that is where you can check a provider’s status. None of this tells you where Ape Wallet sits; it tells you what to look for when you ask.

What to take instead

If the Telegram-first shape is not what you want, there are three comparable options I looked at, and they make the trade-offs clearer than they are on this card alone.

Card Score Card type Cost Funding
Ape Wallet 5.5 / 10 Virtual Visa (service card; Apple Pay / Google Pay card) Amounts not stated USDT balance (unofficial: zkSync Era only)
Azul Card 5.3 / 10 Virtual only; Mastercard accepted; no physical card yet Creation $20 one-time, refunded after $2,000 in spending; monthly maintenance $5 Crypto sent to the card in Telegram; coins and networks not named in the pages read; first top-up up to 10 minutes, later ones 1 to 5 minutes
Telecard 6.1 / 10 Virtual Mastercard, instant; no physical or metal card Standard $5 one-time; VIP $49 setup then $19/month; VIP reissue $15; main page says signing up is free with no monthly fee on the basic plan; $99 minimum deposit to activate, stated as “NOT a fee” USDT on Tron (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20); USDC on Ethereum (ERC-20); Polygon not supported; bank transfers “coming soon”
OnCards 4.6 / 10 Virtual, in Telegram; network not fixed on the site Not stated (“no hidden charges”, no amounts) “Fund your card using USDT BEP20”; bank transfers not accepted

Azul Card publishes numbers, which is its main advantage and its main disadvantage: it charges $20 to create the card (refunded after $2,000 of spending) and $5 a month, plus 4% on crypto top-up and $0.25 per transaction. It also publishes its exclusions in full — worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine, and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, with the note that “the restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality”. Knowing you are excluded is better than not knowing.

Telecard scores highest here at 6.1 and publishes the most complete fee list of the three: 1.5% currency conversion on non-USD payments, 0.5 USDT gas fee per successful card transaction, FX and cross-border fees “up to 3% each”, deposit fee advertised as 0%. Its conditions exclude users “blocked or sanctioned by the United States Government, including OFAC”, and it states its card currency as USD. It needs a $99 minimum deposit to activate, which it is careful to say is not a fee.

OnCards is the thinnest of the four: 4.6, no amounts anywhere, virtual only, and funding via USDT BEP20 with no bank transfers accepted.

Two structural notes that apply to the whole group:

My read: Azul if you want published numbers and clear exclusions; Telecard if you want the most documented cost structure and will hold USDT on Tron or Ethereum; Ape Wallet if USDT on zkSync and Telegram-native spending is your actual daily life. OnCards tells you least about itself.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card, with eyes open, to one specific person: someone who already holds USDT on zkSync Era, spends it online rather than in person, does not need a physical card, pays some people by Telegram username at no cost, and is comfortable that the balance is held by a provider that publishes no company name.

For that person the trade is fair and the convenience is real. The fee screen before each operation is a genuine design choice in your favour, and the Telegram-username transfers are free. Registration is quick, basic identity checks are light, and cards appear in about a minute.

I would not recommend it to anyone whose money depends on knowing who is liable for it, or who needs the card to work in physical shops, or who wants to plan a budget from published prices — because none of that is available here.

If you are going to use it anyway, three habits pay for themselves. Read the confirmation screen every time, since that is the only place a cost appears. Never hold more on the card than you would hold in cash in your pocket, because custody is custodial and unstated. And withdraw what you do not need rather than leaving it loaded, because a programme suspension stops spending and loading before it opens withdrawals.

2026 is the year of publication here; the conditions above are what was published when this was written, and a card with this little published detail is exactly the kind that changes quietly.

Frequently asked questions

What is Ape Wallet card?

A virtual Visa card you open and use through a Telegram bot. It does not arrive in the post: you get two digital products, a “service” card for subscriptions and online payments, and a card you add to Apple Pay or Google Pay. Spending draws on a wallet balance held in USDT. It is a payment tool, not a bank account, and no legal entity or issuer is named on its public pages.

How does Ape Wallet card work?

You register in the Telegram bot, load USDT into the wallet balance, and pay online or through your phone’s mobile wallet. The card converts and spends that balance like a prepaid card. The fee and the total amount are shown before you confirm each operation. Transfers to other users by Telegram username carry no fees. Everything runs inside Telegram — there is no App Store or Google Play listing.

Is Ape Wallet a bank?

No. Nothing on its public pages names a bank, a legal entity, a registration, or an issuer — only the brand “Ape Wallet”. Cards like this are usually issued by a licensed e-money or payment institution, with the crypto brand as a programme manager or front-end, but this card does not publish who plays that role for it. So treat it as a prepaid product from an unnamed provider, not as a bank relationship.

Who owns Ape Wallet?

The published pages identify only the brand name. No company, no registration, no issuer, no regulator, no address. That is not a small gap: it means you cannot check a licence, a regulator’s register, or the provider’s financial position before trusting it with a balance. Compare that with a provider listed in ESMA’s interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, which you can check yourself.

Does Ape Wallet require KYC?

Not to start. Top-ups and payments work after you register in the bot. Basic verification is email and phone. Passport verification uses a Russian passport and a selfie, and is what you need for buying crypto and for verified withdrawals. Some operations only work once verified. How long checks take, and why one might be rejected, is not stated — so plan for the possibility of a delay at the point where it suddenly matters.

How do I top up the card?

You do not load a card balance directly — you hold USDT in the wallet, and issuance and top-ups are paid from that balance. The card does not publish the deposit fee, the minimum, or who pays the network fee. Unofficial reporting says only USDT on zkSync Era is accepted. Transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong network can lose the funds; the on-chain network fee is charged by the blockchain, not by the card.

Is the Ape Wallet card free?

Nobody can fully answer that from official sources. No amounts are stated for issuance, the monthly fee, conversion, FX, ATM, or a decline. Unofficial sources list every fee as free while simultaneously calling the fee structure opaque — and one of those claims is that ATM fees are free, which cannot be true of a card with no ATM function. What is official: the fee and total appear before you confirm, and Telegram-username transfers are free.

Can I add the card to Apple Wallet?

There is a card specifically for that, alongside the service card. The Apple Pay / Google Pay card requires an email address and a confirmation code, whereas the service card can be issued without email. Both are virtual. Note that virtual means no physical card at all, and that issuers can restrict a tokenised number to specific channels — so something working in Apple Wallet does not guarantee it will work everywhere.

Is the Ape Wallet card safe?

Depends on what safety means here. The official record is quiet: custody is not stated, nor are freeze controls or two-factor authentication. Unofficial sources describe it as custodial, meaning the provider holds the funds. No official incidents and no user reviews were found at all — which is an absence of evidence, not a clean record. Against that, comparable custodial platforms have failed badly, and Visa has suspended card programmes before. Use it for spending, not as storage.

How do I withdraw money from Ape Wallet?

Withdrawals are USDT to a bank card or to SBP, with rubles credited. They are stated to be processed immediately, with arrival depending on your bank. With KYC you use your own card number or your SBP name from the passport check; without KYC you provide the recipient’s phone or card number plus their name and bank. Fees and limits are not stated — and note you are withdrawing to someone else’s account in the no-KYC case.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team