TapX charges $199 for a virtual card and names no issuer. Here is what that means for you.
TapX sells three virtual cards — Visa Universe, Mastercard Business and Visa E-commerce — that spend a USDT balance converted to US dollars at the moment of payment. That is the whole product in one sentence. There is no physical card, no metal card, no monthly fee, and no published list of which countries you can live in.
The score I am giving it is 5.1 out of 10. That number is not a mystery or a mood; below it I set out each of the six criteria it comes from, with the mark and my reason, so you can disagree with any single row rather than with the total.
Who this suits: someone already holding USDT who pays for online services — Google, OpenAI, ChatGPT, Microsoft, Meta, Shopify, AWS, Telegram, TikTok — and wants a card number that works at those merchants instead of juggling bank transfers. The E-commerce card is built for exactly that, and at 30.00 USDT it is the cheapest of the three.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, who wants to see a named issuer and a licence behind the card, who pays in a currency other than the US dollar, or who expects to withdraw cash. None of those are things the card has said it cannot do. They are simply things the card has not said it does.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Score
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Countries are not listed; the page says “works globally” and names no restrictions |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Issuance of 199.00 USDT (Universe), 50.00 USDT (Business), 30.00 USDT (E-commerce) plus a 10.00 USDT initial top-up; top-up fees of 3.0 % and 3.5 %, authorisation 0.50 USD; no monthly fee |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Starting top-up in USDT; no other method named on the page. Unofficial source data mentions USDT, USDC, ETH, BTC with networks undisclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | No legal entity, issuer or licence named. Unofficial: domain recently registered with hidden WHOIS, no confirmed complaints, no Trustpilot reviews found |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Three virtual cards; Universe and Business work with Apple Pay and Google Pay; no plastic. Unofficial: fee-free ATM, but sources disagree |
| Total | 5.1 / 10 | A usable product with a thin public disclosure layer |
Read that table with one question in mind: which row would hurt you most? For most people it is the second one. A 199.00 USDT card price is not a small number to lose, and you are paying it before you have spent anything.
Will they give you the card
The honest answer is that the card’s public pages do not tell you. There is no country list, no exclusions, and no statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents — which is precisely the question a great many readers arrive with. What the page does say is that every card is crypto-friendly and “works globally”, and that no country restrictions are named. That is the entire eligibility statement.
There is a second thing worth separating out, because “works globally” is doing more work than it appears to. Global *acceptance* and *eligibility* are different. A card can be accepted in many countries and still be obtainable only by people in a few. Cardex makes the same kind of claim — “one crypto card, 200+ countries” — and its App Store listing is Naira-focused, paying in naira. HyperCard’s App Store page says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, and again that is a statement about acceptance, not about who may sign up. So when a crypto card says “global”, check what it is actually asserting.
The wider category picture helps here. Card payments involve several parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes messages and sets rules, the issuer is a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under that network’s licence, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end that markets the card. So “we work globally” can mean a network acceptance footprint, a marketing intention, or a licensing position — and only one of those three is what you care about.
Sanctions and country screening are the reason this matters. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address. Under EU customer due diligence, a politically exposed person check and a sanctions check are part of the standard process. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or, where necessary, end the relationship. That is why accounts close or freeze pending documents, and it is a normal outcome rather than a judgement about you.
I want to be careful here: I am not suggesting there is any way around an identity check or a sanctions rule, and there is not one worth looking for. If your citizenship or residence makes you ineligible, the answer is no, and that is the end of it. What I can tell you is that TapX does not publish who it answers yes to, so you may be in the position of asking a support channel and finding out late.
How to get it
Three cards, three different levels of identity checking — and this is the part TapX is clearest about, which is to its credit.
- Visa Universe — phone number, international passport, face photo. Issued within 2 minutes after verification.
- Mastercard Business — phone number, international passport. Issued within 2 minutes after verification.
- Visa E-commerce — phone number only.
So the level of checking you face is set by which card you buy, not by an account-wide tier. Proof of address and age are not stated. Rejection reasons are not stated either, which means if you are refused you will not be told on what ground.
The steps themselves are short: choose the card, verify to the level that card requires, then pay the card price plus a 10.00 USDT initial top-up. Universe and Business are issued within 2 minutes after that verification completes. All three cards are virtual — there is no physical or metal card listed, so there is no delivery step and no waiting for post. The card currency is stated as USD in the fees section, while prices are quoted in USDT.
The reason this checking ladder is worth understanding is that it is unusual. In the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and a PEP determination. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic KYC also validates proof-of-address documents against records. TapX’s E-commerce card asking for a phone number only sits well below that pattern. That does not make it illegitimate — smaller programmes and prepaid products often operate lighter — but it does mean you should understand what you are opting into when you pick the cheapest card, and it does not tell you what happens to a card that was opened with a phone number if you later need to prove anything about yourself.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline numbers are the first thing you see, and they are not small. Universe costs 199.00 USDT to issue, Business 50.00 USDT, E-commerce 30.00 USDT. Each one additionally requires a 10.00 USDT initial top-up. There is no monthly fee on any of the three, which is genuinely attractive compared with cards that charge a standing subscription.

After that come the per-transaction charges, and these are where the ranking of the three cards inverts. Universe charges a 3.0 % top-up fee, Business 3.5 %, E-commerce 3.5 %. Universe charges a 0.50 USD authorisation fee, as does Business. E-commerce is the odd one out: 0.10 USD authorisation under 1 USD, free above. Business adds an Apple Pay commission of 0.20 %. E-commerce adds a 3DS fee of 0.03 USD and a high-decline penalty of 0.80 USD if declines exceed 10 %. An FX fee is not stated.
| Fee or limit | Universe | Business | E-commerce |
|---|---|---|---|
| Issuance | 199.00 USDT | 50.00 USDT | 30.00 USDT |
| Initial top-up (required) | 10.00 USDT | 10.00 USDT | 10.00 USDT |
| Monthly fee | none | none | none |
| Top-up fee | 3.0 % | 3.5 % | 3.5 % |
| Authorisation fee | 0.50 USD | 0.50 USD | 0.10 USD under 1 USD, free above |
| Apple Pay commission | not stated | 0.20 % | not stated |
| 3DS fee | not stated | not stated | 0.03 USD |
| High-decline penalty | not stated | not stated | 0.80 USD if declines exceed 10 % |
| FX fee | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| ATM fee | not stated | not stated | not stated |
Limits, from the same disclosure:
| Limit | Universe | Business | E-commerce |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | 1,000,000.00 USD | 500,000.00 USD | No limits |
| Per transaction | 80,000.00 USD | 500,000.00 USD | 20,000.00 USD |
| Daily | 1,000,000.00 USD | 500,000.00 USD | No limits |
Now let me take three payments you would actually make, and run them through those numbers. This is where an abstract fee table becomes a real figure or a bad surprise.
A €12 streaming subscription, paid monthly on E-commerce. Your issuance was 30.00 USDT plus a 10.00 USDT top-up, already spent. For each payment you fund the card, and the top-up fee is 3.5 % — that is roughly 0.42 USD on a 12 USD load, before anything else. Authorisation is free above 1 USD, so nothing there. If the merchant runs a 3-D Secure check, that is 0.03 USD. Whether an FX fee applies to a euro-denominated charge is not stated, and that single missing line is the one that would matter most for a non-dollar subscription. If the merchant declines the charge and your decline rate climbs past 10 %, there is a 0.80 USD penalty. Twelve subscriptions at 12 USD each is a 144 USD monthly load, and the top-up fee on that alone is 5.04 USD — recurring, not one-off.
A 90 USD software subscription on Universe. Here the arithmetic is much less flattering. Issuance alone was 199.00 USDT, plus 10.00 USDT to open it. To fund 90 USD you pay a 3.0 % top-up fee, about 2.70 USD, and the authorisation costs 0.50 USD. If that authorisation is declined — and declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds that may remain for several days, typically up to 7 — you pay again next attempt. Universe is the most expensive card to open by a wide margin, and the card is the one most explicitly aimed at “favourable conditions for commissions and conversion”, which is a claim rather than a number.
Paying a contractor 4,000 USD on Business. Issuance 50.00 USDT, top-up fee 3.5 %, so 140 USD on a 4,000 USD load, plus 0.50 USD authorisation, plus 0.20 % on the Apple Pay leg if you use Apple Pay — another 8 USD on that transaction. Per-transaction and daily limits are both 500,000.00 USD, so the amount itself is not a constraint. What constrains it is the 3.5 % on the way in, which is the real price of moving value onto this card rather than any per-payment charge. Note also that Business is capped at 500,000.00 USD monthly while Universe allows 1,000,000.00 USD and E-commerce states no monthly limit at all — so the most expensive card has the highest ceiling and the cheapest has the least restriction, which is not the usual pattern.
Three caveats I cannot resolve for you. The FX fee is not stated anywhere on the pages, so if you spend outside the US dollar you are in undocumented territory. The ATM fee is not stated either, and there is an unofficial report of fee-free ATM use with sources disagreeing — treat that as unverified. And the card currency is USD; whether you can hold and spend anything else is not stated.
How to Top up
The published route is narrow. The initial top-up is in USDT. No other funding method is listed on the page. Unofficial starting data refers to USDT, USDC, ETH and BTC through the dashboard, but the card itself does not confirm that and does not disclose the networks — so treat those four as reported rather than supported.

The fee on the way in is 3.0 % to 3.5 % depending on card, as set out above. The minimum is the 10.00 USDT initial top-up. Who pays the network fee, and whether there are fiat routes at all, is not stated.
That “not stated” about networks is not a technicality. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, among others, and sending on the wrong one is a common and expensive mistake: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Fees also differ sharply by network. On Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, which means a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send at all. Tron prices internally with bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And the choice of token matters too — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
Stablecoins themselves carry their own risk. The BIS in July 2025 put about 90 % of stablecoin market capitalisation in USDT and USDC, but the BIS also notes that stablecoins are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Sending value to an exchange or to yourself is irreversible in the meantime.
So the practical answer to “how do I top up” is: in USDT, on a network the provider confirms, after asking them which network that is — and be aware that whoever holds your funds at that moment matters. In a custodial arrangement, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Custodial platforms have a record of failure: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so that cost sits outside anything TapX lists.
Withdrawing money from a TapX card is not stated. If you only need to spend what you load and never exit, that may not matter to you — but if you do need to get back to a bank balance, you are asking a channel that the page does not document.
Paying with it every day
Three virtual cards, no plastic. Universe and Business work with Apple Pay and Google Pay; the page also says every card is ready for those two. E-commerce is marketed for online services specifically, naming Google, OpenAI, ChatGPT, Microsoft, Meta, Shopify, AWS, Telegram and TikTok. Blocked categories are not stated.
The good part of virtual-only is frictionless: you get a card number, put it in a wallet, and there is no postal wait. Apple Pay is the well-engineered path here — it replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. Universe and Business are the two cards that make sense in a phone wallet.
The friction is at the merchant, and it is worth understanding why. A card number starts with an issuer identification number of 6 or 8 digits that identifies the issuing institution; merchants can look it up and see which institution and in which country the card came from, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, but it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which causes declines. This is the single most useful thing to internalise: a decline on a crypto card is often a category rule, not a fault, and it has nothing to do with whether you did anything wrong.
A merchant category code is the four-digit number classifying a business by goods or services, and MCC 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries. Many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. TapX does not publish a blocked-category list, so you cannot know in advance what you will be turned away from.
Two other everyday-use gaps. Universe carries a claim of “favourable conditions for commissions and conversion”, but no rewards programme is described, so there is nothing to earn. And on support, there is no channel listed; the page links to a Telegram bot, Instagram, X and Facebook. Disputes are not stated — and that matters more than it sounds, because a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.
What can go wrong
Start with the disclosure gap, because for a card you are funding with your own crypto it is the dominant risk.
The public pages show only “© Copyright TapxCard, 2026”. No legal entity is named, no issuer, no licence. Search for reviews of the brand on Trustpilot and Reddit returned no pages at all about this brand, and no Trustpilot page for TapxCard was found, so there is no recurring complaint data either — which sounds reassuring and is not. Absence of complaints about a brand nobody has written about is not a track record. An unofficial aggregator note says Scamadviser flagged the domain as recently registered with hidden WHOIS, with no confirmed scam reports; that is third-party reporting, not something the card confirms, and hidden WHOIS on a young domain is common and not proof of anything.
The category history is the reason to sit up. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Note the pattern in both cases: the network is not the operator and can pull the programme. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. When closures happen, the usual sequence is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.
For context on why licensing is the thing to look for: in the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them — and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. And a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, which means a crypto card often rests on two licences at once. ESMA keeps a public interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, and checking it is the fastest way to turn this section from opinion into fact — but note that MiCA’s transitional period runs only until 1 July 2026 or until a provider receives or is refused authorisation, whichever comes first, so “grandfathered” is a temporary state.
The remaining risks are ordinary but real. Declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds for several days, up to 7 typically — and on E-commerce, a decline rate above 10 % costs you 0.80 USD per occurrence. A transaction can look fraudulent to a merchant because the BIN reads as foreign or prepaid, and 3-D Secure liability for fraudulent online payments can shift in ways that critics argue lands on the cardholder. Only the Business card is stated to support 3-D Secure payments; other security controls are not stated. When your money is in a stablecoin, remember Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — stablecoins are not censorship-proof, in either direction. And on taxes: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at fair market value on the transaction date, which can make each card payment a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice — but if you will be spending crypto regularly, treat each payment as a possible taxable event and check your own position. In the EU, deciding whether a card is a payment service or a regulated crypto service depends on the actual model, so the answer is not uniform across jurisdictions.
What to take instead
None of the three alternatives below is clearly better on the numbers; I am listing them because they answer the TapX gaps in different ways, and because you should be comparing rather than defaulting.
| Card | Score | What it is | Cost | Fees | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TapX | 5.1 / 10 | Three virtual cards, no plastic | 199.00 / 50.00 / 30.00 USDT, plus 10.00 USDT to open | 3.0–3.5 % top-up; 0.50 USD authorisation on two cards; FX not stated | USDT officially; USDT, USDC, ETH, BTC reported but unconfirmed |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; App Store listing is naira-focused | not stated | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best; no percentage published | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes; aimed at Nigeria | “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated | not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or naira bank transfer; networks not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid card, network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR | not stated; no fees listed | not stated on readable pages | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated |
Where Cardex wins: it is the only one of the four that lists physical cards alongside virtual ones, and it states its conversion approach in plain language — conversion happens at the moment of payment, at a rate it says is chosen by scanning global exchange rates. That is an explanation, not a number, so you still cannot model it, but it is more than TapX’s bare “favourable conditions for commissions and conversion”. Where Cardex loses: naira framing, and no published price or fee percentage at all.
Where CardFlow wins: free card creation is stated outright, and a virtual USD Mastercard in 3 minutes is a clear, cheap answer if free is your priority. Where it loses: it is positioned for Nigeria, fees are not stated, and its funding options include a bank transfer route the others do not offer.
Where HyperCard wins: it holds its balance in USD *or* EUR, which is the one multi-currency capability any of these four describes. Where it loses: the lowest score here, the card network is not stated on the App Store page, and no fees are published anywhere on the readable pages.
The comparison to keep in mind is not TapX versus these three. It is TapX versus the risk of having no card at all. If your problem is that an ordinary bank card is out of reach, every one of these is a workaround of some kind, and the right question is which compromise you can live with — 199.00 USDT and no named issuer, or a free card aimed at one country, or a physical card with an unstated fee.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend TapX to someone specific: you hold USDT already, you pay for a stack of online subscriptions in US dollars, you are comfortable with a 3.0–3.5 % charge on every top-up, and you have checked in the relevant register that the entity behind the product is licensed where you live. You are not looking for cash, you are not looking for a card to hand over in person, and you accept that if the programme is wound down, you will be asked to withdraw a balance from a platform you cannot easily switch away from.
I would not recommend it as your first card, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose inability to get a bank card is temporary — an expired document, a recent move, a name mismatch. Those problems have better answers that cost less. I would also steer away from it if you spend in anything other than the US dollar, since the FX fee is not stated, or if you rely on the card for anything you cannot afford to lose the value of.
The honest summary is that TapX is a plausible product with a thin public record. The product logic is coherent — three tiers of identity checking matched to three price points, no monthly fee, virtual cards that work in the two mobile wallets everyone uses, and a card specifically aimed at online-service merchants. Against that: the most expensive tier costs 199.00 USDT to open, the funding route is a single asset, no issuer or licence is published, the domain is young, and the absence of reviews is absence of information rather than absence of problems. At 5.1 out of 10, that is a card I would size carefully — top up a small amount first, not the balance you were planning to move.
Frequently asked questions
What is TapX card?
TapX is a crypto card service selling three virtual cards — Visa Universe, Mastercard Business and Visa E-commerce. You load a balance, starting in USDT, and the card spends it as US dollars. There is no physical card, no metal card, and no monthly fee on any of the three tiers. It is aimed mainly at paying for online services from a crypto balance rather than at everyday in-person spending.
How does TapX card work?
You buy one of the three cards, complete the identity checks that card requires — phone number only for E-commerce, phone plus passport for Business, plus a face photo for Universe — then pay the card price and a 10.00 USDT initial top-up. Universe and Business are issued within 2 minutes after verification. Thereafter you top up and spend. Fees and limits are quoted in US dollars, prices in USDT.
Is TapX a bank?
No bank is named, and that is the point to notice. The public pages show only “© Copyright TapxCard, 2026”, with no legal entity, no issuer and no licence stated. The card sits on the Visa and Mastercard networks, but those networks license issuers rather than issuing consumer cards themselves and can suspend a programme. Treat TapX as a card front-end until you find a named issuer.
Who owns TapX?
The pages do not say. No company registration, no parent entity, no issuer and no licence appear on the public material. An unofficial third-party note flags the domain as recently registered with hidden WHOIS, with no confirmed scam reports attached. That is not proof of anything and not a accusation either — it simply means the ownership question is currently unanswered, and you would want it answered before you fund it.
Can I use TapX card in my country?
That depends on two separate things. Acceptance is broad — the page says the card works globally, and one alternative claims more than 176 countries — but acceptance is not eligibility. TapX publishes no country list and makes no statement about citizenship or residence, including for Russian or Belarusian citizens. Where you can be accepted is not the question; where you can be issued the card is, and only they can answer that.
How do I get a TapX card?
Choose the card, verify to its level, and pay. Universe needs a phone number, an international passport and a face photo, and costs 199.00 USDT. Business needs a phone number and passport at 50.00 USDT. E-commerce needs a phone number at 30.00 USDT. Each also requires a 10.00 USDT initial top-up, and Universe and Business are issued within 2 minutes after verification.
Does TapX card require KYC?
Yes, and the level depends on the card. E-commerce asks for a phone number only. Business adds an international passport. Universe adds a face photo to that. Proof of address and age are not stated, and neither are rejection reasons — so if you are refused, the stated reason will not be given to you. Note that a phone-number-only card is well below standard EU due diligence, which normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, documents, sanctions and PEP status.
How do I top up the TapX card?
Officially, in USDT — that is the only funding method listed. Other sources mention USDC, ETH and BTC through the dashboard, but the card does not confirm that and does not disclose the networks. Top-up fees are 3.0 % on Universe and 3.5 % on Business and E-commerce, with a 10.00 USDT minimum on the initial load. Transfers are irreversible, so confirm the network with support before sending.
Is TapX card safe?
There is no published answer, and I would not want one invented. No legal entity, issuer or licence is named; there is no Trustpilot page and no review thread to read; and the domain is reported as recently registered with hidden WHOIS. Against that, no confirmed scam reports were found. The category has real precedent for programme shutdown, so check the relevant public register for the entity behind the card before you commit meaningful funds.
Is TapX card free?
No. Issuance is 199.00 USDT for Universe, 50.00 USDT for Business and 30.00 USDT for E-commerce, each with a required 10.00 USDT initial top-up. There is no monthly fee on any of them, which is the closest thing to free about it. Ongoing costs are the 3.0–3.5 % top-up fee, a 0.50 USD authorisation fee on Universe and Business, and on E-commerce a 0.03 USD 3DS fee plus a 0.80 USD penalty if declines exceed 10 %.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
