The dollar card built for Nigeria, priced like a prepaid product

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Cardify Africa is a virtual dollar card aimed squarely at people in Nigeria who need to pay online in US dollars and have no easy access to an ordinary dollar card. The site says it is “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”. I scored it 3.7 out of 10 — a low mark, and not because the product is dishonest or unusable, but because the published detail is thin, the fee structure works against you, and the card exists only as a virtual Mastercard or Visa with no physical version, no ATM and no stated withdrawal path.

Cardify Africa works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Read on if you are that person, or if you are simply outside Nigeria wondering whether you can get one. What follows covers who the card is issued to, how you sign up, what a payment actually costs you in the background, how you top the balance up, what can go wrong, and what else is worth looking at. Where the card’s own public pages do not say something, I say so rather than filling the gap.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who this card is really for

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Dollar cards are for users in Nigeria; the site says “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”
Cost 3 / 10 Prepaid: 5% issuance on the funded amount and $2.50 a month; unofficial: 2.5% cross-border fee
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDT on the Tron network only, or naira from a Nigerian bank; the prepaid card is USDT-TRC20 only
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, UK; issuer not named; Trustpilot 2.7 from 68 reviews, with charges on failed payments
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Mastercard and Visa only; Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; no ATM

Total: 3.7 / 10

This is a card for Nigerian and African users paying online in dollars. If that is you — a freelancer invoicing abroad, a person paying for software, subscriptions, or an imported order — it does one narrow job, and the narrowness is the whole design. Dollars in, dollars spent, no physical card, no cash machine.

Who it does not suit is wider:

Will they give you the card

They will, if you are in Nigeria and clear two identity levels. The card’s stated audience is users in Nigeria, and the site describes the product as designed specifically for Nigerians and Africans. Beyond that, the card publishes no country list and no exclusions — so the honest answer to “will they give it to me in my country?” is that the card says Nigeria, and says nothing about everyone else.

The card itself is a virtual dollar card in three flavours:

Card Network Form Currency
Basic Dollar Card Mastercard Virtual debit USD
Standard Dollar Card Visa Virtual debit USD
Prepaid Dollar Card Mastercard Virtual USD

The differences in price between the three are not stated. For the Basic and Standard dollar cards the site says only “Low Charges”, without amounts.

There is no physical card at all. Delivery is virtual, so there is nothing shipped to you and nothing to wait for.

One thing worth understanding before you go further: Cardify Africa is not a bank. It says so itself. It is the trading name of CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, a UK company, number 14295286. In Nigeria there is a separate entity, CARDIFY COMPANY LTD; in the US, Cardify Africa Technology Inc of Dover, Delaware. It works with licensed partners, and it does not name the issuer of the card or the licences it holds. The Terms are governed by Nigerian law, with the courts of Nigeria. The Terms were last updated on 8 January 2024.

How to get it

You need email, phone and a PIN first. The card runs two verification levels.

Level 1 is a verified email address, a verified phone number, and a 4-digit PIN. This level is mandatory.

Level 2 asks for a regulatory ID number — BVN for Nigerians — confirmed by a code sent to the phone registered to that ID, plus two-factor authentication through either an authenticator app or an email one-time code. For other countries the card says similar methods may apply.

What the card does not publish: what each level unlocks, how long approval takes, and why an application would be refused. It also does not state whether proof of address or proof of age is required. So if you are weighing whether to expect a document request, I cannot answer from the card’s own pages — you will find out by applying.

You will need the app. It is on iOS and Android. The app also covers adding your virtual card to a mobile wallet, which matters more here than on a normal card because there is no plastic to fall back on.

What it really costs: Fees, charges and the everyday payments behind them

The costs table is short because the card publishes little. Here is everything I could find, with the source marked.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cardify Africa payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value Source
Prepaid card issuance 5% of the amount funded Card
Prepaid monthly maintenance $2.50 per month, after the first two months, if a balance remains Card
Basic / Standard card charges “Low Charges”, no amounts given Card
Cross-border fee 2.5% outside the US Unofficial, third-party comparison
Declined transaction fee $0.06 (US), $0.40 (outside US) Unofficial, third-party comparison
ATM fee Not applicable — card is virtual Card
Prepaid funding limits Minimum $25, maximum $10,000 Card
Dollar card spend limits Not stated —

Not stated officially anywhere I could find: the general fee schedule for the dollar cards. The card gives a 5% issuance charge and a $2.50 monthly fee for the prepaid product and the phrase “Low Charges” for the other two, and then nothing. The 2.5% cross-border figure and the declined-transaction charges come from a third-party comparison published in 2026, not from Cardify Africa. Treat them as a signal about what to ask, not as a confirmed schedule.

Now three ordinary payments, and which fees actually bite.

A $30 subscription billed in dollars, on a prepaid card. You fund $30, and the card takes a 5% issuance fee. If the balance is still there two months later, $2.50 comes out of it every month after that. The $25 minimum and $10,000 maximum apply to that funding.

A $12 purchase, and the merchant declines it. Under the unofficial figures, a failed transaction outside the US costs $0.40. This is the fee that appears most often in complaints about cards like this one, and it is the one that has no upside attached to it — you get nothing for it.

Anything bought from a merchant outside the US, on the Basic or Standard dollar card. The unofficial cross-border figure is 2.5%. On a card that only exists to spend dollars online, most of your payments are going to be cross-border, which makes this the fee most likely to matter and the one the card itself does not publish.

The honest summary: you can compute the prepaid card’s own fees precisely, because they are published as percentages and fixed amounts. For the Basic and Standard dollar cards, you cannot. That is the gap.

How to Top up the card

For the dollar cards, there are two routes.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cardify Africa starts with a transfer to the right network

For the prepaid card, the route narrows to USDT-TRC20 only. No bank transfer, no other network.

Mind the small print on the prepaid card:

Minimum funding, network fee and deposit fee for the dollar cards are not stated. A third-party comparison from 2026 puts the minimum at $5, but that is unofficial and conflicts with the $25 minimum the card states for the prepaid card, so treat the two as belonging to different products and believe the card’s own number.

One thing to understand about networks, because it is where money is most often lost: USDT exists on several chains, including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the transfer is irreversible. The network cannot freeze or return it, and recovery then depends on the provider’s support and goodwill. Tron fees are also paid in the chain’s own way — bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX — which is a separate cost from anything on the table above.

One more asymmetry: USDC is not a native option on Tron. Circle stopped supporting USDC there in February 2024. So if you hold USDC rather than USDT, the TRC20 route is not there for you.

Paying with it every day

You add the virtual card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and that is your whole physical interface.

Everyday feature What the card says
Apple Pay / Google Pay Supported; virtual cards can be added
Physical card Not offered
ATM withdrawal Not applicable — virtual
Rewards or cashback Not stated
Blocked merchant categories Not stated
Dispute or chargeback process Not stated

The gap in that table is the last two rows, and they are the two that bite hardest. If a payment goes wrong, the card publishes no dispute procedure. That matters more on this card than on a normal bank card, because with a virtual card from a non-bank provider there is no branch to walk into and no obvious fallback.

The wider category explains why a virtual dollar card can be awkward in ways that have nothing to do with this issuer. A card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number, and merchants can look it up to see which institution and country issued it. If that issuer country differs from your billing address, the merchant may apply extra scrutiny — this is why a card issued in one country can look foreign in another shop. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright for that reason. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.

Two more things that can catch you:

What can go wrong

Here is the honest risk picture, in the order I would worry about it.

Charges on failed payments. User reports describe being charged on transactions that failed — $0.40 to $1, in reviews from July 2025 to May 2026. This is the single most repeated complaint theme.

Money not arriving, or arriving late. Reports run from two days to over a week for card creation and funding, dating from 2025. There are also allegations of lost funds, from March 2025 and August 2026.

Slow processing and weak support. Support complaints run across 2023 to 2025: slow processing, and an app or support desk that did not help.

Weak app. Unofficial, the Google Play rating is 4.3 from 553 reviews. The iOS and Android store ratings were not readable at the time I checked.

Weak support channels. Email, live chat, WhatsApp on +234 815 163 3333, and phone lines open 9am to 5pm on weekdays, with a helpdesk at help.cardify.co. That is a reasonable set of options, but the phone hours are a Nigerian business day, not yours.

Custody. This is not a bank, and funds are held via partners. It describes encryption, multi-factor authentication, real-time fraud monitoring, and a 4-digit PIN for outbound transactions. A 4-digit PIN is thin by modern standards, and with a custodial arrangement you are trusting the provider with access rather than holding the keys yourself. Custodial platforms have a real history of failure — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).

The card programme can be switched off under you. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

Sector-wide context worth knowing. African virtual dollar card providers tightened or paused after chargeback fraud at issuer Union54 in July 2022. I found no dated licence news for this card, and the prepaid card and foreign bank accounts are still marked “New” on the site.

Review scores. On Trustpilot, 2.7 out of 5 from 68 reviews, with 34% one-star, read on 21 October 2026.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up, none of them perfect.

Cardify Africa Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
My score 3.7 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who it is for Nigeria, dollar cards for users in Nigeria “One crypto card, 200+ countries” Nigeria: “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” No country list on official pages
Card form Virtual only Virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard, about 3 minutes Prepaid
Networks Mastercard, Visa VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Mastercard Not stated
Costs 5% issuance + $2.50/month prepaid; others “Low Charges” Not stated “Creating a virtual card is completely free” Not stated
Funding NGN bank transfer, or USDT on Tron; prepaid USDT-TRC20 only USDT, USDC, BTC BTC, USDT, ETH, or Naira bank transfer Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH

On the evidence, Cardex is the strongest of the four. It markets a single card for 200+ countries, offers both virtual and physical cards, and runs on four networks including VERVE and UnionPay, which matters in Nigeria where international rails are patchier. Its conversion is real-time, and the site says an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend — no fee percentage is published. Its App Store listing is Naira-focused, paying in Naira, which is a point in your favour if you are Nigerian.

CardFlow is the one to look at if the Cardify issuance charge is what stops you: creating a virtual card is stated to be completely free, and the virtual USD Mastercard is free to create. It is aimed at Nigeria, funding runs through Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer. Its monthly fee is not stated.

HyperCard is the vaguest of the three. The App Store page says the card works in more than 176 countries — that is about acceptance, not eligibility — and the balance sits in USD or EUR. Networks are not stated on the page I could read.

A caveat that applies to all three: none of them states fees clearly either. Cardify Africa at least publishes two real numbers.

Who I would recommend it to

If you are in Nigeria, you need to pay in dollars online, and you can decide the whole amount you will ever load before you load it — Cardify Africa does that job, and the prepaid card’s costs are at least legible. Just fund it once, well.

If you are outside Nigeria, or you need cash, or a physical card, or you spend small amounts often, I would look elsewhere first. And if your decision depends on the exchange rate you get, or on fees on ordinary dollar cards, do not sign up until you have asked Cardify Africa directly what it charges — because it does not say.

Frequently asked questions

What is Cardify Africa?

It is a virtual dollar card provider that says it is designed specifically for Nigerians and Africans, with dollar cards positioned for users in Nigeria. It offers three products: a Basic Dollar Card on Mastercard, a Standard Dollar Card on Visa, and a Prepaid Dollar Card on Mastercard. It is not a bank — it is the trading name of CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, a UK company.

How does the Cardify Africa card work?

You verify your identity, get a virtual card number, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and spend. The prepaid product works like a stored balance: you fund it once and it draws down. Funding comes from a NGN wallet by Nigerian bank transfer or from USDT sent to a Tron-network address. There is no physical card and no ATM.

Is Cardify Africa a bank?

No, and it says so. It works with licensed partners rather than holding a banking licence, and it does not name the issuer of the card or the licences behind it. Funds are custodial, held via partners. That means your money depends on the provider and its partners, not on a bank deposit guarantee — which is a different thing entirely.

Who owns Cardify Africa?

The trading name belongs to CARDIFY TECHNOLOGY LIMITED, registered in the UK under number 14295286. In Nigeria there is a separate entity, CARDIFY COMPANY LTD, and in the US, Cardify Africa Technology Inc of Dover, Delaware. The Terms were last updated on 8 January 2024 and are governed by Nigerian law.

Is Cardify Africa available outside Nigeria?

The card’s FAQ positions the dollar cards for users in Nigeria, and the site says “Designed specifically for Nigerians & Africans”. It publishes no country list and no exclusions, so I cannot tell you who else is accepted or refused. If you are not in Nigeria, treat eligibility as unconfirmed until you ask them directly.

What does it cost to use the card?

The prepaid card charges 5% issuance on the amount you fund and $2.50 per month after the first two months, if a balance remains. For the Basic and Standard dollar cards the site says only “Low Charges”, with no amounts. A third-party comparison from 2026 lists a 2.5% cross-border fee outside the US and $0.06 or $0.40 for a declined transaction, but those are unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

How do I top up the card, and can I do it more than once?

Dollar cards are funded from an NGN wallet by bank transfer from any Nigerian bank, or with USDT sent to a Tron-network address. The prepaid card is different: USDT-TRC20 only, and it can be funded only once. Its activation link is valid for 60 days, the card lasts three years, and it terminates automatically if the balance falls below $2.50.

Can I use the Cardify card at an ATM or in a shop?

No ATM, because the card is virtual. For shops, you add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and online payments are what the product is built for. Expect friction abroad: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the issuer lookup shows the card type and issuing country, and address verification is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards.

Is Cardify Africa safe?

It describes encryption, multi-factor authentication, real-time fraud monitoring and a 4-digit PIN for outbound transactions — a thin PIN by current standards. Funds are custodial, so you are trusting the provider rather than holding keys yourself, and crypto transfers are irreversible. On Trustpilot the card scores 2.7 from 5 out of 68 reviews, with repeated complaints about charges on failed transactions.

Is it worth it?

For a Nigerian user paying a fixed set of dollar bills online, occasionally, yes — the fees are legible and it works. For frequent small payments, for cash, for a physical card, or for anyone outside Nigeria, no. The 5% issuance charge and $2.50 monthly fee punish low balances, and the prepaid card can only be funded once, so there is no second chance to resize your mistake.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team