I read SolCard's terms, pricing and complaints, and here is where the card holds up and where it does not

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have tried to open an ordinary bank account and been turned down, a crypto card is a reasonable thing to look at next. SolCard is one of the options. I went through its product pages, its terms and conditions, its help material and its public complaint history to work out what this card actually does, what it charges, and what kind of person it works for. My score is 5.6 out of 10 — a middle-of-the-road result that hides some genuinely useful features and some genuinely serious drawbacks.

SolCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.6 out of 10, and the split is wider than the number

I scored the card on six criteria, and the marks range from 3 to 8, which is why a single average is less useful than usual here. The card is easy to get hold of and reasonable to spend from, and its limits are generous on the paid tier. But its cost structure on the free tier is punishing, and the reliability of the operation behind it is the weakest thing about it.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Acceptance worldwide with “eligibility may vary by region”; residents of Hong Kong and countries under comprehensive UN, US, EU or UK sanctions are excluded
Cost 4 / 10 Virtual: 5% plus USD 10 top-up fee per new card, FX 1-2%; Platinum: 0% top-up fee, FX 0-1.5%; no monthly fee, but 10% of balance per month after 90 days of inactivity
Top-up options 6 / 10 Stablecoins and crypto including SOL, USDC, ETH, BTC, top-up from any wallet; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer not named, SC PAYMENTS LIMITED of Hong Kong is only the programme manager; Trustpilot 3.1 out of 5, complaints about stuck withdrawals, a card closed with funds, and support that does not reply
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical Platinum; Apple Pay and Google Pay on Platinum, not on virtual; ATM not disclosed; unofficially, physical cards are not being issued at the moment
Total 5.6 / 10 —

So who does this suit? In plain terms: someone already holding Solana-based tokens or stablecoins who wants to turn them into a dollar-denominated card without going through a bank, and who can afford to put money in and take it out again on their own schedule. That is a narrow but real need, and SolCard does address it.

Who it does not suit is longer. If you spend outside the dollar, if you need a physical card that works in a shop today, if you want Apple Pay, if you need cash from an ATM, or if you are putting a large share of your savings in and would be unsettled by a card that can be closed with your balance inside it, then this is not the right instrument. The 3 out of 10 on reliability is not a rounding error — it is the reason I would not hold more here than I could afford to lose access to for a month.

One more note on the audience, because it matters for how you read the rest of this. SolCard is a Solana product in practice: it lists SOL alongside the stablecoins people usually hold, and it converts into a plain USD balance. If that is your situation, you get the most out of it. If you came here holding assets on other networks, the card will still take them, but nothing about its pricing is designed around you.

Who they will give you the card to

SolCard describes itself as available worldwide, with a deliberate qualifier attached: “eligibility may vary by region”. That sentence is doing a lot of work, because the terms then narrow it further. The terms exclude residents, domiciled users and located users of Hong Kong, and they exclude countries under comprehensive sanctions of the United Nations, the United States, the European Union and the United Kingdom, as well as listed persons.

Read that carefully, because it is the whole of the published eligibility rule. There is no country list beyond that, no income requirement, no minimum balance, and no stated credit test. The card is aimed at people who cannot get a normal bank card, and for the large majority of applicants the barrier will be practical rather than legal.

One point worth being blunt about, because it surprises people: your nationality is not the same thing as where you live, and in this industry’s screening both get looked at. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are commonly applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to address. So a resident of an open country holding citizenship of a sanctioned one may hit friction the terms do not describe. That is a general feature of how this sector works, not something SolCard publishes, and it is another reason to keep your expectations modest.

How to get it

The application runs through identity verification, but in a conditional way. The card’s own wording is that “identity verification may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits”. Documents and proof of address are mentioned, the terms set a minimum age of 18, and beyond that nothing is detailed: no list of accepted papers, no processing time, no published reasons for rejection, and no defined tier structure behind that “certain tiers”.

There are two products, and the difference matters more than the naming suggests. The Virtual card is for online use, with card details you enter manually. The Platinum card is physical, supports contactless, and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Both are issued under a Visa licence, and both settle in US dollars — though I want to be precise here, because the card’s public pages never actually say “USD”. The currency is implied by the pricing, not stated.

Unofficially, and this is worth knowing because it contradicts the product page, a help centre answer says no physical cards are being issued “for now”. A third-party summary dated 11 August 2026 reports the same thing, and adds that the virtual card is issued in about 18 seconds once a first deposit confirms. The same source says the virtual card is marketed as not requiring KYC while Platinum does require identity verification. A Trustpilot review from July 2025 makes a related point: physical cards with Apple Pay and Google Pay require KYC. None of this comes from SolCard directly, and none of it is confirmed by the card — but if you were planning around a physical card, check the app before you commit funds.

If your question is simply “how do I get one”, the honest sequence is: sign up, read the tier descriptions in the app rather than the marketing page, make a small first deposit, and see what actually appears in your account. Delivery times for a physical card are not stated anywhere I could find.

What it really costs: Fees, limits and the everyday arithmetic

The headline numbers are attractive and the detail is not, so read the table rather than the summary.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a SolCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Virtual Platinum
Card purchase / issuance 5% plus USD 10 per new card (product page says “from USD 10”) 0% top-up fee
Top-up fee 5% plus USD 10 per new card 0%
Foreign exchange 1-2% 0-1.5%
Monthly fee None for active accounts None for active accounts
Dormancy fee 10% of balance per month after 90 days of inactivity 10% of balance per month after 90 days of inactivity
Monthly spending limit USD 5,000 No limit
ATM Not stated Not stated
Card currency USD USD
Other card and monthly limits Set by SolCard and shown in the app Set by SolCard and shown in the app

There are unofficially reported figures that disagree with the table, and the disagreement is itself a finding. A July 2026 help article reportedly put the virtual card at USD 10,000 a month while the product page says 5,000; help-centre guides reportedly put Platinum at USD 100,000 a month while the product page says no limit; and per-transaction and daily limits are not published at all. Treat the app as the only current source, since the product page is what the card itself stands behind.

Now three everyday payments, so the percentages land on something real.

A USD 20 subscription on the virtual card. You pay USD 20 and the card spends USD 20. No FX, no percentage — this is the case the card handles most cleanly. But before you get there, you paid 5% plus USD 10 to load. On a small first load that fixed component dominates completely: a USD 40 deposit costs USD 12 in fees, and USD 100 costs USD 15. The virtual card’s fee is essentially a penalty for topping up anything small, and it is the single strongest argument for choosing the paid tier if you can.

A EUR 40 subscription on the Platinum card. Here the FX band does the work: 0-1.5% on EUR 40 is at most USD 0.60, and at the bottom of the band, nothing. The card balance is in USD, so a foreign-exchange spread may apply when you spend in non-USD currencies, and that spread is exactly what the 0-1.5% describes. On the virtual card the same payment would carry 1-2%. This is the clearest financial argument in the card’s favour: if you spend in Europe rather than in dollars, the tier difference is not marginal.

A USD 300 purchase abroad on the virtual card. FX of 1-2% puts the currency cost at USD 3 to USD 6 on top of USD 300. Against that, USD 300 stays inside the stated USD 5,000 monthly virtual limit, so nothing is blocked on the size — but the top-up fee has already been paid, and if your purchase is declined and retried, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on the funds for several days, typically up to seven.

Two costs sit outside everything the card publishes. On-chain network fees — gas on Ethereum, bandwidth and energy on Tron — are charged by the blockchain for your deposit, not by SolCard, and they come out of the same wallet. And the card reserves the right to charge a handling fee where there are disproportionately many declines, reversals or disputes. That is an unusual clause to find in a consumer card’s terms, and it is worth reading as what it is: a cost you cannot predict and cannot size in advance.

How to Top up the card

Top-up is the part SolCard does most clearly. You load with stablecoins and crypto, and the named assets include SOL, USDC, ETH and BTC. The card advertises instant top-ups from any wallet. Which networks are supported is not stated, and that omission is not a small one — see below.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up SolCard starts with a transfer to the right network

Minimum top-up amounts are published in the app and differ by card type, which is at least honest about the fact that there are card types. The mechanism is worth understanding precisely, because it explains the fees you saw above: a crypto top-up is credited in USD only after blockchain confirmation, at that moment’s price, less the displayed top-up fees and the conversion spread. Three deductions, applied at a price you cannot fix in advance. Fiat top-up options are not stated, so if you were hoping to load by bank transfer, the card’s public pages do not say you can.

I want to be direct about the network question rather than let it pass. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, it can be lost or require manual recovery through support, with no guarantee. Since SolCard names the assets but not the networks, the practical consequence is that you should confirm the network inside the app before sending anything, every time — not once, and not from memory. There is also a wrinkle people inherit from other platforms: fees on Ethereum are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all, and USDC over TRC20 is not a native option since Circle stopped supporting it on Tron in February 2024.

Getting money back out is where the terms are most reassuring and least specific. Unused balance can be withdrawn subject to minimums, verification and processing windows shown in the app. If you cancel, a balance at or above the published minimum refundable amount is returned; below that amount it is forfeited. On termination, eligible balances can be withdrawn, except where holds, disputes, chargebacks or legal restrictions apply. And the dormancy fee still applies: 10% of the balance per month after 90 days of inactivity. So an account you forget about is not a neutral act — it is a slow bleed of one tenth of what is left, every month.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card behaves like a prepaid card. You load a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw — which is genuinely reassuring if your banking history is the reason you are reading this page. But prepaid has a reputation problem at the checkout, and it is not the card’s fault.

The mechanics behind that: a merchant category code, a four-digit number classifying a business by goods or services, is assigned when a business starts accepting cards. Many issuers block specific codes on their cards by policy rather than by law — MCC 7995, covering casinos, betting and lotteries, is the usual example — and the blocked list varies by issuer. SolCard publishes no list of blocked merchants, and says only that merchants restricted by the issuer or the card network may be declined. Add the separate fact that Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, and you can see where some declines come from before anyone has done anything wrong.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are included with Platinum and not available on the virtual card. If you tap to pay is how you would normally spend, that alone puts you on the paid tier. How it works underneath is worth knowing if you are deciding how much to load: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can restrict that tokenised number, for example blocking it on phone use only, so a card working in your wallet today is not a guarantee about next month.

Other everyday details are thin or missing. ATM withdrawal is not stated anywhere, and if cash matters to you that is a gap, not a small one. No cashback is mentioned. The app is described only as offering a “Dashboard” — platforms and store ratings were not found — which is not much to judge an interface on. There is no reward scheme in the card’s own words; unofficially, a third-party summary dated 11 August 2026 reports no card cashback but instead prize-draw entries for eligible spending, non-transferable, which is a different thing with a different value.

If something goes wrong with a payment, the terms are quiet in a way that should concern you. There are no dispute or refund time frames given. Disputes can hold withdrawals. Contract disputes go to arbitration at the HKIAC in Hong Kong, in English, before a single arbitrator — so if your disagreement is ever with SolCard itself rather than with a shop, that is the forum named in the contract.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would read twice, because it is where the score drops hardest.

The card’s custodial model comes first. Your balance is held by SolCard, and top-ups are converted to USD. In plain terms, you are trusting the provider with the funds rather than holding keys yourself. That is a real trade: convenience in exchange for counterparty and hack risk, the same risk that produced Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen in 2011-2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment — but then you alone carry the risk of key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. Neither model is free. This one is cheaper to use and worse to lose.

Then there is the company behind it, which I would want you to read as plain text. SC PAYMENTS LIMITED, Hong Kong, BRN 78350827, Unit 1603, 16/F, The L. Plaza, 367-375 Queen’s Road Central. Its role is programme manager and technology platform, and it says itself it is “not a bank”. The actual issuer is an unnamed licensed financial or e-money institution operating under a Visa licence. That structure is normal for this category — Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves, they license issuers, and the crypto brand is often only a front end — but the effect for you is that the institution holding your money is not named on any page you can read.

The complaint history is where the 3 out of 10 comes from. On Trustpilot, read 20 October 2026: 3.1 out of 5 across 29 reviews, 22 of them in the last 12 months, with 5-star at 38% and 1-star at 52%. Trustpilot also carries a notice that the company “may be associated with high-risk investments”. Recurring themes across reviews include withdrawals and transfers stuck (September 2025, August 2026, October 2026), declined payments (October 2026), unauthorised or disputed charges (June and July 2026), support that is unresponsive or bot-like (March, August, October 2026), and a card cancelled while funds were still on it (September 2025). A Tradersunion trust score of 2.1 out of 5 is automated rather than human-assessed, so weigh it accordingly. One thing that is *not* a concern: phishing warnings that have circulated attach to a look-alike domain, solcards.cc, not to solcard.cc — a distinction worth keeping if you are searching and reading reviews.

Some of this has clearly been addressed. In October 2026 the company replied on Trustpilot saying it removed the USD 20 minimum withdrawal, reworked withdrawals and transfers, and fixed a deposit hold, and it attributed card declines to stricter card-issuer rules. A third-party summary dated 11 August 2026 says the company began publicly replying to old complaints in July 2026. Credit where due. But note the shape of that last item: if declines come from stricter issuer rules, the card is now, by its own account, less likely to work at the till, and the card does not publish a blocked-merchant list or ATM terms that would help you plan around it.

On security specifics, the card requires you to protect the card number, CVV and PIN and to report loss promptly, and it holds you liable for unauthorised use as far as the law allows. Two-factor authentication, card freeze and insurance are not stated. Withdrawals may be delayed for security review. Support is by email at [email protected], with priority support on Platinum, terms in English where English prevails; a company reply on Trustpilot in October 2026 directed users to in-app support or Telegram. So there is a support route — but “unresponsive” is the most common word in the reviews, and Platinum exists partly because the free tier’s support is described as standard.

Let me also say plainly what nobody in this category can promise you. Programmes get wound down: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw. That is not a prediction about SolCard; it is the pattern you are exposed to whenever you hold a balance with a card programme’s operator rather than with a bank.

And the money side of it: nothing here is tax advice, but there is one structural fact worth knowing. If you fund a card payment by disposing of crypto, that is generally a taxable event in many jurisdictions, measured in local fiat currency at the value on the date of the transaction — which can mean each card payment is a separate disposal. I am not a tax adviser and this is not advice; it is a reason to keep records of your own, which you would need regardless.

What to take instead

SolCard is not alone, and the three nearest comparables I looked at are all weaker on paper and differently shaped in practice. All three score below it: Cardex 5.6, CardFlow 4.9, HyperCard 4.7. That ordering matters less than what each one refuses to tell you.

SolCard Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Who it targets Worldwide, eligibility varies by region; HK and sanctioned countries excluded “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no list, no exclusions; App Store listing is Naira-focused Aimed at Nigeria, “Nigerians and global users” No country list; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries”
Card Virtual and Platinum physical, Visa licence, USD Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; Naira per listing Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid “HyperCard”, network not stated on the App Store page; USD or EUR balance
Top-up Stablecoins and crypto incl. SOL, USDC, ETH, BTC; networks not stated USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated
Fees Virtual 5% + USD 10 top-up, FX 1-2%; Platinum 0% top-up, FX 0-1.5% Not stated; real-time conversion at payment, “AI-Powered Conversion Rate”; no percentage published Creating a virtual card is free; monthly fee not stated Not stated; App Store page lists no fees
Score 5.6 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10

What this comparison tells me is uncomfortable and worth stating plainly: none of the four publishes the thing you most need, which is the network list for deposits. In every row that cell reads “not stated”. Cardex and CardFlow both lean on Nigeria, which means if you are not Nigerian you are further from the product’s centre of gravity than the marketing suggests; CardFlow at least says creating a virtual card is free, which is a clearer promise than “not stated”. HyperCard’s “176 countries” is a statement about acceptance, not eligibility — a distinction the card industry keeps blurred and you should keep sharp. Only SolCard names concrete numbers for what it charges, and those numbers are the reason its cost mark is 4 out of 10 while its competitors’ are simply unknown.

So this is not a case of one card being clearly better. It is a case of one card publishing enough for you to decide, which is worth more than it sounds — but not more than the missing issuer name and the complaint history are worth.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend SolCard to someone in a specific position, and I would steer everyone else away. To be concrete: you hold SOL or dollar stablecoins, you have no workable bank card, you are comfortable losing access to a balance for weeks, and you intend to spend in US dollars. You will get a working card quickly, at no monthly cost, with the ability to load from any wallet. Check that the network you plan to use is the one the app shows.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true. You need Apple Pay, because it is Platinum only and Platinum is not being issued at the moment by all accounts. You spend mainly in euros, pounds or anything else, because the FX band is 1-2% on the tier you would realistically be able to buy. You need cash, because ATM terms are not stated. You plan to top up small amounts, because 5% plus USD 10 punishes exactly that. You intend to leave money idle, because 10% a month after 90 days will take it. Or you are simply looking for a card you can rely on, because a 3.1 out of 5 across 29 reviews with 52% one-star, and an issuer nobody will name, is not that.

If the answer to most of those is no, the honest advice is not to switch cards but to solve the underlying problem — a bank account, a regulated e-money provider, or a card from an issuer that names itself and publishes its dispute timelines.

Frequently asked questions

What is SolCard card?

SolCard is a USD-denominated crypto payment card offered in two forms: a virtual card for online use where you enter card details manually, and a Platinum physical card supporting contactless and Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is issued under a Visa licence and works on a prepaid model — you load a balance and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. The crypto side is operated by SC PAYMENTS LIMITED of Hong Kong, which describes itself as a programme manager and explicitly not a bank.

How does SolCard card work?

You top up with crypto or stablecoins, the card converts the amount to USD after blockchain confirmation at that moment’s price, and the resulting balance is what the card spends. Deductions come off in three places: the displayed top-up fees, a conversion spread, and any network fee the blockchain itself charges. When you pay in a non-USD currency, a foreign-exchange spread may also apply, which is where the 1-2% on virtual and 0-1.5% on Platinum comes from.

Is SolCard a bank?

No. SC PAYMENTS LIMITED is registered in Hong Kong with BRN 78350827 and states in its own materials that it is “not a bank”. It acts as programme manager and technology platform. The actual card issuer is an unnamed licensed financial or e-money institution under a Visa licence, so the institution holding your balance is not identified on any public page.

Who owns SolCard?

Ownership is not something the public pages spell out. What is published is the operating entity, SC PAYMENTS LIMITED of Hong Kong, and the fact that a separate licensed issuer stands behind the Visa programme. Since neither the issuer nor a parent company is named, the safest reading is that SolCard is a card brand run by a Hong Kong programme manager rather than a product of a bank you could hold a deposit relationship with.

Does SolCard card require KYC?

Officially, it is conditional: “identity verification may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits”. Documents and proof of address are referenced and the terms set 18 as the minimum age. Unofficially, a third-party summary dated 11 August 2026 says the virtual card is marketed as not requiring KYC while Platinum does, and a July 2025 Trustpilot review reports physical Apple Pay and Google Pay cards requiring verification. None of that is confirmed by the card.

Is SolCard card free?

Partly. There is no monthly fee for an active account, and the Platinum tier has a 0% top-up fee. The virtual card is not free: it carries a 5% plus USD 10 fee per new card, described on the product page as “from USD 10”, plus FX of 1-2%. And any account left inactive for 90 days pays a dormancy fee of 10% of the balance per month.

How to top up SolCard card?

Load with stablecoins and crypto — SOL, USDC, ETH and BTC are named — from any wallet, with instant crediting claimed. Minimum top-up amounts are published in the app and differ by card type. Critically, the supported networks are not stated, and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so confirm the network in the app before every send. Fiat top-up options are not stated on the public pages at all.

How do I withdraw money from SolCard?

Unused balance can be withdrawn subject to minimums, verification and processing windows shown in the app. On cancellation, a balance at or above the published minimum refundable amount is returned, and anything below it is forfeited. On termination, eligible balances can be withdrawn except where holds, disputes, chargebacks or legal restrictions apply — and complaints about stuck withdrawals are the most common theme in its Trustpilot reviews.

Is SolCard card safe?

Judged on its own terms, it is custodial: your balance is held by SolCard and converted to USD, so you carry counterparty and hack risk. There is a named Hong Kong company, an unnamed licensed issuer, a 3.1 out of 5 Trustpilot score with 52% one-star, and reports of a card cancelled while funds were on it. Two-factor authentication, instant freeze and insurance are not stated. Use it for spending money you can afford to have inaccessible for a while.

Can I use SolCard card in my country?

SolCard describes itself as worldwide with “eligibility may vary by region”, and its terms exclude residents, domiciled and located users of Hong Kong, plus countries under comprehensive UN, US, EU or UK sanctions and listed persons. There is no further country list. Where you can pay is a separate question from where you can hold the card, and merchants may decline a foreign-issued prepaid card regardless of eligibility.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team