A virtual USD card with thin disclosure and a Nigerian KYC gate

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Vban is a virtual USD payment card built around a crypto-to-fiat flow, aimed at people who have trouble getting a conventional bank card. The cost of getting started is low and the on-ramp is fast, but the information provided is thin: monthly fees, per-transaction costs, ATM access and Apple Pay support are either vague or absent, and the audience the product actually serves is narrower than the marketing implies.

Vban works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If you are weighing Vban against the alternatives in this category, this review walks through what the card does well, where it stumbles, and what the user experience looks like in practice. The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Vban earns a 4.0 out of 10 in this assessment. The card is a virtual USD Visa funded from a crypto balance. The problem is the gap between what is promised and what is documented. Monthly fees, ATM fees, FX markups and Apple/Google Pay support are not stated on the public pages, and the published country list is empty even though the product clearly targets a specific region.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Vban payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card suits a narrow audience: people in Nigeria and parts of West and Central Africa who already have a BVN and a stablecoin balance, who only need a virtual card for online payments, and who are comfortable with limited support channels. It does not suit users who want a physical card, Apple Pay, clear monthly pricing, or a card programme with a long public track record.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Country list not published; starting data points to Nigeria, Ghana and parts of West and Central Africa; BVN required
Cost 7 / 10 $2 issuance + $5 funding charge, $7 to start; monthly and per-transaction fees not disclosed
Top-up options 4 / 10 Funded from a USD account that needs at least $7; USDT/USDC mentioned, networks not stated
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operated by TM Payments Limited in Canada, “not a bank”, built on Maplerad; FAQ names Lead Bank and Bridge Ventures LLC; Trustpilot 3.2/13 with refund and missing-fund complaints in 2025–2026
Everyday use 2 / 10 Virtual only; Apple Pay and Google Pay not offered; Google Pay noted as inconsistent due to region mismatch; ATM support not stated
Total 4.0 / 10

The score for everyday use is the one that drags the total down the most. A card you can only use online, that has no published mobile-wallet support, and where ATM access is left unstated is not a card you can rely on for a normal day. Even the score for cost is generous: a $7 starting cost is low, but only because nobody knows what comes after that.

Who they will give the card to

Vban’s country pages do not list supported or unsupported territories. The card’s “starting data”, the regions the product was built around and the markets the company references, point to Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Cameroon, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Central African Republic and Chad. That is a clear regional focus, even if it is not presented as one.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Vban starts with a transfer to the right network

The bigger gate is the BVN requirement. BVN is the Nigerian Bank Verification Number, an identity linked to a person’s bank accounts in Nigeria. Vban requires BVN verification before card creation, and verification is described as taking “within minutes.” This is a Nigerian-government-issued identity, not a generic ID, so the card is effectively a Nigerian product in the early data, with the other West and Central African countries as a likely expansion.

For readers in Europe, North America, Latin America, the Middle East and most of Asia: the public-facing pages do not address your case, and the BVN requirement alone would stop you. If you are reading this from outside the starting-data region, treat Vban as a card you are not eligible for, until the company publishes otherwise.

The card is also built around an adult customer. Standard KYC rules for prepaid and debit cards apply (18+ in most jurisdictions, sometimes higher limits for younger users), and Vban’s flow asks for one valid government ID; proof of address and age requirements are not stated on the public pages. The card’s KYC states include “pending” and “rejected” outcomes, with “rejected” examples showing up when the name on the BVN does not match the name on the account.

How to get it

The signup flow Vban describes is straightforward, on paper. The steps are: complete BVN verification, hold at least $7 in your USD wallet inside the app, and create the card. The blog entry spells this out as “verify, hold $7, create the card in the app.”

The card itself, in the starting data, is a USD-denominated virtual multi-use card. The network is not named on the article page, but the site’s FAQ describes the card as being issued by Lead Bank under a Visa licence, which is how a number of US-based programme managers structure their crypto card offerings. The company behind the programme, TM Payments Limited, lists an office in Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada, and the FAQ names Lead Bank and Bridge Ventures LLC as the issuing bank and Programme Manager respectively. The product itself is described as “powered by Maplerad,” the African payments infrastructure provider.

There is no physical card, so there is no shipping, no delivery address, and no waiting for a card in the mail. That is one of the few clear advantages: if you qualify and your BVN verifies, the card exists inside the app almost immediately. But the lack of a physical card also means no in-store swipe-and-sign, no chip-and-PIN at a terminal that does not accept tokenised virtual cards, and no ATM access in the published information.

Account-level limits, where Vban has published them, are listed in NGN and GHS rather than USD, which is another tell that the published infrastructure is built around the Nigerian and Ghanaian markets. For NGN, the daily withdrawal cap is 20,000,000 NGN, the monthly cap is 200,000,000 NGN and the per-transaction cap is 10,000,000 NGN. For GHS, those figures are 100,000, 1,000,000 and 10,000 respectively. These are wallet limits, not card-spending limits; the card’s own limits are not stated.

What it really costs

The headline numbers for Vban are clean. Creating the card costs $2 one-time. Funding the card from your USD wallet costs $5. So the all-in cost to go from “no card” to “card with a balance” is $7. There is no annual fee mentioned, and the company’s material says “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee” on the marketing surfaces. That part looks reasonable.

What is missing is everything else. The public card material does not state a monthly maintenance fee, an ATM withdrawal fee, a foreign-exchange markup, a card top-up spread, a transaction fee for spending the card, or a closure fee. For a payment product, that is a significant gap: you do not know what a coffee costs in fees, what an ATM withdrawal costs, or what a foreign-currency online purchase costs. The “No annual fee” line in the marketing may simply be describing a different fee from the ones that matter, or it may be true, but there is no schedule to check it against.

Fee or limit Amount
Card issuance $2 one-time
Card funding charge $5
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion fee Not stated
Foreign exchange fee Not stated
ATM fee Not stated
Card spending limit Not stated
USD account minimum $7
Individual USD deposit max $3,999 per deposit (excess refunded)
Business USD deposit max No fixed limit (extra documents above $9,999)

To make this concrete, walk through three everyday payments and see what you actually know.

A $5 in-app purchase in USD, paid to a US merchant. You funded the card with $5, you spend $5, and Vban’s cut, if any, is hidden. The merchant is paid, the card declines or approves, and you do not know what the spread or per-transaction fee is until you check your statement. With most cards, this would be the simplest case to disclose, and it is the one Vban has chosen not to.

A €40 hotel booking on a European site. The transaction is in euros, the card holds USD, so somewhere a conversion happens. The card page mentions “no foreign transaction fee,” but FX and conversion fees are not stated. If the no-FX-fee claim is on a marketing page, it may apply to a specific flow; if it is in the legal terms, the next question is which exchange rate the card uses. There is no published rate, no markup, and no spread.

An ATM withdrawal. ATM access is not stated, so the first question is whether the card can be used at an ATM at all. If it can, the ATM owner typically charges an “out-of-network” fee, the card issuer may charge a fee, and there may be a withdrawal limit. None of that is published, so there is no way to budget for it.

The wallet-level NGN and GHS limits also matter if you are funding the card by selling a stablecoin into the wallet first. The 20,000,000 NGN daily wallet cap is generous for a personal account, but it only applies to the wallet; the card’s own ceiling is a separate number, and that number is not stated.

How to top it up

Funding the card is a two-step process. The card is funded from a USD balance inside the Vban app, and the USD balance itself has to be at least $7. So the practical question is: how do you get USD into the wallet, and which coins and networks can you use?

The card’s “Coins: USDT/USDC per starting data” line is the only published coin list, and the networks are not stated. That is a real problem. USDT and USDC each exist on multiple blockchains, including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche, Base and others, and a transfer on the wrong network is one of the most common ways to lose money in crypto. If Vban does not tell you which network to send on, the support load for “I sent USDT and it never arrived” is going to be substantial, and it shows up in the user reviews.

The deposit side of the wallet has clearer numbers. Individuals can deposit up to $3,999 in a single USD deposit, with any excess refunded. Businesses have no fixed deposit ceiling, but deposits above $9,999 require extra documents. The $5 “card funding charge” applies when you move USD from the wallet onto the card, and the same $5 is the minimum card withdrawal amount, which is a slightly different framing of the same number.

If you are funding the card from a self-custody wallet, the only fees you can predict in advance are the on-chain network fees. The card itself does not charge you for the deposit, but the blockchain does, and the network you choose changes the cost. On Ethereum, even a simple USDT transfer costs a few dollars in gas at normal times and considerably more when the network is busy. On Tron, fees are typically a fraction of a cent, but the wallet needs TRX to pay bandwidth and energy, so a Tron USDT transfer with an empty TRX balance fails. The blockchain is the cheapest cost in the whole flow only if you pick the right network, and the card does not help you pick it.

If you are funding from another Vban user’s wallet, or from a bank transfer to the USD account, the flow is different and the same limits apply. The wallet is a multi-currency account, with USD, GBP and EUR balances available; the card is USD only.

Paying with it every day

The card is a virtual card, in USD, on the Visa network (per the FAQ). That is enough for online payments anywhere Visa is accepted, and the “multi-use” label means it is not a single-merchant gift card; it is a reusable payment card number.

What it does not do is more important. Apple Pay is not offered as a feature. Google Pay is not offered as a feature, and the company’s own note warns that Google Pay “may not work consistently due to region mismatch.” Tokenised mobile wallets are how a lot of people pay in 2026, especially at the contactless terminals that no longer have a swipe slot. If the card cannot be added to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet reliably, that is a real everyday limit.

ATM access is not stated. The card’s ATM support is not in the published material. Most virtual cards in this category are online-only, so the most likely answer is “no ATM,” but the absence of a published answer means a cardholder who tries an ATM is experimenting at their own risk.

There is no rewards or cashback line in the public material. Other cards in the category offer 1–5% back on spending, often with merchant categories or staking tiers. Vban’s “Rewards” row is “not stated,” so the card is a straight spend with no published return.

The app is on the App Store and Google Play. The app is the only way to see the card number, CVV and expiry, since there is no physical card. That means a phone with the Vban app is a single point of failure: lose the phone without a backup, and you lose the card details. There is no published dispute or chargeback flow, so a cardholder who needs to dispute a charge is working without a published process.

A note on how Visa virtual cards tend to behave: a card issued in one country and used to pay a merchant in another country is a “foreign” card from the merchant’s point of view, and some merchants decline it, or apply extra friction, because the issuer country differs from the billing country. This is generic to the category, not a Vban-specific problem, but it is worth knowing before you try to use a USD virtual card at a local merchant.

What can go wrong

A few things are worth thinking about before you load $7 into the wallet, and they fall into three buckets: company structure, user-reported problems, and gaps in the published safety story.

The company behind the card is TM Payments Limited, with an office in Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada. The product description says the card is “operated by TM Payments Limited. It is not a bank.” The platform is described as “powered by Maplerad,” the African payments infrastructure provider. The FAQ elsewhere on the site names Lead Bank and Bridge Ventures LLC as the issuing bank and Programme Manager. Licences are not named on the public pages.

That is a lot of parties. The operator is a Canadian company, the issuing bank is a US bank, the programme manager is a US LLC, the infrastructure is an African payments platform, and the card is targeted at a regional audience. Each of those entities is regulated in its own jurisdiction, and the regulatory framework for the customer is the one that applies where the customer actually lives. For a customer in Nigeria, that is the Central Bank of Nigeria, the Securities and Exchange Commission, and the relevant consumer-protection framework. The material published by Vban does not list those licences.

The user reviews are thin but pointed. Vban’s Trustpilot page, as of 2026-10-21, shows 3.2 out of 5 from 13 reviews. The themes in the user reports, drawn from the review pages, are refunds refused with repeated document requests (in November 2025 and again in June 2026) and incoming funds that did not show up in the wallet (in November 2025 and May 2026). A 13-review Trustpilot page is not a large sample, but the patterns are concrete: customers describe a refund flow that drags on past reasonable timelines, and customers describe deposits that the operator does not see.

The published safety story is also thin. The Help Centre is at support.vban.com, with hours not stated and the interface in English. There is no published 2FA story, no published freeze-card flow, no published insurance on balances, no published segregation of customer funds, and no published fraud or dispute policy. In a category where custodial platforms have a long history of failure, a card that does not say how it protects customer funds is a card that puts the burden of trust on the customer.

The most common ways this kind of product can fail, drawn from the category as a whole, are instructive. A platform can be wound down (Visa’s 2018 suspension of WaveCrest in Europe, or the November 2022 termination of FTX’s global agreements, both shut down card programmes inside weeks). A stablecoin can depeg (TerraUSD in May 2022, USDC briefly in March 2023). A network choice on a deposit can lose the funds permanently. A regulator in the customer’s country can require the platform to stop serving that market. None of these is a prediction about Vban specifically; they are the kinds of events a reader should hold in mind when the product page is silent on what happens if the operator fails.

What to take instead

If Vban’s narrow regional focus, its thin published fees, or its Trustpilot pattern is a deal-breaker for you, three alternatives in the same general category are worth a look. They have wider published information and clearer fee schedules, which is the most common reason a card in this space gets passed over.

International Visa Card (6.7/10). A US-issued Platinum Visa available as a virtual card, paying in USD, with three plans: Classic (free), Pro ($9/month) and Max ($19/month). The card costs $5 to issue and has no maintenance fee. Card use in USD is free on all three plans; foreign-currency spending uses the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. Deposits of any kind are free. The card is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Funding is by USDC or USDT into the USD account (free at 1:1), with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits also available. No cashback is published.

UNi Card (6.1/10). A multicurrency Mastercard that spends from the UNi.Global account balance. No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, with assets converted at live OTC rates and no hidden exchange fees. Funding method, physical vs virtual, and exact KYC rules are not stated in the published material. Spend-to-Earn rewards go up to 3% with the card. The card is the strongest on the no-hidden-fees story, but the thinnest on published operational detail.

Whop Cards (5.2/10). A Visa on the Whop balance, usable anywhere Visa is taken online and in stores. Consumers are accepted in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and businesses in 41 states. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The page says “No extra fees” with no per-feature breakdown. Cards are backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and 5% cashback is available at select merchants (Uber is the named launch partner). Coins, networks, and FX fees are not stated.

Card Score Annual fee FX fee Cashback Geography
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Free, $9 or $19/month 2% on non-USD None Excludes 17 countries; not available to Russia/Ukraine residents
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 None None stated Up to 3% Not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 None Not stated 5% at select merchants 31 US states (consumers)
Vban 4.0 / 10 Not stated Not stated Not stated Starting data: Nigeria, Ghana, West/Central Africa; BVN required

Who I would recommend it to

Vban is the right card for a narrow reader. If you live in Nigeria or one of the West or Central African countries in the starting data, you have a BVN, you only need a virtual card for online purchases, you already hold USDT or USDC in a wallet you control, and you are willing to live with a support experience that is not as fleshed-out as the larger names in the category, then $7 to start is a low cost to find out whether the card works for you. The published starting costs are reasonable, the app flow is short, and a virtual card you can spin up in minutes is useful for the specific problem it is built to solve.

Vban is the wrong card if you are outside the starting-data region, if you do not have a BVN, if you need a physical card or a mobile wallet, if you want a published schedule of fees you can read before you spend, or if you want a card with a longer public track record. For those readers, the alternatives in this review are the place to start, and the most useful thing Vban can do over the next year is publish the information that would let this review move the score from a 4 to a 6.

Frequently asked questions

What is Vban card?

Vban is a virtual USD payment card built on the Visa network, operated by TM Payments Limited, a Canadian company, and powered by Maplerad, the African payments platform. The card is funded from a USD balance in the Vban app and is aimed at users in Nigeria and parts of West and Central Africa. The published facts do not list every supported country, and the card requires a BVN before it can be created.

How does Vban card work?

You verify your BVN inside the Vban app, hold at least $7 in your USD wallet, and create the card from the app. The card is virtual, USD-denominated and multi-use, so you can reuse the same card number for different online merchants. To fund the card, you deposit USD into the wallet (the individual ceiling is $3,999 per deposit) and pay the $5 card funding charge, which is also described as the minimum card withdrawal amount.

Is Vban a bank?

No. The company description on the product page says Vban is “operated by TM Payments Limited. It is not a bank.” The FAQ elsewhere on the site names Lead Bank as the issuing bank and Bridge Ventures LLC as the Programme Manager. Licences are not named in the public material, so a cardholder should treat the product as a programme managed by a non-bank operator, with an underlying bank and a payments-rail partner.

Who owns Vban?

The operator is TM Payments Limited, registered in Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada. The card programme sits on top of Maplerad, the African payments infrastructure, and the FAQ names Lead Bank (issuing bank) and Bridge Ventures LLC (Programme Manager). Ownership of TM Payments Limited beyond its registered office is not stated.

Is Vban card available in my country?

The public pages do not publish a list of supported or unsupported countries. The starting data points to Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Cameroon, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Central African Republic and Chad. The card also requires a BVN, which is a Nigerian identity, so for readers outside Nigeria the practical answer is that the card is unlikely to be available to you, even if your country is on the regional list.

Does Vban card require KYC?

Yes. The flow requires BVN verification before card creation, and the company’s blog describes a “one valid government ID” requirement. KYC statuses include pending and rejected, with rejections shown when the name on the BVN does not match the name on the account. Proof of address, age thresholds, and the full KYC tier table are not stated in the published material.

How to top up Vban card?

You fund the USD account in the Vban app first, and then move USD onto the card. The wallet needs a minimum balance of $7, the card funding charge is $5, and individuals can deposit up to $3,999 in a single USD transaction. The card’s published coins are USDT and USDC; the networks are not stated, which is a real risk if you hold USDT or USDC on more than one blockchain.

Can I add Vban card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Apple Pay and Google Pay are not listed as features of the card. The public material notes that Google Pay “may not work consistently due to region mismatch,” which suggests tokenised mobile-wallet support is not a published capability of the product. If mobile-wallet support matters to you, treat Vban as an online-only card until the company publishes otherwise.

Is Vban card safe?

There is no published security model, dispute process, or fund-segregation policy. The operator is a non-bank, the Trustpilot score is 3.2 out of 5 from 13 reviews as of 2026-10-21, and the user reports include refunds refused after repeated document requests and deposits that did not appear. The card’s safety story is a question to put to the company directly, in writing, before you load a meaningful balance.

How to delete Vban account?

There is no published account-deletion flow. The Help Centre is at support.vban.com, with hours and a published process not stated. Treat account closure as a support ticket and ask for written confirmation that the account is closed, that no balance remains, and that the closure has been logged, before assuming the deletion is complete.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team