A crypto card with no published fees, limits or issuer name

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card, or you want to spend a crypto balance without touching a bank account, BitFree sounds like exactly the thing you have been looking for. It is a virtual prepaid card managed inside an app, funded with digital assets, and it is not offered in a short list of countries — supported App Store regions, minus a few. That is genuinely useful. But reading what BitFree actually publishes is an exercise in absence: the company’s public pages do not state the card’s cost, its limits, its networks, its currency, its wallet support, or even the name of the licensed partner that issues it. You can read that as immaturity, or as an invitation to find out the hard way. I have gone through the card’s terms and store listings and reports, and here is what I found.

BitFree works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.2 out of 10 — a real card, an unreadable price list

BitFree scores 5.2 / 10. The single most useful thing about it is that it exists at all for someone who cannot open a normal bank card: a prepaid virtual card in the app, fundable with crypto, usable across most of the world. That is a genuine answer to a real problem. The problem is everything you would need in order to decide whether it is the right answer for you. BitFree does not publish its fees, its limits, its supported coins and networks, its card currency, or the identity of the issuing partner. Almost nothing in this review is a verdict on quality, because there is not enough published information to judge quality on.

Think of it this way. The card is the easy part. Adopting a financial product is not.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Available in supported App Store regions (excluding mainland China); not in Hong Kong, Macau or the US; depends on partner terms and local rules
Cost 5 / 10 Fees are not disclosed; conversion is done by the partner and the reference rate is shown before you confirm a top-up
Top-up options 4 / 10 Supported digital assets can only be used for card top-up; coins and networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Bitfree Limited / BITFREE INC.; issuer is an unnamed licensed partner; no third-party reviews found; KYC with AML monitoring
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual prepaid card only, in the app; wallet support and ATM use are not disclosed

Who it suits: someone who needs a prepaid payment card today, holds crypto already, is comfortable with an app that does not spell out the fine print, and treats the balance as spending money rather than savings. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a purchase before they make it, anyone who needs a physical card, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, and anyone who intends to hold a balance on the platform and think of it as protected money.

Who they will give the card to

BitFree’s own eligibility statement is short: the card is “available in supported App Store regions (excluding mainland China)”, and it depends on the issuing partner’s terms and local regulations. It is also not available in Hong Kong, Macau or the US.

That is the whole rule as published. Note what it does not say: there is no nationality test, no residency test, no minimum age beyond whatever the identity check enforces, and no list of blocked countries beyond those four names. “Supported App Store regions” is a moving target defined by Apple, not by BitFree, so it is not the same as a statement about your right to hold the card. The card’s availability may change without notice if the partner’s own policy changes.

What I would tell you: check whether your country is inside “supported App Store regions” and not among the excluded ones, but treat that as necessary, not sufficient. Your access ultimately sits inside an unnamed partner’s policy, and you cannot read that policy.

How to get it

The card itself is a virtual prepaid card managed in the BitFree app. It is issued by an unnamed licensed partner; the card’s network and currency are not stated. Delivery is not applicable, because there is no physical card to deliver — this is an app card.

Before you can use it, BitFree requires KYC: “government-issued ID and liveness checks”. Proof of address and age are not stated as separate requirements. One version note mentions improvements to the KYC document upload flow, which tells you the flow exists and has been worked on, but not what it now demands.

There is a Google Play app (id com.yykj.bitfree.en; rating not read) and an iOS app published by Bitfree Limited (id 1453815920) carrying a 3.3 rating from 99 ratings on the Japan App Store (not re-read). That rating is worth noticing, though with 99 ratings it is a very small sample and I would not hang a decision on it alone. What it does tell you is that this is not a card with a large, loud user base.

So the path is: find the app, create an account, complete identity verification with a government-issued ID and a liveness check, and the card appears in the app. What is not stated anywhere in the public pages: how many attempts you get, what happens if verification fails, how long it takes, or whether there are tiers of verification. Plan for the possibility that a rejected document means starting again.

Fees and what a purchase really costs: the missing price list

This is the section I wish I could make short. BitFree does not state its cost. The app’s own text says the reference rate for a conversion can be reviewed before you confirm a top-up, and that conversion is performed by the issuing partner. What is not stated: the fee amount, whether a percentage or a flat charge, the conversion spread, and how any of it is calculated. ATM usage is not stated. Limits are not stated beyond the general line that “limits and functionality are determined by the issuing partner and applicable network rules”. Tiers are not stated. Currency is not stated.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a BitFree payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What BitFree publishes
Issuance Not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion Done by the issuing partner; reference rate viewable before confirming a top-up; amount not stated
Foreign exchange Not stated
ATM Not stated
Daily limits Not stated
Monthly limits Not stated

Three everyday payments, and what you can and cannot say about each.

Buying coffee for 4. The card draws on a stored balance. If your balance is denominated in a crypto asset and the payment is in another currency, a conversion happens at conversion time. You can see a reference rate before you confirm a top-up, but the fee on top of it is not published. So you know roughly what rate you will see, and not what it will cost you.

An online subscription in dollars. The same conversion logic applies, plus one more thing you cannot check: what currency the card actually holds, and on which network. If it holds USDT on a network the partner does not expect, a payment can go wrong in ways you cannot predict from the public pages. The card’s network and currency are not stated.

A shop that refuses a prepaid foreign card. This one is not a BitFree problem but it will land on BitFree users. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that merchants can look up; when the issuing country differs from the billing address, some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline outright, particularly on prepaid cards. Nothing BitFree publishes addresses this.

The honest summary: you can use BitFree, but you cannot price it from the outside. If the absence of a published fee bothers you, that is a reasonable position, not a nitpick — you are being asked to hold money in a product whose costs you cannot quote.

How to top up the card

One clear sentence from BitFree: “Supported digital assets may be used only for prepaid card top-up requests.” That is, crypto goes in for the purpose of loading the card, and the wording suggests it is not otherwise a spending or withdrawal product. Beyond that sentence, the coins and networks are not named. The top-up flow itself is not described. Whether you can withdraw money from the card is not stated at all.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up BitFree starts with a transfer to the right network

This matters more than it sounds. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Since BitFree names neither the coins nor the networks, the most important question in the whole review — “which network do I send on?” — is one you cannot answer from the card’s own materials. Ask support, and get the answer in writing, before you transfer anything.

On-chain fees are a separate thing: gas or bandwidth for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by BitFree. That is one cost that is not hidden, but it is not the only one.

Paying with it every day

A virtual card in an app is what BitFree is. Wallet support is not stated — there is no statement about Apple Pay, Google Pay or any other mobile wallet, so I would not plan around tapping your phone. ATM use is not stated. Rewards are not stated. Disputes, chargebacks, or what happens if a merchant overcharges you are not stated either.

That last one deserves a moment. If a card payment goes wrong, a refund is normally ordered by the card issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing, or goods not received. US debit-card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit-card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. BitFree does not say which regime you are under. If a prepaid card is your only payment instrument, that is a gap you should price in as risk, not as paperwork.

Three things that work in your favour in normal use: the card is virtual, so there is no shipping to wait for and no card to lose; it is prepaid, so it draws only on a stored balance and cannot overdraw past what you loaded; and payments may benefit from 3-D Secure checks that add an identity step online. Three things that work against: prepaid and foreign BINs are declined by some merchants, and declined authorisations can leave a hold on your funds for several days.

What can go wrong

Officially: no incidents found. Independently: no third-party reviews found for BitFree, and no Trustpilot page. So this is a product with no visible track record either way — which is not the same as a clean one.

Behind the app sit Bitfree Limited (the iOS publisher) and BITFREE INC. (the Android publisher), per the starting data. The issuer is an unnamed “licensed card issuing partner operating under its own financial licenses”. Registration details are not stated. If a licensed partner holds your money, you would normally want to know which one, in which jurisdiction, under which licence. You cannot find that out here.

On security, BitFree states KYC with AML monitoring and device checks. The custody model is not stated — and that is the question a crypto card reader should care most about. It decides who holds your funds if the provider fails. A custodial wallet means the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely; a self-custody-linked card means the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you bear sole responsibility for key loss and phishing. BitFree does not say which it is.

There is history here worth keeping in mind. Custodial platforms have failed: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Card programmes have been switched off underneath their users. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.

None of that is a prediction about BitFree. It is the reason I want to know who the issuer is and who holds the balance, and this card will not say.

Support is reachable at [email protected], with [email protected] for media and regulatory inquiries. Languages and hours are not stated, though the site is available in Russian. News and company announcements: none found.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up in this category. All three are also thin on published fees, which is itself informative about how this corner of the market works.

Cardex (5.6 / 10). One crypto card, 200+ countries, with no country list or exclusions stated; its store listing is Naira-focused. It is a debit card on the networks VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical. Conversion is real-time at the moment of payment, and the site says an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend — no fee percentage is stated. Funding from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. Its advantage over BitFree: physical cards and named networks. Its disadvantage: the listing is oriented to one market.

CardFlow (4.9 / 10). Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes. Creating a virtual card is “completely free” per its FAQ; monthly fee and fees not stated. Funded with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, networks not stated. Its advantage over BitFree: it is the clearest on price — the card is free to create, and it names the crypto assets.

HyperCard (4.7 / 10). Official pages state no country list; its store page says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the distinction matters. A prepaid “HyperCard” with the network not stated on that page, balance in USD or EUR. Deposits of crypto such as USDT, BTC and ETH are converted to USD or EUR on the card; networks not stated. Fees not stated on the pages I could read. Its advantage over BitFree: it names two balances you might hold. Its disadvantage: the lowest score of the four, and the same missing network information.

BitFree Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.2 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card type Virtual prepaid Debit, virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid
Networks named Not stated VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay Mastercard Not stated
Fees named Not stated Not stated Free to create Not stated
Crypto named Not stated USDT, USDC, BTC Bitcoin, USDT, ETH USDT, BTC, ETH
Physical card No Yes Not stated Not stated

The pattern: none of these names its on-chain networks, and three of four do not publish a fee. If your decision hinges on knowing what a payment costs or which chain to send on, this category has not solved it.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend BitFree to someone who already holds crypto, already understands that they are dealing with a prepaid app card rather than a bank account, and needs a payment instrument they can load and spend today without a traditional bank card. I would tell them to treat the balance as cash they are about to spend, not money they are saving, and to ask support — in writing — which coins and networks are supported, what the fees are, and who the issuing partner is, before they transfer anything.

I would not recommend it to anyone whose main question is “what will this cost me.” You cannot answer that from BitFree’s own materials. I would not recommend it to anyone planning to hold a balance long-term, because the custody model is not stated and that is precisely the question a long-term holder needs answered. And I would not recommend it as a first crypto card; start with something that names its networks, its issuer and its fee.

Frequently asked questions

What is BitFree card?

It is a virtual prepaid payment card that lives in the BitFree app rather than in your hand or wallet. You load it with digital assets, and it spends a stored balance, the way a prepaid card does. The card is issued by a licensed partner whose name BitFree does not publish, and the card’s network and currency are not stated either.

How does BitFree card work?

You fund a stored balance from supported digital assets, and the card draws on that balance when you pay. Conversion to whatever currency the payment needs is performed by the issuing partner, and BitFree says you can review the reference rate before you confirm a top-up. Beyond that flow the card works like an ordinary prepaid card in an app.

Is BitFree a bank?

No — and nothing in its published materials says it is one. The issuer is described only as an unnamed “licensed card issuing partner operating under its own financial licenses”. A card programme is a payment service, regulated separately from banking; if BitFree holds your balance, that is e-money-like custody, not a bank deposit, and deposit-guarantee protections should not be assumed.

Is BitFree card safe?

There is no evidence of harm, and no evidence of reliability either: no official incidents were found, but also no third-party reviews. BitFree states KYC with AML monitoring and device checks, and does not state its custody model. Safety here turns on facts the card does not publish — so treat the balance as spendable cash, not savings.

How to top up BitFree card?

The only published instruction is that supported digital assets may be used for prepaid card top-up requests. Which coins, and on which networks, is not named — which is the part that matters, because transfers are irreversible and a wrong network can mean lost funds. Get the supported list from support in writing before you send anything.

How much does BitFree card cost?

Not stated, anywhere in the public material. Issuance, monthly fee, conversion, foreign exchange, ATM, and daily and monthly limits are all unstated; conversion is done by the partner and the reference rate is viewable before a top-up is confirmed. You can see the rate, not what the card charges on top of it — so I cannot quote you a price.

Where can I use BitFree card?

Wherever a merchant accepts its network, but the network is not stated, and the card is virtual and prepaid, so some merchants will decline it. Some shops also apply extra scrutiny when a card’s issuing country differs from the billing address. The card is not available in Hong Kong, Macau or the US, and is offered across supported App Store regions excluding mainland China.

Does BitFree card require KYC?

Yes. BitFree states KYC is required before use, with government-issued ID and liveness checks. Proof of address and age are not stated as separate requirements, and there are no stated verification tiers. If verification fails, the pages do not say what happens next, so allow room for a second attempt.

Can I add BitFree card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The public pages say nothing about mobile wallets, so I would not count on it. Apple Pay itself works by storing a device-specific account number on your phone and using a one-time code per payment, so a card that can be tokenised can usually be added — but whether BitFree can be is simply not stated. Ask support before you rely on tapping.

Is BitFree card worth it?

Worth it if you need a prepaid crypto-funded card more than you need to know its cost. Not worth it if you are choosing between cards and your deciding question is what a payment will cost, which chain to send on, or who holds your balance — because BitFree does not publish any of those. On the information available, the deciding argument is transparency, and BitFree does not have it.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team