Airtm's virtual Visa costs almost nothing to hold — but there is no cash, no refunds to the card, and users report frozen accounts
Airtm is not a bank, and it does not behave like one. What it is: a virtual Visa prepaid debit card, issued by a Missouri state-chartered bank called Lead Bank, that draws on a balance you already hold inside the Airtm platform. You spend dollars; behind the scenes, stablecoins are sold and US dollars are loaded onto the card in real time at the moment of purchase. There is no physical card, no ATM and no cashback. Issuance is free, the monthly fee is zero, and the FX fee on international payments is zero — which is a genuinely rare combination in this category.
That said, I scored this card 6.3 out of 10, and the number is not a rounding of a better one. The costs side is close to as good as this category gets. The problems are all elsewhere: there is only a virtual card and only the two mobile wallets, so no cash when you need it; the balance is custodial and not FDIC insured; disputes are unusually weak; and, most of all, the user-review record on Trustpilot sits at a TrustScore of 3 out of 5 across roughly 7,000 reviews, dominated by complaints about accounts being suspended without explanation and funds being held.
Here is who I think it actually suits: someone with verified residence in an eligible country who already holds a stablecoin balance on Airtm, spends mainly online or in-app, and does not need cash, and who has read the complaints section below with the same care I did. If you need a physical card, an ATM, or a card that behaves like an ordinary bank card under a dispute, this is the wrong product, and no fee schedule will fix that.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Verified residence in 15+ countries by residence rather than citizenship; opened in the US and Argentina; closed in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk, and certain US states including New York |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Issuance $0, monthly fee $0, 1% on the first $200 loaded per month up to $2 USDC then 0%, FX fee 0%; $1 inactivity fee after 30 days without a load |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Loaded from the Airtm balance in USDC; the Airtm wallet itself takes 500+ methods, but the networks used are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Lead Bank issues, Bridge Ventures operates, Airtm Inc. has been a FinCEN-registered MSB since 2015; Trustpilot 3 out of 5 on roughly 7,000 reviews, with complaints about account blocks and held funds |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, with Apple Pay and Google Pay; no physical card and no ATM |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Excellent fee schedule, thin everyday practicality, and a live complaint problem |
Will they give you the card?
Yes, if your residence is verified in one of the 15+ countries Airtm serves — and the test is residence, not citizenship. That distinction matters more than it sounds. It also matters where you were born: the platform screens nationality and country of birth separately from country of address, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy get applied to citizenship as well as to your address. So a citizen of a sanctioned country living legally in an eligible country is in a different position from someone whose residence is verified there.
The rollout has been staged. Airtm launched the card in the United States and Argentina first. Coming soon: Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic. Planned further out: Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru. If you are outside that set, “the app works in my country” is not the same as “the card is available to me”, and I would not want you to read 500+ funding methods as a promise of card access.
The exclusion list is explicit: Airtm’s platform, and therefore the card, is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, and Ukraine’s Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions. Certain US states are also excluded, New York among them. If you are in one of those places, the answer is no, and there is no version of this card that changes that.
One more thing worth knowing before you invest an evening: the card is virtual only. No delivery, no plastic, no waiting for the postman. That is a feature if you plan to put it straight into Apple Pay, and a dead end if you do not.
How to get it
You need what Airtm calls “Special Features KYC” — a single verification tier specific to premium features, separate from the basic account verification every Airtm user does. If you have already completed Special Features KYC for a US Virtual Account, you do not need to repeat it. That is the one piece of genuinely good news in this section, because re-verification is where a lot of people get stuck.
The documents: an official ID showing your name, address, date of birth and government ID number. You must be 18 or over. Prepaid and debit cards in this category are generally adult-only, and some issuers set higher limits.
The process itself is short. Complete Special Features KYC, open the card page in the app, follow the instructions, and the card is approved. Activation takes from a few minutes to two business days.
What the card’s public pages do not say is just as informative as what they do: no rejection reasons are published. Nobody will tell you in advance which document format fails or which address mismatch triggers a decline. So plan for a possible second attempt, and keep your ID document to hand.
The card itself is a Visa prepaid debit card in USD. USD only — the card holds no multi-currency balances of its own, so any foreign purchase is converted and then charged at a 0% international transaction fee.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The fee schedule is the strongest part of this product. Issuance is $0. There is no monthly fee, and specifically no monthly fee if you regularly load or use the card. The annual fee is $0. There is a single tier — no paid upgrades to find. There is no per-purchase fee.

| Fee or limit | What it is |
|---|---|
| Issuance | $0 |
| Monthly fee | $0 (none if you regularly load or use the card) |
| Annual fee | $0, single tier |
| Top-up fee | 1% on the first $200 loaded per calendar month, max $2 USDC per month; 0% beyond $200; the Bridge cardholder agreement states “up to 2%” for funding from the Airtm wallet |
| FX fee on international transactions | 0% |
| Card deletion fee | 1% of balance |
| Per-purchase fee | None |
| Cashback at point of sale | None |
| ATM withdrawals | Not available (n/a per the cardholder agreement); no ATM balance inquiry |
| Inactivity fee | $1 after 30 days without any loads |
| Daily spending limit | $2,000 USD |
| Per-transaction limit | $2,000 USD |
| Monthly spending limit | None stated separately; loading limits follow the withdrawal limits of your Airtm account |
| Card currency | USD only |
Three everyday payments, so you can see what this looks like rather than take my word for it.
- A $12 lunch in your own country. No conversion, no FX fee, no per-purchase fee. You are spending pre-loaded US dollars. The only fee in play is the top-up fee you already paid when the balance was loaded.
- A $40 online subscription billed in euros. The international transaction fee is 0%, so no FX markup on the card side. What you can still feel is the spread Airtm applies when stablecoins are sold and dollars loaded at the moment of purchase — that sits inside Airtm’s rate, not in a line item on a receipt.
- A $300 load from your Airtm balance in the same month as $150 of other loads. All $450 falls within the first $200 band, so 1% applies to the whole $450 in that month up to a $2 USDC ceiling — which $4.50 would otherwise exceed, so the cap binds and you pay $2. Load $500 in a month and the first $200 is charged at 1% while the remaining $300 is free.
The inactivity fee is the one to set a reminder about. $1 after 30 days without loads. If you open the card for a subscription and then forget it exists for a couple of months, that is $1 you did not budget for. Small, but avoidable.
One honest note: the top-up fee is stated two ways. Airtm’s own pages say 1% on the first $200 per calendar month capped at $2 USDC, and the Bridge cardholder agreement says “up to 2%” for funding from the Airtm wallet. I would plan around the more favourable figure but keep the agreement wording in mind, since it is the contract.
How to Top up the card
The card cannot be funded from a bank directly. It is topped up from your Airtm balance in USDC, and that is the only route. When you start a purchase, stablecoins are sold from the platform provider account and fiat USD is loaded onto the card in real time.

Behind that sits the Airtm wallet, and this is where the breadth is: 500+ payment methods including bank transfers, crypto deposits, mobile wallets, the P2P network, and debit or credit cards via MoonPay. The Airtm card’s own pages do not disclose which blockchain networks are used for those crypto deposits.
That gap is worth sitting with. Getting the money in is a two-step journey — you fund the Airtm wallet first, then the card draws on the Airtm balance — and at the first step you are choosing a network for a stablecoin transfer. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is no minimum top-up amount stated, so small test deposits before a large one are simply prudence rather than a rule.
For US users there is a specific constraint: the card can only be loaded via payouts, with the card set as your default payout method. Network fees for crypto conversion are included in Airtm’s spread and P2P rates rather than billed separately.
Getting money back off the card
There is no ordinary “withdraw to bank” button on the card itself. To move funds from the card back to your Airtm balance, you delete the card: the remaining balance minus the 1% deletion fee is transferred to your Airtm account. On card closure, the remaining balance returns to the platform provider wallet as stablecoins. The Bridge agreement (Section 20) states no fee is charged by Lead Bank for closure.
The deletion fee is the number to weigh. If you delete the card, you are out of pocket 1% of whatever is left on it. That is the price of moving money back, and it is the only route the card’s terms describe.
Paying with it every day
Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, which is how most people will actually use this card. You push a tokenised card number to a device, the number lives in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. If you want the card in a mobile wallet, this part is smooth.
Blocked merchant categories are gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses. Gambling in particular is blocked widely by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so a category that works on one crypto card can decline on another. It is worth knowing before you meet a card reader you had not planned for.
The app is rated well on both stores: 4.8 out of 5 on the iOS App Store in the US from about 5K ratings, and 4.5 out of 5 on Google Play from roughly 82.4K reviews. There are iOS, Android and web dashboard platforms. Those numbers, read on 2026-10-21, are about the software around the card, not the card itself, but you will live in that app.
What you cannot do is withdraw cash, and there is no physical card to lose or hand over at a bar. No cashback. Those are the three things people notice within a week.
Disputes, refunds and holds — the weak spot
Read this part twice, because it is where the card is least like an ordinary bank card.
There is no right to stop payment on a card transaction. Disputes must first be handled directly with the merchant. And refunds are not credited back to the card: they go to the platform provider wallet as stablecoins. If you pay a shop with the card and the shop returns your money, it does not reappear on your card balance — it shows up as stablecoins on the platform side. That is a real operational difference and it will confuse people who are not expecting it.
Error resolution follows a schedule: report within 60 days, investigation within 10 business days, up to 45 days standard, and 90 days for new cards or foreign-initiated transactions. Liability for unauthorised transactions is capped at $50 if reported within two business days, and up to $500 if reported later. Pre-authorisation holds may take up to seven business days to release, which is normal for cards in this category and still worth planning around when a deposit and a purchase land in the same week.
The practical summary: this is not a card you can confidently walk away from in a dispute, and if a purchase goes wrong you are relying on you taking it up with the merchant before anyone else will.
What can go wrong
The complaint record is the most important thing on this page, and it is user-reported rather than adjudicated — but it is consistent across Trustpilot, the App Store and Google Play for 2025 and 2026, which makes it more than one bad week.
On Trustpilot the TrustScore is 3 out of 5 across roughly 7,000 reviews as of October 2026. Three themes recur:
- Accounts suspended or limited without clear explanation, and funds held — user reports throughout 2025–2026.
- Slow or unresponsive customer support, with generic replies — user reports throughout 2025–2026.
- P2P marketplace fraud, cashiers scamming users, with Airtm not reimbursing — user reports throughout 2025–2026.
Alongside those: funds stuck for weeks or months, and verification delays. What I did not find was any major publicised hack or shutdown of this platform.
The P2P theme deserves specific attention because it is the one place where your money meets a stranger. Peer-to-peer transfers run through human cashiers. Fraud on that side has been reported as unreimbursed. If you use the P2P network to move money, that is where you are taking on risk that the fee schedule does not price in.
Who is actually behind it
Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation at 1111B S Governors Ave STE 37570, Dover, DE 19904, US, registered with FinCEN as a money services business (#31000329787639) and operating since 2015. Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered FDIC member bank, issues the card. Bridge Ventures LLC, a Delaware company, is the programme manager. The network is Visa. The licence named on the site is the FinCEN MSB registration. So Airtm is a registered money services business operating a card programme under a bank issuer — not a bank itself, and not the issuer of record.
Custody, insurance and account controls
The funds are custodial: held by Lead Bank. Card funds are not FDIC insured. Two-factor authentication is available on the Airtm account, and the card can be deleted or frozen from the dashboard — the latter is your real emergency lever if you suspect a problem.
Custody has a category-level track record worth weighing. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen in 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. You are trusting an intermediary, which is the price of convenience here.
There is one more piece of category background that explains a lot about how these cards behave. A payment card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number (the BIN) that tells the merchant which institution and country issued it. Merchants can look that up and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and it is not something you can argue your way past. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a further reason a decline can happen that has nothing to do with you.
Availability track record
The USD Virtual Card was officially launched on 2025-05-27 in a blog post by Cristina Rodriguez, initially in the US and Argentina. IsDown tracked around 36 Airtm incidents since July 2021; the last tracked outage was 2025-10-02, described as “Transactions error”. Scheduled maintenance was announced for 2026-06-04 between 6:00 and 9:00 AM UTC. None of this is alarming, but if your money depends on being able to pay at a particular moment, note that this platform does have downtime.
Support: [email protected] and 833-237-8104, plus website chat. The site is available in English, Spanish and Portuguese. Hours are not explicitly stated — which, given the complaints about slow replies, is worth noticing.
What to take instead
None of these is clearly better; they are differently shaped, and the honest comparison is against the awkward parts of Airtm rather than its fee schedule, which Airtm wins.
| Airtm | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.3 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who can get it | Verified residence in 15+ countries; closed list applies | Site says “one crypto card, 200+ countries”, no country list or exclusions; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Aimed at Nigeria; “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions stated | No country list on official pages; App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) |
| Card | Virtual only, Visa prepaid debit, USD | Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; card currency Naira per listing | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR |
| Cost | Issuance $0, monthly $0, 1% top-up to $200 then free, FX 0% | Not stated | Creating a virtual card is “completely free”; monthly fee not stated | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees |
| Conversion fees | No per-purchase fee | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates and picks the best; no percentage stated | Not stated | Not stated on the pages I could read |
| Funding | From Airtm balance in USDC; wallet takes 500+ methods, networks not disclosed | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated |
| Rewards | None | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Two patterns jump out. First, the alternatives are less documented: for Cardex, CardFlow and HyperCard the costs, fees and rewards are, in several places, simply not stated on the pages I could read. “Not stated” is not the same as “free” — with Cardex, for example, the site describes an AI-driven conversion rate but publishes no percentage, so you cannot compare it to Airtm’s flat 0% FX fee. Second, on eligibility: Airtm is the only one of the four that publishes an actual country list and an actual exclusion list. That is a real advantage, even though the list is shorter than the marketing on some of the others.
If you need a physical card, Cardex is the one here that lists physical cards. If you are in Nigeria and want a card denominated in naira, Cardex’s App Store listing points that way and CardFlow is built for the same market. Neither of those solves the complaint and custody questions, which none of them answer.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to someone who has decided, deliberately, that the fee schedule matters more than everything else. Concretely: you have verified residence in an eligible country; you are already holding USDC on Airtm, so the 1% on the first $200 per month is not a tax on your whole balance; you spend most of what you would use it for online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay; you have never needed cash from a card and do not expect to; and you can tolerate a 3-out-of-5 TrustScore and the possibility that support takes days rather than minutes.
The fee math is genuinely the best thing here. Free to open, free to hold, free to convert on international transactions, and free to load past $200 in a calendar month. Airtm Inc. has been a FinCEN-registered money services business since 2015, the issuer is an FDIC member state-chartered bank, and you can freeze the card from the dashboard. That is a more solid foundation than most of the cards in this category sit on.
I would recommend it to you less warmly if any of these are true. You need a physical card or an ATM. You need refunds to land back on the card. You need to stop a payment, or to be protected by FDIC insurance on the balance. You are in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, or the Donetsk, Luhansk or Crimea regions, or certain US states including New York. You are relying on a specific purchase clearing on a specific day. Or you have had an account frozen elsewhere and you know how little recourse that leaves you — because that complaint is the loudest thing in this card’s review history, and it is the one I would weigh most heavily of all.
Set a calendar reminder to check the card balance regularly. Load something. That $1 inactivity fee is the only cost on this page you can avoid entirely with a habit.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Airtm card?
It is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card that spends a balance you already hold inside the Airtm platform. It is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered FDIC member bank, and the programme manager is Bridge Ventures LLC. When you make a purchase, stablecoins are sold and US dollars are loaded onto the card in real time. There is no physical version, no ATM and no cashback.
How does the Airtm card work day to day?
You load your Airtm balance, spend from the card in USD, and the platform converts stablecoins into dollars as each purchase begins. You can push the card into Apple Pay or Google Pay. Spending is capped at $2,000 per day and $2,000 per transaction. One quirk to internalise: a merchant refund does not return to the card, it is credited to the platform provider wallet as stablecoins.
Is Airtm a bank?
No. Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation registered with FinCEN as a money services business (#31000329787639) and has operated since 2015. It is not a deposit-taking bank. The bank in the structure is Lead Bank, which issues the card under a Visa programme run by Bridge Ventures. The licence Airtm names on its own site is the FinCEN MSB registration, and card funds are not FDIC insured.
Who owns Airtm?
Airtm Inc., a Delaware corporation registered at 1111B S Governors Ave STE 37570, Dover, DE 19904, US. It is the platform provider and the customer-facing brand. The card programme itself sits with two other companies: Lead Bank as issuer and Bridge Ventures LLC as programme manager. Support runs through [email protected] and 833-237-8104, with the site in English, Spanish and Portuguese.
Is the Airtm card available in my country?
Availability depends on verified residence, not citizenship, across 15+ countries. It launched in the United States and Argentina, with Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic listed as coming soon, and Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru planned. It is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, Ukraine’s Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions, or certain US states including New York.
How do I apply and activate the Airtm card?
You complete “Special Features KYC” with an official ID showing your name, address, date of birth and government ID number, and you must be 18 or over. Then you open the card page in the app and follow the instructions. If you already did that verification for a US Virtual Account you do not repeat it. Approval takes from a few minutes to two business days, and the card’s public pages publish no rejection reasons.
How do I top up the Airtm card?
Only from your Airtm balance in USDC — there is no direct bank route to the card. The Airtm wallet itself accepts 500+ methods, including bank transfers, crypto deposits, mobile wallets, P2P and debit or credit cards via MoonPay. The fee is 1% on the first $200 loaded per calendar month, capped at $2 USDC, and 0% beyond that. The card’s pages do not disclose which networks the crypto deposits use.
Is the Airtm card free?
Mostly, yes. Issuance is $0, the monthly fee is $0, the annual fee is $0, there is no per-purchase fee, and the international transaction fee is 0%. The charges to know are the top-up fee, a $1 inactivity fee after 30 days without a load, and a 1% card deletion fee on the balance if you close it to move funds back to your Airtm account.
Is the Airtm card safe to use?
Understand what you are trusting. Funds are custodial, held by Lead Bank, and are not FDIC insured; the card can be frozen from the dashboard and two-factor authentication is available on the account. On Trustpilot the TrustScore is 3 out of 5 across roughly 7,000 reviews, with recurring user reports of accounts suspended without explanation, funds held, slow support and unreimbursed P2P fraud.
Where can I use the Airtm card?
Anywhere that accepts Visa online or contactless, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay. There is no physical card and no ATM, so cash is out. Gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses are blocked merchant categories. Because merchants can check the issuer BIN and country, and because address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, some shops may decline it.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
