A crypto exchange card with no named issuer and no published limits

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The LBank card is not really a bank card in the sense most people mean that phrase. It is a payment card that spends directly from your LBank Spot balance — the crypto you hold on the exchange — and it comes in two shapes: 8 Card Instant, a virtual card you get inside the app, and 8 Card GO, the physical one. There is a Visa network behind it, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the everyday mechanics are simple. What is hard is the paperwork around it. The public pages do not name the bank or e-money institution that issues the card, do not publish the limits, do not publish the card’s own currency, and do not state the fee for the physical card. On top of that, LBank’s exchange reputation on Trustpilot is poor: 325 reviews, 82% of them one star, read in October 2026, with users describing frozen withdrawals and disputed liquidations. Those reviews are about the exchange, not the card — the card is barely mentioned in them. But your money sits on the same platform.

LBank works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.8 out of 10

I scored this card 6.8 / 10. The score is not a verdict on whether you can spend with it — you can, and the mechanics work. It is a verdict on how much you can find out before you commit, and on what happens to your balance if the exchange has a bad month.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up LBank starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Available to users outside prohibited countries; an earlier check listed the US, mainland China, Canada, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Sudan
Cost 8 / 10 Virtual issuance, annual and top-up fees waived; the physical card charges a “low” issuance fee; both charge 0.8% per transaction
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT and other supported cryptocurrencies are deducted automatically from the LBank Spot balance; networks are not applicable
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer and card licences are not named; Trustpilot shows 325 exchange reviews with 82% at one star over frozen withdrawals and disputed liquidations, with the card not mentioned in the reviews
Everyday use 10 / 10 Virtual 8 Card Instant and physical 8 Card GO, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and ATM use on the physical card
Total 6.8 / 10 Usable and cheap to hold, opaque on who issues it, and sitting on an exchange with a heavy complaint load

Who this suits: someone who already keeps funds on LBank, spends that balance through the exchange rather than through a bank, and treats the card as a convenience rather than as the only card they own. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a predictable limit, a published dispute process, a named issuing bank they can complain to, or the reassurance that comes from a card network scheme with a licensed issuer behind it. The everyday-use score is a perfect 10 because the product does what it promises on the surface. The reliability score is a 3 because almost nothing about the underlying issuer is published, and because the platform underneath has a volume of unresolved complaints that has nothing to do with cards at all.

I would add one thing that no score captures: the risk profile of holding a balance on an exchange rather than in your own wallet. Funds on the card are custodial — they sit in the LBank app. The card page itself says that losing the physical card does not put funds at risk, which is true as far as the card goes. It says nothing about the exchange account behind it.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, probably — the card is described as available to users outside prohibited countries. That is the wording LBank uses. The full list sits in the LBank User Service Agreement, which I did not read. An earlier check of LBank’s country lists included the United States, mainland China, Canada, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and Sudan, among others.

Two things follow from that, and both matter for you. First, “outside prohibited countries” is a country test, and country tests in this industry move. Second, the list I have is from an earlier check and is unofficial — LBank’s own card page does not enumerate countries. If your country sits near that list, do not treat my paragraph as permission; treat it as a reason to write to support and get an answer before you move money.

I could not find a citizenship rule stated anywhere. Nothing on the public pages says whether the card follows your citizenship, your country of residence, or both. That matters more than it sounds, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to where you live. If you hold a passport from a sanctioned state but live and bank elsewhere, you may be fine on the exchange and still be refused on the card, or the reverse. Ask.

The card is not stated as age-limited on the card page either. Across the category, prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults from 18, and some issuers set higher limits — but that is a general statement, not something LBank publishes for this card.

How to get it

The path is short. You log in to the LBank App, open the LBank Card section, enter your identity information and complete security verification. Additional documents may be requested. If your materials are complete, LBank says issuance takes as little as 1 minute. That “as little as” is doing real work — it is the best case, not the typical case.

What is not stated: whether proof of address is required, whether an age check is applied, and what verification tier you are landing on. I could not find a KYC level description for the card. So the honest position is that you will be asked for identity documents and you should expect a second round if anything looks incomplete, and that the specifics of the checks are not public.

Once you are through it you choose between the two products:

For the physical card, the countries it ships to, how long delivery takes and whether shipping is charged are not stated. That is a genuine gap. If you are outside the obvious markets, you have no way to know from the public pages whether the card will arrive.

The card currency is not stated for either product. That single omission has surprisingly wide consequences, and I will come back to it in the costs section.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is good and the details are missing. Instant waives issuance, annual and top-up fees. GO has a “low” issuance fee with no amount published, and zero annual and zero top-up fees. Both charge 0.8% per transaction. So holding the card is free, and the only cost you can put a number on is the per-transaction fee.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a LBank payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item 8 Card Instant 8 Card GO
Issuance Waived “Low” fee, amount not stated
Annual fee 0 0
Top-up fee 0 0
Transaction fee 0.8% 0.8%
Authorization fee when binding the card Charged, amount not stated Charged, amount not stated
Cross-currency payments Follow Visa’s clearing result, FX rate not stated Follow Visa’s clearing result, FX rate not stated
ATM Not stated ATM use covered; fee and allowance not stated
Spending limits Depend on card tier and account status; figures not stated Depend on card tier and account status; figures not stated

Two lines in that table deserve more than they get. The authorization fee when binding a card is charged whether or not the binding succeeds — so a failed attempt is not free. And the cross-currency row is the one that will shape your actual monthly cost, because the rate is not published.

Now let me walk three ordinary payments through it, because “0.8%” means very different things in different places.

A coffee, $4, in your card’s own currency if it is your home currency. You pay 0.8% — about 3 cents — and nothing else appears. If you also hold an LBank VIP level with a cashback rate, some of that comes back. On coffee purchases specifically the stated rate is 10% up to a cap of 10 USDT per month.

A $30 supermarket shop in a country whose currency is not your card’s. Here you are exposed twice. The 0.8% transaction fee applies, and on top of it the cross-currency amount “may differ from the authorization amount, adjusted to Visa’s clearing result” — which is the standard way of saying the final charge is set by the network’s clearing and you may not know the effective rate in advance. The FX rate is not stated and neither is the card currency, so I cannot tell you what the effective markup is. Anyone who tells you this card has a 0% foreign transaction fee is reading something that isn’t there.

A $200 online subscription. Same 0.8%, same currency exposure if the merchant prices in a different currency from your balance. Add the category question: merchant category codes exist precisely so issuers can block whole classes of spending, and LBank mentions “merchant restrictions” as a failure cause without publishing the list. So a payment can fail not because of your balance but because of the category, and you will not find out in advance which categories those are.

If you want the honest headline: the per-transaction fee is competitive and the card is free to hold, but the effective cost of a foreign-currency payment cannot be calculated from public information. That is not a criticism of the pricing; it is a gap in the disclosure, and it changes how you should use the card. Spend what you can in one currency, and treat the card as a second-string option if you travel.

How to top it up

Top-up is where this card is genuinely different from most of the field, and in a way that cuts both ways. You do not load a card balance from a bank. USDT and other supported cryptocurrencies are deducted automatically from your LBank Spot account balance at the moment of spending. The top-up fee is 0 on both cards, and networks are not applicable — because there is no separate on-chain transfer into a card address, there is no network to choose.

That is genuinely convenient. It also means there is no minimum top-up to get wrong, no deposit address to mistype, no chain to pick, and no transfer sitting in the void if something goes sideways. For someone who is already holding crypto on LBank, the mechanism is close to frictionless.

The same simplicity removes your usual safety margin. Because the balance is deducted from the Spot account, the Spot account is the thing that has to be right. There is no separate card wallet to inspect. If you hold funds across several assets, the currency each payment actually drew from is worth understanding before you rely on it. The page says USDT and other supported cryptocurrencies — it does not give the deduction order between them, the way Bybit publishes a re-orderable priority list.

Minimum top-up is not stated. Fiat top-up is not stated. The minimum for the former is arguably less interesting here than it looks, because the model is “spend from Spot” rather than “load a balance” — but the absence of the figure still means I cannot tell you whether a very small purchase is practical.

One reassurance from the card page is worth repeating because it answers a common fear: freezing or cancelling a card does not affect deposits or withdrawals from your account balance. Cancelling is permanent, though. So treat freezing as your first tool, not cancelling.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card scores 10 out of 10, and it earns the score on the surface features.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, which in practice is how most people will use a virtual card — you load the number into your phone’s wallet and stop handling it. The 8 Card GO covers ATM use, so the physical card gets cash out too, though the ATM fee and the allowance are not stated. You use the LBank App on iOS and Android; the app’s ratings I did not read, so I have no view on how well it holds up day to day.

Then there is cashback, and this is where the fine print matters more than the headline rate. Monthly cashback per user:

Read that last line twice. A 10% coffee rate capped at 10 USDT is generous on small purchases and worth roughly nothing above about 100 USDT of coffee a month. The tier rates are not generous — 0.8% for most users exactly offsets the transaction fee, meaning the default user pays 0.8% and gets 0.8% back, before any currency conversion cost. The cashback becomes meaningful only if you are already a high-volume trader on VIP3 or above. In what the cashback is paid, is not stated; the caps are quoted in USDT, but that is not the same as a settlement currency.

Two everyday-use details with sharp edges. Merchant refunds “generally return to the original payment method” — on a card that draws from a crypto Spot balance, “generally” is doing work, and you should not assume a refund restores the exact asset you spent. And for anything that looks like fraud, the stated procedure is to freeze the card and contact support; support is described as 24/7, at [email protected].

On acceptance: “merchant restrictions” is named as a failure cause, and the restricted list is not stated. That is the same disclosure gap as in the costs section, and it is worth assuming some categories fail.

What can go wrong

Start with the thing nobody publishes.

The issuer is not named. LBank (LBK Exchange / LBK Blockchain Co., Limited) is the exchange; the card page says “LBank issues the card”. The issuing bank or e-money institution behind it, and the licences that cover the card specifically, are not stated. This is not a technicality. In this category a card sits on top of three parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the messages, the issuer is the bank or licensed e-money institution that actually holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just a programme manager or front end. If the issuer is not named, you do not know who your complaint goes to when the network, the issuer risk policy or the programme itself goes wrong. Programmes do close. Visa ended its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Those are structural facts about this category, not predictions about LBank.

The exchange underneath has a heavy complaint load. On Trustpilot, LBank shows 325 reviews, 79 of them in the last 12 months, with 82% at one star, read in October 2026. The rating itself was unavailable because of a breach of guidelines. Themes in user reports: frozen withdrawals across June to October 2026, disputed or allegedly false futures liquidations in August–September 2026, and fiat deposits not credited in July 2026, plus unpaid bonuses in August 2026. These are exchange reviews, not card reviews — the card is not mentioned in them. I found no card-specific complaints, which is what you would expect from a product this new or this small. But a frozen withdrawal complaint and a card that spends your exchange balance are the same operational risk wearing different clothes: your money is on the platform, and the platform is where the complaints land.

The frozen-withdrawal theme deserves a specific thought. With this card there is no separate card balance to freeze. Your spending ability depends on your Spot balance being spendable. If the platform restricts withdrawals, or restricts your account, you will want your exchange funds accessible, and that is exactly the case the reviews describe.

Custodial risk, stated plainly. Funds are held in the LBank app, in an exchange account — custodial, not self-custody. The card page notes that idle USDT earns yield, which is a genuine benefit and also a reminder that this is a yield-bearing custodial product. Holding with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. A seed phrase in your own hands removes that specific risk and replaces it with others — key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address.

Irreversibility and holds. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no recovery path because the network cannot freeze or return funds. On the card side, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. If you are watching a balance at the same time, that is uncomfortable to know.

Sanctions screening is not a technicality. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — stablecoins are not censorship-proof. For you this means a balance can become unusable because of who you are or where you are, not because of anything you did.

Taxes. I am not giving tax advice here, but I would be leaving a stone unturned: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or services generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. On a card that converts at the moment of purchase, that can mean many small taxable disposals. Check this properly for your own situation.

What is not stated, and I want to be plain about it once: the KYC tier, proof-of-address requirement, age policy, physical-card shipping countries, time and cost, ATM fee and allowance, spending limits, card currency, FX rate, cashback settlement currency, minimum top-up, fiat top-up, restricted merchant categories, dispute time frames, and any card-specific news.

What to take instead

Two of the four alternatives I looked at have almost nothing published either, which is itself informative about how young this corner of the market is. Here is how they compare, so you can weigh them yourself rather than take my word.

Card Score Who it is for Published essentials
LBank 6.8 / 10 LBank exchange users spending from their Spot balance Two products (virtual Instant, physical GO), 0.8% transaction fee, virtual issuance and annual fees waived, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Young Card 5.7 / 10 — Eligibility, card type and fees not stated officially; cashback paid in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated)
MSX 6.4 / 10 — Eligibility, card type, fees, funding and rewards all not stated
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Bybit users in a defined list of regions Long, detailed published terms: regional card types, currencies, issuance fees, FX fees, and a tiered rewards table

Bybit is the one to look at properly if you want documentation rather than assurances — though its published terms also come with trade-offs you should read. Its card regions are listed as Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific; if your country is not on that list, the application records your interest rather than serving you. The cards page states the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all European Economic Area participation is strictly prohibited. Bybit’s restricted list for fiat services — deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card as such — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, and says Russian users can only make RUB transactions in fiat. No card-specific statement on Russian or Belarusian citizens was found, and no citizenship-versus-residence rule.

Its costs are heavier than LBank’s on both axes: a 0.9% crypto conversion fee over the One-Click Sell rate across Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil and Mexico, and FX fees of 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% “International Fee” on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD, 7% Argentina, 1.5% Brazil, 1% Peru. Rewards are richer in percentage terms — from Base at 2.00% with a 5 USD monthly cap up to Infinite at 10% with a 600 USD cap — but from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, and fiat-funded spending does not.

The real difference between these two is not the percentage points. It is that Bybit publishes its card’s regions, currencies, validity periods, issuance fees, FX fees, funding order and tier thresholds; LBank publishes none of that. If your question is “can I predict what this card will cost me in March,” Bybit is the one that lets you answer.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the LBank card to someone in a fairly specific position: you already hold funds on LBank, you are comfortable with a custodial balance, you spend in one currency, you mostly need a second card for everyday purchases and ATM withdrawals, and you have another card for anything important — a large purchase, a foreign-currency payment, a merchant you need to be accepted by.

I would not recommend it as your only card. The reasons are the ones above rather than the price: the issuer is not named, the card currency and FX rate are not published, the limits are not published, and the exchange underneath has 325 Trustpilot reviews with 82% at one star over frozen withdrawals and disputed liquidations. Even though those reviews never mention the card, your balance sits there.

If you are outside the prohibited-country list but near it, or if your citizenship and your residence are in different jurisdictions, ask support before you move anything. And if your priority is a card you can reason about — a named issuer, a published currency, a published limit, a documented dispute path — the market has at least one option that publishes all four, and you should read it before you settle for one that does not.

Frequently asked questions

What is the LBank card?

It is a Visa payment card that spends directly from your LBank exchange balance rather than from a bank account. Two versions exist: 8 Card Instant, which is virtual and issued in the app, and 8 Card GO, which is physical and supports ATM use. Apple Pay and Google Pay work with both. Funds are custodial, held in the LBank app, and idle USDT earns yield.

How does the LBank card work?

When you pay, the amount is deducted automatically from your LBank Spot account balance, in USDT or other supported cryptocurrencies. A 0.8% transaction fee applies to each payment. There is no separate card balance and no card address to fund — the card simply draws on the exchange account. The card currency is not stated, and cross-currency payments follow Visa’s clearing result.

Is LBank a bank?

Not on the information published about this card. LBank is an exchange, LBK Exchange / LBK Blockchain Co., Limited. The card page says “LBank issues the card” but does not name the issuing bank or e-money institution, nor any licence covering the card. That gap matters if you need to know who to complain to.

Who owns LBank?

LBank operates as LBK Exchange, under LBK Blockchain Co., Limited. That is the entity named in earlier checks. The ownership behind the card programme specifically is not stated, which is a separate question from who owns the exchange.

Who can get the LBank card?

It is described as available to users outside prohibited countries, with the full list in LBank’s User Service Agreement, which I did not read. An earlier unofficial check included the United States, mainland China, Canada, Hong Kong SAR, Macao SAR, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria and Sudan. No citizenship rule is published.

Is the LBank card free?

The virtual 8 Card Instant waives issuance, annual and top-up fees. The physical 8 Card GO has a “low” issuance fee with no amount published, and zero annual and top-up fees. Both charge 0.8% per transaction. So yes to hold, with a per-transaction cost to spend.

How do I top up the LBank card?

You do not top it up separately. USDT and other supported cryptocurrencies are deducted automatically from your LBank Spot balance, the top-up fee is 0 on both cards, and networks are not applicable. There is no deposit address and no chain to choose. Minimum top-up and fiat top-up are not stated.

Is the LBank card safe?

Safe depends on which question you mean. Your card number and payments go over Visa’s network, and the card page says losing the physical card does not put funds at risk. But the balance is custodial on an exchange whose Trustpilot page shows 325 reviews, 82% one-star, over frozen withdrawals and disputed liquidations — exchange complaints, with the card not mentioned in them.

Is the LBank card worth it?

If you already hold crypto on LBank and spend in one currency, the 0.8% fee and free virtual card are reasonable, and free cashback at VIP0–VIP2 offsets it. If you travel, need published limits, or want a named issuing bank to complain to, the unstated issuer, currency, FX rate and limits make it hard to value. Bybit publishes considerably more, at higher fees.

How do I delete my LBank account or close the card?

Closing the card is permanent, so freeze it first through Card Management if your goal is to stop spending temporarily — freezing or cancelling does not affect deposits or withdrawals from your account balance. I found no published procedure for closing the exchange account itself; that is a support question at [email protected].

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team