A virtual card that skips identity checks, at the cost of everything you would want to know
There is a specific kind of reader this review is written for. You have tried to get an ordinary bank card and could not — no local branch that will open one for you, a country whose banking system is closed to you, a name on a form that the system will not accept, or simply a preference for not handing over documents. A crypto card is one of the few things still on the table. Foton is one of the few crypto cards that says it does not ask for those documents. That is the whole pitch, and it is also, almost entirely, the whole of what can be established about it.
My score for Foton is 4.8 out of 10. That is a low number, and I want to be straight about why before anything else: not because the product is obviously a scam — I found no official incidents and no credible reporting of one — but because almost everything you would need in order to decide whether to use it with real money is not published anywhere I could verify. The official site was inaccessible, the issuer and the company behind the card are not named on the pages I could read, and the country list does not exist publicly. Everything specific I can tell you comes from a third-party listing and is not confirmed by the card.
Who it suits: someone who has a USDT balance on Tron, needs a virtual card number for online payments today, and is comfortable carrying the risk that the operator is invisible and support may not answer. Who it does not suit: anyone whose money has to arrive reliably, anyone in a country where the card would be unlawful to use, anyone who needs a card they can hold, and anyone who expects to be able to file a dispute when a payment goes wrong.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The official site was unavailable (403) when I checked and no country list is disclosed. Unofficial sources mention US, Hong Kong and Singapore BINs, with no published eligibility list. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Unofficial figures only: $2 issuance, no monthly fee, 1% top-up, free conversion, a $100 refundable guarantee deposit to start. One earlier note lists top-up at 1.5% — the figures disagree. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: USDT on Tron (TRC20) only. One rail, one token, one network. |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer and company are not named. Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews: chat not answering, an alleged $145 taken (September 2023), a deposit not returned. |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: virtual Visa only, 3D Secure. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on the English page and not supported on the Chinese page of the same site. |
| Total | 4.8 / 10 | The concept fits a narrow need; the disclosure around it does not support the trust the money would require. |

Will they give you the card?
The honest answer is that I cannot tell you, because the card does not say. The official site was inaccessible, and no country list is published. The only thing in circulation is a third-party listing that mentions BINs in the United States, Hong Kong and Singapore — and that is a description of where card numbers originate, not a statement of who may apply. Those are different things, and conflating them is the first mistake a reader can make here. A US-issued BIN tells you a US issuer processes the number. It does not tell you a US resident is welcome, and it certainly does not tell you what happens if you live somewhere else.
Let me say clearly what “not stated” means when I use it in this review. It means the card’s own public pages do not say it. It does not mean the answer is no, and it does not mean the answer is yes by default. In this section it means there is no published eligibility rule for me to check your country against — no list of blocked countries, no list of welcome ones, no minimum age, no statement about residents of particular jurisdictions.

The general rules of this industry are worth knowing while you wait for a clearer answer. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether the customer is a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic KYC systems validate proof-of-address documents against records. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address.
So if your interest is “can I get a card without giving anyone my documents,” understand what you are actually choosing. A provider that runs no KYC is not required to, and the rules that would otherwise protect you as a customer — the due-diligence floor, the safeguarding of customer funds, the reporting that comes with an account — are not applied to you. That is not an accusation against Foton. It is a description of what the absence of KYC means for the person holding the money.
How to get it
The card’s own pages say nothing about how to apply. What circulates instead is a third-party listing that markets Foton as “No KYC” and lists email, phone, ID, proof of address and selfie as all “Not Required.” If that is accurate, it is exactly what you came for. If it is not accurate, the failure will show up as a verification step you did not expect — and at that point the question of who holds your deposit becomes the only question that matters.
On the card itself: unofficial information describes a virtual-only card on the Visa network, with 3D Secure supported. The same listing also says virtual Visa and Mastercard options, which is a direct contradiction with itself; sources disagree on this, and I would not assume you get a choice. No physical card is listed, and delivery terms are not stated. One card is listed, with a note that “unlimited card issuance available for high-volume users” — which I would read as a description of the listing rather than a policy I could rely on.
Before you start, the practical questions are these: what is the minimum age, which countries are accepted, is there a physical card, which networks are actually available, and who is the issuer. Four of those four are unconfirmed. That is not a reason to walk away on its own. It is a reason to size whatever you put in accordingly — a small balance you can afford to lose, not the rent money.
What it really costs
Costs are the part where this card looks best and where the numbers are least trustworthy, because all of them are unofficial and at least two of them conflict. Here is what the third-party listing states, unconfirmed by the card itself.
| Fee or limit | Stated figure | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | $2 | Unofficial |
| Monthly fee | Free | Unofficial |
| Top-up fee | 1% | Unofficial; an earlier checking note says 1.5% for USDT TRC20 — the figures disagree |
| Conversion fee | Free | Unofficial |
| FX fee | Free | Unofficial |
| ATM fee | Free | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawal | Unlimited | Unofficial, on a virtual-only card |
| Daily spend | Unlimited | Unofficial |
| Monthly spend | Unlimited | Unofficial; a strict 20% maximum decline rate policy is unconfirmed |
| Guarantee deposit to start | $100 | Unofficial, described as refundable |
Now let me walk three ordinary payments through it, because a table of fees does not tell you what a purchase costs — the spread does.
A $30 subscription in dollars. If your balance is already in dollars and the merchant prices in dollars, the top-up fee of 1% is the only conversion-adjacent cost you have already paid, at top-up time. No FX fee, no conversion fee, per the listing. Network fees are a separate matter and are not the card’s: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider.
A €25 subscription paid from a dollar balance. Here the listing’s “FX fee free” claim does the most work. If it is accurate, the conversion happens at no stated markup. If it is not, this is where a hidden spread would live, and the listing gives you nothing to compare it against. This is the single payment I would test first with small money.
A withdrawal from an ATM. The listing says the fee is free and withdrawals are unlimited, on a card that is virtual only. Those two statements sit awkwardly together, since a virtual card number has no use at a physical ATM without a compatible wallet on a phone. I would not plan around this line at all.
One more figure deserves attention because it cuts against everything above: a strict 20% maximum decline rate policy, unofficial. Whatever the issuer means by that, the practical reading is that a large share of your attempts can be refused. With unlimited daily and monthly limits on paper, a policy that tolerates declines of that order is a warning that “unlimited” describes a number on a screen, not an experience.
How to top it up
Unofficial information, and consistent across the sources I saw: USDT on Tron (TRC20) only. One token, one network, no alternative rail mentioned anywhere. If you hold USDT on Ethereum, or USDC, or anything on another chain, you must convert and then send it across before you can use the card — and that step is where the risk concentrates.
The listing describes “fast automated top-ups” in USDT TRC20 and a 1% top-up fee, with a $100 refundable guarantee deposit needed to start. On the Tron network, fees are paid via bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX, so your transfer also needs a working TRX balance — a detail that catches people out.
The mechanics of stablecoins are worth thirty seconds, because the name misleads. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable.” Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS (July 2025) put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two. USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023.
One more thing to know about the chain you would be using. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — that removes the obvious workaround if your holdings are in USDC. And blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Tether also says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.
So the top-up flow, unofficial and unconfirmed: convert whatever you hold into USDT, send it on Tron to the provider’s address, pay 1% (or 1.5%, per the other note), and hold the $100 deposit. Check the network and the address twice, because there is no third party to reverse a mistake.
Paying with it every day
The honest daily-use picture is thin, and it is thin mostly because of one word: virtual. No physical card is listed. That rules out the tap-at-terminal habit that makes a card feel normal, and it makes every payment a copy-and-paste unless your phone wallet accepts the number.
On wallets, the sources contradict each other. Apple Pay and Google Pay are marked supported on the English page of the third-party site; the Chinese page of the same site says they are not supported. I cannot tell you which is current. This matters more than it looks: a virtual card number that goes into Apple Pay or Google Pay is stored as a device-specific token in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s or Google’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can also restrict that tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or website use — which is a lever you would not be able to see. If wallets are the point for you, this contradiction has to be resolved with the operator before you rely on it.
3D Secure is supported, unofficial. That is the identity check on online payments: the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you, for example with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. Worth knowing that under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per critics, to you.
Where the card is accepted is the next thing to test rather than assume. Merchants can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.
Rewards: unofficial, none. Cashback 0%. Nothing to offset the fees with.
And the daily reality nobody’s marketing copy mentions: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. With unlimited spend listed alongside a 20% decline rate (an unofficial figure), that combination means a decline can cost you a week of usable balance. Judge this card on what happens when things go wrong, not on the best-case top-up.
What can go wrong
This is the section that drove my score down hardest, and I want to separate what I verified from what I am repeating.
I found no official incidents. No regulator action, no court filing, no credible news story about Foton misappropriating funds. That is worth saying, because silence is not the same as a bad record — but it is also not a clean one, given how little is published.
What I did find is user reporting. The Trustpilot profile shows 3.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews, read 2026-10-21, with none in the last 12 months and an unclaimed profile. The themes in those reviews: chat support not answering (September 2023), an allegation that $145 was taken (September 2023), and scam accusations (September 2023). The same profile’s five-star reviews, from March and April 2024, mention timely customer service. A third-party Chinese review mentions an unresolved withheld deposit and unanswered tickets.
Read those two groups together and the honest summary is: a card that was responsive for some users in 2024, and unresponsive, in user accounts, for others in 2023 — with a deposit not returned in at least one report. The $100 guarantee deposit is described officially nowhere, and unofficial reports say it was not returned. Four reviews is a tiny sample, and I am not treating it as a verdict. I am treating it as the only signal available, and it points the wrong way.
The structural risks are larger than the complaint list. Here is the part of the industry that applies to you regardless of which card you pick:
- You do not know who holds your money. Neither the issuer nor the company is named on the pages I could read. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was being wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, and a useful illustration of the shape rather than a prediction.
- Your deposit may be the float. Funds held by a provider sit as that provider’s working capital, in effect. Where an e-money institution is involved, EU rules require customer funds to be safeguarded by segregation in dedicated accounts or insurance — and such funds are not the same as bank deposits, and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Foton’s regulatory status is not stated, so I cannot tell you which protections, if any, apply.
- There is no recourse, possibly. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Ask yourself who you would file against.
- Regulation may move under you. MiCA is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation; ESMA states it took legal effect in June 2023. Its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, with the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — which means the entity behind your card may currently be operating under a regime that is ending. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs; a lookup there is the cheapest due diligence available to you.
- Taxes follow the payment, not the withdrawal. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. Each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal, measured in your local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. I am not telling you what you owe — check your own position — but you should stop assuming that spending a stablecoin is spending a bank balance.
- Support is thin and possibly absent. Unofficial, and unconfirmed. If chat does not answer, and the deposit is the thing in dispute, you have no lever.
To be fair to the card, some of this is category-wide rather than Foton-specific, and mainstream custodial failures are a useful comparison: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Custody by a third party carries counterparty and hack risk; self-custody carries key-loss and phishing risk instead. There is no zero-risk option here — only a choice of which risk you are taking.
What to take instead
None of the alternatives below is clearly better. I include them because a card with an invisible operator is worth comparing against cards with visible ones, and because two of these at least tell you what they are.
| Foton | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 4.8 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who | Not stated; US, Hong Kong, Singapore BINs mentioned unofficially | One crypto card, 200+ countries; no exclusions published; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users”; no list or exclusions stated | Official pages give no country list; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” — acceptance, not eligibility |
| Card | Virtual only, Visa; sources disagree (Visa and Mastercard) | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical; currency Naira per listing | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid; network not stated; balance in USD or EUR |
| Cost | $2 issuance, free monthly (unofficial) | Not stated | Virtual card creation free; monthly fee not stated | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees |
| Fees | Top-up 1% (or 1.5%), conversion free, FX free (unofficial) | Real-time conversion at payment, “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans global exchange rates; no percentage stated | Not stated | Not stated on pages I could read |
| Top up | USDT on Tron (TRC20) only | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Crypto deposit such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated |
How to read that table. Cardex scores highest of the four at 5.6, and the reason is not that its fees are better — no percentage is published — but that it publishes more: 200+ countries, four networks, physical and virtual, and a stated mechanism for choosing the conversion rate. Its weakness is the same one: a Naira-focused App Store listing tells you less than it seems to. CardFlow at 4.9 is the clearest on paper about who it serves and what creating a card costs; a virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes with free creation, and naira bank transfer as an alternative to crypto, is a genuinely different rail from Tron-only. HyperCard at 4.7 is the thinnest on fees and networks — both unstated — but its acceptance claim is at least quantified.
The comparison that matters for your situation: Foton’s advantage over all three is the no-KYC claim. Its disadvantage is that the claim is unofficial, the operator is unnamed, and the deposit has user reports of not returning. If you cannot verify KYC, check the support path before you check the fees.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Foton to a narrow person with a clear head: you already hold USDT, you already have or can get a Tron network with working TRX, you need a virtual card number for online payments this week, and you would survive losing the balance. I would tell you to put in the minimum the $100 deposit allows, verify the network and address yourself rather than trusting a guide, and treat the balance as spendable and replaceable.
I would tell everyone else to look elsewhere first. If you need a card that works everywhere and answers the phone, this is not it — the operator is unnamed and the support reports are poor. If you need a physical card, nothing unofficial suggests one exists. If you are in a country where using such a card would put you outside local rules, stop here: nothing on these pages authorises that, and the rule that would protect you as a customer does not apply to you when no KYC is done. If you are planning to keep a working balance there long-term, the MiCA transition point of 1 July 2026 is a reason to re-evaluate before you get comfortable.
My score of 4.8 out of 10 is not a judgement that Foton is dishonest. It is a judgement that the disclosure does not support the trust. A no-KYC virtual card paid in USDT TRC20 is a coherent product for a specific person, and I understand why it appeals. But I have read everything available about this one, and the answer to most of the questions you would need answered in order to trust it with money is: not published.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Foton card?
Foton is described as a virtual payment card that you fund with crypto. Unofficial information describes it as virtual-only, on the Visa network, with 3D Secure supported and no physical card listed. Its distinguishing feature is a “No KYC” claim. The card’s own public pages are unavailable to me, so the issuer and the operating company are not named, and every specific detail here comes from a third-party listing.
How does the Foton card work?
In the model described unofficially, you convert or send crypto into a stored balance and the card spends that balance, so it cannot overdraw. A prepaid card draws on stored funds, while a standard debit card asks the bank to withdraw from a linked account at purchase time. Foton is said to sit in the first group: you hold a balance, it converts when you pay. No rewards and 0% cashback are reported.
Is Foton a bank?
I cannot tell you, and you should not assume it is. The issuer is not named on any page I could read. In this industry the card network routes messages and sets rules, a licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Foton’s regulatory status is not stated anywhere I could verify.
Who owns Foton?
Not stated publicly. The official site was inaccessible, and no company name appears on the material available to me. That is a genuine gap, not a coyness on my part — ownership is usually the first thing you can establish about a card, and here it is the first thing missing. I would want the legal entity name, its registration, and its regulator before I funded it.
Is Foton card available in my country?
The card does not publish a country list, so there is no answer to check yours against. Unofficial sources mention BINs in the United States, Hong Kong and Singapore, which tells you where card numbers originate, not who may apply — those are different questions. If your country has rules about holding or spending crypto, those rules apply to you regardless of what any card listing says.
Does Foton require KYC?
Unofficial listings say no — email, phone, ID, proof of address and selfie all marked “Not Required” — and the card’s own pages say nothing. If accurate, that is the product’s appeal. Understand the trade: EU and US customer due diligence rules, funds safeguarding, and suspicious-activity reporting all attach to verification, and none of them applies to you. I am not judging you for it; you should just be choosing knowingly.
How do I top up the Foton card?
Unofficially, with USDT on the Tron (TRC20) network only — no other token and no other chain is mentioned. The listing describes a 1% top-up fee, or 1.5% in an earlier note, plus a $100 refundable guarantee deposit to start. Tron fees are paid via bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX, so you need a working TRX balance too. Transfers are irreversible, so check the network and the address yourself.
Is Foton card safe?
Safe is not a question I can answer for you. I found no official incidents against Foton. But the operator is unnamed, the deposit is described only as refundable by a third party, and user reports on Trustpilot — 3.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews, none in the last 12 months — include an unresponsive chat, an alleged $145 taken, and a deposit not returned. Programmes like this get wound down; ask who you would file a dispute with.
How do I add Foton to Apple Wallet?
I cannot confirm that this works. Unofficial sources say Apple Pay is supported on the English page of a third-party site and not supported on the Chinese page of that same site. If it does work, the number is stored as a device-specific token in your phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, with a one-time dynamic code per payment — and the issuer can restrict that token afterwards. Test it with small money before relying on it.
Is Foton card worth it?
For me, no — 4.8 out of 10 — but that reflects disclosure, not proven wrongdoing. It is worth it if you need a virtual card number today, hold USDT on Tron, and can absorb losing the deposit. It is not worth it if you need a physical card, dependable support, a card that works everywhere, or legal clarity about who holds your money. Cardex (5.6), CardFlow (4.9) and HyperCard (4.7) all publish more about who they serve and what they are.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
