A crypto payment card that spends a stored balance — good for daily use, thinner on trust
The Wirex card is a payment card that draws on a balance you hold in a Wirex account, and that balance can be filled with cash, stablecoins or cryptocurrencies. It is not a bank account with a card attached — it is closer to a prepaid card that happens to be fronted by a crypto exchange. That single sentence explains most of what follows: the strengths (it pays at ordinary shops, it accepts Apple Pay and Google Pay, there is no annual fee) and the weaknesses (the balance is held by a company, the fee on converting crypto is only visible in the app, and the record of complaints is not clean).
My score for the Wirex card is 6.7 out of 10. It is a competent everyday payment card for someone who already wants one account holding both pounds or euros and crypto, and it is a poor fit for someone who wants a bank, wants their crypto in their own wallet, or is put off by a support history that includes funds being held.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Described as worldwide (130+ countries) on the homepage, but the official country list did not open; third-party sites say 35 countries, and not the US |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Free to issue, no monthly fee, free ATM withdrawals up to a monthly allowance, then 2%; a metal card costs 45 GBP; the FX fee is not disclosed, though the card page says no foreign exchange fee |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | You can spend cash, stablecoins and cryptocurrencies, and the exchange lists 200+ cryptocurrencies; but the coins and networks accepted for deposit are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Two companies named (Wirex Pte Ltd in Singapore, Wirex Limited in England) and no issuer named for the UK or EEA; complaints about held funds and limited accounts, plus a card outage of 5 h 51 min on 25 June 2026 |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs on the physical card but not the virtual one |
| Total | 6.7 / 10 | A strong everyday card with a weak trust and transparency record |
The audience note that shapes my read: this suits Europe-based users who want one account for fiat and crypto. If that is you, the 9 out of 10 for everyday use is doing real work in the total. If you are not that person, the 5 out of 10 for reliability is the number that should decide it.
Will they give you the card
Availability of physical and virtual cards “depends on your region”. Wirex publishes fees for the UK, the EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and an “Other” bucket, and lists delivery fees for the United Kingdom, EEA, Hong Kong, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines and Taiwan. The homepage describes the service area as “Worldwide (130+ countries)”, though the official country list did not open when I checked. A third-party source (The God Funded, October 2026) puts it more narrowly: the card is available in 35 countries — most of the EU, the UK, Switzerland, Norway, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Argentina and Brazil — and not in the US. That is unofficial, and not confirmed by Wirex’s own pages.
Two regional rules worth knowing before you try. Under the Singapore terms, cash withdrawals “are not permitted in Singapore”, and transactions with “Prohibited Countries” (Iran, Cuba, Syria “and others”) are barred. And the country of residence you enter must match your ID — so a mismatch there is not a formality, it is a refusal.
How to get it
Wirex services are “only available to verified users”, so the card comes after the account, not before. Verification covers identity, address and source of funds, and Wirex may ask for more information by email. It starts when you upgrade to “Starter” status: you upload a document and take a selfie in the mobile app, and depending on your country of residence they may also ask for a Liveness Verification. Accepted documents are a passport, ID card, driving licence or residence permit — the accepted types vary by issuing country — showing your full name, date of birth, photo and expiry date, in English and in full colour. The minimum age is 18. The exact types of proof-of-address document are not stated in the pages I read.
On the card itself: you get a virtual card for online use and a physical card for point of sale and ATMs accepting Visa or Mastercard, and you can hold one of each at a time. The metal version is a “Visa Signature debit card”; the Singapore terms say Visa. Elsewhere the network is “Visa or Mastercard”, not fixed per region. The card’s currency and its validity period are not stated.
Delivery is quoted by country: UK Royal Mail (not trackable) at 5 GBP; EEA DHL WorldMail at 5 EUR or DHL Express at 15 EUR; Hong Kong local post 39 HKD or DHL Express 238 HKD; Singapore SingPost 5 SGD; Australia 1 AUD; New Zealand 7.99 NZD or DHL Express 49.99 NZD; the Philippines and Taiwan 4.99 USD, or DHL at 29.99 USD; UK international DHL Express 15 GBP. Delivery runs from several days up to four weeks, express needs a starting balance, and the cost of a replacement card is not stated.
Fees and what a payment actually costs
The headline numbers are good: the card is free to issue in the UK, the EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”, there is no annual or foreign exchange fee on the card page, and changing the PIN is free. The catch is in the exchange rate, not the card.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free (UK, EEA, APAC, SG, AU, “Other”) |
| Monthly fee | None (“no annual fee” on the card page) |
| Metal card order fee | 45 GBP on the UK page, with free DHL Express; “only 45 EUR” delivery fee elsewhere |
| FX fee | Not specified on the fee page (“market-leading exchange rates”, fees shown in the app); the card page says “no foreign exchange fee” |
| Exchange fee | No fixed amount; the rate varies by pair and liquidity and is shown in the app before you confirm |
| ATM withdrawals | Free up to 200 GBP monthly (UK and “Other”), 200 EUR (EEA), 200 SGD (APAC and SG), 400 AUD (AU); 2% thereafter; marketing text says up to $200 fee-free globally. Not available on virtual cards |
| One-off administrative fee | 30 GBP for accounts violating the General Terms of Service |
| Fees change | “Subject to change” |
Now the three everyday payments. Buying coffee in your own currency. If the balance is already in the currency of the shop, the card behaves like any other card — no FX fee applies. This is the case the card is genuinely good at. Buying something priced in another currency. Here the two statements sit side by side: the card page says no foreign exchange fee, the fee page does not publish an FX fee, and the exchange rate you actually get is only visible in the app. For you this means: check the rate in the app before you confirm, because the number that decides your cost is the one the app shows, not the one on the marketing page. Spending from a crypto balance. The conversion rate varies by pair and liquidity with no fixed amount, so what you effectively pay is the market rate plus whatever the app shows you at the moment of the transaction. Fees are subject to change, which is one more reason to read the app rather than a cached page.
The plans are Standard, Premium and Elite, with the metal card carrying the higher monthly purchase limit and the 45 GBP/EUR order fee; plans can be upgraded with WXT. Plan prices are not stated on the official pages I read. A competitor’s blog and The God Funded (October 2026, unofficial) give Standard as free (0.5% WXT, up to 1% with 150,000 WXT locked for 180 days), Premium at 9.99 EUR monthly or 102 EUR yearly (1–3%), and Elite at 29.99 EUR monthly or 306 EUR yearly (4–8%, with the 8% tier needing 7.5 million WXT locked for 180 days).
Top up options
The card is a debit card linked to your Wirex account, and you can spend “cash, stablecoins, and cryptocurrencies”. Top-ups come from another Wirex account, from another person, or through a third-party payment provider.

Fiat deposits by SEPA (EUR), Faster Payments (GBP), ACH (US) and PIX (Brazil) are free. The supported coins and networks for deposit are not stated — the homepage only says the exchange handles “200+ cryptocurrencies”, which tells you about the exchange, not about what a deposit accepts. That gap matters: sending a token on a network the provider does not support can be lost, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.
The limits on non-fiat routes are clear:
- External card to Wirex: minimum 12 USD; 15,000 USD per day for an unconfirmed card (2,000 USD in Singapore), 25,000 USD per day for a confirmed card. The local card funding fee is “0% or more”, by currency and country.
- Card-to-Wirex transfer: minimum 10 USD; per transaction 10,000 USD (first party) or 2,500 USD (third party); per month 50,000 USD or 10,000 USD.
- Crypto withdrawals: Wirex-to-Wirex and off-chain are 0%; external wallets “vary by network”.
Fiat withdrawal by SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH and PIX is free. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated — that is the question to ask before you close one, not after.
Paying with it every day
Apple Pay and Google Pay are on the homepage feature list, and there is a help article on linking the card to Revolut. The Singapore terms also set out what the card will not do: drug paraphernalia, stolen goods, firearms, “certain financial products”, transfers to unrelated third parties, and anything in the Prohibited Countries. Gambling is excluded from Cryptoback rewards — that is a rewards rule, not a block on the card.
Cryptoback is paid in WXT: Standard 0.5%, Premium 3%, Elite up to 8%, and the metal card advertises “up to 8% back in WXT”. Limits and currencies may differ for UK and US customers. Not eligible: ATM withdrawals, cash advances, crypto purchases, gambling, refunds, and a list of merchant category codes including 4829, 6010, 6011, 6012, 6050, 6051, 6211, 6529–6532, 6534, 6536–6538, 7012, 7399, 8999, 9211, 9222, 9311 and 9399 — which in practice means most crypto-exchange and gambling spending does not earn rewards.
On the app itself, there is a split I would want you to see. The App Store lists “Wirex: All-In-One Trading App” at 3.76 from 846 ratings (updated 2026-01-23) and “Wirex One” at 1.87 from 15 ratings (updated 2026-10-05), as I read them. The homepage’s structured data instead shows 4.5 from 15,000 ratings. Wirex is moving users to a new app, “Wirex One”, in 2026, so the app you land in may be the young one. What happens to a disputed payment is not stated on the pages I read.
What can go wrong
The company picture is the first thing to check. The homepage says Wirex was founded in 2014 in London and is a “Principal member of Visa and Mastercard”. The Singapore card issuer is “Wirex Pte Ltd” (registration number 201731976E), on Visa; the App Store seller is “Wirex Limited” for both apps; and a third party, Trustee Plus, names “WIREX Limited” (England, company number 09334596) as its card issuer. The issuer for the UK and EEA programmes is not stated. So you have a brand, a Singapore issuer, an English company and an unnamed EEA issuer — that is not the same as knowing who stands behind your balance.
Complaints are the second. A 2026 user report on Trustpilot describes funds held since January 2025, a limited account blocking crypto transfers, and an unresolved ATM withdrawal case in Cyprus from July 2025. Third-party news (Pingoru, unofficial) lists card payouts disabled for 5 days from 6 May 2026, a card outage of 5 h 51 min on 25 June 2026, a 54-minute outage on 26 June 2026, unexpected declines on 13 July 2026, and a WirexOne transaction-processing incident on 3 September 2026. The score for Trustpilot itself — its count and rating — was not read, so treat the themes as indicative rather than as a measured score. I found no regulator suspension.
Two structural risks sit behind those reports. First, this is account-based custody: the provider holds the credentials, so you trust them. Custodial platforms have a history — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) — and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. Second, merchant authorisation can hold up to 20% above the anticipated bill under the Singapore terms, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold for several days, typically up to 7.
What is not stated in the pages I read, and what you should therefore ask about directly: 2FA, freeze controls and safeguarding arrangements; dispute handling; support languages and hours (a request form, in-app chat and a Discord community are offered); the account currency; and the balance on closure.
Worth knowing as background, since it explains the risk shape of this whole category: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances.
On the tax side, keep this general rather than personal: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. That is not advice about your situation — it is the reason a single card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not a tax adviser and you should take your own advice on this.
What to take instead
| Wirex | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.7 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual and physical, Visa or Mastercard, plus a metal Visa Signature | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon” | Multicurrency UNi Card on Mastercard; physical/virtual not stated | Visa; type and currency not stated |
| Cost | Free issue, no annual fee, metal 45 GBP | $5 one-time virtual issuance, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated | “No extra fees”; no amounts listed |
| FX | Not disclosed; card page says no FX fee | “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | “No foreign transaction fee”; live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” | Not stated |
| Funding | SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH, PIX free; crypto; other Wirex accounts; third-party provider | USDC or USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow; networks not stated | Not stated | Whop balance; stablecoin-collateral backing; coins/networks not stated |
| Rewards | Cryptoback in WXT, up to 8% | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber) |
| Who cannot use it | Region-dependent; Prohibited Countries barred; no US per unofficial source | Residents or registrants of a long list including Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list case by case. Rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship | Not stated | Consumers in 31 US states; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam |
Reading across that table: the International Visa Card matches Wirex’s score but is a much narrower product — virtual only, physical “Coming soon” — and its 2% FX fee is stated where Wirex’s is not. UNi Card is quieter, with a flat “no foreign transaction fee” and no hidden exchange fees, but its availability and funding route are not stated, which is its own kind of risk. Whop Cards scores lowest, is US-state-limited, and leaves conversion fees unstated.
Whichever you pick, the mechanics are the same underneath. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that tells any merchant which institution and country issued it; if that country differs from your billing address, some shops apply extra scrutiny, and some decline prepaid or foreign cards outright. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship and whether you are a politically exposed person — and if it cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or end the relationship, which is why accounts get frozen pending documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence, so your citizenship can matter even when your address does not. MiCA, the EU’s crypto regulation, took legal effect in June 2023, with its stablecoin rules applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions from 30 December 2024; e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution (Article 48), and the transitional period runs only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation is received or refused. A card is regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences — and e-money funds are safeguarded rather than bank deposits, so they are not the same thing as deposit guarantee.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Wirex card to someone in Europe who already holds crypto, wants one balance for both fiat and crypto, and pays mostly in the currency they have loaded — for them it is a 9-out-of-10 everyday card at no annual cost, with Apple Pay, Google Pay and a fee-free ATM allowance. I would not recommend it to you if your priority is custody (the balance is held by the company, and its peers have failed before it), if you are put off by a fee you cannot see until the app shows it, if you are in a region where cards are not offered or withdrawals are restricted, or if you are in the US.
Before you commit, do three things: check the conversion rate the app shows you at the moment you pay, read the current fee page rather than the marketing page, and ask support what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account. Then decide.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wirex card?
It is a payment card that spends a balance held in your Wirex account, and that balance can be filled with cash, stablecoins or cryptocurrencies. You get a virtual card for online use and a physical card for shops and ATMs, and hold one of each at a time. Because the balance is loaded first, the card cannot overdraw. It behaves more like a prepaid card than a bank debit card.
How does the Wirex card work?
You top up your Wirex account by bank transfer, by card, from another Wirex account or with crypto, and the card then draws on that balance. When you pay in a currency you do not hold, the balance is converted at a rate that varies by pair and liquidity and is shown in the app before you confirm. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and a metal Visa Signature version is available separately.
Is Wirex a bank?
No — it is a crypto company that runs a card programme. Its homepage says it was founded in 2014 in London and is a “Principal member of Visa and Mastercard”. The Singapore issuer is Wirex Pte Ltd, the app seller is Wirex Limited in England, and the issuer for the UK and EEA programmes is not stated. Card customers hold funds with an e-money-style provider, not a bank deposit.
Who owns Wirex, and is it regulated?
Wirex is a private company, not a listed or state-owned entity, and I found no regulator suspension. Its card programme sits under Visa or Mastercard, which license issuers and can suspend a programme — Visa ended its global agreements with FTX in November 2022. In the EU, MiCA has applied to stablecoins since 30 June 2024, so a provider’s crypto side needs its own authorisation.
Is the Wirex card available in my country?
Availability of physical and virtual cards “depends on your region”. Wirex publishes fees for the UK, EEA, APAC, Singapore, Australia and “Other”, and its homepage claims a worldwide service area of 130+ countries, but the official list did not open. Unofficial sources say 35 countries and no US. The country of residence you enter must match your ID, and cash withdrawals are not permitted in Singapore.
Does the Wirex card require KYC?
Yes. Wirex services are “only available to verified users”, and verification covers identity, address and source of funds, with more information possibly requested by email. It begins when you upgrade to “Starter”: you upload a document and take a selfie in the app, and in some countries also complete a Liveness Verification. Minimum age is 18.
How do I top up the Wirex card?
Fiat deposits by SEPA, Faster Payments, ACH and PIX are free, and you can also top up from another Wirex account, from another person or via a third-party payment provider. By external card the minimum is 12 USD, with 15,000 USD per day unconfirmed and 25,000 USD confirmed. Crypto deposits work, but the supported coins and networks are not stated — so confirm the network before sending.
What does the Wirex card cost?
The card is free to issue and has no annual fee, and ATM withdrawals are free up to a monthly allowance — 200 GBP in the UK and “Other”, 200 EUR in the EEA, 200 SGD in APAC and Singapore, 400 AUD in Australia — then 2%. The metal card costs 45 GBP on the UK page. The FX fee is not published; the card page claims no foreign exchange fee, and exchange rates vary by pair.
Is the Wirex card safe?
Safety here is mostly a question of custody and track record. Your balance is held by the company, which carries counterparty risk, and there are 2026 user reports of funds held, limited accounts and an unresolved ATM case, plus unofficial reports of outages and disabled payouts in May to September 2026. Merchant authorisation can hold up to 20% above the anticipated bill, and declines can leave holds for days.
Is the Wirex card worth it?
For a European user who wants one account for fiat and crypto and pays in a currency they have loaded, yes — it is a 9-out-of-10 everyday card with no annual fee and good wallet support. If you need to hold your own keys, want a stated FX fee, or are outside the supported regions, the value is thinner. Check the app’s rate at the moment of payment, and ask what happens to a leftover balance on closure.
App and neobank cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
