A cheap card with zero fees, stopped mid-flight by a vault loss and compliance costs

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Infini looked, for a while, like one of the better answers to a specific problem: you hold crypto, you want to spend it like ordinary money, and the ordinary bank card options are closed to you. The pricing page was unusually clean — a first card free, no annual fee, a monthly fee of $0, a transaction fee of $0, and a stablecoin top-up that cost nothing at all. For a card aimed at people who cannot easily get a normal bank card, that is not a minor detail; it is most of the pitch.

The Infini card programme no longer issues new cards

Then the programme stopped. On 17 June 2025 Infini suspended the Global, Lite and Tech cards for both use and new applications. The status of the Max card for private customers was never made clear. Separately, in February 2025, roughly US$49.5 million in USDC was taken out of an Infini vault using admin privileges that a former developer had retained. The card issuer is not named on the public pages; the App Store seller and the site belong to Cynosure Technology LLC in Hong Kong.

So this is not a review of a card you can apply for today. It is a review of what the Infini card was, why it ended, what that tells you about the category, and what to look at instead if the reason you were reading about crypto cards applies to you.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.1 out of 10

My score for Infini is 4.1 / 10. The split matters, because the number looks harsher than the product and softer than the ending. Cost was genuinely excellent — 9 out of 10 — and I want to be fair about that. But a card you cannot use is not a cheap card, it is a closed product, and the reliability criterion scores 1 out of 10 because the issuer is unnamed and the programme was suspended after a six-figure loss.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Global, Lite and Tech cards suspended for use and new applications on 17 June 2025; the status of the Max card for private customers is unclear
Cost 9 / 10 First card free, no annual fee, monthly fee $0, transaction fee $0; FX 1% on Pro, 3% on Lite, 0% on Max; stablecoin top-up free
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC and USDT with no networks named; USD and EUR local accounts; fiat through Iron at 0.20% plus the rail fee
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer not named, seller is Cynosure Technology LLC (Hong Kong); US$49.5 million of USDC withdrawn from a vault in February 2025; cards suspended on 17 June 2025
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay on Max; no detail on plastic or cash machines
Total 4.1 / 10

Who this suited, before it closed: someone who already held USDC or USDT, wanted to convert and spend at a checkout rather than on an exchange, and did not want — or could not get — a conventional card. Who it does not suit now: anyone, for any purpose. There is no application to make. The part of the audience that this page most directly serves is the one that already holds the card and is trying to get the remaining balance out, so I spend a section on that below.

Two things I want to be careful about. First, the site says “180+ Countries Supported” for the platform, but it does not publish a country list for the cards, and the App Store listing says the card works “where available” and that “feature availability may vary by account permissions, account status, and region”. Nobody’s eligibility was ever stated in a form you could rely on. Second, personal-card identity rules were never published. The site describes KYB for businesses — “Full KYB approval for higher volumes typically takes under 8 hours” — and says automated identity verification issues API keys “within minutes”, but the documents and age threshold for a personal card are not stated.

What happened to the programme

The timeline is short and bad. In February 2025, Decrypt reported that about US$49.5 million in USDC had been taken from an Infini vault, with the mechanism described as retained admin privileges of a former developer, in reporting by Cyvers and QuillAudits. Infini said at the time that withdrawals and payments continued and that the founder said full compensation could be paid. Four months later the cards stopped.

The 17 June 2025 notice, as reported by WuBlockchain on 23 June 2025, said all Global, Lite and Tech cards would be suspended “for both usage and new applications”. Card issuance fees were to be refunded automatically to the Infini balance within roughly 10 business days. A co-founder attributed the decision to high compliance costs and thin margins, with a shift toward wealth management. Deposits, withdrawals and the Earn product were to continue.

That last clause is the one that matters for anyone with money on the platform. Spending stopped; the account did not.

What came after was not a shutdown but a slow drift. The App Store release notes in September 2026 show a new “Max Card experience” and business sub-accounts, alongside version 0.3.0 from 22 August 2026. The iPhone app sits at 4.7 out of 5 — but that is from 3 ratings, read on 2026-10-20, which is not a track record, it is a rounding error. Version 1.3.0 is the newest. Google Play details are not stated.

The honest reading of the whole thing is that the cards were sacrificed to keep the rest of the business alive. Compliance costs plus thin margins is a very common reason for a prepaid card programme to be closed, and it is not a scandal in itself. But it means the product you were evaluating no longer exists, and the fee schedule you were reading is now history rather than a price list.

If you already have the card

If you held a Global, Lite or Tech card, your spending is already suspended. What you are owed, and what to check first:

There is no published dispute or chargeback process either. A refund fee of 1% applies on Pro and Max cards, but the dispute and chargeback process and time frames are not stated. If something goes wrong with a transaction, you have no stated timeline to fall back on — take screenshots and keep your own records from the start.

On the card itself: limits are described only as “set custom limits and controls for each card”, with no numbers. Cash machines are not covered anywhere on the public pages. If you were picturing ordinary everyday use — a physical card in a wallet, cash from a machine — the documentation never confirmed that picture.

Top-ups worked like this, if you need the reference. USDC and USDT, networks not specified, plus USD and EUR local accounts. The first card was free with no annual fee and a minimum initial top-up of US$10. Stablecoin self top-up was free. Fiat deposits ran through Iron at 0.20% plus the rail fee: ACH $1, FedNow $1, RTP $1, wire $20, SEPA EUR 1. Network fees were not stated — and, as a general rule for this category, the on-chain cost is charged by the blockchain, not by the card company.

What can go wrong

Infini’s own problems are the most concrete lesson, so start there. The issuer is not named. The site says it partners with regulated financial institutions; the FCA mark is shown without a licence number; SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS Level 1 are claimed, as are Exvul audits and penetration tests. The custody model for personal users and whether funds are insured are not stated. An unnamed issuer is not automatically a scam — plenty of programmes are fronts for a licensed partner — but it means you cannot check the licence yourself, and that check is the first thing I would do now.

Then the category risks, which apply wherever you are reading about crypto cards:

One reassurance you are owed, because it is a real constraint on what I can write: none of this is a route around identity checks, sanctions rules or country restrictions. Compliance costs are precisely what closed this programme, and anyone offering to get you a card without checks is offering you a different risk.

What to take instead

The alternatives I looked at are all in the same awkward middle: real cards, thin documentation, unnamed or unclear fee structures. None of them is a slam dunk, and I would not tell you any of them is safe. What I can do is show you what each one claims and where the information stops.

Alternative Score Card Funding What is not stated
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not specified Country list and exclusions; fees; rewards; the listing is Naira-focused
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, networks not specified Monthly fee; transaction fees; rewards; country exclusions
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid, network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR Crypto such as USDT, BTC and ETH, converted on the card; networks not specified Fees; rewards; country list; “176 countries” is acceptance, not eligibility

Reading across the three, the same gaps appear every time. Cardex says it supports “One crypto card, 200+ countries” with no list and no exclusions, and describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks a rate when you spend — with no fee percentage published anywhere I could find. CardFlow is aimed at Nigeria, calls itself “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” for “Nigerians and global users”, and states that creating a virtual card is completely free, with no monthly fee disclosed. CardFlow’s card currency is effectively dollar. HyperCard’s “more than 176 countries” describes where the card is accepted, not who can get one, which is a distinction every issuer blurs and every applicant should notice.

My honest conclusion on the comparison section: these are not clearly better options, they are different risk shapes. Cardex and CardFlow are narrower — one markets itself around a single currency market, the other around Nigeria — so if you are outside those markets you are trading a closed global programme for a narrower live one. HyperCard is the most conventional of the three, a prepaid card with a balance in dollars or euros, and correspondingly the least crypto-shaped.

If you want a category-level check rather than a brand check, the most useful test I know is: find the licence number. Not the FCA logo, not the SOC 2 badge — the number, and then look it up. A programme that will not give you one cannot be assessed by you at all.

Who I would recommend it to

Nobody, in 2026. That is the shortest accurate answer, and it is not a hedge — Global, Lite and Tech cards were suspended on 17 June 2025 and there is no application to make.

But “nobody” hides two different situations, and they need different advice.

If you are reading this because you have no ordinary bank card, keep looking — the reason you were drawn to Infini is a real and common situation, and the fact that this particular programme closed does not mean the situation closed. What changed is your checklist. Insist on a named issuer with a verifiable licence number, a published withdrawal process with stated fees and limits, and fee figures you can see before you fund anything. When those three are missing — as they were here — that is the answer, not a reason to try harder.

If you are reading this because you already held one, the advice in the holders section is the whole of it: withdraw the balance through the official channels, keep your own records, and treat the promised fee refund as money already spent rather than money coming back.

And if you are the sort of reader who enjoys the mechanics rather than the outcome: the fee schedule on Infini’s pricing page is genuinely worth studying as a template, because a card with $0 monthly, $0 transaction and 0% FX on its top tier is what this category looks like when the economics work. The problem was never the pricing. It was that pricing is the part you can see, and the part that closed the programme was compliance cost, thin margins and a vault with loose admin controls — none of which appear in a fee table. Hold both of those in your head at once when the next card with a beautiful fee schedule arrives.

Frequently asked questions

What was the Infini card?

Infini offered virtual and corporate crypto payment cards — the corporate one marketed as a Stablecoin Corporate Card — alongside a Max card that worked with Apple Pay and Google Pay. You loaded crypto or fiat and spent the balance, with pricing that read better than almost anything in the category: first card free, no annual fee, $0 monthly, $0 transaction fee. The platform claimed 180+ countries supported. The card network was never named, and the issuer is still not named.

How did the Infini card work?

You topped up with USDC or USDT — networks unspecified — or with USD and EUR local accounts, and the card spent that balance. Fiat deposits went through Iron at 0.20% plus a rail fee: $1 for ACH, FedNow and RTP, $20 for wire, and 1 for SEPA in euros. Stablecoin self top-up was free, with a US$10 minimum first deposit. On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Infini.

Is Infini a bank?

No, and this is worth being precise about. The App Store seller and the website belong to Cynosure Technology LLC, a Hong Kong company. Infini says it partners with regulated financial institutions and shows an FCA mark with no licence number, and claims SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS Level 1 compliance. The bank or e-money institution that actually issues the card is not named, which is why I score who-can-get-it at zero.

Who owns Infini, and is the company still running?

The company is Cynosure Technology LLC in Hong Kong. It is still operating — the App Store release notes in September 2026 show a new Max Card experience and business sub-accounts. What ended was the card programme, not the business; a co-founder framed the shift as moving toward wealth management. If your money is with them, your first task is withdrawing it, not deciding whether the company is solvent.

Can I still apply for an Infini card?

No. As of 17 June 2025 the Global, Lite and Tech cards are suspended for both usage and new applications, according to a notice reported by WuBlockchain on 23 June 2025. The status of the Max card for private customers is unclear and was never settled publicly. There is nothing to apply for, which is why this review spends its space on what happened rather than on how to sign up.

Why were the Infini cards suspended?

Two separate things, and keeping them apart matters. In February 2025, Decrypt reported about US$49.5 million in USDC being taken from an Infini vault through retained admin privileges of a former developer. In June 2025 the suspension notice cited high compliance costs and thin margins, with a shift to wealth management — a common reason prepaid programmes close. Which one caused the closure is not stated.

What should I do if I still have money on Infini?

Withdraw it. The suspension notice said deposits, withdrawals and Earn continued, and no withdrawal fees, limits or closure terms were ever published. Use only official channels: [email protected], t.me/infini_official on Telegram, @0xinfini on X. Card issuance fees were to be refunded automatically to your Infini balance within roughly 10 business days. Impersonators are the main hazard with a suspended programme.

Is Infini safe and is my money insured?

The public pages do not let you answer that. Funds are described as held with regulated financial institutions in “bankruptcy-remote, segregated accounts”, with crypto in multi-sig MPC wallets and audits by Exvul — but the custody model for personal users and any insurance are not stated, and segregated e-money funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. The unnamed issuer is the part I would refuse to accept.

Which crypto card should I use instead?

None of the ones I found is a clear upgrade, and I would not tell you any is safe. Cardex scores 5.6, CardFlow 4.9, HyperCard 4.7 — each publishes less than I would want and none states a fee percentage. Instead of a brand, use a filter: named issuer, verifiable licence number, published withdrawal fees and limits, and fees visible before you fund. Check MiCA authorisation on ESMA’s interim register if you are in the EU.

Was the Infini card free to use, and is it worth it?

The fee schedule was the best part: first card free, no annual fee, $0 monthly, $0 transaction, 0% FX on Max, 2% cashback on eligible Max purchases with terms applying. Lite was the expensive one at 3% FX and no cashback; Pro sat at 1% FX. But the card no longer works, so the question is academic — the lesson is that a beautiful fee table tells you nothing about whether the programme survives the year.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team