A crypto Visa card with a lot left unsaid: what the MSX card review could and could not confirm

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card — because of where you live, what documents you hold, or a bank that will not look at your application — then a crypto card is one of the few routes left, and probably the only one you have heard of. The MSX card is one of those routes: a Visa card that spends crypto held on the MSX platform. That is the pitch, and on its own it sounds simple.

MSX works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Here is the thing I found while checking it: almost none of the detail you need to actually decide comes from the card’s own pages. The public MSX material I could read did not state who can apply, what identity checks involve, what the fees are after the promotional period, or what the daily and monthly limits are. What I have instead is third-party reporting, mostly from June 2026 launch coverage, some of it sponsored. I have marked all of that as unofficial throughout, and I have not treated it as confirmed by MSX. My score is 6.4 out of 10, and a large part of why it is not higher is that gap.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.4 out of 10 — promising route, thin documentation

The MSX card suits a specific person: you already have an account on the MSX platform, you hold crypto there, and an ordinary bank card is not something you can get. For you, this is one of the few Visa products on offer, and the fact that it exists at all is worth something.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up MSX starts with a transfer to the right network

It does not suit someone who wants to know what they are paying. If your question is “what will this cost me in month eight, when the promotion is over,” the card cannot answer it, and neither can I. It does not suit someone whose main worry is protecting crypto they own outright, because the money sits with the platform rather than with you. And it does not suit anyone in a hurry: the product was announced on 4 June 2026, and I found no complaints and no independent reviews — but an absence of complaints about a card this young tells you almost nothing. Silence is not a track record.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Unofficial sources describe it as global, with ATM withdrawals in multiple countries and regions, excluding Mainland China and OFAC-sanctioned areas; starting data adds that the MSX platform terms also exclude the US, Canada and Hong Kong
Cost 7 / 10 Unofficial: annual fee 0, top-up 0, payments 0 during a promotional period; later fees not disclosed, FX fee not named
Top-up options 5 / 10 Unofficial: spending draws on crypto assets on the MSX platform; starting data says top-up in USDT and USDC from the MSX account, coins and networks not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Unofficial: launched by MSX (Maitong), a tokenization platform with MSB registrations with FinCEN and in Canada; starting data names Mystonks Holding LTD; issuer not named; no complaints found
Everyday use 6 / 10 Unofficial: a physical card on the Visa network for online and in-store, contactless payment through Google Pay, ATMs in multiple countries and regions; Apple Pay not disclosed
Total 6.4 / 10 A usable route with unusually little published detail

Who will they give you the card to?

The card’s own public pages do not state eligibility. That is the plain answer, and it is worth sitting with for a moment, because eligibility is the first thing anyone in your position needs and the thing most often buried.

What third-party reporting says is that MSX operates globally and that ATM withdrawals work in multiple countries and regions, excluding Mainland China and areas under OFAC sanctions, per a sponsored Odaily article from June 2026. The starting data I worked from adds something narrower and more worrying: the MSX platform’s terms of service also exclude the United States, Canada and Hong Kong. Both statements are unofficial, and they come from different places, so do not treat them as one settled rule.

Notice the shape of the problem. “Global, except China and sanctioned regions” is a generous-sounding claim, but it tells you nothing about the country you are sitting in. If you are in one of the excluded jurisdictions, you find out by trying. If you are elsewhere, you still find out by trying, because no page sets out a country list. And note the gap between platform and card: the exclusions I just quoted are about the MSX platform’s terms. Whether the card follows the platform’s rules exactly is not stated.

If you have been turned away by banks before, the pattern will be familiar — the question is rarely about your address alone. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are typically applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to where you live. So even a card described as global may not be for you if your citizenship is what it keys on. There is no published citizenship-versus-residence rule for MSX to tell you which applies.

Prepaid and debit cards in this category are generally available to adults aged 18 or over, and some issuers set higher limits for some customers. MSX publishes no age figure of its own, so treat 18 as the floor rather than as the answer.

How to get it

The card’s own pages do not state the application steps. What unofficial reporting gives you is this: MSX says it operates under applicable KYC, AML and transaction-monitoring requirements, but no card-specific steps, documents or age requirement are given, per Odaily, June 2026. So there is a stated commitment to identity checks and no published procedure for them.

That distinction matters more than it sounds. “We follow KYC” is a statement about a process existing. It is not a statement of what you will be asked for, how long it takes, what happens if a check stalls, or whether you can appeal. If your history includes a rejected application or a frozen account somewhere else, the absence of a published appeals route is a real cost.

On the physical side, the same pattern. Whether the card is virtual, physical, or both is not stated officially. Third-party reporting describes a physical card on the Visa network, usable online and in-store (cryptonews.net, June 2026); Odaily does not say virtual or physical at all. The card’s currency is not stated either, which — hold that thought for the fees section.

Delivery is not stated. You cannot learn from the published material whether the card ships, how long it takes, whether it can be ordered again if it is lost, or whether you can use anything at all before the plastic arrives.

So the honest answer to “how do I get it” is: create an account on the MSX platform, go through whatever identity process it applies, and ask. Nobody, including me, can give you a document checklist, because there isn’t a published one. Before you invest time in it, decide how much of your own money you are willing to leave sitting on an unfamiliar platform while you find out whether you are eligible at all.

Fees and costs: what it really costs

Fees are where a card review lives or dies, and here I have to be blunt: the card’s own pages do not publish a fee schedule. The costs below are unofficial, and the most important number on the table is the one nobody has given.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a MSX payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is reported, per Odaily and cryptonews.net in June 2026, is zero annual fees, and deposit, payment and annual fees waived for an initial promotional period, with later fees not disclosed. Per Odaily, zero top-up fees and zero transaction fees during that promotional period. The FX fee is not stated.

Read that carefully, because it is easy to read past the gap. “Free during the promotion” and “free afterwards” are different sentences, and only the first one has been published. The card was announced in June 2026; by now a promotional period may have ended, begun, or been extended without notice. Nobody has told you. Budget on the assumption that a fee exists and that you do not yet know its size.

Fee or limit What is published
Annual fee Unofficial: 0 during the initial promotional period; later fees not disclosed
Top-up fee Unofficial: 0 during the promotional period
Payment fee Unofficial: 0 during the promotional period; later fees not disclosed
FX / conversion fee Not stated
ATM fee Unofficial: ATM withdrawals available in multiple countries and regions; fee and allowance not stated
Monthly spending limit Unofficial: up to $1,000,000
Daily limit Not stated
Card currency Not stated
Tiers Not stated

Three everyday payments, and what I can and cannot say about each.

Buying coffee in your own country, in local currency. If your card currency is the same as the shop’s currency and you pay by chip or contactless, the merchant’s own currency conversion should not apply, and an FX fee should not arise. But I cannot promise you that: the card currency is not stated, so you do not know what currency the card is denominated in, and any conversion the network applies on the way through would happen before MSX’s own fee, if there is one. If your balance is in crypto, something has to convert between crypto and the currency the terminal asks for, and nobody has published what that costs.

Buying something priced in dollars while you think in euros. This is the case the FX line in the table is about, and it is the one where the missing number hurts. Two fees can stack: the network’s own rate on one side, and the card’s currency-conversion margin on the other. Bybit’s card, for comparison, publishes 2% on top of the network rate in several markets, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. MSX publishes nothing. If you spend in a currency that is not your card’s, treat the true cost as unknown, and use the card for the currency it was issued in until you have seen a statement.

Withdrawing cash at an ATM. Unofficial: withdrawals work in multiple countries and regions, excluding Mainland China and OFAC-sanctioned areas. The fee and the allowance are not stated. So are two more things you would want: how much you can take out per day or per transaction, and whether your card is even enabled for cash at all versus contactless only. Cash is where FX fees hide worst, because the ATM’s own rate is often worse than a card purchase’s, and it is applied on top of everything else. I would not plan a cash budget around this card until you have read a statement showing what a withdrawal actually cost.

One more cost that never appears on a fee schedule: the cost of the crypto itself. If you top up with USDT or USDC over a blockchain, the network charges its own gas or bandwidth fee, charged by the blockchain and not by the card provider. On Ethereum that means holding some ETH, because gas is paid only in ETH — a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send. Stablecoins are also not perfectly stable: the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation into USDT and USDC in July 2025, but stablecoins can and have lost their peg, and Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. So the “no fee” top-up still carries a spread, a network charge, and peg risk.

How to top it up

The card’s own pages do not describe funding. Unofficial reporting says spending is funded from crypto assets held on the MSX platform (Odaily, June 2026). The starting data I worked from adds that top-up is in stablecoins — USDT and USDC — from the MSX account, converted at the point of sale.

That is the whole of it, and it leaves the single most dangerous gap in the whole product. Coins and networks are not disclosed. So when you go to send USDT, you will be choosing a network, and nobody has told you which ones the card accepts. Get it wrong and the money is gone: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is no chargeback for a misdirected transfer. This is the one area where I would be genuinely careful, and the reason is not that MSX sounds unsafe — it is that the information you need to act safely is absent.

There is a second structural point. This is not a card with its own balance that you feed from wherever you like; as reported, it draws on what you hold on the platform. That means your spending is tied to your MSX account balance, and it means the difference between a prepaid card and a card tied to a platform balance matters to you. A prepaid card draws on a stored balance and cannot overdraw. Here, the store is the platform — which brings me to what that means about who holds your money, and I will come back to it under risks.

Withdrawal is not stated: no published rules for taking money off the platform, back to a bank, or to a self-custody wallet. If the card is your only route to spending your crypto, that is a one-way street until proven otherwise.

Paying with it every day

Unofficial reporting describes a physical Visa card that works online and in-store, with contactless payment through Google Pay (cryptonews.net, June 2026), and ATMs in multiple countries and regions. Apple Pay is not disclosed, and neither is the list of blocked merchant categories.

That blocked-categories question is worth more attention than it gets. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business, assigned when a business starts accepting cards, and issuers block categories by policy rather than by law — with the list differing by issuer. Gambling (MCC 7995) is the one people notice, but it is not the only one: fuel, travel, alcohol, adult content and cash-like categories get restricted on cards like this. You cannot plan around a blocklist you have not seen.

Google Pay being reported is genuinely useful, and here is the reason it works that way: the wallet replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element on your phone, never on the server, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. But the issuer can still restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on phone use, or on website use — so tokenisation is protection, not a guarantee of acceptance.

Online payments may also involve a step you cannot see. 3-D Secure adds an identity check: the issuer assesses risk, then either approves without friction or challenges you with a code or a biometric prompt. Visa’s version is called Visa Secure. This is normal and worth having, but if your account documents are thin, a step-up challenge is exactly where things can stall.

Expect the ordinary failures, too. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because a lookup of the card’s issuing country can look unusual next to your billing address; address verification, which compares parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Declines can also leave a hold on your funds for several days — typically up to seven.

On rewards: unofficial reporting describes no cashback or reward programme, and instead says cardholders get exclusive subscription rights to MSX pre-IPO offerings (Odaily, June 2026). Read that for what it is — an incentive to hold funds on the platform, not a rebate on your spending. There is nothing to compare it against, and I would not count pre-IPO access as value unless you intend to buy such an offering anyway.

Disputes and chargeback handling are not stated, and neither is the app. Both are things you want described before you need them: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received, and US debit-card reversal rights come from Regulation E while prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If a purchase goes wrong here, you are in the awkward position of asking a platform that does not publish its dispute terms.

What can go wrong

No complaints are the first thing to say, and the second thing to say is why they mean little. A search for MSX card reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit returned launch coverage and promotional material only — no Trustpilot page, no Reddit thread, no user reports at all. The card was announced on 4 June 2026 (Odaily, article dated 2026-06-04). A few months of near-zero public discussion is exactly what a young product looks like whether or not people are happy with it. I am reporting an absence of evidence, not evidence of absence.

The counterparty is the thing to examine. Unofficial: the card was launched by MSX (Maitong), described as a real-world-asset tokenization platform holding MSB registrations with FinCEN in the US and in Canada (Odaily, June 2026); the starting data names Mystonks Holding LTD. The issuer is not named.

That is a lot of entities for you to hold in your head, and here is why the number of entities matters. A card payment involves several parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under that network’s licence — holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets the card. When something goes wrong with a card, the question of who is liable to you is not academic. MSX’s registrations being MSB registrations tells you about money transmission under US rules; it does not name the institution whose name will be printed on your card.

One point in your favour, and it is a real one: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves. They license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. So a card sitting on the Visa network has a licensed issuer behind it, and the network has an interest in keeping that issuer alive. That is also exactly why the network’s power cuts both ways — programmes do get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left — and if the balances are on a platform rather than at an issuer, “withdraw” is a question about a platform’s solvency.

Where your crypto sits is the deeper risk. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust the provider completely, because control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. That is a real exposure, not a theoretical one: custodial platforms have a history of it — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). And the losses have no built-in recovery: transfers are typically irreversible, the network cannot freeze or return funds, and anyone holding a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 unencrypted words — can restore the wallet and spend it. The alternative structure, a card linked to your own wallet, keeps the funds with you until the moment of payment and shifts the risk to key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware; but that structure is not what is described here.

Security features, dispute handling and support arrangements are not stated, and there is no published news page describing incidents. For comparison, the category’s standard safeguards are app-based 2FA, an instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets — none of which I can confirm for this card.

I will leave one topic alone deliberately: identity checks, sanctions screening and country rules are there to be obeyed, and there is nothing on this page about how to get past them. If a country restriction turns out to apply to you, the answer is that the card is not for you.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up in my research, and I am including them because each fails in a different direction — which makes them useful yardsticks rather than endorsements.

Young Card — 5.7 out of 10. Below MSX on score, and with less published about who can get it, what the card is, or what it costs: eligibility, card type and fees are not stated. What it does publish is its reward structure — cashback paid in YNG tokens, with the rate set by club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. Note what that implies: your cashback is denominated in a token of the issuer’s own making, so the reward’s value depends on a market you are already exposed to.

Bybit Card — 6.0 out of 10. Slightly below MSX on score, but far more of the picture is written down, which for someone in a difficult position is worth a lot. Eligibility is itemised by region, and the terms are explicit: the card is not meant for European Economic Area customers and all EEA participation is strictly prohibited, while Bybit’s fiat-service restricted list includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, with Russian users able to transact only in RUB. Card types are listed per region — virtual and physical, with physical cards not available in Peru and rollout in phases — along with networks (Mastercard in Argentina; Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Mexico; Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru; Visa credit in Asia Pacific), card currencies, and validity of 3, 5 or 6 years. And the fees are public: virtual issuance is free in all regions until further notice; physical issuance and replacement is 29.99 USD in Australia, 5 USD/USDT in Argentina, 29,99 USDT in Georgia, 29,99 USDT in Kazakhstan (AIFC) and 5 USDT in Asia Pacific, and none in Brazil or Mexico. Conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina; FX is 2% on top of the network rate in several markets, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. Rewards run from Base at 2.00% (cap 5 USD) to Infinite at 10% (cap 600 USD), with a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days — though only crypto-funded transactions earn, from 2026-10-05.

Coinbase Card — 6.4 out of 10, the same score as MSX. It is also the clearest illustration of why geography decides this question. It is US-only: available in all US states except Hawaii, with account opening following the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules — name, address, date of birth, ID — and no other countries. If you are in the United States, that makes it more useful than MSX on documents alone. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. Zero spending fees, no annual fees, and all fees are disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement — which is the thing MSX does not have. Rewards are optional, US users only, at a variable rate shown in the app.

MSX Young Bybit Coinbase
Score 6.4 5.7 6.0 6.4
Fees published in detail No (unofficial: 0 in promo) No Yes Yes
Card type published Unofficial: physical Visa No Yes, per region Yes
Regions covered Unofficial: global, with exclusions Not stated Itemised, EEA prohibited US only, not Hawaii
Rewards Unofficial: none; pre-IPO subscription rights YNG cashback by tier 2%–10% by tier, crypto-funded only Optional, variable rate

The pattern worth taking from this table is not that one of these is better. It is that three of the four publish their fees and their regions, and the one that publishes least is the one with the widest claimed reach. Wide reach plus thin disclosure is the combination that should make you slow down.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the MSX card to someone in a narrow and specific situation: you already use the MSX platform and trust it with your crypto, you cannot get an ordinary bank card for reasons of eligibility, documents or a bank’s policy, and you are spending in the currency the card turns out to be issued in. In that situation it is not a product comparison — it is one of very few doors, and walking through it is reasonable.

I would not recommend it as a primary card, because the essentials are unpublished: fees after the promotion, FX cost, daily limits, blocklist, dispute process, support. I would not recommend it to anyone whose income arrives as fiat and who is simply curious about crypto, because there are better-documented options at a similar score. And I would treat it as unsuitable if your priority is holding your own crypto in your own wallet, because what is described is spending from a balance on someone else’s platform.

Before you put money in, the checklist is short and specific. Ask for the fee schedule after the promotional period, in writing. Ask what currency the card is denominated in and what the FX margin is. Ask which networks are supported for USDT and USDC deposits, because a wrong one is unrecoverable. Ask what your daily and monthly limits are, and whether ATM withdrawals are enabled at all. Ask who the issuer is and what happens to your balance if the programme is wound down. And read the terms of service yourself for your own country, because the exclusions I have quoted are unofficial, they come from two different sources, and the published list of who cannot use this is the one thing nobody has printed.

Frequently asked questions

What is the MSX card?

It is a Visa card that spends crypto held on the MSX platform rather than a bank account balance, according to third-party reporting from June 2026. Unofficial sources describe a physical card usable online and in-store, with contactless payment through Google Pay and ATM withdrawals in multiple countries. MSX’s own public pages did not state the card’s details, currency or fee schedule when I checked.

How does the MSX card work?

As reported, you hold crypto on your MSX account and the card spends from it, with top-up in USDT or USDC and conversion at the point of sale. The card itself behaves like a prepaid card drawing on a stored balance, which means it cannot overdraw. Which coins and which blockchain networks are accepted is not disclosed, which matters more than it sounds.

Is MSX a bank?

No indication of that. Unofficial reporting describes MSX, also named Maitong, as a real-world-asset tokenization platform holding money services business registrations with FinCEN in the US and in Canada, with Mystonks Holding LTD named in starting data. The card issuer is not named, so it is not clear which regulated institution stands behind the card programme you would use.

Who owns MSX, and is it regulated?

Maitong or Mystonks Holding LTD, according to unofficial sources, and the MSB registrations described above are the only regulatory markers I could find — those concern money transmission, not card issuing. In the EU, a card is regulated separately from the crypto side, so a product like this normally depends on two licences, and no European authorisation for MSX appears in what I reviewed.

Can I use the MSX card in my country?

Unofficial sources describe global availability with ATM withdrawals in multiple countries and regions, excluding Mainland China and OFAC-sanctioned areas, while the platform’s starting terms also exclude the US, Canada and Hong Kong. No country list is published for the card itself. If your situation is unclear, that is precisely the first thing to ask before depositing anything.

How do I get the MSX card, and how do I apply?

The card’s own pages do not state the application steps, the documents required or an age limit. Unofficial reporting says MSX operates under applicable KYC, AML and transaction-monitoring requirements, without card-specific steps. Practically, that means an account on the MSX platform followed by whatever verification it applies — and no published checklist to prepare against.

What does the MSX card cost?

Unofficial reporting says zero annual fees, zero top-up fees and zero payment fees during an initial promotional period, with later fees not disclosed and no FX fee named. Since the card was announced in June 2026, treat the post-promotion price as unknown and ask for it in writing. Network fees for on-chain deposits are separate and charged by the blockchain.

How do I top up the MSX card?

As reported, by transferring USDT or USDC to your MSX account, with the balance converted when you spend. Coins and networks are not disclosed, and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong network can mean losing the money or needing manual support recovery with no guarantee. Confirm the supported network before you send, and keep some ETH if you are transacting on Ethereum, since gas is paid only in ETH.

Is the MSX card safe, and can I trust it?

I would not answer that with a yes. There were no user complaints found, but the card was announced on 4 June 2026, so there has barely been time for a public record to form, and I found no published security features, dispute process or support arrangements. Your crypto would sit with a platform rather than in your own wallet, which is the standard custodial arrangement with the standard risks attached.

Is the MSX card worth it, and is it free?

Whether it is worth it depends entirely on why you need it: if an ordinary bank card is closed to you, it may be the only route, and that is worth a great deal. Whether it is free is not established. Unofficial sources describe fees waived during an initial promotional period, with the amount afterwards undisclosed, so budget on the assumption that a fee exists. Set aside the missing details first, and only then decide.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team