A no-annual-fee Visa card that spends crypto, with a $700 daily cap and a support record that gives pause

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

CoinZoom is a Visa debit card that draws on a crypto wallet rather than on a bank account. On paper the money side of the deal is unusually clean: no annual fee on any tier, no foreign transaction fee charged by CoinZoom, and no CoinZoom commission on cash withdrawals. What stops it being an easy recommendation is everything around that: the daily spending cap starts low, the card issuer is not named on the company’s own pages, and the people who have used it write about money getting stuck.

CoinZoom works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 5.9 out of 10. That is not a bad score for a card that solves a real problem, but it is not a confident one, and the reason it sits in the middle is worth being blunt about.

One thing to say up front, because it decides whether you should keep reading. The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.9 out of 10, and that is a real answer rather than a hedge

CoinZoom suits a specific person: someone who already holds crypto, already holds ZOOM, and wants a card that spends it without opening a bank account where a bank is not offering one. If that is you, the fee structure is genuinely good and the five-tier rewards ladder is the best part of the offer. If you want a card to run your salary through, or you are comparing this with an ordinary debit card from a bank you already have a relationship with, you are choosing complexity for nothing.

Who it does not suit is just as clear. It does not suit people who need high spending limits immediately — $700 a day at the entry level is not a normal bank card. It does not suit anyone who wants their balance to be a bank deposit; the company’s own warning that “ZoomMe is not an FDIC-insured bank product” is the key sentence to read before you load anything. And it does not suit people who need to know exactly who is legally responsible for their money, because the issuer is not named on the public pages.

The scores break down like this.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 “Available in 169 countries” is stated at company level, but the list is not named; third-party pages say 123 countries are available and 81 restricted, among them Canada, Australia, the UK, France and Germany
Cost 5 / 10 $0 annual fee on all tiers, no CoinZoom FX fee, no CoinZoom ATM fee; but top-up by card costs 3.99%, and third-party sources add a 1.49% conversion fee and $4.99 a month after six months of inactivity
Top-up options 7 / 10 Any asset in the CoinZoom wallet can be spent, converted to USD at the point of sale; unofficial sources say USDT on ERC-20 and TRC-20, and that ZOOM itself cannot be spent
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 CoinZoom, Inc. is a FinCEN MSB and the issuer is not named officially; Trustpilot shows 2.5 out of 5 across 66 reviews with 61% one-star; on 9 February 2026 the company surrendered its Washington licence
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual card immediately on approval, physical Visa, free CoinZoom ATM withdrawals; Google Pay is documented by a third party, Apple Pay is not clearly confirmed

Total: 5.9 / 10.

The everyday-use mark is the highest one here and it is deserved — the mechanics of getting a card and paying with it are simple, the app is used for everything, and you can freeze the card instantly from the Spend tab. The reliability mark is the lowest and it drags the total down more than any single fee could.

Will they give you the card?

Yes in a great many places, no in a great many places, and the honest problem is that the two official answers disagree with each other.

The company’s home page says the service is “Available in 169 countries”. It does not publish the list. Third-party card comparison sites, reading the same service in August 2026, came to a different count: 123 countries listed as available and 81 as restricted, with Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, France and Germany among the restricted. The same third-party reporting says European Union residents cannot order the card even though it still works inside the EU — an odd combination, because it means you could be spending in a country whose residents cannot sign up.

In the United States, the picture is partial: available in 48 states, not in New York or Washington.

So the practical test for you is not “is my country on the list”, because there is no list. It is: start the application, and see whether it lets you finish. You will find out quickly, and you will find out before you send any money.

Age matters too. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults from 18, and some issuers set higher limits. CoinZoom’s own pages do not state a minimum age.

One more thing that is not about geography but decides everything downstream: identity verification happens in the app before the card is issued. Details of what that involves are in the signup section.

How to get it

The route is short. You sign up in the app, you complete identity verification inside the app, and if you are approved you get a virtual card immediately. That is the whole sequence.

What the official pages do not tell you matters here. They do not list which documents are accepted, they do not say whether proof of address is required, they do not state an age requirement, and they do not state how many verification levels there are, how long review takes, or why a verification might be rejected. That last one is the piece I would want before I started.

Third-party reporting from August 2026 fills in the likely shape of the process: legal name, date of birth, tax or national ID number, phone number, a government photo ID, and a liveness or biometric check. It also suggests you may be asked about your occupation, the source of your funds, sanctions information, and occasional re-verification. None of that is confirmed by CoinZoom — it is what an outside site says the process looks like, and it is consistent with standard practice, but you should not rely on it.

On the card itself: it is a Visa debit card, and the card currency is USD. The app converts your assets to USD at the point of sale, which is the single fact that explains most of the cost behaviour later on. A physical card ships free from the Silver tier up. Below that, the help-centre table lists $5 standard shipping for Non-Prime. Delivery times are not stated, and the replacement cost for a lost physical card is not stated either.

So the practical advice: get the virtual card first, live with it, and only move up a tier when you have a reason to.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where CoinZoom looks best on paper and where the picture is most incomplete. Here is everything stated or publicly reported, and I will mark where the official record stops.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CoinZoom payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says
Annual fee $0 on all tiers
Issuance fee Not stated
Crypto conversion fee Not stated officially; third-party sources say 1.49%
Foreign transaction fee None charged by CoinZoom; “standard network conversion rates may apply”
ATM withdrawal, CoinZoom fee None, at “1 million+ ATM locations”; ATM limits not stated
Card top-up (debit card) 3.99%, $1.99 minimum, on all tiers except Black at 2.99%
Wire top-up $12; free on Black
Standard card shipping $5 Non-Prime, free from Silver
Daily POS limit Non-Prime $700, Silver $1,500, Gold $2,500, Diamond $5,000, Black $10,000
Daily ATM limit Non-Prime $100, Silver $250, Gold $250, Diamond $500, Black $1,000
Monthly caps Not stated

Two of those rows deserve a flag. The $0 annual fee is genuinely $0 — it is not a first-year offer that reappears on renewal. The 3.99% card top-up fee is not small: it is the cost of putting money in, and on a modest load it is the fee you will feel most often.

Now let me walk through three ordinary payments, because fee percentages only mean something when they touch a real amount.

The weekly shop, $80 on groceries. You are spending from a crypto balance, so the asset is converted to USD at the moment of the sale. Officially, the conversion fee is not stated. On the third-party reading, a 1.49% liquidation fee applies when crypto is sold to USD by market order — on $80 that is $1.19. No CoinZoom foreign transaction fee applies if you are at a domestic shop, though “standard network conversion rates may apply” if the conversion happens at the network level. Net: somewhere around $1 on an $80 shop, and I would ask CoinZoom directly what the conversion fee is rather than take either number on faith.

A weekend away, $60 spent in a euro-zone country on a $60 dinner. Here the official position helps you: there is no CoinZoom foreign transaction fee. What you are exposed to is the conversion rate your own asset happens to get when the app swaps it into USD, plus whatever “standard network conversion rates” the card’s rails apply. This is the case where CoinZoom is genuinely more transparent than many competitors — though note that a third-party listing of a competing card in this space quotes an FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate, and Bybit quotes 2% as well. The zero here is a real advantage.

A $200 cash withdrawal from an ATM. No CoinZoom fee at all, at a million-plus network of locations. But look at the per-transaction and daily numbers before you plan a night out: Non-Prime is $200 per transaction and $200 a day, Silver and Gold are $250 and $500, Diamond $1,000 and $1,000, Black $2,000 and $2,000. So the free withdrawal is free only up to your tier’s cap, and the entry tier caps you at a single $200 note a day. If you want to travel with cash, you want Gold or above — and the reward rate that comes with Gold is 2%.

Two other costs sit outside the card and are worth naming because they bite later. Third-party sources describe inactivity fees of $4.99 a month after six months and $9.99 a month at twelve months, and account closure with a $100 fee at thirty-six months. Those are unofficial figures and I would want them confirmed before relying on them either way — but a card you forget about is exactly how those clauses get triggered.

Top up: how money gets in

The card does not have a bank balance you fill like a normal prepaid card. It spends whatever asset sits in your CoinZoom wallet, converted to USD at the point of sale. The official pages do not name the specific coins or networks supported.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CoinZoom starts with a transfer to the right network

The officially stated routes are two, and only two:

Everything else about funding is not stated officially: minimum top-up amounts, and who pays the blockchain network fee if you send crypto in. Those are exactly the questions to ask support before you send a transfer, because an irreversible transfer to the wrong network is not recoverable by anyone.

On the crypto side, the unofficial picture is helpful but not confirmed by CoinZoom: USDT deposits on the ERC-20 and TRC-20 networks, and a note that the ZOOM token itself cannot be spent. That last point surprises people. You hold ZOOM, you climb the tier ladder, you get better limits and better rewards — and you still need something else, like USDT, to actually pay for the coffee.

One background fact that applies here and is worth knowing before you move funds: the ERC-20 network charges gas only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send. And because blockchain transfers are irreversible, a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can simply be lost.

Getting money back out is the other half you should price before you go in. A wire withdrawal costs $35 in the US and $50 internationally on all tiers except Black, where it is free. ACH withdrawal, crypto-out fees, and what happens to a remaining balance when an account closes are all not stated officially. Third-party figures quote ACH as free with a $1 minimum and a $40,000 maximum, but I would treat that as a starting point for a question, not an answer.

Paying with it every day

This is the part CoinZoom does best, and it is why the everyday-use score is 8 out of 10.

The rewards ladder is the reason to climb tiers, and it is unusually steep at the top. Card spending earns crypto back at 0.5% (Non-Prime), 1% (Silver), 2% (Gold), 3% (Diamond) and 5% (Black), with “rewards program terms apply”. The coin you are paid in is not stated. There is also a trading fee discount of 10%, 20%, 30% and 50% from Silver, Gold, Diamond and Black respectively, and free wires on Black. Non-Prime alone has no trading discount, which is another reason the entry tier is a trial tier.

Where the picture gets thinner is the phone-wallet question, and it is one people ask constantly. Officially, Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not stated, and neither is the list of blocked merchants. Third-party documentation from August 2026 describes Google Pay as documented for active cards, while Apple Pay support is not clearly confirmed for the card. So: assume Google Pay may work, assume nothing about Apple Pay.

One practical point about the app itself: the official card page does not state platforms or ratings. Third-party figures for the wider exchange app are 4.7 out of 5 on the Apple App Store from about 774 ratings, and about 3.9 on Google Play from 479 reviews with 100,000+ downloads. A 3.9 on Android is worth knowing if phone-based support is your fallback, and phone is exactly what some of the complaints describe being unavailable.

If a charge goes wrong, the only stated process is to report unauthorised or fraudulent charges to support promptly. Time frames are not stated. Under US law, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.

What can go wrong

Here is where I have to stop being generous.

Money getting stuck. The most recent complaint data I saw on Trustpilot, read on 2026-10-20, shows CoinZoom at 2.5 out of 5 from 66 reviews, with 61% one-star and 29% five-star. The one-star themes run from June to September 2026 and include refunds or funds withheld, funds sent to a closed account, some unresolved for months, deposits not arriving in July and August 2026, registration and verification stuck, and fees above the advertised 5%. Support themes include bot loops with no live agent, May to August 2026, and multi-day escalations. CoinZoom replies to roughly 70% of negative reviews, which is a real effort and does not refund anyone.

A second, unverified aggregator lists bot support loops, multi-day escalations, KYC name mismatches and facial-recognition failures, ACH deposit holds of seven to twenty-one days, and card replacement delays. I would weight that source low. But the seven-to-twenty-one-day ACH hold claim and the name-mismatch claim are the two I would test myself with a small amount before committing real money.

Nobody will tell you who issues the card. CoinZoom, Inc. describes itself as a “FinCEN MSB” and a “Licensed money transmitter in applicable jurisdictions”. The card issuer and BIN sponsor are not named on the official pages. Third-party reporting says Zenus Bank issues the Visa card with CoinZoom Inc. as programme manager, Cross River Bank holds fiat in non-MTL states, and BitGo supplies wallet technology, under NMLS 1735216. Take that as unconfirmed. It matters because when something goes wrong, the question “who is legally responsible” has to have an answer, and right now the answer is not on the company’s own site.

A licence was surrendered in February 2026. On 9 February 2026 CoinZoom gave a consent order to the Washington State Department of Financial Institutions and surrendered its Washington money-transmitter licence. It cannot resume money transmission in Washington before 9 February 2029, and the order carries a $150,000 fine with $50,000 stayed. I read this from a third-party summary updated 11 August 2026, not from the DFI document itself. Even so: a company that gives up a licence is a fact that belongs in your assessment, not a footnote.

Inactivity and closure. The unofficial fee schedule I mentioned — $4.99 a month after six months idle, rising to $9.99 at twelve, and a $100 closure fee at thirty-six months — is the kind of clause that only matters when you have stopped caring about the card. It will matter eventually.

Platform risk, generally. This is not specific to CoinZoom but it is the structural risk underneath a card like this. Custodial providers have a history: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. And the card brand itself may not be permanent — Visa terminated its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

Deposits and cards can be declined for reasons that are not about you. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Address Verification Service is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup shows the issuer country. The card currency is USD, so a card issued in one country and used in another can look foreign to the shop.

What to take instead

If CoinZoom does not fit, these are the alternatives I would look at, with their own scores attached so you can weigh them.

Card Score What stands out
CoinZoom 5.9 / 10 No annual fee, no CoinZoom FX or ATM fee; low entry limit and a weak support record
MSX 6.4 / 10 Scores slightly higher, but country availability, card type, costs, funding and rewards are not stated on any official page I could read
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 The most fully documented of the three: card regions, card currencies, issuance fees, conversion and FX fees, and a five-step cashback ladder
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Cashback in YNG tokens at 0.1% (Essential), 1.8% (Gold) and 3.6% (Platinum)

Two observations on that table. MSX scores above CoinZoom and I cannot tell you why — the official pages state almost nothing about country availability, card type, fees, funding or rewards, and an undocumented card is not obviously safer than a documented one with known weaknesses. And Bybit is the one I would read first if you want to compare properly, because it publishes its numbers.

Bybit is worth a short comparison here because it shows what full disclosure looks like. Its card regions are listed by name — Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific — and it states plainly that “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Its card currency “depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification”: USD for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific; ARS in Argentina; MXN in Mexico; BRL in Brazil; PEN or USD in Peru. Virtual issuance is free in all regions “until further notice”, while physical issuance varies: Australia 29.99 USD, Argentina 5 USD/USDT, Georgia 29.99 USDT, Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT, Asia Pacific 5 USDT, and none in Brazil or Mexico.

On fees, Bybit charges a crypto conversion fee of 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina, and it does not support Peru. Its FX fee is 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico; 2% as an “International Fee” in Kazakhstan (AIFC) even on USD purchases outside the country; 7% in Argentina; 1.5% in Brazil; 1% in Peru. Argentina also carries VAT of 21% on foreign digital services and 30% tax on foreign transactions. That is a lot of disclosed cost — and here is the point: you can compare it. That transparency is worth more than a lower headline percentage.

Bybit’s rewards are also more precisely stated: from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, with tiers from Base at 2.00% up to Infinite at 10%, cashback in USDT calculated as points × 0.002, points pending for four calendar days, and a monthly cashback cap on each tier.

The honest summary of this section: CoinZoom’s zero foreign transaction fee is genuinely better than Bybit’s 2%, and CoinZoom’s $0 annual fee and free ATM withdrawals are better than Bybit’s 29.99 USD physical issuance in Australia. But Bybit tells you its numbers, and CoinZoom does not tell you its conversion fee at all.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend CoinZoom to someone in this position, and to almost nobody else.

I would steer you away if you need a card for a salary, if you cannot clear identity verification and need a fallback, if you are in the EU and want to order it, or if you are in Washington state or New York — or if you simply want to know which bank is responsible for your money and are not satisfied by “not named on the site”.

My honest view is that this is a well-priced, poorly-documented card inside a company that has had a rough eighteen months with its customers and has given up a licence in at least one state. That is not a recommendation to walk away. It is a recommendation to start small.

Frequently asked questions

What is the CoinZoom card?

The CoinZoom card is a Visa debit card that spends crypto instead of a bank balance. It draws on assets held in your CoinZoom wallet, converting them to US dollars at the moment of sale. You get a virtual card immediately on approval and can order a physical one, free from the Silver tier up. It is designed for people who hold crypto but cannot get, or do not want, an ordinary bank card.

How does the CoinZoom card work in daily life?

You top up, then spend. Money enters either by debit card deposit at 3.99% or by wire at $12, and at the point of sale the app converts whichever asset you hold into USD. Officially there is no CoinZoom foreign transaction fee, and cash withdrawals carry no CoinZoom fee either. Your daily spending ceiling depends on your tier, starting at $700 a day and reaching $10,000 on Black.

Is CoinZoom a bank?

No, and the company says so itself. CoinZoom, Inc. describes itself as a “FinCEN MSB” and a “Licensed money transmitter in applicable jurisdictions”, and its own material warns that “ZoomMe is not an FDIC-insured bank product”. The card issuer is not named on the official pages. Third-party reporting points to Zenus Bank as issuer, but that is unconfirmed by the company.

Does CoinZoom card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is required in the app before the card is issued. CoinZoom does not publish which documents are accepted, whether proof of address is required, an age threshold, how many levels exist, or how long review takes. Third-party reporting describes name, date of birth, ID, a photo document and a liveness check, with possible questions about occupation and source of funds.

Which countries can get the card?

The company’s home page claims availability in 169 countries without naming them, while third-party sources counted 123 available and 81 restricted, including Canada, Australia, the UK, France and Germany. The same reporting says EU residents cannot order the card although it works in the EU, and that in the US it is available in 48 states but not New York or Washington.

Is CoinZoom card free?

The annual fee is $0 on every tier, and there is no CoinZoom foreign transaction or ATM fee. Other costs are not zero: a debit card top-up is 3.99% with a $1.99 minimum, a wire top-up is $12, and standard physical shipping is $5 below Silver. Officially unstated are the crypto conversion fee and any issuance fee.

Can I add the CoinZoom card to Apple Wallet?

Not something the company confirms. Officially, Apple Pay and Google Pay support are simply not stated. Third-party documentation from August 2026 describes Google Pay as working for active cards, while Apple Pay support is not clearly confirmed. If a phone wallet matters to you, ask support in writing before relying on it, because an unconfirmed answer leaves you with a card you cannot add.

How do I withdraw money from CoinZoom?

Wire withdrawal costs $35 in the US and $50 internationally on all tiers except Black, where it is free; a US wire requires Gold tier or above. Cash at ATMs is free of CoinZoom fees but capped by tier — $200 per transaction and per day on Non-Prime, $250 and $500 on Silver and Gold, $1,000 on Diamond, $2,000 on Black. ACH and crypto-out fees are not stated officially.

Is CoinZoom card safe?

Treat it as reasonable but unproven. There are genuine safeguards: instant card freeze in the app, spending limits, and the Visa Zero Liability Policy if you report unauthorised charges promptly. Against that, Trustpilot shows 2.5 out of 5 from 66 reviews with 61% one-star, the issuer is not named officially, and on 9 February 2026 the company surrendered its Washington money-transmitter licence.

Is CoinZoom card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold crypto and ZOOM, cannot get a normal card, and will start small — the reward ladder from 0.5% to 5% is the best part of the offer. Not worth it if you need a primary everyday card, if the $700 entry limit is too tight, or if you want your balance to be a bank deposit. Whichever way you decide, treat ZOOM as tier currency rather than spendable money, since it reportedly cannot be spent.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team