Digitap card review: a free virtual tier and a $299 Pro tier, on a card whose issuer and licences are not named in public

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

A crypto Visa that starts free, tops up from 100-plus tokens, and does not charge a foreign transaction fee sounds, on paper, like the sort of card that would suit anyone who has had trouble getting a normal bank card. I went through the public material, the plan structure, and the small but pointed set of user reports that exist, and came away with a 6.2 out of 10. The free Virtual tier is genuinely useful, but the people behind the card, the company that actually issues it, and the licences that make the programme possible are not stated anywhere I could find. For a reader weighing whether to load money onto it, that gap matters more than the price of the tier.

Digitap works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The card earns a 6.2 out of 10, with a strong score for who can get it (9/10) and weak marks for reliability and complaints (3/10) because the issuer, registered entity and licences are not named. Cost sits in the middle (5/10): the Virtual tier is free, the Pro tier is heavy, and some fees that you would expect to see in the small print are simply not stated. Top-up options score 7/10 for breadth, everyday use 7/10 for the fact that the card works in stores and at ATMs, but with the same caveat that the company behind the card is not transparent about who runs the programme.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Digitap starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Marketed as available in 180+ countries; the exact issuing countries are not named, and the site says nothing about restricting itself to a particular list
Cost 5 / 10 Virtual is free with two free virtual cards; Pro is $299 to open and $95 a year; no foreign transaction fee; several everyday fees are not stated
Top-up options 7 / 10 100+ crypto assets plus USD, EUR, GBP fiat; the networks those assets run on are not stated
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 No named issuer or registered entity; Trustpilot at 2.7/5 with recurring themes of unanswered support; the app is still labelled beta
Everyday use 7 / 10 Works in stores, at ATMs, and (per user reports) with Google Pay; Apple Pay appears to be missing; merchant category restrictions are not stated
Total 6.2 / 10

If you want a free virtual card and the breadth of paying from a hundred-plus assets, and you are comfortable with a programme whose issuer is not named, the Virtual tier is worth a look. If you are paying $299 plus a $95 yearly fee for Pro, you are paying a premium for limits and cashback from a company you cannot independently verify. Free virtual card seekers wanting 100+ crypto assets is the group this card is built for; everyone else will find at least one trade-off that stings.

Will they give you the card

Digitap says the card “works in 180+ countries worldwide.” That is a wide net, and the site does not list the countries where the card is or is not issued. The site footer adds a general disclaimer that nothing on the site is directed at places where use would be contrary to local law, which means a reader in a restricted jurisdiction has to make that judgement themselves rather than relying on a published list.

The card is a Visa. The product page offers a virtual card issued instantly, and a physical card with a custom design, an EMV chip and a PIN. The fiat side of the account holds USD, EUR and GBP balances. What the page does not say is which country issues the card, which entity holds the licence, and which jurisdictions that licence covers. For a reader used to a normal bank or e-money issuer, that is a meaningful gap, and I will come back to it in the risks section.

How to get it

The signup flow is described in three steps: open a Digitap account online, the site says “in a few minutes”; pick a plan; get a virtual card instantly, or order a physical card. That is the public description; the documents, the proof of address, and the age requirement are not stated.

What is stated, on the plan page, is the KYC level that comes with each tier:

The page does not list which documents are required for light or full KYC, what the processing time is, and what the rejection reasons are. One unofficial source, a January 2026 promotional article tied to a $TAP token presale, says the virtual card can be issued after a simple identity check in under 24 hours, with the physical card needing more verification including a passport scan and a selfie. I am flagging that as unofficial because it is not on the official plans page.

Delivery details for the physical card (which countries, how long, what it costs to ship) are not stated. The only figure around the physical card is the $40 replacement fee on the Pro tier; the Virtual tier replaces virtual cards for free.

What it really costs: fees, tiers, and the fees that are not stated

The plans page is the cleanest part of the offer. It breaks down into five tiers, and the difference between them is mostly the KYC level, the kind of card you get, the limits, and the cashback.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Digitap payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Wallet plan $0 (no KYC, no card, Medium Limits, basic cashback, business-hours support)
Virtual plan Free (light KYC, 2 free virtual cards, replacement free, Medium Limits)
Pro plan $299 account opening fee, $95/year admin fee (full KYC, 5 free virtual + 3 free physical cards, replacement physical $40 / virtual $2.50, High Limits, high cashback)
Premium plan On request (full KYC, No Limits, 24/7 private-banking manager, unlimited cards including metal, “up to double digit %” cashback)
Business plan On request (multi-user, custom limits and rewards, 24/7 support)
Foreign transaction fee None
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM fee and free allowance Not stated
Deposit fee (Wallet, Virtual) 2.5%
Deposit fee (Pro, Premium) 2.2%
Withdraw to external wallet (Wallet, Virtual, Pro) 1%
Withdraw to external wallet (Premium, Business) 0%
Withdraw to external bank (Virtual, Pro) 1%
Withdraw to external bank (Premium, Business) 0%
Daily and monthly limits Only labels: Medium (Wallet, Virtual), High (Pro), No Limits (Premium, Business) — amounts not stated

A toggle on the page also shows $15.99/month or $155/year, which is not mapped to a named tier and is something to ask support about if you land on it.

To make those numbers feel real, three everyday payments:

Two things stand out. The first is that Pro is a large fixed commitment for a card whose issuer is not stated, and you should weigh that $394 in the first year ($299 to open plus $95 yearly) against what you would actually get from High Limits and “high cashback” with no percentage published. The second is that several fees that affect a cardholder every week, namely the crypto conversion fee, the ATM fee, and the FX behaviour on payments in non-USD/EUR/GBP currencies, are simply not stated. The card is free to issue at the Virtual tier, which is genuinely useful, but the ongoing cost is partly hidden in the parts of the small print the page does not fill in.

How to top it up

Topping up starts with what you fund with. The page says you can load the card with 100+ crypto assets, or with fiat in USD, EUR, GBP, and you choose the asset at checkout. The networks those assets run on (Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Base, and so on) are not stated. With a crypto card, the network question matters: a stablecoin sent on a chain the card does not support is the kind of mistake that the network cannot reverse and the card’s support team may or may not be able to help with.

The numbers I can confirm are the deposit fees: 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual, 2.2% on Pro and Premium. The minimum top-up amount is not stated, and whether you or Digitap pays the network (gas) fee on the underlying blockchain transfer is not stated. Fiat top-ups beyond the deposit fee structure are also not stated.

If you want to take money out, the card-to-external-wallet fee is 1% on Wallet, Virtual and Pro, 0% on Premium and Business. The card-to-external-bank fee is 1% on Virtual and Pro, 0% on Premium and Business, and not applicable to Wallet. What happens to a balance on closure is not stated.

For a cardholder, the practical question is: which asset, on which network, and which tier? The page does not give you enough to answer all three. If you are funding with USDT, the safest habit is to ask support which networks are accepted, send a small test transaction first, and only then send the full amount.

Paying with it every day

The card is a Visa, and a Visa works wherever Visa is accepted online and in stores. ATM withdrawals work worldwide, with the conversion from crypto to fiat happening on the way out. The limits are described by tier label rather than by amount: Medium Limits on Wallet and Virtual, High Limits on Pro, No Limits on Premium and Business. The actual numbers are not stated.

Mobile wallet support is the part where the official page and user reports disagree. The page does not say. Unofficial Trustpilot reviews from late 2025 through May 2026 say Apple Pay is missing, and reviews from December 2025 and February 2026 say Google Pay works. I am treating those as user reports rather than confirmed features, because they are not on the official page.

Rewards are paid in $TAP tokens, the same token whose presale the marketing site promotes heavily. The rate depends on the plan: basic cashback on Wallet and Virtual, “high cashback” on Pro, and “up to double digit %” cashback on Premium. No percentages are given for any tier, and there is no monthly cap or staking requirement on the page. A cashback paid in a token whose value moves with the rest of the crypto market is a different thing from a flat-rate cashback, and the page does not say what the $TAP is worth at the moment of receipt.

The app is available on iOS (iPhone iOS 12.0+, iPad and Mac M1) and Android, and the official page describes it as “the official beta version.” The App Store UK storefront I read on 2026-10-20 shows no rating, with the system message “not enough ratings or reviews.” The Google Play rating was not readable at the time of writing. A beta label is worth taking seriously: it means the software is still being finished, and you should expect the occasional bug.

Disputes and chargeback handling are not stated on the public page.

What can go wrong

The structural risk on this card is the same as on a few other newer crypto card programmes: the people behind it are not named. The marketing copy describes Digitap as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners.” It does not name the issuer, the registered entity, or the licences. The Visa network is named, but Visa licenses issuers; it does not itself issue cards to consumers, and a network can suspend an issuer’s programme (the FTX US debit card was wound down in late 2022 after Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX, and a 2018 Visa suspension of WaveCrest closed a number of crypto card programmes in Europe). A reader who cannot see who the issuer is cannot independently check the licence, the regulator, or the safeguards on the funds.

The user reports on Trustpilot, which I read on 2026-10-20, give the card 2.7 out of 5 from 13 reviews in the last 12 months, with 54% one-star. The themes that repeat are:

The few positive reports mention Google Pay working (December 2025, February 2026).

Security features are not described in the public plans material: there is no mention of two-factor authentication, an instant freeze toggle, or per-merchant spending controls, and the custody model (whether the balance is held by the issuer, by a partner, or by a third-party custodian) is not stated. The support contacts are [email protected], a contact form, and an FAQ; the plans table contradicts the general “24/7” line elsewhere on the page, because only Premium and Business have 24/7 support.

There are no Digitap-specific complaints on Reddit or in the news that I could find, and no official incident has been published. The risk picture is therefore not “something has happened,” it is “the people behind the card are not visible enough for a reader to evaluate whether something could go wrong, and the user reports that do exist lean negative.”

What to take instead

Three alternatives that come up in this part of the market, with the same basic shape (a Visa or Mastercard paid from a balance, often stablecoin-funded) and more published detail about the issuer or the rules.

Card Score Where you can get it Cost (key numbers) What you pay with What you earn
Digitap 6.2 / 10 180+ countries (issuing list not named) Virtual free, Pro $299 + $95/yr 100+ crypto assets, USD/EUR/GBP $TAP cashback, rate not published
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 A long list of excluded countries (Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam); FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case; rule is by residence Virtual card $5 once; no maintenance fee; Classic free, Pro $9/mo, Max $19/mo USDC, USDT into a USD account, plus USD/EUR/SEPA/SWIFT/FedNow fiat No cashback stated
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Not stated No annual fee “Live OTC rates”; assets not detailed “Spend-to-Earn” up to 3%
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 31 US states for consumers (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming); 41 states for businesses; consumers not supported in Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam “No extra fees” (no amounts listed) Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral; coins and networks not stated 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber

What the table makes clear is that the International Visa Card is the most transparent on who can and cannot have it, and on the FX behaviour (“Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”), even though its country list is narrower than Digitap’s. Whop Cards is the one to look at if you are US-based and want a card that is already pinned to a specific US regulatory footprint. UNi Card is the closest in feel to a multicurrency card paid from a balance, though the public material is thin on where you can actually get one.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Digitap Virtual tier, in particular, to two groups of readers.

The first is someone who wants a free virtual Visa, who is comfortable funding it from a wallet they already control, and who is happy to see a “no foreign transaction fee” line in the plan and to find the rest of the cost on the confirmation screen. The 2.5% deposit fee is real but not unusual for the category, and the lack of an annual fee makes the tier cheap to leave and come back to.

The second is someone who holds one of the 100+ assets the card accepts and who would rather pay in that asset than convert to a stablecoin first, accepting that the conversion fee is the part the page does not show. If you are paying small amounts and checking the screen each time, the gap is manageable.

I would not recommend the Pro tier at $299 to open plus $95 a year, and I would not recommend Premium or Business, to a reader who has not independently verified the issuer, the regulator and the safeguards on the funds. The cost is high, the issuer is not named, the app is labelled beta, and the user reports lean negative. If you want High Limits and richer cashback from a programme you can name and check, the alternatives in the table above are the closer match. If you specifically want a free virtual card and a wide list of accepted crypto, the Virtual tier is, in the end, where the offer lives up to its price.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Digitap card?

The Digitap card is a Visa payment card tied to a Digitap account, with a virtual card issued instantly and a physical card available. The account holds balances in USD, EUR and GBP and can be funded with 100-plus crypto assets, with the card spending from the fiat balance. The marketing site also promotes a $TAP token whose presale is separate from the card itself.

How does the Digitap card work?

You open an account, pick a tier, get a virtual card immediately and can order a physical card with a custom design and an EMV chip. When you pay, the balance in your fiat account is debited; when you fund the card, you top up that balance from crypto (100+ assets) or from fiat in USD, EUR or GBP. The deposit fee is 2.5% on the Virtual tier and 2.2% on Pro and Premium, and there is no foreign transaction fee on the plan page.

Is Digitap a bank?

No. The marketing site describes Digitap as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners.” It does not name the issuer, the registered entity, or the licences behind the programme, so a reader cannot treat it as a bank or a regulated e-money institution in the way a chartered bank’s name would let them.

Who owns Digitap?

The ownership behind the company is not stated in the public material I looked at. The marketing site names the product and the partners it describes as “licensed,” but the registered entity, the issuer of the Visa programme, and the corporate parent are not named.

How do I get the Digitap card?

The public flow is: open an account online, which the page says takes “a few minutes”; pick a plan; receive the virtual card instantly or order the physical card. The KYC level depends on the plan: none on Wallet, “light” on Virtual, full on Pro, Premium and Business. The exact documents and processing time are not stated.

Does the Digitap card require KYC?

It depends on the tier. Wallet has no KYC at all, Virtual has “light KYC,” and Pro, Premium and Business require full KYC. The plans page does not list which documents are required for light or full KYC, and the processing time is not stated.

How do I top up the Digitap card?

You can top up with 100-plus crypto assets or with fiat in USD, EUR or GBP, choosing the asset at checkout. The deposit fee is 2.5% on the Virtual tier and 2.2% on Pro and Premium. The minimum top-up amount and the networks the crypto is sent on are not stated, and a small test transaction before sending a larger amount is the practical habit given that blockchain transfers are not reversible.

Can I add the Digitap card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The official plans page does not say. User reports on Trustpilot from late 2025 through May 2026 say Apple Pay is not available, and reviews from December 2025 and February 2026 say Google Pay works. Those are unofficial reports rather than features confirmed on the official page, so treat them as a likelihood, not a guarantee.

Is the Digitap card safe?

The public material does not describe the security features (two-factor authentication, freeze, spending controls) or the custody model, and the issuer and licences are not named. Trustpilot reads 2.7/5 with 13 reviews in the last 12 months (54% one-star), and recurring themes are unanswered support and doubts about the project’s regulation. The card is usable, but the safeguards are not visible enough for a reader to evaluate them.

Is the Digitap card worth it?

For the free Virtual tier, yes, if you want a free virtual Visa funded from a wide list of crypto assets and you are comfortable with a programme whose issuer is not named. For the Pro tier at $299 to open and $95 a year, the cost is high enough that the cashback and limits would need to be checked against an alternative whose issuer and licences are visible, which is not the case in the public material.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team