KeyOne charges nothing for the card and 0.8% to load it with crypto — but it is virtual-only, the ATM is unstated, and the issuer is Wirex, not KeyOne.
KeyOne gives you a virtual Visa card that costs nothing to issue and nothing to keep, and you can load it with USDC or USDT for 0.8% plus the network fee. If you live in one of the 70 countries on its list, want a card that spends a stablecoin balance in Europe, and are content with a card that exists only inside an app, that combination is genuinely hard to argue with. I scored it 6.8 out of 10.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Here is what pushed the number up, and what held it back. The free plan is unusually clean: card payments in the balance currency carry no fee, so a coffee in euros costs exactly the price of the coffee. Conversion when you spend in another currency is capped at 1%. The limits are high for a virtual card — EUR 20,000 of spend per card per month on the free plan.
What holds it back is the shape of the product rather than the price. There is no physical card; the card number, expiry and CVV appear in the app and that is all you get. Apple Pay works; Google Pay is not stated anywhere I could read. Cash withdrawal is not stated. And the honest caveat: the card is issued by Wirex, while KEYONE SOLUTION LTD, incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis, is the technology interface and states outright that it is not a bank. Crypto balances are not covered by a deposit guarantee. Let me take that in order.
The score, criterion by criterion
The total is 6.8 out of 10. Here is how it breaks down, with my reasoning for each mark rather than the number alone.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Residents of 70 listed countries: Europe, Asia, UAE, Africa, Latin America, Australia |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Free EUR plan: issuance and monthly service free; payments in balance currency 0%, conversion up to 1%; crypto top-up 0.8% plus network fee |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDC and USDT, network not named; also SEPA, ACH and top-up from a Visa/Mastercard; crypto withdrawal only on Base |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Card issued by Wirex (Visa); KeyOne Solution Ltd is the technology interface, not a bank; no complaints found, no App Store rating yet |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay available, Google Pay not disclosed; ATM not disclosed |
That last row is where most of the missing half-point lives. A card you cannot take out of your phone and cannot be sure you can take cash out with is a narrower product than the word “card” suggests, and the price being zero does not change that.
Who this suits, in my reading: residents of Georgia, Serbia, Kazakhstan and the other listed countries who want a free card tied to a crypto balance. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a plastic card in the post, cash from an ATM, Google Pay, or the reassurance of a deposit guarantee scheme. If either of those describes you, the alternatives further down will serve you better.
Who will they issue the card to?
Eligibility here is residence-based, and the list of countries is the whole story. Cards are available to residents of 70 listed countries, and the spread is wide: Europe, including Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia and Azerbaijan; Asia, including Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan and Thailand; the UAE and Bahrain; Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda; Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and others; and Australia. Russia and Belarus are not on the list. For any country not listed, the page says plainly that you cannot apply for a KeyOne card yet.
Two things I want to be precise about, because they get blurred in conversation. The list is a residence list, not a citizenship list. There is no excluded-country list published, and no statement anywhere about Russian or Belarusian citizens as such — so if you hold one of those passports but live in a listed country, the pages do not tell you what happens. You would be asking support, not reading a rule.
The reader this matters most for is someone whose banking is difficult. That is the situation the card is genuinely useful in, and I would rather state it plainly than hedge it: this is a workable card for someone who cannot easily open an ordinary bank account, as long as they are resident in a listed country. It is not a workaround for anything, and there is nothing here about avoiding checks — you complete the same identity verification a regulated company is required to complete, and the terms apply to everyone equally.
How to get it
The route is short and conventional. You check that your country is supported, submit a government-issued ID with a selfie, provide proof of address if you are asked for it, and the card is issued in the app.
On the documents themselves: a government-issued ID is accepted — passport, ID card, driving licence or residence permit, with the acceptable types varying by the country that issued the ID. Proof of address may be requested after the ID check. The applicant must be 18 or over. Additional checks may be required in some cases.
The cardholder agreement describes the flow in more detail, and the detail matters. The ID must be state-issued, and your name and date of birth must appear on it and match what you entered in the application. The photo on the document is matched against your selfie. The validity date must be visible and in the future. Then proof of address if asked, which is where card eligibility actually depends on the residence the document shows. There are no defined verification tiers or levels; it is one standard. Processing time is not stated — the pages say only that it may vary and that support can check your status.
The one real gap: this is a virtual card only. No physical card is mentioned anywhere. After approval, the card number, expiry and CVV appear in the app. The card balance currency is EUR, fees are quoted in EUR, and payments are described as being in the balance currency.
What it really costs: fees, limits and two everyday payments
Short answer: on the free plan, the card itself is free and spending it in euros is free. The costs arrive when you load it, and when you spend in a currency other than your balance currency.

The free plan is EUR 0: card issuance free, monthly service free, one virtual card included. Premium is EUR 149 per year, paid as a single payment for 12 months from purchase, with early renewal adding another 12 months, non-refundable except where the law requires. Premium includes three virtual cards, with extra cards at EUR 10 each. There is no metal card. Extra cards are not available on the free plan at all.
| Fee or limit | Free (EUR 0) | Premium (EUR 149/year) |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free | Free |
| Monthly service fee | Free | Free |
| Card payments in balance currency | 0% | 0% |
| Currency conversion | Up to 1% | Up to 1% |
| Crypto top-up (USDC/USDT) | 0.8% + network fee | 0.33% |
| SEPA / ACH top-up in | 0.8% | 0.3% |
| Top-up from another Visa/Mastercard | About 4.5% | About 4.5% |
| In-app exchange | 0.3% on first EUR 1,000/month, then 1.25% | 0.3% on first EUR 2,000/month, then 1.25% |
| Virtual cards included | 1 | 3 |
| Extra card | Not available | EUR 10 each |
| Card spend per card per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| Single transaction | EUR 20,000 | EUR 30,000 |
| SEPA in/out per month | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated | Not stated |
Two notes on reading that table. The in-app exchange allowance resets monthly and is only for exchanging inside the app — the first EUR 1,000 a month on the free plan at 0.3%, and everything beyond that at 1.25%, which is a sharp step up and worth keeping in mind if you plan to convert larger amounts. And individual limits may come out lower than the table’s ceilings, because partner compliance checks can reduce them.
Now, what does that mean for an ordinary day? I ran three everyday situations through the numbers.
A coffee in a café, paid from a euro balance, costs you exactly the price of the coffee. No fee, because the cardholder agreement is explicit that payments in the balance currency carry no fee.
A EUR 30 concert ticket in a city where you hold dollars, or more realistically a EUR 30 purchase with your balance in euros but the terminal charging in another currency, costs up to EUR 30.30 — the 1% is a ceiling, not a fixed rate. The agreement does not specify the card’s own currency; the home page says the balance is EUR.
A EUR 250 online subscription paid after topping up EUR 250 with USDC costs EUR 252.00 in top-up fees on the free plan — 0.8% of EUR 250 is EUR 2.00 — plus whatever the network charges for the transfer, and nothing at the payment itself.
If you load with a Visa or Mastercard instead of crypto, that EUR 250 costs about EUR 11.25 in fees at around 4.5%. That is the number that should decide your funding route, and it is why I would not use a card to top up a card.
How to top it up
There are four routes in, and they differ a lot in cost.
Crypto, in USDC and USDT. The network is not specified on the pages, which is the single most important thing to get right here. On the free plan the fee is 0.8% plus the network fee; on Premium, 0.33%. Crypto withdrawal out is possible, on the Base network only, with no KeyOne fee.
Bank transfer, via SEPA and ACH. SEPA in costs 0.8% on Free and 0.3% on Premium; the same figures for ACH. The SEPA in/out limit is EUR 20,000 a month. SEPA is available for many EU countries and the UK; Faster Payments in GBP and ACH in USD are for the UK only. The minimum top-up is not stated anywhere.
From another card — a Visa or Mastercard top-up is offered, at about 4.5%.
The network question is not a detail I can gloss over. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright. Confirm the supported network before you send anything; the pages do not tell you, and support can. And a note on the tokens themselves: USDT and USDC are dollar-pegged, but stablecoins are not necessarily stable — USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023, and Tether, which issues USDT, says it freezes tokens tied to illicit activity, so these are not censorship-proof assets.
Getting out again: crypto withdrawal works on Base only. SEPA and ACH transfers out may carry a partner fee shown before you confirm. You can close the card in the app at any time without touching the balance. Account deletion is requested in the app under Profile > Support or by email, after withdrawing remaining balances; the card and accounts are closed with Wirex, deletion happens within 30 days, and KYC and transaction records are kept for about 5 years. The terms also say you may stop using the services and withdraw funds at any time.
Paying with it every day
Here is where the card is thinnest, and I would rather be blunt than encouraging.
It is a virtual Visa. The number, expiry and CVV live in the app. For online payments that is genuinely sufficient — you type the number like any card. For anything that wants to be handed something, there is nothing to hand.
Apple Pay is supported and described as adding it in one tap. Google Pay is not stated — not refused, just not mentioned, which is not the same thing and is worth an email to support if Google Pay is your normal way to pay. The app is available on the web at app.keyonepay.com, and there is an iPhone app (iOS 17 and later, version 1.0.10) in English, Russian and Serbian. The Google Play listing exists under com.keyonesolution.keyone. On the App Store in Ireland, the app has not received enough ratings to show a score — so there is no public rating to lean on either way, and I would not read the absence as a warning.
Blocked spending is real but unspecified. The site says that some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted, and does not publish the list. Gambling is a category most issuers block by policy, and it is a fair assumption that virtual cards face more merchant scrutiny than ordinary ones, because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and its issuing country to the shop. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly that reason. Address verification, which many online shops run, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. If a payment fails, a declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your money for several days.
Three-D Secure is there for online payments: you approve or decline in the app. You can block a compromised card in the app. The issuer may suspend or close a card for fraud or use from an unsupported country.
If something goes wrong with a payment, contact support and they will help you file a dispute with the issuer. No timeframes are given, the word chargeback is not used, and the terms set no refund timeframe — that is a real absence for someone used to a defined dispute window.
Rewards: no cashback is mentioned anywhere. If a cashback card is part of why you would normally pick one, this is not it.
What can go wrong
The things I would think about before I funded this card with real money.
The card is issued by Wirex. KeyOne Solution Ltd (company no. C 63589), based in Saint Christopher and Nevis, is the technology interface and states that it is not a bank. No licences are named on the pages. Card payments are handled under Wirex’s own regulatory permissions, and the governing law of the terms is Saint Christopher and Nevis. Understanding that split matters: you are dealing with a regulated issuer for the card and a separate technology company for the app and the wallet.
Your crypto is self-custody, which cuts both ways. Private keys are created and stored on your own device through an embedded wallet provider, and KeyOne cannot move crypto without your signature. That is a real protection. It also means that losing the device or the PIN can mean permanent loss of funds, and there is no built-in recovery: a seed phrase of 12 to 24 words is an unencrypted key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend everything in it. Blockchain transactions cannot be reversed by anyone.
Deposits are not guaranteed. Crypto balances and card funds are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme or investor compensation, because this is not a bank. Custody carries counterparty risk too — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network are the historical reference points for what happens when a holder of funds fails or is breached.
The service is young. The cardholder agreement and terms were both last updated on 12 October 2026. I found no complaints about KeyOne itself — searches for trustpilot and Reddit material returned nothing about the card, and no user reports or news surfaced. That is neutral evidence, not good evidence: it can mean a clean record or simply too few users for problems to have appeared. App Store ratings are too few to show a score. And the wider category has a poor track record of stability: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down, and WaveCrest, a supplier of crypto card programmes, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. When programmes close, the pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
Also worth knowing as background rather than as a KeyOne-specific complaint: under MiCA, the EU’s crypto regulation, e-money tokens may only be issued by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and providers operating under national law had a transitional period running until 1 July 2026 or until they received or were refused authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA keeps an interim public register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and it is worth checking whether a provider appears on it.
Support is Telegram-first: a support bot at @keyone_supportbot described as the fastest route, an email address, X account @keyoneapp for status, and in-app chat under Profile > Support. They say they usually respond within a few hours and always within 24. Hours are not stated, and the website language selector shows English only, while the iOS app lists English, Russian and Serbian.
Two more small risks that are easy to trip over. On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so the “0.8% + network fee” figure is only half the number. And on the tax side — I am not giving advice here, only the general framework — the IRS treats digital assets as property, so each payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal measured at the value on the date of the transaction. Your own jurisdiction may treat it differently.
What to take instead
I looked at three other cards in the same space. None of them is dramatically better; the honest summary is that KeyOne scores highest of the four mainly on its free tier, and that the others are aimed at a different market or simply say less.
| Card | Score | Who it is aimed at | Card type | Stated fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| KeyOne | 6.8 / 10 | Residents of 70 listed countries | Virtual Visa, Wirex-issued | Free plan; 0.8% crypto top-up; up to 1% conversion |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, Naira-focused listing | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | No fee percentage stated; real-time conversion at payment |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Nigeria-focused, “Nigerians and global users” | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Virtual card creation free; other fees not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | No country list published; app says works in “more than 176 countries” | Prepaid, network not stated, balance in USD or EUR | No fees stated on the pages I could read |
Cardex is the most interesting of the three because it offers physical as well as virtual cards, which answers KeyOne’s biggest weakness — but its cost is not stated, it lists on the App Store as Naira-focused, and it names no country exclusions at all, so I could not tell who is actually eligible. CardFlow is explicit about its Nigerian focus and gives you a virtual USD Mastercard quickly and free of charge to create, which is a fine answer if you are in Nigeria. HyperCard claims wide acceptance but publishes no eligibility list, no network, and no fees.
What none of the four does better is transparency about who is behind it. KeyOne at least names its issuer and states plainly that it is not a bank, which is more than most. If your priority is a physical card in the post, look at Cardex. If your priority is being able to read the fee schedule before you commit, KeyOne and CardFlow are the two that publish something. If your priority is not having to think about fees at all for euro spending, KeyOne’s free plan is the strongest of the four.
Who I would recommend it to
Three kinds of person, specifically.
If you live in Georgia, Serbia, Kazakhstan or another listed country, you want to spend from a crypto balance rather than a bank account, and you are comfortable paying 0.8% to load USDC, this card is a good deal and I would take it. The free tier is genuinely free, the limits are high, and paying in your balance currency costs nothing.
If you have a USDC balance and want a Visa number that works at ordinary merchants in the eurozone without opening anything new, this is the use case the product was built for.
If you are someone who finds ordinary bank cards hard to get and you are resident in a listed country, this is a practical card and I would rather say so plainly than pretend it is complicated.
Three kinds of person I would not recommend it to. If you need cash from an ATM, the pages say nothing about it and I will not guess. If you need Google Pay, the answer is not published. If you want a physical card in an envelope, there isn’t one. And if what you want is the protection of a deposit guarantee scheme, this is not a bank and its funds are not covered — that is a structural fact, not a flaw to be fixed by choosing a different tier.
One last practical suggestion. Before you load anything meaningful, send a small test amount, confirm the network in writing through support, and check that the card works in the places you actually shop. Those three steps cost you almost nothing and would have caught most of the problems described above.
Frequently asked questions
What is KeyOne card?
KeyOne is a crypto payment card: a virtual Visa card, issued by Wirex, that spends a balance you fund yourself — by sending USDC or USDT, or by bank transfer, or from another Visa or Mastercard. KeyOne Solution Ltd, incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis, provides the technology interface and states it is not a bank. The card is virtual only: number, expiry and CVV appear in the app, and there is no physical version.
How does KeyOne card work?
You complete identity checks, get the card details in the app, and load funds into your balance. When you pay, the balance is spent — in the balance currency, which is EUR, at no fee. Spending in another currency costs a conversion fee of up to 1%. Merchant refunds are credited back to your KeyOne balance, possibly in a different currency from the original charge. The card itself cannot overdraw, because it draws only on what you have loaded.
Is KeyOne a bank, and who owns it?
No, it is not a bank, and the pages say so directly. KEYONE SOLUTION LTD, incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis, company number C 63589, provides the technology interface; the Visa card is issued by Wirex under Wirex’s own regulatory permissions. The governing law of the terms is Saint Christopher and Nevis. No licences are named on the pages I read. That split is worth understanding before you fund it.
Who can get a KeyOne card?
Residents of 70 listed countries, including Europe (Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia, Azerbaijan), Asia (Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan, Thailand), the UAE, Bahrain, Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa, Uganda, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and Australia. Russia and Belarus are not on the list, and the page says that for any unlisted country you cannot apply yet. It is a residence list, not a citizenship one; there is no published exclusion list.
Does KeyOne require KYC, and what do I need?
Yes. A government-issued ID — passport, ID card, driving licence or residence permit, varying by country of issue — plus a selfie. Your name and date of birth must appear on the document and match the application, and the validity date must be visible and in the future. Proof of address may be requested after the ID check, and additional checks can be required. You must be 18 or over. There are no defined tiers.
What does the KeyOne card cost to use?
The free plan costs EUR 0, with free issuance and no monthly fee. Paying in your balance currency costs 0%, and currency conversion is up to 1%. Crypto top-up is 0.8% plus the network fee on Free, 0.33% on Premium. SEPA and ACH in cost 0.8% and 0.3% respectively. Top-up from another Visa or Mastercard is about 4.5%. Spend is capped at EUR 20,000 per card per month on Free.
How do I top up KeyOne, and which network do I use?
You can top up with USDC or USDT, by SEPA or ACH bank transfer, or from a Visa or Mastercard. Here is the catch: the pages do not name the network for crypto deposits, and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a wrong network can mean lost funds. Crypto withdrawal out is Base only, with no KeyOne fee. SEPA is available for many EU countries and the UK; Faster Payments and ACH are UK-only. The minimum top-up is not stated.
Is KeyOne card safe to use?
The crypto side is self-custody: private keys are created on your device and KeyOne cannot move crypto without your signature. That also means losing the device or PIN can mean permanent loss, with no recovery. On the card side you get 3-D Secure approval in the app and instant freezing. But KeyOne is not a bank, and balances are not covered by a deposit guarantee or investor compensation.
Is the KeyOne virtual card usable anywhere?
It is a Visa, so acceptance follows Visa, but expect friction in specific places. Some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted — the list is not published. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuing country. Address verification, used by many online shops, is mainly a US, Canada and UK facility and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.
Can I use KeyOne with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Apple Pay is supported and described as a one-tap add. Google Pay is not stated anywhere on the pages I read — which is not the same as being refused, and worth a direct question to support if Google Pay is how you normally pay. If that silence turns out to mean no, this card does not fit a Google Pay-based routine, and one of the alternatives with physical cards may serve you better.
Virtual cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
