Pay3 review: a collateral-backed Visa card, priced like one
If you have been reading about crypto cards and wondering whether one of them is genuinely usable as an everyday payment card — not just something that shows up in a wallet app — the Pay3 is a reasonable candidate to look at first. It issues a Visa card, virtual and physical, that you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and it works on a collateral model: what you put in sets what you can spend. That model is the thing to understand before anything else, because it explains both the appeal and the sharp edges.
I have gone through Pay3’s own public pages and terms with this in mind: who is eligible, what the application actually involves, what the fees are, how you load funds, and what happens when something goes wrong. What follows is the review. Several things simply are not published — the list of restricted countries, the coins and networks, the card currency, the rewards, the monthly fee — and I have said so plainly rather than filling the gaps with guesses, because a gap in a card’s terms is itself information you need when you are the one spending the money.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 6.3 out of 10
Pay3 scores 6.3 / 10 overall. That is a middling score for a card that does several ordinary things well and leaves several important ones unstated. It is not a bad card; it is a card with an unusually large number of blanks in its public documentation, and the blanks sit exactly where your money would be.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Open outside “Restricted Locations”, but that list is not published and may change without notice; US citizens must opt out |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance “starts at $5”, a transaction from $0.15, conversion “from 1.15%”, and FX and cross-border fees each up to 3% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account, top-up fee 0% — but no coins or networks are named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Pay3 Limited, Hong Kong, 2024, “not a bank”, issuer Third National, no insurance, very few complaints to read |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATMs “may support” withdrawals |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Strong for a crypto card on the everyday-use side, cautious everywhere else |
Read that table row by row and a pattern emerges. The 8 out of 10 for everyday use is real: this is a Visa, it works in a phone wallet, and you get both a virtual and a physical card. The 5 out of 10 for cost is where the disappointment lives, because the headline percentage is small but the stack of percentages on top of it is not. And the 6 out of 10 for reliability reflects a young company that describes itself as a fintech, not a bank, issuing through a partner whose country is not stated.
So who does this card suit? The intended reader is someone who already spends out of collateral they hold, and who wants both a virtual and a physical Visa rather than a wallet-only product. If that is you, the card does what it promises. Who it does not suit: anyone who expects a bank, a deposit guarantee, published fee schedules, or a rewards programme. If your first question is “is my money insured”, the honest answer here is no, and no amount of good convenience changes that.
Will they give you the card?
Here is the eligibility picture, and it has one large hole in it. Pay3 is open to users outside what the terms call “Restricted Locations” — countries under trade sanctions, export controls, or crypto and fintech prohibitions. The list itself is not published, and it may change without notice. Users, citizens or residents of Restricted Locations are excluded outright.
That is a precise way of saying “somewhere else, but we are not telling you where”. Practically, if you live in a sanctioned or restricted jurisdiction, you know it, and the card will exclude you. If you live in an ordinary country, you will probably pass. The uncertainty sits in the middle: countries with partial crypto restrictions, or a history of them, are exactly the ones a list like this would name, and you cannot see it.
There is a second condition, and it is specific: under the card terms, users must attest that they are not a US citizen and are not blocked by OFAC. So US citizenship is an explicit disqualifier. Note the asymmetry — the terms speak of citizenship and of being OFAC-blocked, not of residence. That is a meaningful difference if you are a US citizen living elsewhere, and it is worth testing directly with support before you invest time in an application.
Nothing in the public pages says how long approval takes, or what proportion of applicants are rejected. If you have been turned down by other card providers, that silence is more frustrating than usual, but it is the same silence.
How to get it
The process is short and has three steps: verify in the app, apply for the card, fund it. Identity verification is done through Sumsub inside the app, once, and the result is reused across the card, the account and swaps. You need to be 18 or over, or the legal age where you live.
There may be a second document. Depending on the partner and the region, proof of address or another document can be requested. The verification structure is a single check plus documents on request — there are no described tier levels, no published processing time, and no published list of rejection reasons. What is stated is the consequence of a failure: a failed KYC may lead to suspension.
You get a choice of card forms: virtual, physical, and Apple Pay and Google Pay cards. It is a Visa, issued under licence from Visa. The virtual card is ready right after you apply. The physical card arrives in “3–5 business days”. Which countries it ships to, what shipping costs, and what a replacement costs are all not stated — and the replacement point matters more than it sounds, because the terms do say a lost or stolen card can be replaced through your account with the possibility of a new number.
The app sits at app.pay-3.io and is described as a Telegram Mini App and web app. Whether it is listed on the App Store or Google Play, and what its ratings are, is not stated. For someone who prefers a normal mobile app this is worth knowing before you start.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section where the marketing language and the terms diverge, so read the numbers below rather than the headline.

| Fee or limit | What Pay3 states |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | “starts at $5” |
| Monthly or annual fee | not stated |
| Card spend | from $0.15 per transaction |
| Currency conversion | “from 1.15%” |
| Foreign exchange fee (non-USD) | up to 3% |
| Foreign transaction fee | up to 3% |
| Cross-border fee | up to 3% |
| ATM | physical cards “may support” cash withdrawals; fee and allowance not stated; cash advances not available |
| Spending limit | no fixed limit; equals the USD market value of posted collateral, and may be changed with or without notice, including to $0 |
| Returned payment fee | inconsistent in the terms: $29 in one table, $50.00 in the card agreement |
Three payments, to make this concrete. A coffee bought in your own country, in your card’s spending currency, costs you the spend fee — from $0.15 on the transaction — and, if you funded it by converting crypto into that balance, the conversion rate that applies, quoted “from 1.15%”. A purchase made online in a currency other than the card currency risks the non-USD foreign exchange fee up to 3% on top of any conversion; the card terms imply a USD basis, since the FX fee is defined by reference to “non-USD” transactions. A purchase from a merchant in another country can attract the cross-border fee of up to 3% as well.
Read those together and the shape is clear: the card itself is cheap to hold and cheap to tap, and expensive to move money through. The maximum figures are not typical — “up to” is a ceiling, not an average — but you have no published average either, which is the real problem.
Two more limits on the cost side are worth naming. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available, so this is not a card to withdraw against or to move a balance with. And the cards are named — Pay3 Credit Card and Pay3 Black — but the tier differences are not published on the pages I read. If you are choosing between them on the strength of perks, you are choosing blind.
Top up: how money gets in
Funding is simple in principle and vague in detail. The card is collateral-based: the collateral sets your limit, so adding value immediately raises what you can spend. You can add stablecoins, or fiat into a multi-currency account where cash, stablecoin and card balances are shown together.

Adding funds is free, and the top-up fee is 0%. That is a genuinely good number and unusual in this category.
What is not stated is the part that matters most when you are sending money across a blockchain: the specific coins and networks are not listed on the site, and the minimum is not stated, nor is it stated who pays the network fee on a deposit. In the wider category, network fees — gas on Ethereum, bandwidth and energy on Tron — are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so that cost is yours and it varies. Getting this wrong is expensive: a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. So the honest position is that the transfer costs you nothing at Pay3 and may cost you elsewhere, and you need to confirm the supported network before you send.
On the way out, the terms say withdrawals are available and the fees are not stated. There is no described withdrawal process in the terms, and extra verification may be needed to retrieve residual balances after termination. That last clause is worth sitting with: it is the clearest signal in the whole document about what ending the relationship may look like.
Paying with it every day
This is the card’s strongest area, and it is where the 8 out of 10 comes from. You have a Visa — virtual for immediate use, physical in three to five business days, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay versions. Blocking a card or freezing it is not described, and neither are blocked merchant categories, but the terms warn that cash-like transactions — foreign currency, crypto, money orders — may be limited, which is standard for this kind of card rather than a mark against it specifically.
Rewards are not stated at all. There is no published cashback rate on the card terms. One third-party site reports that the Black tier carries no spend cashback and that its only P3P referral points are non-transferable and redeemable toward issuance; that comes from an unofficial source and is not confirmed by Pay3, so treat it as a pointer rather than a fact.
If something goes wrong with a payment, the path is documented, which is more than most cards in this category manage. Try the merchant first. Report a disputed charge within 60 days of the posting. Chargebacks are started through the Pay3 account under card-network rules. Unresolved complaints after 60 days go to HKIAC arbitration. That 60-day clock is short enough that you should note it the day a charge looks wrong, not the day you decide to complain.
Support is at [email protected], on Telegram at t.me/pay3io, and on X at @Pay3_io. Hours are not stated. There is a help section, and third-party reports describe support as reachable through a Telegram bot or that help section — worth knowing if you are someone who needs a phone number.
What can go wrong
Let me take the company question first, because it explains most of the others. Pay3 Limited was incorporated in Hong Kong in 2024 and describes itself as “a fintech company, not a bank”. Services run through licensed partner providers. The card issuer is named as Third National, though its country is not stated. Licences are not named. There is no Trustpilot page for Pay3, so there is no independent complaint record to read.
Custody is the reassuring half. Pay3 is non-custodial and states that it does not offer custody of any digital or fiat assets. Only the amount needed to repay debt is liquidated. The other half is that there is no insurance and no guarantee scheme — the terms say so directly. That is the correct model for a non-custodial product, and it also means that if something fails, there is no deposit-style backstop to catch you.
For context on why this matters more than it sounds: custodial platforms have a real history of failure, and three large ones are worth naming. Mt. Gox reported roughly US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. A non-custodial card removes that class of risk from your funds; it replaces it with issuer and platform risk, which is a different risk rather than no risk.
Then there is the platform itself. No official incidents came up, but the community evidence is very thin, and the few organic complaints describe a card failing to open with an error and support reachable only through Telegram. Separately, the terms contain a real inconsistency: the returned-payment fee appears as $29 in one table and $50.00 in the card agreement. If a payment comes back, you do not currently have a single reliable figure. That is a small thing on paper and an unpleasant one in a dispute.
Two structural points about crypto cards in general apply here. Programmes do close: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its programmes closed; and in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, with the US debit card programme wound down by its issuer. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stopping, then a request to withdraw remaining balances. If you hold collateral on a card, that sequence is the risk you are actually taking.
And there is the small, unglamorous one: declined authorisations can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
What to take instead
None of the three alternatives below is universally better. They are better at specific things, and I have put them beside Pay3 so you can see which gap you are actually choosing to accept.
| Card | Score | Card and funding | Fees and costs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay3 | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay; stablecoins or fiat into a multi-currency account | Issuance from $5, spend from $0.15, conversion from 1.15%, FX and cross-border up to 3% |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual card created with createSpongeCard, described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member; USDC collateral moved from the Sponge wallet with card fund, base as the example chain |
not stated |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual (activates in the app) and physical Mastercard-branded card issued by DiPocket UAB; over 100 digital assets, spends stablecoins, crypto and FiatX in Debit Mode | no monthly, annual or inactivity fee; FX 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland and 2% elsewhere, 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Visa; virtual instantly, physical Silver live with Gold and Platinum coming soon at 7–14 business days; Cash mode spends a stablecoin balance, Credit mode borrows against holdings | annual fee Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999; 0% FX on Platinum |
Where each one wins and loses:
- Sponge is the thinnest of the four. Its score is 4.9 out of 10, and most of the basics — who is eligible, what it costs, its fees, its rewards — are not stated. No country list appears on its card pages, and the platform terms set only a minimum age of 13. If you are comparing, you are comparing against very little information.
- Nexo matches Pay3’s score exactly and is more transparent about money. It has no monthly, annual or inactivity fee at all, its FX fee is 0.2% on weekdays for EEA, UK and Swiss customers against Pay3’s “up to 3%”, and its eligibility wording is about residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the UK. Against that: the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical card needs a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier. Its cashback is real but conditional — Credit Mode only, more than $5,000 held, paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin at Platinum 2%/0.5%, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1%, with rates that may change and vary by region. One non-official note: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and AML violations, with no official statement about any Russians found. I would also flag that its card network is not stated explicitly on the page — there is a Mastercard trademark notice, but no explicit statement.
- Xplace scores highest at 7.7 out of 10 and is the one to look at if your priority is cost predictability and rewards. Its annual fees are transparent, up to $999 for Platinum, but that tier carries 0% FX; borrowing has no origination fee; stablecoin spending carries “no hidden spread”; and Credit-mode cashback runs 0.5% Basic, 1% Silver, 1.5% Gold, 2% Platinum, paid in USDC at settlement. It takes deposits of BTC as cbBTC, ETH as wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks, all on Solana. Its weaknesses: the country list is not stated, only that “services are not available in all jurisdictions”; Cash-mode cashback is not stated; and Gold and Platinum physical cards are still coming soon.
The honest summary is that if your main worry is predictable all-in cost, Xplace’s published tiers are the most legible of the four. If you want the widest asset support and a stated no-monthly-fee position, Nexo is the documented one. If you want a Solana-only card with published cashback, that is Xplace too. Pay3’s own case for existing is its combination of Apple Pay, Google Pay, virtual and physical on one platform with 0% top-ups.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Pay3 to someone who already holds the collateral, has decided they are comfortable with a Hong Kong fintech that says outright it is not a bank, and wants a Visa they can use immediately on a phone and then hold in their hand. That person should know the fee stack before their first tap: conversion “from 1.15%” is the floor, not the bill, and the FX and cross-border ceilings of 3% can each apply. They should confirm the supported coin and network with support before sending a deposit, because the site does not list them. And they should treat the spending limit as variable — Pay3 may change it with or without notice, including to $0 — so they should not plan around a limit they have seen once.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card for someone who needs a fee schedule they can plan a month against, who expects a deposit guarantee or a named local regulator, or who wants rewards. Nor would I choose it over Xplace for someone spending mainly in one currency and caring about cashback, or over Nexo for someone in Europe who wants the cheapest published FX and no monthly fee.
One last practical point for anyone still deciding: the card terms name two cards, Pay3 Credit Card and Pay3 Black, and the pages I read do not publish what separates them. Ask. And ask what happens to your collateral and your limit if you close the account, because that is precisely the question the terms answer least fully — though extra verification may be needed for residual balances after termination, which tells you they have thought about it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Pay3 card?
The Pay3 card is a Visa payment card issued by Pay3, a Hong Kong fintech company incorporated in 2024 that describes itself as “a fintech company, not a bank”. You get a virtual card right after applying, a physical card in three to five business days, and Apple Pay and Google Pay versions. It works on a collateral model: crypto or fiat you deposit sets the spending limit, so the card draws on what you have loaded rather than extending you credit.
How does the Pay3 card actually work?
It behaves like a prepaid card. You add stablecoins, or fiat into a multi-currency account where cash, stablecoin and card balances sit together, and the card spends that balance. Your spending limit equals the USD market value of the posted collateral. The card is non-custodial — Pay3 states it does not take custody of digital or fiat assets — and only the amount needed to repay a debt is liquidated.
Is Pay3 a bank, and who owns it?
No, it is not a bank. Pay3 Limited was incorporated in Hong Kong in 2024 and calls itself a fintech company. Services run through licensed partner providers, the card issuer is named as Third National with its country not stated, and the licences themselves are not named. There is also no insurance and no guarantee scheme — the terms say so directly.
Who can apply, and is it available in my country?
It is open to users outside “Restricted Locations”, meaning countries under trade sanctions, export controls or crypto and fintech prohibitions — but that list is not published and may change without notice. Citizens and residents of those locations are excluded. Separately, users must attest they are not a US citizen and are not OFAC-blocked, so US citizenship is an explicit disqualifier even if you live elsewhere.
Does Pay3 require KYC, and how long does it take?
Yes. Identity is verified once through Sumsub inside the app, and that result is reused across the card, the account and swaps. You must be 18 or over. An extra document such as proof of address may be requested depending on the partner and region. Levels, processing time and rejection reasons are not stated; what is stated is that a failed KYC may lead to suspension.
How much does Pay3 cost to use?
Issuance “starts at $5” and a card transaction costs from $0.15. Conversion starts at 1.15%. The foreign exchange fee on non-USD transactions is up to 3%, the foreign transaction fee up to 3%, and the cross-border fee up to 3%. No monthly or annual fee is stated, and because no typical figures are published either, your real cost of a foreign purchase is the one you cannot predict in advance.
How do I top up the card, and is it free?
Adding funds is free and the top-up fee is 0%, which is genuinely good. You can add stablecoins or fiat into the multi-currency account. What is not stated is the specific coins and networks, the minimum, or who pays the network fee. Network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Pay3, and a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery.
Can I use it with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Yes, both are supported, alongside the virtual and physical Visa cards. Apple Pay stores a device-specific number in the phone’s Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, so adding the card is not the same as writing your card number anywhere. What is not stated is whether you can freeze the card in the app or whether two-factor authentication is offered.
Is the Pay3 card safe, and what about disputes?
On funds, the model is the safer one: Pay3 does not take custody, and only what is needed to repay a debt is liquidated. But there is no insurance and no guarantee scheme, and community evidence is very thin — the few organic complaints describe a card failing to open and support reachable only through Telegram. For disputes, try the merchant first, report within 60 days of posting, chargebacks run through your Pay3 account under card-network rules, and unresolved complaints go to HKIAC arbitration.
Does Pay3 offer cashback or rewards?
Not that is published. No rewards or cashback rate appears in the card terms. One unofficial third-party source reports no spend cashback on the Black tier and only non-transferable P3P referral points redeemable toward issuance. By contrast, Xplace publishes tiered Credit-mode cashback and Nexo pays cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin above a $5,000 balance — both facts to weigh if rewards are the reason you are shopping.
Credit and cashback cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
