A euro prepaid card funded from crypto, priced like a bank account and rated 2.0 by its users
Trastra is a prepaid Visa card in euro, funded by topping up a Mover wallet with cryptocurrency and spending the resulting balance through an ordinary payment card or a personal EUR IBAN. That is the whole idea, and on paper it is a sensible one: if you already hold crypto and you have no easy route to a euro bank account, a card that converts crypto to euros and behaves like a normal Visa debit card solves a real problem.
I have gone through the card’s own pages and its public record, and my score is 4.1 out of 10. That is not a rounding of a borderline case. Two of the six criteria I scored are mid-range, two sit in the middle, and the reliability criterion — the one that matters most when the money is yours — is the worst of the set. The card works, the fees are published and not outrageous, the limits are clear. What I cannot get past is the gap between the official picture, which is tidy and complete, and the review record, which is full of people saying their balance was frozen and their withdrawals refused.
So who is this for? A resident of the European Economic Area who wants a euro card and is willing to fund it from crypto in a wallet they do not control the keys to. If that is you, read the fees section and the risks section, in that order, and decide for yourself. If you are outside the EEA, or you want a card with real rewards, or you want a bank you can call, this is not the card.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score, criterion by criterion
Here is the whole score, and then I will take each line apart so you can see whether you agree with my reasoning rather than taking it on trust.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Available in 31 listed countries including Germany, France and the UK; the page says it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”; for non-European residents: “Not at the moment.” The rule reads as residence-based |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Card order EUR 9.00, EUR 15.00 per year to keep it, a payment not in EUR costs 3%, a euro cash withdrawal EUR 2.25, delivery is free |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Topped up with crypto in the Mover wallet, exchange to EUR free; the coins and the networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“” (Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53); Trustpilot 2.0 out of 5 across 747 reviews, with reports of frozen funds and refused withdrawals, plus letters about insolvency proceedings against a related company |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | An ATM network across Europe and a EUR IBAN; unofficial: Google Pay and Apple Pay; no virtual card is named |
| Total | 4.1 / 10 | A workable product with a poor reliability record |
The everyday-use score is the highest of the six, and it is earned by things that are simply there: a physical card that ATMs across Europe accept, and an IBAN so the balance can behave like a bank balance rather than a locked pot. Everything above 6 would have needed rewards, a virtual card for online-only shopping, or a wallet integration confirmed by the card rather than by its own marketing description.
The who-can-get-it score is 5 rather than higher because the availability statement is a promise as much as a fact. Thirty-one countries is a real list with real names on it, and Germany, France and the UK are on it. But the same page says it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area”, which is future tense, and for residents outside Europe the answer is “Not at the moment.” If you are in Portugal and the app refuses you, you are not doing anything wrong — the page simply does not claim you are covered.
Cost is 3, and that is the number I would push back hardest on if someone argued for higher. Order the card for EUR 9.00, then pay EUR 15.00 a year to keep it. Add 3% on any purchase where the merchant takes payment in something other than euros, and EUR 2.25 to take euros out of an ATM. Those are not predatory numbers, but they are not free either, and the EUR 15.00 a year is charged to you whether or not you spend anything.
Top-up options score 4 because the mechanism is described and the specifics are not. Crypto into the Mover wallet, free conversion into euros — and no mention anywhere of which coins or which networks. That gap matters more than it looks; I explain why in the top-up section.
Reliability is 3, and I want to be careful here about what that number is and is not. It is not a claim that the card fails often in normal use. It is a claim that when things go wrong for people, the record is bad and recent. Trustpilot reads 2.0 out of 5 from 747 reviews, with 65% five-star and 23% one-star, and only 7 reviews in the last twelve months. In that body of reviews are reports of blocked and frozen funds and denied withdrawals from January to December 2025, support answering with copy-paste replies from January to May 2025, a maintenance window that left balances inaccessible from March to June 2025, and insolvency and closure worries from March to June 2025. One earlier read of the same page showed 1.8 from 758 reviews, so the score moved slightly in the right direction, but only seven reviews in a year is a very thin flow of new opinions either way.
Against that sits the licensing, which is real and checkable. The issuer is UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“”, an electronic money institution under Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53. That is a genuine regulatory credential. It is also, precisely, a credential for the issuer — not for the brand, not for the app, and not for the company at the centre of the insolvency correspondence. Keep those three things apart as you read the rest of this page.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, if you live in the right place. The card is available in 31 listed countries, and Germany, France and the United Kingdom are among them. The page also says it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area (EEA)”, and states that for non-European residents the answer is “Not at the moment.” So the rule appears to be based on where you reside, not on your nationality.
That distinction matters if you are, say, a French citizen living in Casablanca, or a Ukrainian living in Warsaw. Residence looks like the gate; citizenship looks like it is not the gate. I would not take the residence reading as a guarantee, though — the page does not set out the test it applies, and a country being on the list does not necessarily mean every resident of that country will be accepted at the address check.
What the card’s public pages do not tell you: the documents, the proof of address, or the age requirement are not stated. That is not a small omission. Across the industry, identity checks are the normal entry gate — an electronic money institution is required to verify name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, run a sanctions check, work out the purpose of the relationship, and determine whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, the rules require the institution to hold back from the transaction or end the relationship. Accounts get frozen pending paperwork; that is the mechanism, and it is not a punishment.
So the honest answer to “will they give me the card” has two halves. Eligibility by country is documented and reasonably generous inside the EEA. Whether you personally pass the checks is not documented at all, and if you have had accounts frozen or refused before — a refused visa, a declined application, a name mismatch — you are in the group most likely to hit a wall without warning.
How to get it
The published path is short: register, pass the checks, order the card, fund it. Beyond that, the details are not on the page. I have not been able to find which documents are required, what proof of address is accepted, how long approval takes, whether there is a waiting period between signing up and being able to order, or how to activate the card once it lands.
What is documented:
- Card delivery is “Free”, to the 31 listed countries, described as EEA. Delivery time is not stated, and the cost of a replacement card is not stated either — which matters if you lose one and have to order again at EUR 9.00.
- The card is a “Prepaid debit card”, accepted at Visa merchants worldwide. Whether a virtual version exists is not specified. ATM use implies a physical card, so at minimum you are getting plastic.
- The currency is euro. This comes from the fee schedule and from the batch notes rather than from the card page text, so treat it as well-supported but not as a page-level promise.
- Verification is Visa identity check, 3D Secure, 2FA and device authorisation. The fuller security picture is in the risks section.
One small thing that tells you something about the product’s history: it is a single card with no tiers, though early customers could order a “limited card design”. That is not a criticism — plenty of good products have exactly one card. It does mean there is no premium tier to upgrade into if you later want better limits or lower fees.
Fees: what it really costs
Published fees are the one part of this card you can plan around precisely. Here is the full schedule as the card states it.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Payment account creation | Free |
| Card order | EUR 9.00, from the first top-up |
| Card delivery | Free |
| Card management | EUR 15.00 per year, not charged by Mover, first charge within 45 days of ordering |
| Purchase not in EUR | 3% |
| Card-to-card transfer | EUR 0.20 |
| Crypto to EUR exchange | Free |
| ATM balance inquiry | EUR 0.35 |
| PIN change | EUR 0.40 |
| ATM withdrawal in euro | EUR 2.25 |
| ATM withdrawal in another currency, or outside the EEA | EUR 2.25 plus 3% |
| Max card balance | EUR 8,000 |
| Daily card spend | EUR 7,700 |
| Daily ATM withdrawal | EUR 300 |
| Overall daily spend, purchases and ATM together | EUR 8,000 |
| Weekly, monthly, annual limits | None stated |
Two of those rows are worth pausing on. The annual management fee is “not charged by Mover”, which tells you who is billing you and who is not — the card charges it, not the wallet app. And the first charge lands “within 45 days of ordering”, so the EUR 15.00 starts accruing well before you have spent anything, which matters if you order the card, decide you do not need it, and leave it sitting.
Also note what the card does not say. Some ATM providers may add their own fees on top, which is normal but worth budgeting for. And the schedule does not cover a few things you might want to know: the cost of replacing a lost card, the fee for sending the balance back to crypto, and anything at all for closing the account. That last one matters more than it sounds — if closing is manual and slow, your exit from this card depends on the part of the company with the worst reviews.
Now let me walk three ordinary payments through, because the number you care about depends entirely on which currency the merchant charges.
A purchase in euros, paid by tapping the card. No conversion, so no 3%. No fee for the purchase itself — the card charges nothing for spending euros at a merchant that takes euros. The amount leaves your balance.
A hotel in Lisbon billed in USD, say EUR 400. The purchase is not in EUR, so 3% applies: EUR 12 on top of EUR 400, or EUR 412 total. On top of that, if the hotel’s own rate for converting dollars to euros is worse than the rate you got, that difference comes out of your balance too. The 3% is the part you can predict; the rest is not.
EUR 200 out of an ATM in Amsterdam. Euro withdrawal is EUR 2.25, so EUR 202.25 leaves your account — inside the EUR 300 daily ATM limit. Take EUR 200 out in a currency other than the euro, or outside the EEA, and it is EUR 2.25 plus 3%.
One more thing about limits, because a limit you do not know about is a limit you can breach. The maximum balance is EUR 8,000, and overall daily spend across purchases and cash is EUR 8,000. There are no weekly, monthly or annual limits stated. Those are the caps on the card side; they do not touch the separate limits your exchange or your bank may apply on the way in.
Top up: getting crypto into the card
Top-up works one way. The card is “topped up using cryptocurrencies in your Mover wallet”, and the crypto-to-euro exchange is “Free”, with the rate set at the time of the transaction. The EUR 9.00 card order fee is charged from your first top-up — and can be covered by Smart Treasury bonuses — and the payment account itself is free to create.

Read that again slowly, because the free part is not the part that will decide whether your money arrives. The card provider charges you nothing to convert. What you are actually buying euros with is a transfer across a blockchain, and that transfer has two independent costs: the network fee the blockchain charges, which the card provider does not control and does not pay, and the rate your coin happens to trade at that minute. On Ethereum that network fee is paid in ETH, which is a detail with teeth — a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it.
What is not stated: which coins are accepted, which networks are supported, the minimum top-up, and whether there is any way to add euros directly rather than going through crypto. Those omissions are not pedantry. A stablecoin exists on many chains, and the chain you send on must be one the provider actually supports — a deposit sent on the wrong network can be lost, or need manual recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers do not reverse. USDC, for example, is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and Tether’s USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. That tells you how many options exist in the world. It does not tell you which one Mover accepts, and that is the number you need.
There is one more direction of travel. The card can be used for “transferring money to local banks”, and for cash withdrawals at ATMs. Whether you can move the balance back into crypto, and what that costs, is not stated, and neither is how closure is handled.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a normal Visa card in Europe. That is genuinely the product’s strength, and it is why my everyday-use score is the highest of the six.
Physical card and IBAN. A prepaid debit card accepted at Visa merchants worldwide, plus a dedicated personal EUR IBAN. The IBAN is the underrated part: it means salary, rent and refunds can arrive the ordinary way, and the balance can sit looking like a current account rather than a sealed card balance.
ATMs. “Accepted at ATMs across Europe”, with the fees and limits in the table above.
Apps. Mobile apps for Android and iOS, and a web app at app.viamover.com. Store ratings were not read, so I will not pretend to know how people rate them.
Mobile wallets. Google Pay and Apple Pay are listed in the card’s own self-description on its Trustpilot company page, which is not the same as the card’s own pages confirming it. Treat that as unofficial. In fairness to the product, it is the kind of support these cards normally get, since the phone stores a device-specific number rather than your card number and each payment carries a one-time code. But if mobile wallet access is a dealbreaker for you, confirm it in the app before you order.
Virtual card. Not named. If you shop online a lot and want a number that exists only in your wallet, you cannot confirm from these pages that one is coming.
Rewards. The batch material describes crypto cashback; the card’s pages describe none. There is no rewards programme to plan around, and I would not build a habit of expecting one.
Disputes. How to dispute a transaction, in what timeframe, with what evidence — not stated. That is worth asking support directly, because a chargeback is a refund ordered by your issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received, and how easy it is to open one varies by issuer and card programme. If you are in the US, debit reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Nothing in this card’s pages gives you a dispute process to rely on.
One practical warning about paying with any prepaid or foreign-issued card. Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card number, and some apply extra scrutiny or decline outright when the issuer country differs from the billing address — some decline prepaid cards for the same reason, since the lookup reveals the card type. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, is mostly a US, Canada and UK arrangement and generally does not work for foreign-issued cards. If you travel, expect occasional declines at unfamiliar merchants. A declined payment can also leave a hold on your balance that stays for several days, sometimes up to seven.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would not skip, and it is the reason for the 3 out of 10.
Frozen money and refused withdrawals. This is the dominant theme in the reviews: blocked or frozen balances and denied withdrawals, reported across 2025. It is also the failure mode that category background explains rather than excuses. Custodial platforms have a real record of it — Mt. Gox, with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian means carrying counterparty risk, and this card is custodial all the way: your crypto sits in a Mover wallet whose keys the provider holds, and the card balance sits with an issuer. Nobody can freeze a Bitcoin transaction in flight, and equally nobody can unfreeze your balance for you if the company decides to.
Solvency correspondence. There is no dated official news I could find. What is documented is third-party and unverified: a March 2025 email referring to “Initiation of Insolvency Proceedings” against a related entity, and May 2025 claims that the company is closing, with police information about bankruptcy proceedings. The distinction between Trastra, Mover and Holyheld matters more than it might appear: Mover partnered with Trastra; Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc.; and the card issuer is a separate Lithuanian entity. Letters about a related company are not a statement about the issuer. They are also not nothing, and if you are deciding whether to keep a balance here, “which legal entity is my money actually with” is the first question to ask.
Not a deposit, not insured. Funds are held in a segregated account. The product is described as “not covered by the Deposit Insurance System of the Republic of Lithuania”. Segregation is real protection against the issuer mixing your money with its own — but e-money is not a bank deposit, and no deposit guarantee scheme stands behind it.
Support. Email at [email protected], knowledge center at faq.viamover.com. Languages and hours are not stated. The reviews describe support answering with copy-paste replies between January and May 2025, which is worth weighing against the fact that you may one day need a person who can actually unfreeze something.
Security. Every transaction is verified by Visa and 3D Secure; login is by wallet password plus a 2FA one-time code; a new device or browser must be approved by email; funds sit in a segregated account. That is a decent list. Two gaps: whether you can freeze the card instantly in the app is not stated, and — because this matters — 3D Secure can shift liability for a fraudulent online payment away from the merchant and toward you, depending on how it goes.
Maintenance. A reported maintenance window left balances inaccessible between March and June 2025. Unremarkable in itself; worth remembering if you keep a large balance.
Regulatory shift. MiCA took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026, or until they are authorised or refused, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can check. Whether Mover appears on it is not something these pages tell you — and it is a fast-moving question for anything you hold there for the long term.
Onboarding stalls. Because due diligence covers your identity, your address, a sanctions check and your politically-exposed-person status, and because completed due diligence is a legal precondition rather than a formality, a document you cannot supply is a real risk to a balance you have already funded.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my comparison set, and they are different animals: one is a credit card with rewards, one is a crypto card with better published fee terms, one is a card bundled with mining. Here they are next to each other.
| Gemini | Lava | GoMining | |
|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 4.9 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Card | Mastercard World Elite credit card | Lava Card | Virtual now, physical “coming soon” |
| Annual fee | No annual fee; issuance fee not stated | “no annual fees”; issuance fee not stated | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange | No foreign transaction fees | “no FX fees, and no FX spread” | Not stated |
| How it is funded | Credit card paid off in fiat | Local currency or stablecoin deposits | BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins |
| Rewards | 4% gas/EV/transit on the first $300 a month, dining 3%, groceries 2%, other 1%, paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ cryptos; 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants | “up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase”, conditions not stated | “up to 5% cashback”, paid in mining power, rising with VIP level |
Gemini is the opposite construction: a credit card paid off in fiat, so no crypto conversion, no 3% on a foreign purchase, and rewards that actually pay. 4% on the first $300 a month in fuel, electric vehicle and transit, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else, credited instantly in Bitcoin or one of 50+ cryptos and changeable at any time. It also carries $50 crypto per referral, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 referrals a year. Its catch is structural: you need a fiat income and a bank account to pay it off, which is precisely what this audience often does not have. Card form, network details and who can get one are not stated on its card page.
Lava scores highest here and its fee story is the cleanest: no annual fees, no FX fees and no FX spread, with no exchange fees or spread on Bitcoin buys and sells. It claims 150 million merchants across 150+ countries. But its rewards line — “up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase” — has no stated conditions, and “up to” without a ceiling is a sentence to be careful with. The network, whether it is physical or virtual, and who is eligible are not stated.
GoMining is for a different person entirely. Opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner, and cashback is paid in mining power at up to 5%, rising with VIP level — so you are being paid in hashrate, not money. It is virtual now with a physical card “coming soon”, funded from BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins, and the pages warn products “may not be available in your jurisdiction”.
My honest summary of the comparison: if you can get a normal fiat credit card, Gemini’s economics beat this card comfortably. If you specifically want to spend crypto without touching a fiat bank account, Lava’s published fee structure is more attractive than Trastra’s on paper. GoMining is not a substitute — it is a product with a card attached.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Trastra to one person: an EEA resident who already holds crypto, cannot get a euro account the ordinary way, and treats the balance as spending money rather than savings. Under those conditions it is a useful bridge. The fees are published, the limits are sensible, the IBAN makes the balance usable in a way most crypto cards are not, and the issuer is a licensed Lithuanian electronic money institution with Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53.
I would not recommend it if any of these are true of you:
- You are outside the EEA. The card’s own answer is “Not at the moment.”
- You are outside the euro area and spend most of your money in your local currency. The 3% on non-euro purchases applies every time, and at a shop that prices in anything but euros it is a permanent tax on ordinary life.
- You want to withdraw meaningful amounts of cash. EUR 300 a day, EUR 2.25 a withdrawal, EUR 2.25 plus 3% elsewhere — workable, not comfortable.
- You want to hold a real balance on it. EUR 8,000 is the ceiling, funds are not covered by the Lithuanian deposit insurance system, and the review record is dominated by frozen balances and refused withdrawals.
- You want rewards. There is no rewards programme on the pages, and any cashback described elsewhere is not something I could confirm here.
- You need a phone number to call. Email and a knowledge center, with languages and hours not stated.
The order I would put in front of someone still deciding is this. First, work out whether you are covered — EEA residence, and then the identity checks the page does not describe. Second, run your own monthly spend through the fees: how often will a purchase not be in euros, and how much cash will you take out. Third, and last, decide how much you are willing to leave sitting in a custodial wallet behind a brand whose users have spent the last year writing about frozen funds and insolvency letters. That third question is not one I can answer for you. It is the one that matters, and it is the reason this card is not a five.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Trastra card?
The Trastra card is a prepaid Visa debit card in euro. You fund it by topping up a Mover wallet with cryptocurrency, the crypto is exchanged into euros, and the resulting balance is spent through the card at Visa merchants worldwide. The card also carries a dedicated personal EUR IBAN, so it behaves more like a current account than a sealed card balance.
Is Trastra a bank?
No. The card is issued by UAB “Finansinės paslaugos ”Contis“”, an electronic money institution holding licence No. 53 from the Bank of Lithuania. Mover partnered with Trastra, and Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. An e-money institution can issue cards and wallets but cannot lend, so this is not a bank relationship.
Who owns Trastra and who runs the card?
Three names appear in different roles, and they are worth keeping separate. Trastra is the card programme brand; Mover is the partner and the app through which you hold and convert the crypto; Holyheld Labs is described as an authorised partner of Trastra Inc. The entity that actually issues the card and holds your balance is the Lithuanian e-money institution named above.
Can I use the Trastra card in my country?
Inside the EEA, mostly yes — it is available in 31 listed countries including Germany, France and the UK, with the card’s page saying it “will be available for all residents of the European Economic Area”. For residents outside Europe the stated answer is “Not at the moment.” Elsewhere, a card issued in one country can also simply look foreign: merchants can identify the issuing country from the card number and some apply extra scrutiny.
How do I get the Trastra card and activate it?
Register, pass the identity checks, order the card for EUR 9.00 taken from your first top-up, and receive it free in one of the 31 listed countries. The documents required, the proof of address, the approval time and the activation steps are not stated on the card’s pages. What is documented is the verification layer: Visa identity check, 3D Secure, 2FA and device authorisation.
Does the Trastra card require KYC?
Almost certainly yes, though the card’s pages do not spell out the requirements — documents, address proof and age are not stated there. EU rules require customer due diligence covering name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check, and where due diligence cannot be completed the institution must hold back or end the relationship.
What coins and networks can I use to top up?
That is the gap in the card’s own documentation. Top-up happens with crypto in the Mover wallet and the exchange into euros is free, but the coins and networks are not named, nor is the minimum top-up or any direct fiat route. Get that answer before you send anything, because a transfer on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
What does it cost to hold and use the Trastra card?
The card costs EUR 9.00 to order, EUR 15.00 per year to keep, 3% on any purchase not in euros, EUR 2.25 for a euro ATM withdrawal and EUR 2.25 plus 3% outside that, with some ATMs adding their own fees. Balances cap at EUR 8,000, daily ATM withdrawals at EUR 300, and daily spending across purchases and cash at EUR 8,000.
Can I add the Trastra card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Probably, but treat it as unofficial. The card can be used with Google Pay and Apple Pay per Trastra’s own self-description on its Trustpilot company page, rather than a statement on its card pages. No virtual card is named there. Check in the app before you rely on it, and note that a new device or browser has to be approved by email.
Is the Trastra card safe and is it worth it?
Worth it only in a narrow case: an EEA resident who already holds crypto, cannot reach a euro account the ordinary way, and treats the balance as spending money. Safety is a mixed picture — the issuer is licensed, funds are segregated, transactions use Visa and 3D Secure, but the balance is not covered by the Lithuanian deposit insurance system, and across 747 Trustpilot reviews at 2.0 out of 5 users report frozen funds, refused withdrawals and insolvency worries.
Credit and cashback cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
