A Wallet Card That Went Quiet: Solflare Review

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Solflare card looks like an ordinary piece of plastic that spends crypto without asking permission first: no branch, no paperwork, no waiting. That is exactly why it caught attention. And that is also why it is a poor fit for the person who needs a bank card they can count on this week. Right now the card is not being issued. The programme went on pause on 28 July 2026, and the solflare.com pages still show the old “Get Solflare Card” marketing with no pause notice visible — which means if you land on the website, you may not learn any of this until you are already in the app.

The Solflare card programme no longer issues new cards

If you have been searching for a card that spends straight from a self-custody wallet without you pre-loading a balance, then this page is for you. The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

I gave this card 3.2 out of 10. That is not a slap at the idea — self-custody spending is a real, useful thing. It is a reflection of where the programme actually stands: the card is paused, the issuer is gone, the fees are not officially disclosed, and the only crypto you can spend is one coin on one network. Here is what I checked, what I found, and where I would point you instead.

The verdict: who this suits and who it does not

The score is 3.2 out of 10. Here is how each part breaks down.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: cards are paused during a transition to a new issuer, and a relaunch is not confirmed
Cost 7 / 10 Not disclosed officially; unofficial: annual fee free, 1% service fee, FX 0.7%, ATM 2% — sources disagree
Top-up options 4 / 10 The card spends USDC directly from a Solana wallet; no other coins or networks
Reliability and complaints 2 / 10 Cards paused on 28 July 2026 after the issuer Kulipa closed, no new partner named; funds stay in a self-custody wallet
Everyday use 3 / 10 The card is not issued today; Google Pay works, Apple Pay “coming soon”; unofficial: virtual instant, physical optional, ATM 2%
Total 3.2 / 10

Who this suits. The honest answer is: almost nobody right now. The one group this card genuinely serves is existing Solflare wallet holders who are already using the wallet for staking and swaps and are simply waiting to see whether the card comes back. If your Solana funds already live in a self-custody wallet you control, the pause costs you nothing — your money never left it — and a relaunch would be a convenience on top of what you already have.

Who this does not suit. If you are looking for a card because ordinary bank cards are hard to get where you live, this is the wrong tool. You cannot apply for it today. If you hold Bitcoin or Ether and not Solana-based assets, it does not touch your coins at all. If you live in a country where you have been declined elsewhere, the card’s own pages say eligibility was decided case by case with no published country list, so there is nothing to check against. And if your main worry is not losing your crypto but simply spending it safely, note the uncomfortable detail: with self-custody, *you* are the one who bears the risk of a lost key or a hijacked clipboard.

The scores below are the ones I recorded from the card’s own pages and third-party reads as of 2026-10-20. Where a number came from a site other than Solflare, I flag it as unofficial rather than passing it to you as fact.

What happened to the programme

Here is the timeline, because the shape of it matters more than the dates alone.

28 July 2026. Solflare paused its virtual and physical cards because the issuer, Kulipa, wound down. Solflare’s co-founder cited solvency issues at Kulipa. On the same day, existing cards stopped working. Auto-renewing subscriptions tied to the card stopped as well. What was *not* affected: the wallet, staking, and swaps. Open Borrow positions stayed accessible in the Cards tab. User funds were not at risk, because in a self-custody design the money never left the user’s wallet.

August 2026. A pause notice promised a replacement card “in August,” with Apple Pay and Google Pay, higher limits, and cashback. As of late August 2026, the official roadmap still listed the relaunch as a future item. Cashback was said to return with the relaunched card — the rate and the payout currency were never stated.

By 20 October 2026. No relaunch had been announced. The solflare.com pages still carried the original “Get Solflare Card” marketing with no visible pause notice. In short: the promised replacement did not arrive inside the window the company itself gave it, and the site does not tell a newcomer that any of this happened.

The card, as described, was. A self-custody Mastercard that deducts USDC from the wallet at the checkout, claiming “100M+ merchants.” The issuer was not named on the pages; the footer shows Solrise Finance Ltd. Existing cards do not carry over to a replacement.

On KYC and who could get one. Verification in the mobile app was instant. Eligibility was checked by simply requesting a card in the app. The pages said cards were offered in the EEA, the UK, and “other countries,” decided case by case. No country list was published. Whether the test is residence or citizenship was never stated. What documents were required, whether proof of address was needed, and the minimum age — none of it is stated on the public pages. A third party has suggested that getting the replacement card will likely require re-enrolling through a fresh KYC round, but that is not official.

The one thing I want you to carry away from this section: nothing here was a hack or a user error. This was an issuing partner failing and the programme pausing during the handover. That is a structural risk, and it is the same category of risk that has hit crypto card programmes repeatedly.

If you already have the card

If you were one of the people holding a Solflare card before 28 July 2026, here is the reassuring part, and it comes straight from the design.

There is no card balance to rescue. No money was ever sitting on the card. Your funds stay in your own self-custodial wallet. In the words of the company’s own notice, “There is nothing you need to do.” What you do not have is a working card: spending stopped on 28 July 2026.

What you can still do. The wallet itself, staking, and swaps carry on. Open Borrow positions remain accessible in the Cards tab. Support is described as a 24/7 human team, reachable by message in the app.

What stopped. Subscriptions that auto-renew through the card stopped auto-renewing — so anything you had enrolled that billed to that card, you should go and re-point at another payment method yourself rather than assume it migrated. Withdrawals are not a topic because there is nothing on the card to withdraw. Top-ups are not a topic because the card never needed a top-up: it spends USDC straight from your Solana wallet, so there is no load step and no card balance to keep topped up.

Limits. The pause notice said higher limits would return with the new card — August, per the notice, with no relaunch confirmed. Unofficial sources disagree about whether any limits exist at all: one shows daily, monthly, and ATM limits as unlimited, another says no limits have ever been published. Treat both as unconfirmed.

Fees — and this is where you have to read carefully. None of the fee figures are officially disclosed; the official pages do not state the cost, the fees, or the card price. What circulates is unofficial and it contradicts itself, so I would not plan a budget on any of it:

Apple Pay was “coming soon” and tied to the card relaunch; Google Pay worked. It is worth knowing that even with a card, Apple Pay support was not a given on day one.

What can go wrong

This section is the one I read twice. Three distinct risks stack up here, and only the first is about crypto.

Risk one: your keys, your loss. This is a self-custody card. You hold the keys, so nobody can move your funds without you — and nobody can get them back for you if you lose them. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and is the unencrypted form of the private key; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return what left. With a custodial platform the counterparty risk is real too — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) are the historical markers — but with self-custody *you* absorb the key-loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking risk instead. That is a genuine trade, not a free upgrade.

Risk two: stablecoins are not what their name suggests. The card spends USDC. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC itself temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. USDC is the stronger of the two — Circle says it is redeemable 1:1 for USD, 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm, and natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026 — but “pegged” is a claim, not a guarantee.

Risk three: the issuer can vanish, and this one already happened. A payment card depends on a chain of parties: the network (Visa/Mastercard) routes the messages, the issuer holds the programme, and the crypto brand is often just a front-end. The issuer can fail or be wound down, and the network itself can end a programme — in November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; Visa also suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Kulipa’s winding down put Solflare in exactly this category. So the operational risk for a card like this is not exotic; it is the normal way these programmes end.

A note on accepting the card, too. Even with a working card, a foreign-issued BIN can look “foreign” to a shop: merchants can look up the issuing institution and country and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for that reason, and address-verification checks, which are mainly offered in the US, Canada, and the UK, are often unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines. A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on your funds for several days.

Gambling and merchant blocks. Whether Solflare blocks gambling merchants is not stated on the public pages. For context: an MCC of 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. If that matters to you, you cannot learn it from the official pages.

On the company. The site footer shows Solrise Finance Ltd, Tortola, British Virgin Islands; marketing may be handled by an affiliate, Blockadopt d.o.o., Zagreb, Croatia. The card issuer was not named on official pages, and licences are not stated. That is a lot of unspecified for something you would use as a bank card. User reviews are mixed, but note what they are about: on Trustpilot, solflare.com scored 3.9/5 from 66 reviews per Coin Bureau, with about 45% critical, citing lost funds, failed transactions, and suspicious token approvals — those are *wallet* complaints, not card complaints, and no card-specific complaints were found. The pause itself draws one honest point in the company’s favour: the notice said plainly that user funds were not at risk, because self-custody.

What to take instead

If you need a card that works now, the sensible move is to look at alternatives with published prices and confirmed availability. Here are three from my comparison set, each with its own score.

Alternative Score One-line summary
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, $5 issuance, free maintenance on the Classic plan, 2% FX fee
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Tier-based cashback in YNG tokens (0.1% to 3.6%), details largely unstated
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit card on VERVE/VISA/Mastercard/UnionPay, Nira-focused listing, 200+ countries claimed

International Visa Card is the most fully specified of the three, which is itself worth something. It is a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card marked “coming soon.” Pricing is clear: $5 one-time for the virtual card, no maintenance fee, plans of Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency costs the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee; deposits of any kind are free, and you can fund with USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, as well as USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, and FedNow. No cashback is stated. The catch is its exclusion list, which is long and worth reading fully before you fall for the headline: the account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, or Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval; and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, and Venezuela. Note that this rule follows residence or registration — citizenship is not what it turns on.

Young Card offers cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by your club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. Beyond that, the public details are thin — eligibility, card type, cost, fees, and card funding are all unstated — so you would be weighing it on the rewards structure alone.

Cardex is a debit crypto card on the networks VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, and UnionPay, with virtual and physical cards and Naira as the card currency per the listing; it claims one card, 200+ countries, though no country list or exclusions are published. Funding comes from USDT, USDC, and BTC wallets. The distinguishing feature is its conversion: real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with the site describing an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend — though no fee percentage is stated.

What none of these escape: a crypto card is two licences in one. The card itself is a payment service under e-money or payment-services law, while MiCA covers the crypto side — custody, exchange, transfer — so a crypto card often depends on both. And cardholders sit outside deposit-guarantee schemes: EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating or insuring them, but those funds are not the same as bank deposits.

Whichever you pick, check three things first, in this order: that it is open to someone in your country of residence, that its fees are stated rather than inferred, and that you can see what protects your funds if the issuer fails — the Solflare experience is the argument for asking.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card, on balance, to exactly one person: someone who already keeps funds in a Solana self-custody wallet, has no viable ordinary card where they live, and is content to treat the Solflare card as a nice-to-have that might return after an unknown pause. For that person the downside is bounded — the money never leaves the wallet, and the wallet itself still works — and the upside is real if the relaunch happens.

I would not recommend it to anyone looking for a card they can use this week, because you cannot get one. I would not recommend it to a holder of Bitcoin or Ether, because it only touches USDC on Solana. I would not recommend it to anyone who cannot stomach an open-ended pause with no confirmed end date, an unnamed successor issuer, and undisclosed fees. And I would be cautious with it for anyone for whom card access is not a convenience but a lifeline — the 0 out of 10 on “who can get it” is not a rounding error; it is the whole answer.

My honest read of where this goes next: a self-custody card is a sound idea and a fragile business. The engineering is the easy part; the part that broke was the boring, regulated, capital-intensive part — an issuer that ran out of money. Until a new partner is named and the fees are printed, treat Solflare card as a promise rather than a product.

Frequently asked questions

What is Solflare card?

Solflare card is a self-custody Mastercard that spends USDC directly from your Solana wallet at the checkout, with no top-up step and no card balance. The site’s own description claims acceptance at “100M+ merchants.” Google Pay worked with it; Apple Pay was listed as “coming soon.” The card is a Mastercard product, but the issuing institution behind it was never named on the official pages.

How does Solflare card work?

You hold the keys to your Solana wallet, and when you pay, USDC leaves that wallet at the moment of purchase. There is no loading a balance first, so the card cannot overdraw. It is a prepaid-style model, not a bank debit linked to an account. Because the funds never leave your wallet until you spend, your exposure is to key loss and scams, not to the card provider.

Is Solflare a bank?

No. Solflare is a crypto company, not a bank. The site footer names Solrise Finance Ltd, Tortola, British Virgin Islands, and the card issuer is not named on official pages. Licences are not stated. A crypto card is usually two regulated things in one: a payment service under e-money or payments law, and a crypto service under MiCA in the EU. Deposits-style guarantees do not apply to card balances.

Is the Solflare card available in my country?

Not right now — cards are paused, so no one can be issued one at the moment. Before the pause, the official pages said cards were offered in the EEA, the UK, and “other countries,” decided case by case, with no country list published and residence versus citizenship not stated. That means there was no published rule to check yourself against; eligibility was only tested by requesting a card in the app.

Does Solflare card require KYC?

Yes, it did — verification in the mobile app was described as instant. In the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and ID documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. Solflare’s public pages do not say which documents or proof of address it asked for, and a third party suggests a fresh KYC round is likely for the replacement card.

Is the Solflare card free?

Officially, nobody knows: the cost, fees, and card price are not stated on the public pages. Unofficial sources say the annual fee is free and the card price is “TBD, confirm in app.” Other unofficial figures — a 1% service fee, an FX fee variously quoted as 0.7%, 0.40%–0.70%, 1% or 0.55%, and an ATM fee of 2% or free — openly contradict each other. Treat all of it as unconfirmed.

Where can I use the Solflare card?

At any merchant that accepts Mastercard, in principle, which the site put at “100M+ merchants.” In practice a foreign-issued card can be declined: merchants can see the issuing country from the card’s BIN and apply extra scrutiny, and address-verification checks are often unavailable for foreign-issued cards. A declined payment can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven.

Is the Solflare card safe?

The self-custody part is genuinely safer in one important way: your funds stay in your own wallet and were not at risk when the issuer failed. But it moves risk onto you — a seed phrase is 12 to 24 words and anyone who has it can spend your funds, blockchain transfers cannot be reversed, and no one can freeze or return what left. And stablecoins are not risk-free: USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the banking crisis.

Why was the Solflare card paused?

Because its issuer, Kulipa, wound down, with Solflare’s co-founder citing solvency issues at Kulipa. Cards stopped working on 28 July 2026. A replacement card was promised “in August” with Apple Pay, higher limits, and cashback, but as of late August the roadmap still showed it as future, and no relaunch had been confirmed by 20 October 2026. The website still shows the old marketing with no visible pause notice.

Is the Solflare card worth it?

If you already hold a Solana self-custody wallet, the card was worth waiting for — the wallet, staking, and swaps kept working through the pause, and your money was never on the card. If you need a card now, it is not worth waiting for, because it cannot be applied for. The score of 3.2/10 comes down to one hard fact: a card that cannot be issued cannot be recommended, however good the underlying idea is.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team