A cheap virtual card from a crypto exchange, with an unconfirmed fee schedule and a poor public rating

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Cryptomus sells a virtual payment card that spends a balance you load from crypto. That is the whole idea, and in that narrow sense it works: you convert USDT or USDC into a fiat balance, attach the card details to a wallet or a checkout, and pay. But what you get around that core is thin. There is no physical card, no published monthly fee, no country list, no named limits, no stated issuer, and a public rating that sits low. I scored it 4.7 out of 10, and most of the deduction is for things the card’s own pages do not tell you rather than for things they get wrong.

Cryptomus works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If you already hold a stablecoin balance and want to spend it online without moving money through a bank first, this is a workable tool. If you want a card for daily life — a shop till, a restaurant, a subscription that occasionally declines — a card with more published detail will suit you better.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score in full

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 “Most countries worldwide”, with a caveat about local regulation; no list published, and it can change
Cost 3 / 10 $4 issuance, 3.2% top-up fee, service or idle fees that depend on card type; unofficially a 3.9% FX fee
Top-up options 5 / 10 USDT and USDC, networks not named, list may expand
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Issuer and legal entity unnamed; Trustpilot 2.4/5 across 521 reviews; a virtual card deactivated after a $1,200 payment and refund refused; recurring AML holds on funds
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Visa and Mastercard only, phone payment via NFC mentioned; unofficially Apple Pay and Google Pay, no ATMs
Total 4.7 / 10 A cheap way to spend a stablecoin balance, with more unknowns than a payment card should have

The one high mark is eligibility, and even that comes with a caveat the card itself raises: local regulation may restrict it. The category’s average is not high either, so a 4.7 is not an outlier — but it is not a card I would put in front of someone choosing carefully.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, in most places — the card says “most countries worldwide” and warns that local regulation may apply. There is no country list on the public pages, and that list may change without notice. Whether eligibility turns on where you live, where you are a citizen, or both is not stated anywhere I could read. That matters more than it sounds, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are typically applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to address, and a card can be reachable from your address while the account behind it is not.

So the honest answer to “can I get one in my country” is: probably, but check in the app before you move any money, and do not assume that being able to register an account means the card will be issued.

How to get it

The stated path is short. You register on Cryptomus and pass KYC before the card exists. Nothing further is spelled out — not which documents, not whether proof of address is needed, not an age threshold, not how long verification takes, and not why a verification might be refused. Those are all marked as not stated on the card’s public pages, and I am not going to fill the gap with a guess, because guessing about KYC is how people end up sending documents to the wrong place.

The card itself is virtual only. There is no physical version to wait for. Cryptomus says cards are issued in 5 minutes and work immediately after activation, and it refers to a set of more than ten BINs across Visa and Mastercard, multi-currency, though it does not name the currencies. Phone payment by NFC is mentioned. If you were picturing a piece of plastic with your name on it, that is the wrong product.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where the card is weakest, mostly because the schedule is incomplete rather than because it is expensive.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Cryptomus payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Issuance $4
Monthly fee Not stated; optional maintenance or inactivity fees may depend on card type
Top-up 3.2%
Conversion Crypto converted to fiat at the market rate at the time of top-up; payment and conversion fees “may vary”, no figure given
FX Not stated; unofficially 3.9%
ATM Not stated; unofficial sources disagree, one saying ATMs are unavailable because the card is virtual-only, another giving an “unlimited” withdrawal limit
Daily and monthly limits Not stated; unofficially $10,000 daily and $25,000 monthly

Only two numbers are firm from the card itself: $4 to issue, and 3.2% to top up. Everything else is either qualified, unnamed, or imported from third parties who disagree with each other. The unconfirmed figures come from comparison listings, not from Cryptomus, and one of them flatly contradicts the card’s own design — you cannot use an ATM with a virtual card that has no physical presence. Treat the whole unofficial block as a hint about the shape of the fees, not as a price list.

Three everyday payments, so you can feel where the money goes.

Buying something priced in your own currency, say $40 of groceries. You paid 3.2% on the top-up already — on $100 loaded, that is $3.20 before you spend anything. The $40 then comes out of that balance. The card says crypto is converted to fiat at the market rate at the time of top-up, so the rate is fixed at the moment you load, not at the moment you pay; if the market moves between those two moments, the difference is yours. On top of that, payment and conversion fees “may vary”, and the card does not say what they are. So the honest cost of a $40 purchase is $40 plus whatever the 3.2% loading cost you, plus an unstated amount on the payment.

A subscription priced in a currency other than the one you loaded. Here the unstated FX fee bites. Unofficially it is 3.9%; officially it is not stated. A 3.9% markup on a $60 charge is about $2.34, which is the difference between the card feeling cheap and the card feeling like an expensive way to buy a small thing.

A large purchase, several hundred dollars. The card gives no daily or monthly limit of its own, but the unconfirmed figure is $10,000 daily and $25,000 monthly. The card also has no published list of blocked merchant categories, which is where prepaid and crypto cards most often get refused. If your payment is declined, a hold on your balance can linger for several days.

The pattern to hold on to: you are paying to load, not to spend, and the cost of a given payment is only as knowable as the card’s willingness to publish.

Top up the card

Topping up starts with a transfer, and that transfer is the part people get wrong. Cryptomus lists USDT and USDC as the accepted assets and says the list may expand. The networks are not specified. This is a real gap, not a formality: sending on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can lose the funds or force a manual support recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are simply irreversible.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Cryptomus starts with a transfer to the right network

The mechanics the card does describe: you send USDT or USDC, a 3.2% top-up fee applies, and the card ends up funded in fiat — your crypto is converted at the market rate at the moment of top-up, not at the moment you pay. What is not stated: the minimum top-up, and the ways to add fiat directly if you would rather not go through a stablecoin at all.

Two practical things about the assets themselves. USDT is issued on many chains including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche; USDC is different — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not the native option it once was, and Circle listed USDC on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. And a stablecoin is a claim, not a dollar: stablecoins can and have depegged, TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. Tether also states that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

One fee that is not the card’s: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Cryptomus. If the chain you use is expensive, that cost is separate from the 3.2%.

Paying with it every day

Daily use is where “virtual only” stops being a detail and becomes the experience. You have a card number, not a card. That works well for online checkout and poorly for anything that wants to be swiped — and for a virtual card there is nothing to swipe.

Phone payment is the bridge. The official pages mention NFC payment with a phone and say nothing more. Whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are actually supported is listed as supported on a third-party product page, and the official pages do not confirm it. That matters because tokenisation is what makes virtual cards usable: Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure element and never on Apple’s servers, with a fresh one-time code per payment. If that path is not available, you are typing a card number into checkout forms, which is the version of this most likely to be declined and the version most likely to be uncomfortable.

Other everyday-use facts, all in the same state of “not stated”: the app is available in the App Store and Google Play and offers expense control and transaction history, with no ratings given; there is no cashback or rewards mentioned on the cards page; there is no list of blocked merchant categories; and the FAQ page I read had no card content, so there is no published answer there about disputes.

Security features are the strongest part of the offer and worth knowing. The card uses 3-D Secure authentication, allows you to freeze and unfreeze the card, and supports biometric authentication, with the plain promise that no one will be able to withdraw funds or pay without your knowledge. What sits behind that is not stated: how the funds are held, and whether any insurance applies. A CertiK project page is linked, which tells you a third party has looked at something, not what they concluded or when.

What can go wrong

The card can be switched off without your decision. The clearest case in the public record: on 24 September 2026 a virtual card was deactivated after a $1,200 transaction and the refund was refused. The company’s position is that the issuing bank blocked the card after high decline rates and that Cryptomus does not control that card programme. Both halves matter — the block happened, and the company says the decision was not its. Read together, the lesson is that with a card whose issuer is not named, the party who can switch it off is a third party you cannot identify from the card’s own pages.

Your funds can be held. Recurring AML and KYC holds on funds appear in the complaint record across August to October 2026 — 30 August, 6 September, 14 September, 17 September, 6 October among them. Under EU rules this is not misconduct by the platform: if due diligence cannot be completed, an institution is required to refrain from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. Accounts close and balances freeze pending documents as a matter of compliance, not as punishment. It still means your money sits still while nobody can tell you for how long.

Support may be slow. The contact routes are a Telegram bot, cryptomus_support_bot, an email at [email protected], and an FAQ. Languages and working hours are not stated. The complaint record includes tickets closed as duplicates.

Nobody is named. The issuer is not stated and the legal entity is not stated. The card says “choose a card that fits your needs” with no named tiers, so you cannot tell which programme you are in. If you ever need to know who is liable to you, this is where you would look, and there is nothing there.

The fee schedule is unconfirmed. I found no official incident on that point specifically, but third-party sources disagree sharply — one describes a free virtual card with a 0.5% conversion fee, which sits badly against the card’s own $4 issuance and 3.2% top-up figures. When the sources in the category contradict each other this badly, treat the number you read as the first number, not the last.

The rating is poor. Trustpilot shows the Cryptomus profile at 2.4/5 from 521 reviews, read on 20 October 2026 — 43% one-star and 49% five-star, a split that usually means a loyal core and a very unhappy remainder. Most of the complaints concern the payment service rather than the card specifically, and Trustpilot flags the profile as possibly associated with high-risk investments. So: the rating is real, it is not entirely about this card, and it should still inform how much you leave sitting there.

One last structural risk, from the category rather than from this card. A crypto card is three parties wearing one coat: the network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer actually holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager and front end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A closure typically means a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

What to take instead

Three alternatives from the same category, all of them with their own gaps.

Cardex — 5.6 / 10. One crypto card, “200+ countries”, though again no list and no exclusions; its App Store listing is Naira-focused. It runs on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, and offers virtual and physical cards, with the listing showing the card currency as Naira. Conversion happens in real time at the moment of payment rather than at top-up, and the site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks one — a claim, with no percentage fee published. Funded from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks unstated. A physical card and a real-time conversion model are the two things it has that Cryptomus does not.

CardFlow — 4.9 / 10. Aimed at Nigeria, calling itself “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” for “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes. Its FAQ says creating a virtual card is completely free, which undercuts Cryptomus’s $4, though no monthly fee is stated either. Funded from Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer. The cheapest-sounding entry here, and also the narrowest.

HyperCard — 4.7 / 10. A prepaid card, official pages with no country list, though the App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the difference matters if you are outside the list. Network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR. The App Store page lists no fees at all, which is either excellent value or an absence of disclosure. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and it converts to USD or EUR on the card.

Cryptomus Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 4.7 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card form Virtual only Virtual and physical Virtual Prepaid, form unstated
Networks Visa, Mastercard, “10+ BINs” VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Mastercard Not stated
Issuance $4 Not stated Free, per FAQ Not stated
Top-up assets USDT, USDC USDT, USDC, BTC BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira transfer USDT, BTC, ETH
Countries “Most countries worldwide”, no list “200+ countries”, no list Nigeria-focused “176+ countries” accepted
Conversion timing At top-up At payment Not stated On the card

Read that table as a map of what is missing rather than a ranking. Every one of these cards leaves something unsaid, and the two that score higher do so mainly by publishing a physical card and a longer country claim. None of them tells you its issuer, its monthly fee and its FX markup at the same time.

Who I would recommend it to

To you, if you are paying online with USDT already, you are comfortable with a balance you load rather than an account you hold, and you will not be hurt by a payment that occasionally needs a second attempt. The fast issuance, the $4 entry cost and the 3.2% top-up are all fine for someone spending a stablecoin balance they already own.

Not to you, if you need a physical card, if you depend on Apple Pay or Google Pay and cannot confirm they work, if you need a guaranteed daily or monthly limit, if you spend in a currency other than the one you loaded, or if the money in question is money you would be upset to sit in someone else’s account for weeks. For the last group specifically: this is a custodial arrangement. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or the credentials, and a custodial provider holds them — so you are trusting a company whose issuer and legal entity the card does not name, whose rating is 2.4/5, and whose funds have been held repeatedly on compliance grounds in the last three months.

Before you commit, check three things in this order: whether the card is actually issued in your situation, what the total cost looks like for the currency you spend in, and what happens to your balance if you need it back. That last one is not stated at all — how to return card balance to crypto or a bank, and how account closure works, are both absent from the public pages — so it is worth asking support before you load anything meaningful.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Cryptomus card?

It is a virtual payment card that spends a fiat balance you load from crypto, rather than an account at a bank. Cryptomus lists Visa and Mastercard, mentions more than ten BINs and multi-currency, and says cards arrive in 5 minutes. There is no physical version: the card exists as details you attach to a checkout or a phone wallet, and phone payment by NFC is mentioned.

How does the Cryptomus card work?

You convert or top up a fiat balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Cryptomus says your crypto is converted to fiat at the market rate at the moment of top-up, not when you pay — so the rate is locked in when you load. Payments then run through the usual card rails, with 3-D Secure authentication for online charges and freeze, unfreeze and biometric options in the app.

Is Cryptomus a bank, and who owns it?

Neither answer is on the public pages. The card does not name the bank that issues it or the legal entity behind it, and I found no company information there. That is not a formality — in a normal crypto card the issuer holds the programme and the crypto brand is often only the front end, so an unnamed issuer means you do not know which institution is liable to you.

Does the Cryptomus card require KYC, and how long does it take?

You have to register on Cryptomus and pass KYC before the card is issued. Beyond that the card is silent: which documents, whether proof of address is needed, an age threshold, verification times and the grounds for refusal are all not stated. Under EU rules the checks cover identity, address, date of birth, nationality, sanctions screening and politically-exposed-person status.

Is the Cryptomus card free?

No — issuance is $4, and topping up costs 3.2%. Whether a monthly fee or an inactivity fee applies depends on the card type, and no tiers are named, so you cannot tell from the public pages what you will pay to keep it. Unofficially the FX fee is 3.9%, and third-party sites contradict each other, one describing a free card with 0.5% conversion.

How do I top up the Cryptomus card?

You send USDT or USDC, pay the 3.2% top-up fee, and the card is funded in fiat. The networks are not specified, which is the part to be careful about — a transfer on an unsupported network, or to an address of a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. The minimum top-up and any direct fiat top-up options are not stated, and on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Cryptomus.

Can I add the Cryptomus card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Unofficially yes: a third-party product page lists Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported, but the official pages mention only NFC payment with a phone and do not confirm either. That gap is worth closing in the app before you rely on it, since tokenised mobile wallets are what make a virtual card practical day to day, and there is no physical card to fall back on.

Is the Cryptomus card safe?

The security features are genuine: 3-D Secure authentication, instant freeze and unfreeze, and biometric authentication, with the promise that no one can withdraw or pay without your knowledge. What sits behind that is not stated — how funds are held, and whether any insurance applies. A CertiK project page is linked, but the custody model and any safeguarding are not described.

Why was my Cryptomus card or balance blocked?

Two different mechanisms produce that result. A card can be deactivated by the issuing bank, as in a reported case on 24 September 2026 where a virtual card was blocked after a $1,200 transaction and the refund refused, with the company saying it does not control the programme. Separately, AML and KYC holds on funds recur in the complaint record — that is a compliance requirement, not misconduct, and the practical effect is your money sits still while documents are checked.

Is the Cryptomus card worth it?

For someone already paying online with USDT, yes: $4 to issue, 3.2% to load, and no bank account in the loop. For anyone who needs a physical card, guaranteed limits, a named issuer or a published FX rate, no. The 4.7 out of 10 reflects that the card’s own pages leave the monthly fee, the FX fee, the limits, the blocked categories and the issuer unnamed — and third-party sources fill those gaps with figures that contradict each other.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team