A self-custody Visa Infinite card whose fee table nobody can confirm

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Bitypay card is, on paper, an unusually attractive thing: a Visa Infinite card, virtual and physical, that spends straight from USDC you hold yourself, with no monthly fee, no foreign-exchange fee and no ATM fee — all of that according to third-party listings rather than the company’s own pages. That is the promise. The catch is just as large: when I went looking for the official details, the card’s own website would not load, the countries of issuance are not published, and the issuer and its licences are not named anywhere I could verify. What I can give you, then, is a card shaped like a good product and documented like a thin one. Below is what is actually established, what is only claimed by outside sites, and where the gaps sit.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Bitypay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 2026.

Verdict: 7.4 out of 10, and I would want to see the fee sheet first

My score for Bitypay is 7.4 out of 10. The strengths are concentrated in the two places that decide whether a crypto card is pleasant to live with: cost, where I gave it 9 out of 10, and everyday use, also 9 out of 10. The weak points are the two places you cannot verify without the company’s own documents: who can actually get the card (6 out of 10) and the reliability of the operation behind it (6 out of 10). Top-up options came out at 7 out of 10.

Who is this for? In short, holders of USDC who want a Visa Infinite card and are willing to be their own custodian. If you already hold dollar-pegged stablecoins on Base or Arbitrum in a wallet where you control the keys, the proposition is coherent and cheap. If you are looking for a bank card — something with an IBAN, a sort code, a deposit guarantee and a support line that answers — this is not that, and the absence of published issuer details is the reason rather than an accident of wording.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Countries of issuance are not disclosed and the official site was unavailable; unofficial: full Level 4 verification, and one Reddit comment says access depends on citizenship
Cost 9 / 10 Unofficial: issuance and monthly fee free, FX and ATM free, 0% on USDC top-ups — though the same page calls transaction and servicing fees “not disclosed”
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDC as collateral in a self-custody wallet on Base or Arbitrum; unofficial: USDC and USDT
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 The brand sits under Codego Group, the issuer and licences are not named, the official site returned 403; no complaints found about this card
Everyday use 9 / 10 Unofficial: Visa Infinite, virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, contactless, free ATM withdrawals
Total 7.4 / 10 A good card shape attached to a thin public record

The honest summary is that the high marks are earned by the design and the low ones by the documentation. That is an unusual combination, and it means the sensible reader is not looking for a verdict so much as a checklist of things to confirm.

Who they will give the card to

Nobody will tell you, because the card’s public pages do not say. The countries of issuance are not stated — not the eligible ones, not the excluded ones. This is the first question a reader in any country should ask, and at present there is no answer to find.

The second question is whether your citizenship matters as distinct from where you live, and here the only material is thinner still: a single comment on Reddit reportedly says usability depends on citizenship and regulatory gating. I did not read the thread, and I am treating this as an anecdote, not evidence. But anecdote or not, it points at something real in this category. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to address. A card can be perfectly legal where you live and still be refused because of the passport you hold.

What is clear is the general rule that applies to any card of this type: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If that due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the relationship — which is why accounts get closed or frozen while documents are chased. If due diligence cannot be completed, an account can stay frozen rather than merely pending.

So the practical answer to “will they give me this card” is: unknown, and you should assume the answer depends on your passport, not only on where you bank. Have a look at the ESMA interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities before you send anything; a provider you can look up is worth more than a discount.

How to get it

The application process itself is not stated on the card’s public pages — not the steps, not the time it takes, not the delivery time for a physical card. What is available is a third-party description, and I want to be clear that it is unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

That description (per cryptocards.so, 2026) is full “Level 4” verification: email, phone number, identity document, proof of address and a selfie. It is the heaviest tier of the usual onboarding ladder, and it is what you should budget your time for. The card itself is described as Visa Infinite, available both virtual and physical. No verification tiers are described beyond that “Level 4” mention.

Two things a reader should insist on before sending documents to a provider whose site is not loading:

What it really costs: Fees, limits and the cost of a cup of coffee

Here is the honest position. The card’s own pages state no fees at all — not one number. Everything in this section comes from a third-party listing (per cryptocards.so, 2026) and is not confirmed by the card, and that listing contradicts itself: it reports issuance and the monthly fee as free, then says on the same page that transaction and maintenance fees are “not publicly disclosed”. Read that as a warning, not as a footnote.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitypay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value Source
Card issuance Free Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Monthly fee Free Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Transaction fees Not publicly disclosed Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Maintenance fees Not publicly disclosed Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Foreign-exchange fee Free Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026; internally inconsistent with the rows above)
Decline fee Free Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
ATM withdrawal fee Free Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
USDC top-up 0% Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Daily spending limit Unlimited Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Monthly spending limit Unlimited Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)
ATM limit Unlimited Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026)

No tiers are described, and the currency of the card balance is not stated.

Now the part that matters more than the table: three ordinary payments, and what actually gets charged.

A coffee in a local currency. If the card converts USDC into, say, euros or dollars at the point of sale, the exchange rate you get is the rate you get — nobody has told us the spread, and a spread is not a “fee” that gets listed on a pricing page. The listing says the FX fee is free, and free fee is compatible with an undisclosed margin in the rate. Ask about the rate, not the fee.

A subscription bought online. Two things can bite. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which is exactly what this is likely to be. That is a common cause of declines on otherwise ordinary subscriptions. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country; this is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another.

A payment that gets declined. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can stay for several days, typically up to seven. There are also gambling restrictions to know about: MCC 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Whether Bitypay blocks it is not stated.

One cost that is never on the card’s page but is real: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. If you top up on Base or Arbitrum, the gas is yours. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard and gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send; Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy instead. Do not assume a “0% deposit fee” means a free transfer.

And a caution that belongs in this section rather than a footnote: I am not giving tax advice, but be aware that the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. Gain is measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction, which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Rules differ by country; ask a professional in yours.

How to Top up the card

This is the part of the card that is genuinely documented, and it is also the part that makes the card what it is. The card spends USDC that you hold as collateral in your own self-custody wallet, on Base or Arbitrum. Spends go over the Visa rails, with no manual conversion step — you do not convert first and then pay; the payment draws on the balance you already have.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitypay starts with a transfer to the right network

The unofficial listing adds USDC and USDT as accepted assets, Base and Arbitrum as the networks, and a 0% deposit fee on USDC top-ups. Nothing is stated officially about withdrawals from the card balance, and that is worth pressing on: a card you can load but not drain is a different product from a card you can load and drain.

Two general facts about stablecoins belong here too, because they decide whether your deposit arrives. USDC is a dollar-pegged token, and the BIS (July 2025) put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in USDT and USDC together; Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Base and Arbitrum. Stablecoins can, however, depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. “Stable” describes the aim, not a guarantee.

Before you transfer anything:

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day use is where this card scores highest, and again the details come from the unofficial listing: Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card is contactless. That combination is what makes a crypto card feel ordinary — tap and go in a shop, or add it to a phone wallet and stop carrying the plastic.

The mechanics behind that are worth understanding. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that tells the merchant which institution issued it and where; the rest is an account identifier and a check digit. When you add the card to Apple Pay, the card number is replaced by a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. That is genuinely safer than handing over a card number. The issuer can still restrict the tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic-stripe use, for example, or on a particular merchant category.

Online payments add 3-D Secure, an identity step in which the issuer assesses risk and either approves the payment without friction or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure. There is a trade-off to be aware of: under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per critics, to you.

Nothing is stated about rewards beyond the unofficial listing, which is unusually specific in what it denies: no cashback, no staking, no welcome bonus and no referral bonus are listed, alongside free access to over 1,300 airport lounges. Lounge access is the Visa Infinite benefit being passed through, not a reward scheme of the company’s own. The app experience and the process for disputing a transaction are not stated.

This matters more than it sounds. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Ask how a dispute is filed before you need one.

What can go wrong

Let me separate the things I could check from the things I could not.

What I found. No complaints specific to this card surfaced. That is a real finding, though a soft one: searches return the unrelated legacy BitPay at bitpay.com, a different company, and there is no Trustpilot page for Bitypay either. So “no complaints” here means closer to “no public footprint” than to “customers are delighted”. A single Reddit comment reportedly ties usability to citizenship and regulatory gating; I did not read it, and I treat it as an anecdote.

Who is behind it. The brand is owned and operated by Codego Group, per the card file and the third-party listing. The issuer and its licences are not stated. The official site returned a 403 when I went looking, which is a server-side refusal rather than evidence of anything in particular — but it does mean the primary source was unavailable to me.

The company-versus-brand distinction. This matters more than any single fee. A card payment involves several parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer — a bank or an electronic money institution licensed under the network’s licence — holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets the card. So the name on your app is frequently not the entity your money is with. Ask which one holds your balance.

Regulatory backdrop. In the EU, an electronic money institution may issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and it may serve the whole EU/EEA from a licence granted in one member state. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them; such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. A card is regulated separately from the crypto side — MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer — so a crypto card often depends on two licences, not one.

Programme risk. Card programmes do end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically run in a predictable order: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026; that is a single unconfirmed source, and I include it only to show the shape of a wind-down.

Self-custody risk. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase, so keeping your own keys means sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and is an unencrypted form of the private key: anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery mechanism — the network cannot freeze or return anything. Holding funds with a custodian carries the opposite risk, and the record there is long: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).

What is not stated at all. Security safeguards, support channels and dispute handling are all not stated. Nothing recent in news is stated. Treat the absence as the finding.

What to take instead

If you want the same shape of product from a provider whose terms and licences you can actually read, there are three I would look at first.

MetaMask — 7.1 / 10. The broadest documented eligibility of the three: sign-up open in 45 listed countries and territories, other regions on a waitlist, proof of residency required, and the company is explicit that ineligible regions limit sign-ups rather than spending. US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed per its FAQ; citizenship rules are not stated. The card is Mastercard, virtual first and instantly, with metal pre-orderable in-app after approval and one card per user; the issuer is Monovate and the card provider Crypto Life. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; metal is $199/year. Fees are described as a “minimal fee for each transaction” with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, using the Mastercard rate — the amount is on a linked table. It spends from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Cashback is paid in mUSD: 1% on virtual, and a headline 3% on metal that the fine print limits to the first $10,000 spent and then 1%.

KAST — 6.1 / 10. The most transparent about whom it will not serve, and the most expensive if you want the perks. It shows a residence list at KYC and warns that living in a supported country with an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible; dual citizens with an ID from a supported country may pass, and a VPN does not bypass it. You can create an account in an unsupported country but KYC stays locked. Three tiers: Standard at 0 USD a year, Premium at 1,000 USD/year and Private at 10,000 USD/year, billed annually upfront. A Standard physical card has no card fee but 40 USD delivery; Premium and Private physical cards are included. Inactivity is 1 USD/month after 12 months. Fees are published: stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, and a non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depending on your residence country, transaction country and card programme; non-USD transactions under 25 USD cost 0.10 USD and a declined transaction for insufficient balance costs 0.50 USD. Cashback is 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD/month (Standard), 2% on the first 10,000 USD/month (Premium) and 3% on the first 40,000 USD/month (Private). Its own documents are internally inconsistent on acceptable tokens, listing PYUSD and RLUSD in the app while the Terms say “currently USDT and USDC” — which is a useful reminder to check terms against marketing.

TokenPocket — 5.8 / 10. The weakest of the three on documentation. Visa debit for a list of European countries and territories, Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK among others, with the Americas described as planned. Cards run on Arbitrum, Fiat24 cards are virtual with no physical card mentioned, and balances are held in EUR24 and USD24. Costs are an NFT creation fee partly covered by TokenPocket where you pay “a small portion”, with the statement that beyond that the card charges no additional fees; a 1% fee is charged on depositing cryptocurrency, refunded later through rewards and reduced transaction fees.

Bitypay MetaMask KAST TokenPocket
Score 7.4 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.8 / 10
Network Visa Infinite Mastercard Visa (Platinum / Infinite tiers) Visa or Mastercard debit
Virtual and physical Both (unofficial) Virtual first, metal optional Virtual and physical Virtual (Fiat24)
Issuance cost Free (unofficial) Virtual free; metal $199/year 0 USD Standard; 1,000 USD Premium; 10,000 USD Private NFT creation fee partly covered
Who is eligible Not stated 45 countries/territories listed Residence list at KYC; ID country also counts Europe, plus listed Asia-Pacific markets
Funding USDC on Base or Arbitrum (unofficial: USDT too) mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT USDT, USDC (Terms) Crypto from the TokenPocket wallet
Cashback None listed (unofficial) 1% virtual, 3% metal headline 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier None; 1% deposit fee refunded via rewards
FX fee Free (unofficial) None, Mastercard rate 0.5%–1.75% on non-USD Not stated

The pattern in that table is the argument for Bitypay: it is not obviously the best card, it is the one with the least published information. If your priority is knowing exactly what you are signing up to, KAST’s published fee table and MetaMask’s country list are worth more than a free ATM.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone who already holds USDC in a self-custody wallet on Base or Arbitrum, who pays mostly online or by contactless tap, and who has decided that managing their own keys is a feature rather than a chore. For that person the design is genuinely good: no monthly fee, no FX fee as reported, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a spend that draws on a balance they already control without a manual conversion step.

I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, and I would not recommend it to anyone who needs an ordinary bank card with published, enforceable terms. The reason is not the design. It is that the issuer is not named, the licences are not named, the countries of issuance are not published, and the fee schedule that third parties describe contradicts itself on the same page. Paying with a card is a relationship with an institution, and you should be able to name it.

If you are determined to proceed, my own checklist would be short. Ask which legal entity holds your balance and under which licence. Ask for the fee schedule in writing, including the exchange-rate spread at the point of sale and the fee for a declined payment. Ask which network your wallet must be on before you send anything, and get the address confirmed in the app rather than by email. Ask what happens to your balance if the programme closes, and when you could withdraw it. Check the provider against the ESMA interim register. And keep a working second option, because the category’s own history — FTX, WaveCrest, Mt. Gox, Ronin — is a record of things stopping without much warning.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitypay card?

The Bitypay card is described as a Visa Infinite payment card, available in virtual and physical form, that spends USDC you hold yourself. The brand is owned and operated by Codego Group. Unlike a typical custodial crypto card, the funds sit in your own self-custody wallet rather than on a platform account, so you are the custodian. The issuer and its licences are not stated on the card’s public pages.

How does the Bitypay card work?

You hold USDC as collateral in a self-custody wallet on Base or Arbitrum, and purchases draw on that balance over Visa’s rails with no manual conversion step. So the card cannot overdraw, because it can only spend what is there. A third-party listing additionally names USDT as accepted, but that is unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

Is Bitypay a bank?

Not on the evidence available. No banking licence is named, and no issuer is identified; the brand belongs to Codego Group. An electronic money institution can issue cards and e-wallets without being a bank, so “not a bank” would not itself be a problem — the problem is that the card’s pages name neither the issuing institution nor the licence it operates under.

Which countries can get the Bitypay card?

This is not stated anywhere on the card’s public pages — not the eligible countries and not the excluded ones. One Reddit comment reportedly says usability depends on citizenship and regulatory gating, though I did not read the thread and treat it as an anecdote. Nationality is screened separately from residence in this category, so assume your passport matters as much as your address.

Does the Bitypay card require KYC?

Yes, almost certainly, and at the heaviest tier. An unofficial description gives full “Level 4” verification: email, phone, identity document, proof of address and a selfie. The levels themselves are not described on the card’s own pages. In the EU, customer due diligence includes a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination, and incomplete due diligence means the institution must decline the relationship.

Is the Bitypay card free?

Reportedly, yes — issuance and the monthly fee are listed as free, along with a free FX fee and free ATM withdrawals. But the same third-party page says transaction and maintenance fees are “not publicly disclosed”, which is a contradiction. Treat “free” as unconfirmed, and ask for the fee schedule in writing before you load anything.

What are the Bitypay card’s limits?

An unofficial listing says daily spending, monthly spending and ATM withdrawals are unlimited. The card’s own pages state no limits at all, and no tiers are described. In this category, published limits are rare and the absence of a number usually means you will discover the real one at the till.

How do I top up the Bitypay card?

By transferring USDC to your own wallet on Base or Arbitrum, which then backs the card balance; a 0% deposit fee on USDC top-ups is reported unofficially. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so confirm the network and address in the app before sending, and remember the network’s own gas is charged by the blockchain and is never free. Getting this wrong can mean lost funds and a support ticket with no guarantee of recovery.

Is the Bitypay card safe?

That depends on which risks you mean. Self-custody means nobody can freeze or seize your balance, but you carry the full risk of key loss, phishing and wrong-network transfers, and a seed phrase cannot be recovered if exposed. The card’s own security safeguards and support channels are not stated, and because the issuer is unnamed, I could not assess what stands behind your balance — including whether any deposit guarantee applies.

Is the Bitypay card worth it?

Worth it if you already hold USDC, want a Visa Infinite, and are comfortable being your own custodian — the reported zero fees and wallet support are the appeal. Not worth it as a first crypto card, or if you need a bank card with published, enforceable terms, because the issuer, licences, country list and a self-consistent fee schedule are all missing from the public record. Check the ESMA interim register before you commit.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team