Excellent everyday card, thin public paperwork
Kredete is one of those cards where the easy part works beautifully and the paper part is close to empty. You get a USD Visa card, virtual in seconds and physical in the post, it works in Apple Pay and Google Pay, it works at a cash machine, and it carries a 0% foreign exchange markup in 170+ countries. On everyday use it scores a perfect mark. But open the pricing page and you find that the issuance fee, the monthly fee and the ATM fee are not published; open the card page and the identity checks are not described; open the top-up section and the card page does not even mention crypto.
That combination — excellent rails, thin disclosure — is what drives the overall 6.7 out of 10. This is not a warning about a bad product. It is a warning that you will be making several fairly large decisions on incomplete information, and I want you to know which ones before you sign up rather than after.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.7 out of 10, and the number is mostly about disclosure
Six point seven out of ten. The card itself behaves better than the score suggests; the paperwork available to the public is worse than the score suggests. Let me be precise about that, because a single number flattens two very different things.
If I scored only the card as an instrument — how fast the virtual card arrives, whether the phone wallets work, whether I can freeze it from the app — this would be a 9 or a 10. Instead, a card like this is also judged on whether you can find out what it costs, who issues it, who you are eligible for, and what your limit is before you commit money to it. On that side the public information is thin enough to hold the whole thing down.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | The app lists “global accounts in 60+ countries” and the card is said to work in 170+ countries, but the official card page states no eligibility rules at all |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | 0% FX markup is a genuine advantage, yet issuance, monthly and ATM fees are not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | The card is paid from the Kredete account balance; crypto is not mentioned on the card page, and no top-up methods are listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Kredete, Inc. is the named seller but the issuer is not named, and no independent user reviews or complaints could be found |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual card in seconds, physical card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access, instant freeze in the app |
| Total | 6.7 / 10 | A card that works well, described thinly |
Two notes on how I read that table.
On eligibility: the app listing says “global accounts in 60+ countries” and mentions the card in 170+ countries. Those are the numbers the card puts in front of you. What you do not get is the list of countries where you *cannot* have one, and every card in this category has such a list — restricted countries, sanctions screening, sometimes a residency test with a nationality test attached. Its absence is not evidence of openness; it is just an absence.
On the company: unofficial reporting describes Kredete as a Nigerian fintech startup founded in 2023 by Adeola Adedewe, built with Visa, Stellar and Rain, which raised a US$2.25 million seed in September 2024. None of that is confirmed by the card’s own pages, and the issuing institution is not named there either. I want to be careful with the word “unofficial” throughout this review: it means a third-party publication reported it, not that Kredete itself said so.
The audience the card seems aimed at, from its own positioning, is users in Africa who want a USD Visa with cashback. If that is you, the reasoning below is a good deal more encouraging than it is for anyone who opens the card expecting a fully specified financial product in a mature market.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: probably, if you are in one of the countries the app covers — but the card’s own public pages do not tell you, and I cannot tell you either, because they do not say.
That is a strange thing to write in a review, so let me show you what is actually there. The official card page states no eligibility criteria. No country list, no residency requirement, no citizenship rule, no age, no income or balance threshold, nothing about whether you need a local address or a local phone number. The App Store listing says “global accounts in 60+ countries”. That is the whole of the official picture.
What fills the gap is third-party reporting, and I am labelling it unofficial because the card does not confirm it. Per AppsAfrica, in April 2026, users in 50 African countries can spend USD-backed stablecoins; the service launched “in selected African markets”; and there are plans to go live in the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Oman. An earlier report from Disrupt Africa, dated 4 June 2025, said “more than 40 African countries”. Those two figures describe the same rollout at two moments in time, roughly sixteen months apart, which is a useful sanity check: the number went up, so coverage did expand.
If you are reading this outside Africa, the Gulf expansion is probably the part that concerns you — but it is a plan, not a live availability statement, and I would not plan a move of funds around it.
The identity question you cannot get an answer to
Whether Kredete requires KYC, and at what level, is not stated. Not “we keep it light”, not “full verification” — nothing on the page.
I want to explain why this matters more here than in most cards, without drifting into giving advice on how to get around anything. Verification in this industry is not a formality bolted onto a product. Anti-money-laundering law requires regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk, including ongoing transaction monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems also validating proof-of-address documents.
Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often attach to citizenship and country of birth rather than to your address. So “which country do you live in” and “which passport do you hold” are frequently two different gates, and they can close independently.
If due diligence cannot be completed, rules in the EU require the institution to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is the mechanism behind accounts being frozen pending documents, and it is not a punishment — it is the law working as designed. If your documentation does not match, or if your country sits near a sanctions line, you should expect verification to be the part of this card that takes longest.
The practical consequence for you: the honest answer to “will they give me the card” is “probably, and I cannot promise you how long it will take to find out.”
How to get it
The mechanics are simple, and unusually fast in one respect. The app is called “Kredete Send Spend Save Credit”, free on the App Store, version 4.4.0 released 7 October 2026, requiring iOS 16.2 or later. The Google Play listing was not read.
The card itself is a USD Visa. There are two versions:
- A virtual card, issued in seconds inside the app. This is the one you will actually use most of the time, because it goes straight into Apple Pay or Google Pay and it can be frozen instantly if something looks wrong.
- A physical card, delivered to 70+ countries. The delivery time and the delivery cost are not stated, so I cannot tell you whether to expect a week or a month, or whether it is free.
Neither the identity requirements nor the KYC level are stated, and there is no account tier on the official pages that tells you which applicants are approved. That is the part of the process you are being asked to start without information.
One practical note on ordering: if you take out the virtual card first, you have something usable in minutes while the physical card is in transit, and you can find out whether the account works for you before committing to the wait.
Fees: what a payment really costs
This is the section where Kredete needs the most help, and where I have to be blunt: most of what you would want to know is not published.

The one substantial number that *is* published is good. There is a 0% foreign exchange markup, in 170+ countries. For a card that you may well be spending abroad from, that is the single most valuable fee fact on the whole page, and it is unusual — most competitors in this category either bury the FX cost in the rate or add a percentage on top.
Beyond that, the App Store release notes for version 4.4.0 (7 October 2026) say that rates and fees are grouped by currency — USD, EUR, GBP, NGN — and that each transfer method shows its own fee. In other words, the app can tell you the fee for a given operation once you are inside it. That is a real answer, just not one available before you commit. No crypto conversion fee is stated.
| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Monthly / maintenance fee | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange markup | 0%, in 170+ countries |
| Conversion fee (crypto) | Not stated |
| ATM fee | Not stated — ATM access with the physical card is available |
| ATM withdrawal allowance | Not stated |
| Daily spending limit | Not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated |
| Plan tiers | Basic, Flex and Premium named; what each includes and costs not stated |
The three named plans — Basic, Flex, Premium — come from the same release notes, which invite you to “Compare Basic, Flex, and Premium side by side” in the app. What each plan gives you, and what it costs, is not stated publicly. If you are comparing against another card, the plan comparison inside the app is the only place I can point you to; I would not guess at prices for you.
Three ordinary payments, worked through
Since I cannot give you a full fee table, here is what happens to three everyday situations using only what is stated. Where a figure is unknown I will say so rather than invent it.
A $20 lunch with a local currency card reader in a country outside the US. The card is a USD Visa, and the 0% FX markup applies. What I still need — and cannot give you — is the rate the merchant’s terminal is given, because the card does not publish its own conversion rate. The App Store notes suggest the app groups rates by currency, so check there before a large payment abroad. Two unknowns remain: the conversion rate applied at the point of sale, and whether a fee attaches to the operation.
Withdrawing $100 from a cash machine. ATM access with the physical card is available; that is confirmed. The fee is not stated, and neither is the allowance, so you cannot tell from public information whether one withdrawal and ten withdrawals cost the same. If cash matters to you, ask inside the app before your first ATM withdrawal, because this is the classic place a hidden fee hides.
Paying for a monthly subscription. The card is a USD Visa and merchant category codes classify what a business sells, so nothing here is unusual. But blocked categories are not stated, and some issuers block specific merchant categories by policy rather than by law. If a subscription you rely on is declined, the merchant category is the first thing to suspect.
One general warning that applies to every payment on a card like this: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. A declined payment is not always free of cost in time.
Top up: how money gets onto the card
The official answer is one sentence: the card is paid from the Kredete account balance. The card page does not mention crypto.

That sentence is doing a lot of work, so let me unpack it. It means the card is not tied to your bank account and not tied to your crypto wallet as an official matter — it draws on an internal balance. Which raises the obvious next question: how does that balance get funded? And here the official pages go quiet. Top-up methods are not stated. Withdrawal is not stated. There is no published list of rails, no published list of acceptable assets, no network names.
Unofficial reporting fills some of this in. Per Launch Africa in July 2025, the card “links to a user’s digital wallet”, settlement is near-instant in USDC, and there is real-time FX conversion at the moment of purchase. That is a coherent design — you send dollars-pegged tokens in, the balance is credited, and the conversion happens when you buy something — but it is third-party reporting, and the card’s own pages do not say it.
The background explains why that distinction matters. Stablecoins are the obvious bridge, and two of them dominate: the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Stellar — the network Kredete is reported to be built on. Tether describes USDT as running on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it 1:1, and it has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others.
But “natively supported” and “accepted by this particular card” are different questions, and this is where people lose money. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Ethereum is the case most people trip over: fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. Tron uses bandwidth and energy as internal resource pricing, usually burning TRX. And “USDC over TRC20” is not even a native option — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024.
Also worth knowing before you plan around stablecoins: they can and do lose their peg. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And they are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
And one cost nobody mentions: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. They are small on some networks and unpleasant on others, and they come out of you in addition to whatever the app shows.
My advice here is narrow and practical: confirm inside the app which networks are accepted before you send anything, and treat the first deposit as a small one. This is not about getting around a rule — it is about not making an irreversible transfer to an address you inferred rather than one the app gave you.
Paying with it every day
This is the part I like. It earns the full mark, and the reasons are concrete.
Apple Pay and Google Pay both work. That matters more than it sounds: a tokenised wallet replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, never on the company’s servers, and every payment carries a one-time dynamic code. It also means you can leave the physical card at home and lose nothing but the ability to use a cash machine.
There is a cash machine story too — ATM access with the physical card, fee and allowance not stated.
And then there is the control, which is better than most competitors in this category: both the virtual and the physical card can be frozen from the app’s top bar. Crypto sends and swaps confirm with Face ID or passcode, and the app lists what it calls privacy tools. If a card is stolen, or you spot a payment you do not recognise, the freeze is a tap rather than a phone call. That is the safeguard I would want most, and it is present.
The rewards structure is where I get more cautious. Cashback is advertised at up to 6%, and the card page also lists up to 5% APY on balance. Neither the payout currency nor the conditions are stated — not the cap, not the categories, not whether “up to” means anything in practice for a customer like yours. Treat both numbers as ceilings until the app shows you the tiers.
Also missing: whether any merchant categories are blocked, and how disputes work. I will come back to disputes in the risks section, because they matter more than they first appear.
What can go wrong
Start with the thing that worried me most while researching this.
Nobody is publicly complaining, and nobody is publicly praising it either. I searched on 20 and 21 October 2026 and found no official incidents, no independent user reviews, and no complaints. There is no Trustpilot page or reviews to read. Now, the honest reading of that is genuinely two-sided. It could mean a young product with too few users to generate a review record. It could also mean a product people leave quietly. One number: the App Store rating is 3.97 from 98 ratings — read on 22 October 2026. That is a low score on a small sample, which tells me some of the people who did bother to rate it were unhappy, while the sample is far too small to draw conclusions from. What it certainly does not tell me is why.
The issuer is not named. The App Store seller is Kredete, Inc. The official card page does not name the institution that actually issues the card. This is not a trivial omission, and here is why.
A card payment involves several parties. The card network — Visa or Mastercard — routes the messages and sets the rules. The issuer is the bank or e-money institution licensed to issue cards under the network’s licence, and it holds the card programme. The crypto brand is often only a programme manager or the front end that markets it. When you cannot see the issuer, you cannot easily answer the question that matters most: who is legally responsible for your money, and who do you complain to when something goes wrong.
The category has form for this. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. When programmes close, the usual sequence is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but it shows the shape of it.
So: the risk is not that Kredete is doing anything wrong. It is that you have fewer named parties to fall back on than you would with a card whose issuer is printed on the terms.
Custody is not described either. The card is reported to link to a digital wallet, but the official pages say nothing about how funds are held or safeguarded. This is the distinction that determines who carries the loss. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust them completely — and custodians do fail: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). With a self-custody-linked card, the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and the risk shifts to you instead: key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address.
There are regulatory safeguards, but they are narrower than “your money is safe”. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — but such funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. In the EU, MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under Article 48, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Providers operating under national law could continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check a provider there.
Note the shape of that: a card is regulated separately as a payment service under e-money or payment-services law, while MiCA covers the crypto side. A crypto card frequently depends on two licences, and a card page rarely shows you which ones it holds.
Some payments will simply fail, for dull reasons. Merchants can look up a card’s issuing institution and country, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address — which is exactly the situation when a card issued in one region is used in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for that reason. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of a billing address with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Gambling (MCC 7995) is one category issuers commonly block by policy rather than law, though the blocked list varies by issuer and Kredete’s is not stated. 3-D Secure adds an identity step to online payments — Visa’s brand is Visa Secure — and can shift liability for fraudulent online payments away from the merchant.
If something goes wrong, what happens next is not stated. Dispute handling is not described. Chargeback rights exist in the US for debit cards under Regulation E and for credit cards under Regulation Z, but prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. For a card that behaves like a prepaid balance instrument, that gap is worth thinking about before you need it.
Support is not described. No contact channels, no hours, no response times are stated.
And there is the everyday risk nobody calls a risk: stablecoins. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022. USDC lost its peg temporarily in March 2023. If your balance is dollars-pegged tokens, its value is a moving target that is not your card provider’s liability.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives so you have something to weigh Kredete against. Scores are on the same ten-point scale.
International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10
Same score as Kredete, from a different direction. Where Kredete is strong on everyday use and vague on disclosure, this one is the reverse: fully specified, and thin on rewards.
- Eligibility is stated in detail, and it is restrictive. The account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration — citizenship is not mentioned.
- The card is a US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD. The physical card is listed as “Coming soon”.
- Cost: $5 one-time for the virtual card, no maintenance fee. Plans: Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month.
- Fees: card use in USD is free on all plans. Foreign currency costs “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Deposits of any kind are free.
- Funding: USDC or USDT into the USD account, free at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits. Networks not stated.
- Rewards: no cashback stated.
The honest comparison: you swap an unstated FX markup of 0% for a stated 2% fee on foreign currency, and you swap an unstated issuer for a named one with a restricted-country list you can read before applying.
UNi Card — 6.1 / 10
- Eligibility: not stated. That is the first thing to check, and I cannot check it for you.
- The card: a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance. Physical or virtual is not stated.
- Cost: “No annual fee”; the issuance fee is not stated.
- Fees: “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; assets converted at live OTC rates; “No hidden exchange fees”.
- Funding: not stated.
- Rewards: “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3%.
The appeal is the fee philosophy — no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live rates — which is a strong claim on paper. The gap is the same gap Kredete has, only smaller: you cannot tell from the public pages who qualifies or how you load money.
Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10
- Eligibility is the most detailed of the three, and the most US-shaped. Consumers: 31 US states, listed by name on the page. Businesses: 41 states. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. Whether the basis is citizenship or residence is not stated.
- The card: Visa, accepted anywhere Visa is accepted, online and in stores. Virtual or physical is not stated, nor the card currency. Cards can also be issued to team members.
- Cost: the page says “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts are listed.
- Fees: not stated — no conversion or FX amounts.
- Funding: spends from a Whop balance; a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds. The starting data is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; coins and networks not stated.
- Rewards: 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned; payout currency and conditions not stated.
If you are in the United States outside the listed states, or want a card issued to a company rather than a person, this is worth a look. Otherwise the state list ends the conversation quickly.
A comparison at a glance
| Kredete | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.7 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Network and currency | USD Visa | US-issued Platinum Visa, USD | Mastercard, multicurrency | Visa, currency not stated |
| FX cost | 0% markup | Visa rate + 2% FX fee | No foreign transaction fee | Not stated |
| Issuance fee | Not stated | $5 one-time, virtual | Not stated | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | None on Classic; $9.00 Pro, $19.00 Max | No annual fee | Not stated |
| Physical card | Yes, 70+ countries | “Coming soon” | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cashback | Up to 6%; up to 5% APY on balance | None stated | Up to 3% | 5% at select merchants |
| Eligibility detail | Not stated on official pages | Detailed, with a restricted-country list | Not stated | Detailed, US states and unsupported countries |
The pattern worth noticing: every card here is strong in one column and blank in another. Nobody publishes all of it. That is why my score is not a ranking so much as a summary of how much you have to go and find out yourself.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Kredete to you if four things are true at once.
You are in a country the app actually serves — the “60+ countries” and 50 African countries figures are what the card says about itself, and if you are outside that frame the odds drop sharply. You want to spend US dollars in many places without paying a foreign exchange markup, because that 0% is the real, stated, quantified advantage here and few competitors match it. You mostly pay by phone rather than by cash machine, since Apple Pay and Google Pay plus a ten-second virtual card covers most life and the ATM economics are unpublished. And you are comfortable checking fees inside the app before each operation, because the app can show you the fee for a given transfer method and currency while the website cannot show you anything.
I would point you elsewhere if any of these apply. You are in the EU or UK and want to know exactly what you are signing up for, because MiCA’s transitional period ended on 1 July 2026 and you can check a provider on ESMA’s interim register instead of guessing. You plan to hold a meaningful balance and want to know who holds it and under what safeguarding — the issuer is not named and custody is not described, and that is a gap no amount of good usage closes. You need cash regularly, because the ATM fee and allowance are not published. Or you are comparing reward rates seriously, because “up to 6%” with no stated conditions is a number to verify in the app rather than a number to plan around.
And if you only take one thing from this review: the card is not hiding bad behaviour that I found. It is hiding nothing at all, which is a different and more common problem. A 6.7 out of 10 with a perfect 10 on everyday use is what a genuinely useful card looks like when its publisher has not yet done the documentation work. Ask the app the four questions the website will not answer — what does it cost me, how do I fund it, who issued it, what happens if I need a refund — and you will know in five minutes whether this is a 7 or a 9 for you.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kredete card?
Kredete is a USD Visa payment card issued through the Kredete app, available in a virtual form that appears in seconds and a physical form delivered to 70+ countries. It draws on your Kredete account balance rather than a linked bank account, works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and can be frozen from the app. It advertises a 0% foreign exchange markup in 170+ countries. Third-party reporting describes it as a Nigerian fintech product built on stablecoins, Stellar and Rain.
How does the Kredete card work?
The card spends from a balance held in your Kredete account, which behaves more like a prepaid card than a bank debit card. That balance has to be funded first, and the card’s own pages do not describe the top-up methods. Unofficial reporting says the card links to a digital wallet and settles in USDC near-instantly, converting at the moment of purchase. The card page itself mentions crypto nowhere, so treat the crypto mechanics as unconfirmed.
Is Kredete a bank?
Not on the evidence available publicly. The App Store seller is Kredete, Inc., and the official card page does not name an issuing bank or e-money institution. The distinction matters: a card is a payment service, and the institution that issues it is the party legally responsible for holding funds and handling disputes. Since that name is not published, I cannot tell you which regulatory regime applies to your balance.
Who owns Kredete?
The registered seller name on the App Store is Kredete, Inc. Unofficial reporting describes Kredete as a Nigerian fintech startup founded in 2023 by Adeola Adedewe, built with Visa, Stellar and Rain, with a US$2.25 million seed round in September 2024. None of that is confirmed on Kredete’s own pages, and the issuing institution behind the card is not named anywhere in the public material I could find.
Does the Kredete card require KYC?
The card does not say, and that is the honest answer. It is not stated on the official card page, and the KYC level is not stated either. As a general rule across this category, regulated providers must verify identity and screen for sanctions under anti-money-laundering law, and nationality is often screened separately from residence. Assume verification will be required and allow time for it, rather than assuming either way.
What are the Kredete card fees?
The only published figure is the 0% foreign exchange markup in 170+ countries. Issuance, monthly and ATM fees are not stated, as are crypto conversion fees, daily limits and monthly limits. App Store release notes for version 4.4.0 say rates and fees are grouped by currency and each transfer method shows its fee in the app, so that is where you can get an actual number before you commit to a transaction.
Is the Kredete card free?
Partly, and I would not read it as free. There is no maintenance fee listed, but no issuance fee either, and no ATM fee — the absence of a published charge is not the same as a confirmed zero. Plans named Basic, Flex and Premium exist in the app, and what each includes and costs is not stated publicly. Check the plan comparison inside the app before assuming which tier you are on or what it costs.
Can I add the Kredete card to Apple Wallet?
Yes, Apple Pay is supported, alongside Google Pay. Adding the card replaces your card number with a device-specific account number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, and each payment uses a one-time code. Since the virtual card appears in seconds, you can add it to the wallet before the physical card arrives and keep using the phone version while you wait.
Is the Kredete card safe to use?
The app-side safeguards are genuinely good: virtual and physical cards can be frozen from the top bar, crypto sends and swaps confirm with Face ID or passcode, and phone wallets tokenise the card number. What is missing is disclosure — custody arrangements, safeguarding, and the name of the issuer are not published. No complaints were found, but the App Store rating is 3.97 from 98 ratings, too small a sample to read much into either way.
Is the Kredete card worth it?
For you, the honest test is what the 0% FX markup saves you, weighed against what you cannot find out before signing up: the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the ATM terms, your limits, and the identity requirements. If you spend in dollars across several countries and pay by phone, the card’s everyday performance is excellent and likely worth it. If you need published terms up front or hold a large balance, a card with a named issuer and a written fee schedule may suit you better.
App and neobank cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
