A virtual Mastercard that spends your crypto, built around Argentina and Brazil
Fiwind is an Argentine fintech that hands out a fully virtual Mastercard linked to a crypto and peso account. You top it up in pesos, dollars or a long list of cryptocurrencies, and the card pays merchants anywhere Mastercard is taken. There is no physical card, no issuance fee and no monthly maintenance — the money is made on a 1.5% charge for processing international payments and on the spread when crypto is converted. The product is shaped around Argentina, with Brazilian Pix support, and the company is not shy about that focus. If you live outside the Mercosur region, the question is not so much whether the card is good in absolute terms, but whether the rules, the networks supported and the help you can actually get in your time zone work for you.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Fiwind scores 5.8 out of 10. The card itself is clean — free, virtual, accepted worldwide, with NFC through Apple Pay and Google Pay — but two things hold it back. First, the eligibility picture is thin: the company does not publish a country list, only says it is Argentine and supports Pix for Brazil, so for anyone elsewhere the answer is “try and see”. Second, the public material does not name the card issuer, and the only KYC the help pages describe is a current-address check and a phone verification; processing times and rejection reasons are not spelled out. The top-up side is the strongest part: fourteen networks including Lightning, plus ARS and USD on and off-ramps.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Country list not stated; clearly aimed at Argentina and Brazil |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Free to issue and maintain; card payments and crypto trading are commission-free |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Fourteen networks including Bitcoin Lightning, plus ARS and USD |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Registered as a virtual asset service provider in Argentina; card issuer not named |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only, no ATM access, rewards limited to a small set of help-centre promos |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | A solid regional card for Argentines and Brazilians paying from crypto, less convincing for everyone else |
The card fits Argentines and Brazilians who already keep a crypto balance and want to spend it at the till without first cashing out to a bank. For people outside the region, the missing country list and the absence of an issuer name make it hard to recommend without first checking support directly.
Who will they give you the card
Fiwind does not publish a list of supported countries. The company is an Argentine fintech, the website and the help centre are in Spanish, and Pix support is offered for Brazil — those are the only concrete geographic signals. The card itself, once issued, works at any merchant that accepts Mastercard, anywhere in the world.
There is no separate list of restricted or blocked countries. The Argentine registration as a virtual asset service provider (PSAV No. 75 in the CNV registry, dated 6 September 2024) does not by itself exclude foreigners, but the company warns that this registration “does not imply a licence or supervision” — a signal that you are dealing with a start-up rather than a fully banked product.
What this means in practice: if you are in Argentina or Brazil, the card was built for you. If you are elsewhere, treat the application as a test rather than a guarantee, and be ready to walk away if address verification fails.
How to get it
The signup flow described on Fiwind’s own pages is deliberately short. You complete the data the app asks for, the card is issued, and it is ready to use “right away” once your current address and phone number are verified. There is no mention of a document upload at the basic level, and no waiting for a physical card in the post.
Account verification is not the end of the story. Fiwind runs three account tiers, and the card only spends as much as the underlying account is allowed to operate:
- Gold — unlocked by the basic account verification, enough to request the card.
- Platinum — added once you supply proof of address.
- Black — granted after income documents are reviewed; Fiwind notes that Black is not guaranteed to exceed Platinum.
Operating limits are denominated in US dollars, the annual cap resets on 1 January, and there is a monthly cap inside that. The actual amounts live in a separate article that I have not seen, so the only practical advice is to set your own daily cap in the app if you want a hard ceiling.
The site does not describe processing times, the list of documents that may be requested, or the reasons an application can be rejected. The single user report on Trustpilot is a 1-star review from 4 May 2026 describing a rejection on the grounds that data had been altered, and a complaint that real support was not available. With one data point that is anecdote, not pattern, but it is the only public signal.
In short: the signup bar is low, the card arrives instantly, and the tier you end up on is what determines how much you can actually spend. None of this is hidden behind a paywall, but none of it is fully documented either.
What it really costs — Fiwind fees
The cost picture is one of the card’s two real strengths. The card is free to issue and free to maintain, and the page promises “no commissions” on card payments and on buying and selling crypto inside the app. The money is made in two places: the spread when you convert between pesos, dollars and crypto, and a 1.5% charge on payments processed outside Argentina.

| Fee or limit | What Fiwind says |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free |
| Monthly maintenance | Free |
| Card payment, domestic | No commission |
| Crypto buy/sell in app | No commission |
| International purchase processing | 1.5% |
| USDT/USDC transfer, ACH | 0.50% + 0.50 USD |
| USDT/USDC transfer, wire | 0.50% + 20 USD |
| ARS / USD deposit and withdrawal | Free, 24 hours, instant |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated — card is virtual, no cash use described |
| Spending limits | No fixed card limit; the card consumes the account’s monthly operating limit |
| Daily cap you can set yourself | Yes, configurable in the app |
The conversion story is the part that matters in everyday life. International purchases are processed in US dollars, and a single payment can pass through up to three currencies: the currency your card balance is held in, US dollars as the bridge, and the merchant’s local currency. Fiwind applies its own buy rate for the ARS→USD leg, and Mastercard applies its own rate for the USD→merchant leg. The 1.5% processing charge sits on top of those two spreads.
To make that concrete, here are three everyday payments and where the cost lands:
- Buying a coffee in Buenos Aires in pesos, paid from a peso balance. No commission, no FX, no processing charge. The whole thing is free on Fiwind’s side; what you pay is whatever the café charges.
- Streaming subscription in dollars, paid from a USDC balance. No commission on the card payment, no commission on the crypto side, no Argentine processing charge. The only friction is the spread between USDC and USD inside Fiwind at the moment of payment.
- Hotel booking in Europe in euros, paid from a peso balance. The pesos turn into USD at Fiwind’s rate, USD turns into euros at Mastercard’s rate, and the 1.5% international processing charge is added on top. This is the most expensive path, and it is the one to avoid by holding a dollar balance when you travel.
There is also a separate, undated article in the help centre that describes a domestic-purchase surcharge; I have not read it, so I cannot confirm its terms. If you mostly pay in Argentina, that article is worth a look.
How to top up Fiwind
Top-up is the strongest part of the product, and it is where the 9 out of 10 in the score comes from. The card accepts pesos, US dollars or a wide list of cryptocurrencies, and the help centre describes ARS and USD deposits and withdrawals as free, instant and available around the clock.

The supported networks are unusually long for a regional card:
- Bitcoin, including the Lightning network
- Ethereum (ERC-20)
- XRP Ledger
- BNB Chain (BEP-20)
- Arbitrum
- Optimism
- Cardano
- Solana
- Polygon
- Stellar
- TON
- Polkadot
- World Chain
- Tron
For a card that does not name its issuer and does not publish a country list, the network coverage is generous, and including Lightning is the practical touch that lets you move small amounts in and out without paying on-chain fees.
What is not stated is the minimum top-up amount and who pays the network fee when you deposit crypto. The site says the card “consumes the operating limits” of the account when you pay with crypto or dollars, but the actual limits are in a separate article. Crypto withdrawals and how an account closure is treated are also not described on the fees page — there is a “Deposits and withdrawals” section in the help centre with twenty articles, and the practical answers will be somewhere in there, but the headline fee page does not surface them.
The everyday pattern is simple. You fund the account in whatever shape your money is already in — pesos from a local bank, dollars from a US account, stablecoins from a self-custody wallet, bitcoin over Lightning — and the card spends from that balance. There is no monthly fee for parking the balance, so you can use Fiwind as a stablecoin account with a card attached.
Paying with Fiwind day to day
The card is fully virtual on the Mastercard network, which means two things in practice. You get a card number you can type into a website, and you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay to pay contactless in a shop. There is no physical card, no magstripe, and no way to insert or swipe anything. If you travel, the wallet-on-your-phone is the card.
Three things stand out from the help centre. First, the app lets you pause the card, set a maximum daily spend and switch the payment currency from the card menu — that is the basic safety kit, and it is all in one place. Second, the help centre has a 2FA and linked-devices section under “Seguridad” with four articles, which I have not read; the headline is that 2FA exists, the detail is in the help centre. Third, there is a small set of help-centre promotions, undated, that includes 30% off international card purchases, 50% off Cabify, 100% cashback on colectivos, 40% cashback at Hard Rock Café Boca Jrs. and 10% cashback in the YPF app. These are regional and time-limited by their nature, so treat them as a nice extra rather than a reason to pick the card.
The App Store listing in Argentina shows 4.9 out of 5 from 9,600 ratings, with the seller named as Financewind S.A. and the app at version 1.107.0 at the time of writing. The Google Play listing exists at com.fiwind.app but I did not read its rating. For context, an Argentine app store rating measures how the product works for Argentines, not for a global audience.
What is not stated is more interesting than what is. The card page does not list blocked merchant categories. The card collection has no article on disputes or chargebacks, only on taxes and fees. The fee page does not describe an ATM or cash withdrawal flow, and the card is virtual, so the simplest reading is that there is no cash access at all. If you need to take money out of an ATM, this is not the card for that.
What can go wrong
The honest version is that Fiwind is a young, regional product, and the public material has gaps a more mature card would not have. The list below is the things to be aware of before you load it with meaningful money.
- The card issuer is not named. The Mastercard programme sits behind an issuer that Fiwind does not identify on its public pages. That is not unusual for programme managers, but it does mean the backstop for your money is anonymous from the customer’s point of view.
- PSAV is not a banking licence. The Argentine registration as a virtual asset service provider (PSAV No. 75) is described by Fiwind itself as “not implying a licence or supervision”. The company also has a separate ALYCI registration (Fiwind Capital S.A., CNV No. 2231). Neither is a bank account, and neither comes with deposit insurance.
- The account is custodial. Your crypto sits on Fiwind’s platform, not in your own wallet. The convenience of a card is paid for by trusting the platform with the funds, and the history of custodial platforms includes Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin, with hundreds of millions of dollars lost in each case.
- KYC is opaque. The help pages describe address and phone verification and a tier system, but not the documents you may be asked for, the time it takes, or why an application can be rejected. The single Trustpilot review describes a rejection on an “altered data” claim, with no real support reached.
- Cash access is not described. There is no ATM flow on the fee page, no article on cash withdrawal, and the card is virtual. If your backup plan for a lost wallet is an ATM, you do not have one.
- Disputes and chargebacks are not documented. The card collection in the help centre has no dispute or chargeback article, which is not the same as saying the card cannot be disputed, but it is the same as saying the process is not public.
- No support hours or direct contact channel. The help centre is in Spanish, the social channels (X, Instagram, TikTok, LinkedIn, Discord, Telegram, Facebook, YouTube) are listed, and there is no support phone number or live chat in the public material. Outside Spanish-speaking hours, your options narrow quickly.
- Promotion terms are undated. The cashback offers in the help centre do not carry a date in the listing, so I cannot tell you if they are still running. Check the help centre at the moment you sign up.
The news flow is benign. There is no public record of Fiwind losing a licence or being fined, and the two registrations with the CNV are dated 2024. The two Fiwind entities are Financewind S.A. (PSAV) and Fiwind Capital S.A. (ALYCI). The single Trustpilot review and the absence of any other complaint sources are too thin to call a pattern in either direction.
What to take instead
The cards below are the alternatives worth weighing against Fiwind. None of them is a perfect substitute — Fiwind’s regional focus and free pricing are not easy to match — but each solves a different problem.
| Card | Score | What it is, in one line |
|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | A US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual today and physical “coming soon”, with a published list of unsupported countries |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | A multicurrency Mastercard on the UNi.Global account, no annual or foreign transaction fee, and a “Spend-to-Earn” cashback of up to 3% |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | A Visa that spends from a Whop balance, supported in 31 US states for consumers with a 5% cashback at select merchants |
International Visa Card is the choice if you want a published list of where the card works and where it does not. The company explicitly excludes residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, not by citizenship. Pricing is a $5 one-time virtual issuance, free domestic card use in USD, and a 2% FX fee on top of the Visa exchange rate on foreign currency. Plans run from a free Classic to Pro at $9 a month and Max at $19 a month. Funding is USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits.
UNi Card is the choice if you want a multicurrency Mastercard without an annual fee and without a foreign transaction fee. The card draws on the UNi.Global account, converts at “live OTC rates”, and earns Spend-to-Earn rewards of up to 3%. The country list, the funding flow and the issuance fee are not stated on the materials I read, so this is the one to ask the issuer about before you commit.
Whop Cards is the choice if you live in one of the 31 US states the card supports for consumers (or 41 for businesses) and you want a Visa with a stablecoin-backed balance and 5% cashback at select merchants (Uber today, more planned). The card is unavailable in Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The basis of the rule (citizenship or residence) is not stated. The funding side is a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, and the specific coins and networks are not stated.
If you are an Argentine who needs a peso on-ramp, a Pix off-ramp for Brazil, or Lightning for small bitcoin payments, none of the three above quite replaces Fiwind. If you are outside the region and your priority is a card with clear eligibility rules, an FX policy that is on the page, and an issuer you can name, the International Visa Card is the more conventional pick.
Who I would recommend Fiwind to
Fiwind is a regional product that is best when it is used the way it was built. If you are in Argentina, you keep a balance in pesos, dollars or crypto, and you want a free virtual card that pays at any Mastercard terminal without a maintenance fee, Fiwind is a clean answer. The free ARS and USD on- and off-ramps and the 1.5% international processing charge are easy to plan around, and the long network list — including Lightning — means you can fund the card from almost any crypto you already hold.
For Brazilians, the Pix support and the dollar rails make Fiwind a reasonable way to spend a stablecoin balance locally, with the same caveat that the international processing charge is the one cost to watch.
For everyone else, the picture is less kind. The country list is not published, the card issuer is not named, the dispute process is not documented, and the help centre is in Spanish with no support hours. If you can live with all four of those, the card itself is competent; if you cannot, the International Visa Card or UNi Card will be a more conventional fit.
The honest summary: Fiwind is a free, well-connected regional card with a real gap on transparency. Whether that gap matters to you depends on whether you are inside the region it was built for or outside it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Fiwind card?
Fiwind is a fully virtual Mastercard issued through an Argentine fintech account. The card is paid from a balance held in Argentine pesos, US dollars or a range of cryptocurrencies, and works at any merchant that accepts Mastercard. There is no physical version, no issuance fee and no monthly maintenance.
How does the Fiwind card work?
You create an account, verify your current address and phone number, request the card in the app, and the card is ready to use immediately. You fund the balance in pesos, dollars or crypto on one of fourteen supported networks (including Bitcoin Lightning), and the card pays merchants from that balance. International purchases are processed in US dollars, and a single payment can pass through up to three currencies.
Is Fiwind a bank?
No. Fiwind is an Argentine fintech registered as a virtual asset service provider (PSAV No. 75) with the CNV, and Fiwind Capital S.A. holds a separate ALYCI registration (CNV No. 2231). Fiwind describes its own PSAV registration as “not implying a licence or supervision”, and no deposit insurance applies to balances on the platform.
Is the Fiwind card available in my country?
Fiwind does not publish a list of supported or unsupported countries. The company is Argentine, the help centre is in Spanish, and Pix support is offered for Brazil. If you are outside Argentina and Brazil, treat the application as a test rather than a guarantee, and check the app store for your country.
How do I get the Fiwind card?
Download the Fiwind app, complete the sign-up data, verify your current address and phone number, and request the card from the card menu. The card is virtual and is ready to use as soon as the two verifications are completed. Proof of address unlocks the Platinum account tier, and income documents unlock the Black tier.
Does the Fiwind card require KYC?
Account verification is required to request the card, and the two checks described in the help centre are current address and phone number. The full set of documents that may be requested, the processing time and the reasons an application can be rejected are not stated on Fiwind’s public pages.
How do I top up the Fiwind card?
You can fund the account in Argentine pesos, US dollars or cryptocurrency. The supported networks include Bitcoin (with Lightning), Ethereum ERC-20, XRP Ledger, BNB BEP-20, Arbitrum, Optimism, Cardano, Solana, Polygon, Stellar, TON, Polkadot, World Chain and Tron. ARS and USD deposits and withdrawals are free, instant and available 24 hours a day.
How do I add the Fiwind card to Apple Wallet?
The card is fully virtual and supports Apple Pay and Google Pay over NFC. Add it through the wallet app on your phone using the card details from the Fiwind app. The Fiwind app can pause the card, change its payment currency and set a daily cap from the card menu.
Is the Fiwind card safe?
The basics are in place: the app supports 2FA and linked-device management, the card can be paused instantly, and the payment currency and daily cap can be changed in the app. The trade-off is that the account is custodial — your crypto sits on Fiwind’s platform rather than in your own wallet — and the card issuer is not named on the public pages, so the backstop for your funds is not visible.
How do I delete my Fiwind account?
The help centre has a “Seguridad” collection and a support team reachable through the in-app channels, but the exact closure flow and the treatment of remaining balances are not described in the public fee page. Withdraw any balance you want to keep before closing, and contact support through the app for the precise steps.
App and neobank cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
