A Mexico-only crypto card that publishes far fewer numbers than its rivals
If you are looking at the Orbi card, you are probably doing one of two things. Either you are in Mexico and you want a way to spend a crypto balance on ordinary things — groceries, a taxi, a subscription — without waiting days for a bank to open an account for you. Or you are somewhere else entirely, wondering whether this card could solve a problem a normal bank card has not solved for you. Those are very different situations, and Orbi’s own pages answer them very differently: the first one clearly, and the second one with a single flat sentence.
I went through the card’s public pages, terms, help centre and the announcement that came with it, and I want to be clear about one thing up front. This is not a card that hides its risks so much as it simply does not publish most of the numbers you would need to judge it. The eligibility rule is stated plainly. The fees are not. The networks are not. The card currency is not. I scored it 5.0 out of 10, and the reason for a middling score is not that Orbi looks bad — it is that there is not enough on the page to be confident about, and a missing number is not the same as a good number.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | “Servicios disponibles únicamente en territorio mexicano” — services are available only in Mexican territory, and some services are limited to Mexican citizens or permanent residents |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees and card price are not disclosed; the terms link to a fees section of the website without giving amounts |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | The card works with USDG, USDT and USDC, and the credit line is secured by digital assets, but no networks are named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Orbi Payments, S.A.P.I. de C.V., BIN sponsor and fintech infrastructure SoFi Tech Solutions, Mastercard; no complaints or reviews found; no licences named |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | A virtual Mastercard “al instante”, cash withdrawal at ATMs; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 |
Who will they give the card to
The answer is short and it is the whole answer: “Servicios disponibles únicamente en territorio mexicano”. Services are available only in Mexican territory. The terms add a second layer on top of that — some services are limited to Mexican citizens or permanent residents. So there are two separate gates, not one. Being outside Mexico closes the first one regardless of your citizenship. Being inside Mexico may not open everything, because parts of the service can still be reserved for citizens and permanent residents.

The card’s terms say some services are limited; they do not say which services, or exactly what qualifies as permanent residence for this purpose. If you are in that position, you cannot answer the question from the public pages, and you would have to ask Orbi before you move money.
For everyone else reading this outside Mexico: this is not a card you can apply to. There is no waiting list, no early access mentioned, and no foreign sign-up route on the pages. I know that is not the answer you wanted if you landed here from a search for a card that works in your country, but it is the answer, and it is a definite one rather than a vague one.
It is worth adding what this card is aimed at. Reading the announcement and the product pages together, the picture is of Mexican residents borrowing against digital assets on a Mastercard. Not a crypto trader, and not a savings product — a spending card with a credit line against holdings you already have.
How to get it
What Orbi verifies is described: email, mobile number, personal data and documents. Which documents is not named. Minimum age is 18. Proof of address is not stated. The order of the steps is not stated either, so I will not invent a sequence for you.
On the card itself: it is a Mastercard administered by Orbi. The virtual card is issued instantly. A physical card is not mentioned on the card page; the October news says physical and virtual were planned, which is a plan, not a product you can hold today. Delivery is not stated, for the simple reason that the physical card is not on the page.
The card currency is not stated, which matters more than it sounds — it decides what you see when a shop declines or authorises a payment, and it decides who eats the exchange cost. Section below on daily spending picks this up.
On how deep the checks go: the level of verification is not stated. What I can tell you is that there is a “Verificación de Identidad” section in the help centre with five articles, so the process exists and is documented in Spanish. That is the difference between a card where the check is a formality and one where it can hold your account up, and you cannot tell which from outside.
One thing to expect across this whole category, because it is not specific to Orbi: if due diligence cannot be completed, the correct outcome under the rules that apply to these businesses is to decline the transaction or the relationship rather than proceed, and often to close or freeze an account pending documents. Cards are for adults, 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits.
Fees and what a payment really costs
This is where the review gets uncomfortable, and I would rather tell you that plainly than pad it out. The card’s cost is not stated. The fees are not stated. The terms say fees are listed in the fees section of the website, and give no amounts. That is the entire disclosure on the public pages. I am not going to estimate it for you, and I would be wary of anyone who does — a card priced at zero and a card priced at a few hundred pesos a year behave very differently depending on how you use them, and only one of those numbers is knowable.

Here is every cost item the pages touch on, with what is and is not given:
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion fee | Not stated |
| FX fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Cash withdrawal at ATMs is listed as a use; fee and allowance not stated |
| Daily limits | Not stated; terms allow Orbi to set or change limits per transaction and per day, week or month without prior authorisation |
| Monthly limits | Same as daily: settable per day, week or month without prior authorisation |
| Tiers | Not stated — a single card is shown |
That last row deserves a second look. The terms say Orbi may set or change limits per transaction and per day, week or month without prior authorisation. So the limits are not fixed commitments you can plan around. They are settings the provider can move. If you are someone who needs to know that a payment will go through, that is a real difference from a bank card where published limits are contractual.
Now three everyday payments, to show you where the missing numbers actually bite.
Buying coffee in Mexico City with your own pesos on a normal Mexican bank card: you pay the price on the till. Nothing on this page applies to you at all.
Buying the same coffee with the Orbi card: the merchant sees a Mastercard. Something has to happen to your stablecoin balance before the shop gets paid — the terms confirm that funds are converted to fiat at the point of sale, so the merchant receives fiat, not crypto. The conversion is exactly the number that is not disclosed. If the card converts at a rate with a margin in it, that margin is your cost, and it is invisible to you until you compare.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM: listed as something the card does. The fee is not stated and the allowance is not stated, so you have no basis for judging whether a withdrawal is cheap or whether there is a monthly cap. If cash is a regular part of your life rather than an emergency, this is the gap I would want closed before I relied on it.
Tiers matter here too, and I want to be fair to the card: Orbi’s page shows a single card with no tiers, so a per-tier comparison is not possible. It may be a simple product. But a product with one visible tier and a fees section I could not read from the page is a product I would want to test with a small amount before trusting with a month’s spending.
How to top it up
Topping up Orbi starts with a transfer to the right network — that is the honest summary, because the rest is not on the page.
The card works with USDG, USDT and USDC. The credit line “se garantiza con activos digitales”: it is secured by digital assets. So the shape of the product is a loan line backed by holdings, not a debit card drawing on a spendable balance, at least in the credit mode. How to top up: not stated. Which networks: not stated. How to withdraw money: not stated.
I want to walk you through why the missing network matters, because this is the single most expensive mistake available to you in this category and it costs real money.
A stablecoin exists only on the specific blockchain networks that support it. USDT operates on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche, and others. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum, and Stellar. Two stablecoins, many chains — and your card wants one specific pair.
Send USDT on Tron to a service expecting Ethereum and the funds can be lost or may need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. There is no chargeback for a transfer sent to the wrong network, because there is no transaction to dispute with anyone.
There are two more traps that catch people out even on the right network. ERC-20 gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send anything. Tron prices its transactions with bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And one combination is already impossible: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Before you transfer anything, you need Orbi’s network named, and the page does not name it.
Two things about withdrawal you should know now rather than later. Closing an account requires no active obligations and no positive crypto balance — so you must unwind the credit line and flatten the balance before you can leave, and a positive balance blocks closure. That is a sensible condition and an awkward trap if you forget.
And one more, quietly important: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Using one means accepting an issuer that can act on your balance.
Paying with it every day
The everyday picture is a virtual Mastercard you get instantly, cash withdrawals at ATMs, and conversion to fiat at the till. Wallets: not stated. Apple Pay and Google Pay: not disclosed, which is a real omission, because a virtual card in your phone’s wallet is how most people stop carrying a card they did not physically have.
Two points on how the money actually moves. First, funds are converted to fiat at the point of sale, and the merchant receives fiat. Second, most cards in this category behave less like debit cards and more like prepaid ones: crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. With a secured credit line, the same logic applies to the collateral — the line is bounded by the assets behind it.
Now the merchant-category problem, which is the one that will embarrass you. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business by its goods or services. MCC 7995 covers gambling: casinos, betting, lotteries. Many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list differs by issuer. Orbi does not publish its MCC policy, so if gambling matters to you, you are guessing.
The online-payment problem is structural and worth understanding even though nothing here is Orbi-specific. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number, and any merchant can look it up to see which institution and which country issued the card. If that country differs from your billing address, some merchants apply extra scrutiny. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright, because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another — and it is a live risk for the virtual card, where the address on file may not match where you are standing.
Address Verification makes it worse. AVS compares the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed against issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. If you travel with this card, expect some friction online.
Declines have a second-order cost: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can persist for several days, typically up to seven.
On the security side, 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments — the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. Mastercard’s brand is Identity Check; EMV 3-D Secure 2 supports passcodes and app-based authentication aligned with EU strong customer authentication. Typical safeguards in this category are app-based two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, spending limits and tokenised mobile wallets. For Orbi specifically, freeze and 2FA for the card are not stated, and the custody model for the assets securing the credit line is not stated. That last one is the question I would ask first.
On rewards: the card page does not mention cashback. Orbi Boost offers rewards for freezing digital dollars and the page says outright that it “no garantiza recompensas” — it does not guarantee rewards. Treat that as a promotional gesture, not a return.
Support exists: chat in the app and on the website, 8:00 am to 8:00 pm, plus a Spanish-language help centre. App links are on the page for Google Play and the App Store; I did not read the ratings. The help centre being Spanish only is worth noting if you are not comfortable there.
What can go wrong
Starting with the thing nobody in this category can explain away: custody. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and is an unencrypted form of the private key — anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. With a custodial setup, the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely.
Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery; the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. A self-custody-linked card keeps the funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but then you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address.
That is the general picture. For Orbi the specific uncertainty is that the custody model behind the secured credit line is not stated. You are being asked to pledge assets to cover borrowing, and the page does not say who holds them or how.
Programme risk is the second one, and this category has been through it. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was being wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. How a closure typically runs: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed.
Now Orbi’s own details. The company is Orbi Payments, S.A.P.I. de C.V., incorporated in Mexico. The BIN sponsor and fintech infrastructure is SoFi Tech Solutions, with Mastercard. Licences are not named. I could not find that they are named, so I am not going to imply they do not exist — only that you cannot see them from the public pages.
On complaints: I found no official incidents, and no reviews of the card in search or on Trustpilot — the page was not found. Read that carefully. It is not evidence of a good track record; it is closer to evidence of a young product. The card programme was announced on 8 October 2026 by SoFi Tech Solutions, Orbi and Mastercard. A programme announced on 8 October 2026 cannot have a complaint history, and the absence of one carries almost no information.
On disputes: the timeframe is not stated, and the terms allow Orbi to hold assets during disputes. That is a clause worth reading twice. If a chargeback goes wrong, your collateral may be tied up while it is argued over. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, while prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Whether Orbi’s card sits under debit, credit or prepaid rules is exactly the kind of thing that is not stated.
There is also the dispute-and-3-D Secure wrinkle: under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to your bank, or per its critics to you.
One last category note on anonymity, because it comes up constantly in searches about these cards. Nothing here provides it. KYC rules exist precisely because regulated businesses must verify customers and screen them: in the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. A card is an account with your name on it.
What to take instead
If the reason you are here is that Orbi is the only option you found, you should know there are three others, and that on published detail two of them look thinner than Orbi and one looks considerably richer — with a cost model you can actually read.
| Orbi | Sponge | Nexo | Xplace | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.0 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 6.3 / 10 | 7.7 / 10 |
| Who | Mexican territory; some services for citizens and permanent residents | Not stated — no country list on the card pages | Residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” | Not stated; “services are not available in all jurisdictions” |
| Card | Virtual Mastercard “al instante”, administered by Orbi | Virtual, described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member | Virtual and physical; issued by DiPocket UAB | Virtual (instant) and physical (Silver live; Gold/Platinum coming soon, delivery 7–14 business days) |
| Cost | Not stated | Not stated | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; virtual card needs at least $50 to activate; physical is free shipping but needs balance above $5,000 and at least Gold tier | Annual fee: Basic free, Silver $99/y, Gold $249/y, Platinum $999/y; no borrowing origination fee |
| Fees | Not stated | Not stated | FX 0.2% weekdays and 0.7% weekends (EEA/UK/CH); 2% and 2.5% rest of world; conversion fee not stated | 0% FX on Platinum; other tiers and conversion fee not stated |
| Funding | USDG, USDT, USDC; credit secured by digital assets; networks not stated | USDC collateral moved from the wallet with card fund; example chain base, SDK mentions base or solana |
Spends from the account; over 100 digital assets; Debit Mode uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX | BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana |
| Rewards | Not mentioned on the card page | Not stated | Cashback in Credit Mode only, account above $5,000; Platinum 2%/0.5%, Gold 1%/0.3%, Silver 0.7%/0.2%, Base 0.5%/0.1% | Credit-mode cashback: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%, paid in USDC |
| Elsewhere | Not stated | Not stated | Not official: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions/AML violations; no official Nexo statement on Russians found | Visa accepted in 160+ countries |
Read that table with the same caution I applied to Orbi: several cells are not stated, and not stated cuts both ways — it is a gap in my evidence, not a defect proven in the product.
Still, three things stand out. Nexo publishes a fee schedule and a tier ladder, which Orbi does not, and its access rule is at least scoped to a region you might be in. Xplace publishes an annual fee schedule and cashback rates by tier, and it names its networks and its assets. Sponge’s access terms are the vaguest of the four, and its virtual card sits behind a platform minimum age of 13 for the service while the card itself carries no stated country list.
Where Orbi genuinely stands apart is narrower than its price. It is one of the few in this set that names a country explicitly rather than gesturing at jurisdictions, and it is a credit line secured by digital assets on a Mastercard rather than a prepaid-balance card. If you are a Mexican resident who wants to borrow against holdings, that combination may be the point. If you are anywhere else, it is a closed door.
The reason to look elsewhere usually has nothing to do with brand. It is either that Orbi will not tell you what a payment costs, or that you need a card you can read the price of.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Orbi to a Mexican resident, 18 or over, who already holds stablecoins or tokenised assets, has decided they want a spending line against those holdings, and can accept that they will not be shown the conversion rate, the fee schedule or the limits in advance.
The reasoning is narrow but it is real. The eligibility rule is unambiguous, which is more than several rivals offer. The card is a Mastercard, which means the ordinary card networks will route it and the usual protections may apply depending on how it is issued. A virtual card arrives instantly, so you are not waiting on post. Cash withdrawal is supported. Support hours are published.
I would not recommend it to you if any of the following is true. You are outside Mexico — there is no version of this that works for you. You are in Mexico on a status that may not count as citizenship or permanent residence and you need to know which services are gated. You intend to use it as your only card. You rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay. You need a cash withdrawal allowance you can plan around. You need to know what a coffee costs before you buy it. Or you are holding a large balance and the custody model is the thing you most wanted to understand.
And the thing I would tell anyone: find the network and the conversion rate before you move meaningful money. If Orbi cannot give you both, that is not a reason to abandon it — it is a reason to start small, keep a parallel way to spend, and treat this as an experiment rather than an infrastructure.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Orbi card?
The Orbi card is a Mastercard administered by Orbi, offered to people in Mexico. You get a virtual card instantly, and the model is a credit line secured by digital assets rather than a plain spendable balance: the card works with USDG, USDT and USDC, and the borrowing is “se garantiza con activos digitales”. At the point of sale the funds are converted to fiat, so the shop is paid in pesos, not crypto.
Is Orbi a bank?
Not on the evidence of its public pages. The company behind it is Orbi Payments, S.A.P.I. de C.V., incorporated in Mexico, with SoFi Tech Solutions as BIN sponsor and fintech infrastructure, alongside Mastercard. The licences it holds are not named. A card programme is a regulated activity run under a network’s licence, but I could not find the licence number to point you at.
Who owns Orbi?
Orbi Payments, S.A.P.I. de C.V. is the company incorporated in Mexico that operates the card. The infrastructure and the sponsor bank behind the card number come from SoFi Tech Solutions, and the network is Mastercard. That is the ownership picture the pages give; any parent structure above that is not stated.
Is the Orbi card available outside Mexico?
No. The card’s own page says “Servicios disponibles únicamente en territorio mexicano” — services are available only in Mexican territory. On top of that the terms say some services are limited to Mexican citizens or permanent residents. So there are two gates, and if you are abroad the first one is already closed regardless of your nationality.
How much does the Orbi card cost?
Nobody can tell you from the public pages, and I am not going to guess. The terms say fees are listed in the fees section of the website and give no amounts. Issuance, monthly fee, conversion and FX fees are all not stated, as is any ATM allowance. That absence is the single biggest reason for the score of 5.0 out of 10.
Which coins and networks can I use?
The card works with USDG, USDT and USDC, and the credit line is secured by those digital assets. Which networks is not stated, and that is the detail to nail down before you send anything — USDT lives on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, and USDC was listed as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. A transfer on the wrong chain is irreversible.
How do I top it up, and how do I withdraw?
Top up: not stated. Withdraw: not stated. What is stated is the closing condition — to close an account you must have no active obligations and no positive crypto balance. So any line you have drawn has to be repaid and your balance flattened before you can walk away. Sending a stablecoin on the wrong network can be lost entirely.
Can I use Orbi in Apple Pay or Google Pay?
The pages do not say. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed, which is a real gap given that the card is virtual and issued instantly — most people in that position add the card to a phone wallet rather than carry anything. Apple Pay keeps the card number as a device-specific number in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, with a one-time code per payment.
Is the Orbi card safe?
I would not answer that as a yes or a no, because the decisive fact is missing: the custody model behind the secured credit line is not stated, so I cannot tell you who holds your assets. What I can tell you is that transfers are irreversible, custodial providers have failed badly before — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network — and Tether says it disables tokens on OFAC-list wallets and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Is Orbi worth it?
It depends entirely on whether you are a Mexican resident wanting to borrow against assets you already hold, and on whether you are comfortable with a fee schedule you cannot read. Published pricing is thin on three sides: I found no reviews of the card and no Trustpilot page, and the programme was only announced on 8 October 2026, so the absence of complaints tells you very little. Test it small before you trust it with a month’s spending.
Credit and cashback cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
