PowerPay card, reviewed: a small virtual dollar card with a lot left unsaid

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

I went through PowerPay’s own site, its App Store listing, the public terms and what little else I could verify, and the picture that comes through is of a tightly aimed product. PowerPay is a virtual dollar card, sold from a crypto balance, that today reads as a Nigerian product first and a Kenyan or Ghanaian one second. That single fact shapes almost every other question I had going in: who can get it, what it costs, what happens if something goes wrong, and whether the picture I can verify matches what a user actually sees on a Tuesday afternoon at a POS terminal.

PowerPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

So I am writing this review for anyone who is choosing between a crypto card and a regular one, and especially for people in Nigeria, or with strong links to Nigeria, who are trying to figure out whether PowerPay is a sensible option. I cannot tell you it is right for you, because a lot of the numbers that would let me tell you that are not stated. What I can do is walk you through what the card says, what it does not say, and the questions I would be asking in your place.

The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

I rate PowerPay 4.0 out of 10. That is a low score, and the reason it is not lower is that the basic shape of the product is real: a working virtual dollar card you load from a crypto balance, with Apple Pay and Google Pay attached, aimed at a market that often cannot get a normal Visa or Mastercard. The reason it is not higher is the long list of things the company does not tell you. The fees are not published, the issuing bank is not named, the licences are not named, the country list is implicit rather than written down, and the comparison cards I looked at (Cardex, CardFlow, HyperCard) each give a clearer picture of their own product than PowerPay does. PowerPay reads as a usable tool for a Nigerian user topping up a virtual dollar card from crypto, and as an unclear one for anyone outside that picture.

Criterion Mark Why I gave that mark
Who can get it 2/10 The app is aimed at Nigeria; the site also lists Kenyan and Ghanaian currency. Country rules and citizenship rules are not stated.
Cost 5/10 Fees are not published on the site; the App Store says only “competitive rates on every swap and sale”.
Top-up options 5/10 Sell crypto for a wallet balance in NGN, KES or GHS, then fund the card. Coins and networks are not named.
Reliability and complaints 5/10 Operator is PowerPay Limited in Abuja; issuer and licences are not named. No public complaints found. App Store rating 5.0 from one rating.
Everyday use 3/10 Virtual card in USD, up to a $10,000 threshold. Apple Pay and Google Pay exist. Plastic card and ATM use are not stated.

If you are a Nigerian user topping up a virtual dollar balance, PowerPay is a card on your shortlist, not at the top. If you are outside Nigeria, or if a published fee schedule matters to you, the picture is too thin to recommend.

Who PowerPay will give the card to

PowerPay is run by PowerPay Limited, an Abuja-registered company at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT. The App Store developer is listed as ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD, which is the same company under a different name. The terms of service are governed by Nigerian law.

That Nigerian footprint is the single most important fact about eligibility. The App Store listing describes the product as “Nigeria’s all-in-one app”, and the site supports wallet balances in Nigerian naira, Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis. An earlier check I made of the same product showed the three countries (Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana) more clearly; today the Nigerian framing is much louder. The site does not publish a country list, does not publish citizenship rules, does not publish a list of excluded jurisdictions and does not publish an age limit. So you have to read between the lines: this is a card for people in Nigeria, and for Kenyan and Ghanaian users who are not blocked at sign-up.

What is not stated is a real issue here. If you are reading this from a fourth country, you cannot tell from the public pages whether you are allowed to use the card. I would not assume a green light just because the wallet accepts a currency. The absence of a published list of accepted and excluded countries is, on its own, enough to make me cautious.

How to get the card

The signup path is the standard KYC path: a government-issued ID (the site lists Nigeria’s National Identity Card, the NIN, and the BVN as examples), proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement, and a valid mobile phone number. Age is not stated. After that, the basic card is a virtual dollar card, the kind that exists as a number you can add to a phone wallet, not a piece of plastic through the post. The site calls these “instant virtual cards” and explicitly names USD as the card currency. The card network is not stated on the public pages, which is unusual but not unheard of for virtual-only products.

The company also says it runs Enhanced Due Diligence for high-risk customers, which in plain terms means more source-of-funds questions if anything about your activity raises flags. The exact tiers, the per-tier limits, and how long the extra checks take are not stated, so you cannot plan around them.

A few practical points to be aware of:

Fees: what it really costs

This is the part of the review where I would normally give you a clean schedule. PowerPay does not publish one. The App Store listing says “competitive rates on every swap and sale”, which is marketing copy, not a fee. The site, the FAQ and the public terms do not state the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the conversion fee, the foreign-exchange fee, the ATM fee, or the inactivity fee. The only hard number the site gives about the card itself is the $10,000 threshold on the virtual card balance.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a PowerPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

That is a real problem, because the only way to know what your coffee costs on PowerPay is to actually run the transaction and look at the receipt. A reader who is choosing between cards has no way to do the comparison. I would treat the lack of a fee schedule as a cost in itself, in time and in uncertainty.

Fee or limit What the public pages say
Issuance not stated
Monthly fee not stated
Conversion (crypto to fiat) not stated (“competitive rates”)
Foreign exchange (card in a non-USD country) not stated
ATM withdrawal not stated (and no physical card is on offer)
Daily limit not stated
Monthly limit not stated
Balance threshold “up to $10,000” for the virtual card
Per-KYC limits not stated

A few worked examples show why the missing numbers matter. Suppose you top up by selling USDT into your NGN wallet, then load the card in USD; the missing cost is the spread on the USDT-to-NGN sale plus any conversion fee from NGN wallet to USD card. Suppose instead you pay a subscription in euros from a card denominated in dollars; the missing cost is the FX margin. Suppose you take cash out at an ATM: I cannot even tell you whether the card works in an ATM, because that detail is not stated either. A café purchase in Lagos, an online subscription billed in euros, and a cash withdrawal each deserve a clean fee line. PowerPay gives you none of them.

If you care about the cost, the only honest test is a small one: top up a tiny amount, run the kinds of transactions you actually plan to make, look at the receipts, and then decide whether the spread is competitive for the volume you have. If the receipts surprise you, the absence of a published schedule is what surprised you.

Top up: how to load the card

The funding model is the standard two-step crypto card flow. First you sell crypto into the wallet for a local-currency balance (NGN, KES or GHS). Then you fund the card from that wallet. The card itself is in USD, so the second step is itself a conversion. The site does not list the cryptocurrencies supported; an earlier version of the site I checked named USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH, but today’s site does not repeat that list. The networks on which the coins are accepted are not stated either, and the deposit address networks for stablecoins matter a great deal: send USDT on the wrong network and the funds can be lost, because blockchain transfers are not reversible.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up PowerPay starts with a transfer to the right network

A second route is the on-ramp partners. The site names Paystack, Flutterwave and Kora as payment collection partners, which are standard Nigerian and pan-African payment processors. That means you can in principle fund the wallet in fiat through those rails, then move that balance to the card. The exact rails, the fees, and the per-rail limits are not stated.

A few practical points to keep in mind before you fund the card:

Paying with the card every day

The everyday-use picture is half clear and half blank. What is clear: the card is virtual, in dollars, and the wallet can be denominated in NGN, KES or GHS. The site confirms Apple Pay and Google Pay support, which means you can tokenise the virtual card into a phone wallet and pay at contactless terminals, in apps, and on the web. The site also says you can freeze the card, monitor transactions, and see spend in real time, which are the standard safety controls. The site does not state a card network, does not say whether there is a physical card, does not say whether ATM withdrawals are supported, and does not publish any rewards or cashback scheme. The single hard number is the $10,000 virtual card balance threshold.

The app is available on iOS and Android. The iOS App Store listing for PowerPay Ng had a 5.0 average from a single rating when I read it on 21 October 2026, which is not a real sample and should not be read as a quality signal. The Android listing is on Google Play. There is no public rewards program in the materials I could see.

If something goes wrong with a transaction, the terms say the first stop is the merchant, the second stop is PowerPay support at [email protected], and the third stop is arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator. The time frames for each step are not stated. If you are used to a regulated bank’s chargeback process, this is a thinner setup. The standard card-industry tools (3-D Secure for online payments, AVS for address checks, chargeback codes for disputes) are part of how Visa and Mastercard payments work in general, but whether PowerPay’s issuer uses them on this card is not stated.

What can go wrong

I went looking for public complaints about PowerPay and did not find any that I could verify. Trustpilot has a page for the PowerPay website but it is not a PowerPay page in the meaningful sense. That absence of complaints is mildly reassuring, but it is also an absence of evidence: a small product with a small user base in a specific country will simply not generate the volume of complaints a global card would.

The bigger risks are the ones baked into the category, not into this specific brand. I want to lay them out so you can judge them yourself.

A few safety basics that are worth applying to any card, PowerPay included: enable two-factor authentication in the app, freeze the card when you are not using it, set a low spending limit, and keep the balance small enough that a worst-case shutdown is not catastrophic.

What to take instead

I rate three alternatives above PowerPay on the published score, and each one is closer to a fit for a particular reader than PowerPay is. None of them is a panacea, and the same “not stated” problem shows up in different places, but together they give you a more honest comparison set.

Card Score Card type Where it is aimed What is clear about it Where it is thin
Cardex 5.6/10 Debit crypto card on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical Naira-focused App Store listing, but the site says “200+ countries” Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment; an “AI-powered conversion rate” that scans global exchanges Country list and exclusions are not stated; fees are not stated
CardFlow 4.9/10 Virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users” Free to create a virtual card; funding in BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer Monthly fees and conversion fees are not stated
HyperCard 4.7/10 Prepaid “HyperCard” in USD or EUR App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” Deposit USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; converted to USD or EUR on the card Network is not stated; fees are not stated

A note on what “200+ countries” or “176 countries” actually means. Those numbers are usually about card acceptance, not eligibility. A card can be accepted in 176 countries at the POS terminal and still not be available as a product to residents of most of them. The same caveat applies to Cardex’s “200+ countries” claim. If you are outside the card’s home market, treat the country count as a marketing figure, not a guarantee that you can sign up.

If you are a Nigerian user topping up a virtual dollar card, CardFlow and Cardex are closer fits than PowerPay on the published details, and the comparison is mostly about which one tells you more about its own product. If you are outside Nigeria, HyperCard is a more honest match for “I want a prepaid card I can fund with crypto”, with the same caveat about how much of the fee schedule is in the public domain.

Who I would recommend PowerPay to

I would recommend PowerPay, cautiously, to a Nigerian user who wants a virtual dollar card for online payments and Apple Pay or Google Pay, who is comfortable with a custodial wallet, and who is willing to fund a small test balance to see the actual fees in their own receipts before committing more. I would not recommend it to a user who needs a published fee schedule, a physical card, an ATM cash-out path, a clear licence from a named issuer, or a route into a card-network chargeback process. I would not recommend it to a user outside Nigeria, Kenya or Ghana on the strength of the public pages alone, because the country rules are not stated and the risk of being blocked at KYC is real.

If you are choosing between PowerPay and the alternatives above, the deciding question is whether you trust the absence of a published fee schedule. If you do, PowerPay is a usable small virtual dollar card. If you do not, the alternatives are clearer on at least some of the points that PowerPay leaves blank.

Frequently asked questions

What is the PowerPay card?

PowerPay is a virtual dollar card issued from a crypto balance, run by PowerPay Limited, an Abuja-registered company. The wallet supports balances in Nigerian naira, Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis, and the card itself is denominated in US dollars.

How does the PowerPay card work?

You sell crypto into a wallet in NGN, KES or GHS, then fund the virtual USD card from that wallet. The card number is tokenised into Apple Pay or Google Pay and is used for online and contactless payments. The card cannot overdraw because it draws on a stored balance, like a prepaid card.

Is PowerPay a bank?

PowerPay is not described as a bank on the public pages. It is operated by PowerPay Limited, an Abuja company. The card issuer and any banking or e-money licences that issuer holds are not stated.

Who owns PowerPay?

The operator is PowerPay Limited, registered in Abuja at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT. The App Store developer is listed as ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD.

Is the PowerPay card available in my country?

The public pages do not list accepted or excluded countries. The product is built around Nigeria, with secondary support for Kenya and Ghana. If you are outside those three, you cannot tell from the public pages whether you are eligible.

How do I apply for the PowerPay card?

You complete the in-app KYC, which on the public pages requires a government-issued ID (NIN, BVN or similar), proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement, and a valid mobile phone number. The age limit is not stated.

Does PowerPay require KYC?

Yes. The basic level takes a government-issued ID and proof of address, and the company says it also runs Enhanced Due Diligence for high-risk customers, which means source-of-funds questions on top of the basics. The per-tier limits are not stated.

How do I top up the PowerPay card?

You sell supported crypto into a wallet in NGN, KES or GHS, then move that balance to the USD card. An earlier check of the site named USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH as supported coins, but the current site does not repeat that list, and the deposit networks are not named either.

Can I add the PowerPay card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes. The site confirms Apple Pay and Google Pay support, which means the virtual card can be tokenised into a phone wallet and used at contactless terminals, in apps, and on websites.

Is the PowerPay card safe to use?

The site lists the standard safety controls: pay safely online, monitor spend, freeze the card, and monitor transactions. Beyond that, the product is a custodial wallet, which means the operator holds your private keys until you sell, and your card balance is held by an unnamed issuer under unnamed licences. The terms also reserve the right to place a lien on your funds.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team