A solid daily-spend card with real security — but thin official detail on issuer and costs
The ether.fi card is a Visa payment card that spends directly from a crypto Safe — a self-custody wallet — rather than from a bank account. On paper it does the basics better than most crypto cards: a free virtual card, plastic that’s free to order, cashback in ETHFI, Apple Wallet and Google Pay, and cash withdrawals up to $5,000 per withdrawal. Those strengths earn it a 6.7 out of 10 in our assessment.
The reason it doesn’t score higher is straightforward: the official pages leave too much unsaid. The issuing bank is never named. The crypto conversion fee — the number that matters most when you’re spending crypto — is not stated. The physical card’s shipping cost is described as “a fee applies” without an amount. In a product where your money sits in crypto, those omissions aren’t cosmetic. They’re the difference between “I know what I’m paying” and “I’ll find out later.”
Below is what I verified from the card’s own documentation, what I could only confirm from third parties, and where I’d steer you if the card isn’t right for your situation.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: A good card, held back by missing numbers
Score: 6.7 / 10. I arrived at that number by scoring five criteria separately — who can get it, what it costs, how you top it up, how reliable it is, and how it performs in daily use — and averaging them. The daily-use score is the strongest; the reliability score is the weakest, and that gap tells the whole story.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Issued in a long list of jurisdictions, plus 31 US states |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Core: one free virtual card, free plastic, but shipping is charged and FX is 0.5% |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Any supported token deposits to the Safe, from several networks |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer not named officially; Trustpilot 3.3 from 47 reviews; cards were suspended in November 2025 |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual and plastic Visa, Apple Wallet and Google Pay, ATM up to $5,000 per withdrawal |
Who this suits: residents of the listed countries who hold ETHFI and actually want to spend it, especially if you value the self-custody structure and the cashback rate. Who it doesn’t suit: anyone who needs a named, regulated bank behind their card; anyone who spends in currencies outside USD and EUR; anyone who can’t sit through a KYC process that may include weeks of address-verification limbo.
One more thing worth saying plainly. The Cash Protection Program that sits behind this card is not insurance. It reimburses unauthorized movement of smart-contract assets, it has capacity limits, and it explicitly excludes compromised keys and credentials. Read the exclusions before you assume it covers you.
Will they give you the card?
The card is issued only in listed jurisdictions, based on residence rather than citizenship. The list is long: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK, plus 31 US states. Belgium and Ireland are eligible even without physical delivery.
The card’s own line on this is blunt: if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply. Citizenship rules aren’t stated — the criterion is residence and jurisdiction, subject to KYC and compliance. That’s the number one question people ask, and the honest answer is: check the list, and if you’re not on it, don’t start.
ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar.
How to get it
The flow is three steps, and the order matters. First, deposit tokens to your Safe. Second, complete KYC. Third, order either a virtual card or a physical card in the app.
There is one KYC flow, no tiers of it. You’ll verify with a phone OTP, an identity document (passport, national ID or driver’s licence), a selfie liveness check and your address. A card issuer questionnaire appears sometimes. Proof of address is only required in some cases, must be no older than three months, and phone bills or screenshots are not accepted. Most reviewers report approval within 48 hours.
Documents needed, a minimum age, and proof of address requirements aren’t laid out as a single official list. That means you may discover the requirement mid-flow. The card does publish the usual rejection triggers: an expired or cropped ID, screenshots of a document, information that doesn’t match across fields, and an address mismatch. Those are the avoidable ones.
If you want to know the company side: the legal entity behind the card is not stated in the help articles, which mention Visa and a Cash Protection Program but never name the issuer. Third-party blogs disagree — one says Rain, another says Third National under a Visa licence. Neither is confirmed by the card.
Fees: what it really costs
The cost story splits into two halves. The first half is good news: a free virtual card on Core, free plastic, and a low FX fee. The second half is silence: the crypto conversion fee — the number that actually determines what a purchase costs — is not stated anywhere in the documentation.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Virtual card | One free on Core; first card $10 in regional-pricing countries |
| Physical card | Free on Core; shipping fee applies, amount not stated |
| FX fee | Core 0.5%; Luxe 0.25%; Pinnacle and VIP none; EUR purchases 0% FX article |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM fee | Not stated in the ATM article; unofficial sources say 2% with a $250/day cap |
| Daily and monthly spend caps | User-set in the Cash tab; weekly per-card limits by merchant category |
| ATM withdrawal limits | Up to $5,000 per withdrawal; 5 withdrawals and $25,000 per rolling 24 hours |
Two or three everyday payments, and which fees apply:
- A coffee in your own country, paid in EUR. You’re on the EUR article, which is a 0% FX piece. The crypto conversion fee, if any, is what’s left — and that’s the one not stated. This is the cleanest case.
- An online subscription billed in USD while you’re in Europe. You pay the Core 0.5% FX fee on top of the base rate, plus whatever conversion applies. Unofficial sources add a 1% FX fee for anything outside USD and EUR; I can’t confirm that from the card’s own pages.
- Withdrawing cash from an ATM. The limits are generous ($5,000 per withdrawal, five a day, $25,000 per rolling 24 hours on Core, Luxe, Pinnacle and VIP; a separate help article mentions $1,000 per withdrawal). The fee is not stated in that article. Pinnacle and VIP get free ATM withdrawals up to ten a month; Core and Luxe are marked “Available,” fee unspecified.
The regional-pricing $10 for a first virtual card applies in Argentina, Angola, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa and Thailand. Elsewhere on Core it’s free.
Here’s the honest summary: you can budget the FX fee precisely. You cannot, from official pages alone, budget the cost of actually converting crypto into fiat. If that number is the deciding factor for you, contact support before you commit.
Top up: deposit any supported token to your Safe
You fund the card by depositing “any supported token” to your Safe — in Credit mode that deposit becomes collateral; in Direct Pay mode the balance is spent. Deposits are accepted from multiple chains.

The catch: the coin and network list is not stated in the section describing this. It’s pushed into separate help articles — “Supported assets and networks for your Vault with Cash” and “USDC and USDT deposit networks and addresses” — rather than presented in one place. If you send a token on the wrong network, an irreversible blockchain transfer can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Check the supported-networks article before your first transfer.
Two practical points. First, a $10 crypto deposit is required before KYC can complete, in all regions; if verification fails, it can be withdrawn. Second, on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card — so you’re paying the network on top of anything the card charges. Fiat top-up via bank transfer exists and has its own country list, though specific fees on that route are not published.
Withdrawing your vault balance follows a similar shape: you request a withdrawal with the token, amount and recipient address, and it executes once the required Safe owners sign. Fees aren’t stated. If you ever want to delete your account, that requires a $0 balance, no active borrows, no pending card transactions, and a 14-day waiting period — so the balance has to be emptied first.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card earns its best marks. You get a virtual and a physical Visa. You can add the card to Apple Wallet and Google Pay using the card details. Cashback is paid in ETHFI, locked for seven days and then claimable.
The cashback ladder is tier-dependent. On Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month, then 1% up to $3,000, then 0.5%. Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000. Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000. VIP: 4% on the first $50,000. EUR purchases use lower ladders. Business is 1%. ATM, cash advances, P2P and gambling merchant categories are excluded. No payout cap is stated.
Tiers themselves are worth understanding, because they bundle cashback, card count, ATM access and balance protection together:
| Tier | How you get it | Cards | Cashback | Balance protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core | Free | 1 virtual, free plastic (shipping charged) | 3% to $2,000/mo, then 1% to $3,000, then 0.5% | Up to $10K |
| Luxe | $199/year or monthly points | 2 virtual, free metal card with shipping | 3% to $10,000/mo, plus 10% category up to $10/mo | Up to $50K |
| Pinnacle | $999/year or points | 10 virtual, free ATM up to 10/month, express shipping | 3% to $50,000/mo | Up to $100K |
| VIP | By invitation (tier) | Unlimited virtual, free Gold metal card | 4% to $50,000/mo | Up to $500K |
Not every purchase counts toward cashback. Some merchant categories are excluded or limited — 6011, 6012, 6211, 6513, 6532, 7995 — and gambling is capped at $500 weekly rather than fully blocked. Weekly per-card limits apply by merchant category: $500 for crypto purchases, gambling, FX and prepaid loading; $1,000 for money transfers, stock brokers and dating; $3,000 for pharmacies, licensed online casinos and funding crypto accounts. Overall tier limits aren’t stated.
The app is an iOS app, “ether.fi: Crypto Card & Spend,” requiring iOS 16.0 or later. It rated 4.9 across 141 ratings in the US storefront when I read it. The Google Play listing wasn’t found, so I can’t speak to the Android experience.
Disputes and fraud: chargebacks are filed through in-app chat with support. For unauthorized transactions, you delete the card and contact support, and it goes to Visa’s fraud process. For merchant problems — non-delivery, duplicates, subscriptions — you contact the merchant first, then go through Visa’s dispute process. Disputes may take up to 90 days. Refunds come from the merchant, on a separate timeline.
What can go wrong
This is the section I’d read twice, because the reliability score of 4 out of 10 is earned by real reports, not by my own testing.
The most serious item is historical but relevant. In November 2025, cards were suspended after fraudulent transactions, and the CEO promised refunds. That’s a programme-level interruption — the kind of event that reminds you a crypto card’s continuity depends on a company you can’t audit the way you audit a bank.
On complaints: Trustpilot showed about 3.3 out of 5 from 47 reviews (a reading of 3.5 for the same 47 appeared on another date). Recurring themes — changed account details, lost deposited funds during card activation (a 2025 report), KYC and address-verification limbo stretching weeks to months, denial after approval with “suspected fraud” and no specific reason, and compliance freezes with slow automated support. An aggregator also mentions compliance freezes and slow support.
The issuer question is unresolved and I want to be precise about it. The legal entity and issuer are not stated officially. Blogs disagree — Rain per one source, Third National per another. I could not confirm either from the card. In 2026, as of my check on 20 October, no licence loss or issuer change was confirmed in search.
On security, the good news is real. The Safe vault is self-custody-style: withdrawals need Safe owner signatures, so the card itself doesn’t hand your keys to the provider. You get passkey sign-in, email OTP, a PIN, an immediate card freeze in the app, and user-set daily and monthly spend limits (changes take effect after a security delay). The Cash Protection Program reimburses unauthorized smart-contract asset movement with tiered caps — $10,000 Core, $50,000 Luxe, $200,000 Pinnacle and Business, $500,000 VIP — against a programme capacity of $5 million, with a $100 claim fee refunded if approved. But it excludes compromised keys, credentials and devices, and it’s not insurance.
The self-custody model cuts both ways. Because you hold the keys, you’re solely responsible for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible; a stolen private key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return the funds. That’s the trade you make for not trusting a custodian.
What to take instead
If the ether.fi card’s gaps — the unnamed issuer, the unstated conversion fee — are dealbreakers for you, here’s how the main alternatives compare. All scores are mine, on the same 10-point scale.
| Card | Score | Card type | Notable fees | Funding | Cashback |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ether.fi | 6.7 / 10 | Virtual + physical Visa | Core FX 0.5%; conversion fee not stated | Any supported token to Safe | ETHFI, 3% first tier |
| Sponge | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual card (Rain, Visa Principal Member) | Not stated | USDC from wallet (card fund) |
Not stated |
| Nexo | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual + physical (issuer DiPocket UAB) | FX 0.2% weekday (EEA/UK/CH), 2.5% weekends; no monthly fee | Nexo account, 100+ assets | NEXO/BTC, 0.5–2% by tier, Credit Mode, $5,000+ balance |
| Xplace | 7.7 / 10 | Virtual + physical Visa | 0% FX on Platinum; no origination on borrowing | Stablecoins on Solana | USDC, 0.5–2% by tier (Credit mode) |
A few notes. Sponge is a virtual card only, described as a Rain-issued Visa credit card; most of its costs aren’t stated either. Nexo has the clearest fee structure of the three — it publishes its FX percentage by weekday/weekend and region and charges no monthly, annual or inactivity fee — but its cashback requires Credit Mode and more than $5,000 in digital assets, and its availability is limited to residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and UK. Xplace scores highest of the alternatives, with a 0% FX promise on its top tier and no hidden spread on stablecoin spending, but its country list isn’t stated, some physical tiers are still “coming soon,” and its cashback sits in Credit mode.
None of these is without risk, and I haven’t used any of them. Read the fee and availability terms yourself before you move money.
Who I would recommend it to
I’d recommend the ether.fi card to you if all three are true: you live in a listed jurisdiction, you already hold ETHFI and want to spend it rather than sell it separately, and you’re comfortable being your own custodian — comfortable that a lost key or a bad address is your problem to solve.
I’d steer you away if you need a named bank behind the card for peace of mind, if you spend mainly outside USD and EUR and the FX terms matter to you, or if you need predictable per-purchase costs and the unstated conversion fee would keep you guessing. If you can’t tolerate a KYC process that some users report stretching into months, look elsewhere too.
The honest summary: this is a well-built daily-spend card with strong everyday-use features and real self-custody security, held back by a documentation layer that leaves the two numbers most people care most about — the issuer and the conversion fee — in the dark.
Frequently asked questions
What is ether.fi card?
The ether.fi card is a Visa payment card that spends directly from a crypto Safe, a self-custody wallet, rather than from a bank account. It comes as a virtual or physical card, pays cashback in ETHFI, and works with Apple Wallet and Google Pay. You fund it by depositing supported tokens to your Safe.
How does the ether.fi card work?
You deposit tokens to your Safe, complete KYC, then order a virtual or physical card in the app. In Direct Pay mode the card spends your balance; in Credit mode your deposit acts as collateral. At payment the crypto is converted and the card behaves like a prepaid card, drawing on a loaded balance.
Is ether.fi a bank?
No — the card’s legal entity and issuer are not stated in the official help articles, which mention Visa and a Cash Protection Program but never name the issuing institution. Third-party blogs disagree (Rain versus Third National), but neither is confirmed by the card. Treat ether.fi as a card programme manager, not a bank.
Who can get the ether.fi card?
Residents of listed jurisdictions, including Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK, and 31 US states. Belgium and Ireland qualify without physical delivery. Citizenship rules aren’t stated.
Does the ether.fi card require KYC?
Yes, and KYC can’t be completed without a $10 crypto deposit first (in all regions; withdrawable if verification fails). Verification is one flow — phone OTP, ID document, selfie liveness check, and sometimes an issuer questionnaire. Proof of address is required only in some cases.
How much does the ether.fi card cost?
On Core you get one free virtual card and free plastic, though a shipping fee applies (amount not stated). The FX fee is 0.5% on Core, 0.25% on Luxe, and none on Pinnacle and VIP; EUR purchases have a 0% FX article. The crypto conversion fee is not stated, which is the main cost unknown.
Can I use the ether.fi card in Apple Wallet and Google Pay?
Yes — both mobile wallets are supported, and you add the card by entering its details. This is one of the card’s strongest everyday-use features, alongside the virtual and physical Visa options and cash withdrawals up to $5,000 per withdrawal.
Is the ether.fi card safe?
The Safe vault is self-custody-style, so withdrawals need your signatures and the card doesn’t hold your keys. You also get passkey sign-in, a PIN, an instant in-app freeze, and spend limits. But self-custody means you’re responsible for key loss and phishing, and the Cash Protection Program — not insurance — excludes compromised keys and devices.
How do I top up the ether.fi card?
You deposit “any supported token” to your Safe, from multiple chains. The specific coin and network list isn’t in the main section — it’s in separate help articles, so check supported networks before your first transfer, since on-chain transfers are irreversible. On-chain network fees are paid to the blockchain, not to the card.
Is the ether.fi card worth it?
That depends on your situation. It’s worth it if you hold ETHFI, want to spend it with 3% cashback on the first tier, and value self-custody. It’s not worth it if you need a named bank behind the card, want the conversion fee published, or spend outside USD and EUR — and it carries real risk, given the November 2025 card suspension and mixed Trustpilot reviews.
Credit and cashback cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
