A prepaid crypto card that spends many coins, with two costs left unstated

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Floki card is a prepaid Mastercard that you fill with crypto and then spend like an ordinary payment card: the crypto is converted into a fiat balance at the top-up, and the card draws on that balance. It comes in virtual and physical form, the physical card is offered in 31 European countries, and you can fund it with a wide list of coins and stablecoins — among them BTC, ETH, SOL and USDT on several networks. That breadth is the card’s real argument. Its weak point is transparency: the official pages do not disclose the issuer, the maintenance fee, the ATM fee or the currency the card is denominated in, and they say nothing about identity checks.

Floki works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score is 6.5 out of 10. That is a card for a specific person — a European who already holds several coins and wants one card that accepts all of them — and not a general replacement for a bank card.

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Physical cards in 31 European countries, virtual cards worldwide; not available in OFAC-sanctioned countries or where issuing banks do not permit
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance: virtual 10 EUR, physical 32 EUR; top-up 2%, transaction fee 0%, exchange fee 0%; maintenance fee not disclosed, unofficial: possibly 15 EUR per month
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, ETH, BNB, SOL, FLOKI, DOGS, HMSTR, TON, NOT; USDT on ERC-20, TRC-20, BSC, Algorand, TON, Polygon; USDC on ERC-20, Polygon, Stellar, Algorand; EURT and XAUT
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer not named on the page; unofficial: Global Unit Pay (GUP-CH AG), Switzerland; no official incidents or reviews found; converting the balance back to crypto is not supported
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual and physical; plastic in 31 countries; Apple Pay and Google Pay not named officially (unofficial: supported); ATM not disclosed, unofficial: FNT fee 0%
Total 6.5 / 10 Wide funding, thin disclosure
A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Floki starts with a transfer to the right network

Will they give you the card

Yes for a large part of the world, no for some places, and the card’s own page is blunt about the exclusions: physical cards go out in 31 European countries, virtual cards are available worldwide, and the card is not offered in countries under OFAC sanctions or in places where the issuing banks do not permit it. That last clause is the one to read carefully. It is not a fixed blacklist you can check; it hands the final say to a bank you will never see.

The virtual card is the practical answer if you are outside Europe or in a place the plastic does not reach, because “worldwide” is the stated scope for it. Note that the two versions are not equally capable in the daily-use sense: the limits differ (more on that in the costs section), and merchants may treat a prepaid virtual card differently from a physical one.

One structural point worth holding on to, because it explains most of the surprises people hit later. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number — the BIN — and merchants can look that up to see which institution and country issued the card. If the issuer country does not match your billing address, the shop may apply extra scrutiny or decline you. So the country the card was issued in quietly colours where it works well and where it works badly. This is a property of card payments in general, not a quirk of Floki, but it lands harder on prepaid cards issued across borders.

How to get it

The application itself is thin on the official pages, and that is worth saying plainly rather than dressing up: the page does not mention KYC at all. It does not describe the application flow, does not name the identity documents it wants, and does not say whether checks are automated or manual. Nor does it publish delivery times for the physical card, or how many identity-verification tiers exist.

What is officially visible: the card is prepaid, offered in both physical and virtual form, and runs on Mastercard — that last point comes from news coverage of the December 2024 announcement rather than from the card page, which speaks more generally of “common cards”. The currency of the card balance is not stated.

On KYC specifically, the honest answer is that I could not confirm the card’s own requirements from its official material. Unofficial reporting on the related FNT Crypto Card — the product Floki’s card is powered by — describes full KYC with a passport or ID plus a selfie, through a web portal or a Telegram mini-app, before issuance. Treat that as unofficial and unconfirmed by Floki’s own pages.

Here is the thing to weigh: a regulated card almost always involves identity checks somewhere in the chain. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is also screened separately from residence, because sanctions and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth, not just your address. So the absence of a KYC line on a card page is better read as an omission in the documentation than as a promise that none exists. If identity checks are the thing you were hoping to avoid, this card should not be on your shortlist — and no card should be, if avoiding them is the point.

What it really costs: fees and limits

Here is where the Floki card needs the most reading between the lines, so I will separate what is disclosed from what is not. The costs table lists every fee and limit the official pages state, plus the ones they leave blank.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Floki payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Issuance, virtual card 10 EUR one-time
Issuance, physical card 32 EUR one-time
Monthly maintenance fee Not stated
Top-up fee 2%
Transaction fee 0%
Exchange rate fee 0%
FX fee on purchases in a non-native currency “May apply”, rate not stated
ATM fee Not stated
Monthly limit 20,000 USDT
Daily limit, physical card 10,000 USDT
Daily limit, virtual card 5,000 USDT

Three things jump out. The monthly fee is not disclosed — and unofficial reporting on the related FNT card mentions a possible €15 per month or €150 per year, “to be verified in the app”. That is unofficial and I could not confirm it for Floki, but it is exactly the line item that decides whether a card is cheap for you, so treat it as a question to answer in your own account rather than a number to rely on. The ATM fee is not disclosed either; unofficial FNT reporting says 0% FNT fee with the ATM operator’s own charges possibly applying, which is the normal shape of ATM pricing anyway. And the FX fee has no rate attached, only the phrase “may apply”, so any spending outside the card’s home currency is priced by terms you have not been shown.

There are also no published tiers. Unofficial FNT reporting describes discount tiers by FNTIO held — Basic 0%, Silver from 1,000 FNTIO at 10%, Gold from 10,000 at 20%, Platinum from 50,000 at 30%, Black from 100,000 at 40%. None of that appears on the card’s page.

Now the everyday version, because a fee table is abstract until you put three payments through it.

Buying coffee in the city where you live: if you spend in the card’s native currency, the transaction fee is 0% and no FX fee applies. The 2% was already charged when you topped up. This is the cheapest case and the one the card is built for.

Buying something priced in dollars while your balance is in euros: the conversion and the FX terms now both apply, and the FX rate is not published. This is where a card that advertises a 0% exchange fee can still cost you real money.

Paying a subscription or a deposit abroad online: a merchant category code classifies the business, and many issuers block whole categories by policy — gambling is the classic one. Also, some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright, because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money for several days, typically up to seven, even though you never spent anything.

How to top it up

This is the card’s best feature and the reason I scored it 9 out of 10. The list of what it accepts is long and includes networks most rival cards ignore.

Coins: BTC, ETH, BNB, SOL, FLOKI, DOGS, HMSTR, TON, NOT.

Stablecoins: USDT on ERC-20, TRC-20, BSC, Algorand, TON and Polygon; USDC on ERC-20, Polygon, Stellar and Algorand; plus EURT and XAUT.

The mechanics are straightforward: you send crypto in, it is converted to fiat at the top-up, and a 2% fee is charged. That conversion-at-top-up model is why the card behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card — the card can only spend what you have loaded, so it cannot overdraw.

Two gaps to know before you send anything. The minimum top-up is not stated, and neither is who pays the network fee. That second one matters more than it sounds. On-chain fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and you need the network’s own coin to move a token on it: gas on Ethereum is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. Tron prices its transactions through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. Getting this wrong is the single most common way people lose a deposit.

Transfers are also irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be gone and recovery depends on manual support with no guarantee. So match network to network, character by character. One more asymmetry that catches people out: converting the balance back to crypto is not supported — the page’s answer is a flat “No”. Money that goes on the card is money that comes off the card as fiat spending, not as crypto.

Paying with it every day

The card is described as contactless when added to mobile wallets, but Apple Pay and Google Pay are not named officially. Unofficial reporting on the related FNT card says both are supported. If a mobile wallet is the way you intend to pay, that is worth confirming in your own account rather than taking my word or the other way round.

There is no dedicated app named on the official pages — the card refers only to “a secure digital interface”. That phrasing does not tell you much about how you would freeze the card, raise a limit or read a decline reason, and those are exactly the things you need on a bad day.

Two further silences matter here. No rewards are described — no cashback, no tier benefits on the official page. And no dispute process is described: if a charge is wrong, nothing on the card’s pages tells you who to call or what chargeback route exists. For prepaid cards, coverage varies by jurisdiction and is generally weaker than for credit cards, so I would not assume a refund process exists here.

A note on the network itself. Mastercard does not issue these cards to consumers; it licenses issuers and can suspend a programme. That has happened — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. The general pattern when programmes close is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. It is a reminder that the card you hold is a programme, and programmes end.

On the plus side, standard safeguards do exist in this category and are worth using if offered: app-based two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets. Tokenisation is the interesting one — in Apple Pay the card number is replaced with a device-specific number held in the Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code, so the real card number is not stored on the phone or on Apple’s servers. An issuer can still restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe use or on phone payments specifically.

What can go wrong

Start with the counterparty, because this is where the risk actually sits. Floki’s legal contact is Block Forge S.R.L., San José, Costa Rica, and the card is powered by FNT Crypto, but the issuing bank is not named on the page. Unofficial reporting puts the FNT card’s issuer as Global Unit Pay (GUP-CH AG), a Swiss financial intermediary affiliated with SO-FIT, which is FINMA-recognised. That is unofficial and not confirmed by the card. Whichever is right, you are holding a prepaid balance issued by an entity whose name is not on the page you signed up from.

Where you are governed also matters. Under MiCA — the EU’s markets-in-crypto regulation, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023, with the stablecoin rules applying from 30 June 2024 and the rest from 30 December 2024 — e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. A card is a payment service regulated separately, so a crypto card like this often depends on two licences at once. An electronic money institution in the EU can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insurance; those funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. If your balance is safeguarded in an EMI account, ask yourself what scheme actually covers it, because the answer is usually not the one you assume.

Custody is the other half. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no recovery: the network cannot freeze or return funds. Custodial platforms have a real record — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Self-custody-linked cards flip that: your funds stay in your own wallet until payment, but you carry the full risk of key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses.

Stablecoins are not risk-free either. The name promises a stable value and does not always deliver — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC lost its peg briefly in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. USDT and USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two as of July 2025. Circle describes USDC as redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations — but one provider stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, which is a good illustration of how network support can change underneath you. And they are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

One practical check before you rely on this: searches for Trustpilot or Reddit reviews of the card turned up nothing. No official incident was found either. That cuts both ways. It may simply be a young product with a small user base; or it may mean few people have written about it. A card with no public complaint history is not the same as a card with a good track record.

What to take instead

If the Floki card’s weakness is disclosure, then the comparison is not really about features. All three alternatives below are less transparent in some ways and more transparent in others.

Floki Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
My score 6.5 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card type Prepaid, physical and virtual Debit crypto card, virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid
Networks Mastercard VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay Mastercard Not stated
Where Physical in 31 European countries, virtual worldwide “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, no exclusions listed Aimed at Nigeria and “global users” App Store says accepted in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card currency Not stated Naira per App Store listing USD USD or EUR
Fees Top-up 2%, transaction 0%, exchange 0%; monthly fee not stated No percentage stated; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best rate at payment Not stated; creating a virtual card is free Not stated
Funding BTC, ETH, BNB, SOL, FLOKI, DOGS, HMSTR, TON, NOT; USDT and USDC on many networks USDT, USDC, BTC wallets; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR

Read that table carefully rather than quickly, because two entries are traps. “200+ countries” and “176 countries” describe where a card is accepted, not who is eligible to hold one. Cardex’s App Store listing is Naira-focused, with the card currency given as naira, and CardFlow’s own positioning is “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” — both may be perfectly fine for you if you have Nigerian access, and neither answers the question for a reader elsewhere. CardFlow’s free virtual card creation is the one clearly favourable published fact among the three, offset by a much thinner funding list and no published fees.

Cardex is the interesting comparison: real-time conversion at the moment of payment rather than at top-up, across four network brands including UnionPay, which opens countries the others struggle in. But it publishes no fee percentage, which for a card whose value depends on conversion is a considerable gap. If your priority is acceptance breadth in Asia or Africa, Cardex is worth a look; if your priority is knowing what a payment costs, none of these four is clearly better than Floki’s published 2% and 0%.

I would not recommend CardFlow or HyperCard over Floki on the evidence. HyperCard publishes neither a network nor a single fee, and its 176-country figure is about acceptance. CardFlow is free to create but silent on cost, positioned at one national market, and funded from a short list. Floki’s numbers are at least on the page, and its funding list is the longest by a distance.

Who I would recommend it to

Three groups, and one group to stay away from.

I would recommend it to Europeans inside the 31 countries who already hold several coins — an ETH holder with SOL and USDT on Tron, say — and who want one card that takes all of them rather than juggling two or three. For that person the 9 out of 10 on top-up is real, and 0% transaction and exchange fees mean that once money is on the card, spending it is close to free apart from the 2% paid at the top-up.

I would also recommend it to anyone who wants a virtual card now, somewhere the plastic does not go, and who is comfortable sending crypto on multiple networks and checking addresses themselves. The long funding list is the point.

I would recommend it, with eyes open, to anyone who can answer this question first: what is the monthly fee, in my account? If it is zero, this is a decent card at a fair price. If it is €15 a month, the maths changes completely for light use, because a 32 EUR issuance fee plus €15 monthly would have to be spread over a lot of spending.

And I would not recommend it to anyone whose priority is getting a card without identity questions, to anyone who needs to move money back into crypto, or to anyone who plans to live on FX spending abroad while the FX rate is unpublished. For those, a regulated provider in your own jurisdiction with published fees and a named issuer is the safer place to look — and if you are in the EU, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, which is the first place to check whether a provider is authorised before you commit.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Floki card?

It is a prepaid Mastercard that converts crypto into a fiat balance when you top it up, then spends that balance like an ordinary card. It comes in virtual and physical form, the physical version going out in 31 European countries. Because it is prepaid rather than a debit card, it draws only on what you have loaded and cannot overdraw.

How does the Floki card work in practice?

You send crypto to the card’s address, it is converted to fiat at that moment, a 2% top-up fee is taken, and the resulting balance sits behind your card. You then spend it as normal, with the transaction fee and exchange rate fee both listed at 0%. The card cannot go below zero, because there is no overdraft.

Is Floki a bank?

No. The card’s legal contact is Block Forge S.R.L. in San José, Costa Rica, and it is powered by FNT Crypto. The issuing bank is not named on the card’s page — unofficial reporting points to Global Unit Pay (GUP-CH AG) in Switzerland. So you are holding a prepaid balance from a programme, not a bank account.

Does the Floki card require KYC?

The official page does not mention KYC at all, which I could not confirm either way. Unofficial reporting on the related FNT Crypto Card describes full KYC with a passport or ID plus a selfie before issuance. As a general rule, a regulated card almost always checks identity somewhere in the chain.

How much does the Floki card cost?

Issuance is 10 EUR for a virtual card and 32 EUR for a physical one, charged once. The 2% top-up fee and the 0% transaction and exchange fees are stated. The monthly maintenance fee is not disclosed on the official pages — unofficial FNT reporting suggests a possible €15 per month, to be verified in the app.

What are the limits on the Floki card?

The monthly limit is 20,000 USDT. The daily limit is 10,000 USDT on the physical card and 5,000 USDT on the virtual one, which is a real difference if you are outside Europe and using the virtual version for anything sizeable. No higher tiers are published on the card’s page.

How do I top up the Floki card?

You send crypto and it is converted to fiat, with a 2% fee. Accepted coins include BTC, ETH, BNB, SOL, FLOKI, DOGS, HMSTR, TON and NOT; USDT on ERC-20, TRC-20, BSC, Algorand, TON and Polygon; USDC on ERC-20, Polygon, Stellar and Algorand; plus EURT and XAUT. Check the network carefully — transfers cannot be reversed.

Can I add the Floki card to Apple Wallet?

The card’s page says contactless works when the card is added to a mobile wallet, but it does not name Apple Pay or Google Pay. Unofficial reporting on the related FNT card says both are supported. Since this is one of the questions people ask most, I would confirm it inside your own account rather than rely on either answer.

Can I get my money back out of the Floki card?

Not as crypto. The official page’s answer to converting the balance back to crypto is a flat “No” — selling to the fiat balance counts as off-ramping, and it is not reversible that way. Whatever you load is intended to be spent from the card as fiat.

Is the Floki card safe?

There are no published guarantees I can point you to. Safeguards typical of this category do exist — two-factor authentication, instant freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure and tokenised wallets — but the card’s own pages say nothing about security, name no support channel specific to the card, and describe no dispute process. Treat the balance as money held with a provider, not as a bank deposit.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team